Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio DRC-205

Digital remote control — works with select JL Audio amps and processors

MFR # 98128

JL Audio DRC-205

JL Audio DRC-205

Digital remote control — works with select JL Audio amps and processors

MFR # 98128

15 reviews
View this product

Kinda chintzy for what it costs.

Crutchfield customer from Grandville, MI on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace the DRC-200 knob that came with my TWK-88 processor. That quit working after 6 months and JL Audio refused to warranty it because I installed it myself. The DRC-205 looks cool in the pictures but once you see it in person it's kinda chintzy for what it costs. The knobs are understandably plastic and look every bit of it. The rubber trim pieces around the knobs aren't bonded in any way to the knob so they kinda slide around and change positions. Best way to sum it up is it just looks and feels low budget. I only hope it holds up long term.

Pros: Lights change to display selected DSP modes.

Cons: Plasticky feel, rubber trim slides freely around the knob.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wokrks great worh Fix-86

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Installed on a Fix-86. Works great. As described.

Pros: Works as described.

Cons: Would be nice to have had just a slight amount more of resistance from the knobs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outer dial broken out of box

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outer knob kept coming loose. I had to glue it. I expect more from JL. Other than that, it works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I expect better from JL Audio

Brian from SPRING HILL, KS on 8/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So first of all, to be fair, this knob does work as advertised. It lets you control two different levels or let you set up a fader (configurable via JL's TuN app), and cycle between pre-configured presets. My issue with it is it just doesn't live up to what I expect from JL Audio as far as looks and usability. The knobs are plastic (and look it). With a rubber ring around each one (which does tend to slide around, up or down, on the plastic). This might be fixed by gluing them to the knob, but I don't feel like I should have to do that. I'm not really a fan of the chrome look on the knobs. Might consider painting them a flat or satin black. The preset indicator LED has a nice subtle glow. My biggest gripe is that the knobs turn way too easy. While driving down the road and reaching for one to make a small adjustment, I find myself turning one or the other (especially the big outside one) accidentally, sometimes by a fair bit. As far as install goes, the base of the knob is pretty compact and I was able to fit it under a trim panel for my application. Not sure why the connector box needs to be so big, I actually had trouble tucking that in to my center console. However the flat cable for the run to the amp was a nice touch for running under carpet. If the knobs were an anodized aluminum and knurled, and not so easy to turn, I'd probably be thrilled with this thing, and be happy with the price tag. As it is, overpriced and underwhelming.

Pros: Lets me adjust level on two separate completely configurable outputs, and lets you cycle through presets in your DSP/amp.

Cons: Knobs feel and look cheap. Rubber ring slides around on them. Knobs turn WAY too easy.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i like jl audio stuff , but this knob is plastic . i thought it was billet . it needs to be glued on to stay

Pros: it does what it is supposed to do

Cons: low quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Waste of time and money

Chris from CARSON CITY, NV on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This should have been included with my amp but...I bought this then sent it back. It's cheaply made and the instructions are poorly written and incomplete. Used in conjunction with TuN software, it allows you to use different presets for the VXi amps. However, it turns into a big hassle developing presets on a computer or ipad, assigning the colors for each preset, remembering and cycling through them with this magic button, and overall managing the presets on the software. Way easier to just use an iPad to manage the amp through the VXi-BTC bluetooth connector. The LED lights are very sexy but the cyan and white look the same to me. The rubber rings on the edge of each dial need to be glued on as well. Overall, this is a $20 part that retails for this much and should have been included with the VXi amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great asset to VX Amps technology

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Crutchfield customer from Passaic, NJ on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best easy to use and it helps with the control of the vx 1000 amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great accessory

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The function is great, works just as expected. It was easy to install. I'm a little disappointed in the quality control. Upon opening, the chromed plastic fell off of the translucent plastic that makes up the removable knob. Also, both rubber grips came off. On all of the separated pieces, there was glue residue, so it would seem JL just used bad glue. I was surprised that for the cost of the product that I had to fix out of the box. Super glue worked fine to fix, just shouldn't have to. I'm sure Crutchfield would have made it right, but had to finish the install.

Pros: Great fit/finish. Almost required accessory.

Cons: Quality control is lacking.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Crutchfield customer from Waianae, HI on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to do!

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Crutchfield customer from Elverta, CA on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of those items I had to add to my DSP. Like that the led selection light is integrated into the knob.

Pros: Good looking knob. Program selection light is integrated.

Cons: Price is hi for a plastic knob.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield, IL on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great quality product and does everything JL says it will do! The only con is the price! I think the price should be cut in half.

Pros: Functionality

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great control

Crutchfield customer from Lynwood, CA on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for the fix 86, you cant program the controller for presets with the 86 but the two volume functions sub and highs works what I really only needed it for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio DRC-205

Bo from San Antonio, TX on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio has done it again! This product works great with my 800/8 vxi to select my DSP presets. I thought I was going to need a 2nd bass knob but this takes care of presets and the bass on my separate mono amp. Crutchfield support has been awesome. This has been on back order for months and they kept me up to date every time I reached out to them. Thanks Crutchfield!!

Pros: Multi function to control presets on vxi amp, ability to control volume on separate amp.

Cons: I wish JL Audio would have had this available when they released their vxi amps. Other than that, nothing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

DRC-205 is a "Must Buy"

Michael from Huntersville, NC on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a MUST for JL Audio VXi amp owners. Unlike the Bluetooth add-on, the DRC-205 allows you the ability to toggle through presets you've configured and saved in the amp. It displays the profile color you've chosen when configuring your profile settings in JLAudio's TUN app. The dual knobs are configurable and are an improvement over the DRC-200. Crutchfield's service was above par, as usual. In fact, they were one of the few that actually had this product available, as it's been hard to find these devices anywhere.

Pros: Simple setup, and easy to use. Colored LED backlighting provides a subtle visual cue to let you know which settings profile is active.

Cons: Knobs seemed a little flimsy at first, but after a proper install, using the supplied ring spacers, the con was nearly completely diminished.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP