Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
358 920 931 4
Connect ID #
358 920 931 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Digital multimedia receiver — does not play discs

MFR # DMH-C5500NEX

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Digital multimedia receiver — does not play discs

MFR # DMH-C5500NEX

36 reviews
View this product

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Ernesto from Beaverton, OR on 11/6/2022

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Oh my God, it was the perfect fitment, I didn't have to cut the dash or anything like that, just remove the OEM radio and put this one on, super easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not happy

Rick from Menifee, CA on 6/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was told that this unit was plug and play for Sirius XM not true! Still need XM box I got charged for a cable I don't use and don't work. The radio sounds great, video in is too difficult to connect.

Pros: Sound quality is excellent

Cons: Don't get me started

Crutchfield response on 6/7/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Adam, reached out to Rick to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit, doesn't play well with new Samsungs

Cody from Waldorf, MD on 5/4/2022

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit with a pretty simple install process and tons of power to go around, though if you're hoping to use this unit for Android auto and you've got a newer Samsung Galaxy s22 Ultra series phone, Android auto will not function at all. Works with every other phone I've tried it with though!

Pros: Visibility Ease of installation Options Customization Mounting solutions Size Touch screen Power

Cons: Software conflicts with a few Samsung phones.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Erik from Shelbyville, KY on 4/29/2022

2006 Cadillac STS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best purchase I've done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Brian from Midlothian, TX on 4/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It fits great and looks good. I am thrilled with this stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

miami

GUILLERMO from miami on 2/8/2022

2016 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

un equipo de calidad. A quality piece of equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/14/2022
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales and Support team.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

David Charle from Phoenix, AZ on 1/13/2022

2000 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this Deck! Quality sound, the screen is so responsive, and the look is awesome!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The C5500NEX is meeting expectations so far, and I have no reason to think that will change. I love the screen size and video quality. All functions work exactly as they should.

Pros: Screen size and quality, HD radio sound, sound quality overall

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very cool

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 9/5/2021

2015 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Needs a High Resolution Screen

Crutchfield customer from Munfordville, KY on 7/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I believe that this unit shares the same single-DIN silver box with its 9" sibling, the DMH-WC6600NEX which I also have so I can make a quick comparison. Given a choice between the two, and the space, I would go right for the 6600NEX. Why? Because the 8" screen is not a high resolution unit and it wastes space on the right vertical side with a thick bar for soft buttons. With all that space added in, the 9" screen is not a whole lot wider and it is indeed a high-resolution screen. I have my 9" screen in their 109-UN2 "box" and that is flush mounted to the dash bezel on my 2015 Chevy SS, awesome! They offer the 108-UN2 for the 8" screen too. I tried them both one after the other and you can see the (better) difference in the 6600's 9" screen. Come on Pioneer, upgrade this screen (and your newest 7" version) to high resolution so we can all enjoy the beauty we see in the 6600 even in a 8" or 7" screen.

Pros: Great user interface, lots of info.

Cons: Screen resolution is just 800 wide on a 16:9 ratio. Really? Bump that to 1280 or better and this would be an awesome choice.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lees Summit, MO on 7/18/2021

2011 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed about a month ago. I am very happy with my choice of this head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Upgrade to my 2012 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/8/2021

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it. Still learning about all the features.

Pros: I can answer this after I have had the radio for awhile.

Cons: Same as the pros

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

Wont Buy Anywhere Else.

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrade from an older 4100 NEX. Screen is beautiful. Easy swap from old Pioneer. Crutchfield support great as always

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Centerville, OH on 1/22/2021

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome head unit for my Silverado

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

A+++

Crutchfield customer from Steamboat Spr, CO on 1/22/2021

2004 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent head unit. Easy to navigate. Super helpful install assistance for a few unmarked wires from Crutchfield staff. Retrofitted a car from 2005 that had no hands free with modern technology. Tape deck be gone:)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing features..great crossover

Guest from Destin, FL on 1/17/2021

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 2nd gen tundra.. looks stock but has amazing features. I would highly recommend this for all large trucks and suvs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Altadena, CA on 1/15/2021

2016 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great size, responsive and intuitively designed screen + UI. Installation is simple with a little research + Crutchfield's help. Highly recommend this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Thumbs Up

Crutchfield customer from Millington, TN on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had the unit in for about a week now and I've put it through it's paces. I'm extremely happy with the aesthetics and functionality of it.

Pros: All functions as advertised

Cons: Boot up takes a bit longer than I'm used to but not really a problem considering everything that I have hooked up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great in my 2014 Silverado 1500WT

Crutchfield customer from Locust, NC on 1/4/2021

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great in my 2014 Silverado 1500WT. I replaced the IO4 radio in my truck and this, with new speakers, is a HUGE upgrade! Make sure you buy the Silverado specific Metra dash kit and this will be one of the easiest installations you have ever done. The prewired harness from Crutchfield made things super simple. I also used the MaestroRR for the OBD reading and onboard function retention. SO VERY HAPPY!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Super clean

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 12/28/2020

1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super clean deck. Love the fact that you get a double din look with a single din rear.

Pros: Has everything you would look for in a stereo.

Cons: I haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Recommended.

David from BLOOMINGTON, IL on 12/2/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio with a relatively easy install. Using car play is a breeze. I may get another one for a different car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

DMH-C5500NEX

TIm from Winchester, VA on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First off, I'm a professional installer with 26 years experience. I recently purchased a 2009 Ford Flex. I did not like the way the dash kits placed the radio lower in the dash. The Pioneer NEX have the best audio controls in my opinion, I have them in 4 other vehicles. After measuring, and checking the specs, I purchased the DMH-C5500NEX. It was gonna be close, but I really wanted to check out the modular 8", so I bought a scratch & dent. Saved about $100. All parts were accounted for, packaging was factory, and I bench tested before installation. The capacitive touchscreen is beautiful. The 09 Ford Flex is Maestro compatible. Working in tandem with the C5500, I was able to program specific steering wheel buttons for specific functions, as well as integrating vehicle info such as trans temp, intake temp, TPMS, etc, and the ability to read any DTCs. I also installed the Ford Emblem camera from iBeam(METRA). She barely fit, I hat to remove the screw on each side of the screen to slide the chassis into the dash. Stone was my rep, he was courteous and ready to help.

Pros: Large modular, capacitive touchscreen. Maestro compatible 13 Band EQ Built in adjustable Crossover Apple CarPlay

Cons: If this had an anti glare screen, closer to the newer OEM screens, it'd be perfect.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Incredible screen!

Ivan from PALMER, AK on 2/19/2020

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm in love with this product. My AVH-4100NEX went toes up on me after 5 years and I was wanting a larger screen with capacitive touchscreen anyway. This is exactly what I was looking for! Since it doesn't have the DVD option it fits in my Tundra dash easily with plenty of room. The screen is prettier and the touchscreen works so much better. The receiver mic accessory for Auto-EQ adjustment is a must. A USB and aux extender that allows fitting into your cigarette lighter location gives greater flexibility. Love having the option to watch movies with a USB.

Pros: Screen size. Glass screen gives it an OEM look. Touchscreen works amazing.

Cons: Cost.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Phenomenal

Crutchfield customer from Abilene, TX on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Apple CarPlay, and Android Auto work seamlessly. I love being able to have in-dash navigation, the sound is amazing compared to my stock unit. It's a little laggy and I wish the home screen was a bit more organized, and the directions for my vehicle were unclear, but overall I'm extremely happy.

Pros: Both Android Auto and Apple Car Play Beautiful clear color screen User friendly

Cons: Laggy Instructions are a little hard to navigate

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Coatesville, PA on 1/5/2020

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The system seems to function great most of the time. Paired with maestro the steering wheel controls work perfectly until I receive a phone call. I don't think that's a receiver issue though Easy to navigate the system. One slight downfall is the floating feature needs adjusted which means taking apart and putting everything back together, but since the fan is always running as it is I may just leave it so the head unit isn't overheating more than it already is. Overall I would purchase a smaller unit if I had to do it again

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Firmware needed updated Floating feature isn't perfect Fan is always running

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, OR on 11/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit, glad I went with this one over the 1400nex

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love this radio

Jordan from Orange County, CA on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best radio I've owned, very easy to install. A lot of flexibility and ease of installation!!

Pros: It's fast, responsive, pretty, and big

Cons: Not enough dash kit options for all cars!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mattoon, IL on 10/22/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does exactly what you want it to do. Creates a safe place for phone functions such as maps and Spotify on your dash. The one Con so far is the USB port being behind the unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C5500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Meriden, CT on 10/8/2019

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unit looks great and sounds much better then stock unit

Pros: Access everything from the screen without picking up your phone

Cons: I have a samsung s8active and when connexted to android auto...waze app doesnt work well. Not sure if its the phone or unit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Holmes

kirsten from Holmes on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great install, great product.. easy to navigate!

Pros: Easy install, great sound and easy to navigate

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 13 found this helpful

Great buy if you want an 8 inch -

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this radio has a very nice screen, in addition it reposed to commend very quickly, The Sound is spectacular, no issues or concern with the unit itself

Pros: Nice display , Great sound and fast response.

Cons: I had to custom cut the dash kit to have the radio installed on my car. You might have difficulties finding a kit from Metra. The reverse camera is missing a permanent setting for the gridlines, this feature is not available for this unit

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer receiver is outstanding-bad workmanship

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 6/11/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed the receiver and it worked until I went on a road trip. After calling customer service, it turns out the custom harness they manufactured for my Wrangler had three broken wires at the splices. The splices were over-crimped which caused the wires to break. After driving for three hours back without a functioning radio, I spent a couple more hours removing the dash and fixing the wires with new splices. The receiver now works as it is supposed to. I'm only giving three stars because of the hassle due to poor workmanship in light of the additional cost of the custom harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 30 found this helpful

Terrible quality

Dustin from Marietta on 6/11/2019

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The radio appeared to be a great decision upon initial installation. Programming the Maestro was simple, wiring the CH1 harness was straightforward, and connecting everything together went great. The only tense moment was cutting the extremely large (and irreversible) whole in the dash of my 2017 JKU. Fortunately, that was also successful with the bezel fitting very nicely up to the factory dash. This is where things go downhill though. The radio worked for three entire days. 1, 2, 3. On the fourth day, I went out early while it was still a bit dark and decided to turn off the display while still listening to music via Android Auto. I then pulled up to my destination, turned off the Jeep, and went inside. Little did I know that would be the last time the radio would ever work. When I came back and started the vehicle, utterly nothing happened. After meticulously troubleshooting the connections with Josh via video call using Crutchfield's support app, we determined it radio could not be resuscitated. The Maestro was blinking two red lights (can't connect via data) and the radio was unresponsive. Problem: Crutchfield was out of stock for this model Solution: One Scratch & Dent remained in inventory It was promptly secured (or so I was told) and would be shipped the next business day (10JUN19). I had to call to be informed the radio was apparently NOT available. The first available date is 15JUL19. Over a month away... gaping hole in the dash. Zero exp

Pros: Worked for 3 days

Cons: No longer works

Crutchfield response on

28 of 37 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Oroville, CA on 6/3/2019

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this Pioneer. The screen is huge! My Silverado now has what it deserves!

Pros: Large screen, apple car play, built in car features. Glass screen, sounds excellent.

Cons: Only one usb input

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome stereo

David from Boise, ID on 5/27/2019

2006 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing stereo, hooked right up into my Chrysler 300 being able to keep all my stock settings and steering wheel controls, easy to use looks great and sounds amazing. Would recommend 10/10

Pros: Easy to use sounds good easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound