Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB420

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB420-K

Panasonic DP-UB420

Panasonic DP-UB420

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB420-K

96 reviews
View this product

I would buy again

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Machine

Crutchfield customer from Bath, OH on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Machine. Very responsive and quick. Excellent picture quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic 4k uhd player

Crutchfield customer from Stroudsburg, PA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Up converting Blu-ray is amazing and of course 4K pictures are super

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: Voice in setup annoying but can be turned off

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Ogema, MN on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would like to be able to add more apps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Player At A Great Price.

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing Ultra HD Blu-ray player, I was shocked at the detailed picture quality, and especially liked the 4K upscaling for regular DVD's and Blu-rays. I bought this as a scratch and dent item and couldn't be happier, the player was in perfect condition, no signs of use at all on the player either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, PA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY TO SET UP AND GREAT PERFORMANCE

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased......

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it...I discovered a well built Blu-ray really does make a difference with respect to the quality of the picture.. I have it paired with my Panasonic Plasma TV and the picture is outstanding!! In regards to customer service, Francis assisted me and he was great, very knowledgeable and informative! Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Price-minimalist features0awesome quality.

Cons: None at this point

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Crestwood, KY on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Nothing super, but does what it's supposed to very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best 4k blu ray

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice piece of equipment

Crutchfield customer from Green Cv Spgs, FL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I needed. We have an 18-month-old 4K TV that I'd say it was a mid range quality when we bought it and I really needed a 4k DVD Blue Ray player for that TV. The price was perfect and from what I've seen so far I am really a happy camper. It has a small footprint and fits well under the Apple TV which keeps the feline demons from laying on top of it. They do enjoy the Marantz has a heater, and yes this set up is being changed immediately we are in the midst of renovations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polo

Crutchfield customer from Monterey Park, CA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panasonic DP-UB420 is a great product. The was worth its price in what it can do. Crutchfield is a great company to buy from. It has all the things I am looking for with a great price and reliable products I can depend upon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, PA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good so far. Easy to use and good picture quality. Wish it had a play button but otherwise no complaints through the first few movies. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Player at this price

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the BEST bluray Player that you can buy at this price, stop to search for other brands, get this. Trust me there's nothing better for that price.

Pros: HDR10 works better than any other brand, I feel don't need Dolby Atmos.

Cons: No Dolby Atmos

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great 4k player at a good price.

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great 4k player. Streams Netflix flawlessly. Easy to use and program. Recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax Station, VA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a ~2010 version of a samsung blue-ray player to this panasonic. The panasonic is lightning faster than the samsung and offers more features (apps pre-installed for streaming services like Amazon, Netflix, etc). As an added bonus I also got this one on sale from Crutchfield. As for longevity - I've only had this player for a month now so can't speak to how long it lasts.

Pros: Fast and pre-installed streaming apps.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent unit

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, VA on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick to boot up and get running. My old Panasonic Blu Ray player c2008 is quite slow to decode and get the video going but not this speedy unit. Picture seems to be better too than my old unit. Very pleased. I also much prefer it to my LG unit I got couple of years ago I have in my bedroom

Pros: Quick to get to viewing DVDs.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good 4K value for the money

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the price. Excellent 4K picture & sound with both 4K UHD, & 1080p upscaling. However, I found the 4K upscaling on some DVD's to look oddly too bright, "softened", & ultimately unnatural. I compared this DVD upscaling to 4K upscaling on an OPPO, a very high standard to be fair, & found the Oppo DVD upscaling very superior. This may be a consideration if you're planning to continue viewing your DVD's (or have some titles ONLY available on the format). Considering Oppo is defunct, it's quite possible there is NOTHING on the current market upscaling DVD better than the Panasonic in question & it's not exactly a poor upscale to say the least, plus the Panasonic has a lot of little color tweaks many 4K players do not (especially with HDR). This model does not support Dolby Vision. Build quality is adequate, certainly not impressive, only "power" & "eject" buttons on the machine & no digital display whatsoever. On the plus, if you're tight on space this Panasonic is very light & compact. An asset if space is at a premium in your set up. I did have an incident where the Panasonic failed & hung up (while continuing to run) for over 7 minutes & became entirely unresponsive via remote or the unit's buttons when playing a defective blu ray. I had to unplug the unit to stop the spinning & eject the disk. Playing the disk on an Oppo (was able to immediately start & play disk through bad bits a plenty) confirmed. The remote & interface aren't the best I've used.

Pros: Great 4K picture & 1080 upscaling. Small size.

Cons: No Dolby vision, build quality on par with price, DVD scaling possibly not the best but good, remote & interface adequate, but not the best I've used

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned this player for about a month and couldn't be happier with its performance. Setup was easy and painless. The video output is phenominal. I haven't had any issues with video playback, as in it locking up. I've watched the following 4K movies on it: Jaws, 1917, Fury, War of The Worlds and INXS: Live Baby Live and The Empire Strikes Back. The video resolution in all of them was stunning and the player was flawless playing them. The upscaling of regular Blu Ray to 4K is pretty darn impressive as well. I have the player connected using both HDMI outputs, one directly to the TV and the other to the receiver. I have it set up this way b/c my current receiver only supports 1.4 4K. My setup...Samsung 65" NU 6900 series, Denon AVR-E300, Boston Acoustics all around with a Velodyne sub in a 5.1 config. I would definitely recommend this player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Failed within 4 months

Michael R. from MISSION VIEJO, CA on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Failed within 4 months. Picture is okay, then goes to w white noise screen with BluRay or Web items. Not many hours of use and it's unuseable. Remote is poorly designed and not particularly intuitive. VERY disappointed in this 'highly rated' unit.

Pros: small footprint

Cons: remote poorly designed

Crutchfield response on 11/11/2020
Michael contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

DP-UB420 Review + Direct Access

Crutchfield customer from Morrisville, PA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Blu-ray & DVD Is perfect. Panasonic Wireless works on 5g, internet access is fast, YouTube streaming is seamless. Current results with Mirroring/ Direct Access feature; pc desktop replication has a very hard time keeping up. Mouse & windowing latency is severe and lockup's occur disabling the session. The Mirroring session only appears to detect the 2.4g connection [most likely] contributing to the latency.

Pros: Perfect as a BluRay/ DVD & streaming player. Video CPU provides excellent color rendering, sharp images and seamless video.

Cons: Direct Access feature needs work to detect a 5g connection.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Debary, FL on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 4k player is a great piece of equipment. Smooth, quite and fast operation. Almost no delay when commanded to open and close to play. Also the upgrade of DVD's adds additional clarity to the viewing experience. Playing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The main reason I ordered the DP-UB420 was that it has a optical digital output to run into my 2008 Yamaha receiver which has no HDMI. The unit handles just about anything I throw at it, including videos on USB, photos on DVD, mp3 files, etc. Video and audio are excellent even on my non-4K TV. Wi-Fi setup was quick and easy. Unit arrived with the latest firmware, but it does allow updates. Netflix, Amazon & YouTube are installed but the unit cannot add new network apps which is a disappointment. I'm sure I'll find other features to my liking in time to come on the DP-UB420.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does not work as well as my Samsing which paired with my TV

Pros: Great picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Winter Garden, FL on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Hillsdale, MI on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome DVD player. Stunning graphics, and we don't even have a high end TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent performance, very clean design. Rapid delivery, thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does a good was hoping the upscale would be better Crutchfield is great to deal with great tech support and service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from West Jefferson, NC on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this player because of previous favorable comments. The best feature of this player is that it has two HDMI outputs, one that supports video and audio, and one that supports audio only. This last feature is useful if you just want to connect your DVD player to a powered soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build quality is a bit cheap feeling (lightweight, no display) and it is a hair slow to load and get started. It's streaming capabilities are mediocre as well. With the above exceptions, in every other way, this player is top notch. The HDR mapping is brilliant and only otherwise available in players at double the cost. I have this paired with a JVC Projector and the combination is spectacular. This player is a no brainier for anyone with a projector and the value simply cannot be beat.

Pros: HDR Mapping Value!!! Overall Picture Quality

Cons: "Feels" cheap Remote is kind of "basic" Streaming capabilities are average

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Better than 20/20 ...

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Aye yo, watch a 4K on this thing and it's like looking into the future with crisp and clarity! Better than 20/20 vision!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tremenda calidad

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Another great experience

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't taken it out of the box yet....will be this week....doesn't matter though, with Crutchfields reputation and their product lineup, I am certain this will probably be another winner. Keep up the good work!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 16 found this helpful

Didn't live up to the expectation

Eddie from Jacksonville, FL on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I bought this 4K player. The flagship Panasonic 4K player is one of the best on the market so I thought this might be a decent player. I have an oppo blu ray player that did significantly better than this 4K model. lol hen I used my ps4 as a blue ray for comparison. My ps4 did significantly better with a blue ray than this 4K player did. This gave me very washed out blacks and white tones. I was able to get SIGNIFICANTLY superior resolution out of a blu ray than on 4K. Even the pixelation was as worse. Do yourself the favor and at least go to the next model. I thought I met let others know that are trying to save some money. It just underwhelmed. I wish there were reviews to explain it to me and I would have just went with the flagship model. Which is worth the money.

Pros: Price

Cons: Significantly inferior 4K picture quality even compared to a ps4 blu ray.

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
Eddie contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 16 found this helpful

Sometimes you just don't know

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had read somewhere before I got this unit on how slow it was using Netflix or other streaming services. Well I'm here to say no such issues with my player from Crutchfield. Panasonic UB420 is a winner! I'm getting closer to adding another stereo amp to my new home theater system. I'm going to go with a vintage BGW 250D. I want to see if my Pioneer SP-EBS73LR will mate with it.

Pros: Compact

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from San Leandro, CA on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality. After reading a review that stated this player would not play mp4 movies I am glad to say that this play does play mp4 movies from the usb outlet. Happy with purchase and price and Crutchfield delivery was fast.

Pros: Excellent picture. Plays mp4 as well as lots of other formats.

Cons: None found yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica, NY on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Professional Handling is excellent. Definitely i will recommend though i am from Saudi Arabia. Customer Service is more than excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great picture quality, but...

Crutchfield customer from Ramsey, NJ on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, let me say that the 4K picture quality from this payer is really excellent, especially for the money. I purchased it as a replacement for the Sony UBP-X700, which is also a very good player. I got because of the smaller size and I was going to give the Sony to my son. I like the menu system and how it operates. The ONLY reason I gave it only 3 stars is because whenever I play a 4K disc that offers Dolby Atmos and/or Dolby Vision , which this player does not support, it "hiccups" by either freezing the picture or distorting it temporarily. I spoke with Panasonic twice about this, but there didn't seem to be any way around it. Unfortunately, I had to return the player, but on the upside, Crutchfield made the return process, which I've not used previously, completely painless. A good player, but just not for me.

Pros: Picture quality, easy-to-use remote, good (not great) menu system, good buy for the money

Cons: does not deal well with discs that have Dolby Atmos and/or Dolby Vision

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Very User Friendly

Crutchfield customer from Davidson, NC on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connection to my amplifier was very easy and the device setup menu is straightforward and very user friendly. The Crutchfield rep was fantastic and walked me through conversion from RCA jacks from my old unit to HDMI for both Audio and Video.

Pros: User Friendly, great performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

I'm becoming a Panasonic fan.

Arbee from Pikeville, KY on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If i were basing this on my quality expectations and Blu Ray playback I would give it more than 5 stars. Here's why: I'm replacing a 9 year old Panasonic Blu Ray player that still functions perfectly. So far out of 3 discs (not a good test probably) it's been flawless on playback. It boots and reads fast. I can't imagine it making any audible noise during playback unless you have your head close to it and muted the TV. The downside is, the streaming app interface is exactly the same as the 9 year old it's replacing. Youtube and a couple of apps that have been stripped from the old player in an update are back, but the interface is still dated and still not as fast and fluid as it should be. My humble recommendation is if you are buying it strictly for a player I doubt you will get a better player for the money. Most people have Firesticks and Rokus anyway. I was tempted to give it 4 stars but didn't really feel that fair with the number of streaming options available on other platforms and no experience with the few competitors. As usual, Crutchfield made buying easy. Thanks

Pros: Fast and quiet enough. Great image quality. No hiccups

Cons: Dated and limited streaming interface

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Washington, MO on 4/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a Sony blue ray that went to the bedroom. This was easy to set up and was much faster processing requests and starting up. The only thing I see as a negative is no display. It does show you on the TV where you are on the disc so does it really matter? Overall, a big step up from the previous one.

Pros: Fast

Cons: No display

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good Value

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 stars for lack of Dolby Vision Works very will with HDR 10 A bit light, tends to slide around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I have already recommended Crutchffield to several friends

Crutchfield customer from Runnemede, NJ on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Place an order line with no issues at all. Product was delivered the next day and it was perfectly packaged, not always the case. The DVD was in perfect condition. Installed and unused the same day it was delivered. I have recommended Crutchfield to several friends and coworkers. I will be buying again from Crutchfield

Pros: Exactly service and reliable/dependable!

Cons: Nine at this time

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Nice unit.

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I require. It also turns on the tv as I just turn my DVD player. Convenient. Great picture.

Pros: Great picture and easy to use.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, NY on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the first time that I had ordered from Crutchfield and I received the item in the time they said. So far the player does everything as advertised. It has enhanced my DVD's .I would recommend Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Ok product

Crutchfield customer from Big Pine, CA on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Light weight cheap feel. Menu options are goofy and lack clarity of what different settings do. Picture is good.

Pros: Picture good

Cons: Goofy menu.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great Blueray player and service.

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great blue ray player it was easy to setup and the picture and sound output are excellent and the price is very affordable. My great-granddaughter was bummed when our old unit failed, she loves to play music (especially her Frozen II sound track) while dancing and jumping on a mini indoor trampoline. The unit was well packaged and arrived in excellent condition (2) days after it was ordered. My dog liked your degradable packing peanuts , he snacked on a few before I could get them out of his reach.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Optioneup Blu-Ray

Crutchfield customer from Mary Esther, FL on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good looking unit, small footprint, lots of features.

Pros: All in one unit, has apps loaded, great choice for an older TV

Cons: Remote control is pretty blah, on screen audio prompts are aggravating.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Poor quality as comared t older Panasonic DVD-

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace an older Panasonic Blue Ray which was not 4K ultra H.D. This unit does not look as good as the older unit and has many plastic parts. (i.e.) When I open the DVD drawer the plastic cover stays open. When I remove the DVD the plastic cover remains open. I believe I will be returning it for a better model. Possibly an LG since I have an LG OLED TV. Crutchfield has been great t work with.

Pros: Easy to install. Good sale price

Cons: Questionable quality - Lots of plastic - Does not come with HDMI cable.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Solid

Crutchfield customer from Ludington, MI on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does everything well - music cds to blu ray movies, and seems well built. Good price too - don't see what you gain by paying more...

Pros: Does everything well

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good but be sure you have the latest equipment

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took me a little while to set it up but had trouble with Blue Ray Discs displaying the image. There was sound but no image. However, thanks to a Crutchfield tech who helped me change a couple of advanced settings the Panasonic DVD player displayed a good image, not great. That's why the 4 stars. Other than that everything is going well and have experienced no problems connecting to the internet. I have a 8 year old Samsung TV and maybe that's why images from Blue Ray Discs are good but not outstanding. Sound is good but not again not outstanding. I have a 7 year Onkyo receiver, maybe that's why. But for the price I paid for this Panasonic DVD player I am satisfied. Maybe when I migrate to a 4k TV and to a more modern audio receiver that has all the whisles, things will change. Be sure to take advantage of the free tech help that is provided by Crutchfield should you encounter a problem with any DVD player you buy from them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Ok for the price.

Crutchfield customer from York, SC on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price it is a good unit. There is a bit more noise to the mechanical system than I would like, I hope this will not affect the longevity of it.

Pros: Cost, great picture

Cons: Noise of mechanism

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Horse Shoe, NC on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound, Picture and Value! 20 year old + DVD's look and sound terrific, can't wait to try a new 4k DVD

Pros: Compact Design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from New Brighton, PA on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THIS ITEM HAS PERFORMED AS EXPECTED. NOT ONE ISSUE HAS BEEN REPORTED OR ENCOUNTERED.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great pea to go with a Q60R carrot

Crutchfield customer from Harlan, IA on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall Love this Blu-ray player, I have it setup with a Samsung Q60R TV. Both support HDR10+ and gives a great picture. I was originally looking at the DP-UB820 which adds Dolby Vision however the Q60R doesn't support this so no gain for a player that is double the price. I read a few reviews that claimed setup was difficult but I didn't feel that way. It does have a very light weight feel and I can see how this can create a cheap feel for some users but it's all about performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Disc Player

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with this purchase. I replaced a DVD/VCR (what is that?) combo, so you can tell I only update when necessary. This unit was chosen because it has 4K capability and I want some future-proofing. (Although I don't have a capable TV.) The price point was good. I didn't need the features available on the more expensive models. Setup was very easy; I'd say 15-20 minutes to finish going through all the menus. I didn't change anything in the advanced menus, but I looked at them. Connection to my router via Wi-Fi only took a couple minutes and has been rock solid ever since. I haven't set up Amazon yet, but Netflix is working flawlessly. Tested out all the discs I had, including Blu-Ray, DVD and CD (commercial and my own compilations). Everything played without any problems. The only capability that's lacking I would be interested in is SACD, and that is a minor issue. Other players had it, so I could have chosen one of them. In the reviews, Panasonic was clearly ahead of Sony (who has been going steadily downhill for decades). I would recommend this unit to anyone looking to upgrade to Blu-Ray, who doesn't want (or need) lots of capability. The 4K compatibility will also give some ability to adapt as standards change.

Pros: Flawless operation | Easy setup | 4K capable | Good value

Cons: Doesn't play SACD

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, and works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Metter, GA on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is simply amazing. You need to "tweak" some settings to get the best video and audio, but they are very simple to implement. The picture is absolutely breath taking. The HDR adjustments are very useful to fine tune an HDR formatted disc. I also like the automatic HDR and UHD features. And the sound just as awesome. I am using the video to my OLED, and the audio straight to my Yamaha 1040 receiver. I am more than pleased with this purchase!

Pros: Outstanding picture and sound!

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Player for a reasonable price!

Crutchfield customer from Portola Valley, CA on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, easy setup, doesn't break the bank. Panasonic is a great reliable brand.

Pros: Reliability and cost

Cons: Not full featured

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, FL on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first BluRay not built by Sony I have owned. The picture and sound quality are excellent at this price point. Very easy to set up and is completely controllable with my Harmony remote. I am used to the interphase of the sony and this unit seems to fall a bit short on this front but all my streaming in on my TCL 6 series. If you need to stream with your bluray this may not offer enough but for playing disks it cant be beat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

RAYMOND from Beverly Hills, FL on 2/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this player. Had a Samsung 3D blue ray up scaling player but I get a much better picture streaming Netflix with this Panasonic player on a dumb 1080P tv. Regular dvds are up scaled and I can see detail I never noticed before. My previous Samsung player also up scaled dvds but not as good as this Panasonic. Really glad I called Crutchfield since I got some solid advice and feed back from Eric in sales support. This player is super simple to use and is pretty much already set up right out of the box. Also the positive reviews and reliability are correct on this player. I am now all set up for when its time to buy a 4k tv. Will rely on Crutchfield pointing me in the right direction.

Pros: Great picture streaming and DVDS up scaling. Easy set up and remote super easy to use. Great price.

Cons: none unless you need a lot of apps.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shows great picture and works well with the Denon 3500h

Pros: Loads fairly quick, Shows great picture and looks great as well

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Picture Improvement, but Build Quality and Remote Function Regression

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, NC on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my Panasonic DP-RP62 DVD player(still working) with this, because Panasonic no longer makes just a Blu-Ray player, which is all that I wanted. I still have a Panasonic 1080P plasma tv, so was not interested in all the 4K stuff. I also don't have internet at home, due to living out in the country, so all the online apps were of no interest to me. Comparing it to my old, made in Japan DVD player, the only thing that this improves is the picture, which is great. It is not built nearly as well as my old player, there is no dispay on the front for playing CDs, and the remote on the new player is a joke, compared to the remote on my old one. The remote size is about the same, but the new one lost many functions that are on the old remote, such as zoom, subtitle, cinema mode, setup, program, dialogue enhancer. On the old player, if I wanted to turn on subtitles after starting a British movie, I just hit the subtitle key on the remote. I still haven't figured out how to turn on the subtitles after starting a movie, on the new one. I gave it 3 stars for the great picture and sound on Blu-ray disks, and the upscaling does a good job on a standard DVD. Other than that,I consider it a large step backwards from my 17 yr old player.

Pros: Picture and Sound

Cons: Build Quality and Remote Function

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from South Haven, MI on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, great picture quality. Excellent value for the $$.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Brecksville, OH on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Video and audio performance are super. Very fast loading of 4K blurays. Not all the features one might like but the price is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Moca, PR on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Blu-ray, dont have double vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Remote is your only option.

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. I'd give it 5 Stars if it had touch controls on the player instead of only being able to use the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, NJ on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit.Small, light and easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 2/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an efficient, compact player that does what it needs to.

Pros: Easy to navigate. Plays Blu-ray disks as advertised.

Cons: Doesn't see media files on DVD disks, so won't replace your DVD player. Requires HDMI to connect.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best player for the money

David from ARNOLD, MO on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works flawlessly great picture does not freeze up like my Sony this is my 6th blu-ray player and never had a problem with any of them highly recommend this unit.

Pros: Great picture and sound small compact unit

Cons: No display on front of unit A little noisy on start up

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, IA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Had an issue that ended up being my hdmi cable. Customer service was great when I called with the issue I had. I was shocked how great the customer service was.

Pros: All pros

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, MA on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to hook up to my 4K TV Attach an hdmi cable from tv to the Blu-ray player and it was all set to go. I did have to get an hdmi to rca converter to hook up my receiver, everything is working great. Can't beat the price for everything this Blu-ray has to offer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Products and Service

Crutchfield customer from Louisburg, NC on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I always prefer dealing with Crutchfield and their top notch technical support staff. Panasonic media players are consistently the best in the consumer market place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Player

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth City, NC on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price point, this is an excellent player for discs. It's also loaded with many features for tweaking video. Picture quality is excellent but the onboard apps are problematic at times.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Cayey, PR on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good and powerful machine!

Pros: You can ask more for the price!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Blackshear, GA on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It plays all of my movies and the picture seems brighter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was as expected but couldn't pass up the price after reading other reviews

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture quality is excellent due to HCX chip in this player. Very easy to set up and like various option to adjust picture quality. Only drawback is missing Dolby Vision (DV). But overall very solid player for picture and sound with sale price. I Would highly recommend.

Pros: HCX chip for high end picture quality HDR customization Very easy to setup

Cons: No Dolby Vision ( DV)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Crutchfield customer from Natchez, MS on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent product. It has everything I need without too many bells and whistles.

Pros: Great features

Cons: Small remote control designed for small hands.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Mont Alto, PA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best 4k Bluray player for the money as long as you don't need Dolby Vision. I waited for Crutchfield to put it on sale and jumped on it immediately. I hooked it up immediately and played a couple 4k movies with my 82" Samsung Q82R. Very nice combination that looks great. No complaints whatsoever. I was going to go with the 820, but I couldn't justify the jump in price.

Pros: Great bargain

Cons: No Dolby Vision

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good for the price

Crutchfield customer from Boyce, LA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far haven't used it much. It seems pretty lightweight. I played a cd with it and it sounded very good (Beatles Abbey Road Delux). Also watched an old Columbo dvd. It upscaled the image well. For the price I am very satisfied. I have it hooked up to a Marantz NR 1609.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic Player Scores

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For my purposes, an excellent machine. I didn't need Dolby Vision or super high end surround options on this, so no points deducted. I did need brilliant 4K UHD HDR picture, easy navigation, and perfectly listenable aiudio playback. Set up was a breeze, and disc playback was stable and completely reliable - totally unlike the similarly priced Sony player I had to send back (to a different retailer) which was total junk. Never had a problem with Panasonic.

Pros: Delightful UHD HDR picture Easy set-up Stable, reliable, does what it says it will do Good audio flexibility

Cons: For me,, none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP UB420

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Bch, VA on 1/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome ?? 4k player with lots of HDR customization and the HCX chip for less than $500

Pros: HDR options Picture Sound

Cons: Only 3 media player options

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Smithville, MO on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Plays discs that other players would refuse to play with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from New City, NY on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and very well packaged. Very easy to set up. The picture quality is noticeably superior to my previous player. Would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Player - Please give it a front panel display

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this player to replace a brand new Sony UPB-X800M2 unit that refused to play standard DVDs. Crutchfield's great technical support and return policy made that process simple. This Panasonic unit was simple to setup although the firmware update took much longer than I expected. The menu interface is simple and easy to use and the player has a small footprint compared to other DVD players. The picture quality (connected to my LG OLED TV) has been outstanding and the player syncs well with the TV and my Bose Soundbar 700 via CEC. The only reason I didn't give this player 5 stars is that it really should have a display on the front panel so you can tell what it's doing. All you get is a little red light to let you know it's turned on. The lack of display seems to be typical of players in this price range but I'd gladly pay a few extra dollars for a small display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Bethel, VT on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable product, the 4k Blu-ray player of 2019 It doesn't matter that this player lacks Dolby vision because the HDR optimizer is just as good. I highly recommended this player

Pros: All good

Cons: Lack of display is going a little cheap

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Orange Park, FL on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, no issues or problems. Connects n works great with my samsung Q70R tv

Pros: Great dvd player, great price, but really great dvd player. Works perfectly for me n my wants

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great player, great price

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good player, if you are tired of the Sony garbage, then this is your player, great video and audio quality, was on sale so I bought 2. Can't beat Crutchfield best in the business

Pros: Great video and audio quality. Buy it if your tired of the Sony garbage

Cons: Absolutely nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bargain Powerhouse

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DP-UB420 fills a need I had within my home theater. I feel that running a projector with HDR content is part science and part art. The UB420's HDR Optimizer allows you to dial in your HDR picture for each movie. Rather than just compromise on one setting with a static calibration you can change the settings on the fly. As I said, part science and part art. I gave it 4 stars because I know the 820 or 9000 are more solidly built. Otherwise it's quite a bargain for the features.

Pros: HDR Optimizer

Cons: Not much but you can pay more for higher build quality in the 820 or 9000.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! A perfect match with my Samsung Q80 75."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, VA on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player to get 4K content and movies. Works well with my JVC projector.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB420 4k Player

Crutchfield customer from Willow Spring, NC on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice 4k Blu Ray player, works just fine, small and compact, especially for the price, glad I bought it.

Pros: Dialogue enhancement

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional 4K Blu-ray player

Crutchfield customer from Aztec, NM on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little 4K Blu-ray player. The picture quality if amazing and the unit is very easy to use and set up. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons: Not really a con but the player has no visual readout on the front panel. Of course, I knew this before I bought it. Not a problem though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superior Video to Oppo 203

C Jay from West Des Moines, IA on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful budget player. Lacks Dolby Vision but other than that it puts out video comparable to the much more expensive Panasonic UB820 and UB9000 models and beats my Oppo 203. Very basic remote and build quality to keep the price low, but you can always go to eBay for upgraded backlit remote from the UB9000 model for under $20. Highly recommended if you don't need Dolby Vision or the audiophile upgrades of the more expensive Panasonic players. As a bonus it can play most region B and C Blu-rays--just hit Stop on remote when region error message appears and then hit Top Menu button once or twice, though this trick doesn't work for DVDs.

Pros: Price Superior video

Cons: No Dolby Vision Cheaply made Basic remote

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP