Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
Connect ID #
692 994 803 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

W6v3 Series 12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # 92141

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

W6v3 Series 12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # 92141

23 reviews
View this product

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

Crutchfield customer from Covington, LA on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker. I had 1 paired with a Rockford P3 and now it's nice to have a matching set of these monsters

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

Crutchfield customer from Williston, ND on 4/21/2020

2008 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Jaw dropping bass perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best Sub Woofers out there buddy

Robert from Austin, Tx on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best Product so far on the market, I Have 2 12" JL W6's and they hit hard.

Pros: Everything is good about it

Cons: Kinda expensive but worth it, If u like nice good quality bass.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent sound

David from Seaford, VA on 3/8/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're serious about sound this is the woofer you want!

Pros: With the right amp and box this will stomp the competition.

Cons: Expensive. Buy once cry once.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Heart Skipping, Hard Hitting Bass!!!

Dodger from La Mirada, CA on 11/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean Bass with absolutely NO distortion. While using this JL Audio you should really use caution since you will experience headaches if exposed to long times.

Pros: Clean bass with literally No Distortion. Really suggest to also pick up the volume control knob for the amplifier to control the bass.

Cons: Price has to be my only con since just one 12W6V3 is $729.99

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

kesi from Brooklyn, NY on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 2 of these bad boys in my Nissan Maxima paired with a rockford fosgate T1500 (tried the jl hd 1200/1 but wanted more juice) tuned to the jl audio fix 82 and twk 88 processors and let me tell you, it is loud with clean lows. Combined with the 8 Beyma 8g40s and 6 beyma ast 50s my sound is just right.

Pros: none

Cons: I can't post a video of these bad boys moving.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

Jeff from Garrettsville, OH on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't like it, then loved it, then not so much and then I bought a built-to-spec ported box for this monster and it made a TON of difference. At first, I didn't know if the difference was good, but after months of tweaking, it definitely has made a great difference. The ONE SINGLE CON to this speaker, and at least with most boxes, is the sub protrudes about 2" from the box when not in use. This means without a good cage covering up the 12W6v3-D4, I am scared to put anything in my trunk. Also, the port on the box will suck anything in. A $.000001 plastic bag getting sucked in and out will turn your system into a cheap quality system. My car is a 2000 Camry XLE with JBL "premium" sound system, and I've kept the stock speakers (I bypassed the factory amp behind the dash to use my JBL GX-A604). I can write more, but now am burnt out.

Pros: Stellar punch, big booms, lowest lows, lows elephants can only hear.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3

David from Cincinnati ohio on 10/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been into car audio since 1988. I have owned anything and everything worth having since the late 80s and currently have a collection of vintage amplifiers that is over the 300000 dollar mark to obtain. I have owned every old audio subwoofer made the w6 and w7 subs have been a project idea. I own a gov topkick 2016 fully loaded so I decided to build a 8 12 inch subwoofer enclosure as a rear seat wall front firing sealed as recommended 1.25 cubic feet internal volume per enclosure as species by old. First 8 w6 subs 600 dollars each not cheap secondly 8 hours audio xd 1000 mono amps 700 each. I have 20 years experience installing and specializing in building high end exotic and multi dimensional enclosures. Wall built covered in ostrich subs installed motorized amp rack built 4 dedicated batteries installed all wiring layer isolator and voltage regulator installed 2 320 alternator installed. I just want to say I have never been so disappointed and let down. Spent over 30 hours adjusting tweaking fine tuning everything. 30 band equalizer every little detail checked. I own a audio control real time audio analyzer so everything is spot on. Measured the spl level 133.6 are you serious I was throwing 146.1 with 2 kicker solo baric s7 subwoofer and a 26 year old Orion car 2250 beast. My buddy owns a shop so I stopped in and ask him just to look it over in case I missed something. 4 of his guys and himself went completely through it front to back everything was spot on he said what's.

Pros: Small enclosure specifications for limited space or multiple subs

Cons: No longer made in the USA. Expensive with less than expected results amplifiers rated at 1000 with 16 volts at 1 ohm maximum output 580 watts before complete distortion 2 subs blew at less than half rims rating. Will only use kicker and focal til jl figures out what they are lacking sorry but a 12 inch kicker sub shouldn't have a higher db than a high end competition sub but it does same enclosure same set up the jl was 103.2 the kicker 118.6 sad but true

Crutchfield response on

19 of 129 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

Guest from Stow, OH on 8/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am 42yrs old and my family owned a car audio shop when subs were just becoming the thing to do. This is personally my 4th system and by far my favorite set of 12vs to date. They can hit some lower notes that a lot of 12vs cant and are very clean. Im running a 1500W class D Rockford at about 50% gain. Got to leave some power for a possible 3rd or 4th W6 ;) I have the two in a ported box and the air movement is great. Makes me smile every time I turn it on. Thanks Lucio Proni for creating such awesome sound !!!

Pros:

Cons: I need more money for 2 more ;)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Hands down best purchase

Cole from Lancaster, PA on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this speaker about 3 years ago, and it's the last sub I've had to buy, running a Rockford punch series amo capable of handling 850 true watts rms. That amp has more than enough to push the limits of this speaker. For only having 1 12" in a ported box in my Durango, it flexes my roof. I'm waiting for my windows to shatter. Wouldn't buy any other brand in my lifetime.

Pros: Deep low bass mid bass. Clear no distortion great for any genre of music.

Cons: Absolutely nothing

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

joseph from Dallas, TX on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's awesome. Zero distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3

Mister Brown from Hampton, GA on 3/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is beauty & the beast! With the rite box this beast hits notes you never knew we're in the song!

Pros: Delivers every time on time! Hits hard & clean!

Cons: Absolutely None!

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

alberto from Houston, TX on 12/13/2016

2011 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love my purchase I'll definitely return and shop because I want more!

Pros: Great sound no matter how it's set up or installed.

Cons: None at the moment.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

12w6

Matt from Pottstown,PA on 11/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker kicks a!! I have it hooked up to a old school XTant X603 amp in a special made box in my G35 thanks crutchfield for top notch quality products

Pros: Everything about the speaker

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

Guest from Macomb, MI on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer, excellent build quality

Pros: Sounds wonderful

Cons: None at this point in time

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great SPL, but does not cut it for true SQ

Jonified from Richmond, VA on 4/11/2016

2015 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will make this review as clearly stated and accurate as possible. To start, I have installed car audio systems for 15 years. I am an engineer, piano player, and musician with a very discerning ear and a passion for testing, comparing, and reviewing very high end car, home, and studio audio equipment. The 12w6v3 has a rep for being sort of a SPL/SQ crossover, giving the listener the best of both worlds. So I decided to test that reputation for my fellow true audiophiles out there that may be thinking of buying this subwoofer. I think the JL Audio 12w6v3 does a really great job at giving the average listener what they want - pretty accurate bass and great efficiency per watt. Boy does this thing get loud. It gets loud and it does not distort when turned up to extreme listening levels. This is great for bass heads. If you are looking for good SQ and great SPL, this is the sub for you. But, it did not meet my strict expectations in terms of SQ, even after the break in period of 60 hours at 500-600 watts RMS, with a couple of true SQ subwoofers that I own from the early-mid 2000s during A/B tests. There is simply no comparison. The 12w6v3 lacks the tonal clarity needed to take the listening experience from really great to "Eargasmic". This more than likely will only occur to those who have extensive listening experience with true SQ subs that were not manufactured with SPL in mind as the 12w6v3 was. For those who have not experienced true SQ, these will be

Pros: SPL - They get plenty loud Build Quality - Top notch

Cons: Price - completely overpriced. The ROI is great, but not $599 great. This sub should be priced at $399. SQ - They may beat a lot of the current competition out there. But that is because the industry is in a poor state. I own and have experienced much cleaner sound out of two specific subs, the Audiobahn Alum12Q and Planet Audio VC12D, both built specifically for SQ. There truly is no comparison. The entire Diamond Audio subwoofer line has noticeably cleaner tonal quality than the 12w6v3.

Crutchfield response on

35 of 91 found this helpful

W6v3 12" ho enclosure

Curtis from Sturgeon bay, wi on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build quality. The w6 sounds amazing

Pros: Sound amazing

Cons: Price is a bit steep

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Amazing Quality

Chase from San Antonio, TX on 3/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub that packs an enormous punch. I've owned the 10 and the 12w6. The 12 definitely can handle more power and has a deeper, harder punch and vibration. JL never disappoints me and this sub bsolitely rocks. One sounds like 2 expensive 10's.

Pros: Power Handling, looks, quality and replacement parts available.

Cons: Too much airspace needed for my application but not really a down side.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

chris m from ft lauderdale fl on 1/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tonque n groove box from JL.....HO-W6V3..12" AMAZING SQ ive always gone with w6's and always relied on sound advice for installation im running a jl HD900/5amp pushing focal performance comps in front and c2x650 fillers in back 500 watts to the sub and a 100w to each

Pros: AMAZING SQ

Cons: no flaws

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6v3-D4

Crutchfield customer from Southampton nj. 08088 on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 13 found this helpful

Breaking In

AC from Columbia, S.C. on 5/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never really understood this whole breaking period with subwoofers, Until I purchased these w6's. the amount of air they move fresh out the box is amazing. And they continue to get louder as the very stiff cone starts to give into the bass. This brand of sub found bass in song that I didn't know was there and I can say I happy to have finally have bought a set.

Pros: The warranty after you blow them. Good clear bass all day.

Cons: Not compatible with weak home style wiring kits. You need some professional wiring to move the subs to really get what you've paid for...

Crutchfield response on

16 of 20 found this helpful

JL 12W6V3

Isaiah from Columbia on 3/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best choice of subwoofer I've ever made! Sound quality is amazing and seems like nothing can compare.

Pros: Saves trunk space, one speaker sounds like two. Brand always brings the boom.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Awesome

Rex J from Walnut Ridge, AR on 2/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned numerous subs over the years. Cheap and expensive. This is a great sub. I picked one up locally for a great deal. It beats the heck out of Challenger. They are big cars and it's hard to get quality sound from the trunk to the cabin. But this thing delivers...In SPADES. If there is room in your audio budget. I say go for it.

Pros: Sound quality, performance, awesome good looks, Too bad it's in the trunk and I can't look at it.

Cons: Power hungry, it's in the trunk, I never get to look at it. Kind of expensive.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

TOP