Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
980 004 941 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
980 004 941 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

W3v3 Series 10" 2-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92150

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

W3v3 Series 10" 2-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92150

59 reviews
View this product

Happy with 10W3v3's

Crutchfield customer from Paint Lick, KY on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 10W0v3 and in the same box with same amp totally changed the bass of my system! Sounds really good with more volume. Had to actually turn the bass down.

Pros: Sound great and have reasonable sized box requirements

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 8/12/2019

2013 Ford F-150 Raptor

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Hard to beat a JL sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Mukilteo, WA on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2014 BMW X1 with a custom fiberglass box molded into the passenger side hatch area. This sub can produce a ton of output with fast attack and not taking up much space at all.

Pros: Sounds great, doesn't require much space, and produces a surprising amount of output for a single 10".

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Unimpressed with Jl Audio

Eric from Grand Junction, CO on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible sound. Very unimpressed with JL AUDIO. First tried a Alpine mrv500 combined with the Jl 10w3v3 in a sealed box and that combo was lacking sound. Switched amps to Morel 1.550 and it made a big difference in sound quality but was still unimpressed with this sub so i sent it back to Crutchfield for a full refund and purchased the Audiofrog gb12d4 and wow is all i can say . Dont get caught up in all the Jl Audio hype they are way over priced and there are other brands that sound way better. I do realize I did spend almost double the cash on the Audiofrog but the difference is amazing.. Dont buy this subwoofer.

Pros: Nothing about this subwoofer

Cons: Everything about it. Not a good sounding sub. If you want noise it will make it but it lacks sound in every aspect

Crutchfield response on

2 of 12 found this helpful

Amazing Sound

William from Somerset, OH on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sounding speaker. I have a 500 watt rms jl amp powering it and it gives amazing sound responce. Do not use a cheap amp with this. It really wants the true power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Samson from Kapolei, HI on 12/8/2018

2015 Lexus CT200H

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bass hits much better the my old alpine Type R. I love it, I should spent the extra money to buy it before

Pros: Quality bass Nice bass range compare to a Type R

Cons: Single voice coil 2 or 4 ohm Expensive

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JLW3 is a must have

Andrew from North Las Vegas, NV on 12/7/2018

2003 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing bass!!!1

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great sub

Felix from San Antonio, TX on 8/24/2018

2006 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An awesome upgrade from my shallow mount Kicker Dual 4 ohm voice coil sub. This sub paired with a foxacoustics single 10" ported sub box puts out some pretty darn good bass. Definitely rattles the 2013 SCrew.

Pros: Clear, loud sounding lows

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Simply the BEST!

john p. from Red Hill, PA on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to upgrade a 10W1v2-4 in a 2001 Durango Stealthbox. Running it off a XD600/1 (400watts@4ohms) was asking too much. After some box modification to account for the additional depth, it fits perfect. A very well-built,sturdy piece of equipment. As I can now use the full 600 watts, the output has has improved significantly over the 10W1v2. Not just in volume, but extension & punch as well. I personally like a sealed box sub with power thrown at it. Not as boomy & "loose" compared to a ported box. Will it rattle windows a block away? NO. Does it provide solid, hard hitting bass over a wide array of music? Absolutely! If room is an issue(sealed box specs are downright tiny), you can't go wrong with this sub. JL for life!

Pros: Output vs space is unreal, handles power well, build quality is excellent

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Mililani, HI on 6/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Cropwell, AL on 5/22/2018

2000 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic subwoofer great range and clear sound. I will be using these in future builds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Adam from Lusby, MD on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub...... lots of clear bass and not too overpowering. Great for my ram 1500

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Kerman, CA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Chose this sub due to its small sealed requirements. Sounds awesome in my 04 TJ with the custom box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality Bass Hits Hard

Johnathan from Rockwall, TX on 1/3/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub - JL is the best as is Crutchfield. This is hands down the best 10 inch sub you're gonna find. Hits hard but you can use it for classical to crushing metal or rap. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Quality Bass, great materials/construction, good power handling, awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Jacob from Forest Hill, MD on 9/15/2017

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I started out with 1 w3 in a ported box that fit under the backseat of my 2016 silverado double cab. I liked it so much I had to get a second w3! I have them wired in series to 1ohm, in a ground shaker sealed box, with. 1200watt hifonics mono amp, tuned to 750 watts @ 60hz. Hits hard, clean bass and I'm very happy with the way it sounds. I've used everything from MTX, Alpine and kicker over the years and they don't compare to the sound and quality of a jl. I would recommend jl audio and the w3s to anyone, they might cost a little more, you won't be disappointed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I hoped not to like these

IDAY from Vermillion, SD on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hoping not to like these W3's but, I was impressed by the accuracy and clarity of this 10 inch subwoofer. I haven't found a subwoofer I liked since I had my Polk Audio momo 's I purchased from crutchfield also in a sealed box with 375 watts. My musical taste is so diverse that most subs only sound good with one or two genres Rick Ross , Plies,Alabama Shakes,Fleetwod Mac,Geezy,Migos Florida Georgia Line, Alan Jackson, Aerosmith and Southern blues if you have ever listened to its hard deep bass l. I have tried Kicker which only sounds good if you are under 24 years old. I also tried Image Dynamics, Rockford,Orion,JBL,and Hertz. Hertz was the best sounding by far but after it kicked the bucket after 1 year and a full refund I started searching . I kept avoiding JL because I felt it was all brand hype. I was wrong they hit hard and accurate with no distortion. Thanks Crutchfield I should have trusted the reviews and saved me some time and money.

Pros: Hits hard precise and accurate..

Cons: You have to turn the bass up a click or 2 on the amp or bass knob the 85 sensitivity makes them have to be adjusted bit higher .

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Jeremy from Phoenix, AZ on 6/6/2017

2013 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and build quality, not a whole lot of power capabilty

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

james t from Middle River, MD on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, I have it in the back of 2014 Ram2500. Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful sub

Guest from Georgetown tx on 4/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub I love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Chad from Dalhart, TX on 4/24/2017

2015 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding sub. Have it paired with the JL RD500/1 in a ported box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sub

Casey from Illinois on 2/27/2017

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding sub in my application. I have one 10w3v3-2 in a ported box 1.25 cu. ft., tuned to 36hz (Foxbox from Fox Acoustics) under the backseat of a 2012 Ford F150 Supercrew. I've paired it with a JL HD 900/5 amp (pushing 500w RMS to sub). I am using an Audio Control LC2i LOC to interface the amp with the stock stereo system. I listen to a lot of Pink Floyd, Alan Parsons type stuff, and the sub delivers on the drum kicks and basslines. Sometimes, just to "feel" the bass, I'll stick in some old school hip hop, and the box hits very clean and low. It's expensive, but I've never been disappointed with JL products.

Pros: Hits clean, hard, and low in my setup. It's JL.

Cons: Price. Doesn't come with a grill, though I knew that prior to purchase. I purchased a JL brand grill for $20 from a local audio shop since my sub fires at the floor within an inch (give or take), and I wanted to protect my cone from random McDonald's toys and chicken nugget boxes.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Nice sub

Dave from Clarksville, TN on 2/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice bass, wanted more for the price paid. Had an Alpine R10 in my F150 and the bass is about the same. I am pushing with the same MTX amp but paid a lot less for the Alpine. I have a 2014 Ram, just running one under the seat, unfortunately I did have to suffocate the sub with a small box due to how the Ram is set up, however the Alpine R10 was in a smaller box also. By all means, nothing wrong with the sub, sounds great, just very comparable to the Alpine and $100 more.

Pros: JL name, construction and bass.

Cons: Price, comparable to the Alpine R10.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Tight, responsive bass

Rick from West Sacramento, CA on 2/9/2017

2005 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance! Good bass response out of a small speaker. Actually sounds like a 12"

Pros: Clean, punchy bass for hip hop and country music.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Why did I not go JL sooner?

Jason from McCook NE on 1/9/2017

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this sub in a used JL F-150 stealth box and can not believe how good it sounds and how hard it hits. I was running a pair of Alpine Type S 10's in a sealed box for years and this single ten blows them away. Over the years I have run MTX, Kicker, Total and Alpine subs and none of them will touch this JL.

Pros: Excellent sound quality, hits hard and plays loud.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Lives up to its reputation

Sal from Buffalo, NY on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had a W1 in the past and loved it, but it wasn't constructed the same at all. Coming from the newest version of an Alpine S sub, I was a little hesitant to spend nearly double the price, but wow thus really exceeded my expectations. Very clean, rich lows, handles tons of power without distorting. I'm powering it with my Alpine MRP500 amp. Great combination for under $500.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, great quality, great sub

Tristan from New Baltimore, MI on 8/26/2016

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is great quality, first time buying JL audio and I won't buy anything else now. I didn't think a single 10 inch sub would kick as hard as this one does, it's a beast.

Pros: Solid bass Great quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

J barrios from Tenesee on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good all around best subs I have own

Pros: Build and sound quality

Cons: Bit pricier than other but well worth it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceeded My Expectations

Mopo from Seattle on 3/21/2016

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in the Audio Integration's Stealth Box (non-ported) and I couldn't be happier. It is powered by the JL JX500/1D. I haven't really pushed the amp or sub yet, since I have been breaking it in for the last couple weeks. I plan on testing the voltage and tune it soon. The sub booms more than I thought it would and it sounds great with all different types of music. I actually wish my commute was a little longer, so I can listen to my music...

Pros: Looks fantastic. Great build quality. Has very deep bass for a 10" sub. The non-ported box doesn't take much space.

Cons: The newer builds of this amp comes with the "JL" logo instead of the "W3" logo which looks better imo. My sub is covered by the SGRU grill, but still...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jl Audio 10W3v3-2

Hinkle from Pennsylvania on 9/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sub-woofers knocked off three rear view mirrors in 3 different cars that I've had. Amps have come and gone but these subs are unstoppable. Incredible low end hard hitting bass. Very nice because you don't need a huge amp to power 2 subs and sounds great with a 700W no name amp.

Pros: Insane Bass, unstoppable subs, and great power range.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Clean Deep Sound

E. Gonzalez from California on 8/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These subwoofers were great as I expected them to be. I have them installed in my 1965 mustang. I have two of these subs and I really enjoy them. I would buy them again but I have no need too. :-)

Pros: Awesome deep clean sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

W3

Steve from Stratford ct on 6/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built like a tank. Soil construction and good materials leads to great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

A worthy upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Washington on 5/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Prior to this sub I was using an entry level 10" manufactured in 2003 and cost $50. It was driven off a 400w Alpine amp with an Alpine CDA-9885 head unit. It was housed in a JL stealth box with 0.6 feet of space. I thought it sounded fine but never like the idea that it was entry level and wanted something more appropriate for this TransAm that I had given so much TLC to. After consulting a Crutchfield adviser, I bought this sub. The first thing that I noticed when it arrived was how much heavier it was. The second thing I noticed was how the build quality and materials looked and felt far superior. I installed it in place of the old sub with the same amp, head unit, box, everything. For how I listen and what I listen to, I can't tell a difference between the two subs. This one certainly has more potential though and gets quite a bit louder and more intense. Overall, I like it and would recommend to friends.

Pros: Build quality, materials, forcefulness, power.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

2014 Dodge Ram goodness

woojyee from Columbus, NE on 2/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for a decent box for the 2014 Ram Crew Cab proved to be a difficult project. I didn't want to lift my seats with spacers so I finally found a box I liked that didn't break the bank but now came the issue of finding the right Sub for the space I had (.69 cu ft), mounting depth and magnet diameter. This sub had all the right specs I needed and it sounds fantastic. I have it paired with a JL Audio XD700/5v2 amp that puts 300 watts RMS on the sub @ 2-ohms and it has tight clean bass with the good low end when I need it. I used a JL Audio 10" sub in my 02 Silverado build that still sounds great so it was a no brainer to look for another.

Pros: Good, tight, clean bass in sealed .65 to .70 cu ft. boxes for 2014 Ram Crew/Quad Cabs.

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

All about that bass

Dan from vermont on 12/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its my sexond w3 and for a mid level subwoofer it works great and does everything I need it to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JL 10W3V3-2

Luke from Calgary, AB on 9/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All around awesome sub!! Had 2 10W0's in my last car and one 10w3 puts them to shame!!! Paired with a JL JX500/1 and tuned properly this sub hits like it should, if not better!!!

Pros: Loud, clean lows, not too "boomy". Perfect sound for my 2013 Civic Si

Cons: Lower end lacks power but still better than 90% of 10's out there

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Reputation says it all

Guest from 5135763190 on 6/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this sub for about two months. At first, I built a sealed box just for this sub. It sounded decent. The voice coil kept bottoming out too quickly. I had to keep turning down the volume. But when I realized that I built the box too big, I realized that the subwoofer had no control of the cone. So I decided to build a ported box just to see if it made a difference. To my surprise, it hits twice as loud and way deeper than sealed box. I did not change any of my settings on the radio or amp, just the volume. Goes to show you two things: build a box to JL Audio specs and go ported. Sealed boxes are good for upper bass, but if you want deep, loud, and still sound quality, GO PORTED. You will not be disappointed. Mind you, I'm only using one subwoofer unlike all the other reviews.

Pros: Works in sealed and ported enclosures.

Cons: Specs not the same from the 4ohm version and 2ohm version. Different size enclosures.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

JL 10w3v3 2ohm...LONGEVITY!

WillH from Dayton, NV on 5/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So i"m finally ready to review this awesome subwoofer.....After owning the same pair of these JL 10w3v3 for over 5 years.Yes, really, 5 years.before these JLs i was going through about 1-2 sets of 10s a year,all "comparable" to the JLs, had sonys, alpines,blaupunkt, rockford fosgates and lots of kickers. none were near as reliable. appearance of these are great,very clean.the sound is crisp clean deep and hard all at once. currently have been using mine daily for last 5 years everyday, lots of reggae, rap and metal. using the same 1100w digital amp that i bought with the JL subs. they are tuned well and to hit hard. been set up to run at about 85-90% of max power since i have owned them. no issues atall. would recommend to anyone looking for hard/soft clean bass. if these ever go out i will gladly buy another pair!

Pros: great product.... time says it all, especially if you heard how hard i used these subs.

Cons: its like everlasting gum... hope JL doesn't put itself out of business with these quality products they have. lol

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio rules

GW from The Texas Panhandle on 2/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little guy sounds like a much larger speaker than it is. JL's just plain sound good. Put one of these in a sealed box, wire it to a clean amp and then be prepared for awesomeness.

Pros: Sound quality, build quality, American made

Cons: They don't give them away

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sub!

Crutchfield customer from Atlantic beach, florida on 1/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired up with an alpine mrp-m500 amp and this thing thumps! Great clean sounding bass. Can't go wrong with JL

Pros: It's JL audio

Cons: Not a thing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome sub woofer

Alan from Frederick, MD on 12/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome clear lows

Pros: Clear sound

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great power

Biggies from Miami fl. on 11/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best tight bass you can buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow, Pure bass

MustangWill from Los Angeles, CA on 11/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, I have a few weeks with this superb sub woofer in a sealed box and it hits hard and tight. The gain on my amp is just 2/4 , less than half with the Kenwood Kac-8152d mono block amp. I'ts in a convertible and it's hard to get good sounding hard hitting bass in a mustang. I've has other brands (Kicker, Fosgates and cerwin vegas) that I thought were good at the time, but none of them compare to JL Audio. This brand is on a league of it's own. I put the woofer on a ported custom box made to spec by the JL website to test and the bass is just phenomenal. It's increase in output is like double loudness and hard hitting from the sealed. The sealed was perfect for me. The ported enclosure is scary, lot's of fun and as i turned the radio louder, the sub wants more. simply Wow. I'm a JL Audio fan from now on.

Pros: The best bass

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Incredible Sound

BenM from Louisville, KY on 7/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound...worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2 Sub

IanS from Lakeland, FL on 4/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub can handle a lot of power. I have one powered in my hatchback and had to turn the gain down due to overpowering the rest of the system. JL has always made some of the best subs and this one is no different. The bass is very clean and punchy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ikua

Home from Kent, WA on 4/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave me many hours of enjoyment.

Pros: Nice, sleek, and durable.

Cons: They need to make the tinsel wire longer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

All about the quality

Bozman from Somewhere in WA on 12/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had made a "cheap" decision to get the Infiniti 100.9..... Well after it blew the first day (Crutchfield sent a new one with no issues) I had the new one in for 5 months before it also experienced problems with voice coil wiring (Some of it litterally fell out :-/). So I did what I should have done in the first place. I got the JL3v3 2 ohm sub. I run a 5 channel Kenwood amp that puts out 500 RMS at 2 ohms on the sub channel so it was also I perfect fit. I drive an extended cab pickup and have a custom made sealed enclosure behind the drivers seat that ground fires a couple inches off the floor. I started off by tuning the sub correctly with a DMM and 50hz test tone. NOT doing this probably caused the equipment to fail on some of the other reviews I read above. Sending clipped signals can and will silently destroy your stuff. You can't under power a sub by that much and have it last. I started with some rock..... Kickers, drum solos, bass lines are very precise and clear. I was very surprised on how snappy this sub was in comparison to my other one. Played some stuff with double kickers as well with nothing but tight and clear kicks to my lower back. I went into some R&B and Hip Hop and was surprised how evenly everything sounded. It does lack some db's in those lower hz ranges, 25-35, though that is to be expected. NOTE: I tuned with no bass boost on the amp. After break in, I will re tune it with 6-9 db's on the boost. That outa bring up those lower hz levels.

Pros: Quality build Great SQ Great for tight spaces

Cons: None that I didn't expect

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Sub!

StevenS from Flagstaff AZ on 11/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed one sub in a ported box behind the back seat of my Tundra CrewMax. Sounds amazing. Only complaint is mounting depth, the back seat is a notch or two more forward than I was hoping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Subwoofer

LuisV from Westchester, NY on 6/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the right enclosure this sub hits hard and quick. It's extremely musical and totally effortless in reproducing deep bass. Without a doubt this is a top notch driver and one that I would highly recommend to friends and family.

Pros: Deep, quick, hard hitting and takes a ton of power.

Cons: None that I can think off.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

SSS from Lake Jackson, Texas on 2/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased 10" sub for pickup truck. Sound is very good and is exactly what I was looking for. Installed in custom built box and have been enjoying ever sense.

Pros: Good quality product at reasonable price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice sound from a little space

JW from Denver Colorado on 12/15/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are savvy enough to put this in a solid, correctly sized box you won't be disappointed. Make sure to follow JL's recommendations for box size close, take into account the displacement of the sub in the box. I made my own .625 cu ft box to fit in the corner of the trunk, I also made sure the box was tight, then with a little poly fill and a good amp I had some thump. Just placing this in a prefab box especially one that is too big or too small can make or break the sweet boom of this sub, when sitting side by side you can really tell the difference. JL builds these to tight tolerances don't waste their efforts by being cheap or lazy with the box!

Pros: I have always enjoyed JL products and this was no exception. It is one of the few 10" subs that can fit almost anywhere .625 cu ft boxes are easy to stuff in places depending on your creativity. With nearly twice the excursion of my last sub the output was awesome. This 10 sounds great when installed in the right size box

Cons: So far nothing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Over Rated

Ultraworld from Florida on 8/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had mine in a 1 cu. ft. sealed enclosure being powered by a JL 500/5, It was getting clean stable power. I hated the woofer since the day I installed it. I adjusted the crossovers till the cows came home (there out back right now). I had to push the bass boost to get anywhere. After a year of this it finally shredded apart. A blessing in disguise! I installed a Focal P 25 DB 10" & the difference is night & day. Much stronger with less power, I reduced the amps bass boost & it still kicks like a mule. I love my 4 year old 500/5, can't say the same about the sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 44 found this helpful

Good for 2 weeks

wolffman73 from houston, tx on 7/2/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this sub along with a Rockord Punch 300-1. Worked really fine for about 2 weeks. Sub hit hard and dug deep. Then after cranking it after break in, it partially blew. The dreaded scratching noise. Says it is rated for 500w. Amp pushhes 416 RMS max. Would not buy again. If you have a habit of really cranking your system now and again, don"t buy this one. It's pretty weak. Go for a Rockford power series or Fi.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 38 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

CT from Exton, PA on 3/21/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just plain loud, punchy, tight bass "awesomeness."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Can't get any better

Zachary from Baton Rouge, Lousisana on 6/24/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's JL what can you expect besides perfection! Nothing I hear can even come close to matching the sound quality of their equiptment. I have just one hooked up to a JL 500/1 in my Colorado and it sounds amazing! I've heard two tens that dont get even relativly close to as loud as my one. You will not be dissapointed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Nice

EBS from Orlando, FL on 1/19/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is better than DEI / ORION subwoofers. I had the Orion HP subs in my car and then sold them to buy this subwoofer. Got a single one in a ported box powered by an Orion XTR 1001 amp soon to be swapped out for a J2 amp or a slash series amp. I tried Kicker CVR, Boston Acoustics G1 and Schosche EFX subs. I will tell you that none of them comes close to this sub in SQ. Plus this sub is great and may get a second one later on this year when I have more money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 10W3v3-2

sam from GA on 12/30/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio... enough said.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 20 found this helpful

A good sub for tight spaces.

Adam from Corpus Christi, Tx on 12/12/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this sub for a number a reasons. 1. It was a JL audio sub 2. It was the biggest I could fit in my vehicle 3. It was the most expensive I could afford 4. I liked the way it looked. With that being said I bought it without ever hearing what it would sound like. A little bit of a risk but I felt justified when I heard it. I drive a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe with the third row seat option. When the third row is up there is very little space back there(like in the back of a single cab pickup). This sub requried a minimal amount of airspace and supported 300 watts of power from my Rockford Fosgate 300.1 Mono sub amp. I don't feel that it sounds bigger than it is although it does get loud and with certain songs you do feel it in your chest. I've heard some car audio systhems with bigger woofers and more power and naturally they are alot louder than what I have. However it is loud enough and sounds decent. I'm not blown away by the sound but it is quality bass that this sub puts out. I matched it up with the VR series components and coaxial speakers and it is a very nice system. I did not give this 4 stars because I'm pretty sure a W7 would sound alot nicer and it doesn't make sense to me to rate this sub just as high.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 18 found this helpful

Great sub, clean bass that thumps

keelerdr from West Chester, PA on 10/29/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I debated between Kicker and JL for a while. If you are going to get a sub, do it right and buy quality. JL is quality at its best. I came to the conclusion Kicker is all about SPL rather than sound quality. I'm sure Kicker makes some nice stuff, but JL is a league above them. JL has the patents and reputation for greatness. You are not "just buying a name" with JL at all...how do you think they got their great reputation? I have a 97 Cadillac De'Ville with one of these in a sealed box with a JL A1400 amp. It sounds great with quick transient response (tight sounding bass) and plenty of low end thump. If you want to be heard from blocks away, go get a 15 inch L7 in a ported box and waste your money. If you want bass that sounds good when you are in the actual car, then get this! I still want to hear the lyrics in the music, not just drowning bass. An aftermarket headunit will make install easier, but I got the CL-RLC to use w/my factory headunit and it works great. Don't get played by getting the 4-ohm version (unless needed for wiring options), the 2 ohm is still distortion free and saves money on the amp required to match the RMS rating. If you want to spend thousands then you prob aren't looking at this sub, but if you want great sound on a budget and want to bring your car audio system to the next level, this is for you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

47 of 47 found this helpful

big but small

C from PA on 9/24/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

alright...i have two of the 2-ohm 10w3v3s and i love them. they are the biggest 10" sub i could get for my custom box 6" deep. i have 500w to each and they really thump. i was surprised when i got them done. my system is louder and cleaner than my friend's 1500w pioneer system with 2 12"s!!! definately buy...make sure you match the rms on the subs to the rms on the amp!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

TOP