Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JL Audio FiX™ 86

Sound processor for adding amps and speakers to a factory system — 6 outputs

MFR # 98103

JL Audio FiX™ 86

JL Audio FiX™ 86

Sound processor for adding amps and speakers to a factory system — 6 outputs

MFR # 98103

29 reviews
View this product

FIX Overview

Manuel from Hollister, CA on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product clean output from the factory head unit. Onlydrawback is you are forced to use a DRC controller. Call me oldfashioned but one volume control is plenty. Would recommend this product.

Pros: Clean signals

Cons: Pricey and need a DRC controller

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didn't come with all the parts. I am still trying to get them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/24/2019
Our Customer Support specialist, Case, reached out to this customer for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

No worries

Crutchfield customer from Wildomar, CA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am giving this five stars because of the no stress, fear in buying. For some reason the set up didn't work well but it was not a problem to return it. Installer got help from tech and I got two follow up calls to make sure all was ok. It was. I think a lot of times big companies get swamped and lose the customer in the process but if they are organized and on it... they keep a customer for life.

Pros: Option for my set up

Cons: Didn't work for my set up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It a great piece but the only problem I have, it that it doesn't turn on by sensing speaker voltage. I have to use a remote wire to turn it on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Eric Marquez from Aurora, IL on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best DSP on the market! Such a difference when its put on and the Tun software works wonders! Calibration is literally done in secs! This made the system come together!

Pros: Everything you need and want from a Dsp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product, but not right for me

Hunter from Jacksonville, FL on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this product because the sound coming from my 2016 Honda Civic LX stock radio had harsh tinny highs that were fatiguing to listen to (1khz and higher) with the Morel Tempo 605 component speakers that I installed. Unfortunately even with this awesome unit the sound couldn't be fixed. I tried tuning it in the PC software for 2+ hours with no satisfying result. It helped a lot but didn't really fix the issue. This unit does an amazing job of restoring mids and allowing you to have extensive control over the volume in various ranges, especially lows. It also does a great job of summing to give amplifiers a clean signal. Despite returning this unit, I would still highly recommend it for head units that sound good but just need some level tweaking that the head unit cannot provide. But if your sound quality is low or distorted coming from the unit, I don't feel that this can fix it.

Pros: Great product and software

Cons: Doesn't remove harsh tinny highs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Inferior Product

Guest from Ilm,NC on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very bad product. Went out twice on me in two years. Had to remove it. Wasted $

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome device to integrate new speakers and amps with OEM HU!

Louis from Riverside, CA on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome device, and essential if you have a new car with a highly integrated HU that isn't replaceable, but still want to add speakers and amps. Installation was simple, calibration was a breeze, and you can see the magic done by this device if you hook a laptop up using the USB port on the device. Jl Audio's Tun software shows you the signals it receives, and the signals it puts out, and it is quite impressive. The flat signal that is now going to my amps is far superior to the unprocessed signal, but I am not quite satisfied yet, and plan on integrating the TWK 88 next for granular control of my car's stereo.

Pros: Simple installation Easy calibration TUN software to visualize the magic

Cons: The summing and flattening of the inputs leaves little processing power for any meaningful additional adjustments. But how much can you ask from a single device?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Maestro from Peoria, IL on 7/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product worked fantastic for my Honda Accord factory unit. I upgraded all the speakers and added a small Pioneer amp and the JL audio fix 86. Once I disconnected the ANC from the factory unit.. the sound was fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Willie Merritt from Fairless Hls, PA on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL truly delivered on this product I have a 2018 Alfa Romeo stelvio it works perfect thanks again Crutchfield for helping me out

Pros: Work perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

kevin from Trenton, MI on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what they advertise. Every time you calibrate you will get a different eq curve. Not a whole lot you can do with it after that. you can set crossover points, but not roll-off slopes. I could not get the signal sense or the dc offset setting to work, so I'm without warning chimes if the vehicle is off. The EQ shows promise, but you only get one setting, you can't have several presets and select between them. Definitely get the DRC knob, as the calibration eq seems to stop working if the input is too low. It'll gets me by for now, but I will upgrade to something else in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Michael from Sewell, NJ on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the audio control lcq before this and let me tell you, night and day difference. Sound quality is so much better and cleaner coming from the jl fix. Also no more annoying hsss from my speakers thag the lcq put out. Another great jl product.

Pros: Great tuning capability. Solid clean sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fail on 2016 mustang with shaker audio

Adam from Kernersville, NC on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked but never could get left side of car balanced with right side. Right side always louder no matter what was done. Hours on phone with crutchfield.

Pros: Easy to connect. One button auto equalization button.

Cons: Without an external knob the jl didnt equalize and flatten signal unless radio almost full volume. Never could get left side to equalize out. Right side always louder. Lc7i does better job at fraction of cost but subs sounded better on the dsp.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

John from Worcester, MA on 1/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is another solid product from JL Audio. It's installed in my Ford F-150 XL with the integrated sync radio and feeding a JL Audio Twk 88 DSP. Before the Fix I had all kinds of issues trying to get a multitude of different subwoofers, both sealed and ported to sound right. I had a PAC LOC interfacing between the factory radio and TwK before. The fix 86 has solved my phase and low frequency woes finally and given me a flat clean signal for my TwK to use. It was also a snap to set up and easy to calibrate. For the best results you will want to use the seperate and not included volume know for this radio anyway as the Fix does not compensate for changing FR when adjusting the factory radio. Also why no usb cable for the tun software included. I had to use the one from my TwK to use the tune 2.0 software, JL cheapened out there. I verified my findings with REW and a Mini usb microphone.

Pros: It's simple to set up and actually works very well flattening the frequency response. It's has basic 10 band graphic EQ for each channel. It makes the sub sound much better.

Cons: It doesn't compensate for FR while adjusting the factory radio volume so you will need the seperate volume knob. It doesn't come with the usb cable to hook up to your laptop and so you can't use tune 2.0 without this. It's made in China. No digital output like the Fix 82.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Shawn from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great source for signal clarity

Pros: Great tune ability

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Crutchfield customer from Charleston Afb, SC on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does the job but has a known problem with static coming through with the volume muted. The tun program is great though.

Pros: Small, easy to instal,l and program.

Cons: Static noise

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing difference, fixed major issues in factory deck.

Wes from Escondido, CA on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Honda 2017-2018 Ridgeline has excessive modification to the audio response curves on the stock deck (I have the RTL-T) in an attempt to make the stock speakers sound ok. Once I replaced them, the sound was not right, very fatugueing, harsh in some frequency's, and not pleasant, even after disabling ANC. No adjustment of the stereo controls made it better. The Fix 86 corrected this and made the sound so clean and enjoyable, it fixed dropp offs and expanded bass response where it fell off even with an aftermarket sub and amp. It's really a day and night difference! I can still fade, adjust Sub, and full volume control from the deck or steering wheel. The hardest part of installing this is just connecting the speaker outputs of the stock radio, its setup could not be easier. No noise at all, sounds just like a high quality deck with low level RCA outputs, but from the stock stereo. I highly recommend this to anyone with an integrated deck that was factory tweaked to make $5 speakers sound better, what were they thinking?

Pros: Easy setup, effective at fixing major sound issues, customizable 10 band EQ per channel by computer.

Cons: No manual tunning controls, other then EQ, JL sells another DSP if you need those functions. This just fixes all the problems the factory deck caused.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Doesn't work with Toyota Tacoma factory JBL

HR from Seattle, WA on 8/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for a 2016 Toyota Tacoma with the factory JBL system. The short story is, unless I turn the volume up at least half way, the FiX86 won't send a signal to my amp and I don't get any sound. When it does, it's LOUD and sounds pretty good. Ultimately according to the LED's on the FiX86 I can't get it to see a signal and turn on at reasonable volumes. When it works it's awesome but for 95% of my listening it keeps cutting out. My theory is the FiX86 doesn't present enough of a load for the factory amp to send power. I tried the FIX-SLA-4 and it didn't make a noticeable difference. I tried the support number at JL Audio and all I got was shrugs.

Pros: The addition of the TuN software is awesome. A 8 input auto-tuning DSP plus a 10 band EQ.

Cons: Doesn't work for my setup. Also noticed that every time I have it re calibrate I get slightly different EQ curves. I let too much time pass between purchase and install so I can't return.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 14 found this helpful

Great for keeping factory radio

Bryce from USA on 7/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this to interface with my factory radio and correct the bass roll off. Works perfectly.

Pros: Easy to install. Has remote turn on for amps. Outputs flat eq. Small form factor.

Cons: Wish it came with the remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for 2015 RAM Express

Matt from Rochester Hills, MI on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't even bother upgrading speakers and amps before adding one of these... This thing is great. Super easy to install. I used this in a 2015 RAM 1500 Express, with the base 6-speaker system. Since I didn't have a CD player, I ripped the calibration tracks onto a usb drive in order to play. Calibration took 15 seconds with a one click button. The results are night and day. So much more impact and clarity. Used rear speakers for inputs 1/2 and 5/6 for fronts. The FIX automatically blends all signals together for full-range sound. Originally I added new speakers and an amp to my stock unit. Sound was OK. Over time I started to notice muddy sounds and fizz noises. Once I added this processor, the sound is incredible. Really makes aftermarket speakers come to life. This processor sends signal to my amps for clean amplification. and an FYI I did not need the load sensing adapter for the muting behavior. (sold separately) You have to be careful with the RAM trucks. The front door and dash speakers are wired in parallel. Doors are 4 Ohm and dash are 8 ohm. If you upgrade the dash speakers to 4 OHM (most aftermarket 3.5's), the loads will not be balanced. For my front dash speakers, I added bass blockers to reduce the impedance value, it doesn't equate to a perfect 4 ohms, but its enough so that it doesn't effect my stock head unit or amplifier. The processor also improves the front stage sound and clarity. The highs are balanced with the rest of the mid and low

Pros: Easy to install. Fast setup/calibration...one click and you're done. Shows clipping/distortion indicator if you turn the radio up. With the FIX my system puts out 'louder music' ..even when my amp gains and EQ are all the way to zero

Cons: The terminals are small but manageable to work with. Difficult to find matching AMP Wiring kit with a 1A fuse and 12G wiring. (I used 10G Rockford with a 25A fuse)

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

joshua a from Conway, AR on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing what this piece of equipment can do. If you are keeping your factory head unit this is the way to go.

Pros: Amazing sound that this little box generates. I didn't think the sound could get any better and then I hooked my laptop to it and used the tuning software....Unbelievable... no way you could buy an aftermarket head unit that could do this!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Overpriced for what it is.

Victor from MD on 3/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can see the point of this if you want no customization or are happy with a generic boost in sound, but for the price I wasn't impressed. You plug it in and run the config and that's it, whatever the result is what you get. Another issue is that you really do need the DRC controller in order to utilize the benefits of this unit. The unit requires you set your volume to a specific volume, leave it there, tune it and then use the DRC controller to control the radios volume. This pretty much renders your radio volume knob and your steering whee controls obsolete. I had some factory processing noise coming from the head unit caused by the active noise cancellation and I thought this unit would correct that, but it did not. I ended up returning this and am looking to purchase and actual DSP

Pros: Plug and play for generic sound quality increase

Cons: No customization Requires controller for volume adjustment Overpriced

Crutchfield response on

11 of 19 found this helpful

Decent, but not perfect.

Brian from Austin, TX on 12/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does a decent job, except for two issues. First, problems in the lowest frequencies. I ran my subwoofer through the processor and lost a considerable amount of smoothness in the 20-500 Hz range.. Second, there are several songs that you can hear the processor having trouble figuring out what volume to set various frequencies, so you end up hearing an occasional overtone or jump in sound on certain frequencies. All in all, not a bad product, and Far Superior to the LCx Series analog processors.

Pros: Great value crisp tones across the spectrum

Cons: Difficult install substandard frequencies in the sub-woofer range sound clipping every so often

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great customer service

Michael from Southern California on 12/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The original never turned on. Crutchfield's customer service was outstanding. I called them and instantly knew the man behind the phone could help. 5 stars for that. Product does help. It flattened all the audio. Sounds better, but does need either the twk or some other form of EQ. All in all it helps retain the stock stereo. I'm satisfied with the purchase. Thank you very much Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Wonderful sound, and easy to install.

Ronnie from Flowood, MS on 12/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have for any factory head unit when adding amplifiers. You don't realize how bad your factory head unit sound is until after you have this installed. My car audio shop said this was so easy to install and tune, and the sound was so good, they are now looking at bringing this into their inventory.

Pros: Wonderful sound Easy to install Not to expensive

Cons: DRC-200 not included

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge FL on 10/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Simple to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

undertow from Davis, CA on 10/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

my car radio doesnt play cd's how am I going to use this thing?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 36 found this helpful

JL Audio FiX 86

eric from LA on 9/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fix is a must if you want to integrate the ford/sony factory system, it was an easy installation and tune. Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Totally changed the sound!

Mike from Reno, NV on 9/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product! Installed on in my Ford Raptor and was just what I needed to run my 6 channel amp! Totally changed the sound..very happy.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP