Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Technics SL-1500C

Semi-automatic direct drive turntable with built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # SL-1500C-K

Technics SL-1500C

Technics SL-1500C

Semi-automatic direct drive turntable with built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # SL-1500C-K

50 reviews
View this product

Another excellent Technics TT!!

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace my good ole trusty Technics SL-D202, which I moved to another listening area, as I wanted to upgrade. I stayed with Technics as I'm familiar with them, and love them, and the reviews across the board for this model are excellent plus the easy speed selection between 33/45/78 rpm was a must for me. Setting up was simple, as expected, and the feel of the controls, materials used, and sturdiness are excellent. I don't use the internal phono preamp and it nice there is a switch to defeat/turn-off. Out of the box, the sound is great with the Ortofon 2m Red and another reason I stayed with Technics, and the S-shaped tonearm, is that I can purchase other headshell/cartridge combos and easily upgrade or change the combo. The auto-lift function, which lifts the tonearm at the end of a record, is another nice feature for peace of mind, however, you do hear an audible mechanical "click/bong" when it engages and wish that were quieter but not a problem for me and, no, it does not transfer to the speakers. Overall, I'm very happy with this TT!!

Pros: Great appearance Sturdy feel Easy speed selection Great sound

Cons: Auto lift function has an audible mechanical "click/bong" when it engages.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, well built and plays music ,i.e. toe tapping good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Legendary performance for the price

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, OH on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mid level table. Much better sound stage, bass and clean sound than my Audio Technica (which was great). Instructions were a bit hard to figure out until I realized that the optional counterweight was not needed with the factory Ortofon Red cartridge. Phonostage is great so you don't have to match to the cartridge. For the pricepoint, it is hard to beat. Next level, you'd probably have to spend 3x this.

Pros: All-in-one design Great value history Looks like a good traditional turntable

Cons: Setup instructions could be a bit more clear. Storage location for the 45 adapter. It'd be cool if they include a marble and method to check level of table when adjusting leveling feet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

An excellent turntable with upgradability.

Crutchfield customer from Scappoose, OR on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Technics SL1500C is a wonderful turntable. Put on a higher quality cartridge and use a dedicated preamp and you have one very nice sounding record player. I installed an AT VM95ML cartridge and couldn't be happier with the fidelity this turntable provides. The background is ink black and dead quiet. Separation between instruments is excellent and the overall dynamic width and depth of the sound is immersive. Set up is very straight-forward and all of the necessary adjustments are available; VTA, VTF, and even azimuth. The auto-lift feature is a nice convenience and the cue lever is smooth and consistent. With it's own built-in preamp, and it's noteworthy build quality, this turntable will suit beginning record spinners as well as demanding listeners.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, well built, and a very high-quality tonearm. Five minutes to set up and enjoy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well built and great performer!

Crutchfield customer from Hermitage, PA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable, well built and good performance. Disappointed with the cartridge. It could not track my direct disc recordings. Maybe Technics realizes that anyone putting this type of investment in a turntable will have a specific preference of their cartridge so as not to add something costly that will add much to the basic cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics 1500 C, very nice

Crutchfield customer from Lemon Grove, CA on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredibly fast free shipping, overpacked and super secure. Turntable is perfect addition to my collection of decent audio gear. I've always loved the care and attention to detail built into Japanese products (yes, I know the table was not built in Japan) sounds great, although I'd think for the price, they'd provide a better cartridge that the Red that is supplied.

Pros: Build quality, eye pleasing, sounds nice

Cons: Ortofon 2m red is not that great

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

5th Technics and loving the new motor system

richard from Valrico, FL on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I had to return the first SL1500 Black because of an anti skate problem and since they were out of the black I got the silver and black and I'm just as happy. I was concerned that the anti skate issue may be a design flaw but this one works great and the cueing lever works and feels better. Built like a tank and looks and sounds great. I don't use the Ortofon Red but several moving coils and they sound great. Love the auto lift at the end of the album. This is my 5th Technics in 48 years and sure am glad they are back.

Pros: Built like a tank Classic design with great functionality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome turntable

Crutchfield customer from Wisc Rapids, WI on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable lives up to my expectations. The set up was simple and straight forward and the other reviews were very helpful. The SL 1500C has an old school look, which I really like, and the operation and controls are very minimalist. The sound is awesome, and makes listening to my old vinyl almost seem like I was back in college. Everything works great! Love this turntable!

Pros: Easy set up and simple controls. Love the clean look.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful!

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe this excellent turntable is the best option in this price range. Strong construction, flawless, stable, balanced, beautiful, totally adjustable and with a very good cartridge included. The best part is that this turntable allows for audiophiles to experiment to their hearts content. It's a great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition to my audio system

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is incredible. It's exactly what I wanted!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great mid-level turntable

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding with the internal phono preamp and Ortofon Red cartridge. Smooth, quiet motor. ZERO problems with the auto lift function. The tonearm feels a bit light, but it was easy to balance and set the tracking force. I prefer the dial type anti-skating vs. the tiny weight on a short piece of filament. This is the second turntable I have purchased from Crutchfield in the last 3 months; the first was a Pro-Ject X2. It's hard to compare the "sound" of each turntable. Each one has a feature or two that I like better than the other turntable. Both are connected to high-quality separates using MartinLogan Motion towers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved my old Technics SL-Q202, but when the opportunity arose I decided to upgrade to the SL-1500 and it didn't fail to please. It sounds great with my Marantz NR1200. Can't discern any wow, flutter, or rumble, it really drives the music with great clarity. I did upgrade the cartridge with my Nagaoaka MP-110. Happy Listening!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Table. Period.

Kevin from OLYMPIA, WA on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This table strikes a great balance to me for the price & quite reminds me of my old Sony PS-X5, one of my favorite past tables, but it's simpler and a bit better looking. I have it black and really like the matte finish - opposite of a fingerprint magnet. - Plinth damping is excellent. Tonearm and mechanics have that great Technics feel of solidity. - Motor is strong and has been rock solid (hard to overlook the Technics DD stability and longevity of the past). - Onboard phono stage is worlds better than I expected. I've been using it quite a bit. It is dead silent and sounds better than any built-in I've heard. - VTA adjustment is great and despite what some have said about it, I really like the implementation; the lock is secure and adjustment is easy & quick. Huge bonus. - Auto-lift function works fine - I have mine adjusted per service manual posted on VinylEngine to use the innermost position (1 of 2) before auto-lift engages. - Cue lifter many have complained about is just fine. It isn't as dampened as most are familiar with, but adjustable & only takes muscle memory & a bit more care in use, e.g. you can't just flick the lifter up & down and rely solely on dampening to take care of the ascent/descent for you. Rather you need to use it with a bit of finesse. The few complaints about this table are far, far overblown. My only true gripe is a strange internal grounding scheme which causes more RFI than usual when using the phono RCA output (w

Pros: Technics solid build and reliability. Stable speeds. Excellent damping. VTA adjustable. Onboard preamp is quiet and very good. Good looking. Semi automatic. 78 RPM capability.

Cons: Strange grounding scheme (internally within the table) which causes far more RF interference noise than I've experienced with any other table, but only when using the phono level output (the line level outputs are dead silent). Using a ground lift "cheater-plug" to bypass the safety ground of the 3-prong IEC power cord solves the issue in my setup. Not an ideal solution but not overly troubling for this sort of application. No other "cons" to speak of. Fantastic turntable. Period.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another Great Turntable from Technics with some quirks.

Rich from Valrico, FL on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been a vinyl guy since the 60's and still have about 5000 pieces , I'm not a TT newbie having owned dozens. My equipment is all separate's, preamp, mono blocks, Martin Logan SL3's, Dahlquist DQ10's,Kef's and a pair of SVS Prime Ultra's piano black, After years of fiddling with separate tone arms and table configurations I decided to go with grace and simplicity. Having owned several very early Technics and being very please with them. this one arrived today. Nice build. easy set up. As others have said the cueing feels a bit cheezie but works fine. Very industrial looking in Black, I love it. I use the phono output with ground wire and not the line out with the phono preamp. I use mostly MC cartridges so only the phono side can be used. When I first set it up I was getting all kinds of strange noises coming out of the table and with all kind of ground configurations. I use an outboard MM/MC preamp with load dip switches for certain cartridges. After several attempts to get rid of the ground noise's I gave up for and while, came back and tried again. This time turned off the phono preamp on the line out side which shouldn't have anything to do with the phono output but it does. Grounded everything again, I tried a bunch of MM's and MC's, life is good. Dead quiet. This is a no frills TT that works great. I do use the extra counter balance weight for my Denon 103 MC. The auto lift is nice since I'm 67 and fall asleep while listening up late, 3am. I'm all good. Buy it!

Pros: Built like a tank, Looks great, works great once you get past the way the ground and phono stage works. Love the Black industrial look. Love the damping on the underside of the plater, all rubber. I would suggest buying a TT Cover, fits perfect.

Cons: Cueing is a bit wonky, but not bad, Grounding and phono stage preamp interaction with each other is odd, Can't use MC's Cartridges on the "External Outputs" for some reason I have not figured out, nor have the guys at Crutchfield especially if you turn off the phono preamp. I think it has something to do with internal grounding of the on board phono preamp.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Old reliable

Crutchfield customer from Grand Ronde, OR on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have older technics model. Just upgraded to newer model. I like the sound and simplicity of the technics turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Get Ready for Christmas!

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Combo Birthday/Christmas present. For me, the sound of this is beyond (really *way* beyond) my expectations. Sound stage, lows-mids-highs, just a visceral sound that you can touch and connect with IMHO. The included Ortofon Red gave a good taste, but with only one channel due to a wire problem between the cartridge and headshell -- but Oh, just that one channel sounded fabulous, what a Taste! With my Nagaoka MP-200 on another headshell, both channels with dramatic effect (again, IMHO). I called Crutchfield re cartridge/headshell left-channel connection issue. Roman answered, we took each other thru the steps I had taken to resolve - and I had another headshell/Red out a few days later. Flawless. I had read/listened to reviews for months. Everything read well about the 1500C. There was one review that said the internal Phono Pre wasn't that great (maybe they tried an MC cartridge by mistake? Works only with MM). So I was already trying to budget for a new Phono Pre as well. No Need!! Shocked at how wonderful this sounds with my MP-200, and fairly exciting with the Ortofon Red. That budget is already going to new vinyl, and I am a happy camper. Please understand I have a decent preamp/amp/speaker set up here from used pieces over the years (full time wind musician 26 years). I'm just so darn delighted, and I think you will be too!

Pros: Great Sound! Great Crutchfield Service!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo Grove , IL on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful design, solid construction, amazing sound. Everything that's expected from a Technics turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great new table from Technics!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful starter turntable

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this turntable! Great way to jump into the LP market. Easy to assemble and play. I probably need to upgrade my needle though in the next month.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500c is an Audiophile Quality Deck

Spinninvinyl from Redmond, OR on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been spinning vinyl since the early 60's, and currently have 6 turntables, including my new Technics SL-1500c. The 4 turntables in my music room include this 1500, two belt drive Rega decks, and a Pioneer PLX-1000 DJ deck. This 1500 replaced my Technics SL-1200 M3D deck. After reading many reviews about the new 1500, I just had a hunch that I would like the audio from this Turntable. Sure enough, I made a good call on this one. It's hard to find any fault with the audio this deck produces. Best of all, it's a clean design and lacks all the Dj deck controls that just aren't needed for home audio use. I'm picky about my phono cartridges, so I installed my Hana ML moving coil cartridge with an Emotiva XPS-1 preamp. Downstream from this my system is vintage, with a pair of rebuilt Mono tube amps driving a pair of 1959 vintage Frazier "Black Box" theater speakers. A simple alpine stepped volume control is all that's needed to control the source and volume. Haven't tried the Ortofon Red cartridge or the built in preamp on the 1500, so I can't vouch for that audio configuration, but I can attest to the fact that this deck responds well to a substantial cartridge upgrade. And finally, I use the auto arm lift feature at the end of the record, it works fine. The somewhat loose feeling of the arm lift lever should be a Non-Issue for a seasoned turntable user; I'm fine with it. Finally, this is a "scratch-n-dent" unit that arrived in New condition!

Pros: Dj controls omitted for Clean Lines, Upgraded Direct Drive motor, Designed more for home audiophile use.

Cons: Very Minor Issue - Tonearm Lifting Lever could be strengthened and more positive functioning. It does however work as it should.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from East Meadow, NY on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a turntable that keeps surprising me. Set up was simple; requiring just a few simple adjustments. The sound is crisp and detailed. The speed is spot on and I congratulate the engineers at Technics for what they have accomplished. I moved from a 5-star rated high end turntable and am not missing anything to date

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent turntable and removes the tone arm after the album is finished playing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Alex from VERNON HILLS, IL on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build quality. Best onboard phono stage I have ever heard. Runs absolutely dead quiet. The ease of use and lack of fuss is outstanding. The bass and midrange tones are spot on. Swapping out cartridges is ridiculously simple. The Ortofon Red cartridge that comes stock with the SL-1500C is absolutely fine for newbies and casual listeners, but when I swapped a few others in and out I got to see what this unit is really about. Mated with a higher quality MM cartridge and still using the built-in phono stage, the Technics SL-1500C outperformed a couple of tables I have owned that are twice the price. For most people, including experienced audiophiles, this is the last turntable they will ever need. It can climb the latter of future system upgrades for those that are still chasing the elusive perfect sound and be a set it and forget it solution for the casual, quality oriented music lover. Bravo to Technics. Outstanding!

Pros: Build quality, ease of use and terrific phono stage.

Cons: Stock cartridge doesn't do it justice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Happy

Crutchfield customer from Ashburnham, MA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read a lot about the Technics SL-1500C and the reviews. I thought that it would be the right choice for me. I have since received this turntable and feel that everything excellent I read about it was true. I would recommend it for anyone who wants an excellent sound and ease to set up and use. I will always return to Crutchfield for my sound needs!

Pros: Ease to use.

Cons: Based on what I wanted there are no cons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid build, great sound, good looking.

Craig from Tampa, FL on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Pioneer PL-88 finally bit the dust. Rather than purchase a another 70's turntable I went looking for new. The only one I really liked with the specs of a good late 70's TT was the Technics SL-1500C. I wanted a semi-automatic with the that old style look and feel. This TT is a hybrid (not semi-auto), when the tone arm gets to the end it will lift up after about 30 seconds. The tone arm does not retract and the platter keeps on spinning. It is more of a safety feature for a manual turntable (it is fine with me- really not an issue). Some users have complained that the lift arm feels cheap, I tend to disagree. It does have a light feel but I have not had any issues using it to lower the tone arm to the record. I did replace the 2M red ortofon stylus with a 2M Blue. You do not need to replace the cartridge as the 2M Red and Blue stylus fit the same cartridge. I set-up the counter weight / tracking force according to the very clear instructions and double checked it with a Riverstone Audio scale. The difference was -0.09 grams. Not bad for manually setting it up! I also verified the cartridge set-up using a Hudson VTA and Protractor. I did not have to make any adjustments to the cartridge. I did use a better set of cables and grounding wire (the factory does not know the cable length you need). I am very pleased with the overall construction, sound, tracking, and looks of this turntable. I only wish it cost the same as a TT made in the late 70's !

Pros: Has the look and feel of a well built late 70's turntable. Good wow & flutter specs. Cartridge setup was accurate.

Cons: More than what I wanted to pay but satisfied with the purchase. Should come with a 2M Blue at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Industry standard! Such a fine piece of machinery . Great customer service that Crutchfield is known for. I had a missing part that they took care of. No major complaints, just feel the cue lever feels a little cheaply made for the price of the turntable. But that's just being picky. I would recommend it highly.

Pros: Ease of use, and exactly knowing the quality you get

Cons: Cue lever

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Villa Park, IL on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect turntable for Technics fans who don't need all the DJ functions, such as variable pitch, reverse play, target light, etc.

Pros: Phono-out and Line-out (built in preamp), allow for flexible component setup. Auto-return can be set to On or Off. Include pre-mounted Ortofon red cartridge.

Cons: Cue lever is a little wonky. Auto-return can take over a minute to activate; will sometimes activate before the record is done playing if the side is longer than typical 22-23 minutes. Doesn't have a strobe light, which isn't necessarily needed, except for those who need reassurance that the speed is accurate.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

All I can say is Wow

Greg from Yucaipa, CA on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference, I have a pro-ject essential 3 and an AT LP120 the former is a worthless unit, hums no matter what I do and the AT works fine using the built in preamp but hums if plugged into the phono input on my amp. Was beginning to think it was the amp. But then I plugged in the Technics SL1500C. Wow, no hum, no noise at all and the sound was much clearer. If you're thinking about buying one of these do it you won't be sorry. Even the issues in other reviews like the lift arm and auto lift are really not a problem.

Pros: Sound, build quality and looks great (not too busy)

Cons: Lift arm seems a little too close to the record surface (maybe just not what I am used to)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Urbana, IL on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very fine turntable--solid, well-built, sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Entry level Audiophile table

Crutchfield customer from Melville, NY on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. I have had a few before but this is a perfect entry level audiophile turntable that is built solid.

Pros: Excellent build quality. Durable and heavy.

Cons: Wish the tone arm auto feature worked as expected. Enabling auto tone arm mode doesn't work so I kept it manual

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Trappe, MD on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Semi automatic, great specs, a HINGED dust cover that can be closed during playback and coreless direct drive as a bonus! I had no intention of spending this kind of money on a turntable but after a few weeks, there is no doubt. I completely agree with all those reviewers who claim they are hearing their albums for the first time. The clarity is simply stunning.

Pros: Detailed, easy to follow assembly instructions. Even the feet are independently adjustable shock absorbers.

Cons: There are parts hidden all over the styrofoam packing. Difficult to access recessed plugs and switches in rear.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

4.5 stars - good overall performer

Crutchfield customer from Hood River, OR on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this turntable to replace my Thorens TD160 that is the Alfa Romeo to the Technic's Toyota Camry. The Thorens is ultimately a better turntable...so inspiring when it's working. The Technics is bombproof. Stops and starts on a dime and the built in phono stage is not bad. I plan on trying the table out with an outboard stage in the future and I am guessing that there will be more improvement at that point. The auto lift feature is the other thing that differentiates the SL-1500C from the SL-1200 MK7. It works ok but I will probably just disable it. The real reason that I bought this over the Sl-1200 MK7 or even the $1699 one (SL-1200G) is because I am not a DJ (nor do I play on on TV). I really like the plain aesthetics of this model. You also get push button 33/45/78 speeds. On the downside, the cue lever works, but has the tactile quality of a Cracker Jack toy. The fear that it might snap off in my hand may lead me to go for the extended warranty. I listen to records to unwind from crazy days at work. With my last table, that morphed into troubleshooting turntable issues. With the Technics I can just listen to the music and that is long overdue. If you don't mind the garishness of the DJ tables and you have a phono stage, save your money and get the SL-1200 MK7.

Pros: Quick to stop and start, 33/45/78, not fussy looking, built in phono stage works ok

Cons: The cheapest tonearm lift I have ever encountered, a little pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic turntable with a great build and sound. I did not encounter any of the issues with the cue lever as reported in other reviews but I do recommend turning off the auto lift feature as it will lift up before the last track on a side is finished playing. I got my through the outlet as a scratch and dent and, I can tell you, it was packed and looked completely new. If it hadn't been listed that way, I would never have known it was a scratch and dent. Kudos to Crutchfield for their integrity and not just repacking and selling as new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable is one of the best purchases I've ever made. I love everything about it. But you must upgrade the Ortofon Red. It makes even new records sound unacceptably noisy with pops. I put on a new Denon 301mk2 and it plays without pops and clicks, shockingly so and it's beats the Ortofon in every other category as well. It lists for $400 but can be had for $300, an excellent value I feel. I'm using it with a Denon pma100 integrated amp's phono stage and Canton Vento 7 tower speakers. What a well made piece of equipment the Technics SL 1500C is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My Dream Turntable

Theodore J. from MAPLE SHADE, NJ on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this to replace a 15-year old DJ turntable I was using for home listening. The DJ unit was durable, with accurate turntable speed, but the sound was deteriorating, even with a new cartridge. I'm hoping to get the same durability and accuracy from my new Technics turntable, but with better stylus tracking and sound quality. At this point I can't really comment on the durability issue as I've only had it for 4 days, but the sound quality is a major upgrade; I've been dragging out old albums from the 60's and 70's and rediscovering just how they were meant to sound. Kudos to the Crutchfield crew for their meticulous job of packing and shipping. This was a "scratch and dent" purchase, but there are no scratches or dents on this unit, and no parts missing. Setup was easy and straightforward, once I figured out that the magnet cover was under the platter and not the underside of the unit itself, and that the "earth lead" was just the ground wire! Some reviews on this site have been critical of the cue lever, and the auto-lift mechanism. Since I really wanted a fully manual turntable anyway, I just turned off the auto lift-up switch on the back of the unit, and I'll be using my steady hand, rather than the cue lift, to lower and raise the tone arm. All in all, I'm very pleased with this new turntable. It is solid and well crafted, and the sound is superb. It came with a $99 cartridge, so it will probably sound even better when I upgrade.

Pros: Solidly built, great sound, very quiet motor, basic cartridge can be upgraded for even better performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A solid performer

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am extremely happy with this turntable. Build quality is excellent. Sound is wonderful.

Pros: Excellent speed stability, very solid build, great looking.

Cons: The cueing lever is not my favorite. I feel they could have designed it to feel more substantial.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Amelia, OH on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built solid performer, cheap tonearm cue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Nice overall, Cue lever sukkkksss!!

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect sound and looks really great! The only reason I gave 4 star is that because of the cue lever. I don't think it's doing its job well, especially for an expensive equipment like this. The cue lever of the cheaper ATLP120 I once had works way better. Sometimes, it suddenly raises by itself for no reasons at all interrupting my music. Nevertheless, I still find this worth the price.

Pros: Great sound! Looks really fancy!

Cons: Cue lever sukkkkss!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Julie from Eastlake, OH on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not an expert on audio/video equipment. I have some old albums I wanted to listen too again and I haven't had a turntable for years. I am 60 yrs old and wanted a good quality model that will last me a long time. I did a lot of research on turntables & decided to go with this model. I can't offer any technical opinions but I can say you can definitely tell this is a superb, exquisitely made piece of equipment & I am glad I am at the point in my life where I was able to purchase something of this quality. If I had the decision to do over I would absolutely purchase this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad took advice of sales guy and went with this unit. Was above initial price point goal but setup was simple even though I'm not an audiophile. This was a scratch and dent and no where I could tell that it was, everything was sealed and it appeared factory fresh to me. Finally able to play records through my dad's old Fisher receiver and Empire wood cabinet speakers and brings back a lot of memories.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Turntable

Crutchfield customer from NJ on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to upgrade from my previous turntable, an automatic belt driven model from Denon, which wouldn't maintain a consistent speed. My Dad has a Technics SL-Q2 he bought 40 years ago that still works perfectly, so naturally, I was drawn to Technics. The build quality of this table is amazing. It's constructed from metal and is very heavy. I checked the speed with a strobe disc and it's spot on for 33 and 45 RPM, but 78 was reading a little slow (not a big deal as I won't be playing many 78s). According to Technics, they are using digital circuitry to maintain a proper speed and it shows. Music sounds very smooth with perfect pitch, something belt driven models struggle with. The built in preamp sounds very good (you can turn it off), and the Ortofon 2M Red cartridge is an excellent performer. Setup was relatively straightforward and the manual does a good job of explaining things. Now, everyone is complaining about the tonearm lifter. It does feel "mushy" as one previous reviewer put it but it works. I think most of the problems people are having is from lowering it too quickly, which can cause it to drop too fast. The manual does say to lower it slowly, so heed that advice (read the manual, people). Crutchfield is awesome as usual. Packaging was excellent; the unit was doubled boxed and held in place by packing paper. I'm really happy with my purchase.

Pros: Solid build, excellent internal preamp, maintains consistent speed, sounds great.

Cons: Tonearm lifter isn't as smooth as I would prefer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Turntable for Those Seeking Better Listening Experience

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, CO on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its the quality you would expect from a classic Technics turntable. It is solid as a rock. Tonearm adjustment was a breeze and I did not experience any problems with the tonearm lift as another reviewer did. The tonearm lift is a neat feature so you can be out of room when LP finishes and it will lift the tonearm and stop spinning the platter all by itself. I splurged and put an Ortofon Bronze cartridge on it - that really brings out tones and sounds I hadn't heard earlier on my LP's, although it does highlight some of the dust and scratching on older LPs - but again it takes about a minute to switch back to the head with the standard Ortofon Red and rebalance the tonearm for my older LPs. So far I am using the built-in pre-amp and it sounds great. This is a great turntable for those who are seeking to upgrade to a better listening experience but don't want to get into crazy audiophile price and effort territory or deal with a fully manual turntable.

Pros: Solid Good phono preamp Easy to setup and operate

Cons: Ortofon Red is a great cartridge, but if you are spending $1200 on a turntable its worth a cartridge upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable, solid build, nice expansion possibilities.

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this turntable for a month or so now (so this review isn't speaking to longevity) and I'm very happy with it. It displays the solid build quality that Technics has come to be known for, but omits some of the more typically DJ-targeted features. The target demographic for this turntable would seem to be the customer who is looking for a solid unit that performs very well with included options, but also offers the possibility for future expansion to raise it to the level of "excellent." The included Ortofon 2M Red cartridge does a fine job, but will benefit from an upgrade to the 2M Blue. The internal phono preamp is likewise capable (and sounds better than I thought it would), but can be bypassed for an external phono stage when desired. I didn't experience any of the troubles with the tone arm quality that a couple other reviewers mention, but I will say that the initial set up was a little finicky (this is to say it took 5-10 minutes instead of 1-2). Likewise, the lift height adjust on my unit seems solid. Lastly, as another reviewer mentioned, the auxiliary balance weight needn't be installed for use with the included cartridge. In short: this is a well-built, great sounding unit that offers the option to grow it into something even better should you choose. I'm very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Dynamite turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Manasquan, NJ on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great "old school" Technics "quality". Set up was a breeze with easily understandable instructions. No design flaws noted. Sounds really really nice! And it was not my first rodeo with a turntable....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sounds great. Terrible cue lever.

Matt from Atlanta on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hate to rate a Technics this low since I am glad they are back, but I am very disappointing in the 1500c. Setup was a breeze, the platter was flat, and it sounds great. What is terrible is the cue lever. It does not stay up consistently. The cue also does not lift until the lever is almost all the way up and it feels mushy. I have adjusted the lift height to spec per the instructions and half the time it will just lower randomly on its own. I used to one a 1200 and never had an issue. I am just amazed they let this go out the door. This is not a cheap turntable and I would expect much better from Technics. Sadly, it is going back for something else.

Pros: -Good sound -Decent preamp -Stable as a quartz watch

Cons: -Cue lever feels mushy and will not stay up

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2019
Matt, we're sorry you're disappointed with your turntable. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great new Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the turntables I have owned this piece has been a pleasure from the moment it was set up. The only thing I would change is the owners manual. They walk you through the set up of the counter weight and the auxiliary wait. The auxiliary weight is too much weight with the included head and stylus as it is way too much weight. The included stylus is great for the set up and the included pre-amp is solid The only thing I would change is the owners manual. They walk you through the set up of the counterweight and the auxiliary wait. The auxiliary weight does not need it with the included head and stylus as it is way too much weight. The included stylus is great for the set up and the included preamp is solid. I would highly recommend yes turntable to a beginner or even an audiophile.

Pros: Stylus, preamp, sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Robert from Plymouth, MI on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tone arm cueing arm simply does not work on the unit I had delivered. There are videos on the web of this issue, so when mine came I immediately looked for the issue and it was even worse than in the video. The overall fit and finish is cheap on this table, not worth half the asking price. I have an original SL 1500 from the late 70's, and this is a shameful use of that tables name.

Pros: none to speak of

Cons: can't use a t-table w/o a cueing arm, how this passes inspection at the manufacturer is beyond me

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2019
Robert contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Aldie, VA on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't typically rate products I purchase low as I tend to do a lot of research prior. So far in my testing my feedback is: 1.) Direct drive is excellent and quiet 2.) Connectivity options are nice: having preamp built in is nice and well balanced with 2M Red Cartridge 3.) The case is okay if you like a very electronics look and good weight 4.) The tonearm lifter is my issue, and i'm trying to determine if it's bad or just crappy. It feels cheaply made and at times your not sure if the lifter is even lifting even if it's in the raised position. Couple times when moving tone arm to play and lifter in up position the needle was able to go right on platter and play while lifter in up position. 5.) Minor: Autoshutoff recommend disabling as it will stop play easily on a number of records overall it's a good table but the price doesn't match build IMHO. Think Technics could have done a bit better for the reputation they hold. A friend has audio technica and his tone arm is better for about the same build at half the price. My other Turntable at half the cost is better than this table at the moment. It has a 2M Blue shipped with it. Hope this was helpful.

Pros: Direct drive quiet 2M Red Cartridge shipped with Built in preamp with option to bypass

Cons: Tone arm lifter poorly constructed Auto shutoff shuts off early on long play records

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Solid new turntable

Crutchfield customer from Moraga, CA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Technics SL 1500 C is a solidly built excellent performer. It punches above its weight class. I added different cartridge for enhanced performance.

Pros: Build and performance. Easy to set up.

Cons: You may prefer a different cartridge than the one that comes with the unit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP