Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-W4660NEX

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-W4660NEX

103 reviews
View this product

Jeep JK - Call Quality

Chris from Delray Beach, FL on 2/27/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only gave this a 3 star because of the call quality. The microphone or whatever is not as good as the original UCONNECT in the Jeep Wrangler JK, (2012) infinity Audio system . Calls sound analog like the person is talking from inside a bottle. Aside from that all the other features are great and very responsive. I did have this unit installed with Kickers speakers front and rear in my 2012 , 4 door JK. I also had this done at reputable Car audio shop to be sure my connections were done properly. At this price point I expected all features to be premium quality but that's not the case with this model.

Pros: All features

Cons: Call quality is poor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 2/18/2021

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Great unit for a 2004 4Runner Limited. Wireless car play is snappy. Whole unit boots fast. Install was a breeze. If you're on the fence, just do it. I waited almost 2 years before switching head units over to a car play enabled one. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio with a lot of options

Eric from Saint John, IN on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far a fantastic radio. This is the first after market radio I purchased since 2002 and I can say that technology has changed alot and prices are much different, lol. This thing has more options then I needed but I wanted the wireless Carplay and option for backup camera. I was able to integrate my Lifetime Sirius radio tuner also. If you follow the installation instruction and connect all the wires, cough VSS wire, everything should work correctly. Install in my 99 silverado was pretty easy. So far I have no complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Westwego, LA on 2/1/2021

2013 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this product, easy to install and still learning how to use it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 1/29/2021

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great unit, compact size makes installation easy and it works great! Multiple menus are a little confusing, but easy enough once you get the hang of navigating them. Carplay is incredible. Makes my truck feel brand new again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upate My 2006 Ford F 350

Crutchfield customer from Mohawk, NY on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very straightforward installation Crutchfield had everything set up for me , I did have to call tech support for some advice and they were excellent,just have to learn my way around the settings. Thank you Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, CA on 1/25/2021

2017 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price for a great product. Easy to install and the shallow depth makes the wiring storage non existent.

Pros: Minimal size, easy to install.

Cons: Better instructions from pioneer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would buy again but needs just a little refine in the software area.

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 1/25/2021

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it so far but there is one issue I am constantly having is that the home screen after a couple days will revert back to factory display and button layout. No matter how many times I reconfigure the screen to my preferences it will eventually switch back on its own randomly. This is very annoying and I have about given up on trying to configure it. Yes it does have the latest software update as well. Highly recommend not bothering with carav it is almost impossible to setup as their are no clear instructions and the added features are not with the effort.

Pros: wireless car play, EQ adjustability, good amount of Features.

Cons: system bugs, Volume controls are laggy, carav is pointless and very difficult to set up and use.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, NH on 1/24/2021

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice replacement for the stock unit. The iOS functionality is a bit better than Android. The Android connectivity is a little more glitchy and has some difficulty connecting wirelessly. There are also intermittent volume glitches where the volume will spike and then go back to normal as the music is connecting. No problem at all with iOS. Overall a nice unit with good sound. Connectivity glitches with Android make it a 4 instead of 5 star. If I were only using iOS, 5/5. This unit is basically a passthrough for your phone. There is no disc or physical media, but who needs that. Maps work awesome through your phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic radio to update an older truck

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 1/22/2021

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brought this radio for my son's 2004 Silverado and it absolutely worked out perfectly. He is just thrilled with it. It honestly looks like it is original to the vehicle. We left the original Bose speakers and with the new radio, they sound fantastic! Very pleased thus far and recommend. Crutchfield made everything so easy as they recommended everything you needed for an easy installment. Will definitely use them in the future should my family need to upgrade a radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't waste you money in the shop. You can di this.

Crutchfield customer from Lyndhurst, NJ on 1/20/2021

2005 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was going to go with the non android aito version of this radio but I am glad I went with this. Don't waste your money to get your radio installed in a shop. With the instructions this comes you need no knowledge to install. It is very clearly guided and pictured accounting to your car model. You can even get your harness set up for you so you can plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from West Haven, CT on 1/18/2021

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Matthew from Watonga ok on 1/18/2021

2012 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way better then expected

Pros: Shows car gages and codes if check engin light is on

Cons: Slow changing from one thang to another like alexa and Android auto

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Whitestone, NY on 1/17/2021

2001 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not really sure about this radio yet it's been 2 days since installed so far it's super quirky

Pros: Compact chassis had radio

Cons: Really quirky Alexa and has problems connecting to WiFi

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clean and sleek

Crutchfield customer from MN on 1/17/2021

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2004 Volvo S60, this Pioneer radio has a Clean interface, easy wiring, make sure you connect the Climate Control Module before testing the steering wheel controls using the Crux adapter otherwise that feature will not work during testing. You will need VIDA Volvo software (Or Volvo Dealer) to reset the SRS Airbag Urgent message if you remove the Climate Control Module while the car battery is connected. Highly recommend the screw on wire caps Crutchfield offers as they are easy and look clean. Very smart support team.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would highly recomend

Crutchfield customer from Winfield, WV on 1/17/2021

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the head unit so much I got one for each of our vehicles!!! Functions as it should and love that it's easy to get through all the modes! Will never go without Apple car play again! The screen is super responsive and looks fantastic. 6.8 inch screen is enough. I may upgrade to a 9 inch screen in the future! Love this product though would definitely recommend! Installed in a 2017 Toyota Tacoma and 2016 Toyota RAV4

Pros: Function, looks easy to install

Cons: Only complaint is size, 6.8 inches is plenty put wish I would have spent a little more and got the 9 inch but it's a personal preference. No real complaints!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, CO on 1/17/2021

2001 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy it so far. The only thing I wish I would have got was knob for the volume. Other than that no complaints!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome upgrade for 16 WRX

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 1/17/2021

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality difference from the factory head unit to this one is night and day. Even with factory speakers it sounds sooo much better! Wireless apple CarPlay is amazing! I love the sleek look of it too with no actual buttons!

Pros: Wireless CarPlay Sound quality Looks amazing Touch screen responds perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 1/13/2021

2015 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pioneer W4660Nex is great. It doesn't look out of place in my 2015 camaro. The wireless Android Auto has worked great. Screen picture quality is very good and bright. The unit is full of features, I recommend reading in user manual. I'm extremely happy. The sound quality is awesome, matter of fact it over powers my speakers if set over 30 at the volume setting. I will upgrade my speakers next. Crutchfield need a great job at helping me pick out all the components for the install.

Pros: The unit as every option I could want.

Cons: None that I can think off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from DAYTON, OH on 1/13/2021

2018 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, a pretty good unit. I got this mainly for the wireless Android Auto feature, which works great, but due to how wireless Android Auto works (WiFi connection with receiver) the built-in Alexa voice assistant can not be used at the same time since it requires a hotspot connection from your phone, unless your phone can do both at the same time. Another downside with the built-in Alexa is Spotify is not supported. Pairing this unit with an Echo Auto will probably be your best bet if you want full Alexa functionality.

Pros: Seamless wireless Android Auto operation Easy to operate Responsive

Cons: Can't have wireless Android Auto and Alexa assistant at the same time Spotify is not supported through Alexa Slightly overpriced

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Whittier, CA on 1/12/2021

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit, difficult to update and program some functions. Need to call Pioneer soon and get that squared away I hope.

Pros: Super modern, updates the look of my older truck, fast bluetooth connectivity, great sound quality.

Cons: Can't get phone to work with bluetooth, can't get update to work, wired or wireless.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 1/11/2021

2012 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product. Wireless carplay works very well. Screen resolution and responsiveness could be a little better for the price. Alexa integration could use some work as switching between Alexa and CarPlay is very very cumbersome. The processor feels pretty slow. Screen is great aside from wanting a little better resolution. Unit has many awesome features, although i don't know if i will use all of them.

Pros: Reliable unit with wireless Carplay.

Cons: Screen resolution and responsiveness could be a little better for the price. Alexa integration could use some work as switching between Alexa and CarPlay is very very cumbersome. The processor feels pretty slow.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My recent Pioneer headset install

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 1/11/2021

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio display is awesome. I did call tech support, the girl was great. I thought I was missing a part...but I discovered I was sitting on it. I bought the extra kit to hook up steering wheel controls. Yes, spend the extra money it was well worth it. This is my second pioneer, this was a step up from the first but well worth it. I can see the display when the sun is out, the colors look really good and the sound is awesome.

Pros: Display doesn't disappear in bright light Sound is great I love the wireless CarPlay

Cons: The aux chime could be a little louder for my ears. I wish it had an extra USB port

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 1/11/2021

2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing look and easy install. Another fine product by Pioneer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

John from KELLYVILLE, OK on 1/7/2021

2003 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless CarPlay is a game changer. This head unit is dead simple to operate and getting my phone connected was a breeze. Display is bright and responds well to touch. Overall a great unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer Quality

Crutchfield customer from Fairhope, AL on 1/7/2021

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit meets all expectations and works well with idatalink maestro to solve Uconnect update brick.

Pros: Google maps connects to vehicle systems displays ECU parameters

Cons: maybe user error but cannot see notifications when on radio screen.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than factory nav!

Lucas A from Urbana, IL on 1/4/2021

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, I'm delighted with this unit! It replaced a Denso Black Tie factory navigation unit in my 2010 GMC Sierra w/ the Bose sound system and factory nav. It adds Wireless Android Auto (and Wireless Apple CarPlay) to the vehicle, and creates an overall well-integrated and high-tech feel for my truck. It's better looking and better-integrated than the original factory-headunit while being more responsive, more useful, and easier to use. I have been pleasantly surprised by Wireless Android Auto. I drive a lot of short suburban trips, and also occasional 9+ hour road trips. Also, the wireless mode is more reliable than the wired mode, because my Google Pixel XL 2's USB-C port is worn after several thousand insertions. A bump or jostle can interrupt the physical connection. Wireless mode has no such interruptions and has been rock solid. Wireless Android Auto works so well that I usually use Android Auto on a 5-10 minute drive across town, which is a pleasant surprise. Installation notes: * Since my vehicle has factory nav, an iDataLink ACC-NAC2 adapter allows me to use the factory GPS antenna, instead of the included Pioneer GPS antenna. * I still needed the Pioneer microphone, even though my truck has OnStar w/ Bluetooth. With the Pioneer mic, this makes OnStar completely obsolete for my purposes.

Pros: * Integration with my GMT900 (with Maestro RR2) is better-than-factory. * Wireless Android Auto is far more seamless than I expected.

Cons: * Parking Guidelines are not on by default and have to be turned on by pressing a button every time you back up. * Parking guidelines are unavailable on the Parking Assist screen. * My truck's OEM camera only turns the backup camera on while the truck is in reverse which makes it very difficult to adjust the parking guidelines. * The head unit reads the vehicle speed but does not implement speed-sensitive volume. All of these issues can be fixed through a future firm

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Really dissapointed

Maxwell from WHITE CITY, OR on 1/3/2021

2009 Mercury Mariner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off - I really want to like this unit. Wireless CarPlay, dual cam input, audio possibilities, dual Bluetooth, and more are really promising. But for this price plus the additional cost for install accessories, this thing should not have the connectivity issues it has. I'm on the latest firmware update (1.3), which unlike other reviews was easy for me to install through USB. Every time I startup this unit, I have to go through this painful ritual of trying to get CarPlay to work. At several points I've even tried just doing USB CarPlay only, but that doesn't even work. There's also an issue where it won't let you adjust the volume on the unit when in CarPlay mode. It's greyed out. The only pros for now are the dual cameras, the ability to customize your Home Screen, the audio quality, and that it looks fairly factory and clean. If Pioneer can push an update that finally addresses the connectivity issues I and several others have experienced, I will be more than happy to update this review. Also this review does not reflect on Crutchfield, they're always phenomenal.

Pros: Audio quality Dual cam Clean look Maestro

Cons: CarPlay & Connectivity just don't work.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect upgrade for an older vehicle

Crutchfield customer from Owens X Rds, AL on 12/31/2020

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing unit and sound! Install went smooth and looks beautiful. Perfect upgrade for my 2007 Avalanche LTZ. Makes it feel like a new truck :-). Great support staff too when I had install questions. Almost went for 5500nex but couldn't be happier with this unit! Display is plenty large enough for me and it has an almost original look to it.

Pros: Feature rich Wireless CarPlay All the right kits available to preserve functions Wonderful sound options and quality

Cons: Instructions were not explicit but tech support is great. There is a lot of reading to get smart on everything if you self install, but it is all provided.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Willard, UT on 12/30/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not impressed with the Bluetooth connection on this radio. Once hooked up directworks like a champ. If you rely on Bluettooth I would keep looking.

Pros: Love the screen clarity.

Cons: Bluettooth is horrible.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My new radio

Crutchfield customer from San Mateo, CA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After my first aftermarket radio was boosted, I brought this one, the sound is out standing. It connects to my iPhone very well with out cords what a game changer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Don't be fooled

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, Fa on 12/24/2020

2013 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this unit to upgrade my factory system in my 2006 Silverado. The unit sounds good, not as good as the factory Bose but it will do. It is MOSTLY compatible with the steering wheel controls. It is advertised as wired AND wireless Apple CarPlay. That's the reason for the purchase. After 3 phones and numerous attempts I finally realized there is absolutely no way to get this unit to perform reliably with wireless CarPlay. A call to pioneer tech assist confirmed this. Per their tech support "we recommend using a cable as the wireless function is not reliable on this unit". WOW, it shouldn't be advertised as wireless, or priced that way if it doesn't work! Worse, I'm out of the exchange window so I'm stuck with a product that was misrepresented and absurdly priced. LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE AND DON'T BUY THIS UNIT!

Pros: Many features

Cons: Apple CarPlay simply doesn't work wirelessly.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from West Orange, NJ on 12/10/2020

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really pleased with this Pioneer head unit. I'm a total newbie when it comes to this kind of thing, but installation was easy thanks to Crutchfield's master sheet and tech support. I'm enjoying the wireless Carplay in my 2018 Subaru Forester.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good, but not worth the price

Nickolaus from Fort Wayne, IN on 12/6/2020

2007 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expensive for what you get. Radio looks nice and has a lot of features. Sound quality is very good compared to original factory unit. Bluetooth and wi-fi connections are extremely flaky. Audio cuts out once in a while, wi-fi never auto connects. Attempt to connect wi-fi manually and 90% of time it fails. Connection randomly drops out and then have to reconnect. Haven't found a way to permanently hold where the icons are on the Home Screen, which is annoying. Volume controls/home button along the edge is so small, almost impossible to hit them correctly. It's rare the unit responds to the first push. Always several touches needed. Not super impressed, but in order to get HD radio, wireless car play and radio data system, had to spend some coin. May return for something else. Pioneer needs to work on these a bit. For as long as they have been around, I'd have expected better with the years of development they have had.

Pros: HD Radio Wireless car play Graphics decent

Cons: Flaky Bluetooth and Wi-fi connections Touch buttons too small

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Phenomenal little monster!

Michael from SNOHOMISH, WA on 12/1/2020

2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2010 Chevy Camaro SS, and the dash it a bit shallow for a traditional double-din with the harness, etc. This unit offered me a no-compromises way I could add an aftermarket stereo without cutting behind the dash! Setup was very easy and I had Android Auto working wirelessly within about 5 minutes once it was installed. The Crutchfield ready harness made a LOT of difference... but I have never installed a stereo before, and hooking up the deck itself took only minutes once I had the dash kit figured out. The capacitative screen is nice -- there is no lag -- and the auto brightness seems to work well (I noticed others have mentioned color getting washed out; I didn't have that issue... maybe because my driver's cabin is a cave? LOL). 100% would recommend this little guy to anyone who doesn't need CD/DVD capability to hit all the marks with no compromises. Really pleased!

Pros: Beautiful screen, seamless wireless Android Auto, easy set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Hate to seem like a broken record

Crutchfield customer from Fountain, MI on 11/28/2020

2006 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fitment of the player is great, and it works well and has fantastic features....when it works. Connectivity is spotty at best, I had to restore the deck to factory and try to re-teach the WiFi and Bluetooth settings for my phone with horrible success, I've also tried doing software updates in both ways, USB I tried with a few different USB's just in case of incompatibility issues. Straight from the phone app also did not work, was able to download the update, but not transmit it to the deck, even after the restore. The install went well however, and the interface is nice, wireless/wired CarPlay works well as long as everything is connected. My old stereo had fantastic sound quality, and I was very happy to find that it was just as good or better(with the added adjustability)this new deck.

Pros: Great sound quality, great UI, smooth install with kit.

Cons: Spotty initial connectivity, and a little difficult to get the audio settings right .

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GREAT Head Unit & Great Value

Crutchfield customer from ENOLA, PA on 11/28/2020

2006 Chevrolet SSR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you want and need in a head unit, nothing most of us don't want or need (like a CD player), at a great price. It's overall size was about half that of the OEM unit I removed from my 2006 Chevy SSR, which left plenty of room in the dash for the harnesses and adapters for the new Bluetooth, Backup Camera, Sirius unit, etc. Buying the "ReadyHarness" from Crutchfield made installation quick and easy, as it was literally plug and play. No soldering, no crimping. Just plug the custom-tailored harness connectors to the new head unit and it's done! I added the Pioneer backup camera and now my 2006 truck is just as technology-capable as our new car.

Pros: Crutchfield "ReadyHarness" made the installation a breeze. Great sound, easy to use, connectivity is simple and easy.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 11/22/2020

2004 GMC Sierra Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new system. I feel like I am driving a new truck with all of the features. This thing is AWESOME!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just not a Good radio

Jackson from Goose Creek, SC on 11/21/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I've had the same issue as everyone else. The connection is extremely unreliable. Additionally I'll let a box with an exclamation mark in the bottom left and I won't be able to do anything. I tried doing the most recent firmware update and it didn't work. My wife just wanted to have a nice radio in her Jeep after having a rental for a while that had Apple CarPlay. For this price this radio barely even works as a regular radio. Better off with the factory unit. I'd stay away.

Pros: Attractive design

Cons: Doesn't stay connected and doesn't even work as a radio perio

Crutchfield response on 11/24/2020
Jackson, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 7 found this helpful

Eh.

Crutchfield customer from Sumter , SC on 11/21/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this radio, it's a nice upgrade from the factory one that my Jeep came equipped with. The icons are large, and the screen looks nice, but there are a few issues that detract from it a bit. First, the volume controls are buttons, rather than a knob which I'm used to. I didn't think it would bother me so much when I looked at it, but it takes longer to change the volume with the buttons. Second, it has some connectivity issues sometimes where it randomly stops connecting to my phone in the middle of a drive. It connects back again later on. Lastly, the dimmer just doesn't seem to work on my unit. I've tried to set it to dim automatically and as well as at certain times of the day and it doesn't ever dim. I ended up having to turn the regular lights down low just so it wasn't so blindingly bright at night, but it's kind of difficult to see during the day with it that low. Overall, it's a nice unit, but I'm not sure if it was worth the money it costed. Also, the install for this one ended up being more difficult than I expected for my Jeep Wrangler and I ended up having to take it somewhere to have it professionally installed. I bought a different one from Crutchfield for a different car in the past and had no trouble installing that one, but this one was a little more work to install.

Pros: Large icons Arrived quickly Screen looks nice

Cons: Volume is controlled by buttons rather than a knob Connectivity issues Technical issues with the dimmer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Burleson, TX on 11/18/2020

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't reliably connect to my phone every time. I have to connect through menus. Bluetooth lags behind and consequently skips while playing. Sometimes it even connects to my wife's phone instead of my iPhone XR even though mine is #1.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay

Cons: Spotty Bluetooth Can't switch phone connection while driving

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye , AZ on 11/8/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Friday Harbor, WA on 11/3/2020

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great wireless CarPlay. Phone hooks up effortlessly, just what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not Yet Fully Baked - Wireless AA Woes

Michael from ATLANTIC HLDS, NJ on 11/3/2020

2016 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking at the specs of this radio, it checks off nearly all the things I was looking for in a head unit for my Jeep Renegade. It had a sizable screen, supported wireless Android Auto, could launch Android Auto automatically, supported iDatalink, and had the RCA outs I wanted for future upgrades. The shallow depth of this unit meant that I could pair it with the Metra 95-6518B Double Din Installation Kit (made for a Dodge Ram) to get a STOCK appearance in the Jeep Renegade, not that ugly bumped-out Metra kit! This was huge! Honestly, it's the main reason that I've been sticking with the unit. Installation was a breeze. Working with less depth made it a bit easier than installing my old Kenwood DDX9905S. iDatalink setup was the same as always, though Pioneer doesn't support Pause on the steering wheel like Kenwood does. Here's where the fun starts. When *wireless* AA starts up, no sound comes from the unit, including menu beeps in the unit itself. If I start ANY other source, it will produce sound and menu beeps. If *wired* AA starts, everything behaves as normal. Also, the color on the screen is washed out and oversaturated in wired & wireless Android Auto. Pioneer support initially had me return my first unit, I purchased another and the issue existed on that as well. Crutchfield support very aptly pointed to this being a Pioneer firmware issue. I am on the latest firmware and another call to Pioneer reported the bugs.

Pros: Shallow depth Fast Android Auto Startup Interface Customization iDatalink Support

Cons: Wireless Firmware Updating Process Wireless Android Auto Bugs Only one USB port No iDatalink Pause button support on steering wheel Buggy firmware - Unfinished Product

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great features and relatively easy install

Troy from Olney on 11/2/2020

2011 Ford Escape Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great stereo and OEM-like fit and finish in my 2011 Ford Escape Hybrid Limited (using the Metra 99-5814HG Dash Kit). Wireless CarPlay, wireless audio streaming, tons of custom options for getting your sound just right (equalizer, sound delays for individual speakers..). Alexa hands-free options is great for controlling the stereo and answering any question - just like when using Alexa at home. The back-up cam turns right on even before the system has fully booted (which only takes a few seconds). Installation wasn't easy but wasn't too hard. I was able to re-use the factory Sirius antenna by purchasing a small adapter. I also purchased the iDatalink Maestro which retains all the steering wheel controls. I HIGHLY recommend paying Crutchfield $25 to do the "ReadyHarness" service - they do all the wiring harness connections for you, so all you have to do it plug it into the existing radio connections and then into your new unit - very easy. Saves a ton of time and frustration. The unit looks so sleek and great in the dash - but no volume knob, only buttons (you can also use the steering wheel controls). It only took a few trips to get used to this - no big deal once you're used to using the buttons. I cross-shopped the similarly priced JVC and Kenwood units, but bought this one because of the features and the compact chassis which makes stuffing all the cords and re-installing a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome wireless CarPlay and sound!

Crutchfield customer from Forest Hills, NY on 11/1/2020

2017 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my 2017 Subaru Forester with Harmon Kardon speakers and Nav. After getting tired of using my iPhone for GPS and Spotify, this made life so much easier. The sound is incredible with this radio and the wireless CarPlay is so convenient. Used the Maestro instructions for the 7" 2017 Subaru Forester (even tho the screen is 6.8") and it worked fine. You must keep the black telematics unit hooked up otherwise you'll lose sound in the front two speakers, it's a tight fit so I shoved it in diagonally and up behind the Pioneer. Was able to hide the mic wire and the gps wire nicely in the black weather stripping on the driver side door

Pros: Sound is excellent, if you buy the HD antennae splice it with the blue and white navigation control wire, sleek design, so far no problem with glare

Cons: Can't set the clock time (it's set by the gps so you can only choose the UTC time zone), had to military splice the brown wire into the starlink pink wire, tight fit with the black Subaru telematics box (had to shove it in diagonally and up), wasn't able to reuse the stock Subaru GPS antennae cable bc the connector didn't fit into the Pioneer so had to use the GPS that came with the Pioneer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Head unit, horrible app

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 11/1/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thinking back it was an easy install, even though have never done it before. Totally worth the upgrade from stock radio, very noticeable improvement in sound quality even with stock speakers. Pioneers carAV assist app is very frustrating but that's just a first world problem. So in general very pleased and would highly recommend!

Pros: Attractive unit, easy to use

Cons: App sucks

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

An Upgrade for sure, but not exactly overwhelmingly great.

Nicholas from BAKERSFIELD, CA on 10/18/2020

2016 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've recently upgraded my 2015 Ford Escape with the Pioneer DMN-W4660NEX and the overall upgrade is nice but a little underwhelming (more on that below). Overall, it looks good, the audio is great, touchscreen is nice, and it has CarPlay, which is all I really wanted. The negatives: 1- It absolutely will not firmware update with the App. I've tried, factory resets, reconnects, it just will not update. The Pioneer mobile app is awfully cheap and it just keeps telling me to try again. I've resigned myself to the fact that I'll never have a firmware update. 2- the external mic included is causing a lot of audio feedback to the caller. It's an extreme disappointment. I've pulled the radio, verified the connections, called Crutchfield, and all I can assume is the mic is just cheap. I'm looking for a new external mic now but it's a shame I'll have to pull the unit out again. 3- This is more of my lack of knowledge on the intricacies of hardwired CarPlay but you actually can't transfer video over CarPlay. You have to use the (not included) HDMI connection in the head unit plugged into a (not included) mini HDMI Adapter for your phone. No blame on Pioneer for this one, obviously it was my mistake in not knowing how it worked, but I probably would have selected a different unit if I knew I had to run all those other cables. 4- My stock rear view camera no longer works. Everything is connected and reconnected but no video for my camera.

Pros: CarPlay In-Car GPS Customizable Backgrounds

Cons: Cheap Mobile App Too many specialty cables to run Provided Microphone causes feedback loop Doesn't support stock backup camera after all

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

great unit!

EDWIN from NORTH WINDHAM, CT on 9/28/2020

2007 Honda Element LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit, works flawlessly so far. Takes getting used to the controls due to no actual buttons but its not a make or break deal. My biggest gripe is the the slow turn on sequence. First the NEX screen comes on, next the warning and finally your system comes on. If overall this was 2 seconds faster id give it 5 stars. Another thing the metra kit that came along with this was garbage! if i had used it the radio would sit back 1" or more easy. I like the flush mount look. Ended up having to hobble together a Scoshe kit and this metra kit to get the flush look i wanted. Its not 100% flush but 10x better than if i had used the metra kit. Also used the Pioneer back up cam and its incredible to say the least!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Wes from CAMDEN, SC on 9/24/2020

2008 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be a 5 if Caravassist worked...glad it allowed firmware update, rest of functions garbage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Alexander from Baltimore, MD on 9/10/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge upgrade over the stock head unit and loving the wireless Android Auto

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very great item and customer service

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

The good the bad and the ugly

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 9/3/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2011 Toyota Tundra non-JBL The Good; Nice receiver overall. Screen is clear and bright enough to see even in the very bright New Mexico sun. Controls take some getting used to, but once you get used to them they provide fairly easy access to everything the unit can do. But, the controls are far from what I would call intuitive. Install wasn't too bad thanks to Crutchfield's harness but, because there were so many possible connections that weren't required, I did need to work with Crutchfield Tech Support (worth twice the price differential that Crutchfield charges). A big shout out to Oakley, who was very patient and knowledgeable with helping me get where I needed to go. I had purchased a backup camera from another source (Crutchfield said none of theirs would fit my vehicle?). The bad; I never could get the factory USB/AUX ports to work with this unit. I don't understand why no one can make an adapter compatible with a vehicle as popular as a Toyota pickup. Also, the controls lag a little too much. USB C is under used with no features to set it apart from USB A connections on other units and there is only 1 USB C. The ugly; The phone audio is barely tolerable. Voice going out is good, but coming back, you can almost not understand whoever you are talking. For a unit as pricey as this, you would think Pioneer could do better.

Pros: - usable controls and brilliant visual on the display - Good feature set - USB C (Even if it is under-used - Upgradable OS, so hopefully Pioneer will have upgrades to fix some of the shortcomings - competitive price

Cons: - Only one USB In (Even if it is USB C) - No way to use factory Aux/USB in-dash connectors - Phone audio out makes hands free barely usable - Too much lag in controls response

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 9/3/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit. Pioneer app could use some work. Kind of a pain to update the firmware. Sounds great though and a very easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lynn Haven, FL on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this radio. Only thing Reason I am giving this 4 stars is my car usb no longer works and I have to now figure out why.

Pros: Very user friendly

Cons: Car usb no longer works

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lanexa, VA on 9/1/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audio quality was terrible over Bluetooth and not much better plugged in, ended up returning

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Clintonville, WI on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install withpre-made harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good, not great.

Crutchfield customer from ANCHORAGE, AK on 8/30/2020

2010 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The features and interface are great. The screen is a little dim in bright sunlight, viewable but not as bright as I'd like. The side buttons are also tiny and hard to hit, without external physical controls adjusting volume requires taking your eyes off the road. The mic for calling is super sensitive and pics it too much background noise.

Pros: Interface, functionality, connectivity

Cons: Screen, mic, cost

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 8/30/2020

2014 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit functions great, getting it connected to the internet has been a problem to get it updated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect solution for my '09 Sienna

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 8/29/2020

2009 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am extremely happy with this unit. My wife's OEM radio and dvd nav busted and the dealer wanted $3500 for a 2009 Toyota Sienna replacement. Woah! I did my research on Crutchfield and came up with a few viable candidates. Not wanting to spend a ton of money for an 11 year old van, I settled on this. This unit along with the maestro harness is more than we could ask for...our controls function on the steering wheel, the oem backup camera works like a charm, and both the wired and wireless CarPlay are impressive. This was my first time installing an aftermarket radio and Crutchfield could not have made it easier. Support was helpful on the calls I placed to answer my dumb questions. From start to finish this was a 3 hour endeavor and this radio shines like a champ. Sounds great with the existing JBL system from Toyota. The user interface takes a bit to get used to, but once down pat it's a breeze to navigate. This is a great addition to our 2009 Toyota Sienna XLE.

Pros: CarPlay

Cons: Can be tricky with two phones in the car

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

kj from ROWLETT, TX on 8/27/2020

2011 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

connection to phone is flaky/unreliable. Otherwise, nothing remarkable about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/31/2020
KJ, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Wireless CarPlay Console

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/23/2020

2013 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new console! Wireless CarPlay is great and useful when you are going on short trips and don't want to bother taking your phone out of your pocket. The installation was easy and Crutchfield was super helpful. The only con in the entire process was that the unit I received appeared to be defective (it would randomly restart and the microphone input didn't work consistently). But after receiving a new unit, everything works perfectly.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay! Easy to install!

Cons: No volume dial, makes adjusting the volume a little difficult with up/down buttons Had a defective unit on first pass

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chaumont, NY on 8/15/2020

2009 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing head unit.

Pros: wireless everything

Cons: READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR CARAVASIST

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit with major flaw

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 8/14/2020

2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to give it 5 stars, I feel like for the most part it is a 5 star head unit but the lack of physical knob for at least volume control really holds this unit back. He's I knew this going in but I also figured that the dedicated touch screen buttons would be easier to use but they are too small and too close together.

Pros: Wireless Android auto and apple car play. Responsive interface with minimal lag. Gorgeous screen.

Cons: No physical buttons and the touch screen ones are cumbersome to use.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Don't make the mistake I did

Eric from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 8/11/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking radio and carplay is very cool. BAD Wireless Carplay is finicky Phone audio sounds like R2D2 and others say I sounds like I am in a can (not usable). Factory jeep phone was WAY better Ultimately I decided to put my factory radio back in. I need to have hands free calling.

Pros: glass and resolution

Cons: Wireless Carplay is finicky Phone audio sounds like R2D2 and others say I sounds like I am in a can. Factory jeep phone was WAY better

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Elk River, MN on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is fine. The help to set up the speed sensor was NOT! They could/would not help with this. Very disappointing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic Android Auto wireless unit

Crutchfield customer from Plainville, KS on 8/7/2020

2012 Nissan Armada

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic Android Auto head unit. This is my first unit with wireless support for Android Auto and it works like a champ. After the vehicle has started for about 20 seconds Android Auto just pops right up. This display is also very high resolution and looks wonderful. Outside of Android Auto I can't say a lot (since I don't use it outside of AA very much). The fact that you can update the firmware via Pioneer's app and wifi is nice (no more hunting down a usb drive!).

Pros: - Connects to my phone fast - High resolution display - Nice feeling capacitive touch panel

Cons: - umm...nothing?

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect head unit, very fast and responsive

Andy from Seattle on 8/6/2020

2010 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast, easy to use, works great! I didn't need to refer to the manual to set things up like Car Play, set the clock, stations, etc. It's just really intuitive and easy to use. Boots up fast, and is bright enough that with the top down I can still see the screen in the sunlight. Only downside is there isn't a physical volume knob, but oh well, I'll get used to it.

Pros: Fast, easy to use, bright, full featured!

Cons: No manual volume knob

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myer, VA on 8/4/2020

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

User friendly interface, quick response to the touch screen, extremely convenient to have Alexa built in for voice control...game changer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Indio, CA on 8/1/2020

2019 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

unit simple to install. wireless android auto works great. using my phone as wifi hotspot and keeps me updated on nall my baseball scores. highly recommend. i installed in 2019 subaru outback. everything works as it did from the factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/1/2020

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't have any issues with this head unit other than the screen just looked to small in my Tundra. Little lag here and there but nothing annoying and the wireless Android auto was perfect. I did end up exchanging the unit for a larger display Pioneer. I would recommend this product to anybody that wants a solid headunit and prefers the 7" screen.

Pros: Everything works flawless!

Cons: Little lag here and there but not annoying. Small screen for my liking

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sleek and feature filled

Crutchfield customer from Brownsburg, IN on 7/28/2020

2006 Cadillac STS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this Pioneer DMH-4660NEX head unit! I find it very easy to navigate the screens, although at first it was a little confusing because this thing does A LOT. I did not want a head unit with rotary knobs, it needed to be sleek and modern. After having it for a while, there is one caveat to that. If you have steering wheel controls, it's fantastic. If you don't have steering wheel controls, it could be a little tough to adjust the volume, especially when you are trying to drive. This is the first Carplay system I have owned, and it is a wonderful thing! Wireless Carplay is a HUGE bonus. I don't have to plug my phone in, it can stay in my pocket...I just get in the car and drive. The podcast or the music playlist I was listening to picks up where it left off. I also love the segmented Carplay screen where the GPS is on even if you aren't using the map/driving directions. I don't use physical discs (CD/DVD) anymore, and since this head unit does not play physical discs, the unit itself is much smaller (less deep), and provides tons of room for wiring. I needed that room for the Bose and steering wheel integration modules my Cadillac STS required. I've only had this a few weeks, and have only scratched the surface of what if can do.

Pros: Wireless Carplay, sound adjustments, EQ with presets, extra video out, multiple video in (rear/front camera), HD Radio, Alexa, Siri, hands free calling/texting, Sub pre-outs, multi-channel pre-outs, smaller depth leaves lots of space behind, touch screen is very responsive.

Cons: Lack of volume knob can be tedious if you don't have steering wheel controls. Occasionally switching from one source to another is not very fast.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 7/28/2020

2009 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works amazing. Would definitely recommend!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer Head unit

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 7/26/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just had this head unit installed, works great. I turn on my truck and it's connects to Apple Car play extremely fast. Works flawlessly.

Pros: Connects to phone fast

Cons: Touch screen works great, but I prefer a Volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice unit, needs some software engineering help.

Laz from West Roxbury, MA on 7/25/2020

2008 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit sounds and works great, but be warned that the instructions don't give you a complete picture for how to set up the connected features. CarPlay happens easily enough, but you need to swipe left on the screen (not well documented) in order to use the CarAVAssit app. Then you need to setup the wifi to connect to your phone's hotspot so that the rest of the stuff connects. The connection sequence is wierd, because you need to connect on the unit first and the phone SECOND. Finally, you need to have the wifi tether in place in order to update the software because they won't upload over bluetooth. All of this is lost in the docs. I gave it 4 stars because of all this wonkiness.

Pros: Works great and has a beautiful large screen that looks great in a 2 DIN opening.

Cons: How about an easier setup process? Or even a clear doc for the clunk one that's there?

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 7/22/2020

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo that works well with CarPlay. The stereo's built in UI is... fine... a bit confusing in spots, and warning messages that pop up don't provide any useful information about how to resolve them (so... pretty much what you would expect from a stereo manufacturer). For example, most of the things you do on the touch screen where there are options to select are single presses, but weirdly, selecting which equalizer mode you want to use is a list you swipe side to side (why???). But mostly the UI is clean and easy to read, and mostly easy to understand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wireless Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield customer from Eden Prairie, MN on 7/22/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit a week ago and so far i love it! Apple CarPlay WIRELESS is what attracted me to the units. My wife can play music through bluetooth connection while I am connected through AppleCar Play and use my GPS. The installation manual is pretty simple and really easy to install. I bought an additional wire harness that was required and made the connections myself. Unit has very good screen sensitivity and very easy to browse around. There are couple of things I am having problems with, one is the connection to the unit through the Pioneer phone app. For some reason i cannot connect to the unit even when it is connected to wifi and all that stuff. Second is that the unit does not power off when the car is turned off, it stays one until I turn it off manually. I can't find anything in the settings that makes it auto-shut-off or it could user error.

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay, Easy Install

Cons: Does not turn off when car is shut off

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

A very nice unit.

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 7/17/2020

2007 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm pretty happy with my new Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX. The sound quality is a vast improvement over the stock unit in my older Honda Pilot. It's also convenient being able to have thousands of songs available to listen to at a moment's notice without having to carry around and swap out CDs. One thing I miss though is having a volume knob. Yeah, I know it's "old fashioned", but they are still easier to use than not having one. Not everything new is better. I'd probably give this unit a 4 1/2 star rating if that option were available.

Pros: Sound quality, convenience

Cons: Would be nice to have a physical volume/On-Off knob

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clean looking, fast wireless CarPlay, quality screen

Scott from Minneapolis, MN on 7/14/2020

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean looking with fast wireless CarPlay. Unlike many head units, the clean appearance along with the button color customization allows it to blend into the dashboard and it looks as great off as on (see photos). The smooth capacitive screen looks and feels like quality and has FAST response. The buttons along the left are small and if the head unit is recessed into the dash (as mine is) they can be tough with big fingers. But, that's a small issue since the Maestro RR kit retained all the steering wheel controls (with customization) that are used most of the time anyway. This is one of the fastest CarPlay/Siri units I've ever used - almost zero lag (paired with iPhone 11 Pro) - and works great! Bluetooth/WiFi audio quality is very good, and the HD/FM tuner seems to have great reception. Bluetooth has been flawless. Install was easier with the short chassis that leaves plenty of room behind it. Instructions are a bit on the light side so download the full PDF manual before diving in. The firmware update was successful (via USB) and all the features work as expected. Heads up: The Pioneer CarAVAssist app isn't very advanced yet and following the instructions is critical to making it "kind-of" work. The dual camera inputs allowed for perfect paring with Boyo VTK601HD for front and rear cams. The iDatalink Maestro RR is great with this unit and performs all the functions it says it will (including the gauges screen via OBD). Overall, highly recommended.

Pros: Quality screen, clean appearance, good integration with Maestro RR kit, FAST wireless CarPlay, short chassis (easy fit), dual camera inputs with customizable backup lines, good sound quality with lots of graphic EQ settings, excellent integration with factory systems (mine is Bose) when using the Maestro RR setup (as recommended by Crutchfield).

Cons: Light on documentation in the box (download the full PDF), small buttons on left side can be irritating with big fingers and a recessed installation, CarAVAssist app is light on documentation and hard to get it to work, *MUST read the manual to understand "accepting" the privacy info and built in Wi-Fi to make everything work! (patience required)*.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 7/12/2020

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service and fast shipping! Product was in perfect condition, never opened with everything in it! Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Browns Mills, NJ on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade for NB Miata

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 7/11/2020

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this upgrade from the OEM Bose head unit in my 2003 Mazda Miata. Wireless CarPlay is very handy, and works as advertised. Sounds great. Relatively shallow unit and perfect OEM adapter from Crutchfield made the installation easy. It would be nice if the trim kit provided by Crutchfield was designed specifically for a double-DIN unit - it looks fine but there is ever so small an imperfection where you cut the divider out between the two DIN slots. It would also be nice if there was a specific output on the Pioneer unit to operate the motorized antenna, instead of having to join 3 wires together in a wire nut.

Pros: Sounds quality, installation are straightforward.

Cons: Installation manual is provided on paper, but user manual isn't, you have to get PDF from the web.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Game Changer!

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, MD on 7/9/2020

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 4660NEX did not disappoint. It is a game-changer! The Misses and I are very happy with it and plan to keep it for the long haul. After about two-weeks of use, I can say the wireless Apple CarPlay appears to be rock-solid. Pairing with my iPhone is more reliable than a wired connection in my other vehicles. Sometimes, this unit seems to be confused when both my wife's iPhone and my iPhone are in the vehicle at the same time, but I that hasn't been a major problem yet. I did update the firmware to v1.13, in case anyone is wondering. Even though we are still using the stock amp and Bose speakers, the sound is noticeably better. The FM radio features work great. HD Radio is amazing. This unit is fast to tune in stations and very easy to operate. Scrolling through the presets takes a little practice getting the right touch and swipe on the screen, but was easy to master. The touch screen is very responsive and fast. One reason we bought the 4660NEX is the ability to continue using the factory XM tuner (which still has a lifetime subscription). Of course, this in only possible because of the iData link products that we also purchased from Crutchfield. The only gripe I have is that the iData link cannot pass XM signals to the radio and produce turn-signal chimes are the same time. So, when running XM, there is no turn-signal sound. Per iDataLink and Crutchfield (shout out to JT!), this is a known limitation of the iData module, not this head unit.

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay Works Great! Very fast and responsive touchscreen. Great Sound, major improvement over stock. HD Radio is awesome.

Cons: Unit does not seem to auto-connect to my phone's hotspot signal. Not a major deal. Manual connection works fine. We don't use the internet-related features of this radio much, so it isn't a big deal.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

2017 Subaru Legacy w/Harman Kardon

Crutchfield customer from NEEDHAM, MA on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm in love with this thing, it's responsive, sounds great, screen res is fine. No buttons is so sleek! The wireless carplay makes me feel like I'm in a luxury car with the latest 2020 technology. This shouldn't be allowed. Googlemaps, Podcasts, Audm, Whatsapp calls, Zoom... my car is now a phone. Installing this in my 2017 Subaru Legacy w/HK was pretty hard even with the ReadyHarness service, because Subarus just have to be so darn special with all their little features in their dinosaur factory radios. I almost gave up, even printed a return shipping label but one last phone call to tech support saved me. Here are some tips for people with this car. The wiring instructions from idatalink Meastro have some inaccuracies. Tip 1. Of the three main white connectors on your harness, do not connect the one with green and purple wires. That has a mute wire in it and sound won't work . Tip 2: You must unscrew the black Starlink unit under the factory radio from its brackets and retain it fully connected in the dash, otherwise sound won't work. This radio isn't very big and the Starlink can fit right under it. Tip 3. Get a Scosche Dash Kit (either black SU2030B or silver SU2030SB), they are nicer than Metra which looks spraypainted glossy/smudges. Tip 4. Don't forget to connect the extra little doodad that makes your rear camera work: the white and the the blue and into the brown. Tip 5: Your OBDII port is deep down on the kick panel bove where your left foot would be. Enjoy!

Pros: Wireless Apple Carplay. Good sound. Fast interface. It's like a phone. I would like to give a shouout to all the techs who helped me: Andrew, Marc, Kali, Corey, Tom... you guys were all fantastic!!!!!!

Cons: Metra Dash kit not great, get Scosche. iDatalink Maestro instructions inaccurate. Install is difficult.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

DMH-W4660NEX, Hertz speakers, and installation kit

Crutchfield customer from Orangevale, CA on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thrilled with my Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX, Hertz speakers, and installation kit. I installed everything myself easily with all the installation questions answered with the directions and helpful staff a phone call away. It all works and sounds phenomenal and I could not be happier with my purchase and my first car stereo installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Denham Springs, LA on 6/26/2020

2017 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took a little while to figure out how to connect android auto to wifi on my phone and also have my phone on LTE, but after I figured it out everything worked perfectly. It kind of sucks that I need to have a hotspot open for alexa to connect though, I wish it could just use the LTE like android auto. Another thing is it doesn't look like you can use alexa and android auto at the same time, which is kind of a bummer. I wanted to be able to have alexa bring up maps or use alexa for a voice command while having android auto open, and as far as I can tell, I cant. Overall however, I had waited for this radio ever since it debuted at CES and I'm happy to say the wait was worth it.

Pros: Wireless android auto Alexa built in Microphone that comes with it has good quality

Cons: Doesn't seem like you can use alexa and android auto simultaneously Upgraded installation kit came with a factory usb adapter wire that doesn't fit my car. It also wouldn't be android auto / apple CarPlay compatible even if it did. Not sure why its recommended.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Upgrade to 2016 Subaru Legacy

Ryan from Ledyard, CT on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless Carplay functions flawlessly. Annoying I have to use my phone's WIFI Hotspot to get certain apps to work like weather or Alexa. Note: Alexa and Carplay do not work simultaneously. Installation was easier due to shallow depth of unit. Note: Had to use tech support, wiring guide was wrong and needed assistance to get the factory amp to work FYI. Metra dash kit was a tight fit, but the screen was recessed about 1/2" and looked weird. Fits a Scosche 2015 and up dash kit perfectly. Looks even better with Silver color to match trim. Overall, sound is much better for Pioneer unit takes full advantage of the factory Harman Kardon system compared to Subaru NAV Unit.

Pros: Wireless Carplay, Car Info such as TPMS and Check Engine DTCs. Custom colors for buttons.

Cons: Wire guide wrong, Metra dash kit did not fit well and high gloss black finish scratches and gets fingerprints easily.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fast Unit with a Critical SWC Android Auto Flaw

JT from Minot, ND on 6/23/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 4660NEX screen is nice, the references to the unit being slightly smaller are true, but in my case it barely filled the opening with the METRA kit with zero gap (or overlap for that matter). The unit itself is fast, but there's a critical error where the track advance sends multiple advance and fast forward commands in Android Auto causing tracks to be either double skipped or the device to start fast forwarding through songs. The track forward and reverse Steering Wheel Controls (SWCs) work perfectly with all the built in Pioneer apps (Bluetooth, Radio Etc.), but in Android Auto there appears to be a internal firmware wrapper issue that sends multiple commands to Android Auto and subsequently the phone whenever the head unit receives a track forward or back input. Depending on the capabilities of the Android Audio player used (Napster, PowerAmp, Etc...) it will do something unintended such as skipping multiple songs, or beginning a fast forward that cant be stopped till intervening on the phone. The on screen controls do not exhibit the same behavior, nor do the built in Pioneer apps. Pioneer said it would most likely never be fixed as did Crutchfield. A bit disappointing for a brand new head unit designed to work with Android Auto, that exhibits something that I've never encountered in any other Android Auto capable head unit across a multitude of rentals. If you want a working unit with good tech support, look elsewhere.

Pros: Fast Unit Great Screen Clarity

Cons: Don't expect track forward and back steering wheel controls to work as expected in Android Auto. No speed based audio volume adjustment even though the unit has GPS and speed inputs.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Jay from Tucson, AZ on 6/22/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, a good unit so far. Major issue is it does not have standard dimensions so it does not fit any trim molding I have tried. The Metra 95-6528B Dash Kit that Crutchfield says will fit this unit, does not. The radio is approximately 100mm tall by 179mm wide. The interior opening of the kit is 101.5mm tall by 171mm. It's almost a full centimeter wider than the opening (I used mm for measuring to be as precise as possible for the review). I had to cut the trim piece and then fill in some gaps with black caulking. It doesn't look great but it's better than nothing for now. It does have some shortcomings but units like this can have firmware and software updates to work on stuff that doesn't work as it should. The Apple CarPlay doesn't always connect automatically when using it wirelessly. I often have to touch the CarPlay icon and then it goes to a screen showing my phone in the connection list and I have to touch my phone on the list in order to make the connection happen. The wireless connection that is used to power Alexa, the web browser, and other internet functions does not automatically connect to my wireless access point on my phone. I have to turn my phone's Personal Hotspot off then back on after my Pioneer has booted up. Then, a moment later, the Pioneer will automatically find the hotspot and connect. Once a data connection is working, Alexa works very well and I have had no issues with it.

Pros: Has a great interface Nice features Easy to connect Small form factor in the rear makes cable-hiding easier Easy to understand controls Web browser and video playback capabilities make it a potential kid-pleaser if you find yourself waiting in a parking lot for an extended time

Cons: Does not have standard dimensions, does not fit standard trim packages Does not have Pandora or other music services installed other than in conjunction with Apple CarPlay or Android Auto Reverse guidelines cannot be made to display by default, you must press an icon each time you backup (unless you use the camera's built-in lines) Wireless connection to Wi-Fi and phone tethering is not working well, but it does work Apple CarPlay is not automatic every time

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Feature Rich Smart Radio

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 6/22/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a huge upgrade to my Jeep Wrangler Nav Radio. Im familiar with Pioneer and Android Auto but having Wireless AA is amazing. No cords to plug in and AA boots up quickly. The screen is very responsive and easy to use. My only complaint is the soft volume buttons. once you hit vol up or down, it takes more time than it should to register a push and respond.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto, Responsive display, Great screen

Cons: Slow to respond (soft) volume buttons. Can Not edit source menu selections off the list, No feature to add maximum start up volume

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great performance

Zach from EUREKA on 6/17/2020

2004 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit works great. I love the android auto integration. And the sound quality is perfect.

Pros: bright clear picture. Carpaly and android auto works great.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 6/17/2020

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great screen, fast response, and custom layout. Swiping from the edges of the screen could be better but it works. Bought for the wireless Android Auto which works great now. Had a little bit of trouble initially with my Pixel 4 but made a few changes on the phone and it pairs automatically within 10-20 seconds. Couldn't get the orignal Ford SYNC microphone to work so installed the Pioneer mic. Wasn't planning on installing the GPS antenna but it seems to be required to get some of the Pioneer apps to work, like the weather app. Another annoyance was that it must be connected to wifi to get the time. It won't allow you to adjust the time manually. All of these are minor onetime issues that are easily fixed. Backup camera works as does the steering wheel controls. Don't waste your time with the Metra kit. The opening is way oversized, the adapter plate is a different plastic and texture, and is also way oversized. By the time you get the radio mounted, you've got nearly 1/4" of play all the way around. The Scoche kit fit perfectly with minimal play.

Pros: Screen is sharp, simple layout, great sound, lots of customizations

Cons: Sync controls not 100% working, required GPS Antenna, really new so not much help on the internet for installation of the 4660

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Easy to use

Tracy from West Columbia, TX on 6/15/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and set up. Sounds great, lots of ways to adjust sound quality. Bright screen looks at home in the dashboard.

Pros: Carplay works great. Sounds good. Easy to navigate through menus. Bright screen.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy customer

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 6/15/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding functionality and ease of use. The UI is easy to understand. The best part is the wireless Apple Car Play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Short Stereo depth made for easy install!

Crutchfield customer from Crestline, CA on 6/14/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install after a few clarifying questions with tech support. This stereo has an excellent Selection of built in options. Unlike other double-din stereos, this unit is far shorter in depth (approximately 3.5 inches), which eliminated the need to modify the dash and allowed for easy stowing of the new wiring harness and accessories. The only con was, since it is a new model, the manufacturer instructions were often vague and confusing for initial setup, but that is the reason for my purchasing from Crutchfield.

Pros: Short stereo depth.

Cons: Typical of new stereo models, it has vague sometimes generic, instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value, but doesn't fit

Mark from Hudson, NH on 6/11/2020

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this because of the features and "cell phone" like capacitive glass touch screen, but it doesn't fit the car. Ended up going to Pioneers website and in their "Fit Guide", it doesn't list this head unit as compatible with my 2016 Outback. Crutchfield recommended that it will fit with the Metra kit, but after trying to fit it together, it won't work. I believe it to be more of the kit's fault than the stereo, but nevertheless, this radio does NOT have a removable face plate, so the receiver cannot slide into a dash trim kit. It should fit other models of car where it can fully replace the entire double din, but if you're replacing a more "integrated" head unit with this one, if it requires a dash trim piece, this will not fit it. Disappointing, because I wanted specifically this head unit, but RJ in customer support was MORE THAN HELPFUL in getting me straightened out. When i decide what I'm willing to do to make a new head unit work, I'll be back.

Pros: Great features for the money cell-phone like screen

Cons: will not fit all models without modifications

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 6/9/2020

2003 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product A+++++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Close to great, firmware 1.10 is buggy, and read the fine print.

John from Madison, MS on 6/8/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read the fine print. Alexa, weather, sports, and browser only work if your vehicle has its own internet connection. For 99% of the vehicles on the road, you'll only get wireless CarPlay (don't know about Android Auto), SiriusXM, HDRadio, USB, and Bluetooth. Unfortunately for me, the Alexa marketing sucked me in, but it doesn't work in my '14 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon unless I'm in my garage (connected to my home wifi). There are definitely some bugs in firmware 1.10; hope those get resolved - I'm planning on talking to Pioneer to give bug reports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Mike from West Friendship, MD on 6/5/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I shopped around for a long time before landing on this unit which finally check all my boxes without breaking the bank. It has all the bells and whistles you could want in a modern smart radio. It fit and looks great in my Jeep Wrangler and the sound quality over the stock unit is amazing. My only complaint isn't for the radio, the Metra dash adapter for the Jeep is trash, ended up getting a Scosche one which works MUCH better.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay/Android Auto Plenty of power Capacitive touchscreen Wifi

Cons: Screen resolution should be higher

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Matt from Boston, MA on 6/5/2020

2017 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For my first foray into CarPlay, this unit is absolutely fantastic. Installation was a breeze, and the unit boots in less than 5 seconds. Wireless CarPlay works flawlessly and only takes a couple extra seconds to kick in after the unit boots. The display is beautiful and responsive--very little to no input lag when tapping/swiping. Menus are laid out logically (for the most part), but definitely take some time to poke around and find where everything is. The interface itself isn't super ugly like a lot of infotainment systems are, and it's fast! I had 2 points of confusion and I will only fault the documentation for these, not the unit itself: - Getting wireless CarPlay set up was easy...once I figured out what I had to do. I had to pair with Bluetooth, and then find the unit's Wi-Fi network info deep in the menus to get the password, and THEN join the Wi-Fi network created by the unit. Only after doing both of those did wireless CarPlay work. Since that first setup, it's been flawless and effortless. - The unit came with a GPS antenna, and I thought to myself, "I'm not going to need this, I have my phone!" Well, thankfully I tested everything before reassembling the dash because turns out the GPS antenna is required in order to use wireless CarPlay. The documentation does not make this clear! All in all, a huge win for Pioneer. ReadyHarness service was not available as I had hoped, but the wiring was not at all as daunting as it looked.

Pros: - Wireless CarPlay works flawlessly - Interface looks nice and performs well - Display is very high quality - High-powered 5v/3a USB-C port for power/wired CarPlay

Cons: - Documentation not clear on wireless CarPlay setup and requirements - Wires were not pre-stripped on harness (as opposed to the iDatalink T-harness, which did come with pre-stripped wires) -- not a dealbreaker at all, just something to be aware of

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-W4660NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lemon Grove, CA on 6/3/2020

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Duo Bluetooth and wireless CarPlay. That is all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Masterpiece

Yiyuan from Andover, MA on 6/1/2020

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer has done this time with all-new Pioneer 4660 NEX! Although readyHarness service wasn't available at the time of writing, I was told to get Posi-connectors and it made everything easier by following color-coded wires based on a wiring diagram. This radio is amazing, it got all the FM/AM frequencies like my stock one, Carplay & Android wireless/wired (Both worked flawlessly), capacitive screen, USB-C, and many more features. I was surprised at how blazing quick it boots up and ready to go! I strongly recommend it (10/5)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP