Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB820

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

Panasonic DP-UB820

Panasonic DP-UB820

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

99 reviews
View this product

Unbeatable for the money

Crutchfield customer from Danville, VA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does an excellent job with 4K sources and also upscaling Blu-ray. Sound is impressive. Limited selection of apps and no VUDU. App interface is a bit confusing and antiquated. Easy set up.

Pros: Outstanding video and audio.

Cons: App selection and interface.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pretty Good

Crutchfield customer from Spokane Valley, WA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared to an OPPO 103, here is what the Panasonic DP-UB820 sounds like: Pros: Picture is awesome. Dialogue seems more "real". Handles newer sound formats well (which the OPPO cannot). Two HDMI outs to separate sound from picture. Can be used with only one HDMI out. Good flexibility for setup (although a bit tedious). Cons: Both the highs and the lows are not open or airy, especially on special effects and demonstration disks. Bass is boomy and not tightly controlled. Highs are shallow. Remote is disappointing and not backlite.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP - UB820

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this about a month and no issues. The unit was easy to set up. Great picture and sound. Replaces an older Panasonic blu-ray player, and the 820 is a much better experience all around. Loads dics very fast. I do not use it for streaming. Fast shipping from Crutchfield.

Pros: Great picture and sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from North Kingstown, RI on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to this player from an Oppo UDP-203. I say upgraded because, while Oppo still provides support, they got out of the physical media Blu Ray game. So far this player has performed in every way I had hoped. Accessing the player menu while the disc tray is empty makes it easy to configure. Accessing the menu while a disc is in the player is a touch cryptic, but it's possible. My only complaint is the remote looks and feels like the same remote you would expect to be included with an $80 player. I suspect this is done to save costs, and if you're a real cinephile, I suppose they expect you would upgrade to a high end 3rd party remote

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The Gold Standard of 4K players!

James from Bucyrus, OH on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional product. The picture and sound quality is a noticeable upgrade the moment you start to watch a blu-ray or 4K movie. Easy to set up, plenty of options for fine tuning the picture settings to your liking. The HDR optimizer alone is real star feature. It really brings out extra detail and gives it that little extra something that less expensive players just don't have. This is the product to have if you're into 4K and blu-ray movies!

Pros: HDR optimizer is a game changer. Excellent picture & sound quality. Numerous setting options to fine tune the picture & sound

Cons: All plastic build gives it a less than premium feel and it could greatly benefit from a metal chassis. The entire front flap drops down when loading/unloading a disc which seems like an unnecessary design function.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great player but there are still a few wish list items.

Crutchfield customer from Homosassa, FL on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great audio and video. Runs quiet. Very low lag opening and closing drawer. Really like the digital display for elapsed time. Power on/off is quick also. Now for the wish list: 1. Wish there were a single button to switch between elapsed time and time remaining showing on the digital display. Can get time remaining but a two step process using the STATUS button. 2. Wish there were a single button to cycle through subtitles. Again a two step process using the AUDIO button. 3. Wish the remote was back lit. All in all an excellent player!

Pros: Excellent audio and video. Runs quiet. Drawer opens/closes promptly. Quick power on/off. Love digital display showing elapsed time.

Cons: Time remaining cannot be shown on digital display. Two step process to change subtitles. Remote not backlit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Close to perfect

Crutchfield customer from Beverly Hills, MI on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great budget player. Picture is superb, passes Dolby Atmos & DTS X to be processed in receiver/pre amp. A little on the wimpy side compared to its big brother the ub 9000. Not rack mountable.

Pros: Excellent picture, great transport, dual HDMI outputs.

Cons: Remote is not backlit, no app for remote, cheap plastic look, compared to the UB 9000, no streaming music services (Tidal).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great but Netflix vieweres beware!!

Roger from REDLANDS, CA on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very impressed with everything about this player. The picture is excellent and it plays many different formats od CDs. Then I started streaming. Amazon was great and all was good until I started watching Netflix. Everything was going fine and then the screen would blink black on and off about 5 times, then it was good for a minute and then the blinking repeated. Then it was good for 15 minutes and the cycle repeated. It is very irritating. I googled the problem and found out it is a common issue with some DVD players and there is no fix even being looked at. I had a Sony Bluray and never had any problems. So for everything else, it is great but if you watch a lot of Netflix you may want to stay with Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up was simple and finished in 10 minutes with no issues. I played a few Blu Ray discs that I've watched many times before and I can tell you the picture is a little better than my old Oppo bdp-93 could produce.I'm looking forward to watching a 4K movie when I replace my Pioneer Elite 60 inch plasma with a new Sony 4K Oled.

Pros: Easy set up, excellent picture and sound.

Cons: None that I can see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far, so good.

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, IN on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Only had this unit a couple weeks but it does what it's supposed to do. Setup was easy. Shipment was fast. Appears to be a good player. The only "negative" for me is that the only way to open the tray is with the remote - no button on the front of the machine. My 12 year old Sony player finally reached that point where it inconsistently refused to play some discs. Hopefully this player will prove to be dependable - time will tell.

Pros: Very easy setup, fast loading, easy operation.

Cons: No open/close button on machine

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent 4k blu ray player. Plays all 4 hdr formats. Audio is amazing. Crutchfield price was excellent and shipping was fast.

Pros: Picture Audio Tonemapping

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

INCREDIBLE Picture! Loads discs fast! Fantastic value

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first foray into 4k and I purchased a new Sony A8H OLED to accompany this player. I didn't want to cheap out and buy the cheapest 4k player I could find. I started out by looking at a comparable Sony model that cost $100 more but after watching hours of reviews on Youtube and reading countless articles I could not find another 4k player that outshined this particular model (outside of Panasonic's flagship 9000 model - which was over twice as much). The pluses here are that this particular device has the same little engine driving this one as it does their top-end model so the picture quality is top notch. It outclassed the Sony player I was considering in terms of both picture quality and ease of use - the Sony model (forgive me I can't remember the exact model offhand but it was $500) required you to manually adjust to select Dolby Vision, HDR settings, etc. each time you'd put a new disc in. The pass-through eARC function works well as well with no issues being plugged into my LG soundbar. I've never seen movies look this amazing. Discs also load MUCH faster than either of my old BluRay players. I appreciate the streamlined smooth front to the player as it creates a seamless appearance. Fantastic little device. I would recommend this to everyone looking to upgrade their home theater experience.

Pros: Same processor as their flagship 9000 model, good price, outstanding picture

Cons: If planning to use this for Netflix, Prime video, etc. the selection screen to get to those apps moves very slowly. I'd recommend only buying this for actual 4k discs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP - ub820

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't have made a better choice in choosing the Panasonic DP - ub820. In the company crutchfield what's a great company to order from. And I'd order again from them and I will order another Panasonic DP ub820 if I had another TV the box that they packed it in was in great condition the manufacturer box was in great condition and love Panasonic DP ub820 what's in crate condition. I love this 4K Blu-ray player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Stunning picture quality!

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, NH on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously had the Sony UBPX700. A great little unit for sure, that many excellent reviews can't be wrong :). However being the audio/ht - phile that I am I couldn't help but wonder if upgrading to this Panasonic unit would be worth double the cost of the Sony. Then I noticed this unit was on sale and just couldn't resist and pulled the trigger. I'm like that ??! Plus I had read that now that the Oppo units are no longer available the Panasonic units were the next best thing. Well they truly are. I honestly hadn't expected to see a big difference in picture quality. I was shocked at the immediate "punch" in picture depth, quality, and image that the Panny delivered. I have spent quite a bit of time and money (MUCH more money than time??) on my HT system and this unit was the perfect upgrade worthy of my system! If you're on the fence about this unit just do it. It's worth it!

Pros: Exceptional picture depth and quality!

Cons: A little pricey but you do get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Best HDR Player You Will Find At This Price

Christopher from BEAVERCREEK, OH on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While you do pay a premium for this player, it's ultimately worth it. Every other player I have bought or looked at with Dolby Vision below this price point winds up being unreliable and suffers from regular playback issues like freezing and skipping. After watching a variety of disks on this player I can say I have had zero issues with it. To add to that, for the extra you pay compared to other players, you get analog audio, which I know several will appreciate. The big extra I enjoy though is the HDR optimizer. While it may sound like a gimmick feature at first, I was genuinely impressed with how well it brought out extra detail in HDR 10 content while still keeping the HDR impact intact. And if you don't like the default settings there's plenty of customization too. Its settings for bright viewing environments also work better than the default bright HDR settings on my TV. I highly recommend this player if you want to enjoy HDR Blu-Rays.

Pros: - Flawless playback - Dolby Vision and HDR 10+ support - HDR Optimizer is a game changer for HDR 10

Cons: - A bit pricey - Streaming apps are lacking compared to a dedicated device - Plastic Build

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far very pleased with this 4K Blu-ray player. I've watched the first half of Superman and it overall looks and sounds awesome! Have been very pleased with Crutchfield as well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good player. Critically missing remote button. Flip panel dumb.

Ryan from East Wenatchee on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far no issues with the player itself. But, there is NO button on the remote to access a DVD's main menu screen. Something every other player has! To get to the menu, you have to go to the blu-ray player's configuration options menu, then scroll down to "menu". So 8 or so remote clicks for what should only take one. The pop-up menu and top menu buttons on the remote don't do it. If there was a direct remote code that I could enter on a smart remote, that would be fine, but there isn't (that I can find). Ridiculous. I like the readout on the front. Do not like the full width flip-down front panel. In a tight space, can interfere with smart remote IR extenders, and make direct attachment of IR emitters impractical. I don't understand why it's there.

Pros: Good output quality.

Cons: Missing remote "menu" button. Flip down front panel is pointless and troublesome.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value and Quality

Crutchfield customer from Aledo, TX on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture quality is just great on this device. The ability to tune to the type of television is a big part of the sophistication in the unit. Excellent load time and start up, with no unpleasing delay. Great upscaling of both bluray and DVD media. I only wish it would play my audio DVD media to reduce one more device in the cabinet. But, overall, very happy with this machine.

Pros: Excellent video reproduction, and upscaling. Sophisticated 4K display compatibility options. High quality Digital to Audio codec handling.

Cons: Doesn't handle multi-channel audio DVD disks.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Crutchfield customer from Waukee, IA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. Nothing bad and nothing good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

This Panasonic is excellent

Crutchfield customer from Harleysville, PA on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has been stable and performs well. Picture quality is excellent and the UI is easy to maneuver. I'm glad I spent a bit more for a medium priced player.

Pros: PQ, UI, No menu diving to select Dolby Vision.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great 4K UHD, up-scaling, with WiFi, Blu-ray Player!

Pros: Very good SD DVD up-scaling when watching on a 4K UHD screen.

Cons: Panasonic's included Remote could have been 'back-lit' for ease of button selection while watching movies in a darkened room.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best 4K Blue Ray Player on the market.

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought that the 4k blue ray on my Xbox was enough but after encountering many issues with it and building my first proper home theather, I was in for a proper 4K blue ray player. Ended up getting this Panasonic UB 820 and I was blown away by the detail in sound and picture quality and all the features available, worlds apart from anything, no wonder people are calling it the best blue ray player on the market.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Player But...

Crutchfield customer from Harris, NY on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great 4k and HD Blu-ray player. More on DVDs to come. The picture and sound are excellent. It's a sturdy, quiet player. Suggest purchasing a smart 4k TV first. Otherwise, the HDCP 2.2 (4k copy protection) will give you headaches. There are not many apps. Prime, YouTube and Netflix are there but little else. If you already have a 4k smart TV you are okay. Stream from the TV. Also, some older DVDs and TV shows on DVD do not automatically stretch to fit the screen like they do on other players. If you can adjust picture size with your TV to remove black bars on the sides you are good to go. Also, Panasonic places it's remote buttons in locations that are different from Sony and Samsung remotes. Takes a little getting used to. I keep my HD Blu-ray player connected to play DVD's. Of course, you forget all of this when you watch a brilliant 4K movie with the latest in HDR and 7.1 sound. Steve Kindig's video and review are what sold me. In fact, he is the main reason I am a Crutchfield customer!

Pros: Great for 4k and HD Blu ray discs

Cons: Short on apps, TV shows do not fill the screen.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great player!

Crutchfield customer from Stoneham, MA on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great PQ and really good audio via OLED and 5.1.2 setup. Had doubts about going back to disc based media, but now a convert. :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent player. The best deal for 4K.

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica Plain, MA on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best player I've had (so far) for 4K. So much more refined and easier to use than the Sony 4K player I had before. The HCX processor for upscaling dvd and Blu-ray seems pretty awesome, as well as the tone mapping that helps with the hdr on my tv. I really wish I just bought this originally. And as always: I really feel good about buying from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Get right out of the box

Crutchfield customer from Mukwonago, WI on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I connected the DP UB820 to an older Samsung 55" tv and was very impressed with the picture. The set up was fast and easy, even figured it out without looking at the manual! The tray is quick to open and close which is one of my pet peeves. I hard wired the ethernet connection for streaming which was also easy to set up and use. Just received and hope to get many years of service from this unit, as with all things if it does not last the test of time short term reviews are useless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Player

Crutchfield customer from Captain Cook, HI on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the player although it took sometime configuring the settings correctly. Not correctly really, out the box and it will play fine, but there is a tremendous amount of tweaking one can do to set this up as you chose.

Pros: Super quiet

Cons: My only complaint is with the on-screen display. When loading a disc you get this box with the top bar appears to be highlighted as in the example above. It always creates doubt for me if the two bars below it aren't highlighted also, does that mean it isn't in 4k. Just a minor complaint but each time it starts me to thinking if it is set up correctly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great player, great price!

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this player because it had great ratings and a lower price than other high end players. I originally bought this player from another retailer but guess what? I saved $100 on Crutchfield! I returned my player and bought one here.

Pros: Great price, awesome picture, sound and features.

Cons: Doesn't *feel* like a high end device, but it does perform like one.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Bishop, CA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent video and audio. not difficult to set up. my 2nd 4K player. had a Sony but sometimes it would stop all on it's own. This is a higher end player so I have great expectations for it. I like that it also has display on the unit, the Sony didn't. Also direct plug in to AC...no inline transformer.

Pros: listed above

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic replacement

Crutchfield customer from Lyford, TX on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The player does everything needed and provides true to life images and sound. Had a Denon DVD-3800BDCI for years and it finally gave up. I was hoping to find a comparable Blu-Ray player that would match what I had, and I found it. And the Panasonic is not only backwards compatible with my current system but will integrate seamlessly when I make the jump to 4K. System components include Denon 3808, Paradigm speakers in 5.1 configuration and a Pioneer Elite Pro151FD plasma tv. Couldn't be happier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Raymond from Youngstown, OH on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was debating which 4 K blueray player was a better choice, Sony or Panasonic. Future proffing was a concern on my part and after many reviews and research, I chose Panasonic. I had a Samsung 4K player and Panasonic did a far more superior job which I recognized immediately. It fits well with my OLED C8. I believe you get what you pay for, in Panasonic I did.

Pros: Easy setup with no issues.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great service and picture

Sonicpunk from East Rutherford, NJ on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the Panasonic DP UB820 on Sunday evening and the package arrive Tuesday afternoon. How is that even possible?first off hats off to Crutchfield and there team for making ordering with such ease. Now back to the player itself. When I opened the boxing saw this player I was speechless at how beautiful It looked. Yes it is light weight and not constructed with heavy metal like the 9000 but I'm okay with that and understand that is how they kept the cost down. The machine has the same video processing as the higher end United and that is what was most important to me. After viewing a movie it did not let me down. The picture was amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from North Truro, MA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great machine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth Every Cent

HIKENHI from Fresno, CA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure about spending this much on a UHD Blu-Ray Player, but after reading enough different reviews, I started to realize that the high end Sony models could not render the colors the way the Panasonic Models do and I'm pretty sure that's accurate after experiencing it for myself. I like the overall look of this unit and I especially like the feel of the contour of the remote in my hand, although I wish the menu return button was in the lower left like most remotes. The menus offer a lot of customization of the video and sound and especially the HDR features which is what these Panasonic UHD Blu-Ray Players are known well know for if you read the reviews. I'm running the video directly to my 2019 75" Samsung Q70 QLED 4K TV to not loose any of the Video Codecs which are more on par with my newer TV and less so with my older 4K Receiver. I'm using the ARC HDMI on the TV to return the Audio to my Yamaha Adventage 7.1 Dolby Atmos Receiver. I'm using 8k grade HDMI cables throughout to give the system as much available bandwidth as possible. I'm have 7.2 with Klipsch Reference Tower Speakers and my surround channels are elevated and focused down towards the viewer. I'm most impressed with my first UHD Blu-Ray player experience, "Mad Max Furry Road UHD," and I'm really glad I bought the Panasonic model. If you dump $7,000 into a Entertainment System, you don't want to the full experience by not being willing to spend a little more on a UHD Blu-Ray Player--Trust Me!

Pros: Quality

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A Good Player set up was a breeze

Pros: very quiet, loads pretty fast

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Troy, NY on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent improved both audio and video. Easy to use. Out performed our smart tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, MA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been a Great 4K Blu-Ray player so far. Does a great job with upscaling regular movies to 4K quality. Well built! Great price! It loads disc's really fast and has plenty of bells and whistles that I haven't even had a chance to play with. Than you Crutchfield for the quick delivery!

Pros: Great product plenty of options and a great player for the money.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Venice, FL on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and stats. Easy to set up etc. I have the Samsung 82" 8K TV I bought from Crutchfield and love it. The con I have is when using NetFlix on this device it does not show Ultra 4K HD format available as my Samsung's TV Netflix option which does provide that Ultra 4K HD option on movies and programs. That being said great product.

Pros: Excellent stats. Easy set up and great sound production with the latest sound fields like Atmos etc.

Cons: Does not give you the option or availability to choose on their NetFlix app Ultra 4K HD movies .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Glen Oaks, NY on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. Beautiful picture, amazing audio and very easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Why Did I Wait So Long

Crutchfield customer from Grand Blanc, MI on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I kept putting off buying this player. I currently have a Sony UPB-X820 which played 4K disks with great clarity. I purchased a Sony Bravia TV and the player in December of 2017. Both units were supposed to receive a Dolby Vision firmware upgrade. The TV was capable of the upgrade but the X800 player was not. After reading that the upgrade couldn't happen because of the internal chip I made the decision to buy the DP-UB820 with Dolby Vision. The UB820 plays disk videos with awesome clean and clear picture. It up-scales DVDs and regular Blu-ray disks impressively. Whether the movie is using HDR or Dolby Vision the picture really jumps off the screen. I also like the feature of being able to add a 4K 3840x2160 picture of your choice as the player background. JPG file works, PNG files don't and I didn't try Bitmap files. I've owned this unit for 2-1/2 weeks and I'm both impressed and very satisfied. One thing that is disappointing is this unit WILL NOT PLAY lossless audio from an external HDD storage. The video plays fine but without audio. Files like MKV files ripped with lossless audio won't play. They do play through my Plex app on my Roku device. Don't let this oversight by Panasonic stop you from buying this player. Thank you to Crutchfield for passing on the discounted refund to me two weeks after my purchase. That was a bonus.

Pros: Awesome picture Dolby Vision and HDR Up-scales DVDs & Blu-rays Awesome sound transfer as well.

Cons: Doesn't play lossless audio for an external HDD storage. MKV files with lossless audio will play WITHOUT sound.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from an older Sony player from 2012, so I was expecting the 820 to be better, and it is. I think the only thing I changed was to set sharpness to +1. Oh, and display type to High Luminance LCD to match my Vizio PX-75. I've watched a few 4k HDR movies, and the picture is amazing. The BBC's Planet Earth II is stunning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied but not Overwhelmed

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Oppo 103 player was a reference standard for A/V quality and I purchased the UB820 to take advantage of the display capability of my new 4K TV. There is a subtle (not remarkable) improvement in picture and sound quality playing blu-ray discs, just as I found a subtle (not remarkable) improvement in picture quality upgrading from my 2K to 4K TV. Hoped to take advantage of the upgraded video processing to stream, but pic and sound are no better than via my 4K Fire Stick. The non-backlit remote and clunky/slow internet interface both disappoint. 4K quality via streaming leaves me wanting: it does not approach what one gets from a disc, where the real magic of 4K lies. I prefer films on disc, and other than investing in more than a handful of UHD discs for my library (not likely), the market for UHD rentals is not good. Netflix does not offer them, nor will they. Dilemma: as 4K disc sources are limited, do I need to spend this much to only somewhat enhance my viewing experience? I was going to return the player but as it just went on sale, the savings realized through serendipitous timing make my purchase more palatable. Game changer? No. Enhancements to my previous setup? Definitely, but at a price, with a compromise on convenience (that remote).

Pros: Enhanced picture and sound

Cons: Non-backlit, clumsy remote

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

This is the one you want

Brett from Carlisle, PA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is without a doubt the best 4K player available today! It loads faster than anything else I've used and the picture quality is outstanding. Many reviews are critical of the supplied remote and I agree. It's cluttered and cheap. There are a few streaming media apps but if you have a television worthy of this player, it already has the same apps and they probably perform better there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Middle River, MD on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Buy it, you won't regret it

Tim from Oxford, MA on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After careful review of many articles from crutchfield and many other forums I decided to spend the extra 200 or so and step up to the UB820. Without question, or doubt it was the right decision. This is a phenomenal player. The fact that it handles all of the competing HDR formats, is one thing, if you decide to get this unit, the picture if produces will blow you away. From your favorite movie to your 20 year old DVD of Elmos world upscaled to 4k which your daughter squeals with joy over, its amazing. Picture, sound, upscaling, HDR. Its great. On the negative side, the app interface is garbage, but who is buying this for streaming? I didn't, if I had i would have deducted stars, because its terrible,so if you plan to use it as a primary streaming platform its not built for it. This is an awesome 4k player, with a ton of features for playing discs. The options and menus can be overwhelming at first but that's just due to the power of this amazing player. If you want a 4k uhd player that can handle all of the HDR formats, and spit out great audio, and upscale like a beast, buy this now.

Pros: All the HDR Amazing upscaling Amazing quality Exceptional benefit for cost

Cons: Streaming interface is not good Netflix button on remote is annoying

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding image from THIS PLAYER, BLURAY DISC LÒK LIKE 4k and even regular DVD look great on my 120in screen. Am using EPSON 5040Ub projector. It outshines my Oppo 203 (just wish it had a stretch mode for anamorphic movies) it would be perfect) could use better remote, have ordered one for 23.00 dollars. Would still recommend this player for anyone who wants awesome image. I'M REALLY PICKY SINCE I USED TO BE A THEATER PROJECTIONIST AM PLEASED WITH IMAGE THE FOLKS AT CRUTCHFIELD ARE HELPFUL AND KNOW THEIR PRODUCTS Does a great job with HDR ON 4k disc

Pros:

Cons: Wish Panasonic had include d stretch mode

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good picture and great sound,best DVD player I have ever owned

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Best 4K Player for the Money

David from Glendale, AZ on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased my Panasonic DP-820 after reading many reviews, and ratings. My decision to buy this unit was based on the numerous features and a reasonable price. I would recommend this product to anyone using a 4K TV.

Pros: None

Cons: Setup took some time

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from South Haven, MI on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, the player works really well. I'm not a huge fan of the app structure, but I don't really use that function on the player anyway. I replaced a Samsung player that would spontaneously go into sleep mode with this one, so I am happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Wiloughby Hls, OH on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player, modest upgrade over Sony X700, both are great at their respective price points.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

What a Product and what a price.

mirco from Fargo, ND on 2/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great player with all the bells and whistles . Incredible price.

Pros: Simple to operate and simple to set up. Incredible Picture

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome but complex

Crutchfield customer from Palm Springs, CA on 1/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is awesome. My only negative is that the menu is complex and you must spend time with the manual (it's on the internet) to set it up. It's far from "plug and play." The analog 7.1 outputs work well and are perfect for the home theater system that doesn't have HDMI audio capability. Crutchfield's support is unsurpassed and their service is beyond perfect. You can feel comfortable knowing they will back you up if you need them.

Pros: Wonderful and accurate picture and sound. Has analog 7.1 audio outputs. Slim profile and stylish.

Cons: Complex menus that require setup before this machine will work for a particular configuration. Far from "plug and play."

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great replacement for my oppo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Galloway, NJ on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Great DVD and Blu ray video. Connected the audio to my receiver with an optical cable and can now listen to my music cd's .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

James from Deatsville, AL on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I need it to do. Delivers all the current HDR flavors without any problems. Lack of a proper manual in the box is unfortunate. I had to download the full manual to get all the settings right This is not a just plugin and play out of the box. It has lots of features that possibly need to be set, depending on the TV used. I plugged mine into a LG OLED65C9PUA and the sound HDMI into my Sony AV receiver. Make sure you use the proper HDMI cables also. In the end, I am enjoying the best video from 4K Blu-ray discs. I am not using any of the included apps (NETFLIX, etc.). I have an Apple TV 4K for that.

Pros: Once set up with your LCD/OLED, it gives an outstanding video experience.Highly recommend.

Cons: Lack of a full manual in the box.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent product. The 4k movies we use it for are amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Kyle, TX on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HD optimizer is a game changer for anyone using a projector or oled tv. Excellent upscaling. Great picture quality. Great audio quality. I highly recommend the 4K player for any high end ht system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Loganville, GA on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has brought our large screen to life ! From 3D to 2d would buy again !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Woonsocket, RI on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best DVD player I"ve ever owned!! With the Sony XG950 I can now watch HDR content at the brightness level I need! Also very sophisticated menu system too play with. All Good!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

The one to buy!!!!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Pinellas Park, FL on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is a great player!! have been using for a couple of weeks with no problems what so ever. Does a great job with up conversion and is at a great price, Crutchfield is the one to buy from.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit with support for all HDR standards

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my Samsung UHD player for this one because I wanted support for all HDR standards. So far I've been really impressed with the quality and ease of use of this unit. I also appreciate the ability to show full stats (bit rate, color depth, etc) for any media being played. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

good player

Crutchfield customer from French Lick, IN on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

seems to work well enough, however, i'm unable to comment on the advanced features at this time. i am using the player in an older system, so it is currently operating in a downscale compatible mode if you will. it is connected to an older NAD receiver and an older sharp aquos flatscreen. neither will accept the new hdmi 3.2 functions. i wanted to purchase this prior to upgrading my system because i read that disc players are being phased out for streaming services. since i live way out in the woods, and can only get DSL internet service i wanted to purchase a quality player while they are still available. i guess the only downside so far was where it is made. i was surprised to find this was made in china, not japan. because of that, i opted for the extended service plan.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Exceptional Blu-ray Player

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far excellent Blu-ray player, it work better than I imagine, Now that i got a QLED 4K TV this is a most player with a lot of features to increase the quality of every contents. I am very happy with my new player and I highly recommended.

Pros: It has Streaming apps build in. It plays media from HDD of a lot of format. It has a lot of feature to increase the calibration of the TV It is very fast and easy to work with. It has a great upscale capability for old media with less resolution.

Cons: Do not recognize some subtitles format. To play Analog Music need to disable the HDMI output.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Wow, will I ever go to a movie theater again?

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe 4k discs have much better audio and visual quality than streaming does. I had a Samsung 4k blu ray player (which died after 1.5 years) and this Panasonic is superior in every way. Very easy to set up too. Time to get the LG OLED!

Pros: Picture quality Sound Setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Crosslake, MN on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, MN on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have ,easy to use and picture is outstanding. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Gary

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, AR on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs as described.

Pros: Easy to set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820 - Nigh on Perfect.

David from Sunbury, OH on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought my DP-UB820 offered by Crutchfield. Found a bit of a quirk in that if only one high-speed HDMI cable is used to connect to the receiver (Marantz SR7012 in my case) then 4K discs play fine but BlueRay discs encounter random pauses while playing (related to layer switching I think). In this configuration the receiver forwards the video to the TV (Samsung QN75Q9FN in my case). However, if both the DP-UB820 HDMI output ports are used (send video directly to the TV and audio only to the receiver) then it works great. Otherwise, I've had zero problems with this unit in the 11 months I've owned it. In this setup I think Disney's Aladdin 4K disc delivers imagery sharper and more vivid than anything else I think I've ever seen.

Pros: Excellent 4K imagery. Lots of adjustments available to tailor the picture. Plenty of ways to connect video or audio.

Cons: Needs both HDMI ports used for best results.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is awesome I had 2 other players that I will leave nameless that would freeze and just tun off randomly but the Panasonic will play perfectly I've played 5 4k movies in a row without any problems. The picture and sound are truly amazing it will make a standard bluray DVD look almost like a 4k DVD. I definitely would recommend the Panasonic DP UB820 to anyone it's worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Brockport, NY on 11/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this player last week an it does a great job picture an sound.

Pros: Top of the line

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Fort Bragg, NC on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I first off want to say thank you to the amazing staff at Crutchfield for spending their time and energy helping me. As a customer you could not ask for more in customer service and knowledge. Now as for the Panasonic DP-UB820 I can say that I am very saddened by the quality control of this player. I am now on my second player and can't seem to get one that will work for me. I bought this since it had so many good reviews off of many different sites. I didn't go the Sony player route because of the issue that they refuse to fix with the user having to manually switch between Dolby Vision and HDR 10 according the disc spec. Now I am faced with the dilemma of paying out $500 more dollars to step up to the Panasonic DP-UB9000. Do not get the wrong the 820's video processing is very good and audio is good/okay, but the quality is lacking. So far as a whole I have yet to be impressed by Panasonic. Again, thank you Crutchfield staff for helping me through this process.

Pros: Video is very good. Audio is good/okay.

Cons: Quality control issues.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 27 found this helpful

Indian Orchard

Jim from Springfield, MA on 11/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put off getting a 4K player and compatabile TV until now. I purchased an 82 inch Samsung QLED TV and this Panasonic 4K player. The picture is mind boggling when playing a 4K movie. If you are a home theater person, this is a great player, when accopanied by a TV that will handle the new technologies.

Pros: Amazing picture

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Bryan from NJ on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely enjoy this purchase. Would highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal sharp 4K. So far so good. Plays every media.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pleased with my choice

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent easy to use and set up. Multiple outputs in the back to accommodate analog and digital interfaces. The choices and the flexibility in hook ups to audio and TV makes this an easy choice to accommodate any system you have. Did I mention the picture put to my new LG OLED 65B8 was SUPERB!

Pros: Playback quality ; many audio outs and digital outs allows it to accommodate the myriad of system set ups.

Cons: The on screen navigation is rather primitive

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Aztec, NM on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent 4K Blu-ray player, one of the best out there IMO. I'm using it with a 75 inch Samsung QLED tv. The video is great as is the audio. No problems whatsoever on any Blu-Ray disk played. Also, the Apps included with the player work very well too. I'm using a wired ethernet connection to the player through a powerline system (using my in-home electrical wiring) which I believe to be better than using the strong wifi signal my router produces.

Pros: Well built and everything works well.

Cons: None that I can think of at this time. Some have complained regarding the layout and presentation of the Apps menu but that doesn't bother me at all. I'm more interested in the functions of the unit than how "pretty" a menu may or may not be.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Bicknell, IN on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome picture easy setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Viera, FL on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Image quality improved over my old blu-ray player. 4K movies look great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Dan from Lake Geneva, WI on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit in Feb of 2019. The picture is great! The sound is OK. I was really dissapointed with the on/off and open buttons on the top right hand side of the unit. I find that in MANY cases I have to push, pull or force slide these buttons in order to make them function...very frustrating on a unit as expensive as this. The unit also "hung" once this summer which could only be "fixed" by pulling the cord out of the AC power outlet. It was fine after being plugged back in. People are comparing this unit to the OPPO machines... From a Mechanical perspective, the OPPO is far superior IMO. If I had to do it over, I would have spent the extra $$ for the 9000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 15 found this helpful

Top notch 4k Blu Ray

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit, very impressive picture and Audio. Replaced older Oppo(non 4k). highly recommend

Pros: Great picture, even with DVD, Dolby Atmos outstanding

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, well built. The picture is amazing. Lot's of features. Great 4K upscaling of legacy DVD's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Worth the $

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, TN on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome player! Has played every disc flawlessly so far! Love the tone mapping options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Concho, AZ on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remarkably improved sound quality. I listen to my great Jazz/music collection more than ever. Picture resolution/clarity on my older Samsung is so improved that I'm in no rush to buy a new monitor. Remote is mercifully simple and straightforward with buttons that are plainly labelled. Intuitive operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Quality built, very good performance.

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong performer with great setup options for TV type. HDR adjustments on the fly. Great audio options with second HDMI output.Fully supports Dolby Vision and Atmos. Player menu is ok but web function menu is clunky and dated. Lots of menu options so you can customize to your hearts content. Very pleased with purchase and as always Cruthfield is great. Did not give 5 stars solely because of price.

Pros: Performance and setup options.

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent blu-ray disc player.

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, MA on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to do. Transmits a stunningly vivid and colorful presentation of 4K media.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

When analog audio is needed - this is the way to go.

Crutchfield customer from Newport, OR on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed the analog audio outputs to connect a new digital projector to a circa 1976 70 watt commercial amp and speaker system in a public museum. The only two DVD players capable are the two Panasonic players. This was the less expensive of the two . We've had it for two busy summer months playing 9-5 each day. Works great.

Pros: Analog audio outputs

Cons: Wish it was a metal housing instead of plastic.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Far Superior Picture

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own 4 Sony UBP-X800 as I have four places where I can watch 4K Ultra Blu-Ray discs. All four Sony units kept locking up from time to time where the Amazon and Yahoo sign ins screens had to be downloaded over and over. I have a 200 Mbps internet service and the issue was truly related to the four Sony Blu-Rays. So I purchased 1 Panasonic DP-UB820 hoping to free myself from the reboot and re-entering my account name and password before being able to stream anything. What a surprise the Panasonic picture detail, color intensity is two to three times superior to the Sony units. Trash your Sony and buy a Panasonic.

Pros: Detail, color intensity and black level rendering

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and no concerns about the condition of equipment due to quality packing. Easy set up and quality playback. Replaced my 3 year old Oppo. Not as many settings as Oppo but not a concern for my home theatre situation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Markham, VA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought a Samsung Q900 TV and a Samsung Q7500 UD Bluray player. The way they recommend to hook it up is HDMI from the player to the TV and from the TV to the audio receiver. I had issues with the blacks and whites being too harsh (had to adjust picture per movie to get a reasonable quality) and the receiver wasn't choosing the highest quality sound. (Often it would choose BD Stereo and I had to go into my receiver and manually adjust to a better setting) I also tried hooking it up HDMI from player through the receiver to the TV... better but still had same issues. I researched a number of players and found this Panasonic 820 and with its dedicated video and audio HDMI outputs, all my woes were cured immediately. Picture and sound are AMAZING and have had no more issues. At this price, it is $300 more than the Samsung but if you are looking for quality, this Panasonic is worth every penny!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

You won't be disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture, solid construction, great sound using the second hdmi. Interface is easy to use and feels a little dated, but efficient. The colors on screen are vivid and crisp. Definitely worth the price.

Pros: Image quality and color Excellent sound Easy to use

Cons: Plastic casing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, NY on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Picture looks great. As a player I think it's great. I didn't get it for the streaming but since it offers it I hoping to load all my streaming apps. However, you are limited and the interface is cheeseie. Overall, I'm happy with it

Pros: Easy to use. Great picture

Cons: Ugly interface for streaming apps and the lack of adding apps in bad.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Moraine, OH on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars at the moment as it is currently doing everything I expect from a Blu-Ray player. As, I have yet to upgrade my Samsung 10 P Plasma to a 4K TV with HDR, I am unable to review those features. I have tested one of my Ultra HD movies (Aquaman) which looked great outputting video at a downrezed 1080P. Color s were quite striking and the Audio came in strong! I look forward to upgrading to a 4K tv to take advantage of this beast of a player.

Pros: Blue Ray and $K down converted to 1080P look great on my plasma tv.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player presents a beautiful picture. CDs surprised me with how good they sounded. The tray pops right out, and the menu is easy to navigate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My TV is only 1080 and the picture is so life like. This tv never looked this good. I am quite happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for my oppo First unit was glitchy and I had a replacement immediately . Crutchfield gets an A +++ again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the price. Huge upgrade from my Samsung standard Blu-ray player.

Pros: All features except one drawback.

Cons: The one drawback: remote is not back-lit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Comerio, PR on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the image is excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic UB820 vs. Oppo 103D

Robert from WASILLA, AK on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an Oppo 103D so this machine is compared to my aging Oppo. Picture quality, especially upscaling is superior to the Oppo even with the Oppo's Darbee unit. Some of the sharpness from the Darbee is absent here but the detail on the 820 is still noticeably better. The real surprise is the sound. Much better sound on the 820. Surround sound is clear and very lifelike. CD's sound the way they should rather than bottom heavy as with the Oppo. 3D is fast and effortless in transitioning from the 2D settings and is a great 3D picture. After watching 2 3D films in a row my SONY projector failed to return to 4k upscaling until I turned the 820 off and on again. Then it was fine. If it was a heavier more substantial piece of equipment it would have gotten 5 stars. I am a heavy user and for me, the Panhasonic UB9000 is a better fit.

Pros: Superior picture and sound on both 1080p Plasma and 4k projector.

Cons: Light weight build does not inspire confidence in a heavy (20+ hours per week) user

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

TOP