Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio C1-690x

C1 Series 6"x9" 2-way car speakers

MFR # 99045

JL Audio C1-690x

JL Audio C1-690x

C1 Series 6"x9" 2-way car speakers

MFR # 99045

33 reviews
View this product

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Tete, LA on 2/25/2021

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect with no amp

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is amazing running off factory equipment only.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Ram 1500 w/ Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tight fit in my 14 Ram 1500 (rear doors) but that was expected. Crutchfield said they wouldn't fit but I knew I could make them easy enough. Talked with one of their techs to get the free harness and it look all of 5 min. The sound is better than stock with cleaner highs. Hopefully the addition of a DSP or LOC will make them sound even better.

Pros: Cleaner sound over stock Crutchfield service is outstanding

Cons: Extra work to get it installed (expected and not bad)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2018 taco

Crutchfield customer from West New York, NJ on 7/9/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crispy clear and with good punch mid range base and plenty loud without amping. Hooked up to factory non JBL stereo with about 17W ouput. Paired with 650s component in the back but without the use of tweeters. Sound deadened the doors with noico. Night and day compared to stock speakers. Super easy install with Crutchfield install kit and wiring harness. Soldered the plug & play wiring harness

Pros: Great sound. Excellent fit, can easily go without amp

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic in the Tacoma

Crutchfield customer from Algonquin, IL on 5/26/2020

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Leaps and bounds better than the OEM JBL front door speakers in my 2020 Tacoma. TBH the "premium" JBLs are just dog breath. These speakers add much needed low end to the equation. The only thing stopping this from 5 stars is the 4 ohm resistor. I get why its there, but now the dash tweeters sound overpowering and I am considering replacing them as well.

Pros: great low end

Cons: makes you want to replace all the other speakers too

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Cornelius, OR on 1/12/2020

1994 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These fit perfectly in my old Dodge truck, makes my commute more enjoyable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/23/2019

2020 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker that runs very well off of factory deck power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Brighter and way better than OEM

Simon III from Floresville, TX on 11/29/2019

2013 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wife used the feature to "listen" what the different speakers sounded like,and she really like the way the JL's sounded . When installed they seemed alot brighter and and not as much low end bass response bit they are a definite improvement over the factory speakers in the front doors of her 2013 Lexus ES. So she is happy with the sound as anything is better than factory. And I am not pulling door panels again to trade out speakers unless another door lock actuator goes out ......

Pros: Great clean bright sound

Cons: Misleading bass response on the listen before you buy application.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice!!!

Crutchfield customer from Camden, TN on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean crisp some of the best speakers I have tried great c.s. !!!!! Will definitely buy from crutchfield again that have been better than great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, IL on 7/29/2019

1980 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Social Circle, GA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound through a standard head unit.

Pros: cost, simple install, great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

peter from Arroyo Hondo, NM on 5/15/2019

2017 Ford F-250 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not impressed, sound is mediocre at best. Have these in the front and went with cheaper Infinity references for the rear. The Infinity's at the rear sound clearer, fuller, louder, and well balanced. The JL Audio required using a PEQ to fully turn down 4.5 kHz (-12dB) to remove harshness. Unfortunately, I put together my system slowly and am past my return period. Going to replace the JL Audios with the update Infinity Reference and see what happens.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 5/13/2019

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound, tuned to play specific frequency range. Will need a Subwoofer to pair with these to hit the lows. This is mid and high range speaker only

Pros: Fantastic sound and clarity

Cons: Not intended for low frequency bass

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Keep on rock'n

Crutchfield customer from Richland, WA on 5/12/2019

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit in my 98 Dodge truck. Good sound. Easy peasy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear and Loud

Crutchfield customer from Stanley, ND on 5/11/2019

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replace the factory Silverado speakers and it was a big help, then I paired with a little amp and OMG, very clear spin and very loud.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade !

Marty from Maple Ridge, BC, Canada on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in my 2007 Lexus RX400 in the front doors to replace the stock paper mark Levinson speakers. Huge quantity difference. It sure makes the vehicle more enjoyable to drive. Feel like I'm now at the concert. I've now ordered Infinity Ref3032 for the dash corners from Crutchfield.

Pros: Quick speaker delivery, quality JL product without breaking bank. Sound is so much better than stock speakers.

Cons: Not a big deal , but speakers arrived, I installed and then surprise! , installation kit arrived the next day. Everything should arrive at one time especially for a rookie like me. 4 out of 5 only because of the 2 deliveries.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great OEM replacement.

Crutchfield customer from Susanville, CA on 3/25/2019

2000 Mitsubishi Galant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are overall better than stock. Which is exactly what they were designed for, basically OEM replacements. They are backed by JL's long history of making high quality products, but at entry level pricing. Install was easy with one minor setback, not the speaker, but the included spacer. The basket for the speaker was a bit to large to drop completely into the hole in my rear deck. The spacer is usually intended for bottom mounting but this was not feasible in my 2000 Mitsubishi Galant due to the trunk springs so I had to top mount my speakers. The included spacer is 3/4" thick which would have not let the speaker sit low enough for the rear deck cover to be reinstalled. I did not want to cut holes in the cover so I ordered some 1/4" spacers off of amazon and everything fit perfectly and everything still looks factory stock. Overall they sound great and I am happy with my purchase.

Pros: Quality, sound, looks

Cons: Could use more spacer options

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Mike from Hagatna, GU on 3/6/2019

2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers fits my 2009 FJ Cruiser well and is an excellent upgrade from the factory pair. In the dash I have a pair of Infinity Reference REF-3032cfx's and I'll be adding another pair of those in the rear. The speakers are powered a Sony WX-GS920BH which delivers more power than others in it's class that would fit my FJ. Clean, clear and enough bass when it counts. A solid choice that didn't disappoint.

Pros:

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Smooth, accurate & defined with exceptional bass response!"

Garrett from Knoxville, TN on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these for the rear deck of my Acura. With a little Sound deafening treatment to the metal surface of the deck, these sound great! Fed power with the JBL CLUB 4 channel amp these provide exceptional bass response down to 39 hz. Smooth, clean, & still hit hard. Very pleased with my purchase thanks to my Crutchfield advisor.

Pros: Bass down to 39 hz. (Much lower than the 1st set of 6x9's I tried.) Not overly large. Smooth, full, & highs are not harsh

Cons: Slightly rub my trunk support/lift bars.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

David from Allentown, NJ on 10/20/2018

1966 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sound, works great with the sound enclosures. Pairs nicely with the two 4" in the front of the car

Pros:

Cons: Would like if they offered grills, speakers are mounted in an enclosure and no front protection.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Camino, CA on 10/4/2018

2002 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kinda lacking in the low end, the stock speakers had a better low end

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 8/15/2018

2005 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always happy with JL products

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Greatly Disappointed

Ric from Atlanta, GA on 8/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to replace a blown Polk DB-691 6x9 in my car. I purchased the JL Audio C1-690x because I was told they were one of my few options that would fit. I wanted to be a JL Audio "fan boy", but these speakers greatly disappoint. I faded the sound to the front of my car - I side by side tested the JL Audio against the older Polk and it wasn't even close. The JL Audio lacked in bass response, the highs weren't lively, the sound played at a lower volume. I toggled the balance left and right; I even gave the JL Audio a week to break in and the sound just wasn't there. I ended up going with the Inifinity REF-9632ix - after performing the same exact test. The Infinity speakers were alive, the sound presence was back, the bass response was 10 times better, the muddied sound was gone. After a week with the Infinity's, the sound has improved more after break in. (My car - 2016 Toyota Camry - factory head unit, 40w/ch Fosgate amp, LCI 6 channel sound processor). Even though the Infinity's are listed as not fitting, a knowledgeable Crutchfield rep found that these were only slightly beyond specs. I've had JL Audio in the past, but this speaker should not be on anyone's short list.

Pros: nothing

Cons: low volume, muddied/muffled bass, highs that didn't pop or sound alive.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Brattleboro, VT on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great! Awesome bass from stock head unit and fit was perfect with supplied adapters and wiring connectors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Punxsutawney, PA on 7/8/2018

2003 Mitsubishi Galant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

your staff steered me to an excellent pair of speakers...THANKS...CUSTOMER TOM COSTANZO

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great well worth the moner

Geoff from Hinkley, CA on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great. I love these speakers they sound amazing

Pros: Great sound, Easy install

Cons: no grill for top mounting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Goodkat from Wilmer, AL on 3/15/2018

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good but need to put a amp on them

Pros: Sound good and am sure they will hold up.

Cons: The only thing I can find to gripe about is installing these speakers. When tightening the screws down the head of the screw will squash and torque the speaker surround. A small washer will fix this problem but washers are not included in the package.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Ram Truck speaker upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 3/11/2018

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the speakers to replace the Boston next 97's that I put into my 2001 Dodge ram Quad cab 1500. These are a much more aggressive speaker than he Boston and fit into front doors very well. Depth was not an issue with the window. I have this connected to an old amplifier and they cannot take a lot more power than the Boston's. I'm very happy with these upgraded speakers

Pros: - Large magnet and ability to handle lots of power - great bass handling for a full range speaker - perfectly sized for 2001 Ram 1500 front doors

Cons: - none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great range, strong highs and bass!

Cameron from Apopka, FL on 2/28/2018

2016 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers worked wonderfully! I installed these in my Toyota Corolla 2016 S Plus along with a Pioneer GM-D1004 45 watt RMS amplifier. They have great sound, and the highs and bass don't drown each other out. This is a great, versatile product that can provide some amazing sound staging for higher frequency signal in your rear deck or back doors. I had to drill new holes to mount the product in my rear deck, but the large mounting hole made it easy to maneuver the speaker into position. I would recommend these as a great alternative to the C2 class speakers.

Pros: Great range, good price, well designed.

Cons: Speaker mounts did not fit OEM holes, and there was no installation gear.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, Tennessee on 1/30/2018

1982 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound horrible, when turned up they distort, my alpine s series in the dash are much better speakers and if they would of fit in the rear of my vehicle I would of bought them, I always had good luck with JL audio but I would not recommend these speakers to anyone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/31/2018
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 9 found this helpful

Sound is great !

Troy from Mechanicsville, VA on 12/19/2017

1999 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Sam from Mcdonough, GA on 10/10/2017

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. JL continues to make great products.

Pros: Sound, quality, proce

Cons: Noen

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690x

Crutchfield customer from Athens, OH on 7/16/2017

1995 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit like a dream and sound is great

Pros: great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP