Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Shallow-mount 8" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # TS-SW2002D2

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Shallow-mount 8" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # TS-SW2002D2

74 reviews
View this product
Discontinued item

Pounding bass

dJ from Madison MS on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great low freq so glad I got them

Pros: Good lows Good mids Great sound Easy install

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

chicago

francis from chicago on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these subs installed in the OEM factory location on the front doors of my 2010 Hyundai Elantra SE and they are housed in 0.25 cu. ft. sealed enclosures. They are driven by the rear channels of an Alpine PDX-150.4 amplifier rated at 164 W rms per channel @ 4 ohms impedance. They operate between 60 Hz and 200 Hz with 4th order HP and 2nd order LP crossovers in bandpass configuration. I mounted these subs 'up front' for a more realistic sound stage image and also to raise the sound image 'off the floor' as my Focal 165 KRX2 MB component speakers are installed above the Pioneer subs just below the sail panels on the front doors. The tweeters are mounted in the sail panels above those MB speakers The result is bass up front as it should be with a sound stage centered on top of the dashboard. The overall effect is that of a live concert performance. The bass is clean, low and loud as it should be. Bass below 60 Hz is provide by my trunk-mounted Alpine PLV-7 powered subwoofer which is the sonic equivalent of two 12" subs. The PLV-7 provides the subsonic, inaudible 'shake' to bass frequencies which you feel much more than you hear or can accurately 'locate' for frequencies below 150 Hz. Bottom line is I couldn't be happier with the result.

Pros: Low, accurate bass with very low distortion, robust construction and substantial power handling capability.

Cons: I wish they could play another octave higher in the audio spectrum--say to around 400 or 500 Hz. This extended frequency response would permit the MB speakers to play higher in the audio spectrum for cleaner sound with a potential for a shallower HP crossover to the MB speakers.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for the price, brought the sound system in my truck to life

Pros: Easy to install, sounds good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass and Sound, I love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Solstice upgrade sub

Crutchfield customer from Chehalis, WA on 7/29/2019

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good upgrade for the Pontiac Solstice Monsoon sub. Great price. Clean and rich sound.

Pros: Perfect fit for the little space you have. An upgrade from factory.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Seaside, CA on 7/28/2019

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker. Surprised on how clear and crisp it sounds. Couldn't be happier with it. Plus Crutchfield has never disappointed.

Pros: Crisp, clear and great bass for a shallow 8 inch speaker.

Cons: I can't seem to find one con.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Faribault, MN on 7/28/2019

2011 GMC Terrain

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice sound out of an 8.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrading a Stock Subwoofer

Charles from Melbourne, FL on 7/25/2019

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install into the stock location of my Civic Hatch Touring.

Pros: This is a great subwoofer for replacing a stock sub. It provides a nice punch / upgrade from the stock.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer 8" flat subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Waialua, HI on 7/14/2019

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality product made for an affordable price. Wished it came with a protective grill to protect my investment.

Pros: Good quality. Affordable price.

Cons: Pioneer does not provide a protective grill so its exposed to hazards.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 7/7/2019

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 6/24/2019

2001 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect to replace 2001 gmc yukon stock sub. Sounds great, much better than the old rattling stock sub. Powering with stock amp. No complaints here, fit right in the stock enclosure. I used 1/4 × 1inch rubber weather seal around rim and screwed it down into the stock woofer box without any cutting or trimming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Benson, AZ on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass!! I have it custom installed in my nissan versa rear deck. No box, no trunk space lost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great E46 M3 Vert Ski Pass Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely an upgrade for my BMW E46 M3's HK sub in the ski pass thru. It was not a direct fit and I highly recommend getting the blank ski door (with no speaker enclosure designed into it) and have a perfect circle cut out and mounting it that way rather then finagling eight the stock shallow (2in deep) existing set up. The speaker is well made and has very solid materials. Looks and sounds great. The bass is better defined and can finally be felt (nothing crazy I just ran it off the stock wires and amp). For the great sale price it's a great upgrade. Also if you have a BMW that needs new speakers check out BavSounds kits.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Lakeside, CA on 6/11/2019

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised !! Very happy with the performance of this speaker fit very well, little modification to factory sub box 2012 Jeep jk just relocate two screws and trim one tab on the factory grill !! always liked the stock look with the good stuff underneath.. ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Greenwich, CT on 5/7/2019

2008 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear and tight not over powering.Not muddy and overpowering like the old stock one. STILL NEEDS TO BREAK IN.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub does NOT fit a Nissan Juke! It can be bent into place....but rattles alot.

Pros: None for a juke

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Waverly, OH on 4/29/2019

2006 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to replace my factory sub, still using factory amp, made a big difference in the sound. Glad I made the purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Grand Prairie, TX on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Bill from Porter Cors, NY on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 600watt sub I purchased was a great replacement, thanks to Cole for the helping me with the substitution and instructions, love you guys for my sound needs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 12/3/2018

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even shallower than the OE speaker, fit in the space great. Seems like a good value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Nice speaker

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great in my chevy HHR SS as this car has a duel 2 ohm 8" woofer shallow mount. Would be 5 stars but I had to trim the recessed opening for this speaker to fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great sounding sub

Scott from Downingtown, PA on 10/17/2018

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sub woofer put it in a 2008 Jeep Wrangler six screws in and out sounds great easy plug and play upgrade. Crutchfield supplied harness

Pros: Great sound easy install

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big Improvement Over Toyota Premium Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 9/2/2018

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My vehicle is a 2016 Toyota RAV4 Limited that had the $1200 optional top of the line Toyota/JBL Premium Sound System. IMO, the sound from this system is extremely poor, all tinny highs and no bass at any setting. Replaced all of the speakers with Crutchfield recommended Kicker products except for the rear subwoofer, which was replaced with this Pioneer TS-SW2002D2 powered by a Kicker CX300.1 subwoofer amp. Huge Improvement!!! I like rock and pop, this sub adds proper extension to the bottom end without sounding like the "boom, boom" subwoofer equipped cars that can be heard 100 ft away. Very happy with this sub!

Pros: Easy install, very good bass extension, power handling

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Slight Upgrade

Jason from Waynesboro, VA on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy drop in for Ram 1500 pickups. Would recommend an aftermarket amp to power it, as well as some poly fill and a good gasket to go around the sub prior to installing it.

Pros: Small size Fits many OEM sub boxes I used mine in a 2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Good sound for size

Cons: Has cleaner tighter bass than most oem subs, however without an additional amp and some poly fill in your oem box it may not sound the best!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Steve from Va. on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much better than stock in the Infinity Wrangler system, easy installation, dropped right in,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clean bass, easy OEM replacement

TC from Westborough, MA on 6/19/2018

2017 Hyundai Sonata Limited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy 'drop in' replacement for Hyundai Sonata's OEM/Infinity sub. Definitely delivers cleaner bass (less muddy than the OEM Infinity) and able to deliver much lower frequencies... well worth the small effort to install it. But, definitely try to use an aftermarket amp to get the best performance. I tried using the sub for a week with the OEM '400 watt/50 watts per channel' amp and the resulting sound, although better, wasn't satisfying. I added the Audiocontrol ACM 1.300 amp and the sub sprung to life... great kick and reaches down to hit the lows without problems. For the price and easy OEM-replacement fit, you can't beat the boost in sound performance you'll get with this Pioneer... definitely satisfied.

Pros: - OEM fit for Hyundai/Kia 8" subs - Great price/performance

Cons: - Not as deep as a JL Audio sub, but a fraction of the price (plus OEM fit) - Needs the power of a standalone amp to get the best sound - Not the greatest instructions on how to configure the sub for 1 or 4 ohms (i had to refer to an online video to figure it out)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Collinsville, OK on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like this sub fit right in to my factory ram box with no problem! Gave it a 4 because I expected a little more bass but it's getting deeper as it is getting broken in . Over good value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Guest from Franklin, TN on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed subwoofer in my 2006 Toyota 4runner that is equipped with factory JBL speaker system- easy installation- hooked it up to the factory amplifier- sounds absolutely amazing!!! Exceeded my expectations- rich sound-

Pros: Amazing rich sound- perfect specifications when connecting to 2006 Toyota 4runner factory JBL speaker system-

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Russell, KY on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Killer bass without losing Oem subwoofer design

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great factory replacement

Bruce from Texas on 4/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used it to replace the factory Harman Kardon sub in my 2011 Subaru Outback 3.6 Limited. It fit perfectly, and sounds a ton better.

Pros: Compact, flat, free-air, and dual coil. Works well with my factory amp.

Cons: None with my application.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 9 found this helpful

great direct upgrade for stock sub

Christopher from Seattle, WA on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the speaker is definitely a direct upgrade for the stock subwoofer in my 2016 Kia Soul. There are even matching bolt holes in the radius of this thing, so it has plenty of ways to be attached. see the image below, one subwoofer surrounded by Dynamat cozy in its enclosure just where it belongs.

Pros: Plenty!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very well made Subwoofer!!

Jordan from Kingsport, TN on 3/24/2018

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sub sounds so much clearer than factory Alpine sub in my Wrangler. Only thing I need now is a new %channel amplifier to actually give it the power it needs!

Pros: Cone is very well made and entire Sub just feels like it was not made by paper Mache like the factory one was

Cons: If you're going to put this in a factory Alpine system in a Jeep you may want to look into getting an amp. The factory one cuts the power and I am getting a 5 channel amp to get the power this sub wants!

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Beloit, OH on 3/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Bj from Deary, id on 3/8/2018

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds better than stock but no more bass or volume just not as muddy sounding

Pros: Sounds better than stock

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, GA on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the wrong item. I called customer service tech support and they got the the correct item. The new speaker worked perfect and sounds great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great Subwoofer

Mike from Elverson, PA on 2/4/2018

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, not an exact fit but sounds better then stock!!!!

Pros: Sounds better than stock, GREAT price!!

Cons: Not an exact fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great bass response

Paul from Littleton, CO on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub replaced an OEM sub in my 2010 Ford Explorer. I could tell the OEM sub was in bad shape, but now that this Pioneer is installed, I know that the OEM sub was totally fried. Crutchfield warns that this install is time consuming in my vehicle, and it was definitely a process due to all the trim panels and other parts I had to remove to get to the sub enclosure. It was well worth the effort. Once I got there, the Pioneer just dropped in the OEM opening and used the same screws to hold it in place. When I tested it before buttoning everything back up, it sounded very good. Since everything has been reassembled and I've tweaked my audio settings at the radio, it sounds great.

Pros: Direct fit in OEM opening, excellent sound quality.

Cons: None identified.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Kevin from Westville, NJ on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! It fit into my vehicle perfectly and installation was simple with the exception of getting the quarter panel trim put back in which was a bit of a hassle. The speaker sounds awesome!

Pros: Great sound. Easy to install. No new wiring or amps needed. Simply connect the existing wires to the speaker and enjoy good bass.

Cons: With my 1998 Ford Explorer, I had difficulty removing and reinstalling the quarter panel trim. What a hassle! Can't anything be made easy to work on these days?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice upgrade over stock

Josh from Henderson, NV on 1/15/2018

2018 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a little improvement in the bottom end sound of my 2018 Honda Odyssey after installing Infinity speakers in the door locations. This sub seemed to fit the bill and it did. Installation was easy and sound is much improved. Please note that the factory sub is a 2 Ohm and this Pioneer is a dual 2 Ohm. I tried running this at 1 Ohm and the factory amp didn't like that too much so I switched it up to 4 Ohms and all is well. I think in the future I may add a small aftermarket amp to power this unit but we'll see. I whiffed and didn't get a picture of this Pioneer sub installed but did include a couple of the factory sub woofer box for reference.

Pros: Ease of installation, good sound.

Cons: Would liked to have been able to purchase this as a dual 4-ohm so it could be run at 2 ohms to match the OEM Honda sub.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Look elsewhere if you care out sound quality at all........

Charles from TX on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you care about sound quality at all, this is not for you. This is literally the worst sounding driver I have ever heard, in my 20+ years of fooling around with audio. Just to feel the cone, you can already tell it is going to sound 'different'. Well, it does indeed sound different. It is very very inarticulate. It does produce sound, but that sound is just a sort of 'one note' weirdly plastic sound. I like Pioneer, they are obviously a player in their niche. But this product is simply AWFUL. There has to be a better alternative for anyone considering it. Of course, YMMV...........

Pros: light weight, shallow mount

Cons: Sounds terrible

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Allen Park, MI on 11/7/2017

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went through three other speakers that claim to fit my truck,, One fit but was the wrong ohms !!,, Then I found crutchfield,, actually called a live person discussed the situation and low and behold , he was exactly correct, it not only fit perfect, it is the right ohms, and sounds GREAT !!, My hat's off to Crurchfield.. I'll only deal with them from now on !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yup...this one's a winner

Rick from Woodstock, GA on 10/27/2017

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am honestly surprised by the sound quality. The speaker was to replace another brand speaker that had blown after about a year. I worked with a Crutchfield consultant who recommended the product to fit into my Jeep Wrangler. I don't think I could be more pleased.

Pros: Good, clear sound, fit in factory enclosure, good install options, good range.

Cons: Needs padding! Have to find out what is rattling!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Jonathan from Mankato, MN on 9/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit plug and play as advertised. Trimmed and made it work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 7/2/2017

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome replacement for my 2001 Chevy Suburban. It fits real nicely in the factory drilled holes without having to modify the sub-woofer box. Sounds great!

Pros: Fits Factory mount

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great pounding Bass

Raymond from Longmont, CO on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this sub to replace the stock sub in a 2012 Jeep Rubicon 2-door. This sub is the only direct replacement for the stock sub when you want to use the stock enclosure. I'm really surprised at the difference between the two! I was able to reuse the stock grill as well. This little 8 inch sub really thumps! After reading some earlier reviews, I decided to install some Dynamat sound proofing material inside of the sub enclosure and man I'm glad I did. It really helps with any rattles or hums, and overall, improves the subs performance and now it really thumps! The only issue I had was not with the sub. No wire harness's or instructions were included in the purchase so I had to cut the stock plugs and call Crutchfield to find out which wires from my Jeep were positive and negative. A little disappointed in Crutchfield but not a really big deal. They're always there to help and Tom did a great job! If you want to replace the stock sub in your Jeep, this sub will get the job done!

Pros: Perfect direct replacement for a Jeep stock sub. Easy installation.

Cons: No instructions or wire harness from Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 4/24/2017

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to put in. Sounds great. good value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice budget sub.

Crutchfield customer from Kansas on 4/9/2017

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little sub. A good upgrade for the factory sub in my Wrangler Unlimited

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore,Maryland on 3/10/2017

2001 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sounds great and is easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Factory Fit. Great Punch.

Francis from Newport News, VA on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect factory replacement for the stock rear deck sub on a 2015 Chrysler 300 S with Beats. Installed using the Metra 71-050 Speaker Wiring Adapters. I had originally ordered a Kicker sub and the holes didn't line up and i'm glad i didn't stick with it, as you can't beat the punch coming out of this Sony. Day and night difference over the "premium" paper sub that comes with the car.

Pros: Fits factory mount Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 12 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Tom from Mechanicsville, VA on 1/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer. Worth the money easy to install!

Pros: Easy to install and great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good Thumper

Scott from Joliet, IL on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good thumper and sound quality. Excellent quality built unit. I was a little skeptical at first with the recommendation from Crutchfield to use a Pioneer since I was a goofy teenager in the 80's when Pioneer hit the stage for car equipment, but there's not enough room for all those 6x9 stories. For my 2000 Suburban, it's mounting flange doesn't fit directly inside of the stock woofer box. You have to be careful to center it for mounting into the composite. It does fit nicely under the plastic moldings.

Pros: Great quality and sound

Cons: Mounting challenge for 2000 Suburban

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Wapakoneta, OH on 12/15/2016

2015 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great, made well. Installed in a 2015 Civic SI in the back deck. Said it would fit but I had to modify the hole opening and Trunk lid springs for clearance. Magnet is much larger than factory and the springs caught on it. Also had to remove the child seat anchor point to get it to fit in the hole.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles on 12/10/2016

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a great replacement for the cheap paper coned Infinity woofer that came in my 2012 Jeep JK. With the free adapters, thanks Crutchfield, it was a simple bolt in swap. It reproduces lower frequencies than stock and sounds Much cleaner!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Very Impressive

Brian from Davis, CA on 12/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first hooked it up to factory head unit and amp I was disappointed. It was an improvement over the horrible stock sub, but I couldn't get any volume out of it, even with bass turned all the way up. I bought a dedicated amp with heavier wire to push more power to it. I talked to my neighbor who is a Lexus mechanic and he mentioned something about replacing the head unit as the OEM unit sets the crossover/sound processing and is sometimes horribly bad. I was skeptical of my his comment, since he works with Toyota products, but since I wanted a backup camera anyway, I decided to purchase a DVD head unit with subwoofer output. The head unit arrived about the same time as the monoblock amp. I installed and tested it to make sure everything worked before connecting the amplifier. Holy crap, what just happened? My system sounds totally different and the sub sounds incredible! The Rock/Fos door speakers opened up and the sub's output was strong! Why did I purchase an amplifier for the sub? My neighbor was right about the head unit! But I hooked up the amp anyway. More power is always better. Review: I am hugely impressed with this subwoofer at it's price point. It reaches lows that I honestly haven't heard and wasn't expecting from an 8" sub, shallow-mount or not. It's not audiophile quality, but has a nice, musical quality and will play louder than my hearing can tolerate. Lesson: If you replace your factory subwoofer and the performance is bad, don't

Pros: Surprisingly deep bass Surprisingly high output capability. Well made with thick, stiff cone and surround. Feed it power.

Cons: Nothing worth noting at this price point but if I were to nitpick, bass detail isn't audiophile quality. You'll need to jump into a much higher price range. I also think it's kind of ugly.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

TonyM from Annandale, VA on 11/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like,but sounds busted at high volume

Pros: Overall good

Cons: Have it hooked up with a 10 inch box subwoofer,little vibration at high volume

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

No More Muddy Music

Craig from Little Chute, WI on 10/11/2016

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for the stock sub, fits perfectly in enclosure of the Ram 1500 Quad cab

Pros: perfect fit, easy to install, and looks and sounds great.

Cons: Can't think of any, always loved Pioneer's pancake subs.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

What An Investment!

ALBERTO from Toa Alta, PR on 9/27/2016

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ram 1500 install took 20 minutes. Factory sub must be extracted (there's a driver retaining screw underneath) and is easily removed after taking out 2-18mm seat bolts. Factory driver rolled off steeply below 60Hz and was annoying. I read a review involving solder connections but I don't get it since there is sufficient cable to attached directly to the Pioneer binding posts. Duct taped the retaining screw hole, installed poly-fill (important) and made sure to use the gasket material provided. The sound. In this install there were no amps or additional hardware installed therefore I wasn't expecting to shower my fellow motorists with shards of window glass. However, I was pleasantly surprised to hear deeper bass notes approaching the 40Hz range and overall better bass definition. I hit this woofer with everything from jazz bass to Black Eyed Peas and was left smiling. What an investment! This low cost upgrade has added depth and definition to this Alpine factory system. If you pair it up with the 10 band EQ available with the PowerAmp MP3 player you can achieve quite a pleasant soundscape.

Pros: Great Sound, Budget Friendly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Upgrade

Brew from Burbank, CA on 9/25/2016

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly in the factory subwoofer box. Did not have to drill new holes, used factory mount holes and hardware. A big upgrade to the stock sub. Line the factory box inside & out with dynamat or equivalent for maximum thump.

Pros: The included Crutchfield Master Sheet shows exactly how to remove & install the sub in the stock location. Excellent upgrade to the stock system.

Cons: Not a one

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 9/11/2016

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for the factory sub. Hits much harder and is very crisp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I would look elsewhere

Ruth from Columbus, OH on 6/29/2016

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like a well made sub. Nice compact design but really seems to run out of air very quickly. Not expecting bone rattling bass. Paired with the UD-SW200D enclosure, the speaker really seems to run out of air VERY quickly. As volumes where I would expect to at least hear the sub, it begins to sound like its running out of air. Speaker would probably do better in a larger enclosure of on a very small vehicle. I would ended up getting the JL power wedge after my experience with this. The 2 aren't even comparable. I have tried many small 8 inch speakers over the last 20 years and I would put this in the lower 10% as far as quality of output.

Pros: Seems to be well made. Looks nice.

Cons: Wasn't expecting a ton of bass but it seems to not even be able to reproduce bass as the levels of the cheap factory door speakers.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 20 found this helpful

Quality Sound

Bret from Pennsylvania on 6/7/2016

2007 Ford Focus ZX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub produces good bass and quality sound at a reasonable price. I purchased this sub to add just a little extra base with out losing my trunk space. Sub preforms well.

Pros: Good build quality and reasonable price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

No bass

Rott from Windber pa on 4/28/2016

2005 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You want bass ?! This is not it !! I thought for the price it would be some bass ... But no bass !!

Pros: No pros !!

Cons: It was expensive and didn't do anything it was supposed to

Crutchfield response on

2 of 35 found this helpful

Cool

O.J. from Eastman, Ga. on 2/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for cars with limited space or if you want to retain your trunk space.

Pros: Great all around speaker.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

2014 Jeep Wrangler upgrade

Crutchfield customer from New Jersey on 12/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sub that rocks. I replaced the alpine factory sub with this one. It fit right into the factory box without alterations. I also used the audio control lc2 with a kicker 300 watt subwoofer amp. My jeep now has thumping bass!

Pros: Fits in factory Jeep Wrangler alpine subwoofer box with no alterations!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

23 of 24 found this helpful

Ram 1500 upgrade

gregshin from California on 6/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the factory alpine system but i wanted more depth to my bass...i pulled out the factory alpine sub and dropped this one. Even the grill holes line up perfectly to the factory box. I can feel more depth to bass in songs...but more importantly i can hear clarity in the bass now. This sub will not win any bass competitions but it wasn't made for that..this is a decent sub for small enclosures...make sure to use polyfill! Be prepared to splice and sodder your wires to connect this! If you have the right tools then this will take 15min!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Great low profile Woofer!

Brian from Arizona on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this speaker. I replaced a stock Harmon Kardon 8" with this in a 325ic BMW. It is mounted in the factory ski pass box, and is free air. The speaker claims 600 watts max, 150 RMS. I am running it with an ancient Jensen 100watt (50 rms) amp and it sounds amazing. Even though it is a free air system, the bass hits hard, and I cannot imagine how loud it would be with three times the power. With the roof up, the bass is almost too much and I have to turn it down. With the top down, there is certainly less bass, but you still feel it in the car and its very clean. I wish I would have done this upgrade years ago.

Pros: Great build quality and brand name. Sounds amazing even at 30% the rated watts. Low profile is a key factor for me, as I could not fit a Kicker or deeper speaker.

Cons: Even though its an 8", the lip was about .25 inch wider that my old speaker. It comes with a plastic decorative ring that add another .25 inch, so I could not use the pretty ring. Kinda pricey compare to other 8" woofers, but I feel it was worth it.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Great little sub

FFBilly from Missouri on 3/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub to replace the factory sub in my 2012 Jeep Wrangler sport.

Pros: Simple setup Good sound

Cons: Had to drill new holes (not that big of a deal)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Danny from Manassas, GA on 2/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this woofer on my 2014 wrangler unlimited Sahara and the bass difference goes a long way.

Pros: It is a perfect fit with no alterations needed

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Speakers great

Crutchfield customer from Louisiana on 2/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for an OEM replacement, install has some challenges but once in sound is 5x better than OEM.

Pros: Sound clarity

Cons: Install somewhat challenging.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Solid Sub

MS from Texas on 2/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid 8" sub, great lows without being too much. Easily fits into the stock sub location in my 2013 Jeep but ended up using in the Pioneer enclosure since it sounded cleaner. Hooked up to a 350watt 2 ohm amp which is perfect. Plenty of low for a 8inch sub, complements the Polk components and coaxial previously installed.

Pros: Quality, installation

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Sounds great.

Ray from Indiana on 10/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a very good speaker. Can handle a lot of power.

Pros: Just the right size.

Cons: Two sided connections. Had to ask how to use.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

Crutchfield customer from 85044 on 10/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product... I would recommend to others

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

My first purchase from Cruthfield

Richie from Huntsville, Ala on 9/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed with the woofer. It replaced my OEM unit without any mods required just as it was sold to me.

Pros: Very simple installation

Cons: Absolutely none!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer TS-SW2002D2

gearboxrabbit from Philadelphia, PA on 7/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this sub in my 2007 Civic Si sedan. I used the free-air application and installed it in the rear deck. Boy was I disappointed. It was marginally better than the stock system with 50% of my music selections and worse the rest of the time. The rear deck rattled most of the time so I had to keep turning the sub down. I took a chance and ordered the enclosure made for this sub, the $59 Pioneer UD-SW200D. What a pleasant surprise - blown away by the performance of the sub now! I am very pleased with the overall sound. The enclosure isn't much larger than a shoe box but it puts out solid, clean bass. This setup is made for the listeners in the car - so it won't attract much attention from those outside the vehicle. I am using a Kicker 11DX600.5 amp.

Pros: Compact and space saving. Excellent bass.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

35 of 37 found this helpful

TOP