Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
669 445 839 3
Connect ID #
669 445 839 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Technics SL-1500C

Semi-automatic direct-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp (Silver)

MFR # SL-1500C

Technics SL-1500C

Technics SL-1500C

Semi-automatic direct-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp (Silver)

MFR # SL-1500C

87 reviews
View this product

Technics SL-1500C

Michael from Rochester, MN on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brings back all the great memories :) awesome sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice turntable, good for my needs, not perfect

Isaac from Albany, CA on 6/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice turntable. Preamp sounds great and the turntable looks nice in the living room. A few minor issues, in order of how much I care: (1) tone arm lift is not sturdy or responsive to touch the way it should be; feels cheap, (2) auto-lift function is not accurate or reliable with all records and for at least two records has stopped early before reaching the end, which is annoying, (3) the platter has a very slight vertical wobble that is noticeable to the eye -- this does not seem to be affecting playback but it irritates me that I saw it immediately, (4) poor isolation, and (5) the stock Orton 2M red cartridge does not allow the turntable to live up to its full potential. At least issues (4) and (5) are readily curable. Overall I am happy with the purchase and it will suit my needs. It sounds great, but feels much cheaper than I expected, which is the reason this gets just 3/5 stars. Crutchfield tech support gets 5/5 stars for excellent support during set up.

Pros: Great sounding preamp Nice look

Cons: Tone arm lift is janky Auto-lift function is a dud

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed.QC lacking

Mark from Albuquerque, NM on 6/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This former Technics fanboy is disappointed. Returned due to wobbly platter. I've read here and other places where folks were reporting wobble and being told that 'a certain amount of wobble is still within spec. I'm here to say that if you spend this much on a table.you should expect NO visible wobble.especially wobble visible from across the room! This is Technics!, A Japanese company who was able to manufacture these to shockingly goodtolerances 50 years ago!!! (Or, are all bets off now that they are outsourcing this and other tables manufacture to Malaysia?) Re. The rest of the table..I liked it.if it did not wobble, drop the cart and built-in phono.and (IMO) you've got a very decent $800 turntable..that's all. That DD motor system is awesome though..and I know it's not likely.but I'd love Technics to license that out to other manufacturers. I am no longer interested in the new 1200mk7s either as I suspect sloppy tolerances. I will consider a GR or G down the line.but only after visually confirming no wobble. My kingdom for a quality Semiauto Technics without the dj stuff. This is not it. Crutchfield made the process about as easy as possible though. I'm going to assume they didn't knowingly sell me a 'scratch and dent' with an (across the room-grade) wobbly platter.

Pros: The Motor, semi-auto worked great, the look (minus that stupid bubble on the dust cover) is awesome.

Cons: Wobbly platter.cost eaten by cart and phono seem to undermine value, QC. Just kinda flimsy overall.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptionlal best turntable ever!

Crutchfield customer from Santa Monica, CA on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thank you Crutchfiled for quick delivery and excellent customer service! I'm really impressed with Technics SL-1500C turntable, it's absolutely fantastic product, high quality and durable and it was pretty simple to put together. I also really apprentice weather sealed packaging it arrived in. Really great high end product, I highly recommend it, it worth every penny, feels like something that lasts lifetime, I been using it for two month already.

Pros: Build quality Design / Look Durability

Cons: Auto-lifting function has to stay off, because it lifts needle before end of the last song on long records.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Drew from South Portland, ME on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent turntable for the money. It was very easy to set up and is very well-built. Switch between 33 and 45 rpm at the press of button and the automatic tonearm lift are both excellent core features and the sound quality is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for Me

Bert from Galveston, TX on 4/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my forty-something year old Technics SL5200 when iys speed controller went bad and started spinning the platter at about 100 RPM. I figured if I could get 40 years out of this one it would be enough. I am impressed with everything about the 1500C. The speed control, on/off, and start/stop buttons have a great positive feel. It stops and starts almost immediately. There are no DJ controls, strobes, or lights buttons; so the plinth has a clean look, without extra gee-haws. Everything about is feels well made and well thought out. And I like that the tone arm lifts at the end of the record. I selected the 1500 rather than one of its big sisters in part because I wanted the built in phono preamp. But after I bought it, I decided to change amps and went from an AV without a phono input to the new Marantz 400n. I did the Ortofon Blue for Red stylus swap and I can tell the difference. It would be nice if Crutchfield offered that as a purchase option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Nancy from Reno, NV on 4/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, a bit larger that I would like. Solid build, positive feel defiantly

Pros: Solid workhorse, easly upgradable.

Cons: Takes a lot of space.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

TECHNICS

Daniel from Cibolo, TX on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this turntable as a listening model! I also have technics 1200 mk7 with an ortofon blue and the 1500c sounds better!!! My other automatic TT the Music Hall classic isn't even in the same ballpark!

Pros: Auto stop function is awesome! On board phono preamp sounds nice with the stock cartridge

Cons: Cue lever is kind of flimsy but not a deal breaker

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really nice

Crutchfield customer from Newhall, CA on 4/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using a 1976 Dual CS604 for the past few years. A nice vintage turntable. But as it was developing a few, persisting "old age" issues, decided it was time for an upgrade. I don't consider myself an audiophile or even a serious vinyl collector, so shelling $1,200 for a turntable was not an easy decision. The Technics arrived promptly, looks lovely and putting it together was relatively straight forward. But I did find the weight of the tonearm had to be set higher than recommended to play properly. Also, the auto lift up sometimes lifts the arm BEFORE the record is done. But, how does it sound, you ask?? Well, great question! Although it's sounding better and better every passing day, with bright and vivid soundstage, good highs and nice clean bass, my 57 year old ears can't discern too much difference between the shiny new Technics and the old Dual with Grado stylus. I think given the price it should have come with the Ortofon BLUE for a more refined experience. I will no doubt upgrade at some point. For now though, this will do just fine! And Crutchfield customer service is simply excellent.

Pros: Attractive Quiet Technics reliability

Cons: Ortofon Red is just okay

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Ken from Pigeon, MI on 4/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Serious upgrade for my vinyl. Exceeded my expectations, and so did Crutchfield. I am a vinyl collector for over 40 years and this turntable fits the bill. It checks off every box. I was hesitant to spend this much but so glad I did. Probably the last turntable I will ever need. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: All in one package designed to work together right out of the box.

Cons: Intimidating price but well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Jeffrey from Butler, PA on 4/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised. Good quality, although I chose to use an Audio Technica cartridge over the supplied one that I did not try. The one con I can think of is that the connections are way under the back of the unit. Difficult to connect prior to setup. Impossible to access after setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Gary from Tucson, AZ on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even better than I hoped for. I bought my first turntable in 1971 and this is just my fourth. It replaces a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon that has served me well for the last 5 years. By comparison the SL-1500C sounds fuller and more precise. It's also much quieter as the stylus drops into that first groove with no audible motor hum coming through. I have not yet tried the built in phono pre-amp, instead using the phono stage in my Pioneer SC-LX704. The controls all work nicely and I'm pleasantly surprised that the cue lever works smoothly and has damping as the arm drops. Some reviews have criticized this. The auto lift-up function works but I have already found it lifts the arm from one record before the end of play. Lastly, it's nice to have the motor power to use my classic Discwasher without the platter slowing or stopping.

Pros: Sounds great Very quiet Powerful motor Controls are nice to use Tone arm height adjustment

Cons: End of record auto lift-up may lift before end of play

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 3/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have purchased several HiFi products from Crutchfield and like the other components this Technics SL-1500C arived in two days and in perfect condition. After assembling the turntable and checking the pre mounted Ortofon 2M Red cartridge for proper alignment I placed a MoFi master recording on the platter and sat back to listen. I bypassed the built in phono. My signal chain is as follows. SL-1500C connected to a Ifi Zen phono preamp to a Emotivia TA1 to a Emotive A2 powering a matched pair of ADS L710's. I'm not a fan of the 2M Red. I have a referance turntable with other mm & mc carts, so I imediately removed the 2M Red cart and replaced it with a Shure VN 5 MR, fabulous! The turntable is silent adding no coloration to the sound that I could discern. I then switched carts to a Hana ML moving coil. The Technics handled this cart without any issues, again fabulous! The VTA ajustment for varing cartridge hights is a breeze to adjust. I would recomend this turntable to someone who is looking for a great performance to value rataio, minus the 2M Red. One would need to spend considerable more money to gain any significant improvements in performance.

Pros: Easyt to assemble...Tonearm adjustments are very easy to establish with different cartridges. Cartridge alignment is straight forward provided you have the proper alignment tools.

Cons: Not a fan of the Ortofon 2M Red. This turntable is very capable of accommodating higher end cartridges. The auto arm lift at the end of the record play is way to slow to activate...I switched it off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!

Drew from Rapid City, SD on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this turntable to replace a much cheaper turntable that I purchased as I leaned toward going back to listen to more vinyl. Was very easy to setup even for someone who is not tech savvy. The sound difference between the two turntables could not be more dramatic! The highs and lows are amazing. I feel like I was missing out on half the recorded music. My cartridge is an Ortofon red which came with the turntable but I upgraded to the Blue and have yet to replace the red as I was pleased with the result so far. I purchased all my other items for making sure the cartridge pressure and alignment will be correct. Will give it a few more days then change out cartridges. Looking forward to hearing the difference. Shipping was easy and I actually recieved my product ahead of schedule. Was well packaged. The quality of the build of this table is impressive! For me it was well worth the upgrade!

Pros: everything. This turntable has no flaws

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Round n Round

Steve from Marietta, GA on 3/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've favored belt drive with isolated motor outside the platter near corner of plinth for decades. However, I've always respected Direct Drive's accuracy. This table should be on everyone's list between $850-$1300- wide gap you say but with what this table includes its worth $1100 or more!

Pros: Platter speed accuracy, one of the best wow and flutter measurements, adjustable feet, total 24 lbs with a 4 lb dampened platter, VERY good phono pre-amp ( you might have to spend $400 to equal this built in!), an upgradable Ortofon 2M Red and auto lift to protect your stylus. Excellent value and quiet! HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Oh, did I mention Technics DD are one of the lowest maintenance spinners ever made?

Cons: Really can't think of many. Some say auto lift is inaccurate- do the homework it is electronically adjustable- others complain about the manual lift lever, yes it feels light but if you press down and feel the spring click into place it works!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL1500

Steven from Columbia, TN on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good design and solid build. Wish that others incorporated the auto-lift feature with direct drive. A win-win for Technics. Thanks to Kevin for helping me select this unit. Pairs well with my NAD Preamp.

Pros: SOLID build

Cons: Drop the built in preamp, and drop the price a little.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Louisburg, NC on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the best monetary to quality sound i have ever made to my system. this technics is the bomb!!! aw

Pros: excellent valu e . top quality awesome looks high quality sound

Cons: i have spare money to spend

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Really happy with this turntable

Crutchfield customer from Marstons Mills, MA on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my first higher-end turntable for home listening. I have a little experience with other direct-drive turntables, and like the whole concept--dealing with belts is something I'd rather avoid. So I was pleased to hear their direct drive has been refined over the years for the home listener. I thought about holding out for the 1200GR, but I didn't need many of its bells and whistles. While the direct drive system in it may be slightly better than the 1500C from what I've read, the 1500C's cost and the fact it was actually available were the clinchers. After years of enjoying music on vinyl, but not truly getting the hype, I feel like I get it now--the music feels more alive! I don't have an ear for the things others talk about, but music I've known intimately for decades now sounds like it has been rejuvenated. I may look for a cartridge that gently rolls off the highs, as is my taste, but the overall sound has me very pleased. The only thing close to a negative was the lid had two stress cracks on the outer sides of the hinges, but they are not glaring, nor do they impede the function of the lid. Some may not like that the tonearm has no "damping" to ease it onto the vinyl--your own movement of the lever determines the speed and timing of its contact with the groove. To me it just speaks to how this is a mostly manual turntable. Speaking of, the auto-lift at the end of a side is just the right amount of automation for me--I like that the rest is manual.

Pros: Livelier sound from vinyl than my previous turntables Strong bass response Nostalgic design for those familiar with DJ turntables

Cons: No mini light to highlight the details of the grooves for specific needle placement

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics 1500c

Crutchfield customer from Argyle, TX on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase!!!!!!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Auto lift very noisy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hard to beat!

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable for the price! In my opinion it's better than my old VPI Scout Signature! The sound is clear, precise and non-fatiguing,. I am using the factory Ortofon cartridge and a Pass Labs XP-15 phono stage. I love this combination, I can't imagine how the sound is going to be, when I upgraded the cartridge! The soundstage is wide and very realistic . Highly recommended!

Pros: Easy to setup Nice looking turntable

Cons: A little bit hard to get to the RCA's outputs when changing cables.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

chris from MADISON, AL on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall very well built and a great value for what you're getting, especially when you compare to other tables at this price point, there's simply nothing better. There are a few things on this table that do feel a bit cheaper than the classic SL1200 - specifically the cueing lever. But hey, it all works and only time will tell how it holds up. Crutchfield got this to me very quickly and the rep that took my order was extremely professional and efficient. I did request this be double boxed as I'm completely against this trend of shipping in the manufacturer box. I don't want it advertised to the world what is sitting on my porch. Sadly my request wasn't honored and that's disappointing. First time this boxing request hasn't been honored by Crutchfield.

Pros: Value, build quality, performance.

Cons: Cueing lever, button feel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Grass Valley, CA on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had put my vinyl collection(300+) in storage about 15 years ago Sold my old turntable. I got the urge to resurrect my record collection and listen to some vintage music. I did my research and decided to try 2 turntables and one phono preamp. I ordered two "scratch and dent" turntables from Crutchfield knowing I would return at least one. I selected the Technics SL-1500 and the MoFi Studiodeck. I ordered a Schiit Mani phono preamp from Schiit. After extended listening in my system, I selected the SL1500 with the inboard phono preamp as my choice. All the albums I tried sounded really good with that combination. The SL1500 and Studiodeck with the Mani preamp were too bright through the midrange in my system. HIghs and lows were more extended especially on the Studiodeck. It could be due to the Mani more than the turntables. The Studiodeck is a very capable turntable and will better the SL1500 in many systems. I am satisfied with my selection of the SL1500. I like the auto lift feature at the end of record play also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Brilliant turntable

James from Montevallo, AL on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my initial opinion of this turntable. Whilst many have disparaged the tone arm function and it's ability to feel proper and function accordingly, I haven't experienced any issues with the tone arm. I did however read instructions, and follow instructions. To be quite fair, I didn't have at it the all American way, and just blindly set up with blind gusto. I however adjusted the tone arm height, cue lever height and made proper corrections as with tone arm balance. I'm using an Ortofon 2M Bronze cartridge paired to an Cambridge AXR 85 receiver driving a pair of Klipsch 600 M speakers located in my sitting room 26 feet 5 by 20 feet 7. Not a large room, but the sound fills the entire room. Now the Technics turntable provides a equal balance across the frequency spectrum and presents in a most natural way. Music played: Dave Brubeck- Time Out Dave Brubeck- Time Futher Out Bill Evans Trio- Waltz for Debbie Bill Evans Trio- Live at the Village Vanguard Bill Evans Trio-Portrait in Jazz The Who-Quadrophnia Yes-Fragile Van Morrison- Latest Record Project Lynard Skynyrd Second Helping. Every album sounded brilliant, better than I have ever heard before on my Audio Technica LP5, which is a more than capable turntable. I rated this Technics turntable as solidly built, easy to set up and more than capable of handling any style of music. It's a brilliant turntable at a very affordable cost. Many thanks to Crutchfield for their exemplary service.

Pros: Build quality Sound quality Ascetics Lives up to the Technics name

Cons: Rather difficult to insert power lead into back do to recess and angle.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500c

Crutchfield customer from Olive Branch, MS on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was deciding between this and a couple of other turntables. Called and by chance spoke with Lane. Gave him the details of my system and asked for his advice and opinion of those I was considering. After some discussion, we agreed the SL-1500c was the better selection. I really appreciated him taking the time and being patient throughout the call. I did go with a scratch and dent model, which saved me some money. The SL-1500c arrived intact, and the only blemish I could find was a small scratch on the dust cover. Assembly was easy, and it sounds and works great!

Pros: Value; quality

Cons: While this is a semi-auto, the tone arm does not return, it only lifts up at the end of the record and the turntable stops spinning. Also, if the record play is a little long, the semi-auto setting will lift the tone arm before the last song ends.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Direct Drive Table

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, a well built, great sounding turntable. In the week+ I have had it, I have been going through my collection of vintage and newer LPs and rediscovering the joy of playing a well produced record via a well designed turntable/cartridge. I have thus far used it with the included 2M Red cartridge, an AT VM95ML, and an AT 440Mla with a NOS AT stylus. Phono preamps have been a Schiit Mani and a Cambridge 640p. I have not tested the onboard preamp or the auto-lift. I had placed an order for a 1200GR from another vendor, but just missed the cut when the last of the MIJ tables were sold out. Truth be told, I did not care for the DJ stuff on the 1200, so the 1500c became a viable candidate. I did not really need the on-board phono preamp, or the included Ortofon 2M Red cartridge, but I accepted the trade off to get a Technics DD table without the strobe and pitch slider stuff. So, how does it sound? From the moment I dropped the needle on a Japanese EAS pressing of Abbey Road, I had a grin on my face that could not be removed. Even with the 2M Red, the sound of this deck was wonderful. The overall tonal balance was good, and the cart tracked the inner grooves without any obvious issues with inner groove distortion. Moving up to the 95ML, and then to the 440Mla, the tonal balance did shift a bit (as one would expect), treble detail improved, and tracking of highly modulated passages improved. All things considered, a very satisfactory purchase.

Pros: 1. Overall build quality. 2. Excellent documentation. 3. Ease of set-up, including VTA (vertical tracking angle). 4. Great sound quality even with the included cartridge.

Cons: 1. The overall build quality is good but the cueing lever and the cueing mechanism does feel a bit cheap. I would prefer that the cueing mechanism were more highly damped. 2.The included 2M Red cart is serviceable, but the table deserves better. 3. It would have been nice to include the Technics overhang gauge for cartridge swaps.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500c is in the house

Brian from PORT CLINTON, OH on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed! My first new turntable in 42 years (replacing a Technics SL-1600 MKII). The quality sound of vinyl is amplified with this unit above my expectations! No complaints, period. Easy to use. Impressed with the Ortofon 2M stylus right out of the box! Technics did this one right!

Pros: Stable, solid, heavy, easy set-up, easy to use, excellent sound.

Cons: I

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Please release a digital version

Frank from Troy, NY on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing wish they would release a digital form to kill cdjs

Pros: Over 20 years djiing learned mk-1200s

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Scratch & Dent Experience

Gary from Los Angeles, CA on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is regarding Crutchfield's "Scratch & Dent" merchandise. I had a Technics 1500 back in the 80's which brought great memories. So when I saw the new SL-1500C and after doing some research, I knew I just had to get it. Unfortunately the SL-1500C had been out of stock forever. Then I stumbled upon a link which had this turntable available sold as "Scratch & Dent". I was initially hesitant because I am very particular about keeping all my audio gear flawless but I decided to chance it anyway. When I received the turntable, it was packed as if it came from the factory. When I examined the turntable carefully, I could not find where it was scratched and/or dented. If I used a magnifying glass, I could see a very faint area of the turntable where a very minute portion of the paint "might" have been rubbed off. So for all practical purposes, this turntable is flawless and I saved $117. So glad I went for it. As for performance, what can I say. The sound stage is astounding when paired my my custom McIntosh amplifier driving a pair of Bowers & Wilkins 606S2 speakers. I did upgrade the cartridge to an AT-VMN95SH and couldn't be happier. The SL-1500C is every bit as exciting as my vintage 1500. The SL-1500C does not have a strobe like my older turntable but at my age, that's a feature I don't care about. The SL-1500C is extremely well build, has excellent specs, sounds great and is stunning to look at. No need to spend a lot of money for superior sound

Pros: Excellent sound, surprising sound stage. Turntable allows you to turn off built in pre-amp.

Cons: Wished it could flip an album without me getting out of my chair!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

A fantastic TT at a great price

Sean from MIDLOTHIAN, VA on 4/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this TT as an upgrade from a more entry-level (but still quite capable) TEAC. I really wanted a direct-drive, semi-automatic table and the SL-1500C fit the bill. I will admit that the Technics look was never my favorite (I thought my TEAC was quite pretty!) but I've grown to love it. Very easy to set up and adjust, and the plug-and-play headshell/tonearm made upgrading to the Ortofon Bronze a breeze. The tonearm lift/lower lever feels a bit mechanical but you get accustomed to it. Some folks have complained that the end-of-record lift feature can kick in prematurely (and I encountered this as well on a couple of albums and 45s). However, there are actually two settings to this function and the remedy is available in the service manual (you can find it online). Problem solved! GREAT Technics technology and sound without the unnecessary DJ functions. Looks and feels solidly-built, like a Technics should. I'm not using the pre-amp but others have said it is quite capable. I really dig this turntable!

Pros: Incredibly versatile and simple to set up and play. 33, 45 and 78 speeds take care of your entire collection.

Cons: Tonearm lift /lower lever could be a little less clunky. The owner's manual does not provide instructions on how to adjust the auto-lift feature.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had such an amazing experience at the store. Customer service was incredible, and I was in and out with my item in no time. The product itself is also incredible. This is such a quality turntable, and definitely worth the money. I had some issues with the set up, but the resources on the website were super helpful and I got it running in no time. The sound quality from this turntable is so warm and soft. I'm really really happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Woodlawn, VA on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying the new technics sl1500c. still awaiting a resolution for the premature auto lift on tone arm. it releases before the record is finished.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built and excellent quality. My first turntable (back in the day) was a Technics. Good to get back to one. Normal looking, classic turntable. There are a bunch of manufacturers that are making a bunch of crap. Just keep it simple...looks good and sounds great...even at very low levels for background music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Modern Classic

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been thinking about this table for a year or more and finally decided to give it a try. I can't add much to the many reviews that have already been written about the Technics SL-1500C other than confirm that it is solidly built, accurate and produces a sound deep and rich. The "S" arm is versatile and I've put a better cartridge on the Ortofon 2M Red that comes with it; looking to step up again as the arm is well-balanced and of medium mass. Much has been said about the arm lift, and while it's true that it could be better, a little care when lowering the stylus makes for nice contact and when fully depressed there is a satisfying "click" locking the arm in the down position. I'm using the auto-lift and it works as advertised. With it's beautiful, stream-lined appearance it is true to it's lineage; in all respects a modern classic. Recommended.

Pros: Absolutely worth the asking price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You cant go wrong with Technics !

Crutchfield customer from West Seneca, NY on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase the new Technics Sl-1500 to replace my 40+ year old SL-1300 so this one had some stiff competition to be up against right from the start to be able to take its place. I spent many weeks comparing dozens of tables before deciding to purchase another Technics. One main reason was the direct drive feature that has proven to me to be the best overall design over belt driven. The fully automatic feature of the old table to the new "semi" automatic is going to be missed and will take a little getting used to but the quality and workmanship are equal to that of the old turntable. The sound quality is a perfect 10+, the supplied Ortofon stylus and cartridge as well as the head shell being factory set was a great time saver when it came to set up and the Ortofon stylus gives you a great range of sound and depth. I checked the head shell setting just to be sure it was close and it was perfect right from the factory. The unit looks awesome, sounds great, and I am very satisfied with my purchase and as well the fantastic service given by The Crutchfield Staff once again. Hats off to them in making this just one more smooth, simple, and totally professional purchase. The shipping time was also fantastic. With all the issues going on in our world today especially with shipping issues I was amazed they were able to get this unit to me in the timely manor that they did. My recommendation for this turntable is a hands down yes, I would recommend this over many others.

Pros: Quality, Looks, Quiet running, very fast and very easy set up time even if you don't have the tools to do the perfect set up, this one can be set up just the way the directions show you and it will work and sound perfect.

Cons: The auto shut off only raises the stylus, it does not stop platter rotation, that would be a nice added feature to this but that's not exactly a major Con

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sleek

Crutchfield customer from Bell, CA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound. Runs quietly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just Like My Radio Days

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first experience with Technics turntables was in Radio. We used the SP10 Mk 2s, and they ran 24/7 for decades. And of course they sounded great; they had to. I bought an SL-D205 in 1981, and it's still going strong. But when I saw this table, it reminded me so much of those SP10s that I knew I had to have it. It is a thing of beauty, sounds great, and the Ortofon 2M cartridge/stylus doesn't seem to recognize my old albums have skips and pops. Or rather, they did. There is no pitch control, just like those SP10s. This old Radio lady is just fine with that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Immediately swapped out the red for a blue stylus. Then I ditched the cheap stock cable for a OCC copper phono cable. Wow, what a difference! Vinyl never sounded this good on my system. Easy setup. Cue lever works fine on mine. Auto lift is nice for those times when you aren't close by. It takes a while though. There is a video on the net showing how to program it to lift earlier which I may try. I am using a tube phono preamp so I can not comment on the built-in preamp. Well built direct drive bliss. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Another excellent Technics TT!!

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace my good ole trusty Technics SL-D202, which I moved to another listening area, as I wanted to upgrade. I stayed with Technics as I'm familiar with them, and love them, and the reviews across the board for this model are excellent plus the easy speed selection between 33/45/78 rpm was a must for me. Setting up was simple, as expected, and the feel of the controls, materials used, and sturdiness are excellent. I don't use the internal phono preamp and it nice there is a switch to defeat/turn-off. Out of the box, the sound is great with the Ortofon 2m Red and another reason I stayed with Technics, and the S-shaped tonearm, is that I can purchase other headshell/cartridge combos and easily upgrade or change the combo. The auto-lift function, which lifts the tonearm at the end of a record, is another nice feature for peace of mind, however, you do hear an audible mechanical "click/bong" when it engages and wish that were quieter but not a problem for me and, no, it does not transfer to the speakers. Overall, I'm very happy with this TT!!

Pros: Great appearance Sturdy feel Easy speed selection Great sound

Cons: Auto lift function has an audible mechanical "click/bong" when it engages.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, well built and plays music ,i.e. toe tapping good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Legendary performance for the price

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, OH on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mid level table. Much better sound stage, bass and clean sound than my Audio Technica (which was great). Instructions were a bit hard to figure out until I realized that the optional counterweight was not needed with the factory Ortofon Red cartridge. Phonostage is great so you don't have to match to the cartridge. For the pricepoint, it is hard to beat. Next level, you'd probably have to spend 3x this.

Pros: All-in-one design Great value history Looks like a good traditional turntable

Cons: Setup instructions could be a bit more clear. Storage location for the 45 adapter. It'd be cool if they include a marble and method to check level of table when adjusting leveling feet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

An excellent turntable with upgradability.

Crutchfield customer from Scappoose, OR on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Technics SL1500C is a wonderful turntable. Put on a higher quality cartridge and use a dedicated preamp and you have one very nice sounding record player. I installed an AT VM95ML cartridge and couldn't be happier with the fidelity this turntable provides. The background is ink black and dead quiet. Separation between instruments is excellent and the overall dynamic width and depth of the sound is immersive. Set up is very straight-forward and all of the necessary adjustments are available; VTA, VTF, and even azimuth. The auto-lift feature is a nice convenience and the cue lever is smooth and consistent. With it's own built-in preamp, and it's noteworthy build quality, this turntable will suit beginning record spinners as well as demanding listeners.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, well built, and a very high-quality tonearm. Five minutes to set up and enjoy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Well built and great performer!

Crutchfield customer from Hermitage, PA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable, well built and good performance. Disappointed with the cartridge. It could not track my direct disc recordings. Maybe Technics realizes that anyone putting this type of investment in a turntable will have a specific preference of their cartridge so as not to add something costly that will add much to the basic cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Technics 1500 C, very nice

Crutchfield customer from Lemon Grove, CA on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredibly fast free shipping, overpacked and super secure. Turntable is perfect addition to my collection of decent audio gear. I've always loved the care and attention to detail built into Japanese products (yes, I know the table was not built in Japan) sounds great, although I'd think for the price, they'd provide a better cartridge that the Red that is supplied.

Pros: Build quality, eye pleasing, sounds nice

Cons: Ortofon 2m red is not that great

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

5th Technics and loving the new motor system

richard from Valrico, FL on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I had to return the first SL1500 Black because of an anti skate problem and since they were out of the black I got the silver and black and I'm just as happy. I was concerned that the anti skate issue may be a design flaw but this one works great and the cueing lever works and feels better. Built like a tank and looks and sounds great. I don't use the Ortofon Red but several moving coils and they sound great. Love the auto lift at the end of the album. This is my 5th Technics in 48 years and sure am glad they are back.

Pros: Built like a tank Classic design with great functionality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome turntable

Crutchfield customer from Wisc Rapids, WI on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable lives up to my expectations. The set up was simple and straight forward and the other reviews were very helpful. The SL 1500C has an old school look, which I really like, and the operation and controls are very minimalist. The sound is awesome, and makes listening to my old vinyl almost seem like I was back in college. Everything works great! Love this turntable!

Pros: Easy set up and simple controls. Love the clean look.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

Beautiful!

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe this excellent turntable is the best option in this price range. Strong construction, flawless, stable, balanced, beautiful, totally adjustable and with a very good cartridge included. The best part is that this turntable allows for audiophiles to experiment to their hearts content. It's a great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great addition to my audio system

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is incredible. It's exactly what I wanted!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great mid-level turntable

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding with the internal phono preamp and Ortofon Red cartridge. Smooth, quiet motor. ZERO problems with the auto lift function. The tonearm feels a bit light, but it was easy to balance and set the tracking force. I prefer the dial type anti-skating vs. the tiny weight on a short piece of filament. This is the second turntable I have purchased from Crutchfield in the last 3 months; the first was a Pro-Ject X2. It's hard to compare the "sound" of each turntable. Each one has a feature or two that I like better than the other turntable. Both are connected to high-quality separates using MartinLogan Motion towers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved my old Technics SL-Q202, but when the opportunity arose I decided to upgrade to the SL-1500 and it didn't fail to please. It sounds great with my Marantz NR1200. Can't discern any wow, flutter, or rumble, it really drives the music with great clarity. I did upgrade the cartridge with my Nagaoaka MP-110. Happy Listening!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent Table. Period.

Kevin from OLYMPIA, WA on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This table strikes a great balance to me for the price & quite reminds me of my old Sony PS-X5, one of my favorite past tables, but it's simpler and a bit better looking. I have it black and really like the matte finish - opposite of a fingerprint magnet. - Plinth damping is excellent. Tonearm and mechanics have that great Technics feel of solidity. - Motor is strong and has been rock solid (hard to overlook the Technics DD stability and longevity of the past). - Onboard phono stage is worlds better than I expected. I've been using it quite a bit. It is dead silent and sounds better than any built-in I've heard. - VTA adjustment is great and despite what some have said about it, I really like the implementation; the lock is secure and adjustment is easy & quick. Huge bonus. - Auto-lift function works fine - I have mine adjusted per service manual posted on VinylEngine to use the innermost position (1 of 2) before auto-lift engages. - Cue lifter many have complained about is just fine. It isn't as dampened as most are familiar with, but adjustable & only takes muscle memory & a bit more care in use, e.g. you can't just flick the lifter up & down and rely solely on dampening to take care of the ascent/descent for you. Rather you need to use it with a bit of finesse. The few complaints about this table are far, far overblown. My only true gripe is a strange internal grounding scheme which causes more RFI than usual when using the phono RCA output (w

Pros: Technics solid build and reliability. Stable speeds. Excellent damping. VTA adjustable. Onboard preamp is quiet and very good. Good looking. Semi automatic. 78 RPM capability.

Cons: Strange grounding scheme (internally within the table) which causes far more RF interference noise than I've experienced with any other table, but only when using the phono level output (the line level outputs are dead silent). Using a ground lift "cheater-plug" to bypass the safety ground of the 3-prong IEC power cord solves the issue in my setup. Not an ideal solution but not overly troubling for this sort of application. No other "cons" to speak of. Fantastic turntable. Period.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Another Great Turntable from Technics with some quirks.

Rich from Valrico, FL on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been a vinyl guy since the 60's and still have about 5000 pieces , I'm not a TT newbie having owned dozens. My equipment is all separate's, preamp, mono blocks, Martin Logan SL3's, Dahlquist DQ10's,Kef's and a pair of SVS Prime Ultra's piano black, After years of fiddling with separate tone arms and table configurations I decided to go with grace and simplicity. Having owned several very early Technics and being very please with them. this one arrived today. Nice build. easy set up. As others have said the cueing feels a bit cheezie but works fine. Very industrial looking in Black, I love it. I use the phono output with ground wire and not the line out with the phono preamp. I use mostly MC cartridges so only the phono side can be used. When I first set it up I was getting all kinds of strange noises coming out of the table and with all kind of ground configurations. I use an outboard MM/MC preamp with load dip switches for certain cartridges. After several attempts to get rid of the ground noise's I gave up for and while, came back and tried again. This time turned off the phono preamp on the line out side which shouldn't have anything to do with the phono output but it does. Grounded everything again, I tried a bunch of MM's and MC's, life is good. Dead quiet. This is a no frills TT that works great. I do use the extra counter balance weight for my Denon 103 MC. The auto lift is nice since I'm 67 and fall asleep while listening up late, 3am. I'm all good. Buy it!

Pros: Built like a tank, Looks great, works great once you get past the way the ground and phono stage works. Love the Black industrial look. Love the damping on the underside of the plater, all rubber. I would suggest buying a TT Cover, fits perfect.

Cons: Cueing is a bit wonky, but not bad, Grounding and phono stage preamp interaction with each other is odd, Can't use MC's Cartridges on the "External Outputs" for some reason I have not figured out, nor have the guys at Crutchfield especially if you turn off the phono preamp. I think it has something to do with internal grounding of the on board phono preamp.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Old reliable

Crutchfield customer from Grand Ronde, OR on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have older technics model. Just upgraded to newer model. I like the sound and simplicity of the technics turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Get Ready for Christmas!

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Combo Birthday/Christmas present. For me, the sound of this is beyond (really *way* beyond) my expectations. Sound stage, lows-mids-highs, just a visceral sound that you can touch and connect with IMHO. The included Ortofon Red gave a good taste, but with only one channel due to a wire problem between the cartridge and headshell -- but Oh, just that one channel sounded fabulous, what a Taste! With my Nagaoka MP-200 on another headshell, both channels with dramatic effect (again, IMHO). I called Crutchfield re cartridge/headshell left-channel connection issue. Roman answered, we took each other thru the steps I had taken to resolve - and I had another headshell/Red out a few days later. Flawless. I had read/listened to reviews for months. Everything read well about the 1500C. There was one review that said the internal Phono Pre wasn't that great (maybe they tried an MC cartridge by mistake? Works only with MM). So I was already trying to budget for a new Phono Pre as well. No Need!! Shocked at how wonderful this sounds with my MP-200, and fairly exciting with the Ortofon Red. That budget is already going to new vinyl, and I am a happy camper. Please understand I have a decent preamp/amp/speaker set up here from used pieces over the years (full time wind musician 26 years). I'm just so darn delighted, and I think you will be too!

Pros: Great Sound! Great Crutchfield Service!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo Grove , IL on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful design, solid construction, amazing sound. Everything that's expected from a Technics turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great new table from Technics!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful starter turntable

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this turntable! Great way to jump into the LP market. Easy to assemble and play. I probably need to upgrade my needle though in the next month.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500c is an Audiophile Quality Deck

Spinninvinyl from Redmond, OR on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been spinning vinyl since the early 60's, and currently have 6 turntables, including my new Technics SL-1500c. The 4 turntables in my music room include this 1500, two belt drive Rega decks, and a Pioneer PLX-1000 DJ deck. This 1500 replaced my Technics SL-1200 M3D deck. After reading many reviews about the new 1500, I just had a hunch that I would like the audio from this Turntable. Sure enough, I made a good call on this one. It's hard to find any fault with the audio this deck produces. Best of all, it's a clean design and lacks all the Dj deck controls that just aren't needed for home audio use. I'm picky about my phono cartridges, so I installed my Hana ML moving coil cartridge with an Emotiva XPS-1 preamp. Downstream from this my system is vintage, with a pair of rebuilt Mono tube amps driving a pair of 1959 vintage Frazier "Black Box" theater speakers. A simple alpine stepped volume control is all that's needed to control the source and volume. Haven't tried the Ortofon Red cartridge or the built in preamp on the 1500, so I can't vouch for that audio configuration, but I can attest to the fact that this deck responds well to a substantial cartridge upgrade. And finally, I use the auto arm lift feature at the end of the record, it works fine. The somewhat loose feeling of the arm lift lever should be a Non-Issue for a seasoned turntable user; I'm fine with it. Finally, this is a "scratch-n-dent" unit that arrived in New condition!

Pros: Dj controls omitted for Clean Lines, Upgraded Direct Drive motor, Designed more for home audiophile use.

Cons: Very Minor Issue - Tonearm Lifting Lever could be strengthened and more positive functioning. It does however work as it should.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from East Meadow, NY on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a turntable that keeps surprising me. Set up was simple; requiring just a few simple adjustments. The sound is crisp and detailed. The speed is spot on and I congratulate the engineers at Technics for what they have accomplished. I moved from a 5-star rated high end turntable and am not missing anything to date

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent turntable and removes the tone arm after the album is finished playing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Alex from VERNON HILLS, IL on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build quality. Best onboard phono stage I have ever heard. Runs absolutely dead quiet. The ease of use and lack of fuss is outstanding. The bass and midrange tones are spot on. Swapping out cartridges is ridiculously simple. The Ortofon Red cartridge that comes stock with the SL-1500C is absolutely fine for newbies and casual listeners, but when I swapped a few others in and out I got to see what this unit is really about. Mated with a higher quality MM cartridge and still using the built-in phono stage, the Technics SL-1500C outperformed a couple of tables I have owned that are twice the price. For most people, including experienced audiophiles, this is the last turntable they will ever need. It can climb the latter of future system upgrades for those that are still chasing the elusive perfect sound and be a set it and forget it solution for the casual, quality oriented music lover. Bravo to Technics. Outstanding!

Pros: Build quality, ease of use and terrific phono stage.

Cons: Stock cartridge doesn't do it justice.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sound Happy

Crutchfield customer from Ashburnham, MA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read a lot about the Technics SL-1500C and the reviews. I thought that it would be the right choice for me. I have since received this turntable and feel that everything excellent I read about it was true. I would recommend it for anyone who wants an excellent sound and ease to set up and use. I will always return to Crutchfield for my sound needs!

Pros: Ease to use.

Cons: Based on what I wanted there are no cons.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid build, great sound, good looking.

Craig from Tampa, FL on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Pioneer PL-88 finally bit the dust. Rather than purchase a another 70's turntable I went looking for new. The only one I really liked with the specs of a good late 70's TT was the Technics SL-1500C. I wanted a semi-automatic with the that old style look and feel. This TT is a hybrid (not semi-auto), when the tone arm gets to the end it will lift up after about 30 seconds. The tone arm does not retract and the platter keeps on spinning. It is more of a safety feature for a manual turntable (it is fine with me- really not an issue). Some users have complained that the lift arm feels cheap, I tend to disagree. It does have a light feel but I have not had any issues using it to lower the tone arm to the record. I did replace the 2M red ortofon stylus with a 2M Blue. You do not need to replace the cartridge as the 2M Red and Blue stylus fit the same cartridge. I set-up the counter weight / tracking force according to the very clear instructions and double checked it with a Riverstone Audio scale. The difference was -0.09 grams. Not bad for manually setting it up! I also verified the cartridge set-up using a Hudson VTA and Protractor. I did not have to make any adjustments to the cartridge. I did use a better set of cables and grounding wire (the factory does not know the cable length you need). I am very pleased with the overall construction, sound, tracking, and looks of this turntable. I only wish it cost the same as a TT made in the late 70's !

Pros: Has the look and feel of a well built late 70's turntable. Good wow & flutter specs. Cartridge setup was accurate.

Cons: More than what I wanted to pay but satisfied with the purchase. Should come with a 2M Blue at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Industry standard! Such a fine piece of machinery . Great customer service that Crutchfield is known for. I had a missing part that they took care of. No major complaints, just feel the cue lever feels a little cheaply made for the price of the turntable. But that's just being picky. I would recommend it highly.

Pros: Ease of use, and exactly knowing the quality you get

Cons: Cue lever

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Villa Park, IL on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect turntable for Technics fans who don't need all the DJ functions, such as variable pitch, reverse play, target light, etc.

Pros: Phono-out and Line-out (built in preamp), allow for flexible component setup. Auto-return can be set to On or Off. Include pre-mounted Ortofon red cartridge.

Cons: Cue lever is a little wonky. Auto-return can take over a minute to activate; will sometimes activate before the record is done playing if the side is longer than typical 22-23 minutes. Doesn't have a strobe light, which isn't necessarily needed, except for those who need reassurance that the speed is accurate.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

All I can say is Wow

Greg from Yucaipa, CA on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference, I have a pro-ject essential 3 and an AT LP120 the former is a worthless unit, hums no matter what I do and the AT works fine using the built in preamp but hums if plugged into the phono input on my amp. Was beginning to think it was the amp. But then I plugged in the Technics SL1500C. Wow, no hum, no noise at all and the sound was much clearer. If you're thinking about buying one of these do it you won't be sorry. Even the issues in other reviews like the lift arm and auto lift are really not a problem.

Pros: Sound, build quality and looks great (not too busy)

Cons: Lift arm seems a little too close to the record surface (maybe just not what I am used to)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Urbana, IL on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very fine turntable--solid, well-built, sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Entry level Audiophile table

Crutchfield customer from Melville, NY on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. I have had a few before but this is a perfect entry level audiophile turntable that is built solid.

Pros: Excellent build quality. Durable and heavy.

Cons: Wish the tone arm auto feature worked as expected. Enabling auto tone arm mode doesn't work so I kept it manual

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Trappe, MD on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Semi automatic, great specs, a HINGED dust cover that can be closed during playback and coreless direct drive as a bonus! I had no intention of spending this kind of money on a turntable but after a few weeks, there is no doubt. I completely agree with all those reviewers who claim they are hearing their albums for the first time. The clarity is simply stunning.

Pros: Detailed, easy to follow assembly instructions. Even the feet are independently adjustable shock absorbers.

Cons: There are parts hidden all over the styrofoam packing. Difficult to access recessed plugs and switches in rear.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

4.5 stars - good overall performer

Crutchfield customer from Hood River, OR on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this turntable to replace my Thorens TD160 that is the Alfa Romeo to the Technic's Toyota Camry. The Thorens is ultimately a better turntable...so inspiring when it's working. The Technics is bombproof. Stops and starts on a dime and the built in phono stage is not bad. I plan on trying the table out with an outboard stage in the future and I am guessing that there will be more improvement at that point. The auto lift feature is the other thing that differentiates the SL-1500C from the SL-1200 MK7. It works ok but I will probably just disable it. The real reason that I bought this over the Sl-1200 MK7 or even the $1699 one (SL-1200G) is because I am not a DJ (nor do I play on on TV). I really like the plain aesthetics of this model. You also get push button 33/45/78 speeds. On the downside, the cue lever works, but has the tactile quality of a Cracker Jack toy. The fear that it might snap off in my hand may lead me to go for the extended warranty. I listen to records to unwind from crazy days at work. With my last table, that morphed into troubleshooting turntable issues. With the Technics I can just listen to the music and that is long overdue. If you don't mind the garishness of the DJ tables and you have a phono stage, save your money and get the SL-1200 MK7.

Pros: Quick to stop and start, 33/45/78, not fussy looking, built in phono stage works ok

Cons: The cheapest tonearm lift I have ever encountered, a little pricey

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic turntable with a great build and sound. I did not encounter any of the issues with the cue lever as reported in other reviews but I do recommend turning off the auto lift feature as it will lift up before the last track on a side is finished playing. I got my through the outlet as a scratch and dent and, I can tell you, it was packed and looked completely new. If it hadn't been listed that way, I would never have known it was a scratch and dent. Kudos to Crutchfield for their integrity and not just repacking and selling as new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable is one of the best purchases I've ever made. I love everything about it. But you must upgrade the Ortofon Red. It makes even new records sound unacceptably noisy with pops. I put on a new Denon 301mk2 and it plays without pops and clicks, shockingly so and it's beats the Ortofon in every other category as well. It lists for $400 but can be had for $300, an excellent value I feel. I'm using it with a Denon pma100 integrated amp's phono stage and Canton Vento 7 tower speakers. What a well made piece of equipment the Technics SL 1500C is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

My Dream Turntable

Theodore J. from MAPLE SHADE, NJ on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this to replace a 15-year old DJ turntable I was using for home listening. The DJ unit was durable, with accurate turntable speed, but the sound was deteriorating, even with a new cartridge. I'm hoping to get the same durability and accuracy from my new Technics turntable, but with better stylus tracking and sound quality. At this point I can't really comment on the durability issue as I've only had it for 4 days, but the sound quality is a major upgrade; I've been dragging out old albums from the 60's and 70's and rediscovering just how they were meant to sound. Kudos to the Crutchfield crew for their meticulous job of packing and shipping. This was a "scratch and dent" purchase, but there are no scratches or dents on this unit, and no parts missing. Setup was easy and straightforward, once I figured out that the magnet cover was under the platter and not the underside of the unit itself, and that the "earth lead" was just the ground wire! Some reviews on this site have been critical of the cue lever, and the auto-lift mechanism. Since I really wanted a fully manual turntable anyway, I just turned off the auto lift-up switch on the back of the unit, and I'll be using my steady hand, rather than the cue lift, to lower and raise the tone arm. All in all, I'm very pleased with this new turntable. It is solid and well crafted, and the sound is superb. It came with a $99 cartridge, so it will probably sound even better when I upgrade.

Pros: Solidly built, great sound, very quiet motor, basic cartridge can be upgraded for even better performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A solid performer

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am extremely happy with this turntable. Build quality is excellent. Sound is wonderful.

Pros: Excellent speed stability, very solid build, great looking.

Cons: The cueing lever is not my favorite. I feel they could have designed it to feel more substantial.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Amelia, OH on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built solid performer, cheap tonearm cue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Nice overall, Cue lever sukkkksss!!

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect sound and looks really great! The only reason I gave 4 star is that because of the cue lever. I don't think it's doing its job well, especially for an expensive equipment like this. The cue lever of the cheaper ATLP120 I once had works way better. Sometimes, it suddenly raises by itself for no reasons at all interrupting my music. Nevertheless, I still find this worth the price.

Pros: Great sound! Looks really fancy!

Cons: Cue lever sukkkkss!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Julie from Eastlake, OH on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not an expert on audio/video equipment. I have some old albums I wanted to listen too again and I haven't had a turntable for years. I am 60 yrs old and wanted a good quality model that will last me a long time. I did a lot of research on turntables & decided to go with this model. I can't offer any technical opinions but I can say you can definitely tell this is a superb, exquisitely made piece of equipment & I am glad I am at the point in my life where I was able to purchase something of this quality. If I had the decision to do over I would absolutely purchase this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad took advice of sales guy and went with this unit. Was above initial price point goal but setup was simple even though I'm not an audiophile. This was a scratch and dent and no where I could tell that it was, everything was sealed and it appeared factory fresh to me. Finally able to play records through my dad's old Fisher receiver and Empire wood cabinet speakers and brings back a lot of memories.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Turntable

Crutchfield customer from NJ on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to upgrade from my previous turntable, an automatic belt driven model from Denon, which wouldn't maintain a consistent speed. My Dad has a Technics SL-Q2 he bought 40 years ago that still works perfectly, so naturally, I was drawn to Technics. The build quality of this table is amazing. It's constructed from metal and is very heavy. I checked the speed with a strobe disc and it's spot on for 33 and 45 RPM, but 78 was reading a little slow (not a big deal as I won't be playing many 78s). According to Technics, they are using digital circuitry to maintain a proper speed and it shows. Music sounds very smooth with perfect pitch, something belt driven models struggle with. The built in preamp sounds very good (you can turn it off), and the Ortofon 2M Red cartridge is an excellent performer. Setup was relatively straightforward and the manual does a good job of explaining things. Now, everyone is complaining about the tonearm lifter. It does feel "mushy" as one previous reviewer put it but it works. I think most of the problems people are having is from lowering it too quickly, which can cause it to drop too fast. The manual does say to lower it slowly, so heed that advice (read the manual, people). Crutchfield is awesome as usual. Packaging was excellent; the unit was doubled boxed and held in place by packing paper. I'm really happy with my purchase.

Pros: Solid build, excellent internal preamp, maintains consistent speed, sounds great.

Cons: Tonearm lifter isn't as smooth as I would prefer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Turntable for Those Seeking Better Listening Experience

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, CO on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its the quality you would expect from a classic Technics turntable. It is solid as a rock. Tonearm adjustment was a breeze and I did not experience any problems with the tonearm lift as another reviewer did. The tonearm lift is a neat feature so you can be out of room when LP finishes and it will lift the tonearm and stop spinning the platter all by itself. I splurged and put an Ortofon Bronze cartridge on it - that really brings out tones and sounds I hadn't heard earlier on my LP's, although it does highlight some of the dust and scratching on older LPs - but again it takes about a minute to switch back to the head with the standard Ortofon Red and rebalance the tonearm for my older LPs. So far I am using the built-in pre-amp and it sounds great. This is a great turntable for those who are seeking to upgrade to a better listening experience but don't want to get into crazy audiophile price and effort territory or deal with a fully manual turntable.

Pros: Solid Good phono preamp Easy to setup and operate

Cons: Ortofon Red is a great cartridge, but if you are spending $1200 on a turntable its worth a cartridge upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable, solid build, nice expansion possibilities.

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this turntable for a month or so now (so this review isn't speaking to longevity) and I'm very happy with it. It displays the solid build quality that Technics has come to be known for, but omits some of the more typically DJ-targeted features. The target demographic for this turntable would seem to be the customer who is looking for a solid unit that performs very well with included options, but also offers the possibility for future expansion to raise it to the level of "excellent." The included Ortofon 2M Red cartridge does a fine job, but will benefit from an upgrade to the 2M Blue. The internal phono preamp is likewise capable (and sounds better than I thought it would), but can be bypassed for an external phono stage when desired. I didn't experience any of the troubles with the tone arm quality that a couple other reviewers mention, but I will say that the initial set up was a little finicky (this is to say it took 5-10 minutes instead of 1-2). Likewise, the lift height adjust on my unit seems solid. Lastly, as another reviewer mentioned, the auxiliary balance weight needn't be installed for use with the included cartridge. In short: this is a well-built, great sounding unit that offers the option to grow it into something even better should you choose. I'm very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Dynamite turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Manasquan, NJ on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great "old school" Technics "quality". Set up was a breeze with easily understandable instructions. No design flaws noted. Sounds really really nice! And it was not my first rodeo with a turntable....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Sounds great. Terrible cue lever.

Matt from Atlanta on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hate to rate a Technics this low since I am glad they are back, but I am very disappointing in the 1500c. Setup was a breeze, the platter was flat, and it sounds great. What is terrible is the cue lever. It does not stay up consistently. The cue also does not lift until the lever is almost all the way up and it feels mushy. I have adjusted the lift height to spec per the instructions and half the time it will just lower randomly on its own. I used to one a 1200 and never had an issue. I am just amazed they let this go out the door. This is not a cheap turntable and I would expect much better from Technics. Sadly, it is going back for something else.

Pros: -Good sound -Decent preamp -Stable as a quartz watch

Cons: -Cue lever feels mushy and will not stay up

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2019
Matt, we're sorry you're disappointed with your turntable. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great new Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the turntables I have owned this piece has been a pleasure from the moment it was set up. The only thing I would change is the owners manual. They walk you through the set up of the counter weight and the auxiliary wait. The auxiliary weight is too much weight with the included head and stylus as it is way too much weight. The included stylus is great for the set up and the included pre-amp is solid The only thing I would change is the owners manual. They walk you through the set up of the counterweight and the auxiliary wait. The auxiliary weight does not need it with the included head and stylus as it is way too much weight. The included stylus is great for the set up and the included preamp is solid. I would highly recommend yes turntable to a beginner or even an audiophile.

Pros: Stylus, preamp, sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Robert from Plymouth, MI on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tone arm cueing arm simply does not work on the unit I had delivered. There are videos on the web of this issue, so when mine came I immediately looked for the issue and it was even worse than in the video. The overall fit and finish is cheap on this table, not worth half the asking price. I have an original SL 1500 from the late 70's, and this is a shameful use of that tables name.

Pros: none to speak of

Cons: can't use a t-table w/o a cueing arm, how this passes inspection at the manufacturer is beyond me

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2019
Robert contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

9 of 9 found this helpful

Technics SL-1500C

Crutchfield customer from Aldie, VA on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't typically rate products I purchase low as I tend to do a lot of research prior. So far in my testing my feedback is: 1.) Direct drive is excellent and quiet 2.) Connectivity options are nice: having preamp built in is nice and well balanced with 2M Red Cartridge 3.) The case is okay if you like a very electronics look and good weight 4.) The tonearm lifter is my issue, and i'm trying to determine if it's bad or just crappy. It feels cheaply made and at times your not sure if the lifter is even lifting even if it's in the raised position. Couple times when moving tone arm to play and lifter in up position the needle was able to go right on platter and play while lifter in up position. 5.) Minor: Autoshutoff recommend disabling as it will stop play easily on a number of records overall it's a good table but the price doesn't match build IMHO. Think Technics could have done a bit better for the reputation they hold. A friend has audio technica and his tone arm is better for about the same build at half the price. My other Turntable at half the cost is better than this table at the moment. It has a 2M Blue shipped with it. Hope this was helpful.

Pros: Direct drive quiet 2M Red Cartridge shipped with Built in preamp with option to bypass

Cons: Tone arm lifter poorly constructed Auto shutoff shuts off early on long play records

Crutchfield response on

10 of 16 found this helpful

Solid new turntable

Crutchfield customer from Moraga, CA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Technics SL 1500 C is a solidly built excellent performer. It punches above its weight class. I added different cartridge for enhanced performance.

Pros: Build and performance. Easy to set up.

Cons: You may prefer a different cartridge than the one that comes with the unit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound