Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

W3v3 Series 12" 2-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92153

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

W3v3 Series 12" 2-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92153

67 reviews
View this product

Amazing subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub bumps! I replace an old Jl audio 10" sub in ported enclosure with this sub. I made the box to the ported recommend specs and let me tell you, this baby rocks!!! I have it paired to a 500/1 as per Jakes recommendation and he was right!!! It's the perfect combination! While I was tuning the amp and sub in my garage with everything closed up my wife thought that we were having an earthquake!!! That's the reaction I was looking for! The pic I submitted is of the box that is behind a custom panel I am currently working on. The direction of the port is aimed up through the rear fin of my 1962 coupe deville.

Pros: This sub hits with all music!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Laud Lakes, FL on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Second one speaker that I bought good good speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Fort Stockton, TX on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loud but can't handle the wattage claimed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Quality is Good

Tracy from INVER GROVE, MN on 10/24/2020

2003 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sub sounds very good. I am told there is a break-in period, so I am curious how the sound quality will change once properly broken in. I have it mounted in a sealed, S/O box from Crutchfield. See pics. I am running it on a 5-channel amp with 350 watts going to the sub. Manual states that the sub can run on 500W power, but then it says 500W is in the "danger zone" and warns the owner to "operate with caution." Anything over 500W will void your warranty. I was confused by this and thought that marketing it with a 500W capacity was a little misleading. I took a point off in my review for this. Per the manual, optimum power level for this sub is closer to 300W. Before purchasing, I considered getting a 500W amp to go with it. After reading the manual, however, I think I will keep my existing amp. Sub still sounds good even with "only" 350 watts. Two things I did not care for: (1) The sub did not come with any screws, washers, etc. for mounting the sub. It's literally just the sub and the manual. You're on your own for whatever hardware you need for the install. I used some black screws and T-nuts. (2) The trim ring is plastic. When you mount the sub, the screws will go over this plastic. I would have preferred the screws to go over metal instead. I was afraid to tighten the screws any more than I did for fear of cracking the plastic trim ring. If nothing above bothers you, I recommend it for its sound quality.

Pros: Well built, excellent craftsmanship. Sounds good and looks really cool once installed.

Cons: No mounting hardware. Manual is somewhat contradictory about power handling levels.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional sound quality

Kendall from Monroe, WI on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound quality. Handles changes in pitch better than any sub I have heard before. Great product 10/10 would recommend.

Pros: Exquisite sound quality.

Cons: Very power-hungry

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Rocks!

Scott from Johnson City, TN on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a single JL 12w3v2-D6 from 2003 that was decommissioned in the basement after several different vehicles. Foam surround totally blew off when putting brand new JL MX500/1 to it! So I got the newest version v3- 4ohm and dropped it right into my self-made custom 3/4" MDF sealed box 1.07 cf internal vol - exact fit 17 years later! Slightly less than 1.125 cf recommended in manual, but absolutely amazing how good it sounds! Dr. Dre to Metallica to Van Morrison - all is smooth and tight bass without over-done thumping. Using M-RBC-1 remote with MX500/1 amp, running from Kicker marine head unit internal amp to 4 kicker marine 6" coax speakers: 4ga wire from dual batteries in boat. gain set to 1/2, 80Hz low pass, 30Hz high pass Couldn't be happier with result!

Pros: Exceptional sound in small enclosure

Cons: Price/weight - you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful clear, loud bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 4/22/2020

2004 Cadillac DeVille

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, but smoked mine after a week

Travis from EPHRATA, WA on 10/28/2019

2008 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very loud, incredible sound. I bought the JL Audio JX500/1D 500W x 1 Car Amplifier to pair with it and this thing pounds! OR - Well - it pounded for about a week and I smoked it. I am in talks with JL now to have it repaired and I will update my rating to 5 stars if the process is hassle free and I get a working subwoofer back (that lasts longer than a week). I have always loved JL and I was excited to finally get one of these and I was not disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Dunlap, IL on 8/17/2019

2016 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality sub with out being over priced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pounding bass

Vinny from Tampa, FL on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super hard hitting clean bass , jl is no joke , you definitely get what you pay for . Oh and by the way that's a work van lol.

Pros: Nothing but the best

Cons: NOTHING

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Super Sub

Cayden from Altoona on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub! Gives all the power and low end you'll need. I give it half the power it needs and out performs my expectations by a mile. I can't imagine what it would do with full power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great until it gets loud

Joshua from Franklin, OH on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own this sub and love it. I started out with a sealed enclosure, but I wasn't getting the frequency response or volume I was looking for, so I went ported and that helped tremendously. Sounds great with just about any genre of music. I Listen to a lot of bass heavy EDM, so I've pushed this this sub to its max output. 4 stars because sub will distort at high outputs, which is especially noticeable in sealed enclosures. I was expecting more output before distortion from a sub in this price range, but the punch, depth, and accuracy make up for it pretty well. If you like lots of output, definitely get 2 and go with a dual sub enclosure for this driver.

Pros: Great frequency response, clarity and definition, depth and punch

Cons: Sub distorts more at higher outputs than expected in this price range

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hits so hard in my Ford Mustang in a Corner sealed box! Sounds very clean!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL W3V3-2

Nick from Valparaiso, IN on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed 4 JL W3V3-2 in my 1999 Chevy Tahoe on 2 JL 1000x1 Amps and I absolutely love it. The people in my subdivision don't feel the same way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Elvio from Palm Coast, FL on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not what I thought. Definitely paying for the name on this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 23 found this helpful

Just Excellent.

RCBS from Funkytown on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed today. Had a 12W3D2 original for many years and the surround finally gave out so I decided to try the new version. Holy cow! I'm feeding it about 290 watts mono from a 1997 Fosgate 60.2. It's wonderful to have bass again after being without for about a year. Give these subs just 300 watts of good signal and prepare to be impressed.

Pros: Low wattage requirement. JL quality. Buttery smooth and nice and tight.

Cons: Seems pricy comparing to others in its class. Worth it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Quality

Mark from Macomb, MI on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything about this sub is amazing from the quality of the sub to how it sounds on all different types of music. It's a HIGHLY recommend from me.

Pros: Sound quality and how it's made is amazing!!!

Cons: Nothing about this sub is bad

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Neil from Seattle, WA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I called inquiring about a box for this sub my sales advisor Tatum was very kind gave great coustmer service I will be doing more business with this company (customer service is still alive??) Thanks Tatum.

Pros: Great coustmer service Tatum

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Neil Kamran from Seattle,WA on 6/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This place is legit. I ordered this subwoofer and it came right on time. Can't wait to hook it up. No more local stereo shop for me!

Pros: Excellent service from Crutchfield

Cons: I did not get the Sub for free????

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OH on 4/23/2018

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be more happy, great sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

mikey from Winter Garden, FL on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this sub

Pros: easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bang for the buck with amazing sound quality. Been using JL audio subs my whole life. Their the best

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Once ya get the box right.

Jeramie from Boise, ID on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first sub was a open box and they sent me a sound ordinance box. I did not know they had two sizes of ported boxes at the time. Anyway the sub did not play well at all. Put it in a bigger box,The 1.83 cu. ft. And it came alive. But since day one it literally smelled like dog poop. I was checking my shoes constantly. I'd hope the smell would go away, but after a month it was just as bad.They have sent me a new one and I had a box built to it's specs. Have not turned it up yet. Give it a couple of weeks, I noticed this with the last sub. But this one sounds more precise already. I've been told JL subs are finicky about box size. It's smells like a new sub should. I am confident that it will work out. Also this sub pounds (when it's had some play time) inside the cab it is great and it does not rattle the house down the street. I like that. It is a good sub for an average system.

Pros: Precise. Good sound quality.

Cons: None really. I've just had bad luck with open box items. Make sure you get the box to the specs. It doesn't give much leniency to ported boxes. Sealed might be different.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from St Paul, MN on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built well, solid feel. Installed in a 1.25 Cubic Feet sealed cabinet. Powered by Rockford Fosgate R600X5 Amp. Along with four JBL Club 9630 6x9's very happy with the results. Purchased the JL Audio SGRU-12 Grill too. Nice setup, well rounded sound on all levels. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Guest from Poolesville, MD on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased this subwoofer. All I can say is wow. I listen to a large range of music and it sounds so great. I have had other 12 inch subs in the past none of which had this great of a sound. I had no idea what clean bass was until I installed this subwoofer in my car with a ported box. The bass this one sub creates will bring you bass that you feel and don't hear that will add sounds to music you never knew were there. Anyone looking for a great subwoofer should definitely look into this sub. I have now became a true JL Audio fan. FYI If looking to get this sub the perfect amplifier for this is the JL Audio RD 500/1.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Love it

Jamie from Tri cities, TN on 7/21/2017

2011 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sub paired with the jl 500.1 and s/o sealed box

Pros: Tight deep bass, can hear the quality, looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from League city, tx on 6/18/2017

2001 Lexus GS300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These subs hit, I drive a Lexus. Anyone that drives one of these realizes that it's not easy to get good sound or pressure from the trunk since the seats do not fold down. Let me say, I'm impressed with these. They are crystal clear. With the right box you will be heard. Ps. Costumer service is outstanding 5 stars Crutchfield, kudos for real

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Robert from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 5/28/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker this amount of money can buy hands down.

Pros: Everything about the sub from its clarity to its deep bass and full range of bass sounds.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

truong from Columbia, SC on 5/22/2017

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These jl 12w3 are definitely the best subwoofer that I owned. I have two of these in a ported box with a 1200 mono amp and it sound incredible.

Pros: Awesome sound quality and loud have both sq and spl best of both world

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL for the win

Dean from Minneapolis, MN on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome deep bass. I have two of them in a ported box. Running both of them at 500 watts rms. Very clean sound. Best subs I've had. Would probably sounds better in a ported box but I'm into the deep heavy bass.

Pros: Awesome deep bass. Best subs for the price. American made product.

Cons: Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this sub powered by a Rockford Fosgate amplifier that is providing 500 watts of power. This thing sounds amazing! It really pumps out some sound, and that sound is so clean. I would really recommend this sub if you don't want to blow the bank but really want to feel the bass.

Pros: Great sound and good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound in my small car

Jesse from White Lake, MI on 2/26/2017

2003 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this paired with the rockford fosgate p300x1. The sound is excellent and it will move your hair. I have it in the hatchback of a 2003 wrx wagon with the amp beneath the passenger seat. I'm using the PLC2 to adjusted the level from normal with wife to ground shaking with my boys!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: No screws

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Deep, Accurate Bass!

Dan from Drexel Hill, PA on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing bass from a relatively cheap sub! Has a little trouble on reproducing some of the higher notes, but that's really my only complaint wit this speaker. I've tried two of these guys in both sealed and ported boxes, and the sealed box is definitely the way to go. Ported box was overpowering and sounded a little sloppy. I currently have 2 of these in a sealed Bassworx box and they pump out serious bass AND play accurate notes.

Pros: - Deep, accurate bass - Price - Durable

Cons: -Doesn't hit higher bass notes well

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

great bass from this sub!

Phillip from Huntington , WV on 1/10/2017

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sub , hasn't hit it's break in point yet , can't wait till it does! Already sounds spectacular! Can't wait till i get the money to buy another one and upgrade my amp. To 1000 mono , I've only got a 250 watt app pushing it right now so i can't wait to hear the difference in the sound when i get the second one! Already got a bandpass box to put them in! In so excited already!

Pros: Great clean sounding bass from this sub. Not even broke in yet and already sounds excellent! Should be broke in this time next week. Can't wait to hear it after its broke in!

Cons: Takes two weeks to reach its break in period.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

2007 Honda Ridgeline RT

David from Fullerton, CA on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this subwoofer in a 4' long ported box tuned at about 30hz under the back seat in my 2007 Honda Ridgeline. Too much bass for my stock speakers! I have it running at about 250 watts out of my Alpine MRV-M500 and that's more than plenty for what I need. This sub sounds super loud inside the cabin but as soon as you step outside its very subtle with minimal rattling. I would highly recommend this subwoofer!

Pros: Adjustable Loud Sleek appearance Smooth notes Requires minimal power

Cons: Large mounting lip If turned up enough extremely loud!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Crutchfield customer from Jennings, LA on 10/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good clean sound. Have it in a spec ported box, but it doesn't hit all the notes. Will try a sealed box next.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality Subwoofer

Steve from Corpus Christi, TX on 6/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio produces a very high quality subwoofer for the money. Sounds clean and hits smoothly even at low volumes. This one 12 is equal to the amount of power delivered from 2 subwoofers. A lot of bang for the buck.

Pros: Looks good and sounds fantastic.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Stealthbox replacement

Bo from South AR on 6/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this subwoofer as a direct replacement for a stealthbox sub whose voice coil had fried. The sound quality is great and the price was competing with all merchants online and local.

Pros: Build quality, price,Sound quality,free delivery

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Very good sub.

Al from Monticello, IN on 4/30/2016

2003 Mercury Marauder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this sub to replace an aging JL sub in a sealed enclosure that I had used in other vehicles for 10 years. The old sub had performed well, but the surround gave up the ghost after long service, and the cone had cracked. The only problems I have with it were with fitting it in the vehicle. My Marauder is designed so that I could not mount the sun where I wanted to without some creative fabrication, and I wan't willing to give up trunk space. The new sub has a plastic/rubber edge going around the edge of the frame that the old one did not. Due to the design of the old enclosure (that I reused) I had to trim this off to keep from redoing the box. I was worried about putting the new sub in the old enclosure not designed for it, but the result is a nice tight accurate thump on the low end. Once in the car, the sound was amazing. I paired the sub with JL's excellent little XD700/5v2 amp and their Evolution C3 series components front and rear. This combo works very well together. Being an older guy, I didn't choose a system that would rattle windows down the street, but for a nice accurate sound in my car, even at higher volume (highway speeds with windows down) I am very happy with the system I have chosen. Nothing wrong with the "coolness factor" I just put 1 star because i'm old enough that "coolness" doesn't matter so much. I like it because it works well, and sound good.

Pros: Sound quality is very good. Decent value. You get your money's worth.

Cons: Only cons were using the newer sub in an older enclosure that had been designed so I had to trim the plastic off from the outside edge of the sub. There are zero cons is you are building a new enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Weak

Justin from winter haven, FL on 3/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a speaker blow out two days in, with the right spec box, right amount of power, and never been near half the volume . The other one is fine but, for some reason one blew.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 11 found this helpful

JL AUDIO

anthony from rutland, VT on 2/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Jl audio subwoofers never disappoint perfect addition to any system

Pros: Its JL AUDIO well made and great sound

Cons: Little on the expensive side but worth it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

So far so good

TravisD from North Dakota on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has solid bass! Sounds great

Pros: Hard hitting and realistic bass

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Cindy from California on 6/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best i had so far I did the installation myself and the Cruthfield team were always ready to help. The subs push real hard and I've only pumped the volume halfway. Thank you Crutchfield team.

Pros: Greath sound more than what i expected!

Cons: You would think this subs are pricey but you will change your mind when you listen the high quality sound.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

So far so good

Tim from Levittown Pa on 6/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid so far, no complaints, have it wired to factory Harman/Kardon Subaru Legacy 2014 stereo with a Alpine MRV-500 amp, working great

Pros: Solid Bass with a wide range of music

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

I'm a believer of JL's subs

brian from California on 2/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me say WOW I'm impressed! I blew my new alpine type s 12 2ohm, so I've heard so much about JL Audio subs and went out and bought one. It was more $$$ but Well Worth It. My set up is the new PDR-V75, components up front (alpine type S 6 1/2), sub is JL 12 2 ohm bandpass box. All this in a chevy Tahoe.

Pros: Bass is just right

Cons: none yet!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great speaker

luis from key west, fl on 4/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great speaker, nice looking also, sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Keith from Moberly,Mo on 2/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice easy to hook up and they sound great most people can't handle the bass they put out :-)

Pros: Everything

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

amazing!

Dustin from kaiserslautern, Germany on 12/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub worth every penny!

Pros: Crisp sound Deep bass Can handle punishment

Cons: Heavy High cost Doesnt come with screws

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sub

Nick from Fort Worth, TX on 12/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a clean, quality setup. I paired this sub with a JL Audio JX500 amp, all JL wires, and a ported box to JL specs. Sounds great. I've gotten great feedback so far. More than enough if you are looking for a basic setup. The installer was actually reminded on how keeping the entire setup the same brand (JL), makes a difference. A lot of people will mismatch the setup. Keep it clean, keep it simple!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Thumping

Trey donna from Asheville on 9/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is the best you can get for the price. I have one 12 in a band pass box in my focus hatchback powered by a jl a 1400 d series mono block amp wired for 2 ohms and it will literally take your breath away. I have friends running two 12 that can't come close to the knock I pull with my set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W3v3-2

Blaine from Lake wales on 4/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub, have it powered by jl xd 700/5 and it hits really hard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

no distortion. crazy loud. NICE SPL

MikeT from Phillipsburg, NJ on 7/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

im running 2 of these in 2 ohm load attached to a JX1000/1 2ohm amp and at max volume on the stereo and the gain turned 1/4 of the way up these subs can almost take your breath away the SPL is rediculous to the point that your arm hairs vibrate at a 40hz drop. AMAZING quality and they really sound good even in a ported box.

Pros: they barely take up 1/4 of the amplifiers gain that means they dont require nearly as much power as they are rated at to get the job done

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 12 found this helpful

Great Sub

Rob from Guam on 5/23/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is awesome. I have been driving a friend's car while he is deployed and he has 2 15" I think they are called "punchers" and this one 12" hits harder than both of his. The JL is running on 500rms and my friends 15's are running off about 320rms a peice. Bottom line I am a fan of this company, they have impressed me with this sub.

Pros: Build quality, sound

Cons: cost

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sub

Emilio I from Santa Cruz, CA on 4/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this sub hooked up to an Alpine MRP500 amp and put it in ported S/O box in the back of my tacoma extra cab. I am more than impressed with this set up. It hits hard and also sounds very clean and not distorted at all. I am definitely a JL fan now.

Pros: Solidly made Sounds Great basically just an awesome sub.

Cons: The only con i could possible think of right now is that if i turn up the bass all the way it is overpowering in my truck. But seriously I don't think there are any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic

Ants from boston on 3/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the quality of sub. Double ported box with a jl x 500/1 mono. When this sub gets broken in; and actually starts to flex...it slams, not only slams but it sounds good on all types of music. I have it hooked up to kenwood indash; which gives you all the little controls for your amp and speakers. Crutchfield has been one of the best places to sell electronics at a fair price. I will not buy my car electronics anywhere else. Also 2 day shipping for free!!

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing sound quality

Gunther from Miami, FL on 2/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this sub along with "Alpine MRP-M500 Amplifier" and "Sound Ordnance BB12-125S Enclosure". These were installed to add some bass to my stock radio in my Honda Civic. I must say that I am completely satisfied with the level of bass this produces in this setup and would highly recommend it to anyone interested.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boom for your buck!

Jeremy from Tucson, AZ on 7/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this subwoofer to replace my JLw3v2 after I blew out a 4" hole in it. To compensate for the slightly larger enclosure requirements of the v3, I added about 16oz of pollyfill in my custom downfiring enclosure. I am pushing the sub with my MTX 421D amp and the difference in the v2 and v3 is amazing! It hits not only harder, but also lower- with zero distortion at full volume. This is one heck of a sub!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly what I wanted

Jamie from Denver on 5/27/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently got this sub. I only got half my system done today so for now I literally only have the sub hooked up. I have it hooked up to a Fosgate T400-2. The amp is 2 ohm stable bridged. I have it in the larger ported box which Crutchfield sells. Dimensions are about spot on for what JL recommends. It is ported very closely as well. Anyways, this sub just pounds. I mean that is exactly what I was looking for. The 12w0 I had for a month in my truck was nice. But this thing blows it away. Get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

believe the hype

RonH from Mcdonough NY on 1/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

after going through 3 subwoofer and amp setups in about 3 months i found one that fits my needs. I am driving this with a jl audio jx 500 amplifier for the perfect match of rms power. I have had this sub for over a month now and it continues to improve constantly, and it was great out of the box! DO NOT waste your money, get jl the first time around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing

Josh B from Denver, CO on 12/31/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is such a clear and durable sub. Iv'e had the Sub for three years now and have never had to re-solder any connections like u find in the Alpine subs nor have i had to do anything to take care of it. bottom line It's a beast!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kickin

64Malibu09 from California on 9/5/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let's just quote 40water for this review "Got Van Damme kickin' in the trunk"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Your Sub Search Ends Here

newby from Denver, CO on 5/5/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing flat out beats any sub in this price range. Now I know JL is more SQ oriented which is why I purchased this sub. I also like the bass to get LOUD so I threw this puppy in a ported box built to JL specs and it booms. Like really booms, but still sounds great at the same time not muddy or distorted. I have it running off the sub channel of the Kicker ZX700.5 which puts out about 400W-500W on the sub channel. One 12w3v3 is more than enough bass for even the most bass hungry of listeners. BUY THIS SUB period

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Amazing

Greg from NOVA on 6/22/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a sealed box and being powered by a Alpine M-500 amp and the bass is perfect. We knew the 6.5" speakers would not produce enough bass so we wanted to add a sub but worried that a 12" sub in a small Integra would overwhelm it so we went with a sealed box. The bass is amazing and the statement I think that describes it the best was my son after the first drive - "You can hear the bass but you can feel it even more"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Solid bass for the money

myriad1973 from Toledo, OH on 3/20/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is rock solid! I have it in a 1.5 cubic foot sealed enclosure, powered by an Infinity Kappa Five amp (300 watt sub channel). The enclosure is slightly oversized, but it brings out a little more depth that is solid down to 30 Hz, with flat response. I primarily listen to progressive rock, which usually involves the use of bass synthesizers. When you turn it up, this sub is capable of giving you a back massage! I would recommend this sub to anybody looking for quality sound with depth and excellent transient response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

An Excellent Product

William from Waltham, MA on 6/3/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying to solve my vehicles bass issues with smaller or lesser subwoofers, I finally solved my issue by purchasing the JL Audio 12W3v3-2, had a custom enclosure made for the set-up and powered the sub with a single channel JL Audio Amp. I listen to primarily alt rock and the solid bottom complete with car vibrating bass now fill the interior of the car. Make sure the speaker is properly powered and enclosed and you will be very happy with the selection of this incredebly well built speaker. The box needed for the speaker is surprisingly small and truck space is not an issue. I'm a big fan of this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

WoW!!! Tremendous Bass!!!

Nick from Columbus,GA on 4/14/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WoW!! I couldnt believe my ears when I turned this thing up. I have a kenwood Excelon Reciever with a Mtx 1000 watt amp at half power and these subs pound!! My rearview mirror cant stay straight at 10 out of 50 % volume!! I love them and deff reccomend to beginner car audio buyers!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

TOP