Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
635 936 272 3
Connect ID #
635 936 272 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Shallow-mount 13.5" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92183

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Shallow-mount 13.5" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92183

8 reviews
View this product

It WILL hit the lows w/ some work

Slater from Dallas, TX on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

7 years ago I had a kid and the 1st to go is the car audio so e/t came out of the car to make room for the little 1. I recently bought a new Ram Quad Cab and saw this line including the TW3's and as a lifelong JL diehard I had to give it a chance. The 1st box I got (from a Tundra) didn't fit so I made 1 to go under the seat and utilize the storage space as airspace. The sub may be a shallow mount but the actual footprint is large, the entire depth of the sub is as wide as the diameter which made it tricky to give it sufficient airspace and not invade the cab or seats. I am powering 1 of these with a Slash 1000/1 @ 4ohms and the rest of my components on a 300/4. It took a few days to dial in my amp but once it was I couldn't be more happy. I definitely see what people were talking about that it doesn't hit the lows but I found out it just take slightly more work to get there. It has that classic JL sound that hits EVERY note you put through it but at 1st the lows seemed lacking but as soon as I lined my amp up to boost around 38hz I couldn't believe the capability of the TW5. If you are buying the 4ohm version I definitely recommend running it on the 750/1 Slash since it runs all wattage the same regardless of impedance and even w/ the 1000/1 (warranty voider) it runs barely warm after 2 hours of slamming. Just as I am amazed at the capability of this sub I am even more so that they retained the JL sound to the T. I will get another after I beef up the electrical.

Pros: Compact, 7" VC, no sacrifice by going this route, superior JL construction

Cons: Underrated RMS handling, magnet wiped my credit card by just leaning over it and the JL badge in the dust cap is metal and the magnet pushed it off so just be careful handling the sub.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Expensive but worth it

Sean from Long Island, NY on 4/26/2018

2015 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was installed in a Ford F350 behind the rear seat. It is powered by an JL audio HD 750/1 amp and it sounds unbelievable. I still can't believe how hard it can hit and it's a shallow mount speaker. The old saying you get what you pay for holds true here. It is expensive but I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one if need be.

Pros: Everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

D from TX on 7/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

mine is paired to a 500/1 amp, 2ohm. it's really worth every penny to me. i have 2 10W7's each on a 500/1 in a dual sealed box, and i honestly prefer the single 13TW5V2-2. its extremely controlled and tunable, and it gives you bass where you want it if you're SQ and punch oriented.

Pros: clarity, punch, control, power handling

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4 Shallow Mount Subwoofer

EMR from tempe, AZ on 3/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for big bass and you are restricted on the amount of room you have for an enclosure, these are the subs for you. They cover the low frequencies extremely well and hit hard. I will say that if they are not paired with the right amp you will not get the performance out of these. Do your research to run them with the right amp and they will out perform any shallow mount sub on the market by a long shot. I have nothing negative to say about these subs, the price is high compared to most but if you make the investment and run them with the right amp they are well worth the money. I am running 2 of these in a down fired enclosure off a JL Audio XD1000/1v2 in my F150 Supercrew. This amps does well with for this set up but the performance was a little better running them off of my (2) 500/1 slash amps. Just don't have the room for the larger bodied amps in this truck.

Pros: It's JL Audio

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Potent Woofer

RayDawg from Corpus Christi, TX on 11/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This woofer will be more than enough for the average bass head. The two main things to get the full potential is the exact box, and matching amp which in my case is a kicker cx1200.1 mono putting out the 600 rms@4 ohms this woofer craves. I tuned my gain to get the full volume from my deck and this thing just hits you where it hurts. This is all done in my s2000 which are incredibly hard to get great sound out of, but with this woofer there is no issue. I'd love to hear how it would sound in a hatchback/SUV. JL has hit a homerun with this bad boy! Do yourself a favor and grab one or better yet 2. ;)

Pros: Eveything

Cons: None, people complain about the price but the simple matter of it is if you wanna sound great it's gonna cost.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio 13TW5v2-4

Crutchfield customer from Orange,Texas on 6/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good powerful base

Pros: will fit in tight spaces and still rock out

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Unbelievable Performance

BD from Memphis on 6/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although a little expensive, you get what you pay for; this sub is incredible. Getting this type of low frequency performance out of any similar size sub is rare. Getting it with a 2.625" mounting depth and .8 ft^3 of sealed airspace is rediculous.

Pros: High quality, truly unique

Cons: Price (totally worth it IMO)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Massive Slam

Jerry from Indiana on 4/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is excellent for its purpose and very capable. I built a fiberglass enclosure for my spare tire well (2013 Mazda2) and measured .815 cubic foot. I initially powered the sub with 240 verified RMS and it sounded bad. Since then I have reamped up to 600 RMS and it sounds great and it plays low frequency like 20-30hz very well but kick drums could have more punch and authority. The sub has already knocked of my rear view mirror and the sub really isn't broken in. I have considered a new enclosure and adding maybe 3 more subs, but I don't know if the car would hold together!

Pros: Very small concealable enclosures, terrific low frequency

Cons: Pricey, not as punchy as long Xmax subs, long break in period

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

TOP