Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

W3v3 Series 6.5" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92145

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

W3v3 Series 6.5" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92145

51 reviews
View this product

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 2/10/2021

1994 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass , I only purchase one for the rear of my 1994 z28 ,It sounds ??.....Dj...

Pros: Takes small space and loud bass.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Raymond from UNIVERSAL CITY, TX on 1/27/2021

2017 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound 2017 GT350. Replace rear deck speakers with these subs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sub but enclosure is everything

Andy from Chicopee, MA on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this subwoofer to fill in the low end of my 2004 wrx's new audio install. I didn't want a big sub in the trunk and have to run additional amplifiers just to have a well rounded system. I thought this would also be a better option to an under the seat sub. I have 6.5 coaxials in the front, running off a JL Audio JD400x4. Rears are stock running off an old-school 880prs with the sub receiving 200watts from the rear bridged channels of the amp. I originally started with the sub in the recommended .15 sealed enclosure, right behind my front seat. It sounded ok, hit the lows, i wanted, added depth to my mucic but didn't really sound like i had a subwoofer, even though it was only a 6.5. If i cheated the gain on the amp a little, the output was a little better. After some research I decided to try out a Slap Box by Life after bass. This greatly increased the output, made the bass sound deeper, louder than what it actually was, and had more output than a 8w3 in a sealed enclosure that i had in a previous vehicle. At this point i am very please with the 6w3, and am happy with my purchase.

Pros: Compact, good sound, and bass for a speaker of its size.

Cons: Sounds ok in a sealed enclosure, but really needs a ported one to shine.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Mukilteo, WA on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A powerful punch in a small package

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Irvington, NJ on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub for tight space. Sub delivers great sound. Have a pair in my access cab Toyota Tacoma. Crutchfield delivers great customer service. Made other purchase on component speakers for my Tacoma. and will continue to use them in the future. Recommend this sub especially buying it from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Exceptional

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/3/2020

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact subwoofer

Pros: I can place them anywhere

Cons: I feel that two of them is better than one

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 9/15/2020

1999 Lexus LX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For such a small sub, this thing puts out a surprising amount of bass. If you are having problems with space, this is a great option.

Pros: Small but packs a punch

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dual driver ported sub

Crutchfield customer from Campbell, CA on 9/4/2020

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built a 1/2 cubic foot ported subwoofer enclosure for two of these drivers. Great results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good for Motorcycle System

Crutchfield customer from Union City, CA on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality. It does not kick as hard as I was expecting but it may be due to my current setup. I will have to see how this holds up but so far so good.

Pros: Small size

Cons: Has some distortion at high volumes.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sub Element

Crutchfield customer from Windber, PA on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my factory subwoofer in my Honda Element . There isn't many choices for a 6.5 subwoofer but this JL speaker looked like I could get the most low end bass then the others. I had a kicker amp I was going to hook up but since the sub is rated from 40 wats to 150 wats I wanted to see if the factory amp could push it, well it definitely can! And it goes so low Sometimes I can't believe it! If you listen to downtempo or any bass this is the sub you want! If you're a rocker this probably wouldn't be your speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing little subs that POUND!

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado Hills, CA on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are solid subs. I would have knocked 1 star because they are PRICEY, but I chose to pay for them instead of credit options... so I guess that's on me. I put two of these in a custom box under the rear bench seat of my 2019 Chevy Silverado powered by an AudioControl 1.300 and I'm seriously impressed with the set up. I usually run 10's or 12's, but this is my daily driver and I didn't want to give up much room, so I thought I'd be sacrificing boom for more room. I think I got the best of both worlds with this set up. The box footprint is 17"x14". Angled box, port tuned at 38hz. Takes up less than 1/3 of my storage space under the seat. Sound quality is really good (part of what's expected when paying for JL). Rattles the car and is on part with a 10" taking minimal space. Probably the most impressive thing is how low these little subs go. I highly recommend both the subs and ther amp. It's pretty incredible what this micro system will do compared to a full size set of 10's from 10 years ago in a big old box pushing 1,000 watts. I'll take the sound quality and size of this micro set up anyway.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Impressive

James from Chardon, OH on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty impressed with a pair of these paired with an audio control 1.300. I went with a sealed box initially, will probably end up with a ported box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Killer bass

Ray from Umatilla, OR on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive bass from a pair of these in a ported box under rear seat.

Pros: Deep crisp bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Pedro M. from Loxahatchee, FL on 5/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice look with a lot of punch. Small and compact, yet it moves a lot of air for its size. Good performance that is well known for JL audio product. Very happy with purchase. Will be buying another one soon. Installed in a .5 cu.ft. Front firing cabinet with a down firing 6-1/2 in., passive radiator and a 2.5 in., vent port. Frequency between 200 and 40Hz is clean with no distorsion. Sound is amazing, this little sub is awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing sub

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely blown away with the sound quality from this little speaker. I'm using a vented eclosure made by Life After Bass (LAB) designed for this speaker. Driving it with 100 watt RMS amp, crossover at around 150 hz. It rivals the sound I get from a 12 inch RockFord Fosgate sub I have at 300 watts. Won't go as loud as the 12, but the punch and definition of the bass is very similar. Beautifully crafted speaker with spectacular performance. Very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: Small size, drives really well at 100 watts.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Rich sound!

jon from HOMESTEAD, FL on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my factory under dash sub in my Honda Element with this subwoofer a couple of years ago. This sub is amazing for its size! Coming from a guy who used to have some extremely sick systems, but just can't sacrifice the space in my vehicle anymore.... this sub is amazing!

Pros: Big, rich bass in an extremely small space!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love it!

David from Hilo, HI on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little beast that gets down low!

Pros: Fits small form factors and belts out bass!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Inglewood, CA on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best speaker I have brought

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Chris from Douglasville, GA on 11/25/2018

2016 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing subwoofer. Ths depth on these is pretty deep. I put them in a fiberglass enclosure on my wheel wells of my 2 door jeep jk. These combined with the stealthbox 10" sub is way more that I need. The sound amazing even being so close to my ears. These are fun subs to fit in tight applications and they can go incognito. These combined with the stealthbox i feel comfortable with my top off in a parking lot.

Pros: Great sub sq wise and really pushed some serious x max and gets lower than you would think. Plus they look great.

Cons: Mounting depth.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Guest from Okinawa, Japan on 10/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these as a replacement/upgrade to the aftermarket system in my '03 Toyota Alphard. I was surprised at the amount of punch these small subs pack.

Pros: Sleek Look, Great Sound Quality

Cons: Took some enclosure modifications to accommodate the large magnet size.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small size, big sound

Peter from Santa Clara, CA on 9/25/2018

1992 BMW 535I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub, fits neatly in the back on my '92 E30 325i Convertible, even under the power top motors. Has plenty of thump to get through the reinforced bulkhead.

Pros: Small, powerful, inexpensive

Cons: No mesh cover or form of protection for the cone included

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Watford City, ND on 7/3/2018

2003 BMW Z4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit in BMW Z4 rear enclosure, sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome Sound!

John A from Rutledge, TN on 11/28/2017

2000 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding compact sub! The size doesn't match the sound or deep full range bass this sub provides. i bought two and mounted them into factory holes in my son's 2000 Dodge Dakota. Sound of a 10 inch sub in a 6 inch! VERY impressed!

Pros: great bass, deep and strong with clarity.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from New York , NY on 10/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my Polaris slingshot Space saver and fills in missing bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome deep sound

Brian from Batavia, IL on 9/28/2017

2004 Lexus LX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer changed the whole dynamic of the music experience in my big SUV. Great sound and quality for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Shawn from Denver, CO on 8/8/2017

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound

Pros: HUGE magnet, great deep sound

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

W3

Gary from Owatonna MN on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't come with mounting brackets and wasn't enough power to power the speakers like they said there would be

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 80 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Jeffrey from Fairfield, CT on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small but seem to be very well made

Pros: Small and can fit in factory speaker locations

Cons: Not as much bass as a 10 or a 12 but an excellent addition.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Sound great! Would recommend to anyone!

Michael M from Pasadena, CA on 4/3/2017

2016 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these for my boat. These are Great! Especially if you have clearance issues for mounting surface. If you find yourself in a bind and need small woofers- these are them! Sound great and put out clean bass! Highly recommend these woofers.

Pros: Hard hitting for the size. Clean tight sound. Speaker quality is superior.

Cons: Heard JL audio is phasing these out?

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 12/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mini sub. I used them for rear fill in my rear doors. Use plenty of sound deadening. These little guys are powerful. Pick up a pair NOW! JL Audio has discontinued them.

Pros: Great bass from 6.5 sub

Cons: not really a con, but some minor fabrication is necessary for door mounting

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

The JL Audio 6W3v3-4 is simply amazing!

Rogelio from Las Vegas, NV on 10/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally found the ideal mid range speaker! The 6W3v3-4 delivers the tight, and refined bass that I have been searching for. This speaker is very efficient in that it delivers huge sound from low power (50-150W) which works well with my OEM head unit. The 6W3v3-4 delivers the kind of clean, "long winded" and distortion free bass that you would expect from a heavily amplified set-up. As advertised, the 6W3v3 works well in small sealed spaces. I've mounted this speaker in my sealed front doors and they show no signs of suffocating; they move air like a much larger ported enclosure.

Pros: - Very efficient (huge sound from low input). - Robust construction; built to last (you definitely get what you pay for). - Functions well in relatively small sealed spaces (e.g., doors). - Pricing is very competitive with other mid/high end 6.5" woofers.

Cons: - Some customization may be required for door installations as mounting depth is deeper than most 6.5" woofers (worth the effort). - Pretty hefty at 6 lbs (mounting surface needs to be sturdy).

Crutchfield response on

19 of 21 found this helpful

JL Audio sub upgrade in Z4

Brendan from Boston, MA on 6/1/2016

2005 BMW Z4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clear mid bass upgrade. Not going to shake or rattle you in the seat but fills in the bottom end nicely. Only issue is tuning them up with the amp and line converter using the stock HU as its easy to over power them and bottom them out. Use lots of sound deadening in side the mounting box.

Pros: Fit stock location with only new mounting holes required.

Cons: They are 6.5" not 8 or 10"

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

compacted power

marty from Hawaii on 9/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice surprised by the loudness from such small speakers.

Pros: Compact

Cons: Depth

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Jl 6 1/2 " sub

Tarheel 1217 from Union,nj on 7/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upon inspection i was very impressed with build quality,magnet structure,and with the tight suspension of this little beast.I have built a .18 cube removable kick pod for each kick panel in my hot rod.i have not wired them up ,but will be running a Sundown audio in 2 ohm mode at about 100-125 rms in the 55-250 hz range.I am now wiring an audio control sub eq,line driver,electronic x over.both kicks are padded and i am going to try with and without stuffing.I will post pics when finished.in this price range it was this semi high end oddity sub or two commercial alpine or low line ID 8" for the same price.i am glad i choose these just suprised to see such a fun sub discontinued,so buy them while their out.CDT or DD only ones left with good 6.5 subs,maybe Sundown.ill review after play and break in.hope their clean and tight.bye guys

Pros: Everything,considering their only 135 each.JL is a very well respected sub maker and these are w3 technology.good for kick subs,dont distort and over drive ,for that get two 8" commercial subs.

Cons: Discontinued

Crutchfield response on

8 of 16 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

John S. from Central Jersey on 8/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another Quality product from JL. Good sound from a small package.

Pros: JL Quality, Good sound from small package, small space requirements

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome

Nate from Tomahawk wi on 6/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product put in the saddle bag of my harley for a little extra "punch"

Pros: Small easy to work with

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great little sub

Cyclist01 from Dallas on 12/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great sounding sub . I have it under the rear seat in my 75 bmw 2002 powered by a linear power 452iq. I am amazed at the output of this sub in a small sealed enclosure

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Jl Audio 6W3V3-4

MustangWill from Los Angeles, CA on 10/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JL Audio is an impressive Subwoofer, It can get loud. Don't under estimate it. I would recommend this speaker to anyone with small room in the car.

Pros: Small and powerfull

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Good bass for the sizes

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, co on 7/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this sub to replace my old factory sub from my 93 thunderbird and by long is way better then the old one really good base for been a 6 1/2 inches sub you won't get the power of a 8 or 10 inches sub

Pros: Good quality sub

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

JL 6W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 7/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tiny sub sounds great. I am using it in my Fiero factory sub enclosure with the factory amp and it hits hard. I highly recommend this sub to anyone with space issues.

Pros: Size, minimum box space needed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio 6.5" sub 6W3V3-4

Randy Y from Brunswick, OH on 4/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this sub as a replacement for my factory sub in my 2003 Maruader. Crutchfield would not say if the sub would fit, or if modifications would be required. As it turned out, I had to modify the factory sub box by cutting 2-2" holes with my holesaw to allow for the larger magnet structure, and there was some plastic below the old factory sub that I simply broke off with some pliars. Once this was done, the sub bolted right up, and I reinstalled the box. This sub made a significant improvement in both sould quality and loudness. The sound is tight, clear, and not boomy, which was my fear. The factory sub box seems to work fine after these modfications. I should mention that my car has a 100 watt factory amp for the sub, and I am very pleased with the result. I recently replaced all four factory 5 X 7" speakers with Polk DXI coaxials, and the entire system sounds great with the factory head unit. I've only had this installed in my car for a few days, so I can't comment on long term performance or durability.

Pros: This sub is built like a tank, with a huge magnet structure.

Cons: Had to modify the factory sub box.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

JL needs to work on build quality

Corey from Slidell, la on 3/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased two of these and built a ported enclosure between the rear seats of my 1994 Honda Prelude. The enclosure is approximately 1cuft, tuned to 38hz. They're running on my SAZ-1000D @ 2 ohm. Yes, the amp is overkill. I've had them installed for about a month now, and there are a few things that need to be said about them. First, they reach reasonably low for a 6" subwoofer. They are in no way suitable for midbass duties. They're decently loud in the enclosure I've built, but I wouldn't recommend putting these little guys in a sealed box because they just don't have the cone area to do anything noteworthy. They have very good sound quality and transient response. However, I think JL could have done a better job with these. For instance, I've had to repair the speaker twice already. A week after first powering them up, the decorative parabolic dust cap on the front began to separate from the cone underneath and making a lot of noise. Not a big deal, just ordered some CA glue and put it back together. Two weeks after that, the dust cap underneath (the real, functional dust cap), had come loose and made even more noise, so I had to remove the decorative cap again to repair the speaker. All in all, they're a good speaker for a tight space... just don't expect to beat the block down.

Pros: -Modest bass for a tight space -Sound quality -The "wow" factor of having a little boom with only 6" speakers -They look nice. Pointless, I know. -They bottom out long before they cook in my enclosure

Cons: -One of mine has broken twice. -Power hungry little guys -Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 57 found this helpful

Wife's Toyota Sienna

daddy from Saskatoon on 3/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very nervous about the size and power of this little guy, but it sounds great. The bass is very fast and tight, and it adds a lot of punch to my wife's minivan. My wife has been complaining about the base toyota system for years so I finally broke down and treated her. I placed a downfiring 6w3 in a custom box that fit between the consol and the dash. I installed JL 6.5" C3's in my front doors with tweets in the dash and powered this stuff with a JL XD400-4. I also replaced the factory head unit with a JVC unit and powered my rear factory speakers with it. One warning with this sub is to watch your box size, I originally had this thing in the minimum .15 sealed box as stated on the JL website. Not great so I increased the box size to .18 cubic feet and away it went. Awsome sub for its size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

turbo C from southen cali on 2/25/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I drive a '93 Toyota MR2. if you anything about this car, you know that sapce is very limited. I upgraded my sub from a JL 6W0 to one of these. After instalation, and putting it through it's first run, it blew my mind and didn't burn a gaping whole in my wallet. I work construction, so I'm not the most experienced person when it comes down to the technical side of things but I have heard many diffierent sound systems and I like what I hear from mine. The enclosure I mounted the Sub in occupies a space of a couple of cubic feet and did not take any additional space that had already previously been used for the stock woofer. it's' an overall excellent product for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Audiophile from Southern California on 9/11/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been an audiophile who likes superior sound quality in my vehicles for the past 15 years and I have always been a JL Audio fan because of their superior sound quality. I was running 2 JL Audio 10's in my Toyota Tundra Crew max and decided to try out these 6W3's because I wanted to save a bit of space and get a tighter/cleaner mid-bass sound in my system. I took out one of my 10's and replaced it with 2 of these 6W3's running at 150 watts RMS each. My low pass crossover is set at ~120Hz and my high pass crossover is set at 30Hz for these bad boys. I was skeptical that I would get the performance I desired from speakers this small; however, I was pleasantly surprised. I must say that these things perform so well that I have my 10" sub switched off most of the time. One of my co-workers was so surprised at the performance of these little guys that he is planning to put 2 under his dash in the passenger footwell of his Toyota Tacoma (Yes, the box size required for these is that small). I definitely recommend these to anyone looking to add good quality bass to their system, especially if you don't have much space in your vehicle to put larger subs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 23 found this helpful

JL Audio 6W3v3-4

Guest from West Central, MN on 7/24/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought one of these to mount in my Jeep Wrangler's factory location, I had to make some modifications to the factory box to make it work. When I got it running with a 150watts RMS from my MTX Thunder 202, I was amazed, now it's not 10" woofer, but for a factory location, it was amazing, louder and cleaner than most 8" woofers I have heard. I am very happy with my purchase and for it's size it is hard to beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

This little guy rocks!

James from Arkansas on 6/26/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having recently bought a Porsche Boxster, I was very displeased with the factory system. I upgraded the head unit and door speakers with Crutchfield products, and it made great improvements in the quality of the sound, but it was still very deficient in the low end. A Boxster has NO room in the cabin for medium to large subs. The front trunk is well insulated and no sound escapes the space. (I put a 10" Kicker in there, and you couldn't hear it at all from inside the cabin). Between the rear trunk and the driver is the engine, so no need in trying that. My only recourse was to get something small and fit it inside the cabin. The airspace requirement of only .15cf is what drew me to the JL. I was VERY skeptical of a 6.5" sub. I'm used to 10's and 12's. But I thought I'd try it and whatever I got is what I would live with. I built a box that would fit the passenger footwell. When complete, it was so small it looked like a birdhouse. My son even laughed at me. That is, until I hooked it up. I was very surprised at the lows this little thing could crank out and the solid hit that it produced. And I'm still in the break-in mode! Can't wait to hear what it will really do. Nicest surprise I've had in a while. I'm gonna show my friends, let them laugh, then crank it up. If you have limited space, then this is your ticket. No way I would have ever believed it until I heard it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 29 found this helpful

Amazingly Tight Bass

Michael from Illinois on 1/4/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've got two of these in the front of my car along with a pair of SR6500s for my sound stage. These speakers did a lot more than I expected. The bass is so punchy and tight. They really shine in the 65-120Hz range. I actually have my two 12" Infinity subs turned off because I prefer the tightness these small subs produce. Great sub for SQ applications! They can't turn out the deep lows like a larger sub can but you can definitely feel them pounding away!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 26 found this helpful

it fits 03 element stock enclosure

Kevin from PowderSprings, ga on 11/25/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have an 03 honda element and didn't want to spend all the money on the stealthbox. this little sub can take whatever you can dish at it. i would have never believed it if i had not heard it for myself. best option for this situation. highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

29 of 29 found this helpful

Great sound from a small package

William from Stamford, CT on 1/16/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added two of these subs to my 99 Mustang GT convertible and the lows are really filled out now. I had upgraded the factory Mach 550 system with a Pioneer head unit, Polk DBs, and an Apline PDX 4.150. This setup was not strong on the low end, and got lost with the top down. There's not much room in the car for an additional amp or subs without loosing trunk space (small as it is), so I added another Apline (PDX 2.150), which fits under the passenger seat, and two 6.5" JL subs. They use small enclosures (.15 cu.ft.), so I built ones that go behind the front seats. They take up some rear seat legroom, but there's still enough room to sit in the back. The subs point at the front seatbacks, so when you crank it up, you hear it and feel it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

78 of 96 found this helpful

TOP