Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JL Audio TwK™ 88 System Tuning Processor

8-channel digital signal processor

MFR # 98101

JL Audio TwK™ 88 System Tuning Processor

JL Audio TwK™ 88 System Tuning Processor

8-channel digital signal processor

MFR # 98101

15 reviews
View this product

Audiophile Goodness

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my sound system build in my 2016 Honda Accord. This is my first jump into the processor world, and JL Audio has certainly made things as simplified as possible. Using JL's Tun software is relatively simple and straight forward. Getting the unit wired was easy too. Since the processor allows you to run your system "active", and the Tun software features a 10-band parametric EQ and time alignment among other things, there is certainly a vast amount of adjustability featured in this unit. Another plus is it's small footprint, which allowed me to easily conceal the unit in a discrete location behind the dash. Very happy with this product!

Pros: Small footprint, system adjustability, easy-to-use software, top-notch JL tech support, digital and analog inputs and outputs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio TwK 88 System Tuning Processor

Renael from Kingshill, VI on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This processor is amazing. You can hear the improvement in my system immediately. Very easy to install. Easily expands your system capabilities. Took a little more time tweaking the equalizers than expected. But that was based on my speaker locations. The more I play with the software,I learn more and improve my sytem's sound quality. Great product overall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio TwK 88 System Tuning Processor

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There was a bit of a learning curve with the software but once I figured it out I was extremely happy with my purchase! The best feature is the parametric eq.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio TwK 88 System Tuning Processor

george from Bloomingdale, NY on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tool for setting up your vehicle's audio. Very flexible, and enough options to keep one busy for a while. That said, it takes a bit to learn your way around the controls. JL has a handful of videos which are helpful. The software is intuitive, but JL has a few places where one may click, but they aren not marked. Help is online, not in the application. You can easily manipulate every input and output, copy settings between channels, combine inputs, and much more. Equalization may be performed with either a graphic or parametric option. The active eq is very flexible and settings are immediate. Multiple profiles can be saved and activated via pressing the included knob. Finally, the remote has an inner and outer cntrol that can be assigned to a mix of outputs. The software allows saving of profiles and backup functionality to your pc. Great product.

Pros: Super flexibility. Great control.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Quality Product

Michael from Columbia, MD on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This processor- both the hardware and the configuration software- is a quality product. Upgrading my stock system with new speakers, an amp, and additional soundproofing improved the sound but it still wasn't quite right. The TwK is providing ample options to compensate for vehicle acoustics and give me the clean sound I want. I'm still working on it, but I'm pleased with where this is going.

Pros: Excellent software programming environment. Quality product.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

before I installed the TwK 88, I had an Alpine CDE 149BT, an Alpine KTP 445U amp and 6 Alpine speakers (2 tweets in the dash, mids in the front doors 2 ways in the rear doors and a powered sub under the front passengers seat). My truck was originally wired so the tweeters and the front mids were powered from the same circuit. it sounded okay, but I got A LOT of volume from the tweeters (even on the -3dB cross over setting). So I decided to buy a JL AudioXD600/6V2 and the JL Audio TwK 88. I split the tweeters and front door mids into their own channels. All I can say is WOW. The sound quality is miles better even with the same speakers. I am able to adjusted the volume from each speaker and blend everything together. No more overpowering tweeters. the 10 band/8 channel equalizer let me listen to music the way I like it. I could not be happier. the software is intuitive, the wiring is straight forward and I cannot get over the sound quality. My wife helped me with the install and even she commented on the difference.

Pros: the sound quality

Cons: JL Audio provides instruction on how to set up the DSP, but now all the software functions are described. I foresee several calls to JL.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sound are you listening sound

OTIS from Erie, PA on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best DSP ever tweet your sounds to perfection

Pros: Tweaking your system to perfection

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio TwK 88 System Tuning Processor

Josh from Kankakee, IL on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very easy to install and use. Couldn't ask for anything better.

Pros: Quality, ease of install, ease of use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice little unit

David from Butler, IN on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice DSP that has a lot of adjust ability. DSP rating of 5 stars IMO would be next to impossible because none of them are perfect but i would without a doubt put this up against processors that cost more . I went from an Audison Bit One to this and I actually think it was an upgrade according to the RTA it for sure picks up 20 hz better also less noise with other components vs the Audison so no funky grounding techniques required. You can compete with this unit and be competitive

Pros: Tons of adjust ability small size very simple software

Cons: At fist the software seemed complex do not over think installation set up.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio TwK 88 System Tuning Processor

Juan from Flanders, NY on 10/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome product worth every penny amazingly flexible was able to filter all sounds and adjust just right in my system. PS. pushing around 12K rms

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

High quality, great sound - par for the course for JL Audio!

Jim from Bloomfield, CT on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this thing... powerful, well-made, easy to use (slight learning curve with the TuN software) and sounds great. Wish it had a pink noise generator. While using TuN, occasionally the unit disconnects & is not discoverable any longer. At first, I thought it was because the auto-save feature was enabled, but I turned if off & it happened again. The only way to get TuN/TwK talking again is to close the software, power down the unit & reconnect & restart TuN. A little inconvenient, but not a big deal. You can load up to 6 active "projects" - set them up differently (for example, different EQ settings or X-over slopes & you can switch between them to see what sounds ideal in your car. Use this with the wMic i436 microphone for iPad & the Analyzer app, you can set up your EQ for each speaker & really tailor your sound. Once again JL Audio builds a high quality, great sounding product for a really fair price. You can't go wrong with this thing - highly recommended. (JL Audio - fix the disconnect issue - firmware update maybe?

Pros: Easy to use Great build quality; small for easy placement Highly configurable; easy to dial-in the perfect sound to your tastes TuN software has demo mode - practice setting up your system & easy to use, once you're familiar Graphic or parametric EQ Easy to set proper gain (multi voltage settings & visual meters to check for clipping) Remote, configurable controller included Low-ish noise floor, still very quiet BANG FOR BUCK!

Cons: TwK/TuN disconnect from each other while you're setting up/"tweaking" your system SNR could be better; better DACs would help. Then again - that would drive up the price.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

JL Audio TwK 88 System Tuning Processor

Kenny from Lacombe, LA on 11/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Was very easy to set up and gave me enough control to fix the issues I was having.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great for O.C.D.

Dysasterpiece from Milford, CT on 10/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For those of us with O.C.D. The JL audio TwK88 may just be the prescription for your car audio TweaKing. Set ,& forget ! So much control over the audio settings. Program,& save file in presets. Call up your presets at the press of the volume controller supplied with unit. No more fumbling around with head unit controls,menu's, & sub menu's in order to change Sound settings. This unit is very versatile, the level controller also has a second level controller that can be programmed to control level of bass, or what ever you need for level control. In my application, I have this programmed as a 4 way cross-over. I am able to fine tune x-over settings for each speaker.

Pros: Too many to list.

Cons: No cons that apply to my application.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Missing a Key Feature

Kevin from East Syracuse, NY on 8/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The TwK is Awesome. Tun software is easy to use. One issue I have is the TwK cant be switched from Analogue input to Digital Coaxal input without connecting to the Tun software. If you make presets for a particular installation and one preset is set to Analogue input and a different preset is set to Digital input the Twk will stay set at the input setting that was configured for the initial setup. It would be nice to be able to have the ability to switch from Analogue input to digital input using presets and the DRC 200. I talked with JL and they indicated this may be fixed in a future firmware update. The TWK can be updated with a PC to the latest firmware using an Ethernet cable .

Pros: Small footprint. Easy setup. Tun Software very effective.

Cons: The unit cant switch from Analogue input to Digital input using DRC-200.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Go Active!!!

mattwilkes84 from warner robins, GA on 7/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setting up the Twk 88 in the Tun software is super simple... there are 3 levels of tunning, basic, advanced, and expert. I chose advanced for initial setup, and with flat eq on my Pioneer 4200nex and flat eq in the Tun software I actually could leave it as is and enjoy this system tremendously! I will admit, it is cool to pull out your laptop and adjust this thing! I actually purchase a Lenovo Idealpad for $129, just to run this system, it works great btw (i am a mac user so i don't spend much on windows virus). The included DRC-200 remote has an LED to let you know what preset you are currently on. For example, I have a setting with subs off and my 8's in the rear deck crossed-over at a lower frequency for easy listening. I have a setting for just front speakers and sub without rear deck... If you make any serious changes to the configuration with the Tun software while audio is playing it will mute all speakers momentarily and make you un-mute them by clicking a red speaker icon in the Tun Software. I upgraded to JL RCA cables and I am running the12w7 in the ProWedge with the XD1000/1v2. I am running the ZR650 components in front, and ZR800 in rear with a XD800/8. the Front speakers/tweeters are bi-amped with first 4 channels, and the ZR800's are each using 2 channels bridged...

Pros: excellent sound quality, cool factor, Ultimate control, easy to toggle presets

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

26 of 28 found this helpful

TOP