Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB820

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

Panasonic DP-UB820

Panasonic DP-UB820

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB820-K

30 reviews
View this product

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is awesome I had 2 other players that I will leave nameless that would freeze and just tun off randomly but the Panasonic will play perfectly I've played 5 4k movies in a row without any problems. The picture and sound are truly amazing it will make a standard bluray DVD look almost like a 4k DVD. I definitely would recommend the Panasonic DP UB820 to anyone it's worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Brockport, NY on 11/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this player last week an it does a great job picture an sound.

Pros: Top of the line

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Fort Bragg, NC on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I first off want to say thank you to the amazing staff at Crutchfield for spending their time and energy helping me. As a customer you could not ask for more in customer service and knowledge. Now as for the Panasonic DP-UB820 I can say that I am very saddened by the quality control of this player. I am now on my second player and can't seem to get one that will work for me. I bought this since it had so many good reviews off of many different sites. I didn't go the Sony player route because of the issue that they refuse to fix with the user having to manually switch between Dolby Vision and HDR 10 according the disc spec. Now I am faced with the dilemma of paying out $500 more dollars to step up to the Panasonic DP-UB9000. Do not get the wrong the 820's video processing is very good and audio is good/okay, but the quality is lacking. So far as a whole I have yet to be impressed by Panasonic. Again, thank you Crutchfield staff for helping me through this process.

Pros: Video is very good. Audio is good/okay.

Cons: Quality control issues.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Indian Orchard

Jim from Springfield, MA on 11/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put off getting a 4K player and compatabile TV until now. I purchased an 82 inch Samsung QLED TV and this Panasonic 4K player. The picture is mind boggling when playing a 4K movie. If you are a home theater person, this is a great player, when accopanied by a TV that will handle the new technologies.

Pros: Amazing picture

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Bryan from NJ on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely enjoy this purchase. Would highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal sharp 4K. So far so good. Plays every media.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pleased with my choice

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent easy to use and set up. Multiple outputs in the back to accommodate analog and digital interfaces. The choices and the flexibility in hook ups to audio and TV makes this an easy choice to accommodate any system you have. Did I mention the picture put to my new LG OLED 65B8 was SUPERB!

Pros: Playback quality ; many audio outs and digital outs allows it to accommodate the myriad of system set ups.

Cons: The on screen navigation is rather primitive

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Aztec, NM on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent 4K Blu-ray player, one of the best out there IMO. I'm using it with a 75 inch Samsung QLED tv. The video is great as is the audio. No problems whatsoever on any Blu-Ray disk played. Also, the Apps included with the player work very well too. I'm using a wired ethernet connection to the player through a powerline system (using my in-home electrical wiring) which I believe to be better than using the strong wifi signal my router produces.

Pros: Well built and everything works well.

Cons: None that I can think of at this time. Some have complained regarding the layout and presentation of the Apps menu but that doesn't bother me at all. I'm more interested in the functions of the unit than how "pretty" a menu may or may not be.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Bicknell, IN on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome picture easy setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Viera, FL on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Image quality improved over my old blu-ray player. 4K movies look great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Dan from Lake Geneva, WI on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit in Feb of 2019. The picture is great! The sound is OK. I was really dissapointed with the on/off and open buttons on the top right hand side of the unit. I find that in MANY cases I have to push, pull or force slide these buttons in order to make them function...very frustrating on a unit as expensive as this. The unit also "hung" once this summer which could only be "fixed" by pulling the cord out of the AC power outlet. It was fine after being plugged back in. People are comparing this unit to the OPPO machines... From a Mechanical perspective, the OPPO is far superior IMO. If I had to do it over, I would have spent the extra $$ for the 9000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Top notch 4k Blu Ray

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice unit, very impressive picture and Audio. Replaced older Oppo(non 4k). highly recommend

Pros: Great picture, even with DVD, Dolby Atmos outstanding

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, well built. The picture is amazing. Lot's of features. Great 4K upscaling of legacy DVD's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the $

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, TN on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome player! Has played every disc flawlessly so far! Love the tone mapping options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Concho, AZ on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remarkably improved sound quality. I listen to my great Jazz/music collection more than ever. Picture resolution/clarity on my older Samsung is so improved that I'm in no rush to buy a new monitor. Remote is mercifully simple and straightforward with buttons that are plainly labelled. Intuitive operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Quality built, very good performance.

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong performer with great setup options for TV type. HDR adjustments on the fly. Great audio options with second HDMI output.Fully supports Dolby Vision and Atmos. Player menu is ok but web function menu is clunky and dated. Lots of menu options so you can customize to your hearts content. Very pleased with purchase and as always Cruthfield is great. Did not give 5 stars solely because of price.

Pros: Performance and setup options.

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent blu-ray disc player.

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, MA on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to do. Transmits a stunningly vivid and colorful presentation of 4K media.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

When analog audio is needed - this is the way to go.

Crutchfield customer from Newport, OR on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed the analog audio outputs to connect a new digital projector to a circa 1976 70 watt commercial amp and speaker system in a public museum. The only two DVD players capable are the two Panasonic players. This was the less expensive of the two . We've had it for two busy summer months playing 9-5 each day. Works great.

Pros: Analog audio outputs

Cons: Wish it was a metal housing instead of plastic.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Far Superior Picture

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own 4 Sony UBP-X800 as I have four places where I can watch 4K Ultra Blu-Ray discs. All four Sony units kept locking up from time to time where the Amazon and Yahoo sign ins screens had to be downloaded over and over. I have a 200 Mbps internet service and the issue was truly related to the four Sony Blu-Rays. So I purchased 1 Panasonic DP-UB820 hoping to free myself from the reboot and re-entering my account name and password before being able to stream anything. What a surprise the Panasonic picture detail, color intensity is two to three times superior to the Sony units. Trash your Sony and buy a Panasonic.

Pros: Detail, color intensity and black level rendering

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and no concerns about the condition of equipment due to quality packing. Easy set up and quality playback. Replaced my 3 year old Oppo. Not as many settings as Oppo but not a concern for my home theatre situation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Markham, VA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought a Samsung Q900 TV and a Samsung Q7500 UD Bluray player. The way they recommend to hook it up is HDMI from the player to the TV and from the TV to the audio receiver. I had issues with the blacks and whites being too harsh (had to adjust picture per movie to get a reasonable quality) and the receiver wasn't choosing the highest quality sound. (Often it would choose BD Stereo and I had to go into my receiver and manually adjust to a better setting) I also tried hooking it up HDMI from player through the receiver to the TV... better but still had same issues. I researched a number of players and found this Panasonic 820 and with its dedicated video and audio HDMI outputs, all my woes were cured immediately. Picture and sound are AMAZING and have had no more issues. At this price, it is $300 more than the Samsung but if you are looking for quality, this Panasonic is worth every penny!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

You won't be disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent picture, solid construction, great sound using the second hdmi. Interface is easy to use and feels a little dated, but efficient. The colors on screen are vivid and crisp. Definitely worth the price.

Pros: Image quality and color Excellent sound Easy to use

Cons: Plastic casing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, NY on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Picture looks great. As a player I think it's great. I didn't get it for the streaming but since it offers it I hoping to load all my streaming apps. However, you are limited and the interface is cheeseie. Overall, I'm happy with it

Pros: Easy to use. Great picture

Cons: Ugly interface for streaming apps and the lack of adding apps in bad.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Moraine, OH on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars at the moment as it is currently doing everything I expect from a Blu-Ray player. As, I have yet to upgrade my Samsung 10 P Plasma to a 4K TV with HDR, I am unable to review those features. I have tested one of my Ultra HD movies (Aquaman) which looked great outputting video at a downrezed 1080P. Color s were quite striking and the Audio came in strong! I look forward to upgrading to a 4K tv to take advantage of this beast of a player.

Pros: Blue Ray and $K down converted to 1080P look great on my plasma tv.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player presents a beautiful picture. CDs surprised me with how good they sounded. The tray pops right out, and the menu is easy to navigate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 7/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My TV is only 1080 and the picture is so life like. This tv never looked this good. I am quite happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for my oppo First unit was glitchy and I had a replacement immediately . Crutchfield gets an A +++ again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the price. Huge upgrade from my Samsung standard Blu-ray player.

Pros: All features except one drawback.

Cons: The one drawback: remote is not back-lit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB820

Crutchfield customer from Comerio, PR on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the image is excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic UB820 vs. Oppo 103D

Robert from WASILLA, AK on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an Oppo 103D so this machine is compared to my aging Oppo. Picture quality, especially upscaling is superior to the Oppo even with the Oppo's Darbee unit. Some of the sharpness from the Darbee is absent here but the detail on the 820 is still noticeably better. The real surprise is the sound. Much better sound on the 820. Surround sound is clear and very lifelike. CD's sound the way they should rather than bottom heavy as with the Oppo. 3D is fast and effortless in transitioning from the 2D settings and is a great 3D picture. After watching 2 3D films in a row my SONY projector failed to return to 4k upscaling until I turned the 820 off and on again. Then it was fine. If it was a heavier more substantial piece of equipment it would have gotten 5 stars. I am a heavy user and for me, the Panhasonic UB9000 is a better fit.

Pros: Superior picture and sound on both 1080p Plasma and 4k projector.

Cons: Light weight build does not inspire confidence in a heavy (20+ hours per week) user

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP