Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
079 387 331 4
Connect ID #
079 387 331 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

CD receiver

MFR # FH-X830BHS

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

CD receiver

MFR # FH-X830BHS

214 reviews
View this product

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Kevin from Windsor , CT on 11/24/2022

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the product and the easy install made by Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

I would buy it again.

Jesse from Ottumwa, IA on 11/4/2022

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. Only had it a couple weeks but I would buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks good, sounds good

Taylor from Lead on 10/28/2022

2005 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good stereo. I originally bought my car and it had a $60 stereo in it. That didn't sound great. So I was looking for an upgrade and I'm so glad i went with this one. It immediately improved the sound quality and loudness of my music. Before I thought I just had bad speakers, but now I know my stereo was just bad. This one is amazing. The Bluetooth starts up right when I turn my car on and I really appreciate that. You can change the color of both the keys and the display. And everything is just super customizable. There is an app that works to do all of that, and it's compatible with both Spotify and Pandora but I still haven't figured out how to connect those so I just use Bluetooth. Plus installation was a breeze! I just paid an additional fee to get a custom wiring harness so I didn't have to do any wiring, I just plugged it in!

Pros: Makes music sound a billion times better Super customizable Easy to use easy to install

Cons: None! unless you prefer a touchscreen one but I don't really care.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Joseph from Albuquerque, NM on 9/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, Easy to Use, really like the Big Knob.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Kwok from Grandview, WA on 6/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent products and very happy with it and the price was pretty reasonable

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer disappointment...

Curt from Bentonville, AR on 5/5/2022

2016 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit from Crutchfield in June of last year. The unit looked great, sounded great and the only slight complaint I had was the display was too dim, even on bright. No big deal. This stereo functioned well until a couple of months ago when I started having difficulty turning the power off, or changing tracks. The steering wheel buttons work fine though. It has progressively gotten worse though, to the point of the unit coming on by itself, which has nearly caused an accident, when I had been previously listening too loud. Even after several resets, the buttons on the front just won't work properly. I have been a proud Pioneer fan for many years but am now looking for a new stereo again. I will choose a different brand though after reading reviews here of other models doing having similar issues. Too much hassle to send this one it for repairs.

Pros: Sound, looks, functionality

Cons: Dim display, poor key operation

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Top Notch

Riley from Chehalis, WA on 4/22/2022

2006 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although I've only had this stereo for a few days since installing into my Scion xB, those few days of listening to my music connected to the Bluetooth have been AMAZING!!! A totally whole new experience that have increased the quality of my drives tremendously :).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Jeremy from Taylorsville, NC on 4/22/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade over the factory unit in my 2010 Tacoma sounds great Bluetooth works well too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

daebak (great)

Anthony from Kaunakakai, HI on 4/21/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great features. I swear it sounds better than the previous pioneer deck that I bought that I had to change due to the LED not working properly

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I love Pioneer

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 10/19/2021

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an excellent CD radio. I enjoy having phone and Bluetooth capabilities in my truck. The one dial simplifies the looks and once you learn the menu, navigating is easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

As advertised

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 10/3/2021

1996 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does exactly what it says it will do, added some nice features to a 25-year-old vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 9/28/2021

2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is crisp and full, much better than my stock radio. I keep the remote control within reach. It's as good as steering wheel controls which I don't have. I'm still learning features but streaming bluetooth from my Android phone works great and bluetooth phone interface is flawless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wichita

Michael from Wichita on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You cannot see the face plate of this unit in sun light. It is difficult to use. Way too many features that one doesn't use. It sounds ok when using CDs but the radio is not that great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Travis from GREEN BAY, WI on 8/16/2021

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good radio that works really well with my 2011 Ford Ranger. The buttons feel good and I enjoy being able to completely customize the color of both the screen and the buttons as I have matched them to to stock light colors of the dash. Bluetooth connects well every time and automatically plays music from my android device. Crutchfield's excellent customer support makes installation and set up very easy. I would recommend this radio if you're looking to upgrade without having a touch screen.

Pros: Dims when turning on headlights Great Bluetooth connectivity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

UNIT WORKS AND SOUNDS GREAT. Real easy to install and looks great in the car. I thought the original bose unit was finally dying due to the fact the reception was going down hill (FM). Half the time it wouldn't pick up the signal. When i installed the pioneer unit same problem. After investigation found a broken plug on the antenna wire. Replaced and everything works fine (not easy finding antenna cable with male plug on both ends) Anyway nothing wrong with the bose but now i have a new sound system i didn't really need. And it sounds better than the bose. going to keep. Installed in1996 Vette

Pros: sounds great, well made, fit perfectly in the dash using the supplied dash kit and the wiring harness was done to a very high quality. No issues or problems installing.

Cons: goofy illumination system. how often are you really gong to sit at a stop lite and change the colors?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good feature set, but poor ergonomics

Ryan from STOKESDALE, NC on 7/8/2021

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, the FH-X830BHS is decent. I'm replacing an older JVC unit in a 2007 FJ Cruiser where the head unit is powering four 3.5" speakers and two pairs of RCA cables supply signal to a 4-channel amp that powers 6"x9" front door speakers and a bridged 12" subwoofer. The feature set on this head unit is solid with good input controls, audio controls and settings for the money. The bluetooth and included microphone work pretty well with good sound quality considering it's a noisy vehicle with 35" mud tires. Where the rating takes a hit is in the display and button ergonomics. The FJ Cruiser is basically a dark cake inside, and even so, the display isn't the brightest. Put on polarized sunglasses, and some portions of the screen disappear or become exceptionally dim making things quite hard to read. I like big buttons and would only consider a head unit with a larger volume knob. The knob is a good size, but the slightest bump going down the road while you're turning the knob and you're into the menu instead. The forward/back buttons flanking the knob aren't as big as they appear in pictures either. Only the portion closest to the knob actually presses in, not the whole button. As such, pressing either button often leaves you pressing or turning the volume knob also. Lastly, the preset buttons are quite small for the size of the screen and other buttons, so there is a bit of fumbling around with those if you're not on a very smooth road. Overall, decent.

Pros: Good audio tuning Good inputs HD Radio!

Cons: Button size and tactile feel Display

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Dacula, GA on 6/13/2021

2007 Ford Focus ZX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clear Bluetooth reception, plenty of power for the four 6x8s that we used to replace his factory speakers. My son loves all the extra features and the fact it has a remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, VA on 4/25/2021

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice stereo for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Odenville, AL on 4/13/2021

2016 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed this in my wife's 2016 Nissan Pathfinder. She loves the Bluetooth and the music quits great. Easy install with the Metra kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Kaneohe, HI on 4/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The unit fits right in... looks fantastic and great illumination and programmable light show. The sound is significantly better. The negative is no integrated mic for phone calls like the OEM unit. Not knowing this, I threw away the mic that came with the unit thinking that I didn't need an external mic! I'm waiting for the new mic and to install the new door speaker/ tweeter combo with cross overs from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 4/11/2021

2006 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using Pioneer head units for twenty years and have never had an issue, love the audio options, and illumination choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound, easy install

Crutchfield customer from Rodanthe, NC on 4/11/2021

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sound and easy to install with the adapters and the wiring harness service is a huge time saver- plug and play. Crutchfield customer service is tops.

Pros: Many listening options

Cons: Takes a few mins to understand the scroll/ enter process on control panel but once mastered- lots of options.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/10/2021

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great in the car and easy to program. Love all of the options that it has.

Pros: High number of preset stations allowed Easy programming with the user guide

Cons: Can be a little hard to see display in bright sun

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 3/23/2021

2011 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything was as described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 3/14/2021

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The system sounds real good I installed myself and I purchase the kit to go with it and I also added to 25 watt amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Pavo, GA on 3/14/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sounding head unit for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer... The name says it all.

Crutchfield customer from St Clairsvle , OH on 3/11/2021

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pioneer... The name says it all. Another outstanding unit produced by Pioneer. Everything we have come to expect with this series of head unit. Not disappointed with my decision, for the price this as good as it gets. Quality and sound equal to or better than most units with a price tag twice as much.

Pros: More than enough options and features to customize sound quality and visual displays.

Cons: I'm sure there may be some cons but honestly I can't think of a single con with this unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Metter, GA on 2/25/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pioneer does it again. What a great unit,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Cody, WY on 2/23/2021

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, easy to use. The hardest thing to figure out is the illumination.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, MS on 2/21/2021

1988 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. I've been a Pioneer fans since high school..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent service as well

Crutchfield customer from Hammondsport, NY on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Better than the original

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

looking for old school

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 2/17/2021

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works and will fill my need for Bluetooth from my phone

Pros: Bluetooth and colors and be set to one.

Cons: I wish someone would make a replacement stereo that would have the look and feel of an OEM. Mostly with knobs and buttons and not all the flashing lights and changing colors. It doesn't have to match the one I'm replacing, just a basic look that is functional.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, NM on 2/15/2021

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product sounds like heaven. Great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 2/9/2021

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Tyler from CHARLESTON, WV on 2/6/2021

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price, this stereo is a very big upgrade to my factory radio in my escape. I was looking for a cheaper HD Radio, that had more options for aftermarket speakers and this delivers. The menu can be a bit confusing, and in the beginning I had a lot of trouble navigating the menu and getting the settings right. But after troubleshooting with Crutchfield, it works amazing. It may not be touchscreen, but for the price, this is the best non-touchscreen radio I think you can get. HD Radio, Bluetooth, lots of options for sound, makes it very much worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Villa Rica, GA on 2/2/2021

2002 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Happy with this receiver; does everything I want and nothing more. Only issue I have is that the ARC app won't communicate with the unit, but regular Bluetooth playback works fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

project in progress

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 1/13/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

continue to learn how this unit works. i am using factory speakers. The back speakers dont sork. this is a project that needs more time. need to make a box to install two speakers between the two seats in the back, this speakers cannot be bigger than 4 in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Guest from Stanardsville, VA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's everything the store said it would be

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson City, MO on 12/14/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Customer service is off the charts!

Pros: Wiring was simple with diagram.

Cons: Wiring diagram wasn't in box had to get online.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product and company

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 12/5/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Plug and the play with Metra install kit, customer service like I have never experienced before. Thanks guys

Pros: Lots of functions Looks like stock, sound is amazing compared to stock.

Cons: Demo mode throws you off for a bit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Dalton

Robert from Dalton on 11/15/2020

2010 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio for the car I been using it for 3 years and counting never had a problem with it.

Pros: All the special features

Cons: the display is hard to see in direct sunlight.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer stereo

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/21/2020

2008 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice stereo with a lot of features.

Pros: Features

Cons: Instructions are bad

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great stereo love being able too play my CD's again the Bluetooth is wonderful addiction to my vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A good choice

Crutchfield customer from Meadow Valley, CA on 6/1/2020

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit works just as advertised. The multi-function knob is something that seems to be commonplace now that so many functions have to be crammed into a package that just does not have enough front real estate to have a knob for each function. To me, as a customer who installs for himself, Crutchfield is the real winner here. They tell you how to do it for you own specific car, advise you as to what kits you will need to interface with the factory wiring, and what tools you may need. This is why I shop at Crutchfield. this is a good unit and the installation looks as close to factory as it could possibly be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Berea, KY on 5/28/2020

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Top notch stereo. Looks and sounds great in the Mustang!

Pros: Easy to navigate through features and settings. Looks and sounds great.

Cons: Had to call tech support to properly connect factory amp as the installation instructions didn't address it. After leaving a message on Sat at 6:40, the friendly and helpful rep called back within 20 minutes and had me going in five minutes.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent sounds, menu is not intuitive.

Crutchfield customer from Waukesha, WI on 5/26/2020

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, the sound quality is excellent. The menus are not the easiest to navigate and it's not the easiest to setup. Had an issue with the initial setup, but was able to reread the directions and fix that. I'm used to most radios having the On/Off power button being the volume control knob by pressing that in. This unit does not. That will take you to the menu. Probably pressed the menu button a good half dozen times during the install on accident. Sound for the bluetooth phone calls is good. Bluetooth setup was easy. Overall, sound quality is excellent. Menu and initial setup is not intuitive. Hence, it lost a star for that.

Pros: Sound quality, price.

Cons: Menu and setup is not easy. Have to follow the manual closely and it's not an intuitive setup like you find with factory radios.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Ok While it Lasted

Mike from Jacksonville, FL on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After 2 years, the function dial died. Then it started turning itself on and off. It was good when it worked, but now it's useless. Toom much to spend to have it die after 2 years!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/13/2020

2010 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the system is very convenient to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bad quality

Scott from Rock Hill, SC on 5/11/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit was easy to install and loved the features, at first. After having this unit for almost a year, the lights will flicker or completely go out while in use. This renders the unit helpless. Can't adjust volume, songs, or answer calls while this happens. Pulled the unit back out of my dash and all of the connections are still tightly soldered and heat shrunk together. The frequency of this problem is happening more and more. I will NEVER purchase a Pioneer head unit again. Very aggravating problem out of a product that had such a promising start. Very disappointed.

Pros: Good Bluetooth connection, hands-free calling, customization.

Cons: Very, very poor overall quality! Product just doesn't last.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 5/11/2020

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a great fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Bang For Your Buck

Francis from SPARKS, NV on 5/1/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This receiver lives up to its Pioneer namesake. Quality sound and stereo DSP makes the factory speakers sound great. Mulit Functions and features make this hard to beat especially for the price. You won't find a receiver on the market with more capability for the same price or less. In fact, if you go to the big box stores you are going to pay more for less. Do yourself a favor, make the purchase, get the steering wheel adapter, and make sure you check to see if your vehicle antenna has a front and rear antenna. If it does you will need adapter(s) as this only supports one antenna input. I have a 2005 Toyota and I found this out the hard way, but adapters are on the way.

Pros: Functions, Features, Color Scheme Options, Clarity and ability to push factory speakers without distortion.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Guest from Orange City, IA on 4/28/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have owned this product for over two years now. Up untill now I have loved it, a little less than a week ago I have received a comment stating that I have an amp error. I usually play music within the range of 20-40 on the volume scale. I am not very happy that the amp is already going out. Otherwise the stereo is a good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 4/19/2020

2003 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my mach 460 in my mustang with this receiver, install was a breeze with assembled wiring harness from Crutchfield, bluetooth pairs right up and sounds good

Pros: Plays everything

Cons: Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Round Lk Bch, IL on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent Non-Touch screen unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Barneveld, WI on 3/30/2020

2004 Volkswagen R32

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good equipment, I put it in a car that I want to keep as stock as possible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Watertown , TN on 3/30/2020

2014 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation went well, with clear instructions and everything included in one box. Typically great Pioneer performance.

Pros: Everything fits, works as expected, everything was included.

Cons: I hate that I still have to solder some connections. Why can't all connections be plug in?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Guest from Salado, TX on 3/29/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have this installed in my 2004 Silverado and really like the sound quality it gave to the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't go Wrong with Pioneer

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 3/16/2020

2006 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound! Love this stereo! Pioneer has once again made a superior product and in my past experience with Pioneer, their systems last forever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product, Good Price

Crutchfield customer from Beverly Hills, CA on 3/9/2020

2002 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, extremely simple install with my vehicle. The selectable colors adds a nice touch to my cars interior while the screen brings clear and distinct text. Audio quality is about the same, didn't notice any difference except the ability to boost my bass. If you have sick subwoofers then you can definitely rock your neighborhood.

Pros: Great quality sound. Easy install. Looks very clean. Easy to use.

Cons: Still trynna figure out Bluetooth, got my phone on but can't figure out how to connect another phone, even if it means disconnecting mine. Be careful with the bass boost, definitely could blow your speakers :)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer receiver.

Tom from Quapaw, OK on 2/17/2020

2012 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver plays everything really like the customize lighting sound is perfect.

Pros: Does everything as advertised.

Cons: Bit of a pain to program had to reset three times to get it right menu changes after set up and you can't go back without resetting.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Verona, NJ on 2/13/2020

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has everything I want and need at a great price. HD FM, bluetooth, cd player , spotify, and Pandora. Excellent sound. Pair that along with Crutchfield technical support and customer ser oce, it's a winner.

Pros: Multi functional at a really good price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 2/6/2020

1998 Acura 3.5RL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

4th Pioneer installed in our fleet. Easy to use and phone / Bluetooth is crystal clear!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 12/4/2019

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what me dad needed

Pros: Fast

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Glen Burnie, MD on 11/5/2019

2004 GMC Envoy XUV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. Bluetooth and Ipod controls are great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer quality with perfect simplicity

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had this Pioneer head unit installed in my 2004 Chevrolet SSR for a few weeks now. Works exactly as expected and had all the features desired. Was looking for a good non-touchscreen unit with classic Ipod capability and this was the best available in class. Also does MP3 playback from a USB drive and performs well, even with files of differing quality. Melded directly into the Bose system in the SSR keeping all the steering wheel controls operational, just like factory with the added interface purchased. Bluetooth calling to my Iphone was also a prerequisite and it does this exceptionally well. Displays the caller ID on the face and paired with my contact list perfectly. May seem like an antique when compared with the video touchscreen units but none of them would play files from a classic Ipod. Perfect fit for my application.

Pros: Classic Ipod capable. Bluetooth pairing with Iphone is perfect. Blends into the original car dash and with multiple color capability, the background car display text was easily matched.

Cons: Installation was not simple but that was a vehicle issue, not Pioneer driven at all.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Saint Peters, MO on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Hard to set up.

Pros: Was easy to install and sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy Customer

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The HD radio was exactly as stated in the add. It was easy to install, after watching a how-to video on the internet. It sounds great and is easy to use. I would recommend getting the pre-assembled wiring harness. It worked perfectly and saved at least an hour of assembly time. Also, Crutchfield is a good company to deal with. My radio arrived when promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crazy!!

Derrick from GULF BREEZE, FL on 9/4/2019

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I never had a receiver after one year to date it starts going crazy!! So I reset the microprocessor more than three times, "No Luck!" Change speckers, undone specker wires no luck!. Music changes speckers, diconnect battery cables same thing. The setting going in and out so now! I'm out of a receiver and $$$. No extended warranty so I get the shaft!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Wheeling, WV on 9/4/2019

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Been very happy with my new Pioneer radio. Had an older one but the new one has XM radio. I wanted this so I wouldn't have to have a docking station in my vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 8/28/2019

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not a bad radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice display, but annoying quirks

Robert from CAMDEN, SC on 8/20/2019

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this as a "modified fit" for my '99 F250 Super Duty. Cut the dash as required/directed by the modified fit instructions, but had to remove two screws above the head unit that secure the front of the dash to the inner frame. This was not included in the instructions, and so far does not seem to impact the security of the dash. Once everything was hooked up (installed with a 4 channel amp and a sub amp), I tried to follow the instructions for the head unit to set up the internal settings. Rear speakers were barely producing output. Called Crutchfield, tech support directed me to do differently than the manual stated, and that got all door speakers working properly. Please note: this head unit does not allow you to fade the signal to the front or back speakers... you can adjust balance to left or right, but there is not fader adjustment. Loads of filters/loudness/bass adjustments to play with. Got it all tuned and sounds great. The only annoying thing now, it that the head unit forgets what time it is once every week or two. I drive it every day, but randomly I'll start up and see that the head unit thinks its 12:00 again. It seems to remember audio settings (I think, there's a lot of them), but the clock, what source functions you choose to have on and off, and auto play from USB device settings are reset. Not sure if this is normal for the unit. I wouldn't recommend this head unit to a friend.

Pros: Volume knob Bluetooth clarity

Cons: No fade setting Randomly forgets what time it is (once every week or two) Randomly forgets function settings

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Piedmont, SC on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

face was scratched in several places otherwise great unit. disappointed in scratches

Pros: great unit

Cons: scratched screen/face

Crutchfield response on 7/30/2019
Our Customer Support specialist, Cleveland, reached out to this customer for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from North Salt Lake, UT on 5/28/2019

2011 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the variations of color on this deck. It's easy to customize the exact sound you want without spending all day on it.

Pros:

Cons: Installation was a bit tricky but that's because of the car, not the stereo.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Swainsboro, GA on 5/6/2019

2012 Chevrolet Captiva Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After being without a car radio for a couple of years, I am really enjoying my Pioneer FX radio. Still learning all the ins and outs of it but so far I am loving it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Eric from Ottumwa, IA on 4/20/2019

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love the bright colors and and the simple setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Short Lifespan

Jeremy from Chambersburg, PA on 2/23/2019

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gifted to my girlfriend for Christmas and 2 months after installation the bluetooth connection is wonky and volume is unresponsive. Don't know if it's a system norm or part of the list of malfunctions , but automatically accepting phone calls during the golden age of junk calls is a nightmare. First time I've had a problem with a Pioneer product.

Pros:

Cons: Dudded out 2 weeks outside of warranty.

Crutchfield response on 2/25/2019
Jeremy, we're sorry your girlfriend is having issues with her receiver. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Nicholas from Greenwood, SC on 1/17/2019

2008 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks really good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent.

Justin from Niceville, FL on 1/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this headunit. Easy to navigate and reads my USB thumb drives almost perfectly. My only issues are that the remote app refuses to work with my phone at all (Samsung Galaxy S8 Active) and it seems to have problems reading the file information for my FLAC files (says "NO ARTIST, NO ALBUM, etc.") Otherwise, no issues at all.

Pros: - Looks great. - Easy to navigate user interface. - Sounds great. - Reads USB thumb drives well. - Easy to navigate file organization.

Cons: - Doesn't play well with Android phones. - Issues reading FLAC tag information.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

David from Statesville, NC on 1/6/2019

2008 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this receiver when I replaced the OEM unit in my 2008 Ford Expedition. My radio reception was drastically reduced over the stock setup. I am not sure if it is the recommended antenna adapter specifically or the Pioneer head unit or the combination of both. I am researching a different antenna adapter as that is a cheaper alternative than a different head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer ca stereo

Mike from Orange City, IA on 12/24/2018

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver at a great price. Love the variability of the light colors and easy installation.

Pros: Great sound and easy install

Cons: Nine

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Features!

Owen from Terre Haute, IN on 12/4/2018

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great features! I think folks whining about the illumination have it incorrectly configured. It has an auto-dimming feature they must have enabled because its plenty bright when disabled. READ THE MANUAL! The volume knob is not as touchy as one reviewer complains about, unless you are doing 90 MPH on a dirt road it is a non-issue. It starts up in under 20 seconds, not 1-3 minutes, thats ridiculous. Bluetooth connects right away, no issues. Its just not that powerful, Im driving front 6x9's and rear 5 1/4's, just a little more wattage and this would be 5 Stars. Does not play *.aiff files, as noted in the manual, yet plays almost all iPhones and iPods. READ THE MANUAL!

Pros: Everything but power out

Cons: More wattage

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Ross from Hackensack, MN on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Been buying Pioneer car audio for a long time, They have not failed me yet. Great Product !!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So disappointed

Brian from Audubon, NJ on 11/27/2018

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really disappointed in this unit. I've had it nearly a year. The display is terrible. Near impossible to see in daylight and don't even bother if you have sunglasses on. A month ago, all of a sudden, the functions changed and now my phone auto-answers. Can't figure out how to turn it off, so I came back here to see if there is a manual to try and fix it. Decided to leave this review. The one star is for how easy the installation was. The Crutchfield team was great. I had to call with a wiring question and they got me all squared away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great look and functionality

Lukas from Abilene, KS on 11/18/2018

2003 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is great. I love the way it looks and the controls are easy to use. The bluetooth is great when I am streaming my music. I connected this unit to a pair of 6x9s in the rear and 6 1/2 up front along with a set of tweeters in the dash and the sound is crisp and the bass is just right for what is there.

Pros: multi color, phone and bluetooth capability

Cons: no touch screen

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Danvers, IL on 11/13/2018

2008 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Really enjoy the radio auto connecting to my phone and starting my music right where I left off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Overall

Claude from Irondale, AL on 10/29/2018

2011 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As a whole I really love this unit, it autoconnects the Bluetooth so I don't even have to take out my phone. It really controls everything via the stereo so I can keep my eyes on the road. I have the default speakers but the base and EQ settings on this radio makes music sound amazing.

Pros: Great sound quality, auto connects to Bluetooth quickly, LED displays and color control look amazing. Easy installation.

Cons: 30 second delay to turn on after car boots up. Bluetooth sometimes won't connect automatically and says "no service" must manually turn Bluetooth on and off until it connects.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 10/28/2018

2012 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My wife loves the sound and the Bluetooth in these stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dumb Volume button Design

Jack from Tulare, CA on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Normally I am gun ho for Pioneer and love their products but any of their stereos with this Volume/select buttons suck! The issue is when you want to turn the volume up. You have to be very careful other wise instead of turning it up you instead accidentally press down and scroll through the menu.....its so annoying in fact I am thinking about selling it and buying something else. Also there is a extremely slow delay between changing buttons and having the unit turn on upon start of vehicle; about 1-3 min sometimes. I actually thought there was something wrong with it but pioneer said this was normal.

Pros: Sound, inputs, nice FM signal

Cons: Volume Button Eq settings Slow scroll reaction between stations Does not turn on right away upon vehicle start...takes several moments. You might even be already driving

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Upgrade without the hassle.

Bob from Mi. on 9/21/2018

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Pioneer sounds great! Install went very smoothly. Went with the pre made wiring harness and saved a lot of time. Worth the price. Item arrived well packed and on time.

Pros: Easy install, improved sound and added functionality not available whe I purchased this vehicle.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Jimmy from Ridgeland, MS on 9/20/2018

2003 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sorry but after 3 days of attempts to get this to turn on my woofers it just would not happen. HOWEVER- I could not be MORE with Eli, Lefty, Vince, and Jack they tried to help me so hard. I have sent my Pioneer back and traded it for a Kenwood. Sure hope i can get it to work. Again I cannot complain about defective stuff but I can be be LOUD about your customer service. Thank you very much!!

Pros: Your customer service

Cons: Couldn't get the Pioneer to work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 9/4/2018

2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit and excellent customer support. Instructions are for your car or truck are right on. Easy to follow color coded wiring instructions. Great sound and a load of options for your particular needs. Phone system is easy to get going and sounds like your cell phone. Push button answer and adjust volume of call with volume on radio. Do not have to handle cell phone at all. Very very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Very "clean" sound

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Pioneer sounds good. Really decent power too. Again, arrived in great condition, and rather quickly. I hear a very noticeable difference. For the better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Roper, NC on 8/21/2018

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio system. Quality sound. Easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Brian from New York, NY on 8/18/2018

2007 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio, but the display is a little hard to read in daylight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Illumination perfect

David from Council Bluffs, IA on 8/6/2018

2005 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I enjoy everything about the stereo the only thing that I find lacking or missing would be treble, if you had the opportunity to ask Crutchfield they would probably tell you I am a finicky shopper as this will be the third stereo I purchased in the 3 months from them and hopefully this is the last.

Pros: Options

Cons: No treble

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

George from Fairfield, OH on 7/11/2018

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have never had issues with Pioneer over the years. This replaced my factory stereo in my jeep, I wish I had done it earlier. Great sound and features. My only reservation is the hands free mic, not a great feature for a jeep with no top or doors but I bought it for the sound and compatibility with my Android phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent pioneer unit

Crutchfield customer from Urbana, IL on 6/27/2018

2007 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my 2nd unit, the first one went in my daughters car and the 2nd in my pu I liked it that much plus with the features and sound with individual front and rear crossover it's top of the line!!

Pros: All the features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Vincent from Longmont, CO on 6/20/2018

2000 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good choice to replace a dying factory unit...

Pros: Easy install..

Cons: none noted

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Easy install, great radio

Bob from Springfield, VA on 6/11/2018

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great radio to replace my stock one. Easy to install, fit nicely in the double DIN opening of my '04 4Runner. HD Radio works great, and had no problem getting the BT to work with my Android phone. It paired up the first time, and works great with tunes or the phone. Instructions were very helpful, and the pre-wired harness saved tons of time. The front is a little glossy and as some have said makes the display hard to read, but not really an issue. Looking forward to enjoy it on my travels.

Pros: -Easy to install -Easy to use -Works like it's suppose to

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

beautiful unit. Pioneer again.

Rpb from Lake Placid, FL on 6/7/2018

2004 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So easy to install with the kit included for my 04 Matrix. The demo vid for this unit does not show all the display options for the screen. I'm highly satisfied with this purchase, the unit sound, functions and quality- and only wish I had done it sooner. Crutchfield service and shipping was, as always, excellent.

Pros: Lots of features. HD Radio. CD player. Double Din, E-Z installation.

Cons: Price ... :)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/20/2018

2005 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy instalation, good sound, great advice from rep . A real pleasure doing buisness with Cruthfield. Bo & Deb Hacker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Perfect Mid-Range Upgrade

Michael from Santa Clarita, CA on 5/16/2018

2010 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lightweight, versatile, and easy to navigate. HD radio sounds great. Functionality is easy with the double-DIN face, so there are dedicated buttons for most things you will need to do. Easy to install. Bluetooth functionality has been working well, so I have not yet even tested the hardwire AUX jack or USB connector, however it is a great bonus for those of us with 160 GB old school iPods. The only con - and I am being very nitpicky here... the Dot-Matrix style readout seems a bit dated, but you know what you get when you purhcase a non LED screen. The display button makes it easy to quickly scroll through displays if you want the clock, track info, device info, elapsed time or the visual equalizer. And, the range of colors for the display (both accent color and text) are immense, so you can easily find the right match that will look good with your dash's color palette. Also, I wouldn't call it a drawback, but maybe for a causal user (but not for a real audiophile) is the multi-band equalizer. I just haven't had the time to dig into it, but don't be surprised if you are simply looking for "Bass/Mid/Treble" adjustable levels. This deck has a fully customizable 13 band EQ. You can opt for the few standard pre-sets, but be prepared to spend some time tweaking if you want your sound fully customized. Please also make sure to connect the blue wire from the antenna adaptor to the switched power wire or your reception will be poor. That is not a "gr

Pros: - Great Functionality - Easy Install - HD Radio - 13 Band EQ Customization - Hassle Free Bluetooth Connection - Tons of customizable colors - AUX and USB front connections - Brightness level adjustable to combat sun glare

Cons: - Should have replaced my stock stereo years ago!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Bluetooth and HD don't really work as expected.

Ian from Tucson, AZ on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The whole reason I bought this stereo was for the Bluetooth app, so we don't have to fiddle with our phones and the HD radio and neither of them really work well.

Pros: Sound is good, but yeah, they had this down decades ago.

Cons: -Bluetooth connection and app is wonky. -Spotify and pandora work with my Android phone, but is buggy with my wife's iPhone. -Calls work on my wife's iPhone but auto answer only. No calls work with my Android. ( I believe this tech has been around since the late 90's ) -HD radio constantly flips between HD and normal radio even when within a mile of the broadcast station. Impossible to listen to NPR when the audio jumps ahead a few seconds then back. ( Also not new tech )

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great options, incredible sound

Daryll from Gray, GA on 4/3/2018

2000 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A solid choice for our Toyota 4 Runner. Very impressed with the HD tuner and full, rich sound of his unit. Buy it!

Pros: Loads of features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made an Old Car Brand New!

Rich from Cedar Park, TX on 3/20/2018

2006 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver for the money--especially since the receiver came with bluetooth and we're now true hands free with our oldest car. Very happy with the purchase , and absolutely will look to Crutchfield again for our electronic needs!

Pros: Great receiver--Put this into a 2006 Honda CRV. Receiver has HD in it , and is much clearer when listening to music. Love the Bluetooth capability. The lighting adjustments on the radio are great and adjustable for day/night and anything in between. Used the prewired harness service, and saved at least an hour, well worth the money. Directions were right on, and everything fit like a glove-1 hour and 15 minute install for me.

Cons: When using hands free, a little difficult to hear (background noise) when the person calling you is on the highway at 60-65. All good though! Really had no use for the optional tools (prybar, etc.). If I had it to do over, I would skip that option.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Raymond, ME on 3/18/2018

2014 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this because the tuner in my Nissan Frontier was just awful. On this deck I have all of the I/O ports I had on the factor radio, and I gain an HD tuner (my favorite AM station is also available on an HD-2 channel), and I get an AM/FM tuner with superb sensitivity. I listen to both AM and FM, and it's nice to be able to hold onto a station that interests me for a longer time on a road trip. The one downside is that the control functions are not visibly obvious. I got them figured out pretty quickly, but they confound my wife.

Pros: AM & FM sensitivity is superb.

Cons: Control layout not intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Save money big time.

Kevin from Marion, AR on 3/12/2018

2007 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great receiver for my car, 2007 scion tc, as it fits perfectly. This is a great fit also because it's an older model radio but still newer tech than what they had when my car was made. I strictly wanted it for the usb music functions, hands free calling, and hd radio. Everything works better than expected plus it only took 45 minutes to install myself. Saved money big time all around with this one.

Pros: Beautiful Easy install Great sound. All around easy functions.

Cons: It wasn't free. Takes a little getting used to all the new stuff but easy to figure out.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound and visual effects

Dyke from Gilbertsville, PA on 3/7/2018

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After searching for months for the best replacement for my Pioneer Avic-3 due to the unit not working correctly , I opted for this unit. The HD tuner and bluetooth audio features were what sold me on it. As soon as I installed it , I was impressed with the sound and visual effects of the lighting. Within in a minuet, i had already figured out the programming and working different features. I would highly recommend this unit. A nice bonus that this radio has is the severe weather advisory scans across the screen. Since installing, we had 2 Nor'easters with in a week and it worked flawlessly.

Pros: Great sounds Led light patterns gives you a nice effect to go along with the sound

Cons: When using during the day with your headlights on, the blue led is harder to see.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Experience

Terri Lynn from Plano, TX on 3/7/2018

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's really a cool radio. Got it for my wife so she could have hands free bluetooth calls and HD radio. There are a lot of great HD stations here in DFW area. The reception is great. Being able to color change is a nice touch. Crutchfield made it easy to order and install. I had it installed less than a hour because they sent the wires and bracket with the radio. I was really impressed with the emailed instructions. Anyways the radio looks and sounds great in our 03 Explorer with original speakers!

Pros: Easy to install (thanks Crutchfield) Bluetooth and included Microphone work great. Colors are cool.

Cons: some small buttons take a little getting use to.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 2/12/2018

2003 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy installation,Bang up tec support,fairly easy to get to options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice radio with a few annoyances

Joe from Belmont, MA on 1/20/2018

2004 Cadillac CTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The plastic covering the display is flat and reflective- in my car (2004 Cadillac CTS) the angle is just right for light from the rear window to reflect into my eyes. I wish they could come up with some kind of matt finish like the OEM radio. Also the display is not bright enough. To search for next station you press and hold the tuning buttons. This doesn't work well with multichannel hd stations- you have to short-press to select one of the hd stations, until you go too far and tune static. Then you long press to search for the station. I wish it would clearly indicate when an HD station is being received. As others have said- the clock should always be displayed. Everything else is good. The above points are all minor annoyances and the radio really does work well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from De Graff, OH on 1/11/2018

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect addition to my son's truck. Very clean look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Steve from Knoxville, AR on 1/9/2018

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great receiver easy install excellent sound and easy operation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Such a great radio, I installed it in both truck and car!

Jonathan from Greer, SC on 1/7/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have owned this radio for a little over a year at this point, and I am completely satisfied with it. It replaced a more expensive Kenwood unit that failed to live up to my expectations in my 2009 Toyota Tacoma. I since ordered and installed one of these for our other vehicle as well (a 2010 Honda CR-V EX), and love having the same great radio in both vehicles. The HD Radio in this unit receives very well, and has excellent reception even on the non-HD stations, unlike some other HD radios that underperform in analog mode. I really like the Bluetooth system in this radio, because pairing is straightforward and there are 3 status indicators always present on the display to let you know if it is connected, and whether calling profile and media profile are connected. Two phones can be connected simultaneously. Call quality is excellent, and the microphone includes a cord long enough to run up behind the A pillar and mount the mic in the headliner above the rearview mirror if you like (I did!) USB playback works great and you can use it with the Mixtrax functions to do a continuous shuffle of your music library with crossfade effects if you want (or not). BT audio mode supports the common steaming apps, but I honestly don't use these because I don't like using my phone's data. This unit still has a disc player and can read CD-Text and display artist and track information. I also like the display, which is large and easy to read. The

Pros: Quality Analog radio reception HD radio reception Bluetooth quality Controls Display Remote control quality Sound quality Customization options

Cons: Need to run fatsort or DriveSort on USB media stick to sort music files in alphabetical order

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

14 of 15 found this helpful

better than factory stereo and my first upgrade

Anthony from Albuquerque, NM on 1/5/2018

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far, very good. sounds great. my factory speakers are now the limiting factor for audio in my car. i replaced my stereo a few years back with a Sony unit. this sounds much better. i am enjoying this new system. great purchase!

Pros: great sound handy remote

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Super options!

Monica from Oakes, ND on 1/4/2018

2004 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This radio is fantastic! My only very minor complaint is that I can't set it to show both the time and the artist/song as a display option. It installed very easily in my 2004 Suburban and I highly recommend ordering the pre-connected harness to save time.

Pros: Easy to install, added Sirius antenna and am so happy with both the XM and the BT!

Cons: Wish display showed the time and the song/artist at the same time, but very minor complaint-I'm just a control freak who always needs to know what time it is when I'm going somewhere ;)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from South Orange, NJ on 12/24/2017

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit for the money

Steve from Nottingham, MD on 12/3/2017

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very impressed with this unit. The quality of the sound is outstanding and I am still using the factory speakers. I am thinking about changing them now. I really like the fact it has FM HD this gives me some extra stations and I canceled my Sirius account for this car I was changing stations to many times and paying for the music. The Bluetooth works great for the iPad and phone. It connected up fairly easy. I would recommend this unit to everyone not expense and sounds great!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Adequate

Kenny from Land O Lakes, FL on 11/26/2017

1968 Chevrolet El Camino

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a pioneer DEH-X8500BS in my 2006 Tacoma. I couldn't easily read the displays so I decided to get this double-DIN unit. It has great sound, in my opinion, for the stock speakers. Price is good if you don't mind the negatives. Lots of colors to match your interior illumination or you can cycle through all. Looks great at night. A few things i'm not happy with: Still cant read the display during the day because of sunlight glare on the face. The letters/numbers are bigger, but still can't see them during the day. It takes longer to connect with the BT on my phone (iphone SE) than the old radio did (up to a minute, not long but longer than i'd like it to take). It also randomly disconnects, and in order to reconnect, i have to go to the phone setting to find the radio again (not pair, just connect). Finally, you can only remove a few of the connection options from the source list. I'm running SXM, HD radio and my phone but when cycling through sources, i still have to go past Pandora, USB, etc to get from one source i'm using to another. Bottom line, i wish i'd have kept the other radio. If you have nothing and are considering this, its great sound for a great price; it will be great if you're inside the arctic circle! It IS a low-end unit, which i now know. I'm in the market for another radio for another vehicle and i wont get a second one of these.

Pros: Priced well, great visuals at night

Cons: Cant see display during daylight, BT slow to connect and randomly Disconnects occasionally for no reason

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 11/23/2017

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this radio! It was easy to install and the directions the team sent were very helpful! The device is really easy to use and the options are exactly what I needed for my vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very happy with this purchase

Jim from NY on 10/22/2017

2010 Suzuki SX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptional choice for stereo upgrade. Fit, finish, function, sound quality, and features are all top notch. The Bluetooth phone set-up was nearly automatic. Easy install taking just over an hour being careful & taking our time. Can easily recommended this stereo.

Pros: Easy install, lots of custom features, great sound quality w stereo and phone.

Cons: None at moment

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

2009 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

robert from SHARPSBURG, MD on 10/11/2017

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've always had good luck with Pioneer receivers going all the back to my first (used) car in the mid-80s. And this one did not disappoint. The specs say it "only" has 14 watts, but it sounds louder than that. Once you get the audio levels set how you want them, it kicks ass. I also chose to go with letting Crutchfield staff wire/solder up the harness (this option is at checkout) so really was just a matter of plug-n-play.

Pros: Great sounding unit with a ton of cool features for under 200 bucks.

Cons: non that I can find so far. You may have to read the owners manual to figure out what all the settings mean if you're not familiar.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Rugby ND on 10/7/2017

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install went good, setup is a bit lengthy and still experimenting with settings. Works great and better sound out of my bose speakers in my GMC

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 10/2/2017

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to use and does everything it is supposed to do perfectly. Love the HD radio. Bluetooth paired immediately with my android phone and works flawlessly. Display looks great in all light conditions - no issues with the display in bright sun or other problems as reported for other brands at this price point. A fantastic option for my 99 4Runner that my teenage son will be driving before long. My first Pioneer unit and I'm very pleased. It replaced a JVC unit that also supported Bluetooth, but no HD radio tuner that I had for 5+ years. Until this Pioneer was installed I didn't realize how much lower quality the sound was with the old JVC set up. This Pioneer product is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 9/28/2017

2006 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation and sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

john from Morganton, NC on 9/11/2017

2007 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this was the best placeto buy good prices an good people to work with thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

DAVE from Sedona, AZ on 9/9/2017

2000 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install went very well...read the instructions...pre fitted the parts....perfect install...............Sound is perfect. Will be getting a pair of door speakers to get the full effect of the output......Only minus is that I can,t see the display. At night the 3 color shift is great and I see the display with perfect clarity. But in the light of day I see nothing..I'll probably call you if I can;t find a setting to brighten it..otherwise, it was money well spent.......Dave Maple

Pros: installation......features......power and sound quality

Cons: can't see display in day light

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Disappointed...

Nicholas R from Holland, MI on 9/7/2017

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced my single DIN pioneer BT with this one, but about to send it back. I am having a handful of problems with the bluetooth, problems I never had with my previous pioneer BT deck.

Pros: Colorful

Cons: A bit difficult to use, even after using pioneer decks for many years. The bluetooth on this thing is very sketchy.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Ely, IA on 8/13/2017

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had the Pioneer FH-X830BHS for about two weeks so far and I think it is so much better than the stock radio in my 2010 cobalt. The Bluetooth is a huge bonus and one of the main reasons I bought it in the first place. It took me about an hour to connect the radio wire harness to the harness provided then the rest was just plugging it all in and I was good to go; it was a very easy process if you are able to solder wires. All in all I would recommend installing an aftermarket head unit in your vehicle, they look better and if you get one with HD radio that's even better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Headunit!

Brian from Denver, CO on 8/6/2017

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2003 Chevy Tahoe Z71. Absolutely phenomenal service and product quality. I haven't installed stereos for almost 30 years and the install went fantastic. Directions were easy to understand. The only hitch in the giddyup was learning all the features of the new head unit. Originally I chose this unit b/c of the USB plug to play my iPhone music and handsfree calling. But the Bluetooth surprised me. Bluetooth connects within a few seconds and automatically starts playing my music. The hands free is crystal clear also. I was on the fence about the HD radio...but it is definitely worth it. This unit pulls in stations that my stock radio wouldn't pick up and mixes the digital and analog signals for excellent listening. My kids and their friends think the changing colors is "dope". I can't speak highly enough about this unit and the service. Now I'm thinking about getting new speakers!!! Steering wheel controls work perfectly. I am extremely pleased and highly recommend anything y'all sell. Lifetime customer. Thanks!

Pros: Value, feature packed, extremely responsive, Bluetooth, handsfree clarity/quality, changing colors, audio quality, signal reception

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kill the Emergency Alert System feature - dangerous distraction

Matthew from Hagerstown, MD on 7/28/2017

2003 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had this radio for a couple months now and was really just understanding how to get it to pair with my iphone all of the time (hint: use the BT-audio as source and it will pair). The radio works fine for the most part. Some poor user interface design choices such as pressing in on the volume does things so when changing volume and you car bumps you've done something you don't want to do -- which should be driving not fighting the radio. Which brings me to the Emergency Alert System. I discovered this feature today. Let me tell you, I am ready to rip out this radio and return it out side of the Crutchfield 60 terms and here is why. It's raining today. I know it because I can see it and my wipers are on. It's really raining heavy somewhere 60 miles away so there is a 'Flash Flood Warning' there. So this deck changes from my podcast to the FM Radio playing classical music. Message on dots says something like 'Urgent Alert'. So I tune back to my podcast. It switches back over and over. Even if I turn down the volume and change the source, the deck changes back to FM Radio, 'Urgent Alert' and TURNS THE VOLUME back up. It does this with another station too. So what the? Shouldn't I be driving and not fighting the deck? Sure alerts are good, can't I acknowledge it? I finally had to figure out how to turn off the radio. Might as well not have one if that is the solution to the EAS mess. I say, forget this deck or any with EAS unless you get a demo because it's dangerous.

Pros: Good sound Pairs OK if are on BT Audio source otherwise good luck

Cons: Can't turn off the Emergency Alert System

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

Jerry from Elizabethtown, NC on 6/19/2017

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works perfectly. Great fit in vehicle. Sound great, great functionality.

Pros: Love it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

"Pioneer... Rockin' the free World"

Tom from Charlotte, NC on 6/19/2017

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pioneer offers the most features and best sound quality for a reasonable price. Crutcthfield's support is second to none!!!

Pros: Great features for the $$$ Easy Installation! Premium sound & quality!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Receiver for the Money

Chris from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/12/2017

2011 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the money, this is a really nice receiver that provides the modern conveniences of bluetooth, USB input, satellite radio (receiver sold separately), and HD radio. If you have an older car that works just fine (and is paid off), but you want an update where it counts, then this is an excellent option. My one slight gripe is that I wish the display was brighter--it's somewhat difficult to read it when the sun is glaring on it. If you have steering wheel control, you can preserve this function with the proper harness. I have a 2011 Honda CRV and utilized the Crux installation harness. it was a little more expensive, but it has worked well thus far. One more thing: if you have an AUX input, you will lose its functionality. In order to preserve that, the receiver must have an AUX input in the back, but this one doesn't. Of course, this does have an AUX input on the front.

Pros: Bluetooth, USB, satellite, HD Radio

Cons: Dim display.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

E from Buxton, NC on 6/4/2017

2006 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far this unit has performed to my expectations. It's hard to complain when the features for the price are this rich, but it really bugs me every time I have to scroll past the Pandora source without the ability to disable it like Spotify. This is for certain a marketing deal that Pandora paid for to keep it in front of a consumers face in the hopes they will sign up. In my case it does just the opposite. Other than that, I would prefer more buttons to select a source directly instead of scrolling through 5/6 sources to get to what I want. There is clearly enough real estate on the unit for this, but they opted for a minimalist layout instead I assume to keep the cost down. I would give it 4.5 stars if I used Pandora or could disable it in the source rotation. A bargain even with my 2 gripes.

Pros: Sound quality Features Set Price

Cons: Have to cycle through many sources instead of direct access buttons Can't disable Pandora as a source

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukie, OR on 5/30/2017

2001 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy install! Very straightforward to install and mount. This was a gift for sister-in-law. She LOVES it!

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Okemos, MI on 5/30/2017

2002 Cadillac Seville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent. Does all that I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2002 Toyota Tacoma

Cortney from Henderson, Tx on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very hard to set up and sound is very low. Have to turn it up almost to max to get very loud. The Bluetooth cuts off all the time and does not stay connected to my iPhone SE. this was one of the main reasons I got the radio because I have a manual transmission. The usb wont even read my iPod anymore says nothing is plugged in even when it is. Display is also less than desired to look at. Wish I had never purchased and would give it a zero if I could!

Pros: SiriusXM works great

Cons: USB stopped working Bluetooth with IPhone SE never worked Display is soso

Crutchfield response on 5/30/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Cortney to help her further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 5/10/2017

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Little difficulty getting instructions to install steering wheel controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall Great Unit, but Some Troubleshooting Required

Daniel from Houston, TX on 5/6/2017

2010 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent quality, easy-to-follow instructions for home install. After connecting all the wires, everything works great except the radio. Per the instructions, the blue and white wire is only for powering an electric radio antenna, so we went with blue to blue wire. We'll have to uninstall and change the wiring in hopes that is the correct fix. Also, Bluetooth works about 98% of the time. Occasionally it will take much longer than average to connect to my phone or not connect at all even with restarting unit. Otherwise, great quality sound, volume, lights/color personalization, and still plays CDs which is great!

Pros: Sound Color Versatility Bluetooth Microphone for hands-free calling

Cons: Troubleshooting needed for radio part to work correctly and occasionally for Bluetooth connect-ability

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Bret from Layton, UT on 4/24/2017

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great deck for the price. I was looking for something to simply stream my Spotify via bluetooth, and this has been great. Great range on the BT as well. Easy to install, and you cannot go wrong with the features Pioneer includes in all their products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Alejandro from Victorville, CA on 4/24/2017

2006 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great after market stereo, easy to install with instructions included thru Crutchfield, with the help of Crutchfield tech advisor i was able to pick this unit to satisfy my needs, the sound is scrisp and clean with after market speakers I installed also, I love the fact that this unit is app ready with Pandora and spotify which I use alot. The only issue I have had so far is sometimes when starting my car the stereo is searching for BT connectivity and it doesn't find my iPod or phone which is already paired, but messing with the source button it will connect. Hopefully no other issues arise. Overall I'm saistfied with my purchase

Pros: App ready,HD radio, crisp sound, clean look.

Cons: Minor issues with Bluetooth, display sometimes hard to see in some light

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Reg from Ashburn, VA on 4/22/2017

2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price, i think this is a good head unit. Once I installed it, I upgraded the firmware to the latest version (8.36 as of this writing) from the Pioneer website. The Pioneer ARC app on my smartphone is a valuable tool to have for making adjustments (as well as switching sources, radio bands, and radio presets) to this unit.

Pros: Sound quality, Pioneer ARC app, built-in HD radio, ease of installation (for the most part), clean (non-gimmicky) design

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Loved it for 3 months

Russ from Athens, GA on 4/10/2017

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in July 2016. By November the lower left corner no longer illuminated. By December the USB port no longer would connect to iPhone and by Christmas no longer would charge the phone. By late March the Bluetooth was intermittent and by April BT no longer worked at all. Last week, 1st week of April 2017, the tuner will scan several times before locating an FM radio station within 50 miles of Atlanta, GA. I'm hopeful it is just a lemon and the replacement will be the quality I expect from Pioneer.

Pros: Features

Cons: Slowly started falling apart.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great stereo for the price

Michael from Santa Maria, CA on 4/3/2017

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One of the best looking, easiest to use after-market radios I have ever installed (and I have bought a lot from Crutchfield over the last 30 years). Sounds great, and the installation kit was perfect, including the add-on steering wheel control adaptor. Can't wait to take some road trips with plenty of music options to choose from!

Pros: All the features work great - simple to connect to iPhone or Android. Could not tell a difference in sound quality between Bluetooth and USB.

Cons: Accidentally already made a small scratch in the screen when I was installing it, hopefully it will survive daily use!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Crutchfield customer from Durango, CO on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very happy with the CD receiver so far as well as the steering wheel control adapter and other mounting/connection hardware for my 06 Tundra. I am not experienced at installing this equipment, but was willing to give it a try. I worked with a sales rep to get everything needed for the installation and it worked out perfectly. I feel the sound is better out of the box, bluetooth connected seamlessly to my phone, and following the instructions, was able to step through the settings of the receiver. I'm quite pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not good.

Terry from Missouri on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would have given it No stars but that wasn't an option. First what was good. The HD radio worked flawless. The CD player worked great. The remote located mike sounded great when using it for phone calls. Thats about all the good stuff. In my opinion this unit only looks mediocre. The dot matrix display looks kinda cheap. The main volume knob feels cheap. One of my main reasons for buying this unit is because of the bluetooth pairing features. Well the bluetooth on this particular unit was downright contrary. Even after successfully pairing with my iphone 6 it would repeatedly disconnect for no particular reason. Sometimes when I would start the truck it would hook right up and start playing music. Other times I had to push several series of buttons in the menu to plead with it to pair up again. Sometimes one step through the menu would work. Other times I would have to go through a different menu to get it to pair. About as user UNfriendly as I could imagine. I was running this unit with separate amps for the sub and the mains. About every 3 or 4 days when I would start the truck up only the subwoofer would work. The rca pre outs for the main speakers would fail to feed the signal to the amp. If you turned the unit off and back on it would remedy the situation. I found the menus to be cumbersome, not good. Eventually the bluetooth bit the dust completely and I have to pay to ship this back for repair. Im not really optimistic about this unit

Pros: Great HD radio tuner. Great CD player. Bluetooth phone calls sound great

Cons: Dot matrix display looks cheap Complicated user interface. Finicky and short lived bluetooth died an early death RCA pre outs failed intermittenly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer FH-X830BHS

Mark L. from Redding, CA on 3/26/2017

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was time for an upgrade for my system in my 06 mega cab dodge.This reciever is awesome with the options in sound to setup.Love the display options also plus the conversion to the double din reciever was easy, highly recommend. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Love the look and finish of this reciever and tons of sound and music options.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NOT that good. Not impressed!

Brandon from Seattle, WA on 3/22/2017

2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I Have had two previous pioneer PREMIER cd receivers and LOVED them. Including the one replaced by this very mediocre head unit. The only reason I replaced it was to have bluetooth and HD radio. I think I would rather have better sound and functionality. I am still considering returning it. As far as tech goes, bluetooth and HD radio are the ONLY upgrades. I know that car stereo receivers are no longer a trend or money making market based on the fact that you CANNOT install them in pretty much any newer car but they should still be better than years past. The user interface is sub par. The display is hard to read and older tech than my previous one which had a beautiful, clear, easy to read in any light POLED display. Why are those no longer available? I prefer that to a color customizeable CRAPPY display any day. And then the sound: No matter how much I play with the settings, and I know what and how to do that btw, It just doesn't sound NEARLY as good as my previous pioneer. I guess they just don't make 'em like they used to........ Considering the only few options left on the market which are NOT much better in any way. You give a little, you take a little..... Either buy an OLDER one used or don't bother.

Pros: HD radio, Bluetooth

Cons: Everything else is worse than my 8 year old receiver.