Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 12TW1-2

12" shallow-mount 2-ohm component subwoofer

MFR # 92189

JL Audio 12TW1-2

JL Audio 12TW1-2

12" shallow-mount 2-ohm component subwoofer

MFR # 92189

9 reviews
View this product

JL Audio 12TW1-2

David from Seaford, DE on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing amount of bass from such a small space. It only requires .65cu ft of space in a sealed enclosure which blows my mind as what I'm used to (early 90's car audio lol) would take 1.5cu ft or more to perform at this level. I've got it powered by a JL RD900/5 and the bass is incredibly clean and tight. If you're looking for SQ in a tight spot this is it.

Pros: Everything about it

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 12TW1-2

Mark from Sewell, NJ on 12/17/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub lives up to the JL AUDIO brand recognition. I built a fiberglass sub enclosure for my 2017 Ram 1500 and am very excited for how this paired with the rest of the system. The bass hits hard and coupled with my audio control epicenter, it rumbles really low and clean.

Pros: Super efficient; 300 watts @2ohms isn't a lot of power to push a 12" sub. Clean sound and look with the grill already attached in the box

Cons: I didn't realize the sub came with the grill, so now I have 2

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome sub!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Bunker Hill, IL on 7/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sub!!!! Clean, crisp bass!! Exceeded my expectations. Huge bass in a smaller space!! ?? bravo!!

Pros: Space, clean bass, well built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound and doesn't require a lot of power or space

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bottom line: The speaker sounds great and has great range without requiring alot of power or space. What I learned: Keep in mind that although this is a shallow mount subwoofer, due to the design of the woofer, I had to source a custom spacer ring in order for it to fit my custom shallow-mount enclosure. I needed a spacer ring since it doesn't taper near the magnet like most subwoofers and would bottom out on one of the sides of my enclosure. An extra $20 and my problem was solved. The setup: The sub is being amplified through a JL XD700/5 V1 and as mentioned before is mounted in a custom enclosure, made for my 95' M3. Sound: Not too much bass to where it overpowers my highs and mids (hertz components in front doors and kick panels, and hertz 6x9s in rear package tray), but also just enough where I can still hear and feel every bass note. Exactly what I was aiming for as far as sound volume, quality, and range. Overall, it's a great sub if you need a shallow mount. If you don't think you'd need a shallow mount you should probably avoid this as their are better options available for less.

Pros: Great sound. Doesn't require much power or space Beautiful look (grille included) Great quality overall

Cons: Speaker design (doesn't taper near magnet) so many custom enclosures could run into issues. Requires the female (push on) quick disconnect terminals (similar to most speakers but unlike most subs) - found this particularly annoying as I didn't have any on hand and had to settle for what was available at the nearest parts store. A bit overpriced in my opinion

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

WOW

Adrian from Bowie, MD on 8/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Hits like 2 twelves.

Pros: Deep bass. Sounds like 2 twelves.

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best value subwoofer?

Tony from Floyds Knobs, IN on 6/26/2018

2013 Acura TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I worked in a custom car audio business for many years before going on to start an unrelated business. Since then I've built some systems for Sound Quality competition and personal enjoyment. Occasionally I get the opportunity to help a friend install a system in their car. I used this woofer for the first time last week in a friend's 2013 Acura TL. We put it in an enclosure with the net 0.50 cubic feet recommended by JL Audio. I've had $1,000 subwoofers and inexpensive ones as well. What I can say about this woofer is that the performance rivals any other shallow mount subwoofer that I've heard, regardless of price, and rivals standard depth subs as well. To get that kind of performance from a 12" woofer out of a half cubic foot enclosure is an impressive feat of engineering by JL Audio. Many small enclosure woofers seem to struggle with reproducing the bottom octave of music and are usually inefficient to boot. Not this one. It is my choice as best performing subwoofer for the dollar that I've heard.

Pros: Excellent low end extension, articulate, amazingly small enclosure. Checks all the boxes!

Cons: Not the cheapest subwoofer, but possibly the best performer for the dollar.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Very happy

Crutchfield customer from Chicago on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly wat i was looking for in my trailbrazer , sounds and looks excellent

Pros: Fits into my stealth box

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sub

Blake from Victoria, TX on 2/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit pricy, but you definitely get what you pay for. This sub is heavy, built very well and down right jams. I still can't believe I only have one sub, it sounds like I have two. Thanks JL for such an awesome product.

Pros: Build quality, very loud and clean bass.

Cons: absolutely nothing.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Big basket means not so shallow mount

JKing from Saint Louis, MO on 6/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This looks like a great build but unfortunately with my application I could not fit the sub. Although the mounting depth is shallow the basket diameter will not fit in an F-150 supercab enclosure due to the angle of the box. Typically enclosure depths are calculated off a magnet diameter that is 5-6" but this subs basket is 9" and flush with the base of the magnet making it very wide at the base and that interferes with all available enclosures. If you have an enclosure that is equal depth from front to back no issue but if it tapers like supercab boxes do then this will not work for you. I'm going to try 2 JL Audio 10W0v3-4 in a similar enclosure since these are equipt with smaller magnet diameters and the cost was actually less.

Pros: Nice build quality

Cons: Large basket diameter complicates install

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

TOP