Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio MX280/4

Compact marine/powersports 4-channel amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98405

JL Audio MX280/4

JL Audio MX280/4

Compact marine/powersports 4-channel amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98405

20 reviews
View this product

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of these in my boat and one of them powers my 8.8 inch tower speakers and they sound amazing.

Pros: I highly recommend these amps.

Cons: speechless

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, OH on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Parkersburg, WV on 6/30/2020

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Single-ended wiring makes for a clean install. Awesome power!

Pros: Great amp all around!

Cons: Unnecessary oversized power wire recommended for average install unless you plan on maxing it out at 2ohm with a really long run.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome amp. Fits my TJ perfectly.

Nathan from JOSHUA, TX on 4/16/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact amp. Lots of output and as usual of JL exceeds it's specifications. Only oddity is you have to take a 8 guage power lead to it. It has 10guage. Not alot of ways to go from 10awg to 8awg.

Pros: Awesome clean powerful amp.

Cons: JL really should put 8ga power leads on this. Going 8 to 10 guage is hard.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Carlisle, KY on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent waterproofing. Sound quality driving two JL Audio 7.7's was not as clean as I would have hoped for. I also thought the wiring schematic was slightly confusing.

Pros: Waterproof

Cons: Lack of high quality sound driving 7.7 JL Audio speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

RICKEY from Georgetown, TX on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THIS LITTLE AMP REALLY PUTS OUT THE POWER, AT A LOWER CURRENT DRAW.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Guest from Dyersburg, TN on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice amp. Lots of functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Todd from Anaheim, CA on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very, very nice amps. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Two thumbs up

Crutchfield customer from Douglasville, GA on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL haa great products

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 9/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound...

Pros: clarity, power, great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great sound. Hooked up to 4 JL Audio Speakers. Just wow

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Ed from Jacksonville, FL on 5/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great compact amp for standard 4 speaker boat unit and simple to install for a DIY person!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from New Port Richey, FL on 11/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding amp! Sound quality is perfect,power is good and size is perfectly small.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful Amp.

Jose Javier from Miami, Fla on 10/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente Amp. It's more powerful than advertise. I would highly Recomend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NOT TYPICAL JL AUDIO QUALITY.

Crutchfield customer from Sterling, IL on 10/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amp to use in my Polaris slingshot for speaker upgrade with use of stock radio head And love JL products and have several amps in boats etc.The sound quality was very poor and lots of noise generated hiss etc . Bass and mids almost non existent. Sounded as if polarity was reversed on speakers if you are familiar with how that sounds. The speakers were 6.5 JL and then tried the polks out of my boat and Finally tried Hertz. Same Issue. After talking to a friend that is a dealer out of state he said his shop feels that this amp was sourced in to compete in the small D class amp market and It Is NOT TYPICAL OF JL QUALITY. Upon his recommendation purchased a Rockford Fosgate TM400X4ad that he now uses in all powersport or Harleys. Wow much cleaner sound and base and built in fans. Yes more money but hated sound with that JL amp. Don't know what is different but hated the sound quality of that amp in my application. I'm returning this. I would definitely buy from Crutchfield again and also JL audio but not this model.

Pros: compact size ease of installation

Cons: poor sound quality and noise in my Polaris slingshot

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great sounding amp but one big problem

Andre from Buffalo Ny on 9/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp for 2014 Kawasaki vaquero fits great under motorcycle faring and sounds great with the Polk audio 5 1/4 waterproof speakers only one big problem does not work in colder temperatures 50 to 60 degrees the amp does not come on until it warms up maybe 20 or 30 mins by then I have arrived at my destination

Pros: Sounds good great size fits almost anywhere price is good

Cons: Does not work in colder temperatures

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Guest from Cape Coral, FL on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power in a compact size Using it as a 3 channel to drive JL c2 6x9 and a 6.5 jl microsub in a 2017 f150 Only thing I didn't expect or like is that this amp has signal sensing So the amp powers on as soon as I open the door as ford uses the speaker for door chimes No place does jl audio say it does this but I can tell you it powers on with out the remote wire and there is no way to defeat it on the amp Email to JL confirmed this feature is on the amp and not published I would have gone with another amp had I known this

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio MX280/4

Crutchfield customer from Waterloo ia on 5/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall excellent product and great company to purchase from very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP