Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
683 372 150 4
Connect ID #
683 372 150 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB820

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

Panasonic DP-UB820

Panasonic DP-UB820

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

283 reviews
View this product

Sorry I bought this unit

Jeffrey from DORCHESTR CTR, MA on 9/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brought this to replace a 5 year Sony USony UBP-X800 ultra HD player which developed some software glitches. I had high hopes for this Panasonic. But, I found I am unable to view any Netflix content. I get the following message- "This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2." Now the Sony never had this problem. The Panasonic is connected to an Ultra high definition Denon surround sound system and connected for now to a Samsung 2k plasma (which I love but realize I will eventually have to replace-thus the 4k compatible equipment. Again, though the TV is 2k my other ultra HD player still displayed Netflix in 2K.

Pros: great sound and quality playing disks

Cons: says it streams Netflix, but will not for my setup and with no mention in the product discriptions

Crutchfield response on 9/27/2022
Jeffrey, we're sorry you're disappointed with your Blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Super Blu-ray Player!

Paul from Yorktown Hts, NY on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This machine plays just about any audio or video medium you can think of with the exception of SACD. It has more features than any Blu-ray player out there including a USB player for digital music files, access to most streaming sources and separate hdmi ports for audio/video or just audio. I would have given it five stars if it played SACD but that's the only drawback.

Pros: Versatile and easy to hook up.

Cons: Doesn't play SACD

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

R Joseph from Troy, MI on 9/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is pretty much plug & play. However, for 4k UHD video, you MUST use at least a 4k high speed HDMI cable. A standard HDMI cable will function, but the player will inform you that you will not have 4k UHD. If you're going to buy this player, don't skimp on the cable.

Pros: Plug & play

Cons: Small front display

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic DVD player

Steve from Athens, AL on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The colors and clarity of the 4k dvds are stunning. It is very simple to set up and have the Dolby Atmos audio sent to the receiver. The test dvds so far have been outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

VERY GOOD PLAYER

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 8/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this Blu-ray player to replace my OPPO 203 model. The picture quality in this unit is excellent, very sharp image with deep colors. The PANASONIC DP-UD 820 also has 6 different audio "digital tube sounds" settings to add to the surround sound settings, and the sound settings are very enjoyable. You really get a lot for your money and without compromise.

Pros: Small unit. Has everything you need and more to enjoy a movie at it's best.

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

very unhappy

Daniel from ASTORIA, NY on 7/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The menus are extremely clunky. There is no subtitle button on the remote to toggle them quickly (yes there is a CC button, but NO it does not toggle the subs on and off... I'm not sure what it does, there's a whole separate menu section for closed captions which seems to be entirely different from subs on bluray). The sound and video are sometimes out of sync, and the player provides no way to delay the video. If the video is ahead of the sound, you are screwed. I am most likely going to return it.

Pros: excellent video quality, switches to Dolby Vision mode automatically.

Cons: Terrible interface, audio sync issues

Crutchfield response on 7/19/2022
Daniel, we're sorry you're disappointed with your Blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Paul from Lancaster, OH on 7/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it has very good sound and the picture is grate i have plade both cds and dvds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Annoying bugs

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood DE on 6/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fine player. Since OPPO is no longer making players I went for it. Very satisfied with playback very unsatisfied with annoying bugs that an online search reveals have been around for years yet Panasonic can't be bothered. The worst is having the Control panel icon stuck on tv screen and/or remote functions like pop up menu not responding. This is beyond annoying. Research yourself before buying. Purchased April 2022.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great

Frank from Maywood, NJ on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great machine.I've noticed people that wrote reviews are complaining that the remote control doesn't have a button for subtitles but I found the button. It's called CC for closed caption. That's the subtitle button. This machine is the best 4K player on the market

Pros: Picture quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Quality player

Thomas from Cleveland, TN on 5/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 4k player was easy to set up and performs well. So far, there have been no freezes or hiccups playing 4k discs. Having the automatic Dolby Vision feature made this an easy choice over the Sony players. The factory settings for audio and video seem to work just fine, although I did have to tweak the audio sync setting a bit. The build quality seems pretty good, although not Oppo quality. The number of apps available is very limited, but most folks will use an external box or smart TV. Other Panasonic products I own have had great reliability, so I expect this to be the same.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic

Matthew from Abingdon on 5/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best picture quality hands-down. I had an Oppo 203 and you saw artifacts always crawling across the screen, and elevated black levels. This thing rocks. I do wish it had a zoom feature like the 203 for older content. Other than that this is a real bargain at 500.

Pros: Outstanding picture and sound.

Cons: No zoom feature.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

James from Beaver Dam, WI on 4/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is very easy to install and use. Also, it will read and play the old-school DVD's (80's and 90's movies) as well as the newest Ultra HD Blue-Ray's. Very nice and compact.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Paul from Pr Frederick, MD on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade for my failing Sony N460 Blu Ray Player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Bruce from Cedar Rapids, IA on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, and the video match with OLED is fantastic.

Pros: Easy to setup.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good so far.

Bill from Harriman, TN on 3/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. I do like that it retains your spot on the DVD even when the power has been disconnected.

Pros: Easy to set up, great picture.

Cons: Haven't found any as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Kenneth from Tucson, AZ on 3/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG, the 4K picture quality is amazing!! I had a Sony player without all of the HDR processing I can clearly see what I've been missing!!

Pros: So far, I'm loving everything!!

Cons: Nothing!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Leslie from Frisco, TX on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and easy setup. Great addition to our media room setup

Pros: easy setup, quality of screen output

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Blu-Ray Player

Michael from Jacksonville, FL on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing bad to say. The picture is pristine. It does exactly what it says. Get it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Deeply Disappointing: High Tech but lacking basics

Crutchfield customer from TRABUCO CYN, CA on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am deeply disappointed with this product and you may disagree with my reason. But here it is: it is missing one of the most basic and most used functions. You can't turn Subtitles on/off with one or two clicks on the remote while watching a movie. It requires to use 4 different button with like 8 clicks while watching in the dark. Take a look at the bottom of any Netflix or Prime Video streaming movie and will find Subtitles accessible with one/two clicks. My 10-year old Sony player can do it with on click. Subtitles is one of the most used functions by most users - by far. A total miss - Panasonic! It doesn't matter how high end a player is or how many unimaginably complex functions it offers, if it can't do the most basic and most used things easily then its worthless! This Player's Remote has advanced functions most users won't use in a million years, but no Subtitles. It's Like setting a very lavish wedding and just forgetting the wedding dress! Deeply disappointed with this product and lack of thought! I emailed Panasonic customer support asking about this and it took them 40 days to respond saying no. This is after spending frustrating weeks reading the manual trying to figure it out. Wish Crutchfield said something about it. Now I can't replace with a player that does better than this. 2 stars in my book. If you don't care about basics and care about rarely used mumbo-jumbo features and deep dives into complex menus, then it can be different for yo

Pros: High Tech; plays 4K well. A huge menu of features and functions.

Cons: Missing most basic features like Subtitles on/off. Remote is not back-lit. Menu complex to navigate. Pay for functions you'll never use. Expensive because of complexity not functions of value to user. Tinker with it and you're more likely to screw up the image than improve (complex). Scaling up some HD discs rendered weird images. Product not well thought-out!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 12 found this helpful

Excellent DVD Player

Frank from Williamsburg, VA on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an OLED 75" TV and I have been watching Game of thrones in Blu-ray ultra and this unit play it beautifully, it is almost like I can touch the mages. An excellent product highly recomended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfection achieved.

Jeff from Santa Monica, CA on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect price point. Excellent performance. Great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far, so good with caveats

Joe from Brooklyn, NY on 2/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had it only one week and so far, so good (sound and picture quality). Takes a little time to boot up each time you turn it on, and the menu setup choices can be overwhelming. I wish it wasn't an either/or situation on the audio (HDMI vs. analog out); would be nice if you could hear Blu-Ray/DVD audio through the TV as well as stereo, but Panasonic forces you to make a choice with this model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic dp-ub820

Irene from Columbia, SC on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player. Crisp detail. Easy setup

Pros: Great picture

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Reliable

Jeffrey from Honolulu, HI on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Brett from Racine, WI on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great out of the box and it has played my Blu-rays perfectly fine. Not much to say when it does what you want it to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Upgraded to 4K and WOW!!

Eric from Pleasantville, IA on 1/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced our Panasonic blu ray player that was several years old, we had purchased a 4K TV this past summer, but had not yet upgraded our blu ray player to 4K, Wow what a difference!! The dual outputs are nice, because we still need to upgrade our A/V receiver in the future, but trying to take it one step at a time.

Pros: Setup was seamless Dual outputs are really nice, so I don't need to upgrade my A/V receiver just yet.

Cons: Kind of pricey but that old saying, 'You get what you pay for" fits nicely here.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding Player

Douglas from Lowell, OH on 1/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a 4K/60p Blu-Ray DVD player that was backward compatible, and supported Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, and HDR10+. This player does it all and has performed flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for high end systems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blu Ray Player 820 review

Henry from Brentwood, TN on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This blu ray player should come with a setup/user manual. Player needs a subtitle button on the remote. Some audio settings void many other setup options. Using is complex without a hard copy user manual. HDR settings cancelled by other settings. Settings for 4k limited.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Never thought I'd need another blu-ray player...

Kevin from Lakeway, TX on 1/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never thought I'd need another blu-ray player until someone bought me No Time to Die on Blu-ray for Christmas and when I saw it included a 4K Ultra HD disc, I figured I had to do it justice and wasn't disappointed. Quality was better then the streaming version so now I'm looking at other Ultra HD movies to buy on Blu-ray.

Pros: Easy to setup Nice finish, looks great in AV rack Every connection you could imagine

Cons: RF remote or app control would be nice, although it does work with Amazon Echo and Google, which is a little clunky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wise purchase

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Quite in use. No issues so far. Much more reliable than my Sony.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Hoschton, GA on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

beautiful picture and great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic Blue-ray Player

Crutchfield customer from East Hampstead, NH on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Blue-ray Player ! I used easy set-up first, but looked on Crutchfield, YouTube and Panasonic web site for more set-up info. Wireless connection was no problem, but user manual could be better. Wireless set-up mentions pressing WPS button on Wireless Router to complete, had to call Crutchfield to find out what this was. This button was located on our wireless, and labeled Reset/WPS. One quick push on this button started blinking blue light on it(wireless), and stopped once Player was connected. Check your wireless router for info first, because you could Reset your wireless if you push Reset/WPS more than a few seconds !!Plenty of video/audio options that will keep you busy learning about. Out of the box video/audio was excellent. Checked for Software Updates, and there was one waiting. About 15 minutes to update Player. Thank you Crutchfield for tech support, fast shipping and price matching after my purchase !

Pros: Plenty of features, great picture, and a very solid machine.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Puts VHS to Shame.

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, MI on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

.and any blu ray player I've had. Excellent paired with an 83" OLED. There is no better except if you purchase it's bigger brother. Versatile. Handles HDR10+ and Dolby Vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player was recommended by a Crutchfield representative. Works well, easy to set up. Features and fidelity is high, it was a good purchase. Some might laugh, but quality of the player is great for music CDs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 12/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrading from a Panasonic DMP-BD35 (a great player in its day), and loving it. Amazing how much faster it is to load discs, and of course 4K looks stunning. Love this thing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing picture quality.

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, NY on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality is spectacular and the HDR optimizer works wonders. Really improves how HDR content is displayed on my TV. The player is also quite speedy as 4K Blu-Rays load very quickly. Highly recommend this player.

Pros: Fast loading for blu-rays Great sound and picture quality HDR optimizer

Cons: UI looks and feels dated

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Better than Sony

John from Fort Worth TX on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read other reviews prior to purchase....good and bad and after 2 weeks use I am ready to share my experience. I have a Sony 4k player and its performance has been hit or miss so I decided it was time for a upgrade. First thing I did out of the box was setup the network settings to update the firmware. The update took some time and I have no idea of the firmware revision history. The owners manual is sparse and this player has much more functionality than the manual tells you how to use. First off...the picture quality is head over heels better than my Sony unit. Many 4k discs I have are Dolby vision and this unit defaults to it over HDR if it is present on the disc. My Sony does not have DV. It also is great playing regular blu ray. My disc of ..The Internship ...looks like its 4k ! Only hitch I have had so far is playing my blu ray of Terminator 2....that disc has the blu ray live feature at the beginning of the disc and of course the studio no longer supports the website its trying to connect to so it kept hanging up trying to connect. After a few tries it finally got past the feature to actually to the main menu to play the movie. I have only played 1 DVD so far.....True Lies...which is a fav of mine and only available on DVD ..so far. I was hoping this player might extract a better picture from the disc as it has never been above a VHS quality picture. I was disappointed that the picture was actually worse when treated to HD scrutiny. So overall 2 thumbs up....so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great Piece of Equipment

Theodore from Azle, Texas on 11/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent so far; nice picture and good sound; totally easy setup; has played everything I have fed it with no issues; works sso seamlessly that it causes no stress or strain or comment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Top Tier Picture Quality

Crutchfield customer from Tamuning, GU on 11/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gorgeous picture. Decent build quality. Menu system a little clunky. Can adjust font position and luminosity which is fantastic. No option yet to adjust font size from disc. Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

a must buy from a great company

Crutchfield customer from Mc Alpin, FL on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the color is incredible, sound a must buyis great,easy operation, exceptional build quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great player for the money

Crutchfield customer from Urbanna, VA on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. I wanted it because I upgraded to a 4K UHD television and I wanted to play 4K UHD movies. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

frantz from MINNEAPOLIS, MN on 8/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it best picture quality ever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Well designed, quiet player that exceeded expectations.

Crutchfield customer from Gunpowder, MD on 8/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised, a well-specced 4K UHD player, the Panasonic UB820 boasts compatibility with every version of high dynamic range (HDR) available. In addition to HDR10, the Panny supports Dolby Vision, HDR10+, and Hybrid Log-Gamma (HLG). Highly recommended.

Pros: Works as advertised HDR compatible HDR10+ HLG

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

One happy customer??

Crutchfield customer from Snowmass, CO on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfields service center is awesome, they really are the best. For me the quality of the unit really comes through and its performance. I will check back in when I've used a player longer so I can speak specifically about some of play options but at this point I am extremely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not An OPPO!

Kenneth from Hegins, PA on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not what it's suppose to be! I wish I could return it, but I waited too long. Some 4K discs break up and pixelate on certain scenes. Now even a few Blu-Rays are doing it! I hesitated buying the Panasonic brand again because of quality issues many years ago. Lots of problems with Panasonic products so I stopped buying them swearing never again! With the glowing reviews on this model I thought I would give Panasonic another try. Mistake! A player for this price and the Panasonic blues once again! ALL of these discs play perfectly on my OPPO! I needed a second 4K for the bedroom. Too bad OPPO isn't doing what they did better than ANYONE else on the planet.

Pros: Sound is very good. Very customizable set-up for various reasons.

Cons: Picture breaks up on various movies.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 25 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Santa Ana, CA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receive DP UB820 very promptly Your rep suggested the cable which we needed The DVD was easy to install. We had an issue with an icon appearing on screen which your tech immediately instructed us how to remove. The entire process with your reps was extremely easy, and speedy plus they matched the big online retailer's price. Would definitely use Crutchfield for any future electronics purchases

Pros: Superior and helpful service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Huge difference between 4k bluray and streaming

Crutchfield customer from Crestwood, KY on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first 4k bluray player. I was blown away with it. It's hard to describe the quality difference if you have never seen it. Streaming 4k is just not the same. It's a night and day difference. The colors are magnificent. I hope this format continues to stay around for a long time and doesn't lose out to the ease of streaming. If you've never owned a UHD bluray player and are a fan of cinema, do yourself a favor and pick one of these up. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Amazing colors, sound, speed, options

Cons: None that I've found

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Paul W from Waxhaw, NC on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superior Audio and Video when using both HDMI outputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

An awesome unit !

Crutchfield customer from Menasha, WI on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent alot of time researching this product before finalizing the purchase and boy am I glad I bought it. The DP-UB820 is a fantastic buy, AT ANY PRICE!

Pros: great price, beautiful picture.

Cons: wish the remote was backlit.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impressive

Crutchfield customer from Fogelsville, PA on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new Panasonic Blu ray player is fantastic! The audio and video are sooo much better than my old one. The sound from my CDs is great and better than that from streaming, played through my Sonos Arc.

Pros: Great audio and video Easy to set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

4k nice

Crutchfield customer from Suffern, NY on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good so far As an older person the initial connection did not go smoothly so then tried to connect the player to an alternate 4k tv that went fine and then switched it back to the original OLED source without any further issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great UHD 4K Player

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this player after extensive investigation and study. Most of my system is Sony, so first looked at the Sony UHD players, hoping that they would work well with other Sony items. However, the big draw back to the Sony players is you have to manually set HDR each time and this Panasonic switches automagically to the proper HDR (HRD+, HDR10, etc.). It up scales fantastically, overall a great player. I really was tempted by the Panasonic 9000 player, build quality, just screams sturdy. However couldn't bring myself to fork over $1000 for a Bluray player and the parts that matter (what's inside) are almost the same between the 820 and the 9000. Very happy with the purchase

Pros: Auto HDR

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best blue ray for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to play 4K and BluRay discs which it does quite well. If the disc has Dolby Vision then it looks super! Paired with AudioQuest Cinnamon HDMI cable also from Crutchfield takes it up a notch. I don't think I could have done any better.

Pros: Outstanding picture quality with 4K and Dolby Vision discs.

Cons: Web services section (youtube etc.) is clunky. But I don't use it, I have other devices for that.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Blu-ray without compromise

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research and reading the reviews on Crutchfield I opted to go with the Panasonic DP-UB820. Great features and movies come to life! Last component in the new home theatre. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Novi, MI on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this player to combine my DVD/BD and CD players in one device. In particular, I wanted something that sounded great with CD audio and this delivers. I'm very happy with the sound quality. It's great for video too but there are lots of other reviews that cover video here so I'll skip that. I have two small complaints with CD playback. First, doesn't display the CD track text and second, it doesn't play the audio when fast forwarding a CD. It mutes the audio which makes it harder to easily stop at the right spot. Both are minor but still annoying. Overall it delivers with excellent sound quality - just wish it had a few more small features.

Pros: Excellent sound with CDs

Cons: No CD track text capability, Mutes audio when fast forwarding a CD (hard to stop at the right spot)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Slick

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, CA on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with purchase. Works well. Great picture quality. Forgot it can be set to my OLED tv. That will be done soon. Operation is smooth and seamless. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Monroe Township, NJ on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good player overall

Crutchfield customer from N Ridgeville, OH on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Panasonic DP-UB820 replaces my Oppo BD-103, since I just picked up a LG OLEDCX 55" television and wanted to play UHD discs. Without a doubt, the Oppo was a higher quality unit in terms of construction. The Panasonic is thinner, lighter and just feels cheap. I do like the front panel display, but a detachable power cord would have made it easier to install/remove from my audio cabinet. Fortunately the picture looks great. I'm still in the process of calibrating my TV, but my UHD HDR discs look awesomely clear and colorful with just basic settings. I do wish there was a way to see whether a UHD disc contained HDR10 or Dolby Vision metadata. The status menu shows me lots of info, but not the technology I'm watching. The "settings" menu could also use some work. The setting for specifying the TV is a OLED model was hard to find. The Pandora app background display is light gray and too bright. A dark mode or background color selection would be nice.

Pros: Great picture Front panel display 4K YouTube app

Cons: Fixed power cord Rear USB port Lacking settings

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from New London, WI on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Home, AR on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE IT. First test was the 4K Earth blu-ray. SPECTACULAR on my 65" Vizio (sorry Crutchfield) I'm into concert DVD's & blu-ray's. Nice upconversion on them & great audio. Nice sale price & FAST delivery from Crutchfield. 4K happy in Arkansas

Pros: Performance / Sale Price / set up. Professional Crutchfield advice

Cons: No included Panasonic operation manual.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Putney, VT on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I researched comparable products quite a lot before choosing this model. The conversation at the end with a Crutchfield person helped answer any additional questions. I love this device - recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy Camper

Crutchfield customer from Perry, GA on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had this player a couple of weeks now and could not be happier with my purchase. Massive upgrade over my old Sony 700. 4K playback is breath taking on this thing, both video and audio. NO annoying skips, freezes or audio dropouts. That really plagued my former player. As impressive as the 4K output is, I'm possibly even more impressed with the upscaling capabilities of this player. 1080p playback has left my jaw on the floor at times while watching discs I've viewed several times previously (Gladiator for example). If you are in the market do NOT hesitate to own this player. Thanks to Gage in Tech support for helping out with a couple of setup questions. Crutchfield is the best.

Pros: Great video and audio playback from ALL sources.

Cons: Remote is cumbersome.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Best 4K player

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great 4K DVD player. It does it all ... just name it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this panasonic 4k player on sale so i saved 100.00 dollars but the build quality could be better for the price i paid, the case is all plastic i would have expected the case to be metal for that price the less expensive DP-ub420 has a metal case for half the price, which make it feel a lot more solid build, i purchased both of them and like them both but the420 feels more solidly built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

silveradols98

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like that it has two HDMI jacks one for video one for audio that way your amp don't need to be 4k .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Felton,Ca on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have mixed feelings on the Panasonic DP-UB820. Let me begin by saying when the player is working well the picture quality is fabulous. After I received the player I only played brand new out of the box 4K movies for the first 3 weeks. I played about 20 movies and 3 of them froze on me. This tells me the problem is with the Panasonic and not the disc itself. This is a major problem. After 3 weeks I started playing Blu-Ray discs from Netflix and the upscaling quality was very good. The remote is marginal at best, but it does the job. All in all I would say this is a high quality item that will most likely give you a fair amount of disc freezing.

Pros: Very nice picture quality.

Cons: Has disc freezing problems.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Country, CA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality and sound, especially (Dolby Atmos) are superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best value in 4K players, buy for video and surround sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, IL on 4/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic 4k player. I settled on this mostly because it has the same picture quality as the high-end model but at less than half the cost. For playing 4k discs it has the same sound quality as the high end model as well. The main difference between this and the top of the line is that this model is missing some output connections, primarily for analog listening. I personally didn't need those, but if you do the step up is for you. The case is also plastic rather than aluminum, so it doesn't look as high end. Again, though, on sale it's less than half the cost. Regardless, it has an HDR optimizer which works absolutely amazingly. I also like that it does it automatically and well--you don't have to keep adjusting settings with each disc. It also has all current available forms/versions of HDR, which not all do. Outside of one single random shut down it has worked flawlessly, the remote is pretty good, the display is relatively small but easy to read. The main draw, again, is the picture quality and it delivers. The audio output for 4k discs is also excellent. If you are using a sound bar or TV speakers this won't matter, but if you have a surround sound system this is a big draw. I cannot emphasize this enough--the video and audio are both noticeably superior to the same content when streamed. I would highly recommend this player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Beverly Hills, FL on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the best picture and ease of use, I was undecided about this player but now I am very happy.

Pros: ease of use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Dartmouth, MA on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture excellent sound I've only used it for one movie disc and Netflix so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best option out there right now

Crutchfield customer from Bridgewater, MA on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Supports both DV and HDR10+ and automatically switches formats on/off depending on the content and downstream support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player. Has all the bells and whistles. Really makes 4k HDR and Dolby Vision come alive. The sound output is perfect for those using Atmos receiver also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lithia, FL on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound and video excellent Menus and overall interface was an afterthought

Pros: Sound quality brought my CDs back to life. Audio is open and vibrant Video is very good

Cons: Interface and menus were an afterthought

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good When it Works - But it Does not Always Work

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this 4K DVD player based on Crutchfield's online video review. I had previously purchased the Panasonic UB-9000 for my Home Theater system but wanted a 4K player for another TV without investing $1,000. This player works great until it doesn't. I have tried 4K Blu-ray DVDs as well as regular Blu-ray DVDs and the player will occasionally stop transmitting picture and sound. It acts like the player has run out of buffer and cannot process data until the buffer clears. I don't know if that can happen with a DVD player but that is how it acts. It is very frustrating. I haven't noticed this being a problem on the UB-9000 but I will make sure to pay special attention the next time I spin up a 4K DVD in that player.

Pros: Great Picture

Cons: Goes Blank During Playback

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great Value and High Quality Blu Ray Player

Crutchfield customer from Bay City, MI on 3/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great Blu Ray Player. Picture is fantastic, It actually beats my Oppo player and seems to even sound better with the Panasonic player. Great quality all around and received it just couple days after ordering.

Pros: Can't beat the Performance, Picture clarity, colors, sharpness and improved sound over other players.

Cons: Could have super audio and DVD audio capability to make it a perfect blu ray player.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's Ok

Norman from GILLETTE, WY on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice player, hold on to your Roku though , the streaming apps that come with this are limited. Not sure this was a worthy upgrade over the 250.00 Sony I had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful results and simple to use! I have a ps5 that I compared against, and I'm happy I decided to get a dedicated player. Dolby Vision looks fantastic and the auto tone mapping on HDR 10 is ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty disappointed

Robert from Alpine on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had the player for several months now. Overall, pretty disappointed. The USB connection cannot recognize any type of file, whether picture, audio or video. It sees the drive, but says the drive is empty. Doesn't matter what type of drive or how it's formatted, doesn't matter what type of file. This is the second unit I got from Crutchfield, I returned the first one thinking it was defective. When the player is working, the picture and sound quality are outstanding. However, it has problems with about 50% of the 4k discs I watch. The picture goes to black for about 2-10 seconds multiple times. Watching 'V For Vendetta' the other night, this happened at least a dozen times. Very frustrating. One good trick I learned is that the player is extremely sensitive to fingerprints on the silver side of the disc. If you don't keep the disc completely polished, with the smallest fingerprint the player will skip sections or reject the disc as unreadable. Not sure if this is applicable to this particular player or all 4k players.

Pros: When it works, the picture and sound are outstanding.

Cons: USB connections don't work and the picture drops out to black fairly regularly.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome player, the tech's got it right with suggesting this one, amazing picture and sound

Pros:

Cons: pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

4K Blue-Ray upgrade with convenient features for music streaming

Gerard from Berkeley, CA on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Previous Blue-ray was HD, and failed. This is a good value for my new 4K Sony Bravia TV. It also allows me to add music streaming with the Pandora App while using my vintage Onkyo Integra analog amp. HDMI out connections will also let me use it with the Denon DRA-800H I am planning to finish my round of updates with.

Pros: A great value for me while it was on sale.

Cons: Could support more streaming Apps, such as Sirius XM

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Viola, ID on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

James from Cocoa, FL on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panasonic DP-UB820 is best 4K blu-ray player I have ever had. It is the perfect player for my Sony XBR-55X950H TV. The picture is amazing with the Dolby Vision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Utica, NY on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a top of the line samsung 3d blue ray player for a while now . I finaly upgraded to this player and I'm so happy I did . The picture is so much clearer and awsome . If your debating about buying it , just do it . You will love it ?

Pros: Makes me so happy

Cons: I waited to long to get it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic UB820

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now that I've had more than ample time. I can give an opinion about said product. For the money spent, it's a superlative piece of equipment. Yes, I too wish it had more metal, like it's higher ranking sibling. But, for me if my choice is aesthetics, or performance, I'll choose performance every time! Simply put, if your a video fan with a great tv or projector. Don't hesitate to pick this thing up! I luckier than most. I'm able to pair this with the Panny JZ2000 OLED. A big thank you to my brother!

Pros: Sleek look. Strong performance.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent, with one disappointment

Crutchfield customer from Barnesville, GA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was tempted to rate it 4 stars because an important thing to me did not work. I have 5.1 channel input on my receiver, so I was looking forward to using six of the player's 7.1 channel output. But the channel for a sub-woofer does not work. Even the test program just skips the sub-woofer, but doesn't skip the last two channels of the 7.1 player. Nevertheless, my audio results would be better using 2 channels and letting the receiver create the 5.1 sound. Otherwise, the player is excellent and I'm very pleased with its quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has every feature I need and may need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the way i can connect the Panasonic Blue ray to my stereo amp with the 7.1 capability.

Pros: Easy set up. Streaming movie sounds through my amp.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid contender !

Crutchfield customer from Bokeelia, FL on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having to replace a Blu-ray player had me on the search for a high quality replacement . I own an Oppo, and love it, it is very well built and an excellent performer all around, especially audio. But I was not looking for anything for CD playback, strictly DVDs for this application. I considered the Panasonic DP-UB9000 as this was closest to the Oppo, but really did not need to spend that much only for movies, as I already had a nice CD player in this system. I decided on the DP-UB820 model. This player was a simple hook up, power and HDMI into the TV. Within a few minutes I was onscreen, and doing a firmware update, which took about 5 minutes. Popped in a DVD regular, and a Blu-ray to check , and yes the picture was extremely good from the start. Sound seemed fine running through the TV optical output to my preamp. Again, i did not hook up the RCA out puts and check the sound there, i did not have that need. I did play a CD and it sounded fine, and some differences are so minor, it was not apparent if there were many for this short test. I liked the remote, and the user interface. The web capabilities are a bit sluggish compared to the FireTv , but are nice if this is all you have. Build quality is definitely budget, and the two top mounted buttons are unsatisfying to use. Maybe I just have to get used to them. The front panel that flips down seems unnecessary , I just keep it down for ease of use. Movie performance is great and I recommend this unit .

Pros: easy to setup, solid visual performance, fine audio, web extras, nice remote

Cons: cheaper plastic feel overall, front panel drop down

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great picture and features, but finicky reading disks

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Twp, MI on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this because it seemed like the best, most dependable model available at a reasonable price. It had problems reading the first disk I tested (The Last Jedi). Same scene locks up and skips every time no matter what setting I use. Since it happens in the same place no matter what settings I use, i assume it is because the disk is marred in some way, but my Sony X800-M2 reads it no problem. Hopefully this is a one off issue and it doesn't have trouble with other disks.

Pros: Great features, like Dolby Vision

Cons: Had trouble reading the first 4K disk I tried

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent video performance

Crutchfield customer from Shorewood, IL on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivered in 2 days as promised. My Samsung QLED TV doesnt support Dolby Vision, so was looking for a 4k player with HDR10+. The Panasonic has HDR10+ as well as Dolby Vision so it covers both formats. I also liked the HDR optimizer feature that is specific to the TV type. Video looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Loves Park, IL on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best player for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the cost!

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic machine and worth the cost. I was concerned when I initially ordered this that I wouldn't see any discernible difference in performance, but I was wrong. 4K movies look absolutely incredible on this player. Streaming services are limited, but that wasn't my purpose in buying this player. Definitely recommend.

Pros: Fast Startup Great Picture Easy to Use

Cons: Limited streaming options

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

easy to operate

CORY from Philadelphia, PA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice player... easiest quick start ever... plug it in, load DVD, and push start.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great visual and sound improvement

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a Sony X800 (Non Dolby Vision). The upgrade in HDR is noticeable with the HDR settings to match the display type. With my new LG 77" OLED HDR looked great with the Sony X800, but the same disc on the DP-U820 took it up a level with better contrast thanks to the HDR Settings. Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos sound better. I didn't think that would be possible as the bit stream is going to the same processor, but there is a minor, but noticeable difference in sound quality. The sound feels more full and clean. In particular several key scenes in the Fifth Element sound more natural.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Bullhead City, AZ on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great device. Good picture great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great hd bluray player

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Valley, IL on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an Anthem AVM 30 processor and this Bluray player allows me to continue to use my processer. Panasonic DPUB 820 has every picture and sound adjustment you could want to optimize your picture and sound quality. I love that it has HDR tone mapping which optimizes picture quality for the display you are using. I have a 4K laser projector and its looks breathtaking with this player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No CD information displayed

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, IL on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure I'm in the minority, in that ~80% of disks I insert in my Blu-ray player are music CDs; occasionally i'll actually watch a DVD or BD. So the player's CD functionality is very important to me, to include displaying track information, specifically, the song title, the artist name, and the album title. This DP-UB820 displays NONE of that information. And the screen saver is weak too; it should display the song info, duh! But apparently, this very expensive unit can't read the CD information. That's lame.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/25/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 5 found this helpful

Another excellent Panasonic product

Crutchfield customer from Massillon, OH on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture quality and very easy to set-up. The picture detail and color is great. I have owned Panasonic products for decades and have never been disappointed. Always felt they delivered great performance at a very fair price and this player continues the tradition.

Pros: Great video and audio quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

James from Waterbury Ct on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great addition to my home theater. Great video processing, with many adjustments that can be made (if needed). It pairs up well with my Yamaha RX-A780 AVR, and the Sony x900h TV my kids got me for Christmas.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stunning picture and awesome sound! Built well and easy to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU DO NOT BUY THIS DISK PLAYER

Christopher from CYPRESS, TX on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU DO NOT BUY THIS DISK PLAYER. First, I'll give credit where it's due: the picture and sound quality of this disk player are excellent. However, it doesn't play SACD or DVD-audio disks, which sucks. What really drives me crazy, however, is that it turns itself off automatically after it has sit idle for 15 minutes or so, and then, unlike just about any other disk player that I've ever owned, it won't resume the movie where I left off; you have to go to the main menu, select the closest scene, and fast forward/rewind to where you were. I simply cannot overstate how much I hate that. Even if you stop the disk or turn off the player intentionally you can't simply resume BluRay disks. And I've searched the settings nearly a dozen times and I can't find how to turn off the auto-shutdown. Jesus did I ever love my Oppo BDP-95 3D BluRay player and wish that I had bought an Oppo UDP-203 4K disk player before Oppo left the market (why the devil did they do that?).

Pros: Good picture and sound quality.

Cons: The player shuts itself off automatically after sitting idle a short while and won't automatically resume BluRay disks - you have to go to the main menu, select the nearest scene, and fast forward/rewind to where you were. After searching the settings nearly a dozen times I can't find a way to change this. What the devil was Panasonic thinking?

Crutchfield response on

19 of 24 found this helpful

Makes My Wholes System Better

Crutchfield customer from ZIONSVILLE, IN on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

(system: NAD T758 AVR, Paradigm Studio Monitor Reference Speakers for all but the rear surround, Mitsubishi 72" DLP TV) The improvement of both audio and video over the two year old $100 Samsung this DP-UB820 replaced is complete and comprehensive. The definition, clarity, soundstage and image of the sound for both movie soundtracks and CD's easily earns it's way into the level of audiophile quality. The improvement to video quality of the Blue Ray disc into my old non-4K DLP MItsubishi rear projector TV is visually mesmerizing. I put in the Last Jedi just to quickly see the difference and ended up watching the entire episode because I was amazed by the quality of the whole experience. I think my favorite feature of this BR player is the separate HDMI outputs for sound and video. Now I don't have to spend the $500 to upgrade my 4 year old NAD to 4K switching because I can run the HDMI directly to the TV (when the new TV arrives). And although I can't prove it empirically, the audio from the dedicated HDMI into the AVR seems to be a step above what the digital optical cable provides. (if nothing else I now have a peace of mind while watching and listening that the alternative input might be better.) Finally, the UB820 just made everything else in my system better. And the next system upgrade won't be from a sense that something is missing- but from wondering and seeing just how good it could get.

Pros: > sound stage, image and clarity >video quality is out of this world >separate HDMI outputs for audio and Video add great flexibility for setup > build quality

Cons: > remote (but what remote control is every a plus :-) )

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

james from IRONDALE, AL on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made for people who really care about their home theatre setup. Great addition!! Very noticeable improvment!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Huxley, IA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player, only wish the display was a little brighter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panny DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent blu-ray/4k player the best out there right now since Oppo left the game.

Pros: so many options and the ability to set according to the Television you have [LCD/OLED ect]

Cons: nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Build up for the big let down

Crutchfield customer from Sterling, VA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a second machine for upstairs computer office. Well if you are just going to play BD and 4K discs its fine. But it won't play M2ts files audio through the rear USB input. It will play the video but that's it. Even when I split the audio output from the video, no go. I put a lot of back up movies on a hard drive so I wouldn't have to sift through Discs. Won't work. A lot of money for limited capability. My OPPO 203 plays them all. I can play the files through my PC and my OLED TV will upscale them. Considering returning the 820. Save your money and get something else for half the price.

Pros: clarity and upscaling

Cons: limited play through USB input. cumbersome menus and remote. poor explanations as to what the different settings do. A real pain in the butt.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Lone Tree, CO on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Is lacking Fandango app and others for streaming but that is listed in the description and there is no option to download them to add. Pic and sound as excellent as expected and it works well with my whole house control system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Ivins, UT on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reviewing many players for my system, the Panasonic came out on top. Paired with a Denon AVR and Samsung 4K TV the video and sound output is absolutely amazing. As an intro to 4K video, suggest playing "Aladdin" as you will truly see what you have been missing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best option in a limited marketplace

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plays discs better than any other player I've tested!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Canandaigua, NY on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a great DVD player. I have a older Rotel 1067 AV. Receiver no HDMI and this has RCA INTERCONNECTS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Queen Creek, AZ on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my Samsung J7500. After reading the reviews I thought this would be a big upgrade. After hooking up and programming I was ready for the big reveal. The Samsung streams and upgrades as good and based on the old you tube stuff I watch in some cases better. I'm not saying this isn't a fine unit, but I don't think it's much better than what I already have

Pros: Ease of hookup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

A $500 Value DVD Player?

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Panasonic is a very underrated company. Most people would place it a notch below Sony or LG, but when you step back and look at the products, you see a different story. Panasonic was one of the last holdouts for plasma TVs. They were incredible. I had 2 of them in very bright daylight rooms and they were more than able to keep up with the ambient light. In our kitchen/family room, their superior off-axis performance made them usable where an LCD would have been useless. They made the best cordless phones. And any DJ will tell you the Technics SL-1200 pretty much owns the disco vinyl scene. High end audiophiles fall silent at the mention of the Technics SP10. First available 50 years ago, in its latest version the SP-10 R for $11,000 you get a vinyl spinner. No base, no dustcover, no arm, and no cartridge. Just a record spinner that is considered one of the finest in the world. What does that have to do with their DVD players? Bona Fides. These folks have tech chops. Serious tech chops. And while the DP-UB820 isn't their flagship (the $999 DP UB9000 is), it is the value offering, the least expensive player today that plays - automatically in most cases - the latest 4k DVD with Atmos, Dolby Vision HDR 10+ and any other acronyms for video, this player plays them all for $500. While streaming is likely the future, 4K HDR 10+ or Dolby Vision DVDs are the state-of-the- art today. Will this be the last DVD player I buy - or need? There is a good likelihood of

Pros: Plays every known combination of resolutions and audio encoding, and plays them well.

Cons: It costs $500.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This Panny delivers

Pierre from LAWRENCEVILLE, GA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Panny for 2 weeks. I am consider myself a video and audio enthusiast. I've tried out all the current 4k players on the market and took back everyone for one reason or another. THIS one is for keeps! I am not a music consular, so I didn't purchase it to have those features available to me. As far as video and audio quality it is in my opinion the best midrange player on the marked today. It supports alll the major video codec(Dolby Vision, HDR10, HDR10+). It also has a killer feature that seperates it from all the rest(tone mapping). Meaning that if your tvs brightness is not able to get the picture as bright as you like it has an HDR optimizer that allows you to make the necessary adjustments to your liking. The Oppo 203 was a great device but the HCX chrome processor delivers much better picture and that is saying something. So, if you happen to have 423 dollars laying around and burning a whole in your pocket(or purse), the go ahead and take the leap. It will be well rewarded.

Pros: Picture Quality, HDR optimizer, Dolby Vision,HDR10, HDR10+, Tone Mapping, Counter on front display, USB support on front and back.

Cons: Build Quality, Remote

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

One of the best mid range 4k players

Crutchfield customer from Ballwin, MO on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have only had this 4k player for just a few weeks but so far this player provides amazing video quality on our LG old TV. Have only watched a few 4k UHD movies so far but WOW. Have tried connecting it through a 4k receiver as well as connecting it directly to the TV. Having it connected to the TV i feel works best for me. As soon as I turn on the 4k player my TV switches to the hdmi plug and is ready to go. Picture and sound are spot on.

Pros: Picture quality Sound Remote Ease of use Upscale

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great easy to use UHD Blue Ray player.

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great easy to use UHD Blue Ray player. No issues with unit connected to Denon X6500 and displayed on Sony A9G. Have played DVD, BluRay and UHD BluRays. Looks great. Wish the remote was backlit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really Great Item, Nice Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Mount Joy, PA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a little older, non-4K Samsung Blu-Ray player and my immediate reaction was to a much higher quality audio experience. The picture quality is obviously higher, as well, but the audio improvement really jumped out to me. As other reviewers have said, the auto shut-off timer is a little short, but that is only a small quirk to me. I also like the full width, flip down face, but that is a purely aesthetic feature, along with the full size width, again, purely aesthetic. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Almost sent back...

Crutchfield customer from Timnath, CO on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The HDR and color on my LG OLED65C9 is better than my Oppo UDP-203 once Display type set for OLED. More details in dark (and bright) scenes on 4K UHD "The Rise of Skywalker". I was loving it until... I think it was Scene 23 (Revelation) that almost had me send the unit back. Bottom of screen showed pixelated bar (~1/10 of screen height) of white, red, blue pixels and started "stuttering" on frames. Ran to my Oppo, where same chapter played without issue. Purchased new "8K" HDMI cable and noticed a slight haze on the disk (did I the ol ' wipe on shirt trick) and between the combo, the Pany played w/o further issue. So far so good... I would have to say the Pany DP-UB820 is more sensitive to disk condition which might be aided by a firmware update - a lot of complaints online about lack of current firmware release in the US (over a year old). Have not tried 4K HDR movie 1917 yet, which is reported to have issues for several owners on various forums.

Pros: Depending upon Disk & Display combo, better HDR details than Oppo UDP-203. Price - yes really. I'm not going to spend more than $500 to keep a disk player on current gen best disk features and this was on sale.

Cons: Disk condition sensitive (?) - less "margin" than other players in my testing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound and picture!

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding picture and sound quality, even when playing non-4k content! Very impressive sound when playing CDs as well. Unit loads quickly and is very quiet. Very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Excellent picture and sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Blythewood, SC on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and does not freeze up! The two Sony's I purchased first both froze up and were returned. This unit cost more but it works and the picture is better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Jason from DOTHAN, AL on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is a great product for the money, the picture quality is fantastic, the decoding of sound is superb and though I have only had it for a short while, I love this panasonic 4k blu-ray. the organization of the apps that can be accessed could be organized better(I like the Sony's app layout better), but everything can still be found. I recommend this product to anyone who wants to have a great looking picture, but needs it on a better and more affordable budget.

Pros: picture quality, sound decoding

Cons: app layout

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, very nice picture. Paired to an older Marantz 6005 for audio--audio seems at least as good to an older OPPO 105 over HDMI. Haven't really done any tweaking yet. Remote could be better designed--lack of backlight particularly annoying

Pros: Audio, Videa

Cons: Remote could be better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best sound and colors I ever see on a dvd player

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing!

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just great visuals and audio. Different outs for each and easy to use. The one drawback is they should have more apps on their appstore for streaming content. I'm happy with everything else!

Pros: Visual and audio quality.

Cons: The build feels a bit too plastic, no enough metal. App store is thin on streaming apps.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

100% Worth It

Crutchfield customer from Ventura, CA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went from using and XBox as my 4k player to this. Noticeably better. 4K by itself looks better. And the extra step to DB gives it more pop. There was really only 1 disc on the XBox that I felt was taking advantage of 10+ and looked amazing. So far, this player has made every HDR, 10+, and DB disc "pop." For me, definitely worth it.

Pros: Picture Quality HDR HDR 10+ Dolby Vision 4K Upscaling

Cons: Some plastic

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am very pleased with this player. Nice features and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great 4K visual & audio!

Crutchfield customer from Selden, NY on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I played a Blu Ray version of "DC Comic's, The Justice League". It was a Blu Ray and not 4K, but the Panasonic DP-U820, upscale the disc and without Sony A9G 4K 65", we had our socks blown off at the sharpness and also improved the audio portion as well. A great product! Highly recommend it.

Pros: None so far!

Cons: On line apps provided aren't enough!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Gig Harbor, WA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been watching this 4k/UHDplayer for a while, didn't really make sense replacing the two other models I have but the Black Friday special made me bite and bring one of these home. Previously, I had the Samsung UBD-K8500, which was a solid entry level player. We wanted something better so we got the Sony UBP-X800. Unfortunately, running the Sony in our Denon S720 receiver and Samsung 65" KS9800 ran into several problems and glitches. Here was the time to sample the Panasonic, I'm glad I did. The picture is phenominal, the remote isn't great but it works, we dont' plan to use the integrated apps so that won't be an issue either. The sound was great we have 7.1, no Atmos yet but watching Rise of Skywalker in 4k and GOT in 4k was awesome. I've only had this for less than a month will have to see how this player holds up over time as for now we are very satisfied.

Pros: Great picture and Sound

Cons: Little wide for my cabinet Remote is wide would like it slimmer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best affordable high end blue ray player

Crutchfield customer from Palmer, MA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple setup,excellent sound and picture - perfect match for my new Samsung 8k qled tv

Pros: Great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A strong buy

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, NY on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am no audio or videophile, but I the quality well exceeds the price . A strong buy

Pros: Great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Jonathan from HUNTERSVILLE, NC on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picked the Panasonic DP-UB820 after reading reviews and comparing to other 4K Blu-ray players. It has a wonderful picture with both 4K and regular Blu-ray discs and I couldn't believe how good my old DVDs looked - the upscaling is amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stunning!

Crutchfield customer from Warsaw, IN on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The set-up couldn't have been easier. Superb playback & upscaling. I'm glad I bought it before it sold out! The Crutchfield experts are spot on in their endorsement of this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Wooster, OH on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit with more features than I'll ever use. Crutchfield as always, top notch service. Eli in tech support assisted me with the two channel connection adjustment.

Pros: Several options for connecting. Allows me to connect to my two channel preamp as well for future use. Menu easy to follow. Great picture and sound.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT DVD UB820

Crutchfield customer from Yucca Valley, CA on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice crisp picture. The 3 D is outstanding! Love this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not read CD-R disc very well. It's a good thing I still have my OPPO.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Home Theater MUST

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are a movie lover like me this is a MUST! You can't compare the level of control you have on the picture modes vs. a gaming console for Ultra HD Blu-rays. I have a dedicated theater room and I love that you can bypass the AV Receiver for image and feed the projector directly. I have definitely noticed the image quality improve.

Pros: HDR Image control Quick Ultra HD Blu-ray reproduction Separate Video and Audio HDMI's

Cons: Is an expensive player (almost the price of a new PS5) Limited casting options (YouTube)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had a chance to use the equipment much yet, but have played a 4k UHD bluray, standard HD bluray, and a DVD on it. Video quality on each was excellent, as expected, with nice upscaling of each level. I run the audio via HDMI bitstream to my AVR for sound processing. The unit supports all sound modes well. Only drawback (hence only 4 stars), and I knew this when I bought it, is the unit won't play my Audio DVD's like the Oppo it replaced. The unit is very easy to setup, and so far I've had no issues with playback or configuration. Overall, a nice unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Amsterdam, NY on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

impressed!

Crutchfield customer from Camuy, PR on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

magnificent machine! easy to configure and the best, incredible colors and a sound not expected in a blueray. it costs every penny of its cost and nothing to envy an oppo!

Pros: incredible colors and details. the sound sent to the onkyo is excellent.

Cons: I have not been able to add more apps. it's still a giant blueray!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, great sound .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upscaling on BluRay and regular DVD discs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Trappe, MD on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device, as advertised in all respects. When faced with choices during installation, the 820 literally explained each of my options. Watch a 4k blu ray DVD. It only takes one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Halstad, MN on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased 3 of these. 2 are used very little but the one that has been used the most, freezes up and you have to unplug it for it to do any function, open, close or resume playing. Running netflix and blueray/dvds.

Pros: Good picture, good price point (on sale)

Cons: Freezes up after a few months use. have to unplug it for it to function again

Crutchfield response on 12/16/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your blu-ray player. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, PA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Great picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Skips some flac files other players have no problem with. Turns itself off after a few minutes on pause so I have to go back and find the song I was last listening to. Would not buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup beautiful picture on our 1080p

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Flagstaff, AZ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great 4k blu-ray player. I was originally going to go with a cheaper model, but I'm glad I stepped up to this one. It's easy to use and produces a fantastic picture whether you are playing a 4k blu-ray, a regular blu-ray, or a DVD disc. The design is nice and it feels high quality. I expect it to last quite a while. In short, if you are thinking about stepping up from a cheaper 4k player I would highly recommend this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upscale is a winner

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, IL on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my year to upgrade from old Sony Bravia to new LG OLED and since my last Sony Blu-Ray Player warranty replacement has died (that makes 3, thanks Sony :P )... what better time to try the Panasonic UB820. Ease of setup, and operation. Am blown away by the standard Blu-Ray upscale. Love the Panasonic so far... great way to end 2020!

Pros: caught it on Crutchfield sale ! Excellent deal

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

upconversion of dvd is great

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player.....the upconversion for a dvd is outstanding

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, IN on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, easy to set up and use. Waiting for some 4k blueray's to arrive in the mail. Then we'll see. Anyway, I like the player.

Pros: Great price!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Shrewsbury, PA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

picture is great, there hasn't been any problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

layer is nothing short of amazing. lots of possibilities in the settiw

Crutchfield customer from Brownfield, TX on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This BR P

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield