Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
995 180 962 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
995 180 962 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Technics SL-1500C

Semi-automatic direct drive turntable with built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # SL-1500C-K

Technics SL-1500C

Technics SL-1500C

Semi-automatic direct drive turntable with built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # SL-1500C-K

23 reviews
View this product

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Villa Park, IL on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect turntable for Technics fans who don't need all the DJ functions, such as variable pitch, reverse play, target light, etc.

Pros: Phono-out and Line-out (built in preamp), allow for flexible component setup. Auto-return can be set to On or Off. Include pre-mounted Ortofon red cartridge.

Cons: Cue lever is a little wonky. Auto-return can take over a minute to activate; will sometimes activate before the record is done playing if the side is longer than typical 22-23 minutes. Doesn't have a strobe light, which isn't necessarily needed, except for those who need reassurance that the speed is accurate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All I can say is Wow

Greg from Yucaipa, CA on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference, I have a pro-ject essential 3 and an AT LP120 the former is a worthless unit, hums no matter what I do and the AT works fine using the built in preamp but hums if plugged into the phono input on my amp. Was beginning to think it was the amp. But then I plugged in the Technics SL1500C. Wow, no hum, no noise at all and the sound was much clearer. If you're thinking about buying one of these do it you won't be sorry. Even the issues in other reviews like the lift arm and auto lift are really not a problem.

Pros: Sound, build quality and looks great (not too busy)

Cons: Lift arm seems a little too close to the record surface (maybe just not what I am used to)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Urbana, IL on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very fine turntable--solid, well-built, sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Entry level Audiophile table

Crutchfield customer from Melville, NY on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. I have had a few before but this is a perfect entry level audiophile turntable that is built solid.

Pros: Excellent build quality. Durable and heavy.

Cons: Wish the tone arm auto feature worked as expected. Enabling auto tone arm mode doesn't work so I kept it manual

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Trappe, MD on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Semi automatic, great specs, a HINGED dust cover that can be closed during playback and coreless direct drive as a bonus! I had no intention of spending this kind of money on a turntable but after a few weeks, there is no doubt. I completely agree with all those reviewers who claim they are hearing their albums for the first time. The clarity is simply stunning.

Pros: Detailed, easy to follow assembly instructions. Even the feet are independently adjustable shock absorbers.

Cons: There are parts hidden all over the styrofoam packing. Difficult to access recessed plugs and switches in rear.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

4.5 stars - good overall performer

Crutchfield customer from Hood River, OR on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this turntable to replace my Thorens TD160 that is the Alfa Romeo to the Technic's Toyota Camry. The Thorens is ultimately a better turntable...so inspiring when it's working. The Technics is bombproof. Stops and starts on a dime and the built in phono stage is not bad. I plan on trying the table out with an outboard stage in the future and I am guessing that there will be more improvement at that point. The auto lift feature is the other thing that differentiates the SL-1500C from the SL-1200 MK7. It works ok but I will probably just disable it. The real reason that I bought this over the Sl-1200 MK7 or even the $1699 one (SL-1200G) is because I am not a DJ (nor do I play on on TV). I really like the plain aesthetics of this model. You also get push button 33/45/78 speeds. On the downside, the cue lever works, but has the tactile quality of a Cracker Jack toy. The fear that it might snap off in my hand may lead me to go for the extended warranty. I listen to records to unwind from crazy days at work. With my last table, that morphed into troubleshooting turntable issues. With the Technics I can just listen to the music and that is long overdue. If you don't mind the garishness of the DJ tables and you have a phono stage, save your money and get the SL-1200 MK7.

Pros: Quick to stop and start, 33/45/78, not fussy looking, built in phono stage works ok

Cons: The cheapest tonearm lift I have ever encountered, a little pricey

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic turntable with a great build and sound. I did not encounter any of the issues with the cue lever as reported in other reviews but I do recommend turning off the auto lift feature as it will lift up before the last track on a side is finished playing. I got my through the outlet as a scratch and dent and, I can tell you, it was packed and looked completely new. If it hadn't been listed that way, I would never have known it was a scratch and dent. Kudos to Crutchfield for their integrity and not just repacking and selling as new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable is one of the best purchases I've ever made. I love everything about it. But you must upgrade the Ortofon Red. It makes even new records sound unacceptably noisy with pops. I put on a new Denon 301mk2 and it plays without pops and clicks, shockingly so and it's beats the Ortofon in every other category as well. It lists for $400 but can be had for $300, an excellent value I feel. I'm using it with a Denon pma100 integrated amp's phono stage and Canton Vento 7 tower speakers. What a well made piece of equipment the Technics SL 1500C is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My Dream Turntable

Theodore J. from MAPLE SHADE, NJ on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this to replace a 15-year old DJ turntable I was using for home listening. The DJ unit was durable, with accurate turntable speed, but the sound was deteriorating, even with a new cartridge. I'm hoping to get the same durability and accuracy from my new Technics turntable, but with better stylus tracking and sound quality. At this point I can't really comment on the durability issue as I've only had it for 4 days, but the sound quality is a major upgrade; I've been dragging out old albums from the 60's and 70's and rediscovering just how they were meant to sound. Kudos to the Crutchfield crew for their meticulous job of packing and shipping. This was a "scratch and dent" purchase, but there are no scratches or dents on this unit, and no parts missing. Setup was easy and straightforward, once I figured out that the magnet cover was under the platter and not the underside of the unit itself, and that the "earth lead" was just the ground wire! Some reviews on this site have been critical of the cue lever, and the auto-lift mechanism. Since I really wanted a fully manual turntable anyway, I just turned off the auto lift-up switch on the back of the unit, and I'll be using my steady hand, rather than the cue lift, to lower and raise the tone arm. All in all, I'm very pleased with this new turntable. It is solid and well crafted, and the sound is superb. It came with a $99 cartridge, so it will probably sound even better when I upgrade.

Pros: Solidly built, great sound, very quiet motor, basic cartridge can be upgraded for even better performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A solid performer

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am extremely happy with this turntable. Build quality is excellent. Sound is wonderful.

Pros: Excellent speed stability, very solid build, great looking.

Cons: The cueing lever is not my favorite. I feel they could have designed it to feel more substantial.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Amelia, OH on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built solid performer, cheap tonearm cue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nice overall, Cue lever sukkkksss!!

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect sound and looks really great! The only reason I gave 4 star is that because of the cue lever. I don't think it's doing its job well, especially for an expensive equipment like this. The cue lever of the cheaper ATLP120 I once had works way better. Sometimes, it suddenly raises by itself for no reasons at all interrupting my music. Nevertheless, I still find this worth the price.

Pros: Great sound! Looks really fancy!

Cons: Cue lever sukkkkss!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Julie from Eastlake, OH on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not an expert on audio/video equipment. I have some old albums I wanted to listen too again and I haven't had a turntable for years. I am 60 yrs old and wanted a good quality model that will last me a long time. I did a lot of research on turntables & decided to go with this model. I can't offer any technical opinions but I can say you can definitely tell this is a superb, exquisitely made piece of equipment & I am glad I am at the point in my life where I was able to purchase something of this quality. If I had the decision to do over I would absolutely purchase this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad took advice of sales guy and went with this unit. Was above initial price point goal but setup was simple even though I'm not an audiophile. This was a scratch and dent and no where I could tell that it was, everything was sealed and it appeared factory fresh to me. Finally able to play records through my dad's old Fisher receiver and Empire wood cabinet speakers and brings back a lot of memories.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Turntable

Crutchfield customer from NJ on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to upgrade from my previous turntable, an automatic belt driven model from Denon, which wouldn't maintain a consistent speed. My Dad has a Technics SL-Q2 he bought 40 years ago that still works perfectly, so naturally, I was drawn to Technics. The build quality of this table is amazing. It's constructed from metal and is very heavy. I checked the speed with a strobe disc and it's spot on for 33 and 45 RPM, but 78 was reading a little slow (not a big deal as I won't be playing many 78s). According to Technics, they are using digital circuitry to maintain a proper speed and it shows. Music sounds very smooth with perfect pitch, something belt driven models struggle with. The built in preamp sounds very good (you can turn it off), and the Ortofon 2M Red cartridge is an excellent performer. Setup was relatively straightforward and the manual does a good job of explaining things. Now, everyone is complaining about the tonearm lifter. It does feel "mushy" as one previous reviewer put it but it works. I think most of the problems people are having is from lowering it too quickly, which can cause it to drop too fast. The manual does say to lower it slowly, so heed that advice (read the manual, people). Crutchfield is awesome as usual. Packaging was excellent; the unit was doubled boxed and held in place by packing paper. I'm really happy with my purchase.

Pros: Solid build, excellent internal preamp, maintains consistent speed, sounds great.

Cons: Tonearm lifter isn't as smooth as I would prefer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Turntable for Those Seeking Better Listening Experience

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, CO on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its the quality you would expect from a classic Technics turntable. It is solid as a rock. Tonearm adjustment was a breeze and I did not experience any problems with the tonearm lift as another reviewer did. The tonearm lift is a neat feature so you can be out of room when LP finishes and it will lift the tonearm and stop spinning the platter all by itself. I splurged and put an Ortofon Bronze cartridge on it - that really brings out tones and sounds I hadn't heard earlier on my LP's, although it does highlight some of the dust and scratching on older LPs - but again it takes about a minute to switch back to the head with the standard Ortofon Red and rebalance the tonearm for my older LPs. So far I am using the built-in pre-amp and it sounds great. This is a great turntable for those who are seeking to upgrade to a better listening experience but don't want to get into crazy audiophile price and effort territory or deal with a fully manual turntable.

Pros: Solid Good phono preamp Easy to setup and operate

Cons: Ortofon Red is a great cartridge, but if you are spending $1200 on a turntable its worth a cartridge upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable, solid build, nice expansion possibilities.

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this turntable for a month or so now (so this review isn't speaking to longevity) and I'm very happy with it. It displays the solid build quality that Technics has come to be known for, but omits some of the more typically DJ-targeted features. The target demographic for this turntable would seem to be the customer who is looking for a solid unit that performs very well with included options, but also offers the possibility for future expansion to raise it to the level of "excellent." The included Ortofon 2M Red cartridge does a fine job, but will benefit from an upgrade to the 2M Blue. The internal phono preamp is likewise capable (and sounds better than I thought it would), but can be bypassed for an external phono stage when desired. I didn't experience any of the troubles with the tone arm quality that a couple other reviewers mention, but I will say that the initial set up was a little finicky (this is to say it took 5-10 minutes instead of 1-2). Likewise, the lift height adjust on my unit seems solid. Lastly, as another reviewer mentioned, the auxiliary balance weight needn't be installed for use with the included cartridge. In short: this is a well-built, great sounding unit that offers the option to grow it into something even better should you choose. I'm very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Dynamite turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Manasquan, NJ on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great "old school" Technics "quality". Set up was a breeze with easily understandable instructions. No design flaws noted. Sounds really really nice! And it was not my first rodeo with a turntable....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sounds great. Terrible cue lever.

Matt from Atlanta on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hate to rate a Technics this low since I am glad they are back, but I am very disappointing in the 1500c. Setup was a breeze, the platter was flat, and it sounds great. What is terrible is the cue lever. It does not stay up consistently. The cue also does not lift until the lever is almost all the way up and it feels mushy. I have adjusted the lift height to spec per the instructions and half the time it will just lower randomly on its own. I used to one a 1200 and never had an issue. I am just amazed they let this go out the door. This is not a cheap turntable and I would expect much better from Technics. Sadly, it is going back for something else.

Pros: -Good sound -Decent preamp -Stable as a quartz watch

Cons: -Cue lever feels mushy and will not stay up

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2019
Matt, we're sorry you're disappointed with your turntable. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great new Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the turntables I have owned this piece has been a pleasure from the moment it was set up. The only thing I would change is the owners manual. They walk you through the set up of the counter weight and the auxiliary wait. The auxiliary weight is too much weight with the included head and stylus as it is way too much weight. The included stylus is great for the set up and the included pre-amp is solid The only thing I would change is the owners manual. They walk you through the set up of the counterweight and the auxiliary wait. The auxiliary weight does not need it with the included head and stylus as it is way too much weight. The included stylus is great for the set up and the included preamp is solid. I would highly recommend yes turntable to a beginner or even an audiophile.

Pros: Stylus, preamp, sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Robert from Plymouth, MI on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tone arm cueing arm simply does not work on the unit I had delivered. There are videos on the web of this issue, so when mine came I immediately looked for the issue and it was even worse than in the video. The overall fit and finish is cheap on this table, not worth half the asking price. I have an original SL 1500 from the late 70's, and this is a shameful use of that tables name.

Pros: none to speak of

Cons: can't use a t-table w/o a cueing arm, how this passes inspection at the manufacturer is beyond me

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2019
Robert contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Aldie, VA on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't typically rate products I purchase low as I tend to do a lot of research prior. So far in my testing my feedback is: 1.) Direct drive is excellent and quiet 2.) Connectivity options are nice: having preamp built in is nice and well balanced with 2M Red Cartridge 3.) The case is okay if you like a very electronics look and good weight 4.) The tonearm lifter is my issue, and i'm trying to determine if it's bad or just crappy. It feels cheaply made and at times your not sure if the lifter is even lifting even if it's in the raised position. Couple times when moving tone arm to play and lifter in up position the needle was able to go right on platter and play while lifter in up position. 5.) Minor: Autoshutoff recommend disabling as it will stop play easily on a number of records overall it's a good table but the price doesn't match build IMHO. Think Technics could have done a bit better for the reputation they hold. A friend has audio technica and his tone arm is better for about the same build at half the price. My other Turntable at half the cost is better than this table at the moment. It has a 2M Blue shipped with it. Hope this was helpful.

Pros: Direct drive quiet 2M Red Cartridge shipped with Built in preamp with option to bypass

Cons: Tone arm lifter poorly constructed Auto shutoff shuts off early on long play records

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Solid new turntable

Crutchfield customer from Moraga, CA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Technics SL 1500 C is a solidly built excellent performer. It punches above its weight class. I added different cartridge for enhanced performance.

Pros: Build and performance. Easy to set up.

Cons: You may prefer a different cartridge than the one that comes with the unit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP