Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 13TW5v2-2

Shallow-mount 13.5" 2-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92182

JL Audio 13TW5v2-2

JL Audio 13TW5v2-2

Shallow-mount 13.5" 2-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92182

14 reviews
View this product

Mi experiencia JL TW5V2-2

Crutchfield customer from Sabana Hoyos, PR on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen desempeño para su tamaño, y la poca caja acustica que necesita. no me esta gustando para frecuencia sobre 120hz aproximadamente. Ya que se atenua mucho, aun estoy haciendo ajustes Y veré si logro mejorar estas frecuencia. Por otra parte en frecuencia de 80hz hasta 35hz tal vez menos es un gran sub, si le exijo mucho en estos tonos golpea bastante fuerte con solo 1.

Pros: excelente en 80hz y menor

Cons: sobre 120hz aun no me convence

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Subwoofers Availailable

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 8/1/2020

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the most versatile subwoofers that are available from JL Audio hands down. If you want a distinct quality subwoofer sound, there is no other choice. With a quality product, that has been researched and tested to the fullest for years and years you know it's the best. I have used JL Audio subwoofers for the last 22 years without any problems whatsoever. I have used them in competition and in every day installs which are always custom. These are top quality and you can't go wrong this choice. And remember, you get what you pay for.

Pros: Compact enclosure on all TW models. Definite outstanding sound. Quality components.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You can't go wrong.

Crutchfield customer from Powell, OH on 4/14/2020

2020 Ford F-250 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not only one of the best sounding shallow subwoofers but one of the best sounding subwoofers. Built in the USA.

Pros: Well built. Hefty magnet, huge voice coil. Made in the USA. Fantastic sound and still hits the the super lows.

Cons: A little on the pricey side.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big sound, unbelievable quality

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, TX on 10/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't bought subs since 2008 and and it was for a similar application: under the back seat of a Silverado. That time I bought two first generation 10" thin woofer Pioneer subs and was a little disappointed in both the SQ and SPL, for all the money spent. A buddy let me hear his TW5 and I was floored. It gave me comfort to spend the extra money and the system has turned out better than I could have expected. I'm pushing it with a JL XD600 and controlling the while system with a TwK processor. Still haven't tuned it with the o-scope or RTA but can tell it's crystal clear and pounds. The custom box is a bit undersized but lined with fiberglass and stuffed with poly fill. I thought about buying two but that uncertainty dissipates every time this thing kicks me in the kidneys.

Pros: Mounting depth, power to sound ratio, deep notes

Cons: 80 hour break in period

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Forest Park, GA on 10/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best subwoofer, has a nice sound, it's great for trucks that don't have enough space, I recommend this subwoofer to people

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEST SOUNDING SUB!!!!

JAMES from MCKEESPORT PA on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been buying JL since I was 16 by far one of the best sounding subs I ever heard!!!! 100% worth the money

Pros: Thin and packs a punch

Cons: A little expensive but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not up to my expectations

Kevin from Eugene, OR on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As excited as I was to purchase this sub for my F150, I was not overly impressed. I built a enclosure to spec and had down firing under the rear seat. Was powered off the fifth channel of a JL RD900/5. With the 2 ohm load it was receiving 500 watts. At full volume it had a fair amount of output but was lacking for your daily drive music. I suspect it could be due to factory DSP cutting low output at volume increase. Non the less I returned and purchased a 8W7 but have not installed yet. Good sub but was not live up to the price for me.

Pros: Looks good. Good construction.

Cons: Not much output for size.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 20 found this helpful

Awesome!

Tony from Point, TX on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One word "AWESOME". I have a 2013 JKU so i initially changed out the factory sub to a 8" Kicker Comp powered by a Kenwood KAC-M8005. Sub lasted 1 week pumping 300W @ 4 ohms. So i decided to go custom but retain as much space as possible in the process with access to the back floor storage area. Designed a box with 0.816 ft.3 with a power panel as not to loose the 12v cig plug that the factory sub enclosure had. I purchased the 2 ohm model of this sub as the Kenwood pumps out 500W RMS @ 2 ohms. All i can say is that you DO NOT need two of these, bass is tight and strong. My neighbors are going to hate me :)

Pros: Large surface area and low profile! Tight bass, not boomy and punches hard.

Cons: I would say price, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Dodge Durango, single pancake (downfiring) setup

Justin from Westbury, NY on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will have to note that this was a full custom stealth installation and I had to purchase from the installer to get any type of benefit on the labor. With that said, Crutchfield has always been a great resource for me and my go to for anything done myself. For me, there really was no other option than a JL sub as I needed a super shallow mount and am a fan of their performance. It was just did i go for the 12 or this beast. I chose the beast. I was blown away from this setup - now I do give a lot of credit to my installer, and the downfiring setup/custom box, but this woofer pounds!!! The actual musical clarity of the sub coupled with the mid ability and real deep push is insane. True musical enthusiasts will appreciate the bass sound, and the feel on more hard core or hip hop chords is nothing shy of house shaking. It could easily rival a dual 10 or 12 setup and the way my guy positioned it the low bass is so insanely strong that it flows through the entire car. It can literally push my foot off the pedal at times. We paired with the new vxi 600/i @ 2 ohms is it's perfect match. Gain set extremely low, drc knob controls the boost which is usually at mid level, manually dipped a feb db's at about 50 hz. That's it. The only con I can think of is that it is expensive.

Pros: Small footprint / depth / air requirement

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-2

Adam from Englewood, CO on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is easily the best sounding sub woofer I have ever owned and I have owned numerous JL Audio sub woofers. This sub woofer has an amazing balance of sheer visceral output with very tight punchy bass. I have one of these installed under the rear seat of my 2016 Nissan Titan XD and its powered with a JL Audio XD600/1 amplifier which is a perfect match. This sub woofer perfectly blend with my main speakers leaving no hole in the mid bass region. This sub is so clean and transparent you cant even localize it. I kicks out all the bass I want leaving nothing desired. I can't even imagine what (2) of these would do in my truck but I am sure it would destroy whats left of my hearing.

Pros: Awesome Sound Quality Flexible installation Very well made

Cons: Its expensive but its top notch

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-2

Robert from Illinois on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good subs

Pros: Everything

Cons: Price is steep

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pros and cons

Stephen from Pensacola, FL on 11/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a couple of these as an upgrade from two Kenwood shallow mount subs that I originally had in my truck. They are great subs, and I can tell a bit of a difference in low-end output sound quality in my system. I am running these two subs on a Fosgate Prime 1200 amp putting out about 650 watts to each sub, and they have no problem handling the power. They were mounted in a custom box built by a local audio dealership. Luckily, I know the shop manager, so he was able to get me a pretty good deal on them. If not for that, I'm not sure I would have replaced the Kenwoods. These do hit harder than the Kenwoods do, and the lows are a bit deeper. If you have the money, you won't be disappointed. However if cost is a factor in your decision, there are lower priced alternatives out there (Kenwood and Alpine come to mind).

Pros: Sound quality Build quality Low-end response

Cons: Cost!! I thought I was going to pass out when I heard the total for the bill. Coolness factor is almost non-existent since mine are mounted in a down-firing box under the back seat of my truck.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Incredible Sub for the size

Thomas from Houston, TX on 10/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this sub after about a month of research to find something that would sound great but would still be inconspicuous in my 11 silverado crew cab. Jl as most car audio enthusiasts know is tpp of the line. So I went ahead amd dropped the cash for it and I love it. The sound quality is amazing and the box is tiny considering how loud this thing is. If you're looking for a good sub without taking up very much space I highly recommend this one.

Pros: Pretty much everything!

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

Awesome Sub!!!

Pfunk from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Due to limited space in my Jeep, I previously had a Rockford Fosgate P3 shallow... I was decent (for a shallow mount). After I Blew (3 years later) I replaced it with JL's 13TW5v2-2.... WoW, what a huge difference!!! I plays very loud, deep and very clean... This shallow sub sounds better than many other "regular" 12s. You definitely get what you pay for with this sub.

Pros: Extremely clean, low and loud bass that you can really feel. Best shallow mount out there by a country mile.

Cons: Pricy (but worth it)

Crutchfield response on

25 of 26 found this helpful

TOP