Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
932 951 451 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
932 951 451 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3

Ported H.O. Wedge™ enclosure with one 10" W3v3 subwoofer

MFR # 93135

JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3

JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3

Ported H.O. Wedge™ enclosure with one 10" W3v3 subwoofer

MFR # 93135

31 reviews
View this product

Superior Quality Product!

Joe from Laredo, TX on 11/17/2019

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality clear bass. Awesome superior item. My 2002 Tahoe sounds great!

Pros: Worth the price!

Cons: I would say price but quality cost $!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes me want to upgrade the rest of my factory system.

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 3/31/2019

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is what my Honda "premium sound system" was missing. Great bass. Paired with JL RD500/1 and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Loud enough to put in trunk of sedan...

TC from Westborough, MA on 11/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having previously (last car) used a JL Stealthbox 10" in a sealed enclosure in a small SUV, I was able to immediately tell the difference with this ported box. Output volume was way higher with this ported box, and seems to get down to much lower frequencies than the 10" sealed could hit. But the tradeoff is a variable frequency response and not as tight of a sound as the sealed. Spectacular output - make no mistake - but with a little less clarity. And with the high output this thing produces, you can definitely pick up on the variable frequency response - some bass notes are clearly louder than others during playback. Since I needed this in a trunk of a sedan though, I chose the higher output of the ported to guarantee I wouldn't be limiting the impact. But if I had a hatchback, truck, SUV with the box 'inside' the passenger compartment, where output levels don't need to be as high, I might choose a sealed unit for more clarity.

Pros: Very high output with impact like I've never experienced; Gets down to very deep lows; Angled back of sub box saves space in sedan trunk

Cons: Not a JL Audio issue, but frequency response of ported box is not flat (some frequencies louder than others). But you get high output in exchange. Wish the woofer would be covered with mesh versus bars.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3

Crutchfield customer from Maywood, NJ on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the JL Audio products I ordered from Crutchfield, what more can you say it's JL. This little box hits hard, with a JL 500x1 amp it's all the bass I'll ever need. Most of all your customer service is the best, the employees that helped me went above and beyond to get me the product that was best for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yep

Joe from Wichita, KS on 8/20/2018

2008 Pontiac G6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This lil thing is louder than u might think it would b. Real good sound,dampened,deep. Been doin this 4 bout 25 years. Don't remember hearing 1 10" sound like this. Give it a lot of power. (Bout 10"×10" 2 work with on the box beside the sub 4 mounting amp)

Pros: Like it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

The Best of Both Worlds

Bradley from Boone, NC on 8/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely worth every single penny, without question! The sound quality of this gem is unbelievable! It's clean, tight, precise, and has serious impact, even in the 30-40 Hz range. After my first 30 minutes of testing, I literally wanted to "re-hear" every track I've ever heard, using this enclosure. It is that good! It's the best of both worlds, the accuracy of a sealed enclosure with the output and efficiency of a vented enclosure.

Pros: Small footprint, huge (super clean) output!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pounding Bass! For a minute...

Zach from Broken Arrow, OK on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Going to Re-Rate this if circumstances change. THE SUB SOUNDED AWESOME!!!!!!! for about 5 minutes... then it froze. I'm so thankful i purchased this from Crutchfield as they have issued an RMA and sent me out a new one quickly! Very, Very good customer service. I even double checked that I wasnt over powering this subwoofer. I am running a Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D. I wasnt cranked on gain and volume. I was listening to a Luke Bryan track of all things! I checked my volt meter this morning and im putting out right at 30volts so perfectly in line with JL's recommended RMS wattage. Crutchfield assured me that I have a good setup and this is a fluke. the amp is powered by the rockford RFK 4 gauge kit.

Pros: Huge Sound, Perfect size to not take up a whole trunk. Easy to setup. Doesnt require a ton of power, Very nice looking. JL is ALWAYS good. im assuming this was a fluke but I will update my review once my replacement arrives. The biggest pro is buying from Crutchfield because their customer service is second to none! A+++++

Cons: Blew after 5 minutes of play on country music. Checked gain levels and tested output voltage from the amp and all are in line. Should be a fluke that it happened and i'll re-review once new one arrives.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Richard from Gaithersburg, MD on 8/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice sub sounds great

Pros: Small sounds great it's Jl audio

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing product

Cory from TX on 6/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this up with the jl audio jx500/1, and it sounds amazing. Crystal clear bass, and it hits hard. I definitely recommend buying.

Pros: Compact, good quality

Cons: Wish the box came in black.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

One is all u need really

Mario from Texas on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This box slams... For the price you cannot ask for more. I'm from the 90s era of installing systems and you could never get this performance at this price...I'm powering it with the JL RD 500/1 and the amp really drives this thing wild. I've been throwing music at this thing all day and it loves it all. I also had a w6 before this and although this w3 doesn't provide the excursion of the w6, it still comes close to fooling you. It's like the baby brother that's almost just as strong. The box is sleek and fit flush all the way back in my 2013 Corolla. Wonderful JL audio product.

Pros: Big, tight, sealed bass sounding keeps wanting power and no bottoming out. Accurate punch with nice blending bass notes. Small compact size and sleek box look, great price

Cons: It will make u want another one.... Wish there was a dual version of this... Lows are astounding for a 10, but a little more may be desired...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good sound, above average until it blew

michael from Laurel, MD on 10/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love JL subs, this sub sounded Very Good, above average more like a 12 would sound but tighter, only issue is it blew within a couple of days of use. I gave it time to break in, it wasnt under powered, my gains were matched with my RCA voltage on the head unit, then it just went up in smoke and froze up. Not sure, hoping it was just bad luck and a defect. Reached out to Crutchfield for hopefully a replacement sub or box as this is not an inexpensive unit. Will review again if I get another one.

Pros: Sound quality, sounds more like a 12 inch hitting but clear and tight bass

Cons: It blew within a couple of days, so hoping it was just a defect.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 10/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love It!

Pros: Sounds very crisp and Accurate

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SQ and SPL

Professor J from Phoenix, AZ on 1/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2015 Honda Accord Sedan Sport. This sub is brilliant! I drive 1.5 hours to campus every day so music and sound quality is a critical part of my day. I have had MTX, ALPINE, and FOSGATE in my trunk and they all took up way too much space, were too heavy making the car drive awful and adding fuel consumption, were too boomy, thuddy, or could hit low but would not fill in the mid bass my Alpine Type-R separates lacked. This High Output enclosure with the W3 is absolute perfection. My trunk and back deck are heavily dampened so a sealed sub just doesn't have the SPL to resonate through it properly. I love hip-hop, EMD, but also listen to acoustical music too and I am so thrilled with this sub I am at a loss for words and I am an English professor! Thank you so much JL Audio!

Pros: Wide SQ range, deep lows, tight mids, high quality build, smaller and lighter than competitors, efficient, and LOUD!!!

Cons: None. I can't believe I had to buy, install, and return 4 different subs before finally giving in and paying a few extra dollars for what I knew was going to be awesome before I got it. I didn't want to be a label h0, but the truth is you get what you pay for. This sub is perfection.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding

Lex from Virginia on 10/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Jaw-dropping performance. Clean, accurate, powerful, and surprisingly low and deep for a 10 inch. I owned the 12 inch W3 before the 10 inch and the 10 inch is way more accurate. It was worth every penny.

Pros: Superior performance at any volume.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Amount of Bass

Stevo from Arkansas on 5/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in the cargo area of my 2000 Toyota Land Cruiser and I love it! I replaced the entire sound system with Crutchfield products (Kicker & Infinity door speakers, touchscreen in-dash, sub, and 2 amps) and I don't have a single complaint about any of it. When I pieced my system together, I aimed for more of a 'quality' system rather than a 'quantity' system. I wanted plenty of bass that could power the deep lows but not too much where it can be uncomfortable to sit in the vehicle. This definitely achieves that and more. I use a RUX-KNOB routed up to the side of the center console so I can control the amount of gain from the drivers seat, and the amp is hidden behind a trim panel where the factory subwoofer and enclosure were located. It BUMPS, and I can turn it down if I have passengers in the truck that don't want all that bass. The aluminum grilles on the front are very sturdy and have so far endured golf clubs and suitcases bumping against them with no signs of wear or bending. I can't wait for this thing to break in so I can really here what it can do:) Overall, I am very satisfied with this product, Crutchfield's customer service, and Crutchfield's product quality consistency. I will definitely be buying again from here!

Pros: Sturdy enclosure LOUD Tucks up to the back of my middle row seats very well

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

It really shows when a company invests time in their products

KyleR from Morgantown, WV on 11/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been a JL fan since my first sound system when I was 16. I have put their products into 5 different vehicles and have never had a complaint. Yes, they are expensive but you get exactly what you pay for with their equipment (excellent output with great sound quality at any level). This product is no different. It really shows that JL puts a tremendous amount into their R and D as the enclosure really makes this sub sound incredible. Yes, it is very loud for its size but that's not the whole story here. Ported boxes, if implemented poorly, can lack accuracy and control and sound like a "one note wonder." This box is always in control and sounds accurate with nearly any genre of music. I listen to anything from tupac to tiesto to rat pack and it never over powers but always complements the music. Couple thoughts on setup. I have used two separate amps to power this sub in my suv: JL xd 700/5 and JL hd 900/5. The sub sounded great with only 300 watts rms going to it and I only wished for a little more power with very demanding low bass. I did set my gains slightly higher than the voltmeter method recommended by JL with the xd. The hd drives it better with a more control and low end but only marginally so. It really does sound good with not a ton of power. Use the voltmeter method to set your gains. easy and makes sure you get distortion free, max output. Last, use an infrasonic filter. sub will be damaged if frequency drops below tune point of enclosure

Pros: Highly recommended Excellent match of sub to enclosure Very accurate for vented enclosure Will achieve strong output with marginal power Relatively small foot print for HO box

Cons: Not really cons just trade offs Will not be quite as accurate as sealed enclosure but much more efficient Go with w6 or w7 in vented enclosure if you Need higher spl with same SQ Cheaper ways to get "loudness" if that's all you want

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Just what the doctor ordered

mcrob from Charlotte NC on 8/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 1998 F-150 standard cab, needless to say I'm limited on space. I started out with the JL Audio CS110RG-W3v3. It was nice and loud and tight for a sealed enclosure. I wanted more, but still limited on space, I went with the JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3. Same speaker, the 10-w3v3, just in a tuned, ported box. This is just what I was looking for!! This thing slams and booms as loud as I want it! It plays all the music and can boom to Lil Jon too! JL Audio XD500/3v2 pushing 200w to my JL Audio C3-570's and 300w to my JL Audio HO110RG-W3v3. I couldn't imagine giving this sub anymore power, It really doesn't need it. This is a perfect little setup for a standard cab truck, without going custom. This box fits perfect behind my bench seat. Don't have to pull the seat forward or anything. Couldn't believe 1 10 could hit this hard! The bass is deeper in this ported box than the sealed. I did have to turn my gains down too. It hits notes that the sealed box just choked on. But can still play the tight bass and sounds great doing it. Can't wait 'til it gets broke in so I can see what it really does!

Pros: It's all pros over here Brah!!!

Cons: No cons, all pros

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL W3

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis IN on 6/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always went with the JL subs. This one sounds good but unfortunately it blew after 30 days. Not a huge deal. Called Crutchfield and they sent me another sub to replace. New sub still sounds good. Had to adjust my amp a little to make sure I don't over do this one.

Pros: sound quality

Cons: not dual voice coil

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Can't believe the quality of this speaker

DavidJ. from Shelby, NC on 6/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am absolutely surprised at how good this sub sounds. I had high expections going into the purchase and install of this sub and after listening for a few hours it has surpassed everything that I could have imagined it would do. I was wanting to build a factory SQ add on to my boston system in my 300C, that was my reason for purchasing this sub. I paired it with the JBL MS 500 watt mono amp that has the built in signal processor and EQ. This is an amazing combo. When listening to music like Van Halen or Metallica the drum hits are clean and tight with no distortion. When I throw in Pastor Troy's no more play in ga or lil john throw it up it just pounds out deep low distortion free thumping bass. I only have around 300W rms dialed in right now, going to wait a week and hit it with the rated 500W rms and see what this thing is fully capable of. Spend the money and get this gem. I have had Rockford P1's, P2's, P3's. Alpine type E's, type S's, Kenwood's, MA Audio's, and high end Eclipses from when they were made in America. This single HO 10" sub blows them all away easily except for the Eclipse's, but the sound quality is far superior with the JL. My only regret is not paying the slight premium price a long time ago to get into these subs

Pros: Clean, tight hard hitting bass Excellent sound quality Very well constructed box with solid aluminum protection bars

Cons: A little pricey Warranty is only valid if from an authorized online retailer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very tight bass with good potential SLP, only one issue

DannyTexas from Rowlett, Texas on 4/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this set-up as it was the largest I could go in a 2004 Mustang GT Convertible and still have room for my stuff in the trunk. I paired it with an Alpine MRV-M500 amp so output was a perfect match as far as RMS watts. I dynmoatted the entire trunk including the lid so the space is very sound proof and solid, an expensive but worthwhile cost. The speaker sounds pretty good for its size and I don't think I would want anything larger. It does get low when I desire and yet still tight when needed. I listen to country, rock and some pop. I've had the unit installed for about a month and its not a daily driver car so Ive only listened to it maybe 3-4 hours total. Today when opening my trunk all but one screw had fallen out of the mounted speaker. I did notice the bass had gotten sloppier the last time I drove the car. I found all the screws and pushed the speaker back in the box and reattached all the screws into the wood. Not sure if excessive bass caused this or poor manufacturing assembly. I honestly have never seen a woofer thump the screws out before so I tend to believe they were never really tight to begin with. The screw holes were not stripped as I was able to tighten all of them back down to a stopping point. I'll have to monitor over the next few weeks and see if this happens again as it will certainly change my opinion about this set-up. I'm also hoping that listening to it without being screwed down didn't cause any damage to it. I'll know soon enough.

Pros: Tight, clean bass with relatively small footprint. JL Audio quality for sure.

Cons: Don't like seeing screws laying in my trunk from a poorly mounted speaker into enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sub

Jason from Lexington, KY on 3/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub and box combo sounds awesome. JL Audio makes the best subs I have ever heard. I used to be a huge Kicker fan but no longer. This sub would definitely be better if it were a little cheaper.

Pros: The sound quality and the performance of the bass

Cons: Nothing!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Blazing Bass!!!!

Kevin from Meridian ID on 1/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok I got my replacement unit soon after I send the 1st one back. (See my earlier review titled amazing bass.....but). I allowed for some break in hours b4 really testing this sub. Didn't want to blow it. It's been 2 mo's and this baby just keeps getting better and better! It absolutely hits deeper and harder than my 2 10 inch Audiobahn's in an enclosure that is about a third the size! I had to set the bass level at about 3 (out of 10) because there was simply too much bass. I may turn it up a little, now that it's pretty well broken in. I drive semi truck so now I'm thinkin of putting another one of these lil beauties in it. Both car and semi have Kenwood Excelon head units and 2 prs of Kicker 6X9's KX series (or is it KS, I can't remember) 100W RMS going to each. Just need the sub and a good amp for the truck! Anyway, if you get this sub and break it in properly you will not be sorry. If you are, then you're probably one of those people who's booming bass can be heard a half mile away! That's simply ridiculous bass! (In my humble opinion.)

Pros: Fantastic sound depth n boom.

Cons: None as long as it's broken in properly and have the right amount of power.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No, really, just get it.

Shillydwagon from Denver, CO on 12/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG this thing hit harder than 2 - 13" subs!!! No, not really. I know, because I replaced two JL P1222s with them. The JLs hit harder and had a lot more low end. "Wait, your title says to get this!" you exclaim. Yes, because there is more than just load and low to consider. I have always loved the way JLs sound, but could never justify the cost. With fatherhood came new sub objectives: size, convenience. and sound. For the cost, this gives me exceptional sound, small size, and the convenience of being in a box already. The sound quality is awesome. Other reviews state that it sounds like a sealed box, it's true. Not exactly, but so close that I have already forgot the difference. :) I had the JLs in a sealed box, and had 2 other sealed sub-woofer systems in this car. This sounds more musical, surprisingly tight, cleaner, and lower that another single sub I have had. Give it some time to break in, it sounds better now than when i got it. It does low and loud very well to boot. The size is the what lead me to this speaker, a stroller seems to need quite a bit of trunk space. :) It is sufficiently smaller than my previous box. With banana clips, it's also readily removable. It also removed a lot of weight in the back portion of the vehicle. No, really, the old box was twice the weight. Pffftttt, never again. For the sound and volume you get out of this, it's hard to beat. If you are downsizing but still want big, clean sound, this is the one.

Pros: Musical,clean, tight, low, loud sound. Smaller size. 5-way binding posts. Solid build. Built in grill. Did I mention I just love the sound? :)

Cons: OMG this thing does not hit harder than 2 - 13" subs!!! (See what I did there?) Seriously, none. This does what it was designed to and does it well.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio HO11 W3V3

Amazing sound.......but from Meridian ID on 10/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an absolutely astounding sounding sub! While it worked that is. Mine lasted about 2 hrs b4 it completely shut down. The woofer was froze solid and could not be budged. I took it to my install specialist and he didn't think it was blown at all. Rather, it was more likely a defect in manufacturing. So I'm currently awaiting its replacement from Crutchfield. Great cust. srvc btw! Love these people! Hopefully the next one will last a bit longer. The bass output and depth was truly breathtaking! (While it lasted) PS My amp is a Legacy Blue Diamond LA 2080 670W X 1 @ 2 ohms.

Pros: UNBELIEVABLE bass output and depth for a single 10 inch sub. Better than any 2 10s I've had previously. Sound was so good I'm willing to give it another chance.

Cons: None except that my 1st one went to subwoofer heaven way too soon. If the next one does the same thing I'll opt for the W 6v6.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

Jacob from Texas on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is no Joke! I have it hooked up to a Alpine MRX-V70 in a Suburban and it definitely impressed me. I was tired of building boxes and wanted to try a pre built enclosed subwoofer and I'm so glad I did. It sounds great and has more output than one ten inch I have ever heard. Couldn't be easier to install. Take it out of the box and hook the wires up.

Pros: Ready to go, sounds great

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bang for the Buck

Jason S. from Jena, LA on 5/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've waited 3 full weeks to make sure it was fully broken in before giving it a review. There is so much difference in spl when it is fully broken in. This JL can not be judge when you first install it. I have the new Alpine MRV-M500 pushing this sub and it truly sounded good when it was 1/3 gain turned up for the first week. For the second week I had the amp half way and thought the JL couldn't handle much more. Then it finally broke in, now the amp has the gain all the way with about half on the bass boost. My music varies from Young Jeezy to Avenged Sevenfold to Willie Nelson. Of course, Young Jeezy sounds the best, but for a ported sub it can almost keep up with the double bass at full volume. During double bass runs, there's not enough distortion to make you turn it down, but it's not like a sealed sub either. I have this installed in a Honda Insight, so it sounds very loud as there is no true trunk and nothing blocking the sound in between the sub and my ears. Max volume is enough to make my ears rung, so I don't know why anyone would need more out of a sub that is just for everyday listening. Nothing can beat this sub for the money, nobody.

Pros: LOUD, POUNDS

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Easily the best sub I've heard - blows away 2 typical subs

Mazda3Sedan from Minneapolis, MN on 4/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm 36, and listen to rock, metal, and country. I want LOUD tight bass. I have a 2012 Mazda3 Sedan with the Bose system. The Bose system is beautiful other than the bass being too weak (the mids and highs are awesome though). I added this JL sub powered by a Pioneer class D mono amp. I previously had that amp driving 2 Kicker comp 10's in a ported box (all made by Kicker) and then a single Infinity Reference 12 in a sealed box. Between the two, I preferred the Infinity but the volume was never there. Enter this JL Audio sub. It's insane. It's loud as heck. I think a lot of people are going to pass this sub up when shopping because they're going to look at the price and think "pfft! For almost four hundred I can get two of something else.". If you're thinking that, you're missing the point. It doesn't matter how many subs you have. It only matters how loud it gets, and what it sounds like. I swear, this single 10 HO box sounds like a pair of 15s . Of course if you don't want it that loud, just turn the bass knob down. But just know that the potential is there. You really have to hear this bad boy in person to believe what I'm saying. But it's not sloppy. It's tight. It's sounds awesome. Tight and LOUD. The "H.O." in the product name isn't marketing hype. If you're considering a 10w3, just get this. There's no way you're building a better enclosure on your own (no offense, but you're not).

Pros: Insanely loud but still tight. You get the tightness of a sealed sub with the sheer volume of a ported sub. No compromise. Just the best of both worlds. I sincerely hope JL does not stop making these, or make any changes to it. It's perfect as-is. I haven't heard the 12-inch version of this but if I had to do it all over again, I'd stay with the 10. It leaves nothing to be desired in terms of volume or deepness.

Cons: Absolutely none. Nada. Zilch. People that say JL Audio isn't for loudness clearly haven't heard this HO enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Quality Sound / Quality Performance

Clark G from Columbus, Ga. on 9/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being a fan of smaller 8" subs (which I still like) because of their tighter, punchier bass response, I ordered this for trial in 2010 Mazda 3 and honestly expected to be disappointed with a "boomier - looser" than desired bass response. I'm using a JL XD700/5 Power Amp which equates to feeding this sub 300W @2ohms. At first listens I thought I had made a mistake here and had confirmed my concern that it was too much and a bit boomy. After adjusting EQ and Output levels and listening to various recordings it began to blend much better and tightened up a good bit. Crutchfield rep told me to listen to it for a week or so and if not happy to return for 7.00 return shipping (sweet) and we would try something else. The more I listened to it and worked with it the sweeter it got. Anybody that knows music is aware that ALL recordings vary in their composition & quality and that dramatically affects the essence of what we hear... Garbage in garbage out etc. When properly tweaked and fed with good quality recordings this sub performs beautifully... clean, tight, warm, punchy, full bodied bass :>) The British Rock Group "Porcupine Tree" is staggering to listen to with this sub in my system... They know what they're doing in the recording studio and I wish all my music was done with their mastering skills. Bottom line, If you take your time setting her up and do a bit of tweaking I would say there is no way to not fall in love with this product. More excellence from JL. Godblessum.

Pros: Reasonably Compact / Powerful / Tight Punchy Bass through the low frequency spectrum... also VERY Attractive design... Reasonable price for what you get...

Cons: Not really a con but Fairly Heavy Weight Wise... suppose it has to be to do what it does...

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Super High Quality

PabloC from Raleigh, NC on 2/10/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on a 2010 Jetta TDI with 10 factory speakers, factory head unit, no factory amplifier. The sound system in my car has been transformed by this ported sub. The bass is clean, tight, and accurate. Currently is being powered by the tiny JL XD300/1. With only 200 watts RMS @ 4ohms from the amp, this sub sounds phenomenal. I can not imagine this sub with a more powerful amp such as the Slash or HD series from JL (probably Nirvana or Heaven). If you enjoy high quality bass, then this product is for you. Don't waste your time and money with other subs. Before this sub I had Rockford and Alpine ( sorry, I don't miss them).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Clean amazing deep bass

HENRY from Brooklyn,NY on 5/24/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this JL AUDIO subwoofer enclosure to add some bass to my factory sound system in my 09 VW PASSAT, and I must say WOW! The sound quality and craftsmanship is superb. I have owned many other subwoofers from different manufacturers and this one by far is the best. Don't be fooled by the 1 10" subwoofer, this enclosure hits like 2 12" subwoofers paired with a MTX class d mono amp or any other quality mono amp. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for top notch SQ and SPL. Crutchfield customer service is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

AWESOME!!!!!

Steve from Fairfield, CA on 4/4/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Pioneer deck and a 4 channel amp(only bridging 3rd and 4th channels)with 300 watts RMS powering this thing. It sounds amazing. The setup is in my wifes 2003 L200. We have the bass set to mid range with the deck. I love the subtleness when we want it, and the crazy bass when you want to turn it up. All I need now is to get new componets for the front to finish of the amazing sound...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP