Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Superb direct drive turntable

GAVIN from WHITEWATER on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned some high end belt drive turntables but for me the Technics 1200GR has some outstanding sonic advantages I've never gotten from them. Everyone remarks about the incredible pitch stability of direct drive turntables but for me its the clean leading edges of transients and the tightly focussed soundstage that make this such a superb sounding turntable. It makes me think that what I hear from belt drives is a degree of time smearing and ultimately a slightly more diffuse and warmer sound from vinyl. Thats not to say the 1200 GR sounds like CD, it doesn't, but it does have some of the finer attributes that I also enjoy from that format. Pair this turntable with a high quality cartridge (mine is a Benz Ruby Z) and it will reward you over and over again with incredible sound. Add to this that its extremely easy to use, even a pleasure, with no moving belts from pulleys or dealing with bouncy suspension. The only criticism I have is the finger lift which at best seems cheap and does not match the quality engineering on the rest of the deck.

Pros: Great music making and loads of potential for upgrading without changing the the core character of the table. This turntable exhibits great stability, a very clean sound, its easy to use,with solid bass.

Cons: Flimsy finger lift

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1210GR

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turn table .

Pros:

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Love this turntable!

Vinyl lover! from Pennsylvania on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always wanted a Technics turntable! It's known as a legendary & iconic turntable, made more known by the radio & club DJ's! I have the MK7 & 1210GR. I love them both. The direct drive build is so quiet and smooth. I use the ORTOFON 2M blue on both turntables. Impressed! Beware of the naysayers! These are quality tables! I had an Audio Technica clone prior to getting my Technics tables. Huge difference! You won't be sorry!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A Modern Classic

Crutchfield customer from Shepherdstown, WV on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There isn't much to say that hasn't been said before. It's a superbly built table with a lot of heft to it. The adjustments, such as leveling the feet, setting up the tonearm, VTA, and anti-skate are all a breeze with this deck. It just screams quality and durability. As for sound...Before buying the 1210, I had been using a Rega Planar 3 with an upgraded subplatter and Nagaoka mp-150, all going into a Pro-Ject Tube Box DS. Using the exact same setup (along with using Blue Jeans LC1 RCA's running to my phono stage), the Technics easily beats out the much acclaimed Rega in sonics. There's an immediacy to the music that you do not get with a belt drive. The bass is noticeably tighter and deeper, instrument separation and imaging is better, pitch stability and sustained notes are second to none. The detachable headshell, VTA adjustment, and auxiliary weight make fine tuning cartridge adjustment much easier than with most other decks. I've read reports that the newer MK7 and 1500c have quality control issues. If you're having doubts about whether or not it's worth dropping the extra money for the 1210, I'd say it very much is.

Pros: excellent sonics, flexible with cartridge options and alignment, overall superb build quality, good packaging.

Cons: -The cue lever is just alright. I hesitate to call it flimsy but this is one area in which Rega is superior. It is easily adjustable and well damped and I've had no problems using it, though I'd understand if someone would want a more substantial feel to the lever when using it. -Not necessarily a con but be aware this deck is big. With the lid closed, the Technics stands 6" tall.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Technics SL-1210GR

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Attention to detail and solidly built turntable.

Pros: heavy platter, upgraded bearing , great specs

Cons: cueing a bit finicky but not a deal breaker

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

This is all I will ever need.

Bryan from VISTA, CA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the technics 1200 mkII the uturn orbit the pro-ject debut carbon dc and the fluance. I am finally happy. I can play 78s. headshell swaps are a breeze. Looks great in black. I got an open box and it is in perfect condition, no issues at all. Unless you have thousands of dollars to buy the super high end tables, just get this. Yes this is very expensive for regular joes like me but if I had got this first I would have saved money over all the others I bought before this. Learn from my mistakes, get this table and get on with the important thing which is listening to the records, not fussing with the equipment. Cartridge being used is the Nagaoka MP200. Crutchfield, please strike a deal with Nagaoka they are the best and in demand by the vinyl community.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

19 of 20 found this helpful

Wow! Exceeds expectations!

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect turntable for hi-fi fans looking for high end performance, but want an alternative to the mainstream "audiophile" turntables in this price range. The new generation 1200/1200GR tables are high end "hi-fi" tables first, disco/broadcast tables second. While it may look closely like the other 3 million 1200 series tables produced over the last 50 years, it has been totally redesigned to a higher level. This is a truly a stealth hi-fi turntable! Just unpacking it was a treat; I've never seen packaging and assembly instructions with this level of detail and precision. Fit and finish is flawless. Even at maximum gain, the turntable is dead quiet. The arm tracks beautifully at 1.5 grams. Working with a high quality cartridge, the 1200GS produces extended punchy bass, detailed mids and highs, with a noticeable soundstage. And of course with the new drive system, it has tons of torque and quietly comes up to speed in less than a second. Thanks to Crutchfield for the easy transaction (kudos to Drummer), the great packaging (double boxed: very important for an expensive product), and the two day delivery on time, as promised.

Pros: Overall performance Fit and finish

Cons: Cueing control while adequate, could feel a little more silky and refined.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Technics SL-1210GR

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown , VA on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid! Very good quality! Great sounding! Started with Ortofon 2m blue cart, sounded great! This was a noticeable upgrade from my last TT (which was a pretty good table for $500) but the quality and looks were a serious upgrade on this TT. Switched to a Nagaoka mp 200 cart. Amazing sound upgrade!! Probably will never sell this TT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best Turntable I've Ever Owned! Great Shipping and Customer Service!

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over the years, I've owned many a turntable, and based upon this experience with my new Technics SL-1210GR, I am happy to report that this one blows them all away! It was a breeze to set up and sounds like a dream. I've owned both belt drive and direct drive, and while some people are wary of direct drive tables, I believe this one leaves all of them (and all belt drives) back in the dust. The speed is rock solid. It's built like a tank, and makes every record sound better than ever before. The one thing I'm not crazy about is the feet. They're a little wonky, but once you get used to adjusting them, they're fine.I'd like to give a shout-out to whomever packed my item for shipping. Instead of just slapping a sticker on the display carton of this expensive and fragile item, they carefully packed it in a larger box, surrounded it with the right amount of great, environmentally friendly packing material, and sent it off to UPS. It got here on time and without a scratch. It's so important to pack items like this in a way that can withstand shipping. The box from Technics is not designed for that. They knew this and took appropriate actions.I did have the occasion to speak with customer service for a moment to ask a question about my order, and I would like to mention that they were friendly, informative, and very helpful. A great experience all around. If you are looking for a turntable that will last you for many years of happy listening, buy this one and buy it from the GREAT folks at Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Wow!

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many high quality turntables from Clearaudio, Pro-Jett, VPI, Sota, Nottingham, Linn, etc. My first turntable 25+ years ago was an sl-1200 mkII. As great as it was back then, the new gr is miles ahead of the mkII. I bought the new gr out of curiosit for a second system I was planning to put together. Simply put, it will now replace my reference Akurate level Linn Sondek LP12 on my main system, it is that good! Do yourself a favor and pair this amazing turntable with the Mani (Schiit) and MP-200 (Nagaoka) for heaven Nirvana! Associated equipment: NAD M-10, Elac Uní-Fi UB5

Pros: Exceptional built and quality.

Cons: Location where you plug the power cord and interconnects is a pain in the rear.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Better than before!

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own 4 Technics SL-1200 variants incuding the 1210GR that I recently received from Crutchfield. One has an external psu, a couple have Jelco tonearms. One has a KAB dampner. I fitted my 1210GR with a KAB dampner, Technics thick mat, and Orsonic head shell. The result is stunning. With a Denon DL-301 Mk ii cart, all frequencies in the spectrum are presented beautifully. Bass is particularly outstanding. A play of Dire Straits Sultans of Swing never sounded so tight. Perfect bass guitar, just like the instrument. Technics tables are phenomenal, DD is so easy to deal with and only one centered beautifully designed bearing. Don't worry about the critics saying the 1210GR is not serious audiophile .... IT IS! When you understand the engineering involved in this new release the price is easily justified. I was skeptical at first but when I weighed everything and looked at other tables, the GR became a no brainer. I guess at this point you can tell I'm a satisfied fan. OK .... nuff typed!

Pros: Platter is perfectly manufactured. No flaws, precisely machined.

Cons: Thin mat. Ground wire bolt placement.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

TOP