Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
898 766 013 3
Connect ID #
898 766 013 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-W4660NEX

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-W4660NEX

52 reviews
View this product

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Alexander from Baltimore, MD on 9/10/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge upgrade over the stock head unit and loving the wireless Android Auto

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very great item and customer service

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The good the bad and the ugly

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 9/3/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2011 Toyota Tundra non-JBL The Good; Nice receiver overall. Screen is clear and bright enough to see even in the very bright New Mexico sun. Controls take some getting used to, but once you get used to them they provide fairly easy access to everything the unit can do. But, the controls are far from what I would call intuitive. Install wasn't too bad thanks to Crutchfield's harness but, because there were so many possible connections that weren't required, I did need to work with Crutchfield Tech Support (worth twice the price differential that Crutchfield charges). A big shout out to Oakley, who was very patient and knowledgeable with helping me get where I needed to go. I had purchased a backup camera from another source (Crutchfield said none of theirs would fit my vehicle?). The bad; I never could get the factory USB/AUX ports to work with this unit. I don't understand why no one can make an adapter compatible with a vehicle as popular as a Toyota pickup. Also, the controls lag a little too much. USB C is under used with no features to set it apart from USB A connections on other units and there is only 1 USB C. The ugly; The phone audio is barely tolerable. Voice going out is good, but coming back, you can almost not understand whoever you are talking. For a unit as pricey as this, you would think Pioneer could do better.

Pros: - usable controls and brilliant visual on the display - Good feature set - USB C (Even if it is under-used - Upgradable OS, so hopefully Pioneer will have upgrades to fix some of the shortcomings - competitive price

Cons: - Only one USB In (Even if it is USB C) - No way to use factory Aux/USB in-dash connectors - Phone audio out makes hands free barely usable - Too much lag in controls response

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 9/3/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit. Pioneer app could use some work. Kind of a pain to update the firmware. Sounds great though and a very easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lynn Haven, FL on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this radio. Only thing Reason I am giving this 4 stars is my car usb no longer works and I have to now figure out why.

Pros: Very user friendly

Cons: Car usb no longer works

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lanexa, VA on 9/1/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio quality was terrible over Bluetooth and not much better plugged in, ended up returning

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Clintonville, WI on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install withpre-made harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, not great.

Crutchfield customer from ANCHORAGE, AK on 8/30/2020

2010 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The features and interface are great. The screen is a little dim in bright sunlight, viewable but not as bright as I'd like. The side buttons are also tiny and hard to hit, without external physical controls adjusting volume requires taking your eyes off the road. The mic for calling is super sensitive and pics it too much background noise.

Pros: Interface, functionality, connectivity

Cons: Screen, mic, cost

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 8/30/2020

2014 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit functions great, getting it connected to the internet has been a problem to get it updated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect solution for my '09 Sienna

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 8/29/2020

2009 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am extremely happy with this unit. My wife's OEM radio and dvd nav busted and the dealer wanted $3500 for a 2009 Toyota Sienna replacement. Woah! I did my research on Crutchfield and came up with a few viable candidates. Not wanting to spend a ton of money for an 11 year old van, I settled on this. This unit along with the maestro harness is more than we could ask for...our controls function on the steering wheel, the oem backup camera works like a charm, and both the wired and wireless CarPlay are impressive. This was my first time installing an aftermarket radio and Crutchfield could not have made it easier. Support was helpful on the calls I placed to answer my dumb questions. From start to finish this was a 3 hour endeavor and this radio shines like a champ. Sounds great with the existing JBL system from Toyota. The user interface takes a bit to get used to, but once down pat it's a breeze to navigate. This is a great addition to our 2009 Toyota Sienna XLE.

Pros: CarPlay

Cons: Can be tricky with two phones in the car

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

kj from ROWLETT, TX on 8/27/2020

2011 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

connection to phone is flaky/unreliable. Otherwise, nothing remarkable about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/31/2020
KJ, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Wireless CarPlay Console

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/23/2020

2013 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new console! Wireless CarPlay is great and useful when you are going on short trips and don't want to bother taking your phone out of your pocket. The installation was easy and Crutchfield was super helpful. The only con in the entire process was that the unit I received appeared to be defective (it would randomly restart and the microphone input didn't work consistently). But after receiving a new unit, everything works perfectly.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay! Easy to install!

Cons: No volume dial, makes adjusting the volume a little difficult with up/down buttons Had a defective unit on first pass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chaumont, NY on 8/15/2020

2009 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing head unit.

Pros: wireless everything

Cons: READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR CARAVASIST

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit with major flaw

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 8/14/2020

2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to give it 5 stars, I feel like for the most part it is a 5 star head unit but the lack of physical knob for at least volume control really holds this unit back. He's I knew this going in but I also figured that the dedicated touch screen buttons would be easier to use but they are too small and too close together.

Pros: Wireless Android auto and apple car play. Responsive interface with minimal lag. Gorgeous screen.

Cons: No physical buttons and the touch screen ones are cumbersome to use.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't make the mistake I did

Eric from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 8/11/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking radio and carplay is very cool. BAD Wireless Carplay is finicky Phone audio sounds like R2D2 and others say I sounds like I am in a can (not usable). Factory jeep phone was WAY better Ultimately I decided to put my factory radio back in. I need to have hands free calling.

Pros: glass and resolution

Cons: Wireless Carplay is finicky Phone audio sounds like R2D2 and others say I sounds like I am in a can. Factory jeep phone was WAY better

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Elk River, MN on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is fine. The help to set up the speed sensor was NOT! They could/would not help with this. Very disappointing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic Android Auto wireless unit

Crutchfield customer from Plainville, KS on 8/7/2020

2012 Nissan Armada

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic Android Auto head unit. This is my first unit with wireless support for Android Auto and it works like a champ. After the vehicle has started for about 20 seconds Android Auto just pops right up. This display is also very high resolution and looks wonderful. Outside of Android Auto I can't say a lot (since I don't use it outside of AA very much). The fact that you can update the firmware via Pioneer's app and wifi is nice (no more hunting down a usb drive!).

Pros: - Connects to my phone fast - High resolution display - Nice feeling capacitive touch panel

Cons: - umm...nothing?

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect head unit, very fast and responsive

Andy from Seattle on 8/6/2020

2010 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast, easy to use, works great! I didn't need to refer to the manual to set things up like Car Play, set the clock, stations, etc. It's just really intuitive and easy to use. Boots up fast, and is bright enough that with the top down I can still see the screen in the sunlight. Only downside is there isn't a physical volume knob, but oh well, I'll get used to it.

Pros: Fast, easy to use, bright, full featured!

Cons: No manual volume knob

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myer, VA on 8/4/2020

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

User friendly interface, quick response to the touch screen, extremely convenient to have Alexa built in for voice control...game changer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Indio, CA on 8/1/2020

2019 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

unit simple to install. wireless android auto works great. using my phone as wifi hotspot and keeps me updated on nall my baseball scores. highly recommend. i installed in 2019 subaru outback. everything works as it did from the factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/1/2020

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't have any issues with this head unit other than the screen just looked to small in my Tundra. Little lag here and there but nothing annoying and the wireless Android auto was perfect. I did end up exchanging the unit for a larger display Pioneer. I would recommend this product to anybody that wants a solid headunit and prefers the 7" screen.

Pros: Everything works flawless!

Cons: Little lag here and there but not annoying. Small screen for my liking

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sleek and feature filled

Crutchfield customer from Brownsburg, IN on 7/28/2020

2006 Cadillac STS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this Pioneer DMH-4660NEX head unit! I find it very easy to navigate the screens, although at first it was a little confusing because this thing does A LOT. I did not want a head unit with rotary knobs, it needed to be sleek and modern. After having it for a while, there is one caveat to that. If you have steering wheel controls, it's fantastic. If you don't have steering wheel controls, it could be a little tough to adjust the volume, especially when you are trying to drive. This is the first Carplay system I have owned, and it is a wonderful thing! Wireless Carplay is a HUGE bonus. I don't have to plug my phone in, it can stay in my pocket...I just get in the car and drive. The podcast or the music playlist I was listening to picks up where it left off. I also love the segmented Carplay screen where the GPS is on even if you aren't using the map/driving directions. I don't use physical discs (CD/DVD) anymore, and since this head unit does not play physical discs, the unit itself is much smaller (less deep), and provides tons of room for wiring. I needed that room for the Bose and steering wheel integration modules my Cadillac STS required. I've only had this a few weeks, and have only scratched the surface of what if can do.

Pros: Wireless Carplay, sound adjustments, EQ with presets, extra video out, multiple video in (rear/front camera), HD Radio, Alexa, Siri, hands free calling/texting, Sub pre-outs, multi-channel pre-outs, smaller depth leaves lots of space behind, touch screen is very responsive.

Cons: Lack of volume knob can be tedious if you don't have steering wheel controls. Occasionally switching from one source to another is not very fast.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 7/28/2020

2009 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works amazing. Would definitely recommend!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer Head unit

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 7/26/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just had this head unit installed, works great. I turn on my truck and it's connects to Apple Car play extremely fast. Works flawlessly.

Pros: Connects to phone fast

Cons: Touch screen works great, but I prefer a Volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice unit, needs some software engineering help.

Laz from West Roxbury, MA on 7/25/2020

2008 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit sounds and works great, but be warned that the instructions don't give you a complete picture for how to set up the connected features. CarPlay happens easily enough, but you need to swipe left on the screen (not well documented) in order to use the CarAVAssit app. Then you need to setup the wifi to connect to your phone's hotspot so that the rest of the stuff connects. The connection sequence is wierd, because you need to connect on the unit first and the phone SECOND. Finally, you need to have the wifi tether in place in order to update the software because they won't upload over bluetooth. All of this is lost in the docs. I gave it 4 stars because of all this wonkiness.

Pros: Works great and has a beautiful large screen that looks great in a 2 DIN opening.

Cons: How about an easier setup process? Or even a clear doc for the clunk one that's there?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 7/22/2020

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo that works well with CarPlay. The stereo's built in UI is... fine... a bit confusing in spots, and warning messages that pop up don't provide any useful information about how to resolve them (so... pretty much what you would expect from a stereo manufacturer). For example, most of the things you do on the touch screen where there are options to select are single presses, but weirdly, selecting which equalizer mode you want to use is a list you swipe side to side (why???). But mostly the UI is clean and easy to read, and mostly easy to understand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wireless Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield customer from Eden Prairie, MN on 7/22/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit a week ago and so far i love it! Apple CarPlay WIRELESS is what attracted me to the units. My wife can play music through bluetooth connection while I am connected through AppleCar Play and use my GPS. The installation manual is pretty simple and really easy to install. I bought an additional wire harness that was required and made the connections myself. Unit has very good screen sensitivity and very easy to browse around. There are couple of things I am having problems with, one is the connection to the unit through the Pioneer phone app. For some reason i cannot connect to the unit even when it is connected to wifi and all that stuff. Second is that the unit does not power off when the car is turned off, it stays one until I turn it off manually. I can't find anything in the settings that makes it auto-shut-off or it could user error.

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay, Easy Install

Cons: Does not turn off when car is shut off

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

A very nice unit.

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 7/17/2020

2007 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm pretty happy with my new Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX. The sound quality is a vast improvement over the stock unit in my older Honda Pilot. It's also convenient being able to have thousands of songs available to listen to at a moment's notice without having to carry around and swap out CDs. One thing I miss though is having a volume knob. Yeah, I know it's "old fashioned", but they are still easier to use than not having one. Not everything new is better. I'd probably give this unit a 4 1/2 star rating if that option were available.

Pros: Sound quality, convenience

Cons: Would be nice to have a physical volume/On-Off knob

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clean looking, fast wireless CarPlay, quality screen

Scott from Minneapolis, MN on 7/14/2020

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean looking with fast wireless CarPlay. Unlike many head units, the clean appearance along with the button color customization allows it to blend into the dashboard and it looks as great off as on (see photos). The smooth capacitive screen looks and feels like quality and has FAST response. The buttons along the left are small and if the head unit is recessed into the dash (as mine is) they can be tough with big fingers. But, that's a small issue since the Maestro RR kit retained all the steering wheel controls (with customization) that are used most of the time anyway. This is one of the fastest CarPlay/Siri units I've ever used - almost zero lag (paired with iPhone 11 Pro) - and works great! Bluetooth/WiFi audio quality is very good, and the HD/FM tuner seems to have great reception. Bluetooth has been flawless. Install was easier with the short chassis that leaves plenty of room behind it. Instructions are a bit on the light side so download the full PDF manual before diving in. The firmware update was successful (via USB) and all the features work as expected. Heads up: The Pioneer CarAVAssist app isn't very advanced yet and following the instructions is critical to making it "kind-of" work. The dual camera inputs allowed for perfect paring with Boyo VTK601HD for front and rear cams. The iDatalink Maestro RR is great with this unit and performs all the functions it says it will (including the gauges screen via OBD). Overall, highly recommended.

Pros: Quality screen, clean appearance, good integration with Maestro RR kit, FAST wireless CarPlay, short chassis (easy fit), dual camera inputs with customizable backup lines, good sound quality with lots of graphic EQ settings, excellent integration with factory systems (mine is Bose) when using the Maestro RR setup (as recommended by Crutchfield).

Cons: Light on documentation in the box (download the full PDF), small buttons on left side can be irritating with big fingers and a recessed installation, CarAVAssist app is light on documentation and hard to get it to work, *MUST read the manual to understand "accepting" the privacy info and built in Wi-Fi to make everything work! (patience required)*.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 7/12/2020

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service and fast shipping! Product was in perfect condition, never opened with everything in it! Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Browns Mills, NJ on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade for NB Miata

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 7/11/2020

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this upgrade from the OEM Bose head unit in my 2003 Mazda Miata. Wireless CarPlay is very handy, and works as advertised. Sounds great. Relatively shallow unit and perfect OEM adapter from Crutchfield made the installation easy. It would be nice if the trim kit provided by Crutchfield was designed specifically for a double-DIN unit - it looks fine but there is ever so small an imperfection where you cut the divider out between the two DIN slots. It would also be nice if there was a specific output on the Pioneer unit to operate the motorized antenna, instead of having to join 3 wires together in a wire nut.

Pros: Sounds quality, installation are straightforward.

Cons: Installation manual is provided on paper, but user manual isn't, you have to get PDF from the web.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Game Changer!

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, MD on 7/9/2020

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 4660NEX did not disappoint. It is a game-changer! The Misses and I are very happy with it and plan to keep it for the long haul. After about two-weeks of use, I can say the wireless Apple CarPlay appears to be rock-solid. Pairing with my iPhone is more reliable than a wired connection in my other vehicles. Sometimes, this unit seems to be confused when both my wife's iPhone and my iPhone are in the vehicle at the same time, but I that hasn't been a major problem yet. I did update the firmware to v1.13, in case anyone is wondering. Even though we are still using the stock amp and Bose speakers, the sound is noticeably better. The FM radio features work great. HD Radio is amazing. This unit is fast to tune in stations and very easy to operate. Scrolling through the presets takes a little practice getting the right touch and swipe on the screen, but was easy to master. The touch screen is very responsive and fast. One reason we bought the 4660NEX is the ability to continue using the factory XM tuner (which still has a lifetime subscription). Of course, this in only possible because of the iData link products that we also purchased from Crutchfield. The only gripe I have is that the iData link cannot pass XM signals to the radio and produce turn-signal chimes are the same time. So, when running XM, there is no turn-signal sound. Per iDataLink and Crutchfield (shout out to JT!), this is a known limitation of the iData module, not this head unit.

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay Works Great! Very fast and responsive touchscreen. Great Sound, major improvement over stock. HD Radio is awesome.

Cons: Unit does not seem to auto-connect to my phone's hotspot signal. Not a major deal. Manual connection works fine. We don't use the internet-related features of this radio much, so it isn't a big deal.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

2017 Subaru Legacy w/Harman Kardon

Crutchfield customer from NEEDHAM, MA on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm in love with this thing, it's responsive, sounds great, screen res is fine. No buttons is so sleek! The wireless carplay makes me feel like I'm in a luxury car with the latest 2020 technology. This shouldn't be allowed. Googlemaps, Podcasts, Audm, Whatsapp calls, Zoom... my car is now a phone. Installing this in my 2017 Subaru Legacy w/HK was pretty hard even with the ReadyHarness service, because Subarus just have to be so darn special with all their little features in their dinosaur factory radios. I almost gave up, even printed a return shipping label but one last phone call to tech support saved me. Here are some tips for people with this car. The wiring instructions from idatalink Meastro have some inaccuracies. Tip 1. Of the three main white connectors on your harness, do not connect the one with green and purple wires. That has a mute wire in it and sound won't work . Tip 2: You must unscrew the black Starlink unit under the factory radio from its brackets and retain it fully connected in the dash, otherwise sound won't work. This radio isn't very big and the Starlink can fit right under it. Tip 3. Get a Scosche Dash Kit (either black SU2030B or silver SU2030SB), they are nicer than Metra which looks spraypainted glossy/smudges. Tip 4. Don't forget to connect the extra little doodad that makes your rear camera work: the white and the the blue and into the brown. Tip 5: Your OBDII port is deep down on the kick panel bove where your left foot would be. Enjoy!

Pros: Wireless Apple Carplay. Good sound. Fast interface. It's like a phone. I would like to give a shouout to all the techs who helped me: Andrew, Marc, Kali, Corey, Tom... you guys were all fantastic!!!!!!

Cons: Metra Dash kit not great, get Scosche. iDatalink Maestro instructions inaccurate. Install is difficult.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

DMH-W4660NEX, Hertz speakers, and installation kit

Crutchfield customer from Orangevale, CA on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thrilled with my Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX, Hertz speakers, and installation kit. I installed everything myself easily with all the installation questions answered with the directions and helpful staff a phone call away. It all works and sounds phenomenal and I could not be happier with my purchase and my first car stereo installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Denham Springs, LA on 6/26/2020

2017 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took a little while to figure out how to connect android auto to wifi on my phone and also have my phone on LTE, but after I figured it out everything worked perfectly. It kind of sucks that I need to have a hotspot open for alexa to connect though, I wish it could just use the LTE like android auto. Another thing is it doesn't look like you can use alexa and android auto at the same time, which is kind of a bummer. I wanted to be able to have alexa bring up maps or use alexa for a voice command while having android auto open, and as far as I can tell, I cant. Overall however, I had waited for this radio ever since it debuted at CES and I'm happy to say the wait was worth it.

Pros: Wireless android auto Alexa built in Microphone that comes with it has good quality

Cons: Doesn't seem like you can use alexa and android auto simultaneously Upgraded installation kit came with a factory usb adapter wire that doesn't fit my car. It also wouldn't be android auto / apple CarPlay compatible even if it did. Not sure why its recommended.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Upgrade to 2016 Subaru Legacy

Ryan from Ledyard, CT on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless Carplay functions flawlessly. Annoying I have to use my phone's WIFI Hotspot to get certain apps to work like weather or Alexa. Note: Alexa and Carplay do not work simultaneously. Installation was easier due to shallow depth of unit. Note: Had to use tech support, wiring guide was wrong and needed assistance to get the factory amp to work FYI. Metra dash kit was a tight fit, but the screen was recessed about 1/2" and looked weird. Fits a Scosche 2015 and up dash kit perfectly. Looks even better with Silver color to match trim. Overall, sound is much better for Pioneer unit takes full advantage of the factory Harman Kardon system compared to Subaru NAV Unit.

Pros: Wireless Carplay, Car Info such as TPMS and Check Engine DTCs. Custom colors for buttons.

Cons: Wire guide wrong, Metra dash kit did not fit well and high gloss black finish scratches and gets fingerprints easily.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fast Unit with a Critical SWC Android Auto Flaw

JT from Minot, ND on 6/23/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 4660NEX screen is nice, the references to the unit being slightly smaller are true, but in my case it barely filled the opening with the METRA kit with zero gap (or overlap for that matter). The unit itself is fast, but there's a critical error where the track advance sends multiple advance and fast forward commands in Android Auto causing tracks to be either double skipped or the device to start fast forwarding through songs. The track forward and reverse Steering Wheel Controls (SWCs) work perfectly with all the built in Pioneer apps (Bluetooth, Radio Etc.), but in Android Auto there appears to be a internal firmware wrapper issue that sends multiple commands to Android Auto and subsequently the phone whenever the head unit receives a track forward or back input. Depending on the capabilities of the Android Audio player used (Napster, PowerAmp, Etc...) it will do something unintended such as skipping multiple songs, or beginning a fast forward that cant be stopped till intervening on the phone. The on screen controls do not exhibit the same behavior, nor do the built in Pioneer apps. Pioneer said it would most likely never be fixed as did Crutchfield. A bit disappointing for a brand new head unit designed to work with Android Auto, that exhibits something that I've never encountered in any other Android Auto capable head unit across a multitude of rentals. If you want a working unit with good tech support, look elsewhere.

Pros: Fast Unit Great Screen Clarity

Cons: Don't expect track forward and back steering wheel controls to work as expected in Android Auto. No speed based audio volume adjustment even though the unit has GPS and speed inputs.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Jay from Tucson, AZ on 6/22/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, a good unit so far. Major issue is it does not have standard dimensions so it does not fit any trim molding I have tried. The Metra 95-6528B Dash Kit that Crutchfield says will fit this unit, does not. The radio is approximately 100mm tall by 179mm wide. The interior opening of the kit is 101.5mm tall by 171mm. It's almost a full centimeter wider than the opening (I used mm for measuring to be as precise as possible for the review). I had to cut the trim piece and then fill in some gaps with black caulking. It doesn't look great but it's better than nothing for now. It does have some shortcomings but units like this can have firmware and software updates to work on stuff that doesn't work as it should. The Apple CarPlay doesn't always connect automatically when using it wirelessly. I often have to touch the CarPlay icon and then it goes to a screen showing my phone in the connection list and I have to touch my phone on the list in order to make the connection happen. The wireless connection that is used to power Alexa, the web browser, and other internet functions does not automatically connect to my wireless access point on my phone. I have to turn my phone's Personal Hotspot off then back on after my Pioneer has booted up. Then, a moment later, the Pioneer will automatically find the hotspot and connect. Once a data connection is working, Alexa works very well and I have had no issues with it.

Pros: Has a great interface Nice features Easy to connect Small form factor in the rear makes cable-hiding easier Easy to understand controls Web browser and video playback capabilities make it a potential kid-pleaser if you find yourself waiting in a parking lot for an extended time

Cons: Does not have standard dimensions, does not fit standard trim packages Does not have Pandora or other music services installed other than in conjunction with Apple CarPlay or Android Auto Reverse guidelines cannot be made to display by default, you must press an icon each time you backup (unless you use the camera's built-in lines) Wireless connection to Wi-Fi and phone tethering is not working well, but it does work Apple CarPlay is not automatic every time

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Feature Rich Smart Radio

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 6/22/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a huge upgrade to my Jeep Wrangler Nav Radio. Im familiar with Pioneer and Android Auto but having Wireless AA is amazing. No cords to plug in and AA boots up quickly. The screen is very responsive and easy to use. My only complaint is the soft volume buttons. once you hit vol up or down, it takes more time than it should to register a push and respond.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto, Responsive display, Great screen

Cons: Slow to respond (soft) volume buttons. Can Not edit source menu selections off the list, No feature to add maximum start up volume

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great performance

Zach from EUREKA on 6/17/2020

2004 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit works great. I love the android auto integration. And the sound quality is perfect.

Pros: bright clear picture. Carpaly and android auto works great.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 6/17/2020

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great screen, fast response, and custom layout. Swiping from the edges of the screen could be better but it works. Bought for the wireless Android Auto which works great now. Had a little bit of trouble initially with my Pixel 4 but made a few changes on the phone and it pairs automatically within 10-20 seconds. Couldn't get the orignal Ford SYNC microphone to work so installed the Pioneer mic. Wasn't planning on installing the GPS antenna but it seems to be required to get some of the Pioneer apps to work, like the weather app. Another annoyance was that it must be connected to wifi to get the time. It won't allow you to adjust the time manually. All of these are minor onetime issues that are easily fixed. Backup camera works as does the steering wheel controls. Don't waste your time with the Metra kit. The opening is way oversized, the adapter plate is a different plastic and texture, and is also way oversized. By the time you get the radio mounted, you've got nearly 1/4" of play all the way around. The Scoche kit fit perfectly with minimal play.

Pros: Screen is sharp, simple layout, great sound, lots of customizations

Cons: Sync controls not 100% working, required GPS Antenna, really new so not much help on the internet for installation of the 4660

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Easy to use

Tracy from West Columbia, TX on 6/15/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and set up. Sounds great, lots of ways to adjust sound quality. Bright screen looks at home in the dashboard.

Pros: Carplay works great. Sounds good. Easy to navigate through menus. Bright screen.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy customer

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 6/15/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding functionality and ease of use. The UI is easy to understand. The best part is the wireless Apple Car Play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Short Stereo depth made for easy install!

Crutchfield customer from Crestline, CA on 6/14/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install after a few clarifying questions with tech support. This stereo has an excellent Selection of built in options. Unlike other double-din stereos, this unit is far shorter in depth (approximately 3.5 inches), which eliminated the need to modify the dash and allowed for easy stowing of the new wiring harness and accessories. The only con was, since it is a new model, the manufacturer instructions were often vague and confusing for initial setup, but that is the reason for my purchasing from Crutchfield.

Pros: Short stereo depth.

Cons: Typical of new stereo models, it has vague sometimes generic, instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value, but doesn't fit

Mark from Hudson, NH on 6/11/2020

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this because of the features and "cell phone" like capacitive glass touch screen, but it doesn't fit the car. Ended up going to Pioneers website and in their "Fit Guide", it doesn't list this head unit as compatible with my 2016 Outback. Crutchfield recommended that it will fit with the Metra kit, but after trying to fit it together, it won't work. I believe it to be more of the kit's fault than the stereo, but nevertheless, this radio does NOT have a removable face plate, so the receiver cannot slide into a dash trim kit. It should fit other models of car where it can fully replace the entire double din, but if you're replacing a more "integrated" head unit with this one, if it requires a dash trim piece, this will not fit it. Disappointing, because I wanted specifically this head unit, but RJ in customer support was MORE THAN HELPFUL in getting me straightened out. When i decide what I'm willing to do to make a new head unit work, I'll be back.

Pros: Great features for the money cell-phone like screen

Cons: will not fit all models without modifications

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 6/9/2020

2003 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product A+++++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Close to great, firmware 1.10 is buggy, and read the fine print.

John from Madison, MS on 6/8/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read the fine print. Alexa, weather, sports, and browser only work if your vehicle has its own internet connection. For 99% of the vehicles on the road, you'll only get wireless CarPlay (don't know about Android Auto), SiriusXM, HDRadio, USB, and Bluetooth. Unfortunately for me, the Alexa marketing sucked me in, but it doesn't work in my '14 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon unless I'm in my garage (connected to my home wifi). There are definitely some bugs in firmware 1.10; hope those get resolved - I'm planning on talking to Pioneer to give bug reports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Mike from West Friendship, MD on 6/5/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I shopped around for a long time before landing on this unit which finally check all my boxes without breaking the bank. It has all the bells and whistles you could want in a modern smart radio. It fit and looks great in my Jeep Wrangler and the sound quality over the stock unit is amazing. My only complaint isn't for the radio, the Metra dash adapter for the Jeep is trash, ended up getting a Scosche one which works MUCH better.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay/Android Auto Plenty of power Capacitive touchscreen Wifi

Cons: Screen resolution should be higher

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Matt from Boston, MA on 6/5/2020

2017 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For my first foray into CarPlay, this unit is absolutely fantastic. Installation was a breeze, and the unit boots in less than 5 seconds. Wireless CarPlay works flawlessly and only takes a couple extra seconds to kick in after the unit boots. The display is beautiful and responsive--very little to no input lag when tapping/swiping. Menus are laid out logically (for the most part), but definitely take some time to poke around and find where everything is. The interface itself isn't super ugly like a lot of infotainment systems are, and it's fast! I had 2 points of confusion and I will only fault the documentation for these, not the unit itself: - Getting wireless CarPlay set up was easy...once I figured out what I had to do. I had to pair with Bluetooth, and then find the unit's Wi-Fi network info deep in the menus to get the password, and THEN join the Wi-Fi network created by the unit. Only after doing both of those did wireless CarPlay work. Since that first setup, it's been flawless and effortless. - The unit came with a GPS antenna, and I thought to myself, "I'm not going to need this, I have my phone!" Well, thankfully I tested everything before reassembling the dash because turns out the GPS antenna is required in order to use wireless CarPlay. The documentation does not make this clear! All in all, a huge win for Pioneer. ReadyHarness service was not available as I had hoped, but the wiring was not at all as daunting as it looked.

Pros: - Wireless CarPlay works flawlessly - Interface looks nice and performs well - Display is very high quality - High-powered 5v/3a USB-C port for power/wired CarPlay

Cons: - Documentation not clear on wireless CarPlay setup and requirements - Wires were not pre-stripped on harness (as opposed to the iDatalink T-harness, which did come with pre-stripped wires) -- not a dealbreaker at all, just something to be aware of

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lemon Grove, CA on 6/3/2020

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Duo Bluetooth and wireless CarPlay. That is all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Masterpiece

Yiyuan from Andover, MA on 6/1/2020

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer has done this time with all-new Pioneer 4660 NEX! Although readyHarness service wasn't available at the time of writing, I was told to get Posi-connectors and it made everything easier by following color-coded wires based on a wiring diagram. This radio is amazing, it got all the FM/AM frequencies like my stock one, Carplay & Android wireless/wired (Both worked flawlessly), capacitive screen, USB-C, and many more features. I was surprised at how blazing quick it boots up and ready to go! I strongly recommend it (10/5)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP