Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

High Output Enclosure with single 12" subwoofer

MFR # 93315

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

High Output Enclosure with single 12" subwoofer

MFR # 93315

32 reviews
View this product

Awesome!!

Crutchfield customer from Leonardtown, MD on 2/8/2021

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Hits hard. Almost too hard.

Pros: Unbox and connect speaker wires. So easy!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Crutchfield customer from Kerman, CA on 2/4/2021

1972 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good, hits good, would have expected more though from JL and the power it can handle. I assumed that this would be the ultimate combination of sub and box because it is a package unit and JL designed the box themselves. It's OK but would have expected more hard hitting bass. It's rated at 200-600 watt power handling and have 600 running it now. I think the major downfall is the price...WOW! JL is sure proud of their stuff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from VA on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't usually take the time to write reviews but I felt like I needed to. This box is amazing. When I plugged this in and heard it for the first time I could not believe how it sounded. Completely exceeded my expectations . Went from two 10" RF power subs to this. The biggest difference I noticed with this sub box is how you hear and feel that punch when a bass notes comes in..it's not just boomy bass, it has that initial punch that I wasn't getting with the RF's followed by the roll off the bass note. It plays really deep, much deeper than two 10s but it's a 12"sub so I guess that's to be expected. It's seriously loud as well. Just as loud as two 10's. Not sure if it's the box design or the W6 sub that makes this so amazing, but I'm assuming both. I've also had 2-W3 10s in a custom box built to specs and I was so unimpressed I sold them after about a week. I definitely won't be selling this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean, deep, accurate bass!

Jonathan from Soddy Daisy, TN on 11/30/2020

2017 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been looking for a subwoofer that can do it all, and after researching and looking at reviews- This is the one hands down. I bought both the Prowedge and the HO. If you want to hear the bass, buy the prowedge. If you want to hear AND feel the bass, buy the HO box. It's by far the most versatile subwoofer I've ever owned and will not distort at any volume after you've dialed in your amp. I listen to quite the variety of music- one song we're listening to Avicii, the next song is by the red hot chili peppers. What I can really appreciate about this box, is a) the fact that it looks good, and b) by buying it in the enclosure JL specifically designed for it, you know you're not going to have to guess what box to partner it with and hope for a good match. If you're like me, and always do extensive research before you invest in an item, I can assure you that this is the setup to get!

Pros: Great, clean, deep sounding bass, looks great and easy to install

Cons: A bit on the pricey side, but totally worth it!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Seattle

Michael from Seattle on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best purchase I've ever made!! There's too many good things to say about this perfect h.o. enclosure and w6. I'll try to keep this on point and on track. So I've read tons of reviews before and after purchasing this and only heard a few people mention their boxes were vibrating apart and all said it was 3 months of use. I've had mine for a little over a year now and run it pretty hard. I listen to it as I would drive a Ferrari!! To the safest limit. Before I learned about tuning and crossovers and stuff I was running it how the installer had set everything. After I broke in this sub I upped levels and then a friend showed me some features on my reciever. So I can't believe how hard this sub and box hits! Clean and more than enough. I work at a Mercedes dealership in the service department and believe me I've heard lots of system that were very disappointing. I've seen people have 2 w6s in a dual box but use a crappy amp or cheap crappy amp. I've also seen w6 powered properly but poor quality cheap boxes and enclosures. The box is just as important as powered. So I'll say get this and power it with a j.l. xd600 watt class d monoblock. This amp is underrated. It pushes way more power than listed. I have my input gain at 50% my Hertz crossover on the amp at 80 hz infrasonic filter off.This amp will desimate this sub if turned up. This sub is a beast and outperforms everything I come across. Until they get into 10 gs and up. This is perfect for SUVs!!

Pros: If you power this with a j.l. xd600 you'll be outperforming most dual sub systems all day long. This literally is better than two fosgate 12s or 15s. I dont know how it'd do against a focal power sub though. Focal is dope so I'm running focals for my components and coaxials preferred them to j.l. I'm so happy with this sub I don't need anything else or anything more. Its awesome!!

Cons: You'll have instant haters because you'll be outperforming their systems or just be straight jealous of yours!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Power hungry, but musical. Very nice.

Crutchfield customer from Cloquet, MN on 8/26/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seriously awesome sub. Favorite subwoofer I've owned. Digs deep. Needs some power though. I have it on a JL RD-500/1 monoblock but it can definitely take quite a hit more power. Very musical subwoofer. Happy with purchase

Pros: Aesthetics, musical, quality construction. This thing gives the impression that it'll last a lifetime.

Cons: Spendy, I feel JL underrates the sub a tad. I feel like this subwoofer can handle more than 600w. But I haven't tested that theory.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

IF YOURE READING THIS!!! JUST DO IT.

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, Ma on 6/26/2020

2015 BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running the W6 with a Gladen rc1200 amp. (Had a redline amp and 12' sub setup before)Still breaking them in but man the difference in the sound quality and clean bass is definitely night and day. Worth every dollar!!!!

Pros: Clean, crisp, bass Still have trunk space

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

bad box

blaine from Danville, IL on 4/27/2020

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this sub and box for 3 months and the box is already rattling smh paid almost 1000$ for this to happen not happy at all

Pros: good subwoofer

Cons: box started to rattle after 2 months of use

Crutchfield response on 5/5/2020
Blaine, we're sorry you're having issues with your sub. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds amazing, and takes a beating.

Brenden from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this sub powered with a 500 watt rms alpine amp, and man did it surprise me. I am not kind to this sub, high volumes daily pushing the sub to the edge of its frequency limits, and it just keeps asking for more. I have never smelled the voice coils, just the lovely smell of the glue getting warm. I could not be happier with my purchase.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Large box size

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 7/5/2019

2006 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is extremely well built, hits super hard and looks great, well worth the $

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Freaking Awesome

Eugene from Raleigh, NC on 5/6/2019

2015 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing sound phenomenal, the rich deep texture of music, I have this paired with a set JL Audio C5s in the front and back. I recommend this sub to everyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Crutchfield customer from Payson, AZ on 2/14/2019

2018 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker! It really brings my stereo to life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Andre from Los Gatos, CA on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an amazing unit. I've always loved home and car audio and enjoy comparing mid to high end products. I really enjoy building systems but with limited time between work and family life, I didn't have as much time I wanted to build a custom box (that's one thing I really love to geek out on - lot's of math calcs to figure out when pairing the sub with the box design etc, then the amazing wood work you get to do). That was fine in the end as I came across this unit that did all the "heavy lifting" for me . . . boy does she reward, I have a great big smile each and every time I take a ride. Tips: 1) properly break in the subwoofer - you can read up on that . . . 2) ensure you have an appropriate amplifier to feed her - I went with JL's JX1000/1, a very budget friendly amplifier with epic power. 3) yes, it's pricey but don't fret, sometimes you need to splurge and treat yourself to some great sound - consider it an investment in your happiness and mental health! 4) get the cover (to protect her)

Pros: you will never wonder . . . what is all the JL W hype about?

Cons: your car may fall apart if it wasn't properly assembled due to all that epic bass

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

JL Audio 12W6V3HO

brian from Poynette, WI on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can never go wrong with JL Audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great sub

Edgar from Surprise, AZ on 5/29/2018

2018 Honda Accord Touring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding sub nice clean bass and small enclosure that dint take my whole truck love it!

Pros: It's perfectly tuned in enclosure. No need to make any modifications

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Linda from Holbrook, MA on 2/26/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hits low and very clean sound

Pros: great product. you get what you pay for

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Just buy it!!

Kenneth from Alton, IL on 9/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My system consists of Boston pro60se front stage image dynamics 6 3/4 coax rear fill plus this monster all powered by an alpine pdx-v9. I couldn't be happier with the way the sub blends seamlessly with everything and the sheer brute force when it's wanted. Cleanest system I've had in the last 20 years. If you have the space and the budget just buy it you'll love it.

Pros: Tight accurate with the ability to get obscenely loud when you want it to.

Cons: None at all

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Perfection

Matthew from Fuquay Varina, NC on 9/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's amazing! I previously had the HO110 version and while impressive in its own right, something was still missing. So glad I switched to the 12''. It is just incredible. Using the PDX-V9 and while it's only pushing 550 watts RMS to the sub it is fantastic. Much better range than the 10, longer bass runs, I'm hearing things in songs that I had not heard before. Would highly recommend. Some knock JL for being too pricey, but I could not be more satisfied. Sound quality is just great. It is really aesthetically pleasing to look at, not that important I know since I don't see it, but it could be more on display in others vehicles. My buddy has the 9 speaker SCAT pack in his Challenger and gets so upset that it's nothing like my JL setup.

Pros: Hits great Gets low Gets loud

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Quality is certainly a winner every time!!

Morris from Georgia on 6/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sub ever owned! I have seen car audio come a long way and seen a lot of changes since my first Alpine am/fm cassette tape deck in 1987! In my thirty years I have screened lows from every sub made since 85. From M&M, Orion, Fosgate punch, Kicker, JBL, MTXbluethunder, Alphasonick, Pyramid, Alpine, maybe leaving out couple...can remember when there was no such thing as JL Audio never heard of...nothing in my time I have ever seen compares to the quality of this sub, with its high quality lows I have not heard in many decades. Truely/honestly best product I have ever owned! Only thing better would be the 12w7! Thanks Kevin, Garrett, for all your expertise! Will be making many more purchases! Very, very, happy customer! Also very, fast shipping to GA. With 0 damage to package! Thanks Crutchfield again my hats off!!

Pros: Cant brag enough! Highest quality on market! Save your pennies and by Christmas you will have your own. Thanks guys again!!

Cons: With Crutchfield and JL Audio there are none!!

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Great sub but overpriced

James from Lakewood, NJ on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub and box, very detailed and gets pretty loud for one 12. seems to sound best crossed over around 75-80hz (24db) all that being said , my kicker cvx in a custom ported box plays louder and is pretty close to it in sound quality. I'll be upgrading to the w7 soon and I'm sure that's going to sound unbelievable

Pros: Loud and clean

Cons: Overpriced

Crutchfield response on

8 of 16 found this helpful

Amazing quality

Brandon from Ft Knox, KY on 6/26/2016

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing quality craftsmanship and sound

Pros: Big Bang for the $$

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Hits hard

B from Orlando, FL on 5/11/2016

2011 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the XD 1000/5v2 pushing this and my JL C2 components and door speakers. And it hits, my ears are ringing after a 20 minute ride, the highs are loud and clean and the sub has 0 distortion at high levels. JL all day son.

Pros: Clean bass at high levels good range

Cons: None whatsoever

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Tito from north wales, PA on 3/26/2016

2009 Ford Expedition EL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big Bang

Pros: Good sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

awesome speaker

Diego from Muskogee, Ok on 11/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL AUDIO awesome design.

Pros: Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 17 found this helpful

Awesome output and quality!

Lance from Tennessee on 6/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off. I have been into car audio for over 25 years, doing countless custom installs, and enclosures. I got this 12W6v3 sub enclosure to replace a 13W6v2 subwoofer in a custom slot ported box that I built and tuned to 30HZ. The overall range, sound quality, and output was good but was not quite up to what I wanted, so I was curious after reading about the custom HO enclosure with the 12W6v3. The Crutchfield team lead me in this direction for overall sound quality, output, and musical tastes of all kinds. I am running the same amp as I was with the 13. It is a JL 500/1V2. The bottom line is: The sub outperformed the 13 in the slot enclosure in sound quality from 25-80Hz and in output. The technology of the subwoofer and enclosure worked. Like most enclosures in a hatch or sedan, the box usually needs to be firing toward the trunk. The overall output etc. is night and day better. I also keep my seats down so I get the most of the sound. With this set up in my car (Mazda Protege) with 40-60Hz bass tracks, I get readings of between 138-141db with my SPL meter, which is an average of about 2-3 db more than the 13W6V2 I had. It is amazing what technology went into this sub and enclosure. Thanks JL and Crutchfield. When people hear my set up this time, and want me to build them one, I will just tell them to buy one because I can't tune this one correctly since they don't offer the build specs for it.

Pros: Great look, Power handling, Output, Sound Quality for all kinds of music

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

30 of 31 found this helpful

Wonderful Enclosure with a Wonderful Driver

Matt from Florida on 5/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a wonderful piece of equipment. The build and sound quality are incredible, and the aesthetics are great as well. I am very pleased with this enclosure, and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for an awesome 12 inch sub woofer. That being said, it is simply too big for my vehicle (2015 Ford Focus ST), and I will be returning it, and trying the sealed version of this enclosure for the 12W6v3 offered by JL; the CS112G-W6v3. Look for my review over there!

Pros: Sound quality, aesthetics, build quality, and reputation.

Cons: None to the product itself, however it was too big for my application.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

Mike_A from Indiana on 3/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

- Output for the box size is great. However you can build a similar sized slot ported box and save money if that's your thing. - Value is way overpriced for the added enclosure. There really isn't any special about the box itself, it's a standard slot port but they curved it which doesn't really do anything different than the typical L shape other than to say at the most this may decrease port noise but very unlikely to notice. I did an SPL comparison with a W6v2 in my custom enclosure tuned at around 34 hz and got the exact same results. - Subwoofer produces deep lows, coupled with it's strong motor it's definitely the reference model for all other subs. I listen to a lot of rock/metal that tends to peak in the 70hz range, so to cope, I tuned my gain to a test tone of 60hz @ -10db's. This allowed me to get the most power out of my amp for this kind of music. Plotting your music to find the peak is important for gain adjustment, otherwise the bass may disappear into the background when it shouldn't. - Easy to use: You'll spend more time breaking down and discarding the shipping box than hooking this sub up in your car. For hatchbacks, always anchor it down, otherwise it can turn into the Grim Reaper, beating you to death if you get into an accident. I recommend no less than an XD 600/1 amp or to say at least 600 watts rms. It will handle 800 watts just fine all day long. Despite the specs, it craves power.

Pros: *Aesthetics: Looks clean and professional but I find the large brand embroidering a bit conceited. A full mesh grill covering the front would really polish it off. *Sound: Excellent quality with a wide range of music. From Rap to Death Metal, it can go deep and still provide high speed, precision kick drums where many other subs would fall off the scope. * Size: For a ported 12" enclosure, it doesn't take up much room. * Loud: Yes it can and you might as well remove your rear view mirror.

Cons: - No way to lock it down for a hatchback...a simple U-bolt in the back would suffice to provide an anchor point to run a bike lock through it to prevent the enclosure from flailing around if you got into an accident. - Very pricey. There's no real reason to charge this much in comparison since there are similar loaded enclosures, cheaper that would still satisfy average joe. - Great for small cars and hatchbacks.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 23 found this helpful

JL Audio HO112-W6v3

CRUZAN from Toronto Canada on 10/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Sound quality.. Was skeptical but I'm happy. sounds like 2 12's

Pros: Sounds like how a 12 suppose to...

Cons: It's more for clear clean sounds... that's deep bass sound like 15in deep naw not there..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 12 found this helpful

Simply Amazing

Ryan H from Montana on 10/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is wow... I have been searching for a single sub solution that would work well to fill the cab of a Buick Enclave, without sacrificing a lot of cargo space, for some time now, and I think I have finally found my solution. Sure there are other, cheaper ways to have gone about it, but I have not heard anything that comes close to the sound quality of this sub and box combo. Everything I have tried before this either sounded good, but didn't deliver the "punch" I was looking for, or they were very loud, but without much music clarity. This JL W6v3 in its matching H.O. box fulfilled the needs of both sound quality and loudness for my Enclave! I am still surprised every day that something this small produces such hard hitting, clean bass! Also forgot to mention that I have it paired to a JL Slash 600/1v3. Such a perfect fit for the 12W6v3!

Pros: Hard Hitting Clean Sounding

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Whoa

jason from houston on 8/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this paired with a JL Audio JX 500/1D amp in a 2011 Ford Explorer. It hits really hard and clean. I have my bass knob turned up about 1/3 and you can hear me coming from blocks away!!!

Pros: Sound quality Don't need a huge amp (it's wired at 2 ohms)

Cons: It's large but I have plenty of room so no biggie

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

H/O box with HD750 JL

Walshie1 from Sunnyvale on 7/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is loud it hits hard and clean. Deep lows and pushes a Lot of sound. All the sound I need in my c350 Mercedes gonna hav to dynamat the trunk and the doors it hits. Better and lower bass sounds than 12 twelves in my tahoe. Excellent product pair the two and JL does it again. If you want the best go with JL audio

Pros: Wide range of bass hard and deep it's what you want in a subwoofer. Bigger sound out of 12 than I've ever heard.

Cons: Large box but well worth it

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

JL 12W6

Ken from Georgetown, Ky. on 7/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a reasonable price. Well constructed.

Pros: Great low bass with a ported box.

Cons: A little too large.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

TOP