Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
453 071 641 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
453 071 641 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio XD400/4v2

4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98602

JL Audio XD400/4v2

JL Audio XD400/4v2

4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98602

19 reviews
View this product

Great!

kevin from Alpharetta, GA on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a bit to write a review for this because I really wanted to work it hard on a long trip. I recently took a trip from atlanta to jacksonville and this amp pumped hard the whole way! Totally worth the extra little money. I recently had another amp in my last vehicle that made all kinds of noises and would overheat if turned up too loud for too long. Not this amp!!!

Pros: Great Endurance

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JLAudio:XD400/4V2 amp., JLAudio: C525x speakers

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been an audiophile for forty years. I never gave much attention to auto stereo, simply because it was to boomy. The highs were to bright the mids not detailed enough and the lows distorted. One would ended up with listening fatigue. Well looks like technology has come a long way the results of my: JL Audio XD 400/4V2 amp in conjunction: with the: JL Audio C525 x Evolution speakers have done just the opposite. For what it is, naturally it's not to the degree of home audio but the sound is musical and inviting. Height are natural mids are detailed and the lows a tight. I will be shortly upgrading to a new CD player (Pioneer Stage4 DEX P99 RS) and expect to achieve a more 3 dimensional image

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Verry happy with my purchase and promp delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I love this amp.

Justin from Niceville, FL on 1/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As stated in the title, I love this amp. I have owned it for three years now and I can't believe the amount of abuse it has taken without a hitch. I've had it installed in three different vehicles now, all with different sound systems. Absolutely amazed with the amount of power this can kick out from such a small package. Easy to install, easy to tune, easy to hide, I just can't think of anything wrong with it. I can't recommend this enough.

Pros: - Stays cool. - Easy to hide due to small footprint. - Sounds great. - Hardy, has taken quite a beating over three years with no issues.

Cons: - Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Gerald from Mays Landing, NJ on 10/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This small amp is a powerful enough to power 4 component speakers with 75 watts RMS per channel with clear sounding music. I don't have a need for anything more than this little bad boy puts out!

Pros: Small size and clean high power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Daniel from Austin, TX on 5/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good in tight spaces. Quality is always what you expect from JL

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Crutchfield customer from Hercules, CA on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch JL audio love your products.??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Jason from Jackson, MI on 5/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. It's only been installed for a week but it works very well. I previously had the 300/4 which dropped the right rear channel. I had it repaired by the factory and it lasted a couple of years and dropped that channel again and took the speaker with it. I'm hoping the XF400/4v2 holds up better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Richard from Silverton, OR on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this amp! It is half the size of most that put out the same amount of power & draws less on your battery. The sound is clean and the range is fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio XD400/4v2

Steven from Roseville, CA on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had one of these on my Harley Davidson very small compact with a lot of power. Sounds really good. So I purchased a second one for my Harley Davidson say motorcycle so I have two of these jail audio 400 W four channel amplifier's parents six JBL marine speakers on my Harley Davidson.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Incredible Performance and Quality

Crutchfield customer from North Aurora, IL on 1/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These amps with new technology are impressive, gone are the days you need a 3 foot long amp to get power and quality. I've owned Alipne, Kicker, MTX, Rockford, PPI, Soundstream, ADS, Hifonics, Pioneer, acoustic, Sony, Profile, amps and I keep going back to JL Audio. I'm hooked for life, just can't beat them.

Pros: incredibly small footprint, amazing sound quality

Cons: made in china

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Costly but worth it!

Mar from San Francisco CA on 4/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I initially had a 4 channel Pioneer amp which I was told would be sufficient to run my Alpine component speakers and Pioneer head unit. I would say for awhile it ran fine but I began to notice some issues with it. I heard static/buzzing noise coming from the tweeter and the sound kept fading from right to left. I eventually brought to the place I had the amp and speakers installed and he told me that the amp was under powered. I still don't know why he didn't tell me when he installed it originally. He recommended I get the JL Audio XD400/4v2 amp. The sound sounds cleaner and tighter. The installer told me not to underestimate the amp. The worse that could happen is that I blow out my components before the amp.

Pros: Cleaner and tighter sound for such a small amp. It's JL..enough said

Cons: Costly but worth it

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Amp

Bill from san jose, CA on 2/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade the stock stereo in my 2008 Lexus. I started with a Kenwood head unit, which improved the functionality (Bluetooth, phone, UBS, etc) but the sound wasn't much better. I installed Focal 165 front speakers running off the Kenwood head unit amp. The sound was worse than it was with the factory speakers! The speakers distorted and crackled, even at low volume. I assumed that the speakers were faulty. However, my local installer said the Kenwood amp was not adequate to provide a clean signal to the Focal speakers. He recommended this amp. He was right! The Focal speakers superb, driven to perfection by this amp. In addition, I installed a subwoofer. It's also powered by this amp, and sounds great. My message to unsophisticated buyers (like me) is to forget about powering good speakers with a head unit amp. Invest in a high quality, high power amp like this one, and you'll enjoy a great sound system.

Pros: A perfect match for high quality speakers, and subwoofer.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Big Power, Small Size

John from Simi Valley, Ca on 12/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is my second JL amp in this model, it's silent, pumps out crazy power and never gets too hot! I would definitely buy this amp again!

Pros: Small size, runs at a cool temperature, amazing power output, and no bright unnecessary lighting

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

jl audio xd400/4v2

Mike from Roseville,MI on 12/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my very first amplifier from jl audio and very much impressed with the clean sound and quality from this company. The highs,mids and lows come thru flawlessly. It is hooked up to the pioneer deh-x9600bhs head unit along with the pioneer ts-d6802 in the front doors along with the alpine type-r 68 speakers in the rear deck of a1999 ford crown victoria (non-police package). Knowing how clear/clean the sound quality is it is a very powerful amplifier and would highly recommend this amplifier to anyone

Pros: Powerful clean and clear sound quality

Cons: None what so ever

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Pppow, power for Thumping Base and Silky-clear Highs

Doug from Oregon on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power to round out even the most dynamic of passages delivering thumping base and silky highs while quiet with low signal to noise ratio and almost no detectable distortion. This Class D amplifier sips power & won't leave you drained and stranded while parked and cranked! I'm not disappointed and you won't be too.

Pros: Powerful, quiet, compact, wide dynamic range and doesn't throw a lot of heat.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Amazing Compact Amp

Joe from Augusta, GA on 5/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is very compact and packs quite a punch! I am driving four JL C2-650's, components up front and coaxials in the rear doors. I am using a JL 500/1 driving a Stealthbox and it all ties together perfectly. My stereo will ruin your hearing now with amazing clarity. I strongly recommend this amp!

Pros: Compact, powerful, well made, distortion free

Cons: None really other than the price being slightly high but you get what you pay for...

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Very nice, well-controlled sound

Chris B. from Texas on 3/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp rocks. I've always swapped out factory speakers, but never installed an aftermarket amp. That approach didn't work too well in my new Accord. So, I bought an Alpine MRV-F300, which had a nice price, but pretty awful sound, at least to me. I wanted something that was more musical. And because I'd already run an 8-gauge power cable for the Alpine, I wanted something that would work with that, so I returned the Alpine and got this. In the end, this JL amp is fed through an AudioControl LC6i and is driving four Alpine SPS-610 coaxials. The sound is really good, though I will eventually upgrade the speakers to something more worthy of this amp.

Pros: surprisingly musical, compact and can run off smaller power cable

Cons: pricey to me

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing amp

Crutchfield customer from Upland, ca on 5/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is an amazing amp for it's size. I used it to power my sub and two tail gate speakers for tail gating and is perfect.

Pros: Size vs power ratio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

TOP