Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Panasonic DP-UB9000

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB9000

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Panasonic DP-UB9000

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi

MFR # DP-UB9000

96 reviews
View this product

Great Oppo Alternative

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Late to the 4K game. I was seriously looking at spending the same amount on a used Oppo, as my 103D has been a key part of my system since purchase. Was concerned with the long term support of a 203. When taking that into account, along with the tone mapping capability of the Panasonic, it became a no brained decision. While I could have gotten video capability from the cheaper Panasonic, I wanted the additional tone mapping setting for projectors only available on this model, as well as the DAC's and the overall construction. Extremely pleased with this player - now comes the challenge of determining what blu ray's to upgrade to 4K.

Pros: Video Chipset DAC's Construction/Build Overall look/feel and performance

Cons: Complicated Menu's Remote (good, but coming from an Oppo not great) Instructions - somewhat complicated and some parts were hard to understand (similar to the menu structure)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this thing primarily to play music CDs. I didn't expect a huge difference in sound but I was pleasantly surprised. I am hearing things on my music CDs that I've never heard before. In addition, the range, depth of soundstage, and smoothness of response is substantially better than anything I've heard through my system before. We've watched a few movies and TV shows on Netflix and the picture and sound on those is outstanding as well. I feel like now I'm finally getting my money's worth out of my system. This thing is expensive but your system is only as good as the source. I was skeptical but after owning it for a month I say it was definitely worth the cost. I also bought all new HDMI certified 2.0 cables for my system. ( Harbeth Compact 7ES-3s, high end Denon AV RX, LG OLED TV )

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding video and audio output. Audio output including Blu-Ray Audio is excellent and sounds best using the RCA outputs rather than HDMI. Great picture and audio with 4-K Blu-Ray discs. Also improves audio/video of other Blu-ray Discs as well as DVDs compared to my OPPO BDP-95 player. Improves the audio/video quality of streaming services such as Netflix and YouTube.

Pros: Outstanding audio and video quality for discs and streaming

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Reference Quality and Features

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new reference Blu-ray player!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent disc player but noisy spinning mechanism

Murthy from POTOMAC, MD on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Given the price, I had high expectations for the product and it delivers for the most part. It has excellent image quality and good sound (analogue) output. The overall build is very fantastic as well, except for the disc spinning mechanism, which is somewhat noisy - enough to be audible from my sofa a few feet away. That is not what I expect from a disc player at this price point. Hence the three star rating. Perhaps my piece is defective (?)

Pros: Excellent image and audio quality

Cons: Noisy spinning mechanism

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Greenlawn, NY on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for movies and music with the CD player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A nice upgrade no matter your previous device

Crutchfield customer from Hiawatha, IA on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having owned an Oppo 203, I wanted to move to something that would have future tech support and be covered under warranty. I was not hoping or looking for improved performance, so I have been happily surprised with the output and performance of the UB9000. To my eyes, blacks are deeper and have more texture when feed a 4K HDR source. The user interface is just as snappy as the Oppo and also offers streaming apps (which the Oppo did not). Build quality is impeccable. Solid metal case and the disc tray is very solid. The disc tray is made from a pleasant feeling material instead of the cheap, lightweight plastic used on many other disc players. The quality can be felt in the weight of the unit. I've had cheap stereo receivers that didn't weigh as much as the UB9000. The backlit remote is a great touch and the buttons on the remote and front panel are laid out

Pros: Build quality Audio output backlit remote user interface streaming apps

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great player except for the bars

Crutchfield customer from Danville, PA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No ability to change aspect ratio. Have to watch with the black bars. TV zoom function also gets disabled. Otherwise sharper than my Blue ray OPPO player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A+

Crutchfield customer from Venice, CA on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love the Panasonic DP-UB9000. I've been kicking myself for not upgrading my Oppo 105D to the Oppo 205 Ultra HD player before they stopped manufacturing them. Well, I am kicking myself no more! This player is absolutely fantastic! Beautiful picture quality and amazing sound along with a nice sleek look and a super sturdy build. There are a lot of settings and menus so I'm still tweaking, but this is a fantastic machine that I would recommend to anyone from the casual viewer/listener to the finicky audiophile/videophile. Great job Panasonic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Outstanding Piece of Gear

Roger from JONESBORO, AR on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received yesterday and installed in my sound room. Followed the quick setup guide out of the box and was able to get it up and running in no time at all. Video display is absolutely wonderful as is the sound. This is set up as a 2.1 so can't vouch for the surround sound. Great unit! If you've been on the fence about choosing this unit, jump off the fence and get one. Thanks Crutchfield for quick shipping.

Pros: Great video and audio. Very intuitive manual with easy to follow instructions.

Cons: Haven't found any yet!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best on the Market

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This machine is fantastic!! It is solid, quiet and very responsive. The set-up was intuitive and simple and the device has all the input/output features you could possibly require. The picture produced is lavish in its depth, clarity and sound immersion. When playing music CD's the sound is incomparable. I love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Review how this item works before you buy

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first issue that has caused me to rate this device 1 is that it appears you must change the menu every time you want to use the analog outputs vs watch a video. The second reason is I am not getting sound through the Balanced outputs regardless of changing the menu. I purchased this unit to have high quality sound from my CDs and play 4K videos. I can not tell you whether this unit is the problem, if the problem is me, or my Yamaha A5100 processor. I will call Crutchfield and hope the wonderful guys in Tech Service can straighten me out.

Pros: None

Cons: Menu Nightmare

Crutchfield response on 12/21/2020
This customer contact our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mediocre remote. No Gracenote, which means that when I listen to classical music tracks on CD it could be Mozart piano concertos or it could be Beethoven sonatas and I wouldn't know which one is which, because all it tells me is "this is Track One, this is Track Two..." ... Disk tray is a little scratchy and squeaky and I feel the need to get in there and oil it. Other than that, good build quality and the picture is fine, although I have not figured out yet how to know whether I'm seeing 4k levels or just BluRay level. And of course it won't play SACD which is just too darn bad. So this is a competent player unit but nothing to distinguish it in my view.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit for sound and the ability to use one piece of equipment to play all my discs. Both audio and video performance is outstanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent but possible problem

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood Ranch, FL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent audio and video and a plethora of outputs. Not sure if this cause and effect, but I needed to turn off Viera connect and quick start up on the Panasonic player. For whatever reason, the factory default settings seemed to trigger the unintended switching of sound output from the soundbar to the TV. Stopped happening when I made these changes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added the Panasonic DP-UB9000 to our home theater and couldn't be happier. Very noticeable sound improvement over our old player which I thought was very good, plus a very good improvement in the video. I also played some of our music and ended up spending several hours due to the improvement. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

One hell of a player

Crutchfield customer from Yorkville, NY on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Player is unbelievable. I highly recommend it over and over again. The realism of the audio and video are second to none.

Pros: Does everything right

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Oppo...who?

Ralphael from Albany, NY on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is amazing and in my opinion is better than Oppo. The build quality is top notch. Hefty weight with beautiful brushed steel. Display visible across the room and disc tray is excellent. Boots up extremely fast and reads disc in no time. Fastest Blu-ray player I've owned. Easy and quick navigation through menus. No issue connecting to WiFi. The remote is nice but Oppo has the slight edge here. Video quality is second to none. Running HDMI video out to my 55" Sony OLED and the video is stunning. Make sure to select your display type in the Panasonic settings as it does make a difference. There's a video online explaining the HDR mapping on this machine and it lives up to the hype. I can't say for certain if the video quality is better than Oppo but certainly as good without a doubt. Audio quality is outstanding. Running HDMI audio out to my Marantz SR6012. Movies just sound perfect to me and the audio to my ears does sound better than the Oppo. Highly recommend using both HDMI outputs, video directly to tv and other to receiver for audio. Bottom line: If you are a movie enthusiast and have the budget this is the machine to get. I was definitely hesitant because of the price and had a high bar after owning the Oppo. If I had the two choices today I would still pick the Panasonic.

Pros: Build quality Video quality Sound quality Extremely fast boot and disc reading

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, FL on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible picture and sound quality. Best player I have ever owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I was looking for and then some! Great product.

Pros: Easy setup and operation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very please with my Panasonic ub9000 awesome blue ray player

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Expensive, but worth it

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As is well known, one can get 98 percent of peak performance at reasonable cost. The last two percent will be expensive, and this device illustrates that fact. It is expensive, but reveals sonic and video details that were no present with my previous unit. I have used Blu-ray players from several manufacturers, and this one is clearly the best. One especially nice thing about is that it is heavy. I have always disliked players that are lightweight and skid around when touched - this thing is going nowhere. And, as always, my thanks to Crutchfield for their outstanding service.

Pros: Outstanding video and audio performance. Excellent build quality Versatile menu settings allow fine tuning

Cons: Only one. The chapter skip function tends to stutter

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Player

Crutchfield customer from Fall City, WA on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Previous player was an Xbox One S and this is such a huge improvement I wish I'd bought it earlier. Discs resume consistently (even after swapping them), runs silent, and has great HDR options. It has played every disc I have thrown in there including a standard BR that failed to load on the Xbox. I also really like it having a separate HDMI out for audio as this has allowed me to continue to use an AVR that doesn't support 4k along with my LG CX.

Pros: Built extremely well. Fantastic picture and sound quality.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing and does everything it states!!!

Pros:

Cons: A little bulky.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Blu ray DVD Player todfay for the money

Crutchfield customer from Hampstead, MD on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panasonic is definitely top of the line in my book. crystal clear pictures, great audio. The 4K experience is fantastic and with internet connection, streaming Netflix, Amazon and many other apps is breeze. Heavy duty which is great. The tray is not even some cheap plastic sitting out to the right or left of the machine. Right in the middle and so well balanced.

Pros: Easy setup. Crystal clear picture. Easy connection to the internet.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but no cigar

Crutchfield customer from Tarzana, CA on 8/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Also own an Oppo 205. You cannot us HDMI AUDIO out and XL out if the other is plugged in!!! A terrible design error.If HDMI audio out is plugged in, XLR audio is disabled!! I bought this unit to use both. The unit will also not read about 25% of 4K disks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 21 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built like a tank. Quality to the extreme.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the price. The up-scaling functionality of the player makes all the difference. Not just for playing 4k blu-rays. It is now my main netflix player and any other app I can send through it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Pr, WI on 7/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made product. Easy to use and amazing sound and picture quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A solution.

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best match possible. Best? Let me explain. Perfect product, perfect Customer Service. Garrett, the contact at Crutchfield's is largely responsible. I did my homework and was insured my selection of the Panasonic DP-UB9000 would be a decision I would be pleased. What makes a condition where a purchase leaves the buyer without "buyers remorse?" Very important to me. The answer is: product, CSR and price! Crutchfield's hit this three pointer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Cleveland

Crutchfield customer from Evans, GA on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonder product once again from Panasonic! They have always made quality products in my opinion.

Pros: Great build quality. Exceptional picture that streaming doesn't quite match as of yet.

Cons: Expensive price when streaming has become popular.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DP-UB9000 is an excellent Blu-ray player (one of the best at any price and certainly the best under a grand) with a spectacular picture and stunning sound stage, but don't kid yourself. It's only a good, maybe very CD player. Outside of Netflix, Amazon Prime and Pandora, it is all but useless as a streamer. With digital music, this player is is far from great. And it does not play SACD or DVD-audio discs at all (though it will play most hi-rez file formats via USB). But if you don't listen to CD's much anymore (and in these days of Audirvana and hi-rez streaming, who does?) and/or are not an audiophile and wish to eliminate a box in your system while gaining one of the best pictures and home theater sound systems on the market, this is your best bet by far (assuming you already have, or will soon obtain, a fantastic AV processor as well). Again, don't kid yourself. No player will make a mediocre processor (or even a good one) great. Spend your money there first, something like the McIntosh MX123. Trust me. Fed into the MX123, the DP-UB9000 will knock your socks off. Your pants too! And audiophiles notwithstanding, it will more than respectably play your CDs as well.

Pros: Spectacular picture 4K with all the current bells and whistles: Dolby Vision and Atmos, HDR 10+, even THX, etc. Unsurpassed cinema sound stage. Truly a knockout. Supports most hi-rez music formats via USB port. Rock-solid construction inside and out. <$1,000!!!

Cons: Good (very good?) but not great CD player and does not play SACDs or DVD-audio discs at all. Streams NOTHING of interest outside of Netflix, Amazon, Pandora and YouTube. (Nitpick) You are stuck with a(nother?) HUGE remote as no codes are available to program any others.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 23 found this helpful

Spectacular 4k UHD disc player

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The video quality of the DP-UB9000 is astounding. The ability to adjust HDR for OLED really makes my OLED display produce the absolute best results I have seen on my OLED display. Discs that I had played on the Sony I replaced with the Panasonic unit look like entirely new releases. Extraordinary video quality. The audio is equally good, Dolby Atmos soundtracks are simply jaw dropping. Build quality is superb. So far, very pleased with the purchase.

Pros: Video quality, audio capabilities, build quality

Cons: So far only the price, it is expensive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

just bells and whistles

Crutchfield customer from Rockport, MA on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

purchased this player to replace a Sony upb-x800 which was freezing during Youtube streaming. Made the mistake to choose this expensive unit based on excellent reviews. The player is coupled with a 4K Sony XBR-65X950B tv set. From the very beginning , during initial setup, there was something weird: the audio guidance is spoken annoyingly fast that I had to disable. The first unit I received start doing the same thing as my previous Sony player: the screen gets black, and after accessing again the network services from the home menu it hangs on. The only way to get out from this loop is to unplug the cord. Here I have to congratulate Panasonic engineers: unlike the Sony player on this unit you can unplug the cord directly from the unit. Great job Panasonic!!! The freezing frequency was not bad , about one or two times per week but for this price it is unacceptable. Crutchfield replaced it with another unit which was worse: the freezing frequency was one per day. Crutchfield customer service convinced me to give this player the third chance. Well, the third unit is even worse: in a matter of two hours it froze few times. Both replacement players where not brand new: while the remote, the batteries, and the accompanying booklets were bag sealed, the players where not. 3 lemons in a row tells me there is a quite high return rate. Definitely, it will go back. Why to spend this much for bells and whistles when it cannot function better than a unit at one third of the price?

Pros: Power cord can be unplugged from the unit .

Cons: doesn't work properly for internet streaming

Crutchfield response on

24 of 31 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DP-UB9000 lives up to the performance I expected. It is a worthy replacement for the Oppo I previously owned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great machine and definitely worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Palm Springs, CA on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a bit hesitant to spend this amount of money but when I received it I realized its real value. It's quality from top to bottom. Definitely worth the price. My only suggestion would be to simplify the settings menus. Perhaps divide them in to two parts, reserving one for the techno nerd and the main one for those of us who just want to watch the movie. I felt comfortable dealing with Crutchfield knowing that their customer support is second to none, should this machine develop a problem! So far, this machine is flawless but it is still comforting to know that Crutchfield is standing behind me.

Pros: Sturdy and easy to hook up. Definitely puts out a great picture. The analog audio outputs is a great feature for those of us who have older equipment.

Cons: Menus contain lots of settings that are a nuisance to go through. Many of these settings could be buried in a sub menu that should be accessed in "expert" mode, allowing the first time audiophile the freedom to use the machine in "auto" mode.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Top of the line blu-ray player

Benjamin from POQUOSON, VA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent player. Built like a tank. Got this mainly to play CD's in 32-bit and it is a big improvement from my old Samsung blu-ray player which played cd's at 16-bit. Picture and sound on movies on bluray and cd are noticeably improved too. 3D movies are awesome!!! I like the Playback Info feature that tells you what the video and audio are playing at. I've done a bit of streaming - video and audio appear to be a bit better than my Apple TV 4K.

Pros: Video and audio quality Easy setup Build quality Lots of settings and options to play with

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Most impressive

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible picture and sound. Far surpassed my expectations. I've never been a fan of Panasonic products, but this one has earned a spot in my system. It is replacing an old Krell Showcase DVD player. It is a huge step up in capabilities and video performance, and is right in line with it sonically. Buy this player.

Pros: Build quality, audio and video quality, XLR outputs.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Top Tier Performance

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Panasonic DP-UB9000 primarily for 4K movies. It does not disappoint. The picture quality displayed on my Sony Z9G 85 is absolutely impressive but the sound quality through my 7.1 system will make you sit up and take notice; totally immersive. This 4K Blu-ray player is solidly built, has the ability to separate video and audio HDMI output, starts up relatively quickly, and provides for numerous customizable settings for playback. I have to admit this was not my first choice but I tired of the endless wait for a product that appears to have been discontinued as it remains unavailable many months after my initial purchase attempt. I have not been disappointed. This is an expensive player but if you want top tier performance, the investment is well worth it.

Pros: Relatively compact for factor, solidly built, quick startup, immersive sound, impressive picture, very customizable

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

4k goodness

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing quality player inside an out! Fantastic audio and video are enough to satisfy any Audi/video phile. Pricey, but worth it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Positive upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice addition to my entertainment system. Solid construction very nice looking. Audio and video quality superb. I set up the system using 2 HDMI inputs 1 for video other audio you can definitely hear and see the difference .

Pros: Great audio and video quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Robert L. from MONETA, VA on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice Blu ray player, maybe the worlds nicest at this point. Its built like a tank, very heavy compared to others. It wasn`t easy pulling the trigger for this at this price, however I`am glad I did. The Audio is fantastic and the video is even better with the adjustable HDR, makes a big difference in the contrast. I would have given it 5 stars except for the high price and the terrible warranty term. Crutchfield is very fast at shipping it to you.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Price, Warranty

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Definitely worth the extra money

Doug from Port Townsend, WA on 6/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the DP-UB9000. Amazing performance. Able to play a movie that wouldn't play on my older player due to a manufacturing defect on the disk. My Blu-Ray disks look much better and the sound is much better. Streaming Netflix and Amazon Prime is also better on my 11yo Plasma TV. Can't wait to see what it will look like on my new LG GX OLED. Definitely worth the extra money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Stunning partnership with JVC RS3000 projector!

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because of the Panasonic/JVC partnership to produce the best possible color/picture for HDR content. And it didn't disappoint!!! Before adding the UB9000 to my cabinet, my JVC RS3000 (D-ILA NX9) produced a stunning picture for HDR content, but there was even more vibrancy to be squeezed out of it once connected to the UB9000 and the few settings tweaked to use the custom color profile that was created by the collaboration. Seriously blown away - it works for 4K UHD Disc content as well as YouTube, Prime Video, and NETFLIX.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am impressed with the unit, have watched only 3 movies, 2 of which were 4K. I fell this was a good purchase thanks to Crutchfield rep. Thank you again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Happy Buyer

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought it to replace an Oppo UDP-203 that is back to them to have its optical unit replaced. I'm NOT disappointed ! Great picture and movie sound. Really the remote is more responsive than any I've used. A real pleasure! This thing is HEAVY! I'm very glad I didn't wait. I haven't hooked up the sound only HDMI output. I'll probably use the repaired Oppo for sound and keep using this Panasonic for movies.

Pros: Heavy! Great build quality! Good looks, great picture quality & Movie sound. Menus are easy to access and use. The sound is a bit brighter than the Oppo. It may be something I did in settings. Sounds good anyway. Oh, I should mention that Crutchfield shipped immediately putting the factory box in another box so I got a perfect package! OK, they're good!

Cons: Only one. It doesn't remember where you were when shut down and restarted. Annoying when watching a series. Oppo does do that for me. Oh darn I have to remember what episode I want to watch next. Ha!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Picture Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set-up. Awesome clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Until 8K Comes Along

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a DVD player which would have excellent video quality and source flexibility to keep me happy for the next few years (until 8K becomes commercially viable). This player is outstanding! Although some might balk at it's price, it's certainly less expensive than the ones Oppo used to make. I was also impressed with it's study, durable construction. Without question, this is a unit any serious DVD shopper should strongly consider. Yes, it's more expensive than other DVD players; however, this is a unit you won't regret buying because next year's model just came out.

Pros: 4 high definition, 4K/HDR formats: HDR10+, HDR10, Dolby Vision and Hybrid Log-Gamma (HLG). HCX processor which provides outstanding color and detail 192 kHz/32 bit, 4K-DAC 4 bit, which gives high res audio ALAC music files and WAV/FLAC,MP3,AAC/WMA/AIFF audio formats THX certified Alexa and Google Assistant 2 channel and 7.1 channel analogue outputs Tank like construction

Cons: No SACD or DVD audio playback--this is only a concern if you have a library of these discs

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Venice, FL on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best Blue ray player being sold.

Pros: Works great. Shipped in two boxes. Great service.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Unreliable on 1080p Blu-Rays.

christopher from Louisville, KY on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic player for 4k blu-rays with the 5 star reviews listing the virtues quite well. Hangs when playing normal blu-rays to my XBR-85x900F panel. Specifically, it will play normal blu-rays just fine, for a while. Then it glitches, shows some random colored blocks on the screen and jumps either to the next seen or to the top menu. Has done this (eventually) on every blu-ray I've tried and does not repeat in the same place. Hoping a software update fixes this behavior since I'd prefer not to have to keep another disc player around and because at this price, I think it's reasonable to expect the thing to reliably play 1080 blu-rays. Ironically, I bought the DP-UB9000 because my Sony UBP-X700 4k player would occasionally not power up and would have to be unplugged for a while before it would operate again. What is it with software bugs in these 4k players?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great unit

Pros: The unit speaks for its self

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Michael from EDMONDS, WA on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this and an Oppo 205. The performance is in the same class, and using it with Audioquest Vodka like the Oppo 205, you are in nirvana with it as well. Tom Norton loves this but he still kept his 205, me too. This one is the next best thing since you can no longer purchase an Oppo at a less than a joke price. Have yet to compare the HDR controls on this to my UB5050. I have settled on a calibration for SD and HDR formats that make it easier to use the projector remote. This is the best available player on the market. Oh, and the remote rocks.

Pros: Best player other than my Oppo 205

Cons: Need another Audioquest NRG cable, drats!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great picture. Great build.

Crutchfield customer from Morrison, CO on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture. Great build. Loads quickly and quietly. Plays quietly. Coming from the UB-820, which I moved to our second TV, I was familiar with the set-up, which can be a little confusing. The AVS threads are helpful if you have questions. The Panasonics are especially good when using projectors because of their flexible tone mapping options. I use it with a n LG OLED and its great , especially once I had the 'HDR SETTINGS' tuned in to my liking. I do not use for audio so I can't review that aspect. I still use my 'old' OPPO 103 for audio disc playback since it plays CD, SACD and DVD-A and allows me to rip my SACD's for playing with my ROON setup.

Pros: Spectacular picture

Cons: No SACD

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build quality and performance. Go online and download the complete owner's manual for detailed installation and operational instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Nescopeck, PA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful picture. Very happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Extensive Options and Quality Output

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Blu-ray player has more options than you can imagine. You need to download the online manual and watch a couple of Youtube videos to fully understand the menu options and get the most out of the unit. The Crutchfield salesperson was able to help me decide on this unit with her insightful questions. Overall a great experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Missing a couple of basic features, poor warranty

Michael from Fullerton, CA on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First impressions after a few days with the unit. Beautiful & build quality is very robust. The good: Picture quality, analog sound of redbook CDs - still TBD, the ability to configure video settings to allow for optimization for your specific display. This player does allow for BOTH HDMI outputs to send audio and video. While the main output supports 4K video+audio, the audio only HDMI output can be configured to output 1080p video+audio! You don't get two 4K outputs but still pretty cool. The acceptable: No SACD, HDCD, HDMI input to enhance the video from another device (yeah, I miss Oppo too). Something big missing if you're used to Denon & Oppo is no PAL to NTSC conversion for region 0 DVDs. The bad for a player at this price that gives it 3 stars: 90 day labor warranty! Unacceptable for any product marketed to audiophile/videophile consumers. No resume function/memory for a disc once the disc is removed. Not a big deal when watching a movie but very irritating if you watch a series. It won't pick up where you left off like any $150 player. Only slow motion forward play, no slow reverse. Again, any $150 player can do that. I'm not expecting Panasonic to fill Oppo's big shoes but for this price I don't expect basic functions like resume play to be missing and not having both slow forward & reverse play available. 90 day warranty, that's beyond embarrassment. Not much faith in the quality of their flagship player. I'll probably keep it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

27 of 32 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Piscataway, NJ on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

picture quallity is great

Pros:

Cons: audio quality is not so great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great but ....

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the build quality and speed to load discs. Only wish it would out both analog AND digital via HDMI simultaneouly so I didn't have to go through settings to change depending on preference at time. Sound quality is awesome via the analog.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this product came to fill the Oppo players left when they left the market . Great quality and amazing picture ,if you are in the market for a 4K player this is the one to get .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A Ultra HD Blu-ray disc player that can do everything you want.

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, WV on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic build quality, tons of options for an Ultra HD Blu-ray disc player that can do everything you want, and plenty of things you didn't know you wanted, like lots of picture-tuning tools. I believe the Panasonic UB9000 is the perfect high-end model. It is expensive but its picture and audio quality are flawless. It may not be perfect, if you have an inventory of SACD and DVD-A discs, you may want to consider the Pioneer Elite UDP-LX500.

Pros: Impeccable image quality, with a plethora of customizable settings

Cons: A grand is a lot to pay for technology that's on the wane.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent...product..excellent service

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent player. The best out there. If you get the best of your components (4K, hdr, hifi audio) this is it. The clarity of the sound is amazing. The build quality is superb. Make sure to properly set it up. There are good videos on YouTube take time to watch it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Oswego, IL on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loads discs quickly, easy to navigate. The build quality is very good, and the picture quality is outstanding. For some reason I get a green screen once in a while on startup instead of the home menu. It goes away when I put a disc in, but I'm knocking off a star for that glitch. Hopefully it will be addressed in a firmware upgrade.

Pros: Fast loading, easy to navigate setup/menu and great quality 4K video

Cons: Sometimes I get a green screen at startup instead of the home menu until a disc is put in.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

The BEST 4K Player

Crutchfield customer from Farmingdale, NY on 1/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panasonic DP-UB9000 is an excellent 4K player. It is a great replacement for the oppo players that have stopped being produced. I have an oppo blu-ray player and I can say that this player is an excellent replacement for a high end player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Finally - an Oppo Worthy Contender Has Filled The Void!

Adam from YORBA LINDA, CA on 1/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When Oppo shockingly up and left the UHD DVD player scene those of us that appreciated their quality cried. I even went so far as to pay an extra premium on eBay to buy one last player before stockpiles ran out. Roll tape forward and *BOOM* - somebody finally stepped up to fill the void! Many thanks to Panasonic for building a Sherman Tank for those of us that appreciate the quality and don't mind paying a premium to get it. Easily the best player on the market today! Big, heavy, oozes of quality!

Pros: build quality, video playback quality, 4 UHD native player

Cons: Some will say price - I say you get what you pay for in life!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000 is worth every nickel - upgrade your HDMI also

Tom from TRAVELERS REST, SC on 1/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Panasonic DP-UB9000 is an amazing DVD Blu Ray Player . Have been using for a month now - just upgraded the HDMI to the LG 4K TV I have. Just captured better video with the Audioquest Cinnamon cable. The CD player is amazing also. My stereo is very revealing (Krell integrated amp- the new K300i, The Maggie 1.7i) speakers. My sound off a Blu Ray or CD is exceptional. I could not be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, SC on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well, cost a lot of money.

Pros: Works very well both in video and in sound.

Cons: A lot of bucks!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too early to review!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Great piece of gear!

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking to upgrade everything to 4k, unfortunately oppo is no longer in business but the Panasonic DP-UB9000 definitely did not disappoint. Paired perfectly with our new JVC 4K projector and Arcam AVR!

Pros: High quality components, smooth picture and sound.

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MI on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

FANTASTIC clear picture with my 8k tv. Great audio.

Pros: Incredibly clear crisp picture with superb audio.

Cons: Costly

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, OH on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Panasonic DP-UB9000...it's kind of expensive but it's worth it every pennies. Fast loading as well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best player I have ever owned

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from District Hts, MD on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player one of the best that I ever brought

Pros: Easy to use,very nice picture and sound

Cons: No remote app and no music streaming

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, MI on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, good sound, but not as detailed as I would like

Pros: Picture, ease of use

Cons: Sound

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Enumclaw, WA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You'll never be sorry you spent that much money ! And be sure you spend your money where service is king yes that's right Crutchfield........

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

My pending review of DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't connected it to my system as yet. When I do, I'll submit a comment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 25 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, KS on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredibly beautiful video with 4k bd. Upscaling is fabulous. Easy to set up. Easy to use. The only issue we had was the first time we used a DVD in.it. This strange display came on that we couldn't get rid of. We removed the DVD and turned off the player for a few minute, then we turned the player on without the disk. Then we inserted the same DVD and it worked perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Safety Harbor, FL on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love the weight of the unit to keep vibrations at Bay and also the many connections for audio and video on the back for Optimum performance

Pros: Operates and runs sound and video to the highest capacity that I have seen so far

Cons: A little pricey but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Reference level 4K UHD player!

Crutchfield customer from Washington, WV on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch disc player with unmatched video performance and excellent tone mapping features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Best Player out there

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, VA on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As the old Cliche' sez, "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" This Player is absolutely the truth! Yes, it does cost a lot, but it's well worth it! I've had this thing for three weeks and I love it! Well built, very heavy,doesn't feel like the cheap ones! You will not be disappointed with this one! I have this hooked through my Marantz SR7011 going to my 65 Inch LG OLED via the ARC. Feels like I'm at the theater! Also upgraded my HDMI CABLE to the Audio Quest Vodka, sounds are immense!

Pros: Does what it says.

Cons: Cost $$$$

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After plenty of research, found it to be the only disc player worth investing in. It is well built, it has a quality appearance, and performs all of the functions it claims it can. Too early to say, but I hope it stands the test of time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece of equipment very sturdly built compared to the Sony which I was looking at

Pros: Dvd loads very quickly compared to my McIntosh used to

Cons: No cons so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Audio Nirvana

Crutchfield customer from Bluffton, SC on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit has exceptional audio playback qualities for music and surround sound. Built like a tank and the disc tray is smooth and quiet. I have NOT played back any UHD content as I have an older (2015) LG OLED set. I bought the unit strictly for the its audio capabilities and ability to upscale music files and compact discs. Netflix and the like look fine in SD and Pandora has never sounded better. So why only 4 stars? You can not completely shut off the front panel display in all modes. Not a big deal but it should be able to be defeated. My big gripe is you can NOT output audio from HDMI and analog simultaneously, you have to go into the settings menu and switch between on and off for HDMI audio out for analog to work which is kind of a pain. My Oppo had simultaneous output and I miss it, but the audio quality of UB9000 is light years ahead of my old Oppo.

Pros: Exceptional audio output and build quality

Cons: Minor.... as I stated above in the review

Crutchfield response on

26 of 34 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Albrightsville, PA on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bluray player!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Perfect fit for a upper end theater system

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Panasonic manufactured a quality product which is well built with clean lines. I liked how you can turn on the voice control to talk back which functions that you are accessing. I would recommend this exceptional product.

Pros: Well built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised this player produces excellent audio/video reproduction from all formats of DVD as well as CD. I am extremely happy with it.

Pros: Good product, period!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Blu Ray player. Excellent sound and picture. The HDR optimizer is very useful. Excellent quality.

Pros: Great picture and sound.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Fantastic!

Crutchfield customer from Reisterstown, MD on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Panasonic thought of almost everything. Worth every penny!

Pros: Gorgeous, build quality, features, performance.

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great player

Crutchfield customer from Indian Trail, NC on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and sound. HDR optimizer work very good also.

Pros: Picture and sound,build quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazed by the picture and sound

Crutchfield customer from Wasilla, AK on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own an aging Oppo 103D. I never thought I would find a comparable Bluray Player let alone one that is so much better. But the UB9000 is better than my Oppo in terms of picture quality and sound. The upscaling is amazing. Old DVD's look great and my Bluray collection looks better than ever before. The separation and clarity of surround sound surpasses my expectations. I wish everyone could see and hear the difference that the UB9000 can make in their home theater experience. I am now very glad that the Oppo started to fail. This machine is well worth every dollar!

Pros: The best picture and sound I have ever seen. Superior to the Oppo 103D which really surprised me. Solid build which easily compensates for the cost.

Cons: The cost may deter some but anyone who wants the very best in 4K and bluray as well as amazing upscaling should not let the cost be a factor. The UB820 is cheaper but is not even close in terms of the quality of its' construction.

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

Panasonic DP-UB9000

Crutchfield customer from Englishtown, NJ on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loads really quickly and provides an exceptional picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 11 found this helpful

Better Blu-ray

Crutchfield customer from Selma, OR on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the balanced outputs. Bluray performance better than my BDP-105. Sound and video very good. USB 3.0 playback from a HDD sound quality is also good but the interface lacks some of the iPhone app functionality . If you are playing a track in a folder and want to queue the next track in a different folder playback stops when you leave the current folder. Overall a solid performer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

OPPO Part II

RacerX from NASHVILLE on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As the fans of the former king of blu-ray are aware, OPPO has stopped production of blu-ray players. Panasonic, old school Japanese awesomeness, has stepped up to the plate and created the finest blu-ray player on Earth to date. This new model is a real machine - heavy - first class in all regards - a work of art. Picture quality is amazing. One thing I want to mention is that Netflix on this unit is stunning - having separate audio and video hdmi outputs allows you to have the BEST in picture and sound quality. Connect this to your brand new SONY OLED and you will smile.

Pros: Build quality Picture quality Separate hdmi out for audio

Cons: ZERO

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Panasonic UB9000: The Ultimate UHD Player

Michael from Calumet, MI on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received the UB9000 yesterday, and have it hooked up to my system. (Marantz SR7012, and a Samsung Q9FN 65" TV.) I started with the factory 'auto' settings, but have been tweaking a bit over the past day or so. I have owned several BD and UHD players, and this is the best unit I have ever used. The picture quality is fantastic; yes, there is a difference, and if you have the time to do some experimenting with the vast array of settings, you can dial in amazing PQ, specifically tailored for your display device, whether it be an LCD, OLED, projector, etc. I have more experimenting to do, although I'm loving the quality I'm getting so far. The unit is built like a tank, weighing 16-17 lbs. The disc tray slides in and out solidly and smoothly, and the player just feels wonderfully solid and stable. A short quick start guide comes with the player, but there is a more extensive user manual available online. I know that streaming services are improving in delivery and quality, but there is still nothing like playing a good UHD 4K disc in a player like this. If you watch and collect BD and/or UHD movies on disc, this player is the absolute top of the line. Worth every penny; I'm very satisfied and would highly recommend this if it's in your budget.

Pros: Fantastic picture out of the box, but lots of custom settings available; heavy and solid; great build quality.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

23 of 24 found this helpful

TOP