Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio VX800/8i

8-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 75 watts RMS x 8

MFR # 98633

JL Audio VX800/8i

JL Audio VX800/8i

8-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 75 watts RMS x 8

MFR # 98633

11 reviews
View this product

Awesome!

Brian from Spring Hill, KS on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been in to car audio since the mid 80's, worked as an installer through high school and college. Never spent this much money on any single piece of car audio equipment, but I'm glad I did. Powering three way Hertz Mille Pro components up front and JL coaxs in the rear. More power than I need for sure (wish they made a 40w x 8 version, for like $1000 or something). Using the (DSP processed!) pre-outs to feed a sub amp. JL TuN software on my laptop and REW with a calibrated mic for EQ worked great (time consuming, but fun!). Setting the delays really cleaned up the imaging and just makes a WORLD of difference on how good your system sounds. High, low, and band pass crossover capability on all channels (including the pre-outs)! All of that in a very compact package. Amp seems incredibly efficient and not too taxing on my electrical system (no headlight dimming!). I'm sure that the Mille Pros help, but I've never heard such crisp vocals and musical detail in a car system before. Be sure to get the JL DRC so you can switch between presets and adjust sub level. I love it!

Pros: Compact unit for all the power and DSP functionality included. Efficient, clean, and powerful. JL TuN software is really good (a bit of a learning curve to get started), amazing amount of flexibility with routing, Xovers, EQ, and time delay.

Cons: Would be nice if they had a lower powered version. My tweeters don't know how to use 75 watts of power!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

A game changer

John from Worcester, MA on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is a game changer. I eliminated a large box full of power and signal cables and freed up a lot of space by changing my separate Twk88 DSP and Pioneer PRS amplifier to my vi800/8i. This amplifier is so tiny yet sounds so good and frees up so much space which eliminates significant wiring cost. A notable difference is the bluetooth module that allows me to tune with my iPad and I love that. No more clumsy bulky laptop with cables strung across my vehicle that I have to tuck and hide. The sound qaulity is phenomenal and the amplifier is dead silent during quite passages. The Tun software is very user friendly and offers all the power I need to get what I want with power to spare. The old argument that class A/B is better than class D is a myth. I've tested many amplifiers on my test bench as a double blind A vs B test using my home audio Kef speakers and 110 amps of ATS power supplies. I devised a way to swap amplifiers within a few seconds and perfectly level matched them using REW and a microphone. Conclusion, one class AB sounded awesome, several sounded great, one sounded bad. One class D sounded just as good as the best class AB and several sounded very good. I didn't test this vxi in that test but I don't need to. I can tell already it sounds amazing and replicates the finest details too.

Pros: Powerful DSP and amplifier in a tiny footprint saves space and eliminates extra RCA and power cables which eliminates noise and cost. Sound quality is amazing. TuN software is great and user friendly. Easy on your electrical system. Amplifier is dead silent during quite passages, no hiss. No analog gain pots to go bad. Gain setting process is easy. Bluetooth module works very well

Cons: None yet really except the price, lol. If you do not disconnect the TuN software from the bluetooth module then the amplifier remains on even with key off which if you're not paying attention can lead to a drained battery with car off.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Jasper from richmomd on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wish I could get more power just seem low

Pros: Quality

Cons: Low volume out put

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Sq at a great price

Manly Cocksin from Los Angeles on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. I mean, wow. Sound quality is amazing and 8 channels with a built in, customizable dsp, for $1400? Amazing deal!

Pros: Footprint, customizable dsp, phone app connectivity for dsp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good, but not the best.

David H. from Erie CO on 11/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've have this amp running a set of Focal KRX2 components up front and Hertz Mille coaxials in back of a 2017 Ford F-150, with a JL Fix-86 converting the OEM Sony amp's output to RCA. I'm bridging 2 channels for the Focal mids, and sending two channels to the Focal tweeters, and two channels to the Milles, all run active with no passive crossovers. The good...The sound is incredibly crisp, loud and clean, and the amp doesn't dim my headlights or seem to otherwise stress the truck's electrical system. The amp is also relatively compact and was easy to install behind the rear seat, on a custom rack that sits where the old factory sub was. The bad... the sound is simply missing the warmth that a high quality Class A/B amp provides. Vocals lack depth and fullness, and the snare drums in rock seem a little lacking to me. With compressed sources like Spotify or MP3, these weaknesses are more apparent than with CDs. So this amp is definitely less forgiving than a good A/B amp would be, when the source isn't at least cd quality. I experienced this same thing in the past with an old Alpine PDX-5, (but the Alpine was definitely far worse). So the VXI series is definitely a Big step forward in D class technology, but if you're a true audiophile I would recommend a class A/B from Zapco, Focal, or Audison, etc. Heck even the old Alpine V12 amps or the Memphis PR series sounded better, and those can be found for a couple hundred bucks used. If SQ is the goal, go A/B

Pros: Crisp, loud, clean, Compact, easy on the Electrical system.

Cons: Typical cold/thin D-class mids, unforgiving with compressed source material, expensive, Fairly complex/expensive to install and tune.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 19 found this helpful

Jl Audio has done it again!!

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clarity image quality and sound staging is absolutely incredible. The Tun software is a little confusing. Only because it was new to me. Learning curve lol. Love this amplifier in every way.

Pros: Expandable, beautifully designed, amazing architecture and system layout.

Cons: Definitely a learning curve on the software. This isn't even really a con. I do wish that the power input terminals were bigger only because I ran 1awg cable :).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big Sound Little Package

Crutchfield customer from West Virginia on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is an absolute beast. Right now I have it bridged to run my front and rears and I'm using the pre outs going into my sub amp so I have complete control over everything. The sound is AMAZING.

Pros: Sound Software Easy to learn JL Audio Amp/DSP = less wiring

Cons: Wish you can use your smartphone to make more adjustments than it allows you. Gotta have a laptop or IPad to access for capability after paying $80 for Bluetooth accessory

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Raidel from Houston, TX on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent amplifier the more volume the better your speakers will sound superior quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Love it!

Bradlee from Cedar Rapids, IA on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LOVE this Amp! I mostly love that the fact that I can easily route and control everything from my phone using TUN Mobile app. Still looking for an available DRC-205 Remote, though......... Wish the price was a slightly less expensive, but overall this is awesome. For the price I feel like it should have more watts.

Pros: Control Quality

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio VX800/8i

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

An audiophile's dream

Anthony from Columbus, OH on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding amplifier/DSP. I'm using this to run my entire system and couldn't be happier. I've got this pushing 2 way front components, rear coaxials and a 12" ported sub. The sound is clear, detailed and powerful. It fits easily under the driver's seat of my Honda Accord. And it's got a pair of preouts (with DSP processing) to feed an external amp if needed. The TuN software has all the features you'll ever need and is setup in a straightforward, logical interface. It's not cheap but it will take your system to another level.

Pros: Great performance, impossibly small package.

Cons: They don't give them away for free.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP