Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
932 951 451 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
932 951 451 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB420

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB420-K

Panasonic DP-UB420

Panasonic DP-UB420

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB420-K

34 reviews
View this product

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shows great picture and works well with the Denon 3500h

Pros: Loads fairly quick, Shows great picture and looks great as well

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Picture Improvement, but Build Quality and Remote Function Regression

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, NC on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my Panasonic DP-RP62 DVD player(still working) with this, because Panasonic no longer makes just a Blu-Ray player, which is all that I wanted. I still have a Panasonic 1080P plasma tv, so was not interested in all the 4K stuff. I also don't have internet at home, due to living out in the country, so all the online apps were of no interest to me. Comparing it to my old, made in Japan DVD player, the only thing that this improves is the picture, which is great. It is not built nearly as well as my old player, there is no dispay on the front for playing CDs, and the remote on the new player is a joke, compared to the remote on my old one. The remote size is about the same, but the new one lost many functions that are on the old remote, such as zoom, subtitle, cinema mode, setup, program, dialogue enhancer. On the old player, if I wanted to turn on subtitles after starting a British movie, I just hit the subtitle key on the remote. I still haven't figured out how to turn on the subtitles after starting a movie, on the new one. I gave it 3 stars for the great picture and sound on Blu-ray disks, and the upscaling does a good job on a standard DVD. Other than that,I consider it a large step backwards from my 17 yr old player.

Pros: Picture and Sound

Cons: Build Quality and Remote Function

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from South Haven, MI on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, great picture quality. Excellent value for the $$.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Brecksville, OH on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Video and audio performance are super. Very fast loading of 4K blurays. Not all the features one might like but the price is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Moca, PR on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Blu-ray, dont have double vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Remote is your only option.

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. I'd give it 5 Stars if it had touch controls on the player instead of only being able to use the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, NJ on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit.Small, light and easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 2/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an efficient, compact player that does what it needs to.

Pros: Easy to navigate. Plays Blu-ray disks as advertised.

Cons: Doesn't see media files on DVD disks, so won't replace your DVD player. Requires HDMI to connect.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best player for the money

David from ARNOLD, MO on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works flawlessly great picture does not freeze up like my Sony this is my 6th blu-ray player and never had a problem with any of them highly recommend this unit.

Pros: Great picture and sound small compact unit

Cons: No display on front of unit A little noisy on start up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, IA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Had an issue that ended up being my hdmi cable. Customer service was great when I called with the issue I had. I was shocked how great the customer service was.

Pros: All pros

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, MA on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to hook up to my 4K TV Attach an hdmi cable from tv to the Blu-ray player and it was all set to go. I did have to get an hdmi to rca converter to hook up my receiver, everything is working great. Can't beat the price for everything this Blu-ray has to offer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Products and Service

Crutchfield customer from Louisburg, NC on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I always prefer dealing with Crutchfield and their top notch technical support staff. Panasonic media players are consistently the best in the consumer market place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Player

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth City, NC on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price point, this is an excellent player for discs. It's also loaded with many features for tweaking video. Picture quality is excellent but the onboard apps are problematic at times.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Cayey, PR on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good and powerful machine!

Pros: You can ask more for the price!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Blackshear, GA on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It plays all of my movies and the picture seems brighter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was as expected but couldn't pass up the price after reading other reviews

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture quality is excellent due to HCX chip in this player. Very easy to set up and like various option to adjust picture quality. Only drawback is missing Dolby Vision (DV). But overall very solid player for picture and sound with sale price. I Would highly recommend.

Pros: HCX chip for high end picture quality HDR customization Very easy to setup

Cons: No Dolby Vision ( DV)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Crutchfield customer from Natchez, MS on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent product. It has everything I need without too many bells and whistles.

Pros: Great features

Cons: Small remote control designed for small hands.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Mont Alto, PA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best 4k Bluray player for the money as long as you don't need Dolby Vision. I waited for Crutchfield to put it on sale and jumped on it immediately. I hooked it up immediately and played a couple 4k movies with my 82" Samsung Q82R. Very nice combination that looks great. No complaints whatsoever. I was going to go with the 820, but I couldn't justify the jump in price.

Pros: Great bargain

Cons: No Dolby Vision

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good for the price

Crutchfield customer from Boyce, LA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far haven't used it much. It seems pretty lightweight. I played a cd with it and it sounded very good (Beatles Abbey Road Delux). Also watched an old Columbo dvd. It upscaled the image well. For the price I am very satisfied. I have it hooked up to a Marantz NR 1609.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic Player Scores

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For my purposes, an excellent machine. I didn't need Dolby Vision or super high end surround options on this, so no points deducted. I did need brilliant 4K UHD HDR picture, easy navigation, and perfectly listenable aiudio playback. Set up was a breeze, and disc playback was stable and completely reliable - totally unlike the similarly priced Sony player I had to send back (to a different retailer) which was total junk. Never had a problem with Panasonic.

Pros: Delightful UHD HDR picture Easy set-up Stable, reliable, does what it says it will do Good audio flexibility

Cons: For me,, none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP UB420

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Bch, VA on 1/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome ?? 4k player with lots of HDR customization and the HCX chip for less than $500

Pros: HDR options Picture Sound

Cons: Only 3 media player options

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Smithville, MO on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Plays discs that other players would refuse to play with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from New City, NY on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and very well packaged. Very easy to set up. The picture quality is noticeably superior to my previous player. Would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Player - Please give it a front panel display

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this player to replace a brand new Sony UPB-X800M2 unit that refused to play standard DVDs. Crutchfield's great technical support and return policy made that process simple. This Panasonic unit was simple to setup although the firmware update took much longer than I expected. The menu interface is simple and easy to use and the player has a small footprint compared to other DVD players. The picture quality (connected to my LG OLED TV) has been outstanding and the player syncs well with the TV and my Bose Soundbar 700 via CEC. The only reason I didn't give this player 5 stars is that it really should have a display on the front panel so you can tell what it's doing. All you get is a little red light to let you know it's turned on. The lack of display seems to be typical of players in this price range but I'd gladly pay a few extra dollars for a small display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Bethel, VT on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable product, the 4k Blu-ray player of 2019 It doesn't matter that this player lacks Dolby vision because the HDR optimizer is just as good. I highly recommended this player

Pros: All good

Cons: Lack of display is going a little cheap

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Orange Park, FL on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, no issues or problems. Connects n works great with my samsung Q70R tv

Pros: Great dvd player, great price, but really great dvd player. Works perfectly for me n my wants

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great player, great price

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good player, if you are tired of the Sony garbage, then this is your player, great video and audio quality, was on sale so I bought 2. Can't beat Crutchfield best in the business

Pros: Great video and audio quality. Buy it if your tired of the Sony garbage

Cons: Absolutely nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bargain Powerhouse

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DP-UB420 fills a need I had within my home theater. I feel that running a projector with HDR content is part science and part art. The UB420's HDR Optimizer allows you to dial in your HDR picture for each movie. Rather than just compromise on one setting with a static calibration you can change the settings on the fly. As I said, part science and part art. I gave it 4 stars because I know the 820 or 9000 are more solidly built. Otherwise it's quite a bargain for the features.

Pros: HDR Optimizer

Cons: Not much but you can pay more for higher build quality in the 820 or 9000.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! A perfect match with my Samsung Q80 75."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, VA on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player to get 4K content and movies. Works well with my JVC projector.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420 4k Player

Crutchfield customer from Willow Spring, NC on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice 4k Blu Ray player, works just fine, small and compact, especially for the price, glad I bought it.

Pros: Dialogue enhancement

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional 4K Blu-ray player

Crutchfield customer from Aztec, NM on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little 4K Blu-ray player. The picture quality if amazing and the unit is very easy to use and set up. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons: Not really a con but the player has no visual readout on the front panel. Of course, I knew this before I bought it. Not a problem though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superior Video to Oppo 203

C Jay from West Des Moines, IA on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful budget player. Lacks Dolby Vision but other than that it puts out video comparable to the much more expensive Panasonic UB820 and UB9000 models and beats my Oppo 203. Very basic remote and build quality to keep the price low, but you can always go to eBay for upgraded backlit remote from the UB9000 model for under $20. Highly recommended if you don't need Dolby Vision or the audiophile upgrades of the more expensive Panasonic players. As a bonus it can play most region B and C Blu-rays--just hit Stop on remote when region error message appears and then hit Top Menu button once or twice, though this trick doesn't work for DVDs.

Pros: Price Superior video

Cons: No Dolby Vision Cheaply made Basic remote

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP