Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # MVH-S522BS

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # MVH-S522BS

73 reviews
View this product

Pioneer and Crutchfield you've done it again

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 10/18/2020

2006 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had it installed for a couple of weeks. I have no complaints

Pros: Plug N play. Except awsc1

Cons: Awsc1 isn't working with my vehicle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 10/18/2020

2006 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised, with a clean in her face and reasonable features, especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit!

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 10/17/2020

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit which beautifully compliments my car's dash/interior. Great sound, highly customizable and the best looking, in my opinion, of any of the single DIN head units out there. You will not be disappointed.

Pros: Sound, looks and customizability.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unit must be replaced.

Crutchfield customer from Russellville, AL on 8/9/2020

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed my Pioneer MVH-S522BS two weeks ago. I got help from Emma to set it up. The radio worked fine, colors ok, used the phone with no problem, audio good with all speakers, clock did well. Today it will not turn on at all. This unit is DOA. (No fault of Crutchfield. I'm sure they will honor the warranty.)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Support and Products

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels , TX on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tech support to start my research for the right stereo. I need a stereo that with a shallow depth to meet my space available. Typical hot rod building issues. The stereo arrived on time and worked perfectly. I'll definitely be back for here for all my audio needs.

Pros: Fit and functionality

Cons: None I can think of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Wolcott, IN on 7/29/2020

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in our CAT D6 dozer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Paxton, IL on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, love the way it sounds,and awesome features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Orting, WA on 7/25/2020

2008 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fluid, easy operation. Great connectivity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Luverne, AL on 7/21/2020

2002 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good service. my son loves his new radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 7/21/2020

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good looking very functional and good sounding car stereo. I have had a lot of Pioneer units and this has a lot more features to it with a better equalizer than the previous models.

Pros:

Cons: The Pioneer app has a very bad UI.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Southaven, MS on 7/18/2020

1999 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer stereo

Crutchfield customer from Zion, IL on 7/18/2020

1996 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo sounded very nice did not need an amp. Bluetooth easy to install. Crutchfield prewired the wiring harness very nice job. Made very simple to install

Pros: Sound, easy to install, many options

Cons: Takes a little time to figure out all the settings

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Chalfont, PA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed easily and worked as expected. On line videos on pioneer website made it easy to get app working

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Valley, CA on 7/2/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo! added bluetooth to an older truck so that i can legally use the phone. Customer service was excellent! This was my first stereo instal and the instructions made it very easy. Shipping was prompt with notifications along the way. I would highly recommend Crutchfield!

Pros: Excellent customer service. Install was easy. Shipping was fast!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 7/1/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product for the price point. The Pioneer app setup and interface is cumbersome and not very reliable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

LOVE THIS UNIT!

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OR on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE THIS UNIT! This is the second Pioneer unit I bought as the first one works flawlessly and I wanted another one in my motorhome. Both of them pair quickly and start playing Pandora quickly. I primarily use this with Pandora and the Pioneer app that controls it. I love the features of the app as there are so many setting to customize the sound of the music, plus the look of the panel. The price is also really great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Hercules, CA on 6/25/2020

2002 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the features I wanted in a stereo at a good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Forestburg, TX on 6/21/2020

2007 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!! Really like the illumination options.

Pros:

Cons: I would say the buttons feel a little weird, but they function fine, and become normal after a short time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Bluetooth radio !!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Miami Gardens, FL on 6/20/2020

1995 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio does just what it needs to do ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Weston, FL on 6/20/2020

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, you guys send everything that I need to install this unit, looks greet and vive perfect power and quality to my audio system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Whitewater, WI on 6/15/2020

1994 Ford Escort GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad !

Crutchfield customer from Yucca Valley, CA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I need it to do, plus! Easy function either on the head unit itself or the app. No problems with either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Mill Spring, NC on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to upgrade the head unit in my BMW Z4 and had to get a single den. After reading all the reviews I decided on this Pioneer. It is easy to set up and really made my factory speakers sounds much better. The only thing negative I could say is the screen isn't bright at all. I have the brightness all the way to 10 and using the orange lights to match my dash it's impossible to see the screen in the sunlight. Even using the white light setting you can't see it at all with the top down. Other than that it's a great unit.

Pros: Sounds quality, easy of use and the app allows you to use nav which I like.

Cons: Screen isn't bright enough.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Jordan from Piedmont, SC on 5/31/2020

2005 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little radio. I wanted something small and compact for my car with a good amount of features and this radio has everything that I wanted and then some with the app that is available for it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great but note the hook up

Crutchfield customer from Snellville, GA on 5/30/2020

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, note I learned, you must hook up blue antenna (auto antenna) wire up in order to get the phone inbound to work even if you don't have auto antenna this was for a dodge truck.

Pros: Great sound many features like Bluetooth

Cons: Quirky setup and must use the blue wire

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

new receiver

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect... i didn't want extra bells and whistles and calvin recommended a great receiver... fit easy, common sense installation, clear sound...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer tuner

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tuner, however the documentation leaves a lot to be desired. Setup instruction are vague or nonexisting. Will be checking YouTube.

Pros: Good sound and no end to functions.

Cons: Very poor documentation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Center%20City,%20MN on 5/20/2020

1991 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, great company to work with!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Wethersfield, CT on 5/13/2020

2003 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo for the price. Like how versatile the unit is being able to cycle between each source. Only thing I don't like is the Pioneer sync app and how it doesn't remember me allow access to device. This isn't Crutchfield's fault so I won't hold that against them.

Pros: Ease of Use

Cons: Pioneer Sync App

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

User friendly

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/13/2020

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this radio. It easy to use and sounds clear and loud.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Deal

Crutchfield customer from Steubenville, OH on 5/11/2020

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent head unit. Easy to install, adjust, and operate. Decent sound quality for the price point.

Pros: Easy and consistent connectivity.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yup, easy!

Crutchfield customer from Kyle, TX on 5/10/2020

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and even easier to use!

Pros:

Cons: Needs a remote...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, MD on 5/6/2020

2003 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit...Great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Jetersville, VA on 4/29/2020

2002 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing head unit controlled from the phone so set up was breeze running the headu it to 2 amps this may be my favorite radio yet

Pros: Simple install all controls through phone including colors

Cons: needs a smart phone to really experience all this deck has to offer

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2006 Jeep Liberty Radio replacement.

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 4/27/2020

2006 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Very easy to install. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't waste your time.

Crutchfield customer from Mineola, NY on 4/26/2020

2005 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not even close to what Pioneer used to be. The fit and finish is cheap, the controls are definitely low grade and not situated for ease of use. The sound quality is terrible at best. This radio is not ergonomically designed or intuitive to use. Definitely going to be sending this back, HUGE disappointment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from AZ on 4/19/2020

2004 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Issues with Bluetooth firmware. Regularly have to re-pair Android (Pixel 2 XL) device. Pioneer does not provide firmware updates. I would not purchase again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

Matthew from Brookyn on 4/18/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Love the EQ and app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Genesee, ID on 4/12/2020

1995 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck. Very easy to install Crutchfield sent everything I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Fleming Isle, FL on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Bought this radio for my 1982 Corvette mostly because I'm able to customize the display colors. Crutchfield said it wouldn't fit. I think most Vette owners think that you need a special and pricey 1 din bezel that Corvette part houses sell. Some careful cutting with Dremel and cut off disk and the radio fits perfectly. Best to remove the instrument cluster from the bezel before you start cutting.

Pros: I like the dimmer feature when I turn on the headlights

Cons: Hate that it doesn't have a separate output for the power antenna. Seem silly for the antenna to go up when playing music through the USB.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Dawson, NE on 4/5/2020

1999 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds good works well radio reception is way better than any of my other vehicles including a 2018 ram. Overall very pleased with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Covina, CA on 3/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, easy install, great features with the different colors for display, the functions of this radio are great and easy to ise

Pros: Crutch field always comes through !!

Cons: None at this tome

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 3/19/2020

1992 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this headunit, wish they would come in a non amplified version.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best audiophile single DIN Headunit for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AP on 3/18/2020

2006 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audiophile on a budget! For the price you simply can't beat this unit. 3 pairs of preouts at 4v. Network mode which gives the unit the ability to turn 2 channels into highs and the 3rd and 4th channels into mids or go with the standard front and rear configuration. 13 eq settings from the HU or 31 using the Pioneer free downloadable app. Time alignment thru the app. Volume controls from 0 to 60 with NO CLIPPING at 1Khz or 40hz. Push button Navigation thru the app. USB up front. Aux cord input up front. Menu navigation is well thought out. Tons of different colors available. The only feature I wish it had was auto EQ without the use of DSP.

Pros: 3 pairs of Preouts at 4v. Time alignment Network mode USB and aux cord up front Volume KNOB One touch Navigation

Cons: Lack of auto EQ without Pioneer DSP.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best mechless unit on the market

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 3/15/2020

2010 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and nice sound quality

Pros: X3-4 volt preamps

Cons: No remote control like prior model

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Cuddebackville, NY on 3/12/2020

2003 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was amazed at how small this head unit was. Since it has no cd option pioneer really saved space and focused on quality sound. I love this unit and I am ordering another one for my other car. I highly recommend this head unit for your car. One thing I love of it it comes with all colors to match your fav or your other dash color to match!

Pros: compact, loud, color match and great quality sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from West Carrollton, OH on 3/10/2020

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome deck. Many features for the price. Pioneer is excellent quality. Could of worked on the display a little more

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, MA on 3/8/2020

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very nice compact radio with all necessary features. Well designed, pairs easily, easy to read display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good unit

Crutchfield customer from Tumwater, WA on 3/4/2020

2015 Fiat 500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice improvement over factory equipment. Has a few quirks and is not as intuitive as a head unit can be, but very good for the price with a lot of options.

Pros: price, options, audio sources, look and display options.

Cons: Simplistic display, not as intuitive as desired.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Indio, CA on 3/3/2020

2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a gift for my fiancé's PT Cruiser. Everything came as described. Install was a breeze with the installation info provided. She loves it and it even made the audio sound much better (even though we left the factory speakers in). Pioneer has always been my go-to for car audio gear. Quality products for sure. My Pioneer receiver on my CRV is 5 years old and is still going strong with our 115-120 degree fahrenheit summers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, IN on 2/28/2020

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a straight forward install. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. Ordering the pre-wired harness was money well spent. Setting up the radio was as simple as following the instructions. The radio looks very nice in the dash and good, quality sound. I did have a problem with one wire and had to call the support number for advice. They were very helpful and gave me clear, simple instructions on what to do. Very happy with my new radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Kernersville, NC on 2/23/2020

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver. Did not realize that so many digital stations were available. Love the Bluetooth connection to my IPhone allowing me to send & receive calls .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Mechless Unit

Christian from Orlando, Fl on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds fantastic!( almost as good as a deh80prs, then again that head unit uses 3Burr-brown da converters). If you've never owned an 80prs, you wouldn't notice any differences. Having said that, I LOVE this head unit , mvhs522bs, its easy to set up, has Standard mode,& Network mode. Hooks up easily to my iPhone, easy,& understandable for the app,& app Control. That was my main reason for this purchase, being able to control the head unit via my iPhone/app. I have a newer Audi A4,& must "hide" this unit under my Driver seat. I measured this unit to have 4volts out,& no distortion at full(62) volume, all settings flat, including the eq. I also bought this from Crutchfield under "their" open box outlet. You would never know it was open box, as a matter of fact Crutchfield re-packaged this BETTER than I've received brand new, unopened before; new wire harness, new bt mic, new bag of mounting screws, etc. I'm very pleased with Crutchfield,& it arrived at my door step Wednesday at 2pm, less than 48 hours from purchase time(Mon.@4:35pm)

Pros: Easy to hook up, easy to use /control from app, 4volts out, TA, Standard,& Network Mode, Color options,eq

Cons: Cant put in my dash, Not pioneers or Crutchfield's fault( I own a newer, b9 platform Audi, lol)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

2004 Jeep TJ replacement

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TN on 2/9/2020

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a replacement for a 2004 Jeep TJ to add bluetooth hands free capability. The order included a dash kit and antenna adapter. I also ordered the Crutchfield ReadyHarness. Since there is no CD player, the dimensions were small enough that I left the security bracket from the original equipment in place. The speakers are original and include the built in amp and subwoofer in the center console (7 speaker system). The original speakers are not great, but they were in good shape with no tears in the rubber surround or cones, so they are adequate. The install was so easy, I had to double check, as I felt like I was missing something. The phone connected immediately, and a test phone call was crystal clear on both ends. Without better speakers, the system is challenged when moving, but sounds great when there is not road or wind noise. The drill down menu is simple to operate, making the setup a breeze. Buttons and knobs are well marked and easily identifiable, although I needed reading glasses to identify th not so obvious ones.

Pros: Simple install (Crutchfield ReadyHarness made it as simple as plugging the components together) Simple operation Multiple colors to match any lighting Immediate bluetooth recognition and connection

Cons: Not so much a con, as I knew what I was getting, but the back button is pretty small...and with all the audio sound settings, the large Bass button seems almost superfluous at the expense of the back button.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Matt from Danville, PA on 2/8/2020

2007 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features, and sound, Love it and will recommend this head unit to others.

Pros: Great features for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my new deck.

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 2/6/2020

1999 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very quality deck easy to use easy to control good directions on how to connect it and set it up.

Pros: Easy to use easy to set up

Cons: Haven't found any cons yet?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Russellville, TN on 1/27/2020

1998 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Easy to operate with awesome sound and appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Parkersburg, WV on 1/23/2020

2003 Saturn L200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Requires phone app that does not automaticly connect.

Pros: Requires phone app that does not automaticly connect.

Cons: Normal greaTquality and sound from pioneer

Crutchfield response on 1/27/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Pilot Mountain, NC on 1/15/2020

2008 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very user friendly radio that doesn't overwhelm you with too many options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Porsche Boxster

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 1/9/2020

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have worked on cars for 40 years, this was the first time ever changing sound systems and I saw a YouTube on changing one on a Porsche Boxster. The reason I chose Crutchfield was the phone call to the sales people and the wiring harness that was built by them making install easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Van Buren, AR on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding Stereo, easy install and hooked up to iPhone no problems!! Highly Recommend this!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Wilkesboro, NC on 1/5/2020

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product... works good in my truck

Pros: Works good wth app

Cons: Need a remote in case dnt want to use app...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid, simple single din head unit.

Dustin from Outer Banks, NC on 1/4/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to put in an older Dodge Ram I recently picked up. It isn't a daily driver so I wasn't worried about getting the latest and greatest Double Din touch screen offerings. The small chassis made stashing cables easy. The pre-outs will come in handy when I eventually decide to power everything off of an amp. For now the integrated amp works well enough for me. Tried out the Smart Sync app but like Pioneer's previous offerings it's not that great. The equalizer is good to have if you want to tweak the sound to how you want it. You can also adjust crossovers and timing which can come in handy if you get that in depth. Outside of that though the app is difficult to use and finicky at best. On the android side it wants to stay on constantly after you open it which is annoying. I only turn the app on if I decide I want to tweak the audio settings some more.

Pros: Simple single din head unit with plenty of options. Easy to set up with a 2001 Ram.

Cons: I wish it had a dedicated search button like older pioneer units for searching through USB folders. You have to long press the navigation button which works, just isn't as fast as it was on older units.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 12/31/2019

1996 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio Just what. I was looking for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little head unit for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 12/30/2019

1980 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an 8 year old Clarion with this Pioneer unit. It has much cleaner sound over the same speakers I bought with the Clarion. I love the Bluetooth sync to my phone so I can use Spotify. The ability to adjust the radio from my phone is nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 12/27/2019

2008 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck at this price point. Pioneer has never let me down. Crutchfields install instructions were perfect also, as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Worland, WY on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy to get in small space

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

THeodore from Chesterfield va on 11/6/2019

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver and awesome service by Crutchfield as always. I have ordered thousands of dollars worth of products from Crutchfield for the better part of 25 years and never had a problem or gotten bad service. They're simply the best. Thanks

Pros: Service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Marco from Coatesville, PA on 11/4/2019

2005 Buick LaCrosse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit for the price. Without the CD player the unit is not as deep so easier to put away the wires behind the dash. Sound was good and the bluetooth and spotify was easy to set up. One recommendation, buy the wiring package. You can not beat $25 to have Crutchfield connect the Stereo wires to the Car adapter. It made things easier and I was done in under an hour.

Pros: Easy to setup Bluetooth, Smart Sync is nice

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio 5 stars, App 0 stars with I PhoneXR

Art from Lunenburg, MA on 11/2/2019

2012 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is good. Features, sound, options all good. Minus one star for the app. Would not work with I Phone XR. Tech support helped trouble shoot. Everything works after removing the app and direct pairing with bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Stratford, CT on 10/31/2019

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good stereo at a decent price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer MVH-S522BS

Crutchfield customer from Canonsburg, PA on 10/29/2019

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Price is right for all the options it has. Love the sound of Pioneer head units and speakers.

Pros: 4v pre outs light dimmer many colors for the display

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mobile Audio Perfection

William M. from pa on 10/28/2019

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easily the most feature-packed, powerful, clean sounding, head unit I've ever installed in my 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Also the first non-CD/cassette and my first taste of amazing Sound Sync. Get a glimpse of where car audio is going! You can spend hours dialing in Sound Sync or do like I initially did and use the factory presets. Presets at least the one I used, in the past were horrible, overly analyzed in perfect scenario environs, I was impressed at the presets providing amazingly bright sounding mobile audio! Now that I think about it with all the power and this is key "flexibility" this head unit provides you can designate which pair of RCA outs OR speakers to act as subs. I've never seen that before! The implications being that if you can't afford/don't want the complexity or don't have space Sound Sync lets you designate your back speakers as subwoofers and it's got the power to drive them. They won't slap like a 12" reverse mounted sub but..... for even a casual enthusiast? To summarize, I purchased the no-brainer Crutchfield factory install harness, face-plate adapter, connected it as wired with the very good, stock factory 180w Infinity amp and factory door and dash speakers. This deck provides plenty of affordable power @50w/channel easily powering 2/4 low low impedance 6x9s and that alone is amazing!!!! After spending an hour or so understanding the maze of features, you'll come away with an education. I am blown away. IF you feel overwhelmed just let it go

Pros: Smart Sync*** Install/Crutchfield Factory Harness Adapter***** Audio fidelity***** Power Output Per Channel***** Number of RCA outputs***** Connectivity**** Crutchfield service/recommendations*****

Cons: Smart Sync Connectivity Sirius XM 31-band Equalizer

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP