Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio RD900/5

5-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # 98642

JL Audio RD900/5

JL Audio RD900/5

5-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # 98642

36 reviews
View this product

Plenty of clean power.

David from Richmond, TX on 9/20/2020

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired this amp with some Focal ICS series speakers in the front and rear doors, as well as a JL Power Wedge 10" subwoofer. The result is outstanding. Sound is crystal clear and the bass is excellent. There is plenty of power. I use a Pioneer AVH-W4500-NEX as my head unit. I am Very pleased with the results. Excellent sound, superb bass, and flexible control!! Couldn't be happier!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear Sound with Power

Robert from New Orleans, LA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding amp for my Durango with 6.5 JL components in the front, 6.5 Polk 2 ways in rear, and 12 inch Kicker sub. Much clearer than the Kenwood 50x4, 500x1 amp that I tried first.

Pros: Clipping indicator, clear, powerful, slim low profile for perfectly under driver's seat

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Thermal, CA on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, easy adjustment. Very well built. Powers my Focal speakers and 10" w3 no problem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 7/16/2020

2011 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp is great, just as advertised! I like how Crutchfield's site lets you input your car info and then only things compatible with your car show. Things maybe a tiny bit more $ here vs other online retailers, but the overall buyer experience is better here. Crutchfield includes vehicle specific directions for install so it was less confusing to do my own install. I have the amp in my 2011 Subaru Legacy 3.6R limited, it powers all my door speakers plus my JL 10" sub no problem. If anything, the amp might too powerful for my door speakers.

Pros: All instructions included

Cons: Slightly more expensive........ but still a better value in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another great JL Audio product.

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 6/28/2020

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Quality is always great. Could've got something cheaper but knew in the back of my mind I prob be wishing I went with the JL. Powering dash 3 1/2's, door 6x9's and rear door 6.5's along with a single 10" sub. Sounds awesome. I didn't want something to rattle the license plate off more of a good solid sound and I have achieved that goal. It's plenty loud in fact alot louder than I will ever play it. What I like about it is its crystal clear and the bass is tight and solid.

Pros: Powers my entire system without having to have multiple amplifiers. Great clean, tight sound.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best 5 Channel Amp

Edward from Kissimmee, FL on 6/18/2020

2019 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me save you time and money. If you are thinking about getting this amp do not hesitate. I've been through several amps in the last 6 months and this has everything you would want. I listen to a wide variety of music and this amp delivers clean, quality and true reproduction from whatever source you use. I've had the Pioneer DX975, Kicker 44KXA8005, Rockford Fosgate T1000X5ad and a Boss PV3700. Nothing comes close to the JL Audio. Easy install in a nice, clean, compact package. There is no need for a subwoofer volume control because it's not amplifying garbage frequencies. Everything sits right where it's supposed to. I can't say enough how great this amp sounds.

Pros: Easy Install Compact Excellent Sound Quality Under Rated Power Listing 1 Allen Key for all terminals

Cons: Zero None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Dustin from Outer Banks, NC on 6/14/2020

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the amp so far. Set up was fairly easy and the compact size worked nicely with my 2001 Ram 1500 under the rear seat. I was able to set gains with the test tones from JL Audio's website before I hooked up the speakers. The clipping LED's were very handy in doing this and getting the gains set to a safe level that would prevent clipping or distortion. i currently have this amp connected to 4 coaxial speakers (Kenwood KFC-174's) and a JL Audio 12in Stealthbox. More than adequate power for my listening needs. Huge improvement over the sound coming from my Pioneer MVH-S522BS.

Pros: Clipping LED's for set up. Good connections.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Yankton, SD on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipping was super fast and I cant say how awesome the sales and the tech people are!. Stereo sounds awesome now. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 5/26/2020

2015 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 5/26/2020

2015 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made and simple to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Elyria, OH on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

got it all wired up and found out it is defective. Sending a new one so hopefully no issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Fantastic Amplifier

Matt from Allentown, PA on 4/24/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic amp. I never uses class D for door speakers. Always a class A/B but I can honestly say the SQ is great with this amp. Clean and more power than I need. It's powering 2 focal access 10" subs and focal access components up front and co ax in the rear. Fit under my drivers side seat in my Subaru with ease. Very happy with it!

Pros: Great sound, plenty of power and no hiss at low volume!

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Simple and effective

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Like having clipping indicator lights. I imagine it'll work even better as I tune it in.

Pros: Easy setup. Clipping indicators.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 3/29/2020

2002 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. User friendly. Clipping LEDs make set up a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Elmendorf, TX on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great / easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Waianae, HI on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean amplification when paired with a fix86 with my stock civic head unit.

Pros: Size, sounds, functions

Cons: Makes me want to buy a new head unit to see just what this amp is capable of!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Atlantic Hlds, NJ on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

such a breeze to set up..... stock speakers in the back deck and new 6.5's in the front doors..jl sub out back...WONDERFUL...SOUND !!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Review

Crutchfield customer from Bellmore, NY on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality Amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect replacement Amp

Crutchfield customer from Las Cruces, NM on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for my old XD 500/5. I can tell a big improvement. Plus, it's 2:3 the size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Saratoga Spgs, UT on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and tune. Super happy with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent 5 Channel Amp

Crutchfield customer from Barrington, NH on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy Install. Great sound. Tuning process is a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio = Top of the line!!

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is as advertised. Did NOT disappoint. It made my speakers come alive like promised. I can't tell you how happy I am to have this as the core of my system. Can't wait to add a sub and max it out!! Definitely would recommend this amp!!!

Pros: Clean sound, plenty of power, great looks.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

David from West Richland, WA on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice amp it made my JL 6.5 speakers and sub sound awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Easy installation

Franklin from Atlanta, GA on 4/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and sleek design. Versatile amp. I'm using this for 2 front speakers and the sub. With the clipping indicator gives me reassurance that I'm not exceeding its limits. Not 5 stars because I had to use a different Allen wrench than the provided one for a few screws.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 16 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

James from Fresno, CA on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is running some Hertz Energy components and an Audiofrog 12" sub. My goal is sound quality rather than volume, but this can still play my system way louder than I want to listen to. I'm a big fan of the clip indicator lights and really like how easy the controls are to access from the face of the unit because it makes adjustments really easy. One of the issues with 5-channels is they often don't put out much power on the sub channel. One of the reasons this amp really appealed to me (other than being highly rated in listening reviews) is the 500 watts at 2 ohms. If you're looking for a 5-channel, def give this some consideration.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Clean design and smooth sounding amplifier

Andy from San Diego, CA on 3/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, I was hesitant at buying any other amp other than JL. In the past I've owned Slash, and XD series amps and was always happy with the sound quality. I have only recently heard of the RD series amps. I'm driving Hertz Audio Coax all around and a Pioneer prefab sub box (10") in my 2016 Nissan Murano. The amp runs CLEAN and COOL. Very quiet turn on and turn off, excellent installation location for all adjustments and input wires. Simple and clean look which makes the amp even more astonishing. It reminds me of German Engineering for some reason. Give it a test drive, definitely very happy with my purchase. I was going to get the 400/4 but am really glad I spent the extra money and got the sub outputs. Signal sensing didn't work all that well, only detected my turn on a couple of times. Spoke with JL and they obviously recommended hardwired Remote. So I did and it all worked fine after that.

Pros: Compact, clean sound, cool operation, ease of use

Cons: Signal sensing didn't work all that well. Wish they had included the sine wave CD for the clip sensing feature, you have to go download it from their website.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great power for the size!

Ignacio Chavez from Coral Gables, FL on 9/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp delivers enough power for a complete 4 satellites + 1 subwoofer. I've got it hooked up with JL C3 525 front, JL C2 525 back and a 10W3-D4 JL sub in the trunk on my 2017 Fiat 500. I have to say, the sound is crisp and clean on mids and highs. The lower bass lines and beats sound good, but sometimes it feels like missing more bass. The size is perfect if you have little room like i did. The looks is very sober, clean and elegant overall. The clipping setup is awesome! works perfectly. Overall a very good amp!

Pros: Size and nr. of channels

Cons: The bass channel lacks bass power sometimes

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

engine noise ruins my entire experieince

rodney from Winter Springs, FL on 8/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading other reviews i must be the unlucky guy. In short the amp does everything it says it will do and i love the built in lights to help setup the amp properly to avoid clipping. My 2 star rating is completely based on the issue of engine noise that has proven impossible to resolve . I replaced my JL XD700 5v2 with this. So as you might guess it was pretty much plug and play. Same rca's, same power/ground wiring, NOT the same performance. I work at a Toyota Dealership and always have my gear professionally installed (work perks). they've gone through a number of different exercises to try to isolate and irradiate the engine noise to no avail. I'm so unhappy with this purchase. Its been explained to me by the Crutchfield tech support team that just because one amp worked fine with my existing setup doesn't mean another one will but i don't really understand how that doesn't point directly to a shortcoming of the new amp.

Pros: decent power decent price

Cons: quality of product??? see my review for more info

Crutchfield response on 8/21/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Rodney to help him further. We'll either help him get the amp working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

22 of 33 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Wichita,ks on 7/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love the amp. Upgraded all speakers with Rockford fosgate and added 12" sub. Wow!!! 2013 Jeep Wrangler unlimited with top off or on sounds incredible. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little bulky, but packs a powerful punch and sounds crisp and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Sounds Great

charles from Memphis, TN on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok I have had this amp hooked for about 2 days now and I am not disappointed! I do have a sound processor hooked up as well (kicker front row) but everything sounds loud and clear. The highs are crystal clear and the lows are not too bad either. It hits hard and does not use much power at all and does not get too hot. I would recommend this amp because it has more than enough power to run you entire system. 500 watts to the subs is more than enough me. So if you need more than that this might not be the amp for you.

Pros: Small, Powerful and sounds great.

Cons: Do not really like the cover plate because you have to remove it if you need to make adjustments to the amp.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Loud and clear mids/highs sub channel so-so

Jason from St. Louis on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear on the mids and highs but the sub channel is a little underwhelming. I have it pushing two 10W1V3 4ohm subs and it pushes them ok, but not as well as the Rockford Prime 500/1 I was running on them with before.

Pros: Crystal clear mids and highs, super loud

Cons: I think the sub channel power is overrated

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Crutchfield customer from savannah georgia on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean sound at all levels!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Clarity at its best!

Alejandro from El Paso, TX on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome sounding amplifier, compact and powerfull

Pros: Compact, powerful, ease of installation,

Cons: pricey but worth every penny

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Kevin G from Shallotte, NC on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was skeptical at JL's new amp lineup, but figured I'd roll the dice and see what happens. Ended up re-doing my amplifier setup in my Acura RSX. Went from a 4 channel & mono channel sub amps, down to a single 5 channel. My setup is JL XR 6.5" components, C2 6.5"s, 10W6V2, 4 gauge power wire and monster cable RCAs. The sizing of the amp is truly amazing of how things have progressed in the car audio world. This 5 channel is almost as big as the 4 channel that I replaced which was an audiophile, not a big name brand amp. First and foremost - the sound: Not sure if it was me, but this amp made my speakers come to life. Not only with power like my old setup, but clarity. If you are worried that this amp isn't going to good enough for your audiophile expectations - have no fear, this amp is great and at almost half the price of JL's more premium lineup. I would definitely recommend this amp to anyone, especially if you are on a tight budget. Don't let the RD series fool you, its't going to be tough to decipher between the XD/HD sound quality to the naked ear.

Pros: - budget price - big power output -small size - quality build

Cons: -Doesn't look as good as HD/XD series amp lineup - Coverplate screws tough to lineup

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio RD900/5

Marc from Gulfort, MS on 11/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this 5 channel amp in a 2000 Toyota Tacoma ext cab. Also and new receiver, 2 front door speakers, 2 rear speakers, and 10" JL Audio Sub. This Amp made my system complete. After adjusting to the Amp to the perfect sound for me. Good highs and Mids and just the right amount of base. Everything sounds great even turned up to loud for my ears. I'm up in my 40s like listening to; ole and new country, classic rock, pop rock, even some new pop. I have sons between 18 and 22 yrs old and now they want a 5 channel amp instead of there Mono signal channel amp only pushing there subs. I have played with electronics for 30 yrs. and this is a sweet amp

Pros: Awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

TOP