Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-WT8600NEX

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-WT8600NEX

52 reviews
View this product

Great Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, AR on 7/22/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this new upgrade for my Jeep Wrangler. Going from 6.5-7" screens to now 10" + is amazing! Truly a great addition to the Jeep.

Pros: Everything is better from previous Pioneer screens

Cons: Getting used to the new layout can take some time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 7/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this Pioneer radio! Everything works flawlessly. Love the 10.1" floating screen it's super clear and has a great sound. The only downside is the web browser, maybe a firmware update to make work better. I recommend this great radio has a lot of features

Pros: Great sound, awesome screen and tons of features

Cons: Web browser

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 7/12/2021

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it's an amazing radio. The install was a little tricky, since it's not quite like the older days, but with the technical support it was fairly painless. The radio itself seems to be really good, but there may be some bugs with the firmware. Switching from wired to wireless CarPlay sometimes causes the connection to be lost multiple times. Would I buy this radio again. 100%. The size of the screen, and pioneers years of good quality makes this a great radio.

Pros: Huge screen Backup camera Wireless CarPlay HDMI

Cons: Install tricky, but doable Bluetooth a little weak for phone calls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Garrochales, PR on 7/12/2021

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente producto y una calidad super

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 7/11/2021

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome display, great functionality. Would have given a 5 star rating but seems to have issues with CarPlay connectivity. Keeps dropping the connection which can be frustrating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for a 3rd Gen Toyota Tacoma

ron from NASHUA, NH on 7/6/2021

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this head unit to replace a Kenwood DMX905S. I liked the idea of having a "floating style" head unit that is in a tablet format, has wireless android auto, and at least 2 camera inputs. This unit fit the bill perfectly. Installation wasn't too difficult ( have taken apart my dash more times than I care to admit to), and I was able to re-flash my Maestro OEM integration unit without trouble. The screen is large, and the ability to move/change tiles on the home screen is pretty cool. I haven't had any issues with glare. Great addition to my truck.

Pros: Large screen, wireless android auto, fast boot up time, regular firmware updates,

Cons: Android Auto split screen not active. Not a big deal, more like a "nice to have"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

jaisun from Chico, CA on 7/4/2021

2014 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super buggy. android auto and carplay both disconnect randomly. carplay is the worst of the 2 and sometimes won't reconnect without a full reboot. firmware updates don't help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very nice!

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 7/3/2021

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's very nice! I liked the idea of the large screens but early models of the different manufactures screen resolutions were pretty low in my opinion. If you like earlier generation Pioneer NEX systems this one won't disappoint! The screen is pretty resolution crisp for the size. I'm having wireless apple CarPlay issues with this one though. It seems to cut out every 10 seconds or so. I will do a firmware update and hopefully fix it. Wired connection is perfect!

Pros: Great sound Screen resolution Screen thickness & overall design

Cons: Wireless CarPlay lags.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Im ok with it

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 6/29/2021

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needs a bit more development on the speed, and usability but overall pretty good. Does have issues with your iPhone 12 Pro GPS location constantly being thrown off. Requires reboot to fix. And yes it does have the latest software updates. As for Crutchfield, their service was perfect. Easy to install with basic tools.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: Operates "ok"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 6/27/2021

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio.best technology,most of the times is a hand free,so can help to drive safely and enjoy music during your trip.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Guest from Mississauga, ON on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really amazing replacement for the 2014-2019 Toyota Highlander OEM unit. Speakers sound clearer in my JBL equipt system. Highly recommend and appreciate the support from Crutchfield tech support (wish I'd seen the wiring guide link in my order info page as it would have saved me calling in). I preferred to solder and shrink wrap the wiring so I didn't use the tools recommended for purchase. Wish I was recommended the TOR-SAT GPS/SAT antenna adapter when I added the SAT V300 unit with this. Had to order afterward but it arrived quickly. Unable to review on Canadian site so I'm leaving a review here.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2018 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from Floyds Knobs, IN on 6/21/2021

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I need for long trips!!!..Awesome screen size and clarity. Apple car play navigation is a dream on this unit. Sound quality is great. Just a all around great unit!!.

Pros: Size, resolution, sound quality, personalized options..

Cons: Install is not for a first timer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hurricane, WV on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great in my Tundra.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't connect to WiFi very well.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Hempstead, NY on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking and sound device. Even with ready harness service install had some glitches. Many harnesses in car not used (2010 rav4 JBL NO NAV). Tech support put me on the right path. Got it up and running. Touch responsiveness sometimes glitchy. And with latest iPhone update 14.6 connection with CarPlay is hit or miss. But easily fixed. Overall I love the unit. Updated my truck immediately, added a rear camera. I'm a happy camper

Pros: Great sound, adjustable and large screen!! Wireless!!! CarPlay

Cons: Single usb C out. Screen responsiveness needs improvement.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer is still the best.

Crutchfield customer from Buzzards Bay, MA on 5/24/2021

2015 Hyundai Sonata Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer still makes the best decks on the market. This thing is loaded. Android Auto still has some rough edges and bugs to work out, but the deck itself is top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love this stereo!

Crutchfield customer from Ankeny, IA on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some of the programing and firmware update process was a little clunky but I got through it. The rest of the features have been great. It sounds and looks great and integrated well with Android auto. I didn't seem to have the similar touchscreen lag others were complaining about. Not sure if that had to do with hardware or software.

Pros: Sound Look Features

Cons: Firmware updates clunky

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 5/8/2021

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Experience! Wonderful customer service and all around great company. Thank You!

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: CarPlay is not automatic

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unbelievable experience.

Crutchfield customer from Moore, SC on 4/20/2021

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable experience. Purchase was fast! Got my package in 2 days. Had a few issues during the install which was resolved quickly by a tech. Extremely happy I purchased from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Alexander from Dallas , TX on 4/15/2021

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice video better brand

Pros: Screen, Easy to use, diseño , Quality waranty

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Norristown, PA on 4/11/2021

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great head unit. Has everything you could want on it.

Pros: large screen lots of functions

Cons: complex install Price (it is top of the line)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Carterville, MO on 4/9/2021

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a awesome stereo!!!

Pros: The directions to do it yourself is very detailed and easy. Easy to install and everthing

Cons: Having a hard time figuring out a good listening point with all the equalizer options

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bad support from Pioneer

Andrey from Glendale, AZ on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio quality is great as long as you are using radio or streaming music. Phone connectivity for wireless CarPlay is quick and painless once it is set up. That is where the 2 stars come from. The rest is not great. When using hands free mode to listen to messages or making a call, the audio is distorted. Tried resetting the stereo and followed connection instructions to a T, still the same result. Alexa would not work automatically. I had to reset the wireless connection every time I wanted it to work. The whole point of the wireless connection is to leave my phone in my pocket and not have to fiddle with it while driving. The connection app from Pioneer is also crap and does not work. Never got it to connect no matter how many times I tried. I can accept that maybe something was work with this unit, so a called Crutchfield tech support. The gentleman that helped me was very courteous and was genuinely concerned about my issue. He searched several articles and tried to get to the bottom of the issue but untimely was not able to find a solution, he recommended I call Pioneer for assistance. I called Pioneer where I was hung up on several times then finally transferred to the wrong department. When I did get ahold of someone, the lady was rude very short and not interested in helping me correct the issue. She could care less about my problem and was more interested in ending the call to get on with her day. She was no help. Unit is being returned, will not buy Pioneer again.

Pros:

Cons: Bad customer support from manufacturer

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2021
Andrey contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great addition

Crutchfield customer from Danville, IN on 3/29/2021

2011 Dodge Truck Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the pioneer and back up camera it was great to update my truck so that I could see better in parking lots and use my phone hands-free

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Technology Upgrade for my Old 2007 Dodge Ram Truck

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, GA & New Braunfels, TX on 3/28/2021

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit with tons of features. I feel like I know how to get about 40% of the potential out of it right now. It is doing everything I need it to do but seems like there is much more potential to tap into. The Pioneer Car AV Assist is a joke as you may have seen in other reviews. Could not get the firmware update to download throught AV Assist. No way, no how. Worked just fine via USB as long as it is the ONLY file on the USB (as clearly stated in the instructuions) and NOT in a folder. Waze is a little finicky at times. It is taking a lot of patience to get used to through Car Play. I have to go into the Hotspot screen on the phone and turn it off and back on to get the unit to hook up every time I get in the truck. You would think it would sync automatically like the Car Play or Bluetooth. Maybe I missied a switch somewhere. Let me know if so! Everything else is really pretty awesome!

Pros: Very versatile. Loaded with all current features. Great fit & finish. Very clean installation in the old truck.

Cons: No effective way to use the USB C to it's full potential. Could not find a finished way to make a direct USB C port. HDMI micro to standard cable should be included. Firmware update via AV Assist will not work.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto needs work.

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 3/23/2021

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Head Unit. Install was pretty straightforward. Bright large screen. Sound options/control/quality - top notch. Wireless android auto - it "works" but only after a disconnect and reconnect. (note 20 ultra) Very finnicky. Never properly connects on the first try. Always drops first. Issues with volume when connecting USB vs wireless. Loudness issue. Even after updating to the newest FW 1.31.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Adelanto, CA on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice looking, easy to use easy to Install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 1/17/2021

2010 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 1/11/2021

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a nice deck but I am missing parts. I have to double stick tape the screen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/12/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.
Customer review photo

1 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome 4runner Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 12/26/2020

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace my stock HU in my 18 4Runner. Huge upgrade!! Definitely woke up my Memphis component speakers and my OEM Audio Plus subwoofer. Had it professionally installed and had the wire harness prewired before being shipped so everything was super simple. The OS is pretty simple to navigate. Recommend an hour or so to become familiar with the system and to set up your preferences. The CarAVAssist app definitely needs some work. It took me a long time to figure out the wireless FireWire update but after a lot of forum research I finally got it to work. Unfortunately the instructions pioneer provided were not very accurate. The concept seems great but the app isn't very intuitive or user friendly. Overall the HU is great. Performance is awesome and the huge screen looks fantastic. Massive upgrade if putting in a 4Runner. The system is relatively new so I'm sure there will be several updates to improve bugs. Definitely recommend if looking for a high performing tablet screen stereo.

Pros: Massive HD tablet screen. Improves upon aftermarket speakers performance. Wireless CarPlay. Plug and play install. Wireless firmware updates. Multiple install options (height/angle). Modern sharp design. User friendly interface/OS system.

Cons: New system which has bugs to work through. CarAVAssist app needs a lot of work. Wireless firmware update is not explained very well. CarAVAssist app needs a massive fresh/overhaul.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Flushing, NY on 12/15/2020

2007 Chevrolet C4500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Large screen clear, sound and quality you expect from pioneer, well built. Good fit variable fitments available. Wifi and internet setup a bit tedious. arge screen

Pros: Large screen, quality item

Cons: Wifi internet setup is a pain.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yogi

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 12/2/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy navigating tru website view what's fit. Ordered the pioneer Wt8600nex prompted me the additional parts needed for install. After selecting parts check out was easy also. Gave me the options to have my vehicle harness professionally solder for a small fee. And of course the vehicle instructional sheet was sent via email. The delivery was fast also with updates on delivery info. Once received took me literally 1 hour and a half to install that's no lie. I also call the on Crutchfield Tech line to reference the color matching and the plugs to connect . Didn't like the person I talked to she seemed annoyed with me because of the call . Didn't let it bother me she was taking a while , I Knew More than her about the connections because she kept telling me hold on to look it up.

Pros: Very fast delivery and with vehicle specific instructions . The soldering option was also awesome

Cons: The Tech help over the phone was a problem for me. In these times people should enjoy their jobs and be people friendly because of the consumers they have a job

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Big Screen for a big rig!

Crutchfield customer from Warsaw, IN on 12/2/2020

2004 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing has it all! Only complaint is the UI feels outdated, wish it was more like an Android environment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phoenix

Dat from Phoenix on 11/21/2020

2008 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent product. I'm glad I got this

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 11/20/2020

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Takes some getting used too!! Drops connection with CarPlay and wont recover sometimes until you reboot. Also had a couple unexplained reboots while driving. All still happening after latest firmware release. I would have expected better out of Pioneer at this point

Pros: Love the screen size and audio I'd much improved over OEM.

Cons: Pioneer needs to be working on another firmware update to resolve rebooting and connection loss

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, MS on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, does exactly what I expected. Would have received 5 stars if it would allow you not to automatically try to connect to CarPlay but I might just have to mess around with the settings more.

Pros: Big screen, easily installed (only after reading other reviews on do's and don'ts

Cons: Carplay

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from East Hanover, NJ on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good upgrade for any car with an older system

Pros: Very nice fit and great looking screen. Apple car play , wires less connection to phone , HD Radio all a plus

Cons: unresponsive at times, not easy to make use of HDMI as yet, limited car features

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

8600 NEX

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 10/11/2020

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

8600 NEX is good for car stereo no down But Crutchfield customer service is five star

Pros: Make your car look classy

Cons: WiFi need firmware update hard to connect when it connected screen lagging , turn it off Until new solution,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Shorewood

Patrick from Shorewood on 10/3/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The screen is huge. Like, really huge. It resolution is amazing. It fits perfectly in 2019 4runner if you put it in the lower slot of the double din when install it. The sound is also a nice improvement over the factory receiver. Install went reasonably well, considering it was my first ever one. I installed with the Maestro RR, and between their two sets of instructions I was able to her the wiring harness figured out and connected. If I would have had more time, having Crutchfield connect everything would have definitely been worth the price, but I only had one night that worked for my install before a trip and didn't order in enough time. If you want a huge, brilliant screen with wireless CarPlay that modernizes any vehicle, this is great. One downside is if you connect to WiFi and it can't find the source, your screen flashes. I turned that feature off and no more flashing. Being able to pull my vehicle diagnostics is great. If can manage your climate control features on it as well, if your car is equipped. One thing that took time to get used to was how grainy the back-up camera looked. The camera just isn't good enough for the screen, which isn't pioneer's fault. That took about a week to get used. If you are willing to spend the money, because it is expensive, it is great receiver with tons of features. And that screen...

Pros: The screen The sound Wireless CarPlay

Cons: The price WiFi not connecting caused screen to blink

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Bruce from Albuquerque, NM on 9/13/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using this stereo for about 4 months. It is very nice but has been buggy since day 1. I installed the update that came out a few weeks after it was released, but it didn't help. Not sure why Pioneer can't get a top of the line stereo working right. Disappointed

Pros: Wireless CarPlay 10" screen

Cons: Buggy software and always lagging.

Crutchfield response on 9/16/2020
Bruce, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you'd like to troubleshoot the problems, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

9 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 9/1/2020

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and pretty simple install Great customer service Screen is big and vibrant happy I went with 10 inch

Pros:

Cons: Little bit of lag to connect

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 8/31/2020

2008 Lexus GS350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The HD screen was awesome. However, the software was very buggy and kept freezing up. I think a future firmware update will help. I ended up returning the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Jobe from Henderson, NV on 8/29/2020

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having a video in the middle of your vehicle really adds to the experience of the good music. Girls will love this in your car.

Pros: Awesome to have a music video playing with your music.

Cons: Very hard to find high quality music with the music video.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Great HD screen head unit Amazing Crutchfield Customer Service

Troy from Warren, OH on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is great but this review is more about Crutchfield customer service. I started with the 4660nex but when received realized that it was not a 720p screen like the other models. That was important for me because I wanted to hook up a Roku. So I called and Crutchfield allowed me to replace it with the 7600nex. I got the 7600 because I was worried about fit because Crutchfield stated I would need to modify my car because of lack of depth. I received the 7600 and it fit in my vehicle fine with enough depth. So after seeing that i would not need to cut my car I again called and asked to do an exchange of the 7600 for the 8600. I would of understood if they said no but they again allowed me an exchange. Crutchfield service is top notch. Also if you have a 2014 Kia Sportage LX without factory sub woofer this head unit will fit without any modification to your vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 8/12/2020

2018 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the look and functionality of this product. It can be very finicky with steps you need to take to operate things like the internet or the avassist app, but once you figure those out it is easy. I am extremely pleased. I have not been able to retain the steering wheel controllers yet even though I purchased the plug. We are working through this to see if we can figure it out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

3 out of 5 stars Nice, but terrible for navigation in the woods

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 7/10/2020

2018 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The good news first- Wireless CarPlay and big screen are awesome Sounds great with speaker upgrades Bad news, and reason for only 3 stars- No real GPS navigation! It relies on your phone via CarPlay , which relies on an Internet connection to plan a route. If you have no bars, you can't route to a destination. If you set up the route before you leave, the map works and tracks your position, but if you stop it, it won't start again. Hey Pioneer, if you see this, it's an expensive unit! It should do nav as well as 7 year old Toyota. It doesn't!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 55 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 6/28/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome headunit, Amazing display. Works great, some little annoying software things, but hopefully will be fixed with updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Liam from Northern VA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this head unit in my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Crutchfield said it wouldn't fit, so I had to do a semi-custom install. I used vehicle specific mounting brackets from Scosche and a wiring harness from iDataLink since I'm also using their Maestro RR unit to retain my vehicle's Uconnect features. Both the brackets and wiring harness made installation a breeze! However, since I was using the factory radio and climate control bezel, there were gaps above and below the single DIN control unit in the bezel opening where the factory 8.4" Uconnect screen used to be, so I used some 3/32" thick plexiglass sheets to fill in the gaps. The head unit itself is great! The HD screen is vibrant and crisp and the sound quality from all my audio sources is amazing. The wireless CarPlay works flawlessly too. There are a lot of settings and features that I still need to play around with, including the Amazon Alexa feature, but so far so good! The head unit only gets 4 stars though, because like other reviewers have stated, the interface is a bit laggy. Compared to Uconnect, it's definitely not as quick and smooth. Hopefully, some future firmware updates remedy this.

Pros: Vibrant and crisp HD screen. Great sound quality from multiple audio sources. Flawless Apple CarPlay functionality. Multitude of features and settings.

Cons: Laggy interface

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 17 found this helpful

Really good bright screen so close to perfect !

Crutchfield customer from Hardy, VA on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much want to give this a 6 star review, I'm giving it a 4 but with some updates I'm sure it will deserve a 5 star. I waited a good week before reviewing and giving a really good opinion. The screen clearity and brightness is perfect even in the sun, that is where this shines, the problem with it's close competition the Alpine 9" 309 is that you cannot see Waze or Google Maps, with the Pioneer that is no issue at all. As for the functions there are allot and took a while to get used to, at first I thought it was hard to navigate around but with time I learned everything and it was good, so be patient with it. There are allot of sound settings also and I'd say I haven't got that set right yet but I'm almost there. My only complaint is my iPhone won't connect WiFi hot spot without me going into my settings on my iPhone and cutting off hot spot and back on then it will connect, until u connect the screen will continue to blink like it is trying to connect to something.I learned cutting my phone hot spot on and off it will connect quickly . Anyways a really good unit and a really big screen, It has a web browser and works ok. I hope this helps some people out! I installed this in a Toyota Tundra !

Pros: Huge HD 720P Screen and really bright. Lots of options.

Cons: Takes time to learn

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

20 of 20 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-WT8600NEX

Crutchfield customer from Victorville, CA on 6/15/2020

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 19 found this helpful

2006 F-150 install

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 6/11/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the unit in a 2006 f150. It was not recommended by Crutchfield but it worked out. I used the bottom slot on a double din adapter and just blocked off the upper with a plastic blank plate. Install was not too difficult using the documentation provided by Crutchfield, I have been using the unit for a couple of days and seems to work really good. Lots of menus here and have not even started to figure it all out.

Pros: Lots of flexibility in the screen mounting Build quality seems solid. Wireless Apple CarPlay! HD radio

Cons: Nothing was wrong with the install documentation from pioneer but if it was my first radio it would have been difficult. They could clarify the wiring more (this is not the first car stereo they have built after all)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

I Really Like It - But It Needs Firmware Improvements

Crutchfield customer from Portland, ME on 6/10/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited months for this receiver to be released. It has a beautiful UI, all the features I want, and looks so much better than the other floating head units. I have it in my Jeep Wrangler. It makes the Alpine Halo look old fashion. This looks like the screens you'd see in an Audi or a Mercedes. The downside is that the firmware is also brand new. The interface is a little laggy and glitchy. The touch screen is a little slow to be responsive. However, I am sure after a few firmware updates over the next several months it will improve significantly. I am holding out hope for this.

Pros: Sound quality Interface design Physical design of the floating screen

Cons: Laggy, glitchy interface probably needs a firmware update which will probably take a few months to arrive.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

17 of 17 found this helpful

Great display, good connectivity

Randy from Scottsdale, AZ on 6/5/2020

2013 Cadillac CTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the unit into a 2013 CTS-V. Not a bad unit. 10.1" screen, DSP, full 3 way xover operation if needed, wi-fi so wireless Carplay and wi-fi audio streaming. It works almost seamlessly, with the exception of the occasional burps and hiccups when communication between phone and receiver get jumbled. Threw it into my car running the factory Bose up front with Bose sub totally removed, and then ran an external JBL 12" powered sub in truck for low end. Active xover between factory Bose and sub. Display is clean, dashboard is customizable, HU sounds awesome with FLAC and hi-res. Installation was fairly straightforward except for the finicky little jeweler's screws used to hold the cover that hides the connection on back of the display. You need a jeweler's screwdriver with scotch tape or it will fall out and get lost while trying to install it behind the display. Drawbacks- sure enough, won't play at all with any ipod (pre-release it was claimed it did on this site). USB-C on back means it will be very finicky about an adapter. Owner's manual is a bit poorly written with very little explanation of the connectivity of the unit. Only other minor annoyance is the unit spits out an error message about my speed sensor being disconnected if I fire up Carplay and car is stationary. It's just a brief popup on the screen and it goes away quickly. If it's moving no error messages. Little glitches like that sort of take away the polish, but, par wi

Pros: Lots of connection options, DSP, 3 way active, Carplay, Android Auto, Wi-Fi audio streaming, FLAC support

Cons: Absolutely zero iPod support. Manual is poorly written. Minor error messages on screen pop up for no good reason if sitting still (missing speed sensor- won't do it if you activate Carplay while moving). USB-C connection is picky about adaptors to earlier USB style. Finicky / cheap cover on back of screen hiding cable uses jewelry size screws to attach, a pain if you're trying to work behind the display. Wish they used normal size screws.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

21 of 21 found this helpful

TOP