Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio RD500/1

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # 98618

JL Audio RD500/1

JL Audio RD500/1

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # 98618

35 reviews
View this product

Should have listened to my gut...Buy New

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This should be 5 stars...I know this is a great amp however non were in stock...still aren't as of this review. Covid? I learned but wasn't too excited when I discovered an 'opened box' special for 20 bucks off I think, so I reluctantly bought it. After running all the new cabling and metering it to verify all was good I began the hookup at the battery when "poof" both fuses gave up the ghost. I triple checked everything again this time I metered the "new but opened box" amp and found a dead short between the plus and minus on the 12vdc input. Crutchfield was more than awesome in understanding the issue and emailed me a prepaid postage bar code for UPS to scan. They offered a similar amp as a replacement...as of right now I opted to wait on JL to complete some more RD500's. When it ships new fuses will be included...then I will review again and most likely give it the 5 stars it deserves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Downey, CA on 8/28/2020

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't install yet as the order incomplete till September

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 8/26/2020

2009 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio quality at a great price. The fit and finish is perfect. The power is clean and plentiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Scotts Valley, CA on 8/24/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice construction and aesthetics. Fit easily under the front seat. I used 4ga pwr/gnd and had no issue with 10ga to the sub box. No drama setup, the gain light makes life easy. I did need to cut my front speaker wires and re-splice due to the gain setting procedure. Didn't want to blow them. Would be easier to disconnect and do the setup if all speakers were amplified. Powers a Kicker TRTP12 box well enough to get my non-deadened car rattling like crazy. I think the RBC-1 bass level remote is a necessary add-on as bass varies so much between songs and media sources.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/7/2020

2018 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp goes perfect with my JL 12 now it sounds way better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

So close to perfect

Paul from DEDEDO, GU on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good: Super clean power and zero distortion. I'm running it with a single 10w3 at 2Ohms in a custom sealed enclosure. It hits perfectly hard for my coupe. I had to turn the gain down a bit. The overload indicator is very helpful for setting the gain on the amp without using a scope. Could be better: The only thing that would make this Amp perfect is if the built in LP filter had an option to be defeated. I'm using a DSP with a finer control over filtering so the amp's built in LP is redundant. But don't let it stop you. Get this amp and get the remote gain control knob as well. I didn't think I would need it but I actually use it regularly depending on the music I am playing.

Pros: Clipping indicator

Cons: Built in filter cannot be defeated.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect buy

Lance from Fountain, CO on 7/14/2020

2009 Pontiac G8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great powerful amp. Can easily push my 12TW1. And as always outstanding shopping experience.

Pros: Powerful Compact Design Easy to setup Perfect Bass Control

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

10/10

Crutchfield customer from Delavan, WI on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact design, I attached it to the sub since it was such a tiny package. #Phrasing Very powerful and even at full power it is so efficient with power it doesn't dim anything electrical in the car. I did side by side with an older 500w and there's no comparison, this model will make your sub sing without distortion, without feedback from the car. It does it's job and it does it extremely well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Amp!

RYAN from BALDWIN PARK, CA on 6/21/2020

2004 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this with the help of an associate from Crutchfield. Using it to power my JL Audio W6V2. Both go hand in hand! Sounds great!

Pros: Worth the money!

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Woodhaven, NY on 5/19/2020

2007 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 5/14/2020

2020 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One the best amps I have ever owned!!! Just cant say enough about the clean power I get from this amp!!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 5/3/2020

1995 Chevrolet Caprice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clean sound. paired with a 10" JL subwoofer inside my jeep. sounds great, loving it thus far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Dracut, MA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match for my JL sub, quality product, easy, convenient set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

It's great

Crutchfield customer from Quebeck, TN on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this with the JL Audio 8" sub and boy do they sound incredible. The amp is super compact, fit under the passenger seat of my 2 Door Wrangler, stays cool and does an amazing job driving my sub.

Pros: It's great

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great with nice features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Big Power, Small Size

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Earlier this year I added bass to my daughter's IS250 and I selected this amp to power the 12. Now that I am redoing my own system I have once again chosen this amp to power my sub. It has plenty of power and a small footprint. The built-in crossover has the range that I want and I have added the optional remote bass control to both systems for adjustability on the go. Next for me is fabrication for my highs and a 4 channel JL RD400 to run them.

Pros: powerful, small, crossover, ample sized connections

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for a JL W6 10'

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 5/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp. Purchased this one because my 13 year old slash 500/1 decided to stop working properly. Small size,nice looking, nice power makes clean sound. It's pushing a 10' w6 pro wedge nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Nick from Missouri City, TX on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp rocks! More than enough power to power my 2 JL 12TW3's. The price point is incredible for the JL quality . The clip indicator helps and is easy to set.

Pros: Power, price, looks, clip indicator

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, KS on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is amazing. Great power and sound for it being a 500. Im powering a JL 10 w6 and it makes it thump hard with the knob only at 1/2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Newark, OH on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have not had a chance to get this beautiful amp installed yet...work too much! The purchase was easy and the delivery was super simple! I have also purchased the RC-b1 bass remote. once I get everything installed I will circle back with an update

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

10/10 will buy again

Crutchfield customer from Baltic, SD on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing quality, very crisp sound from the single 10" sub In my crew can. Definitely buying the RD1000 for my other set up.

Pros: Sleek design, easy install, easy customer service, fast shipping.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp

Mike from Canyon Country, CA on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this amp with a stealth box like some other people have done and I am blown away by the sound it sounds perfect pushing one 10 shallow mount and it hits hard I'm very pleased

Pros: Awesome performance decent price and the jl warranty plus it's not big in size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from Battle Creek, MI on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great AMP can't beat JL Audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Jeremiah from Las Vegas, NV on 5/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect with my Jl 10" shallow sunwoofer.

Pros: User freindly, easy to mount and wire up, doesn't get hot

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Chad from Dalhart, TX on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding amp and the instructions on setting the gain using the "clipping" LED makes it easy to set.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound from JL audio

Jason from Pearland, TX on 4/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm glad I went with the RD500 my Jeep Wrangler sounds amazing!

Pros: Its JL audio Great quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sexy and High Tech Amp

ToyoTech300 from Katy, TX on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Low profile, clean sound, stays cool it's powering my 10" Rockford Fosgate p3 with exceptional sound and SPL, does not need a remote wire if you choose from two of three turn on settings, and with JL rca adapter it does not need a line output converter , this makes for simple wiring and less bulk, at 2ohms it makes you feel like you have more than the mentioned power!

Pros: Simple wiring options, top of the line technology, stays cool, doesn't make lights dim, exceptional sound for the price, looks awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio RD500/1

Crutchfield customer from New Rochelle, NY on 4/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Packs a punch. Nice small amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does what it says

Mario from Texas on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great JL amp, powering a JL HO 10 and boy does it make the sub sing.... It is juicing it up exactly as I thought it should so I'm happy with my purchase, no dimming lights when I turn up the boom and the amp is just lukewarm even after 2 hours of testing music. Easy installation and after coming from a JL Slash 500/1 which is probably a better amp, I actually cannot tell the difference in power. For the price the amp is phenomenal. In the nineties they used to say " a dollar per watt" and usually if you paid that much u knew you were getting a great amp. So I cannot believe at this price that this amp is so clean and powerful. Nice to know quality car audio has finally gone down in pricing. The small footprint almost fooled me but I was wonderfully surprised when my installer said step ito your vehicle.

Pros: Easy installation Low power draw, great big bass, knobs for all your tweaking needs Bass knob support (get one!) Small footprint

Cons: I really don't have any, it does everything I intended at this price it's phenomenal

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Compact Powerful Amp

Donald from Garner, NC on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amplifier to drive a JL Audio Stealth Box in my 2017 Mustang GT. Sadly, the first one I received was defective but Crutchfield promptly sent out a replacement and I was up and running in no time. This is a really nice compact amplifier with more than enough power to drive my single 12" JL Subwoofer. The amplifier is capable of high level input but I an using an Audio Control processor to take the high level down to pre-amp level and the output from this amplifier is so clean you would never believe that you were listening to a factory driven system.

Pros: Small, Powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound

Rogelio from Aspers Pa. on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good products

Pros: Very good bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little amp

Keith from Columbus, OH on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. Looks really nice. Nice power. Killer blue light.

Pros: Looks nice. JL quality, nice simple industrial design

Cons: Wished hex screws were a little larger. I'm afraid I'm going to strip them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best amp I have owned

Matt from Memphis, TN on 10/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first time owning a JL product, and I am thoroughly impressed. The amp stays cool and has absolutely 0 trouble driving my current setup. I do not have access to a dyno, but I believe this amp does more than rated, which is always a huge plus. Also the tiny form factor allows it to fit in various places if your car is limited on space. One final plus about this amp is that adjustments are made by simply removing the top cover on the amp. Most brands have the adjustments on the side, which can make it tough to set up. This is the best amp I have owned. I cannot wait to put in my Memphis 12s I got from Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy Adjustment, Small form factor, excellent great dissipation, powerful.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

very happy

JJ from Dickinson, ND on 9/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this amp does exactly what it sells, Easy hook up to a OEM head unit. The remote turn-on from the signal input works very well and the line input sounds very clean for not having a line-in processor installed. I hooked this amp up to a JL Audio Stealthbox and it sounds excellent! The amp runs cool and it does not draw heavy on the electrical system. The LED bar is a nice feature, along with the cover that hides the controls. Having the connections all on one side also makes sense. The JL emblem comes unattached so no matter which way you mount the amp you can attach the emblem so it looks correct. I also recommend the remote dial for adjusting the level on the fly.

Pros: The RD500/1 does exactly what JL advertises.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good price, good amp

Chris from Phoenix, AZ on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the amp to power a jl truck wedge CS110TG-TW3. More than enough power and was simple to set up. I was willing to try the new series of amps and was not disappointed.

Pros: Easy to connect and set up.

Cons: None for me. Worked great for my application.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

TOP