Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JL Audio FiX™ 82

Sound processor for adding amps and speakers to a factory system — 2 outputs

MFR # 98100

JL Audio FiX™ 82

JL Audio FiX™ 82

Sound processor for adding amps and speakers to a factory system — 2 outputs

MFR # 98100

14 reviews
View this product

JL Audio FiX 82

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, TX on 10/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to keep the factory head unit and this was recommended. I cut into the speaker wires coming out of the factory Bose amp ran them all into the FiX. Like magic, it summed all the signals and completely flattened the them. The calibration took less than five minutes.

Pros: Quick and easy

Cons: Price is a bit steep for a one trick pony

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 82

Crutchfield customer from Haworth, OK on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

unit is very compact it will mount virtually anywhere. The connectors that came with it made it a snap to hook up.

Pros: easy to install, very compact

Cons: there is no adjustment unless you buy the remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid black box

Paul from Huntsville, AL on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome "black box" that does exactly what it promises. 10th gen civic Si's will cut the bass pretty drastically, this unit flattens everything out and allows me to keep all the functionality of the factory head unit. It does have a very slight noise floor when using the factory headunit as the main volume control. It's not really an issue though because it's masked as soon as the music starts playing or if you are driving. I would definitely recommend this unit for anyone who is keeping their factory headunit. Note: a black box is a piece of equipment that is set once, installed out of the way and has no user controls unless you use the optional DRC.

Pros: Does exactly what it says it does

Cons: Very slight hiss between tracks when the car is stopped and engine is off.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great so far

Brian from Sacramento, CA on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The TUN is user friendly as long as you have at least basic knowledge of car audio. I used the Advance which is perfect for what I wanted. Because of the unit I was able to run my front components as active and remove the crossover. The highs sound more crisp; whether it is directly related to the TWK or the ability to run active doesn't matter. So far I love it and have a lot more hours of listening and adjusting for ultimate liking to my taste. It will be a lot of time but I am excited about it. Last note: with the use of the TWK and combined with the FIX my sub signal is far better and distortion has decreased significantly compared to the stock signal. The OEM volume will still work and I find myself using both the OEM volume with the TWK volume for desired sound depending on music genre I am listening to. So I can personally say if you have a 09-14 F150 with Sony the FIX TWK combo is a definite.

Pros: User friendly

Cons: Non yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Takes some effort to get great results!

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit to create a flat frequency response signal for an aftermarket subwoofer on my 2014 ctsv Bose factory system. The Bose amplified speaker signals have so much unnatural EQ that I was left with finding a DSP that could sum multiple channels to create a subwoofer signal that at a minimum would span from ~20Hz to ~100Hz and time correct between the various channels. Initial use of the Fix did not work well, the output signal after it's initial calibration was quite poor as there were peaks and valleys in the output response of over 10dB. JL was very responsive when I reached out for their help, I would give their tech support 5 stars. Had to obtain a usb to usba cable to connect my PC to the Fix box (don't buy the expensive JL product, just buy a cable), then had to download and update the firmware for the Fix box, and then had to download and use JL's PC interface TUN2.0 software to do the calibration, once all that was done the unit now works as advertised. In addition to installing the box and feeding it enough channels to give it full range audio signals, plan on spending a few hours doing the above to get desired results. The results were a flat sub signal from 25Hz and up, plus there is an EQ in the software that allows a bit of adjustment. And remember to go into the TUN software preferences to ensure the time correction features are turned on, the software is simple but there are some pages that requires some exploring to find

Pros: It works as advertised

Cons: Requires firmware update and you will need to use the PC tuning software

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Great Integration Product When The Stock Radio Will Be Used

Michael from Houston, TX on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for integrating custom audio with a 2015 Chrysler UConnect stereo. Easy install using using the signal from the front tweeter and midrange speakers to create a flat, full-range 2 channel signal to send to the aftermarket stereo. A JL load sensing adpater was used to keep the factory radio from muting once speakers were disconnected from the stock amp. I added the DRC-100 knob for the optional bluetooth mode that removes the lower frequencies from hands-free calls for better audio quality. Works as advertised and now that a TWK D8 has been added the aftermarket stereo works great and has a lot of tuning capabilities.

Pros: Easy Install and setup procedure, works as advertised.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL FiX is the perfect fix!!!

Daniel B from Landis, NC on 10/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent item! Easy setup, installation, and works great to correct the horrid factory settings.

Pros: Easy to install, setup, and works perfect

Cons: Would say price, but it's definitely worth the cost for retaining your factory head unit, but getting great sound!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 82

Guest from Austin, TX on 9/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not waste your time with this. If you are a true audio fan this will surely disappoint you,as it did with me. Weak bass , I am running an alpine 5 channel amp with a type R ten, Weak Weak!

Pros: none

Cons: weak

Crutchfield response on

5 of 52 found this helpful

Things to consider this is only part of the solution

David C from Vancouver BC on 6/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owning a 2016 ram 3500 I had to take the 8 lines from the stock amp to make it into a single 1 channel analog or digital toslink connection which makes all output flat meaning there is no ability control highs lows front rear sub it's one channel for everything (toslink) those who say it works as is needs to realize it's not working 100% and for those that are frustrated I think they know why? JL will be releasing the TWK in a month or buy a helix dsp 6/8/10 now you will be able to control everything properly Connecting fix 82 to factory amp under the dash then the connect to the DSP for full range not flat then connect output to your 1/500 and 6/150 you would then need a helix 8 extra cost of $600 a lot of time needed but this solution will work for any car/truck I can think of simply cause I have a ram they have everything integrated now into the 8.4u decks it's cheaper then the alpine integration deck of about 15-20 hours labour and cost of about 4K for the actual unit

Pros: Easy install cheap fix compared other methods is small and fit almost anywhere under the dash

Cons: Extra cost of a DSP helix as an example was used 6/8/10 channel whichever you go it will work with this method for all stereo types with the intergration stereo and pre adjusted factory amplifiers

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

Well Worth it!

Adrian G from Union City, CA on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love the sound! Crisp signal going to my Alpine 4 Channel Amp. I installed this along side a 4 Ch Amp, Apline Type S Components and 6x9s. All using the factory head unit. When calibrating, I set my volume at 54 when turned up my amp 1/4.

Pros: Small, Easy to Calibrate. It takes the guess work out of getting a flat signal. There are other signal processors that give you much more control. However, if you are trying to flatten out the signal ensuring clipping doesn't occur.. It can be difficult. The only way to properly do it is with an oscilloscope. This simply takes out the guess work!

Cons: I wish it had gain control.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Does not work with UConnect Chrysler/Jeep/Fiat Radio Systems

Joshua S from Charlotte, NC on 4/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to integrate a JL XD700.5 amp into my 2015 Jeep Renegade. Hooked everything up properly, but could not get unit to calibrate. Unit passes signal through to amp with no problem, but won't calibrate via the FIX82 file provided by JL's website. Jeep Renegade does not have a CD Player. Tried many, many options in the troubleshooting guide. Unfortunately, Crutchfield support was not much help either. Hate to return it, as it seemed the best option for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Huge fail by JL

Fred from Longmont, CO on 4/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2 good to be true always is. This this is far from what JL promised. Stick with Audio Control. Levels are off. Bass output to sub is anemic. It's just bad. Save your money. I am requesting a return. I installed it then thought I should let the pros do it and guess what. Same result. Not sure what these guys were thinking with this thing. Stick to what you know JL. Wasted my time, money with this thing. 200.00 for the installer to try to get it to work gone. I should have just gone with the lci8. Works great in my 14 ram. This thing is garbage.

Pros: Small.

Cons: Sound quality, poor bass response, signal not flat, poor dsp, price and false advertising

Crutchfield response on

6 of 20 found this helpful

Tundra custom audio install

hslshouston from Pearland, TX on 4/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since this is a new product I had a difficult time finding the Fix-82 locally. Crutchfield had it and it completed my custom JL install. System works loud and perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Fantastic OEM integration device!

Jeremy R from Louisiana on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since there are no reviews on this unit yet, I thought I would put in my two cents. I ordered this direct from JL as Crutchfield was out of stock on it. I read really good reviews on the cleansweep and thought I would take a chance on this unit. I installed it in a 2015 Toyota Tundra crewmax. After modifying 2 harness to bypass the factory amplifier, I got all of my leads in order for the front and the rear and screwed them into the phoenix connectors for the front and rear channels. Once I had my HD900/5 installed, I fired up the head unit, flattened out my bass, mid and treble and ran the calibration disc. In less than 20 seconds, it processed the factory sound into a usable signal for my new amplifier. I had some positive and negative leads crossed on my rear channels at first so I heard a "hiss" coming from my speakers. After I corrected the problem on the harness the problem went away and I was blown away by the sound quality. No noise or hiss, just a clean signal. I highly recommend this unit if you're trying to keep your factory stereo in place.

Pros: Sound quality, Easy setup, small footprint, gives you a 12volt remote signal out

Cons: If I can nitpick, the phoenix connector going into the unit could grip the signal leads a little better. Also you have to remote the phoenix connector from the unit to screw in the terminals as the flat head screw holding the signal cable in is on the bottom.

Crutchfield response on

27 of 29 found this helpful

TOP