Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
945 259 531 4
Connect ID #
945 259 531 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio C1-650

C1 Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # 99043

JL Audio C1-650

JL Audio C1-650

C1 Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # 99043

250 reviews
View this product

Aweosme sounding speakers. Way better than OEM

Justin from Roy, UT on 11/18/2022

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Received and installed on the front doors of a 2012 GTI MK6. Crutchfield is aware enough and advised some extra pieces that made install almost painless. However, being a Volkswagen, I should have expected some hiccups along the way. First hiccup is that VW rivets the speakers into the plastic filler panel behind your door card. The resolution is to drill these out with. 3/16 bit, being careful to use a sharp bit and hit center. The next issue is; the speaker mount is solid, so there's no way to acces behind the speaker and use the screws and slip in nut things. I used #10x1.5" self tappers and screwed into a no. Existing hole. If I was to do it over, I'll use Riv nuts to secure the speakers/spacers. I just didn't think of that solution at the time, I was stuck in a mode. Using the rib nuts would leave the door completely serviceable for future endeavors. 3rd problem, the spacers provided were only 1/4". Which isn't sufficient to clear the window regulator and track system in the front door. 1/2" may have been enough to clear, but I went with 3/4" spacers, which was oodles. I think there is e out room in there you could get away with 1" spacers. Wiring was simple, with Crutchfield provided wire adapters I didn't have to splice into the factory harness?? love that! The tweeter was a bit more involved. You have to precisely cut 3 meted plastic tabs that hold the OEM teeter in place. Then hot glue the new one in its place. They so

Pros: They sound great, price isn't terrible, crossover is small and easy to manage, the yellow is cool??

Cons: Feel like they could have been cheaper, you can't see that their yellow,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Speakers & Great Sound

Tony from Everson, WA on 11/8/2022

2003 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thank you Crutchfield for this recommendation! I Really love these speakers. They work well with the Original Honda stereo in my 2003 Pilot. Very Easy to install. The Speaker plug adapters are genius! I'm glad I didn't have to strip wires to fit different connectors. I'm Really glad to go with the Component package, because the highs and all the singing audio can be clearly heard. My Passenger doors are similar to these speakers except with the tweeters mounted in the center, and my only wish is that I had installed Components for those doors instead. The Bass is decent! It's not thumping of course, but works well with the stock stereo. The Audio is Not distorted at Full volume. The crossover for the tweeters works very well! I'm VERY glad to have removed the OEM speakers for these JL's My Pilot sounds Fantastic! From Podcasts to Any type of music, these JL's were worth it! I have NO plans to change the Factory Deck, and really was hoping to find speakers to better pair with it, without any other massive upgrades, like a Subwoofer & Amp, and/or changing the deck. No regrets! Fantastic choice and upgrade!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding for the price.

David from ARLINGTON, TX on 10/31/2022

2012 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Surprising bass response, nice clean sound and tight bass. I am a Focal guy, but bought these for my daughters CR-V...I am seriously blown away....I didn't even use an amp.

Pros: Bass Response Sensitivity Easy install Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Henrik from Sanford, FL on 10/16/2022

2004 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the performance of these speakers. A clear upgrade for my Audi A4. I've already ordered a set for the rear doors also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Jeremy from Palm Coast, FL on 10/13/2022

1990 Toyota Celica

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Installation was easy, and the instructions to install in the car were spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad tweeter

Brent from TUCSON, AZ on 10/7/2022

2016 Tesla Model S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One tweeter blown. Paid money for install now have to pay more to remove and replace. Don't recommend these speakers to anyone. Cost me more to replace in labor than any savings was worth. I have the components hooked up to a JL 400/4 putting 75 watts to the 6.5" at 4ohm these should not have blown at that setting. Had bass blockers in place correctly and sounded great for about a week. Not it's terrible.

Pros: Sounded good until one week.

Cons: Tweeter blown.

Crutchfield response on 10/11/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Brent to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Joe from Indianapolis, IN on 9/16/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The hardest part of the job is removing the interior panels. After that, the rest of the changeover was no easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camry 2019 XLE premium JBL factory

Huascar from LYNCHBURG, VA on 9/8/2022

2019 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the price it is not bad to update the factory horns of your vehicle, it is the old JL series it has a decent sound, you need an amplifier to make the most of the sound. Tip: If you are going to install the tweeters in a 2019 toyota camry xle you will need another type of connector different from the one Crutchfield provides, the one supplied by them is for the 3.5 horns that are in the corner of the dash.

Pros: Good price, you save money on the adapters and connectors that Crutchfield gives you, they send you an installation manual for all the parts, this is great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Greg from Bryant, AR on 9/5/2022

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Diego from El Paso, TX on 9/1/2022

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Was easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great!

Dustin from SPRINGFIELD, MO on 9/1/2022

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought two sets of these to upgrade the factory junk in my 2015 Silverado. I also got the additional housing adapters offered as an add-on. Everything fit just perfect and sounds great. So much better. The included crossovers are a nice touch but they're kind of cumbersome when compared to base blockers. The crossovers are fairly large and hard to find a suitable place to mount them to the door frame. This is my first JL Audio product and while I am satisfied with what I got, I think I could have gotten equivelent performance and satisfaction at a lower cost with Rockford speakers. I ran a full 8-speaker Rpckford setup in my old Durango and enjoyed and abused them for years and now my son is abusing and enjoying them just as much. Currently, these JL's are being powered off my Pioneer head which is rated 22w RMS. When I can find enough time when the weather is cooperating, I plan on running my 4-ch amp to these speakers in the doors which should slightly bump the power to 50w RMS on each door and allow for finer control of the signals so we will see how that goes. Lastly, the mountings on the tweeters are definitely not designed for thin materials. I installed the rear set into the door panel itself, and the front set went into the corner sail panels. Both installations were cut to exact size but was still loose enough to twist free. The included bolt-on bracket in the back needs to be bent and modified to make it work on thin materials.

Pros: Good sound. Lots of included hardware. Easy install. Included crossovers.

Cons: Tweeter mounts are loose. I expected more from JL in terms of sound quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just as youd expect from top quality JL Audio products.

Henry from Cypress, CA on 8/31/2022

2020 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good clarity from speakers and tweeters. I upgraded my 2017 Civic Si Sedan speakers, and the clarity at higher volumes is increased. The mids and highs are very crisp. The overall build quality is high compared to other brands. Would not hesitate to recommend these for anyone looking for an upgrade to the factory radio.

Pros: Great build construction, even better sound quality for oem radios.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Parker from Montgomery, AL on 8/28/2022

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding set of speakers! Really clear mids and smooth and not too bright highs from the tweeters.really satisfied with my purchase..just ordered the coaxial set for the rear doors in my jeep grand cherokee!gotta love a jl product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Logan from Reidsville, NC on 8/25/2022

2006 Kia Spectra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Improvement over factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect selection

Milton from Adjuntas, PR on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this kit primary for two reasons and after take my time on installing them by my self on my Smart for two 451 car I am sure the selection was perfect. Ok, I interest a component speakers system to install the tweeters under dash original location for having a better sound reproduction with my low power, original android aftermarket new radio. The specs show a nice low bass response with a nice 89db sensibility that should help me, and realy happened, the sound is very good around my prefer music. They reproduce a very clean and enjoyable sound without needing any additional amplification. Having the tweeters bouncing the highs notes on the windshield is a lot better than listen them from the low doors woofer location. The sound imaging is a lot better this way and I am lucky enough that physical installation do not need any extra hardware. I only cut the original Smart speakers screws (plastic) ring as an adapter for holding the JL ones and screw the long Philips screws that JL speakers includes into the original door holes. The tweeters also fit into original Smart under dash location. The crossoves were wire direct into the front speakers cables at the radio wire harness adapter. The sound is very good. I can not win a high pressure audio competition, but the sound is complete from the low 60Hz to the high 17kHz with a very envolving experience. The second reason, price. I bought a less expensive scratch model that has nothing wrong only the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Patrick from Bettendorf, IA on 8/15/2022

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't beat these for the price! They sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Richard from Dumfries, VA on 7/27/2022

2014 Nissan NV200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds pretty good. I had a blown speaker since I bought the car, So anything sounds better. It came with everything I needed. Was an easy install. Has a nice little low end to them. Happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Timothy from Ruston, LA on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers fit great in my 2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. Customer service was great.! They made sure I had the correct speakers, brackets and wiring that were needed for a factory fit. I will definitely use Crutchfield again for their products and knowledge!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I wish these worked better for me.

Chad from Bend, OR on 6/27/2022

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The tweeters are very bright and borderline harsh. I've been installing and tuning pro car audio for decades and I couldn't get them to be workable in my car. The woofers produce solid back and are very balanced. The set was very easy to install. I really wanted to love these. I have some Hertz on the way to try next.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Tweeters are harsh

Crutchfield response on 6/28/2022
Chad contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jk Audio C1-650

Caleb from Saint Augustine, FL on 6/27/2022

1995 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound amazing, and install was a breeze. Worth the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tweeters too bright

Crutchfield customer from Coraopolis, PA on 6/23/2022

2012 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Midranges sound good. Quality is good. Tweeters are very bright and brash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Surprisingly good bass

Hubert from Carlsbad, CA on 6/13/2022

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I swapped this set in for the stock speakers and tweeters in a 2016 Subaru Crosstrek. The difference in sound quality is just a night and day difference with the JL Audio C1-650 coming in very much cleaner throughout the whole range. This difference is most pronounced in the bass where the stock speakers sounded muddy in the low end whereas the JL speakers were able to pump out tight sounding bass without any trouble. And all of this is without swapping out the head unit yet. I also liked that the tweeter crossovers were small and inline so I didn't have to fuss with connecting the woofers to the crossover unit. They were small enough to just shove into the hole in the existing tweeter location. The hardest part of the entire install was joining the crossover unit to the provided wiring harness as I had to connect them with solder and heat shrink. I'll get posi-twists next time. Seeing as I got this for my wife's car and she doesn't typically listen to extremely bass heavy music nor does she like to blow the doors off of her car with volume, it basically eliminated the need for me to add a subwoofer as well. Your mileage will vary depend on your listening preferences, but for just adding warmth and fullness to most music, this does the job quite well. I did the install with fast rings to get a good seal around the speaker to make the most out of its bass performance. The adapters that Crutchfield provided for free also worked perfectly to make i

Pros: Surprisingly powerful mid-bass Inline crossover for tweeters for easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Much better than factory

David from Morrisville, NC on 6/9/2022

2022 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed these in the front of my 2022 Ford Ranger Crew Cab and the C1-650x's in the back. The JL's are a vast improvement in sound quality and are able to run at a little higher volume. The wires (colors) for the tweeters didn't match the Crutchfield instructions. I used a multi meter to be sure of the correct polarity. The tweeters do fit snuggly into the factory sail. Just added some hot glue to be sure they would stay. I also used 3 dynamat speaker kits (adding extra in the front door) which helps with vibration. Overall a fairly easy installation. Great buy too!

Pros: Great sound, great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Jeremy from Weatherford, TX on 6/9/2022

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds very clear and crisp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds good, but questionable tweeter mounting

Steve from Dallas, TX on 5/19/2022

2020 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had this set for just over a year and while they sound good, the tweeter construction and mounting design ae questionable. The tweeter magnet is glued to the tweeter body and the stud for the mounting system screws into the magnet. Problem is as you tighten the nut you are putting the magnet in constant tension. I mounted the tweeters in the A-Pillar of my truck and I guess the heat softened the glue over time and pulled the magnets off the coil. JL did offer to replace them but I had already bought the larger 1" versions and used hot glue to mount them. So be careful....

Pros: Sound good, efficient

Cons: Poor tweeter mounting system

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Entry level?

Blaine from Mica, WA on 5/10/2022

2013 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I can't believe these are JL's base model. I am picky and these sound really great for their price point. Great bass extension within reason, high passed at 60hz they don't struggle powered from The head unit (lower bass goes to my sub). The tweeters are very clear and not harsh and blend well with the woofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 VW Passat SE 1.8T

William from Warrensburg, MO on 5/8/2022

2017 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these in the rear door after the factory paper speakers gave out. The highs are super clear and the mid bass is acceptable even without a dedicated amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kia K5 GT Line

Paulus from Tampa, FL on 4/19/2022

2022 Kia K5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these JL speakers for my front door and to replace the tweeters on the dashboard. While the website says the tweeters do not fit, which is correct, they actually do fit perfectly if you cut off the plastic ring around the tweeter grill. Can be done just with house scissors, no special tools needed. Takes less than a minute to do both tweeters. I bought these because of the 93 sensitivity so these will sound great without additional amp. Which they do. I only needed to adjust the equalizer for the tweeters as they do sound much clearer but also louder. Very happy with these and will also buy the 650x ones for the rear doors.

Pros: -Easy to install -Great sound improvement without additional amp

Cons: -found none yet. Maybe only that they are on the pricy side.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tweeters keep dying

Ty from Grand Rapids, MI on 4/14/2022

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Out of the box, these are great. 5 stars. But roughly 10 months in a tweeter stopped working. Crutchfield of course sent me a new set under warranty. Back in business for another 8 or so months and then again, a tweeter went out. I'm running factory amp and it's happening at low volume. No drama, no wierd noises, just working fine and then suddenly completely off. Maybe I'm just unlucky.

Pros: Great sound, great price.

Cons: Reliability is suspect.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Jay from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 4/10/2022

2011 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers sound great!! They have been in my car about 6 months now. Crutchfield's prices are competitive, they know exactly what parts you'll need to put your project together, and their technical support is second to none. In the end, if the project comes together correctly the first time, it's a winner. If you get stuck on connecting a wire, or whatever your question, the folks at Crutchfield technical support have the answer, it's the correct one, and they are a US based team. They also are very helpful when selecting equipment. The company has committed employees who actually know their business. I have spoken to multiple technical support folks and they were all super helpful. If you are purchasing stereo or other gear to install yourself in your car, look no further.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Charles from Schwenksville, PA on 4/6/2022

2007 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wasn't expecting super high quality audio from these speakers, given that I'm used to high end floorstanding speakers, but I couldn't have been more wrong. Compared to the stock speakers, these have much more punchy bass, and very crisp highs from the tweeters. They can handle significantly more bass than the factory speakers, all without getting muddy.

Pros: Crutchfield bundled the correct adapters for my car for free

Cons: A little tricky to mount the tweeters in my car

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Zailiz from Carolina, PR on 3/25/2022

2001 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The bass is super strong

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

High Definition Sound

Ramon from San Juan, PR on 3/25/2022

2007 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Very clear and High Definition sound

Pros: super defined sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Jason from Jacksonville, FL on 3/21/2022

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great! The tweeters are loud too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly Recommend

Caleb from MONTICELLO, MS on 3/5/2022

2019 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these in a 2019 ford ranger supercrew cab with non b&o 8 inch lcd sound system. I put them in front doors and mounted tweeters in factory tweeter location. Powered by Hifonics alpha D 2500 amp. Used a LCI2 converter. These speakers scream when cranked up and woofers can sound like little subwoofers when the bass starts slamming. They're awesome. I've never heard drums, cymbals, and bass guitar so clear before. Music I've been listening to for over 20 years sounds so much better.

Pros: Good price for really good sounding speakers. Once dialed in bass slams with no clipping.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Hard to install, but worth it

Crutchfield customer from AVILLA, IN on 2/9/2022

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds good, much better than stock, however it was pain to install. Instructions didn't help so just had to plug in wires and test to see if it works.

Pros: Product Quality Sound Quality

Cons: Installation Instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Micah from Lewisville, TX on 2/9/2022

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good quality speakers for modernizing an older truck, seem to be decent quality. Not much bass comes from these but that's to be expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Only, TN on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You get what you pay for! Great speakers great website have been using this website for awhile now and will continue to do so for a long time!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gs gq

Brandon from Leander, TX on 2/2/2022

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounds, great quality

Pros: Lots of mounting options

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Stan from Lawrenceville, GA on 1/30/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are much clearer and brighter than stock. There was some work getting them in my Jeep JKU but well worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Loren from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 1/17/2022

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install good upgrade for sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

James from New Port Richey, FL on 1/13/2022

2016 Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely a upgrade to my stock Mercedes speakers. They bump with just the stock head unit powering them. High are crisp and midrange is very full. But the bass from these components I love it..

Pros: Easy install, inline crossover , good quality materials used.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Randall from Casselberry, FL on 1/12/2022

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great in my 2007 Tacoma. Vast improvement over stock. Using only my JVC receiver with no additional amp. Highly recommend this set.

Pros: Sound. Price. JL Reputation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2014 hyundai genesis coupe

Tristin from Mechanicsville, MD on 1/9/2022

2014 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clean sound for the coin but only with upgraded aftermarket stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Sycamore, IL on 1/4/2022

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers and tweeters are absolutely excellent for the price. They sound wonderful with very warm mids. Also easy to install which was nice.

Pros: Very good sound Warm mids Easy to install

Cons: Bass was not all that great, but for the price not too bad.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Far better than stock

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 1/4/2022

2020 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simply replaced my stock speakers on a 2020 Ford Explorer and these sound much more full and less Timmy. Crutchfield made it easy with the directions and included wiring. Eventually will power with an amp but if you go ahead and just swap the speakers out with these you won't be disappointed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Anthony from Loveland, CO on 12/31/2021

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound, easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent replacements

Eddie from Sandown NH on 12/24/2021

2021 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced the front speakers in a 2021 Honda Civic Sport with these. The sound is far superior to the factory speakers which sounded terrible when turned up. These sound clean/clear at any level. The mid bass is better than expected based on their frequency response. I did use the Hushmat kit when installing them. I would have rated them 5 star, but as inherent with metal tweeters, they can be a little bright when turned up loud. I'm going to order a set for the rear replacement soon.

Pros: Excellent sound quality

Cons: Tweeters can be slightly harsh when turned up loud

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Alvaro from Huntington Park, CA on 12/23/2021

2022 Kia Telluride

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 2022 kia telleride, And these speakers made it sound a lot better than what they came out the factory with. Easy to install no need for super surgery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding sound and value. A no-brainer upgrade from stock. Make sure to use Dynamat and some kind of foam baffle too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Barranquitas, PR on 12/19/2021

2020 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product. Amazing sound quality. JL Audio always!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 11/21/2021

2021 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Much clearer than my factory premium sound system. I had no idea what I was missing. The tweeters are somewhat harsh at higher levels due to the dome type, but for pure sq improvement over factory, totally worth every penny. I ended up putting in a kicker key amp later and now they really come alive. I can imagine ever going back to stock. I've encouraged several friends to go with this series due to bang for buck. Love it!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great affordable upgrade for Honda Element EX

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, OH on 11/21/2021

2011 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For a Honda Element EX, this provided a particular improvement in the tweeter sound. (Original tweeter sounds muffled behind molded bezel.) The tweeter is small enough to surface mount on the original tweeter location. Hi speaker sensitivity rating keeps sound loud so you don't feel a need for a bigger amp. A nice affordable upgrade when keeping original amp.

Pros: Connects directly with existing wiring by using an inline tweeter crossover. No large 2 channel crossover box to mount.

Cons: You need a 1 - 7/16" hole saw to surface mount tweeter optimally.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Paul from West Bridgewater, MA on 11/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Two weeks over #Warranty! One of the 6 .5 components blew. Called Crutchfield. They said they were out of warranty! Two weeks really, if JL audio stood behind their products two weeks shouldn't matter. Learning lesson for me I guess

Pros: Speaker sounded great for one year and two weeks!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 10/5/2021

2015 Nissan GT-R

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great set!

Pros: sounds great, works great with stock amp.

Cons: the ring did not fit the opening. maybe need to research about the fitment for Gtr R35. we ended up using another one we had at the shop.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pass on these if you like to jam wimdows down.

Crutchfield customer from Grand Blanc, MI on 9/30/2021

2014 Chevrolet Volt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased a pair of 650s and 650x. Powered using an Alpine kta 450 (4/50 w rms @4ohms). As others have mentioned, they're better than stock, but just not quite what the Dr ordered, frankly, I expected more from JL. I recommend trying a different model or brand if you'd like louder, fuller sound. Tweater install wasn't as difficult as instructions said, but they're pretty lackluster compared to my old infinity set. Overall, I would not repurchase and will definitely skip JL next time. And if you plan on just swapping the door speakers and not adding an amp, I'd suggest you reconsider. They were terribly underpowered before the aftermarket amp was added, 2014 Chevy Volt.

Pros: Easy install, hardware included.

Cons: Quieter vocals than expected, tweeters are not good.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Tooele, UT on 9/26/2021

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install sounds good would purchase again

Pros: Good sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Kingshill, VI on 9/25/2021

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Jeffersonville, IN on 9/21/2021

2019 Toyota C-HR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

no regrets having purchased these speakers. i read in one of the reviews stating the door speakers were not loud enough. I disagree 100%. they are plenty loud and the tweeters are just plain awesome. i had to turn the treble down some because the sound is so clean and crisp. the door speakers weren't to difficult too install. the tweeters required some altering but worth the effort on my toyota chr.

Pros: great sound

Cons: the tweeters are not a direct install replacement but it can be done

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 9/16/2021

2006 Cadillac Escalade ESV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They fit, and sound decent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic upgrade for factory speakers

Peter from MEDFORD, MA on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been doing cardio for almost 25 years I have add everything from 2 , 12 inch subs, Three amplifiers running at once, full component systems and all the zero gauge wire. I just picked up a 2016 Passat and I wanted to scale it back a little bit so I've decided just to replace the factory speakers. The radio sounded pretty good with the factory speakers but once I install the JLs there was a night and day difference the sound was more punchy and it was smooth and crisp as well. My only concern was that there was no -3 DB adjustment On the Tweeter but the way the tweeter mounted in the dash, it was not too bright at all I was very impressed. The one thing I did have to do was I went out and I purchased quarter inch foam strip to put on the door because the speakers don't have a gasket but not a big deal it was simple to install, along with the wiring adapter that was given free with Crutchfield, With a little bit of time they came out great. I wanna order the coaxial version of this when they are in stock I will definitely have them for the back speakers. Again these are ran with the factory radio no amplifier and they sound fantastic

Pros: Sound really well with factory radio, easy to install they have an in-line crossover no need for a bulky crossover Network

Cons: I wish they had a speaker gasket

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Noticeable improvement with stock HU

Michael from Berkshires, MA on 8/26/2021

2017 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in the front door on my 2017 Honda Ridgeline RTL-T with factory radio. The brightness of the tweeter really made a difference in my music quality and ability to hear high tones at volume. At lower volume the bass is comparable to stock but at increased volume these are crisp and the bass is tight. I did dynamat inner and outer door skin during installation. Crutchfield provided wiring adapters and speaker brackets were perfect in the door and the JL provided brackets were perfect in the A pillar. Thanks again Crutchfield!

Pros: OEM fit and finish with improved quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio

Crutchfield customer from Mililani, HI on 8/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

cheap and good

Pros: cheap

Cons: no grill

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value component set

Crutchfield customer from Uniontown, PA on 8/25/2021

2016 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an excellent pair of component speakers for your car. They sound absolutely amazing and you will not be disappointed. Installation is simple, partly because of crutchfields great costumer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Guest from Mobile, AL on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2002 Pontiac Trans Am

Crutchfield customer from Cascade, CO on 8/5/2021

2002 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers installed easily and sound as anticipated. Installation instructions and data on the spakers were emailed at the time the speakers were shipped allowing for pre-planning prior to arrival. Woofers were shipped including wiring harness adaptor making the installation basically plug n play. Tweeters took a bit of adapting but nothing a person with a drill couldn't handle. Order arrived promptly in three days. Very satisfied with purchase, shipping, and installation information.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointment

Crutchfield customer from Commerce, GA on 8/4/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Gonna keep this short, bought these and was sadly disappointed. Maybe they were defective or IDK... Sound was super weak, muddied, and distorted. Replaced them with RF 165 components, same exact setup (just swapped the speakers) and it was night and day. Ran them on the JL 400/4 (awesome amp). Thanks to Crutchfield for top service BTW.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 8/2/2021

2011 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Wimauma, FL on 7/21/2021

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

DO NOT BUY THESE IF: You are looking for loudness You want a lot of bass You want louder speaker than original stock speakers. I am NOT satisfied, they sound way too quiet for the asking price on these. The tweeters are complete trash. The lowest of the lowest volume . Only thing it's got going for them is the crisp and clear sound but what is the point when you can't really blast them since they are extremely low sounding. Disappointed

Pros: Sounds clean and crisp

Cons: Low bass Low music Low sound Low low low low everything is LOW. Not worth the price not if what you want is loud music.

Crutchfield response on 7/26/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 10 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 7/21/2021

2016 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Combined with JL Audio 250 RMS mono amp, JBL Stage 1200s 250 RMS sub, and Sony high powered head unit. The results are amazing. Their frequency range is great, Especially the highs. If your not a bass head, they provide plenty on the low end. They are very easy to install, thanks to the in-line crossover. I do not even look to see what is new regarding speakers anymore. This isn't a review for the amp and sub but the same goes for them.

Pros: Great range. Easy install.

Cons: None yet. ??

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers, grab an extra set of wire harness

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 7/18/2021

2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sound. Definitely an upgrade from my stock speakers. Just have to make sure you order a second wire harness for the tweeters if you are replacing stock speakers.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Need to order a separate wire harness for the tweeters. Crutchfield only recommended one

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Haleyville, AL on 7/18/2021

2014 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers all the way around. With stock radio their crystal clear and loud it just not what they need replacing to aftermarket radio they are exactly what you want, and you could not be happier the tweeters scream with perfection and the woofers boom great for door speakers

Pros: Easy installation Bass Loudness Crystal Clear sound

Cons: Not the best with stock radio their okay but will need to turn down treble due to tweeters definitely pick up high hertz

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 7/17/2021

2001 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The best "cheap speakers " I have ever installed. JL audio did amazing with this speaker line.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/14/2021

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great upgrade sound awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarity!

Guest from Richmond, VA on 7/5/2021

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound clarity is great! I installed them yesterday running on a Kicker 360.4 and they sound good. Replaced some coaxial speakers I had in the front doors. Big improvement! If your looking for inexpensive components these should be considered.

Pros: Price point. Sound clarity.

Cons: None as of yet. Only had them a day.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Charlestown, IN on 7/4/2021

2001 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great choice for my application. If you want a great quality speaker without breaking the budget these are well worth the price.

Pros: Bright, crisp sound

Cons: Missing a little mid range complexity in the sound.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Eric from Melbourne, FL on 7/3/2021

2010 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You can count on Crutchfield customer service! Had a problem with a small tear in one of the speakers and they shipped a new set the next day. Excellent clear sounding speakers for replacement of old factory set in my Honda Accord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Spring Creek, NV on 7/3/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent quality easy to install the bass is excellent great oem replacement component tweeters sound great too

Pros: Great sound in a small package.

Cons: 6x9 would be even better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 6/30/2021

2013 Cadillac CTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers sound great and with Crutchfield they were easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Product, Decent Bass.

Aaron from Seneca, SC on 6/30/2021

2013 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid product. I was expecting a little more bass from speakers at this price, but it gets the job done. Doesn't shake your car, but you can definitely feel the vibration. First time I ever opened up my door panel to replace a speaker, had no issues. Instructions from the manufacturer and website were extremely throughout. If you are looking for a first time replacement, I do recommend buying these from this website.

Pros: Easy to Install Good Bass Clear Instructions

Cons: Low end frequencies are lacking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pounding Bass, Crisp Highs

Brian from Savannah, GA on 6/26/2021

2016 Chevrolet Tahoe LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded my factory speakers in a 2016 Tahoe LS without adding an amp- just straight connections to factory stereo. WOW! The sound these speakers produce is incredible! I can't believe how much richness and clarity these speakers out out. Everything from the bass shaking low end notes to the highest octaves. With no experience in car audio whatsoever, I was able to install new front door and rear door JL Audio C1 speakers in less than 2 hours. Someone with experience could do it in half the time. I was considering adding an amp and sub when I originally ordered the door speakers and now I'm glad I saved the money because these speakers push out way more bass than I could have ever expected. My friend just spent $2,000 on a system and honestly, I like my factory stereo and JL Audio setup more. No wires to hire or amps to power, no expensive install since you get everything you need with the order. Really, a plug-and-play setup. I'm a fan for life of JL Audio!

Pros: Easy install Great Bass Affordable Rich sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, CA on 6/21/2021

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Gloucester, MA on 6/15/2021

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound. Just amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Pulaski, VA on 6/13/2021

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid purchase. Clear sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this set in my '99 Miata along with Noico sound deadening and custom plates. The Bose amplifier was deleted and replaced with a DS-18 80 Watts RMS x 4 mini amplifier. The subwoofer is a JL Audio 8W1 in a custom enclosure in the passenger footwell. I am a former custom car audio installer and have been involved in audio for almost 29 years. I used to sell and install JL Audio full time and have always been impressed by their quality. These C1-650 components are no exception. The yellow cones on the drivers reminded me of high end Focal speakers. Unfortunately, I was disappointed by the size of the woofer at first. It's not really a 6-1/2" speaker. It's barely a 6-1/4". But my worries were quickly gone when I listened to them. They sound really clean and get loud. They rival components that are much more expensive. I highly recommend them!

Pros: Price Efficiency Easy to install

Cons: The woofer is too small to be called 6-1/2" No low pass filter

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Clearfield, PA on 6/2/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tweeters sound amazing. Don't expect low end out of the 6.5 without amplifier.

Pros: Decent product

Cons: The yellow color

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Gravois Mills, MO on 6/2/2021

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality sounds good decent bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 6/1/2021

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Joplin, MO on 5/30/2021

2012 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They are really good. Sound is great.

Pros: Great sounds Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Willmar, MN on 5/27/2021

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great!! Replaced factory speakers with these front and rear.

Pros: great price!

Cons: Not super throaty in the low end but great mids and tweaters

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Luling, LA on 5/19/2021

2018 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these JL Audio components in my 2018 Nissan Titan Pro4x and they sound amazing. Made a huge difference going with components in the rear doors. Andy from crutchfeild recommended these and they do not disappoint. I will be adding an amp to these speakers and sub under the rear seat (eventually) can't wait to hear the difference. Y'all have a customer for life now.

Pros: The sound is amazing. Installation was a breeze with the wires and brackets from Crutchfield.

Cons: NONE AT ALL!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 5/18/2021

2013 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super easy to install. Sounds like JL supposed too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio Performace Sound

Benjamin Robert from Chicago, IL on 5/18/2021

2019 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Vast improvement over the stock sound, easy to install with all of hardware included for a clean presentation. The yellow woofers add just the right amount of peek-a-boo presence through the door grills.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High quality, low price!!

Juan from Cameron, NC on 5/16/2021

2009 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this product to replace bad speakers on my 2009 Nissan Versa. I was blown off by the quality and crispness of these speakers. The tweeters provide top quality highs while thrle 6 1/2 provides the more needed bass to complement. The best part of it is that I kept the entire factory radio system intact. The sound nrver distorted at high volume. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sound doesnt distort at high volume, excellent price, cool yellow appearance

Cons: None so far!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Moultonboro, NH on 5/15/2021

2020 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound fantastic, they definitely sound better then my JBL club speakers I had before and at a great price. Also works great with a Kicker Key amp

Pros: Sound, price, build quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Apache, OK on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really sound quality and exactly what I wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Hanford, CA on 5/6/2021

2017 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are crisp, have great sound, and are very affordable for the quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound regardless of price.

Crutchfield customer from Bayfield, CO on 5/4/2021

1997 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first set of components I've purchased that had this low of a power requirement and subsequently the first time I've run a set on only head unit power. They sound amazing. I installed them in my old 97' GMC Sierra and mounted the tweeter in the factory location. Did a complete overhaul and clean on the internals of the door, added some sound deadening material and wow! Great sound from a low power, inexpensive set of components.

Pros: Great sound, low price, integrated crossover.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

High Value Great product

Crutchfield customer from Yorba Linda, CA on 5/1/2021

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm running these in my 05 Silverado extended Cab on a Boss BE7ACP head unit and have some kicker 4x6 in the back. These speakers and tweeters sound great and come with everything needed for mounting and have high end wire connectors. I drilled 3 holes to mount the new speaker trim adapters, one at two o'clock, one at 6 o'clock and one at 10 o'clock. To mount the tweeters I used the factory tweeter housings. I removed the factory tweeter using a flat head screw driver and drilled a hole for the JL tweeter wires to pass through. Would recommend these

Pros: Great sound and quality materials.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Hermitage, TN on 4/25/2021

2012 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sounds amazing. Very very happy with them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, WV on 4/20/2021

2008 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A bit of plastic trimming and hot glue and the tweeters fit right into the existing mounts. Woofers mounted easily using the included brackets. The sound is a a very good upgrade over stock and I was surprised of the sound quality at this price point. I won't hesitate to recommend JL Audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

These things rock

Crutchfield customer from Camano Island, WA on 4/17/2021

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Put these in my 2000 Jetta TDI a couple weeks ago. These things seriously rock with my Alpine system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean sound

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 4/14/2021

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota sequoia 2019

Crutchfield customer from Republic, MO on 4/8/2021

2019 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound greats on my toyota sequoia . Recommend to buy it for update ur car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Lisbon, ND on 4/7/2021

1998 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great easy install and came with everything I needed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, MA on 4/6/2021

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are pretty nice, I really notice the clarity of the tweeters over the stock tweeters they replaced. There is however some background hissing noise always present now, even when the head unit is turned off. I don't know if it is the crossover or some sort of grounding issue, I have a pair of amps connected to the battery but they seem to be grounded properly. I will need to address this at some point because it will drive me bonkers if I ever drive without music. The door speakers are ok but I was really hoping for more mid-bass. They were supposed to round out my system, I have a 12" Rockford Fosgate P3 subwoofer in the back and these things still seem like they don't quite fill out the mid-bass like I was hoping. In a different car/install I had some nice Polks that hit much harder and deeper than these. I would have purchase Polk again but they were on backorder. Overall I'm happy with this purchase even though it doesn't fully meet my expectations.

Pros: Nice highs

Cons: Somewhat lacking in mid-bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 4/3/2021

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought here for the front of my 09 JK. The sound is amazing for the price! Love them!

Pros: Great bang for your buck!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Out with the old, in with the BOOM

Josef from CLEARWATER, FL on 3/30/2021

2019 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

ALRIGHT YALL! I do not do reviews. Thats how impressed I am with these. So I have a 2019 Hyundai Elantra and the stock speakers are awful. I went to get them upgraded and was quoted $1800. I am not 18 anymore and have no desire for my car to bump down the road. I just want my music to sound good lol. THANK GOD one of my friend told me about Crutchfield. I chose to put the C1-650 in my front doors and the C1-650x in the back. Crutchfield hooked me up with the harnesses, mounts, and recommended a couple other tools I might need. They were cheaper than I could find online so I bought that stuff too. Glad I did-the swap took me about 15 minutes per door, saved me over $1500, and they sound AMAZING. I am so grateful! Thank you Crutchfield for being the best at what you do. You have a customer for life. If youre on the fence about whether or not these are for you-they are! BUY THEM.

Pros: cost easy installation amazing customer service dude, we can do this all day, read my review!

Cons: The tweeters dont have a simple harness hookup. The ones that come with it are very big, and would require cutting wires and such. So I didn't use them. Kind of a bummer, BUT combining these with the C1-650x gave me the sound I wanted. FOR ME.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Factory fit

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 3/27/2021

2021 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice n loud, I like the sound of aluminum/titanium tweeters so I prefer these over soft dome. On factory amp power the sound was good but with a JL XD600 they sound so much better. Minor EQ tweaks to tune to taste. Low depth measurement was a help in my car

Pros: Smooth sound low mount depth

Cons: None for me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Franc from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/25/2021

2012 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed on a 2012 Volkswagen Passat and hooked up to an Alpine amp. The sound quality and volume is much better than the factory speakers, I'm very happy with this product.

Pros: Sound quality Sound volume Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

jeep jk

Crutchfield customer from Covington, LA on 3/24/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

love the yellow and great sound

Pros: great sound

Cons: had to do some fab work for them to fit in jeep jk

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, VA on 3/21/2021

2018 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 3/18/2021

2018 Hyundai Kona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good build quality. I haven't install the tweeter since modification is needed but, I have a bit of sound distortion even with speaker insulation installed. Also am using factory stereo instead of aftermarket.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pnes, FL on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers are a step up from factory, but the bass is slightly boomie, and the treble a little on the bright side, but when I play my dap player with .flac files through the auxiliary they sound much better. All in all not bad for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 3/15/2021

2006 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic quality for price.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Lake, WA on 3/11/2021

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put these in these in my 2012 silverado and they are a significant upgrade, currently they are being powered by a touchscreen pioneer head unit. The detail of these speakers rival that of quality bookshelf speakers. The highs are a little harsh but that can be taken care of with EQ.

Pros: Price,slim crossover,detail and clarity

Cons: Highs can get fatiguing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great purchase

Crutchfield customer from Galt, CA on 3/7/2021

2000 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good sound very clear and clean would buy again and would recommend to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Bryce from NEWBURGH, IN on 3/1/2021

1999 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tweeter terminals and wiring is a bad design. I tested them before installing and when connecting them it was tough with the spade connectors that were used. After testing when going to disconnect them the wires came out of the crimped connections. Also to add is the mounting space for the woofer is very thin maybe an 1/8 of an inch of mounting space. They sound good besides that but shouldn't have these issues with JL. Not much bass comes from these either. Yes they are hooked to an amplifier and tuned properly.

Pros: Good sound quality not very much bass comes from these though.

Cons: Too tight of spade connectors used withe the tweeters. Not enough surface area that i would for mounting the woofer.

Crutchfield response on 3/16/2021
Bryce, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 2/27/2021

2018 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for my rear doors

Pros: Price Great value Good with other Focal components

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 2/19/2021

2008 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great,can hear everything clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Lake Jackson, TX on 2/14/2021

2008 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Even the entry level JL Audio speakers have that legendary quality and signature sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Brandywine, MD on 2/12/2021

2014 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sound and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Rutherfordton, NC on 2/12/2021

1990 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really love the sound for the price. Excellent product. Thanks crutchfield for the excellent shipping department. Got my speakers a day earlier than expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 1/31/2021

2012 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speaker were easy to install and sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stellar Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, UT on 1/31/2021

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed these in a 2001 Toyota Camry with stock tweeters in the door sail. These fit perfectly. The tweeters fit the OEM bracket perfect and they even have the threaded screw hole. I was very pleased. The woofers fit the door, I just had to drill four new holes. I did not use the adapters. I cut the stock wiring as long as possible and used the included crimp lugs. The extra kit was great for the high density foam, that's all I used out of it. I installed the bypass filters for the tweeters and taped them to the existing door harness. I took my time and completed the installation in under three hours. I paired these with a JVC deck that pushes 50w. After spending some time tweaking the decks eq and other settings, I have to say that these speakers sound as clear and crisp as anything I've ever heard. They sound very lively. You really have to be able to eq them though. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these to anyone. I really love the sound I get out of them. I only wish I would have tried some JL Audio 6x9's for the rear speakers. I'm a really happy customer. Crutchfield is a great company and shipping was great, I had them three days after I purchased them.

Pros: Awesome speakers

Cons: Not one!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 1/24/2021

2015 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Less low-end performance than anticipated, though highs are accurate and clear. Installation of tweeter in my Volvo S60 required quite a bit of customization. Also, the crossover, while not overly bulky, was bulkier than I would prefer, especially in a door that already has a lot going on behind the paneling.

Pros: Value, high end clarity

Cons: Low-end somewhat lacking, bulky crossover

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 1/17/2021

1996 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Put these in a '96 Chevy truck actually kind of behind the seat facing up ran the Tweeter on pillar post above my head sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 1/11/2021

1996 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The speakers sound great and were easy to install. I had a few technical wiring questions and the Crutchfield team was there to help me right away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 1/11/2021

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

kicks hard and better than stock. fits perfect on 2011 Silverado

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Crown Point, IN on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Theses are a very nice entry level component speaker. The bass is nice and the highs are clear. I would recommend these again.

Pros: Nice quality

Cons: None so far .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, CO on 1/5/2021

1998 Toyota Camry LE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These came with 2 adaptor brackets. Didn't need either one. They mounted straight to the ones I took out. Same with the tweeters. Very easy to install & they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Big improvement over stock speakers in jeep JK

Pros: Easy and slow

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 12/26/2020

2015 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding set of speakers and tweeters. Enhanced my car stereo experience with higher highs and deeper bass.

Pros: Able to turn volume up without distortion

Cons: Lowers volume due to ohm difference

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/21/2020

2018 Nissan Rogue Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2015 Ford Fusion - Great Improvement

Bruce from Merrillville, IN on 12/17/2020

2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In my 2015 Ford Fusion, I wanted to replace the front 2 speakers, since the stock speakers are pretty weak. These JL speakers are just the thing I wanted. The stock OEM speakers in the Fusion lineup are embarassingly cheap, and weigh only about 6 ounces each for the WHOLE SPEAKER, with tiny magnets, so it was time for them to go. The JL speakers put out much more bass than stock OEM and a also output a noticeably lower frequency, as the magnets are like 5x heavier. The bass is clean and punchy. It is a great listening experience with minimal work if you just want a quick upgrade to the Fusion's stock system. They are a direct-fit replacement upgrade with the included adapter hardware and work with the OEM system. Instead of volume 19 now I listen at volume 21-22 since they require a little extra juice to run. Sometimes there is a bit of a coil buzz on my unit at powerful mids, especially with pianos when certain notes are hit. I don't know if it's a weakness of this model, or if my particular speaker is flawed. Either way, better than OEM. Well worth it.

Pros: Good bass Much better than OEM Direct fit Super easy to install

Cons: Sometimes slight speaker buzz with intense loud mids in piano tones Slightly more power needed to drive them than OEM

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Horrible Warranty!

Alex from Peoria, AZ on 12/16/2020

2008 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Buyer beware! The factory warranty from JLA is useless! I received a tweeter that did not work out of the box, and is "open" when measuring the resistance. I did not get around to installing these until after the 60 day refund/exchange period so it is no fault to Crutchfield. So I was left to deal with the JLA warranty process. First of all, you are not dealing directly with JL Audio. They make you find an authorized retailer in your area that will act as a intermediary for some reason. In my case it was a local car audio shop. So I submitted to them my faulty tweeter as a warranty claim on Sept 16, 2020. It is now Dec 16, 3 months later and I have not received a repaired part or a replacement. The last communication I received was from the local car audio shop in early November saying there was a back order on parts and it wouldn't be replaced until Dec 10. Well that date has come and gone. How is it acceptable to wait this long for a resolution? I continue to wait till this day and I should just get something else and accept this as a loss. I am driving around listening to a sound system with a missing tweeter, so everyday I am reminded and annoyed by this issue. So let it be known that JL Audio does not care about it's customers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 24 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 12/16/2020

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good quality for the price. I will order 2 more sets for our Sequoia.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/9/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge improvement over the factory speakers in my 2005 Silverado Crew Cab. Good price and great quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Fort Washington, MD on 11/7/2020

2015 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good base with clear sounding tweeter. Get it now before its too late

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Osseo, MN on 11/3/2020

2003 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had to replace my factory speakers, I chose these on my sons review. What a big sound difference for the better. Would recommend these to anyone wanting to upgrade to a better affordable speaker.

Pros: Easy to install extra connectors worked great sounds great well packed to protect the speakers

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Gbus from Vermont on 11/1/2020

2018 Honda Fit LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation with good improvement in sound quality and imaging over the factory coaxial two speaker setup.

Pros: Easy fitment, good sound, lower price point.

Cons: None found so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Seward, NE on 10/29/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put these in my 2000 Chevy Silverado to replace a set of worn out Sonys. The sound great. They do not put out a ton of bass but I didn't expect them to. They do, however, put out a lot more base than the Sony's. They sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Joseph from Kansas City, MO on 9/5/2020

2016 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Took about 5.5 hours to install, but I did not have any prior experience removing the door or dash panels. These speakers sound much better than the GM factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love my JLs!

Alfonso from MIAMI, FL on 8/29/2020

2012 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are a great upgrade from the factory speakers. The install is pretty straight forward when installed using the adapter rings and harness adapters. Using a little creativity, you can mount the tweeters without modifying the factory space/mount. The sound is clear and crisp, but with a RMS of 50w the factory head unit doesn't do them justice. I plan to amplify them with a minimum of 45w x4 RMS soon. Great value for the price so far! Mounted in the doors of a 2012 Honda Accord LX

Pros: Sound great Sturdy design Look good

Cons: Tweeter mounting options could be better

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Grand Forks, ND on 8/18/2020

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipment was quick! Great Quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, TN on 8/16/2020

1999 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Good bass and clear highs.

Pros: Easy to install using included adapter. Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressed

Daniel from Monterey Park, CA on 8/15/2020

2008 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed these components in my front doors for my 2008 Acura TSX--paired with JL Kelley's Phantom amp (modified OEM plug and play amp). The supplied Scosche speaker adapters imo aren't ideal. I cut my OEM speaker to use as an adapter and drilled into it. I normally buy coaxials but they seem a bit bright when turned up. The OEM amp already seperates the mids and tweeters so I did not use the supplied crossovers--I'm not using a true amp anyways, just a modified OEM plug and play. After initial installation, I turned it up a bit, and was amazed. These speakers are very sensetive so they don't need much to power these up--obviously better with a true amp to match RMS. The clarity is absoloutely mazing. These sound like studio monitors in my car. I also sound deadened my doors and put FAST rings. I am a JL believer moving forward. Will be purchasing for my rear doors and 6x9.

Pros: Clarity, tight+loud bass, tweeters are nice without being harsh.

Cons: Did not purchase these earlier.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Kill Devil Hl, NC on 7/30/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Factory Sound system Overhaul

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 2016 Ford Explorer and wanted to revamp my factory system so I gave Crutchfield a call and worked with Q. Q was able to give me suggestions and price points that fit into my budget. He was very helpful and really added value to my overall experience since this was my first time working with Crutchfield and doing this kind of overhaul. I will definitely be buying from them again in the future! Jeff Raleigh

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-650

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix on 7/28/2020

2011 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got this to replace standard front speakers and tweeters on a 2011 Mercedes c300. I was not sure what to expect because of stock head unit ( no aftermarket amp ) and no sound deadening on doors. Also this is entry level c1. But when I started listening to music with new c1 the difference is night and day. The sound is crisp and excellent stereo separation. The mid bass and deep bass are improved. No rattling from door panels. Tweeters are smooth and detailed without being intrusive or overpowering. Even when you hold stock factory driver and tweeters they are very light and cheap. The jl c1 has superior build quality. This is a must install on factory stock system if you don't plan to do any other major work. Huge improvement in sound quality. Crutchfield shipping and experience was great always and they included all adapters and wiring harnesses. Thank you for helping me make a cheap but drastically noticable difference in my music system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Plattsburgh,