Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer TS-MR1640

6-1/2" 2-way marine speakers

MFR # TS-MR1640

Pioneer TS-MR1640

Pioneer TS-MR1640

6-1/2" 2-way marine speakers

MFR # TS-MR1640

13 reviews
View this product

Pioneer TS-MR1640

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always liked the sound quality out of Pioneer speakers, specially if you're not pushing a lot of power. These are no different. I'm only powering them with a Sony head unit, and no subwoofer. They are extremely nice sounding at moderate levels. My stereo starts clipping before these start distorting.

Pros: Nice looking, well protected covers and a great sounding speaker for low power systems.

Cons: Would probably have to block low bass if you're using them with a big amp. At that point you should be using a sub anyway.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The MR-1640 sound good at a reasonable price

Crutchfield customer from Spring Lake, MI on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprisingly good sound at a reasonable price. My first set of these lasted a couple of years before the rubber cone edge rotted out. Other than that, the speakers still looked like new. The tweeter sounded great, the white grill hadn't yellowed at all. The sun and salt may eventually wear them out, but they sound comparable to speakers sounding twice as much, can handle 160w peaks yet still sound good with quite a bit less power.

Pros: Rugged grill, efficient 91db, good sound with lower power amps yet can still handle 160w peaks.

Cons: Rubber cone edge wore out after a couple of years, well before the rest of the speaker was ready to die.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent at low volumes

richard from California on 9/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a replacement for Pioneer TS-MR 165 speakers which I had installed in my patio island. The 165's rubber gave out after 8 or so years and as I was happy with them I figured the new speakers would be equally great. Wrong. They sound good at half volume but over that distortion sets in. Problem is due to the 30 w maximum rating. You can't add an amp due to this issue as well. I have Polk DB 651 speakers in my boat with an amp and they kick butt for the same price. The 4 Pioneers look nicer installed in the island which was another reason for the initial purchase. Bottom line is they sound good with deep bass as long as you don't crank them.

Pros: Good bass & treble at low to moderate volume

Cons: Can't crank them nor add an amp

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers for outside on my travel trailer

Tim from Kirksville, MO on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers perform way above their price point. I had previously tried two other brands of marine speakers for the exterior of my travel trailer, and both sounded crappy and then went belly up after just a couple of road trips. After reading the other reviews of these speakers, I bought a pair and installed them where the others had been. They sound awesome compared to the others. The bass response for these 6 1/2" speakers is terrific. Much better than I had expected. And you can crank them up much louder than the previous ones with no distortion. They've been on one extended week-long road trip and weathered at least 6 solid days of storms and blowing rain and still are working great. I'm extremely pleased with them.

Pros: Great bass output Great volume without distortion. Excellent frequency range Clear highs

Cons: If I'd known how good these are, I'd have bought a larger set.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-MR1640

Crutchfield customer from Texas City, TX on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best sounding speakers I ever had in a boat.I have not had them long so dont know how they will last under the environment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-MR1640

Happy Boater from Pryor, OK on 6/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a pair of these speakers formy boat ando was so happywith them that I bought another pair.

Pros: Great sound! Better than the more expensive ones I replaced.

Cons: After getting and installing, Iwanted even more so installed a Bazooka Sub with a built in amp and now I have a complete system. I am very happy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Now I need a new Radio

Tom L from Mich on 9/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was exactly what I needed and came with all the needed hardware , fit right in the old cut outs and was completely installed in less than ½ hour , they are so much clearer then the ones they replaced that I now hear static from the radio and will need to replace it next. Very fast shipping !

Pros: Great sound , fast shipping

Cons: Made in China

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NIce speakers at a great price.

Jon S from Wisconsin on 8/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These fit perfectly into my Larson boat. Great sound and great price. Substantial improvement over the speakers that came with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I would be happier if I had spent more money the speakers are fine bu

gary a from Key West fla. on 3/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

every thing came as ordered but I would have liked to hear them perform I recently bought speakers that were priced higher and i like the tone better

Pros: I am a customer since 1976 and will remain that way because of how you all conduct your business I will continue to advertize your company

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Marine speakers

David R. Delabar from Lincolnton,Ga. on 6/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to replace existing speakers on boat. The sound is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My husband loves them!

Ash from Baton rouge, la on 7/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered these for my husband's birthday. I was nervous about makin the decision without him but the website was so helpful I was confident that he'd love them. He installed them within minutes after opening the gift!! Sound great on our party barge!

Pros: Easy installation (took 10 minutes) Fast shipping Packaged well

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-MR1640

Scott Wayne from Essex, MD on 6/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to replace Kenwood 6.5 inch speakers on my Grady White. I picked these because of the 91 db sensitivity since I don't have an external amplifier. I believe the Kenwoods were 84 db. These play louder and clearer and can handle a bump in bass. Even my wife noticed the difference. Replacement was easy and took only 15 minutes. They use the same mounting holes as the previous speakers. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Marine Speakers

Watt from TN Lake on 9/10/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were incredibly clear and undistorted at the loud play levels required on the water. They represent a good buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

32 of 33 found this helpful

TOP