Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
995 180 962 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
995 180 962 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio C1-690

C1 Series 6"x9" component speaker system

MFR # 99046

JL Audio C1-690

JL Audio C1-690

C1 Series 6"x9" component speaker system

MFR # 99046

60 reviews
View this product

Big improvement over my stock speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Yardville, NJ on 7/30/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the stock radio in my 2010 Toyota Tacoma with a new Sony model Sony WX-920BT from Crutchfield. The radio was more powerful than the stock speakers could handle so I purchased these JL Audio speakers. The JL Audio Speakers were a huge improvement over the stock speakers.

Pros: Sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Carmichael, CA on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great, easy install in my Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Havelock, NC on 7/13/2020

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bang for your buck. 10x the quality of oem speakers and they're the cheapest available JLs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 7/13/2020

2019 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Santa Cruz, CA on 7/7/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These handle power much better than the stock 6x9s in my 2010 Tacoma with a factory head unit and Alpine KTP-445U Power Pack, but I found that to sound good at higher volumes you need to use foam speaker baffles and dynamat.

Pros: Sounds better than stock, not very expensive.

Cons: Need to do something to combat vibration and distortion at higher volumes.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid Components

Mark from Overland Park, KS on 7/6/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Woofers and tweeters sound fantastic, I am really happy with the install on my buddies 4Runner, I would definitely recommend this component set if you have component 6x9 fittings. They were very easy to wire and the material and build quality is top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive tweeters.

Crutchfield customer from Foxboro, MA on 7/2/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tweeters were a huge improvement over the factory speakers. They are small, but I could really hear the difference.

Pros: Sound quality of the tweeters Big improvement over stock

Cons: You may/will have to fabricate a way to hold the tweeters in place.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very happy!

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 6/30/2020

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great component system with extremely clear and crisp sound, especially out of the Tweeters.

Pros: Affordable option with outstanding performance for an FJ Cruiser. The JL Audio component system is superior to the other option from Alpine

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Daniel from BOULDER, CO on 6/29/2020

2013 Toyota Prius V

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound amazing! Rap, hip hop, and electronic music is incredibly crystal clear. The reason for 4 stars is that the aluminum tweeters are shrill sometimes. The split second cringes come through on "S's" in the lyrics and certain cymbal crashes. Once in a while a guitar riff with hit that shrill spot as well. I usually listen to rock and punk which is where the shrill comes out. I tried to adjust my equalizer to soften these sounds but I couldn't get results without affecting other parts of the music. I will be buying silk dome tweeters to replace these and crossing my fingers for a better result.

Pros: Great bang for the buck! Rap, hip hop, and electronic music sound amazing.

Cons: Aluminum tweeters are shrill in rock, punk, metal, etc.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Hilo, HI on 6/26/2020

2005 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fj cruiser

Crutchfield customer from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 6/25/2020

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounting locations needed a slight trim to fit the door panel adapters. Speakers sound clear. Good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Hill, GA on 6/20/2020

2016 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound pretty good so far. Easy to install.

Pros: The filter for the tweeter is small. Great price

Cons: Not to many.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect upgrade from stock

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 6/20/2020

2017 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A significant improvement from the factory system. Great high end and mid-bass/base. The build quality is top notch - they must be losing money on a product built this well at this price point. Highly recommend.

Pros: Build quality High end/midbass and bass Includes spacer rings for better fit

Cons: Could benefit from an amp, as the midrange can get a bit lost in the mix

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 6/17/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 6x9s fit perfectly and sound great but the tweeters do not fit and even if you modify the pillar which I did by the way and ended up breaking the pillar. The excess of wire doesn't fit for the tweeters either.??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Chris from Madison, AL on 6/14/2020

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2016 Subaru Forester Excellent upgrade to the stock speakers and Crutchfield support helped as well. Left the OEM head unit in and plan to add an amp later. These required drilling new mounting holes with the metra adapter ring, but easy mod. Used a back strap and wiring adapters from Amazon for the tweeters so we didn't have to cut the factory wiring. Installed the JL Audio matching speakers in the rear doors. Super simple. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from North Salt Lake, UT on 6/10/2020

1999 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great place to buy from and a great product . Recommendation for my truck was perfect ! Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good quality product, at reasonable prices.

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 5/28/2020

1999 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product. Re-established excellent stereo sound in the vehicle. Installation instructions were spot on, making for easy, quality installation.

Pros: Quality, ease of installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Springs, FL on 5/25/2020

1997 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work pretty good and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Quality

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 5/25/2020

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing.. handles the midbass well as well as crystal clear highs... Had a small snafu installing the tweeters but mainly on the first one. Kinda put it upside down. Now it's good though! All I run is JL audio.. Have never been let Down.

Pros: Stellar Sound

Cons: None. Worth the buy.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best entry level speakers I've encountered.

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 5/25/2020

2014 Lexus RX350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For an entry level speaker system this is about as good as it gets. In my previous install I used Rockford Fosgate Prime and they were more efficient but not quite as clear sounding as these. I installed these in my 2014 Lexus RX350, they don't have as much bass as the stock speakers but are considerably clearer and cleaner sounding so the tradeoff is well worth it. The subwoofer should be handling the low bass anyway.

Pros: Clean sound Significantly better high end

Cons: Lack bass authority compared to the stock speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 5/25/2020

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded vehicle and the first thing I did was have two sets of JL Audio speakers installed in my 2017 Chevy Colorado. Crutchfield is the best. Thanks to two technical adviosors with help on gettig great sound without losing my OEM infotainment. Great advice. Went to Miami Pro Audio here in Jacksonville, FL for the install. These 6 x 9 are amazing.

Pros: Awesome sound. Great price for high quality audio.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Davis from Cleveland, MS on 5/22/2020

2015 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are significantly better than the factory speakers in my 2015 F150. Really complimented my JL subs that had been previously overpowering the factory speakers. The midbass is excellent, the tweeters are miles better than the stocks. Powering them from the factory non amplified radio. Have a 4 channel amp on the way for them. Also shoutout to Crutchfield for sending the metra brackets and wiring harnesses for free.

Pros: Midbass is excellent, highs are amazing, vocals clear as day.

Cons: Had to fab a tweeter bracket, but that was expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 5/18/2020

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! These speakers were such an improvement over my stock ones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

03 Toyota 4Runner

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 5/13/2020

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install in my '03 4Runner SR5 with very basic electronic knowledge/working experience. Crutchfield is the best when it comes providing you with everything necessary to get the job done. Highly recommend this company. The product itself is a great, basic upgrade for my truck! Sounds like I'm in a new vehicle.

Pros: Ease of install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2019 F350

Chris from CARSON CITY, NV on 4/14/2020

2019 Ford F-350 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Second set of C1s on a Ford truck. These went into a a 2019 F350 with the B&O audio system. If you do nothing else to the "premium audio" install these. The difference is night and day with the factory amp. Crutchfield provided the correct plugs and speaker adapters so install was painless. I did opt for a set of C2 silk tweeters purchased elsewhere but that's my personal preference for tweeters. The ones that come with the C1-690 are excellent. I really like the amount of mid-bass these put out over 6.5s which I had tried earlier. I think these are often overlooked but these have twice make a spectacular difference in two F series truck I've used them in.

Pros: Exceptional sound and clarity. Drop right in with out issue

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

High Quality Sound from Factory Power

Jim from CHANDLER, AZ on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these JL's in the front door and dash of a Lexus GS 350. I am powering them with factory power and they are a significant upgrade from the factory speakers. The high frequencies are clean without being over bearing, and the woofers put out an impressive amount of mid bass. To be fair, there is a factory subwoofer in the rear deck, but these woofers sound rich on their own. I used sound deadening on the inside of the outside door panel and stinger fast rings to ensure a snug, quality install. These were all installed at the same time, so it is hard to say what made the biggest difference. I can say that it is quieter inside, and the music really shines from these speakers, in this environment. The speakers are solidly constructed, and were very easy to install with the adapters for the woofers, and universal backstraps for the tweeters. I was a little concerned about replacing a 3.5 inch speaker in the dash with a tweeter, but I am very satisfied with the end result. I was tempted to spend more money on higher end speakers, but if you are not powering with an amplifier, an efficient set of JL's are a very nice way to go. An upgrade to a 50 or 60 watt per channel amplifier would only make them sound better, and that may be a future upgrade. Kudos to Crutchfield for helping me select a great product for my situation, and not pushing me toward more expensive products.

Pros: Tweeters create a spacious sound stage. Woofers provide a nice mid range thump. Impressive clean volume from factory power.

Cons: Install was time consuming. But I feel like the extra effort and expense of sound deadening material and fast rings made for a good quality end result.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Terry from Aberdeen, WA on 3/14/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was missing hardware for flush mounting tweeters. Contacted JL Audio directly and they were of no help (none available to send me). Crutchfield sent me the needed parts ASAP. This review is based on lack of JL Audio customer support, and not a reflection of Crutchfield. They were awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 2/21/2020

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Well worth the money but the tweeters are lacking just a little bit that could also be because they're wired to the factory radio and my setting are limited. But overall great product and I'd recommend purchasing it.

Pros: Bang for the buck

Cons: Tweeters could be more pronounced

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Forestville, MD on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good bass and overall sound over OE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great factory replacement

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade over OEM speakers in my 2003 4Runner and Crutchfield support was fantastic.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Frederiksted, VI on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the combintion sound it puts out, great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade once powered by amp

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these off a recommendation from a Crutchfield rep based on my listening preferences and fitment for my 2009 Toyota Tacoma DC. I was installing in phases - Head unit, Speakers, then amp. The 3 weeks I had these in my car without an aftermarket amp, I was tempted to return them based on not being "wowed" by them compared to stock. I stuck with them because I knew I was getting an amp to power them. They definitely were an improvement over stock but when underpowered, the highs are kind of harsh and the overall sound isn't very full, especially knowing what they are capable of. NOTES- 1. The Tacoma stock JBL amplifier will not do them justice. Aftermarket HU might be better but I know the JBL stock amp puts out similar wattage. 2. As most people have said and I knew going in this, an aftermarket AMP is the lifeblood to your system and any speakers you install. I chose the Rocksford Fosgate R600X5 which puts out exactly the wattage I need to correctly power these speakers (plus my rears and sub). OVERALL - These speakers have a clean punchy bass, not overpowering. Highs (once amp was installed) became fuller and cleaner, not twangy or harsh. The sound filled out nicely and I am happy with my purchase. 4.5 stars would be my true rating. Hope this helped any Tacoma drivers out there!

Pros: Easy install Quality tight bass Clean highs

Cons: Possibly better mids

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Cayey, PR on 9/25/2019

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked well in a 2016 Subaru Legacy 2.5 Premium w/o Harmon Kardon

Keith W from INDIANAPOLIS, IN on 9/23/2019

2016 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I reviewed the companion JL C1-650x rear door speakers also. These went into the front door of a 2016 Subaru Legacy without any factory audio upgrades. The dome tweeters went into the corner dashboard positions and the woofers went into the bottom of the front doors. I am very happy with the improvement in sound quality. I had to fabricate a mounting bracket for the tweeters to fit into the 3" factory speakers' mounting position. Mac, from Crutchfield helped make sure I had everything I needed. He was great. So much more bass now and the clarity of the highs is so impressive. It's not a mystery, all six of the factory speakers we took out of the Subara did not weigh as much as one of these JL speakers. Here's a tip: There is no supplied wire harness for the Subaru dashboard factory wiring. The notion of trying to cut off the harness connector and splice a wire that is barely four inches long and in the limited workspace that is encumbered by the windshield was not fun. So I cut apart the factory Subaru tweeter and reused the wire harness connector. I just had to splice the head unit side of the JL crossover to the wires I cut off the Subaru speaker. I had some spade connectors that I crimped onto the Subaru harness and onto the JL supply wires. I even attached the modified Subaru harness to the back of the tweeter bracket I made which made it very stable. I just plugged in the factory connector and attached the brackets and replaced the grills and I was done!

Pros: Relatively straightforward installation except for the tweeters Crutchfield presales staff were very helpful - thanks Mac. JL speakers specialize in improving factory head units without upgrades or amplifiers

Cons: Sort of complex install for the tweeters in the dashboard corners. Mac made sure I had what I needed. Just took some time to figure it out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Justin, TX on 9/22/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Punchy bass and clear highs!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do not recommend

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 9/9/2019

2019 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the speakers to improve the sound quality on 2019 Crosstrek. I installed the speakers using the brackets and harness as a woofer only since i did not want to cut into factory OEM wiring as recommended in the master sheet. There was a significant drop in the midrange quality and the overall sound was unpleasant. I was able to listen to the OEM speakers at level 10-12, however, with the JL's i found myself turning up to 18-22 just to hear the vocals. The only improvement was on the low end bass. I called JL directly and they recommended decoupling and using sound dampening behind the speaker. I then installed foam tape between bracket and sheet metal, between bracket and speaker, foam taped the wiring openings on the brackets and used a 6X9 decoupling ring to improve sound quality along with Dynamit in the doors. Nothing helped. I ordered a wire harness from another vendor thinking the OEM tweeter may be affecting something. After fabricating tweeter mounts and installing them in the dash, the JL tweeters made things worse. The highs were very tinny & harsh. The OEM, non Harman, woofer and tweeter sound WAY BETTER than these do. I have always loved JL subs & amps, however, I cannot recommend this speaker.

Pros: Deeper low bass

Cons: Everything else

Crutchfield response on 9/10/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Cant go wrong with these

stephen from Dublin, CA on 8/11/2019

2002 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent choice speaker for my dodge ram. Direct fit, no fuss no muss. Nice tight bass tones, and crisp highs. This has a small cross over inline with the wiring for the tweeter. Makes for a compact package without the bulky crossover box normally found. I chose surface mount for the tweeters. Minus one star because I had a hard time snapping them on. This was due to mis aligned tweeter terminals that kept it from fully seating. A little bend here and there and finally snapped it together Highly recommend an amp for these. My head unit puts out 22w rms, and they sound good. But they really hit hard with an amp. Sort of like beer in a plastic cup vs chilled glass. I mean you could do it, but why ?

Pros: Fit, sound, compactness of crossover

Cons: Fussy tweeter mount, but not a deal breaker

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wish I could get a matching set

Crutchfield customer from Kaneohe, HI on 7/19/2019

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would give more stars but I won't be able to match this series speakers with the rear from this site. Already spoke with several staff. But the speakers do work great and sound much better

Pros: Sound great

Cons: No matching set for the rear

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Thank you!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/2/2019

1997 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound good! Installation was a pain. The additional connectors I first received were indicated to be for the back speakers but were for the front. I was sent the additional rear speaker connectors at no charge. Fantastic technical service on a Sunday! Very happy with Drew initially chosing the product to best fit my application. Super happy with "Zane" with his patience and help! I emailed him pictures on the fly; fantastic! I suggest that Crutchfield offer the door panel pins for the respective application.

Pros: Best possible speakers for my application! Technical Service is fantastic!

Cons: Need better sketches / pictures.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Andrew from Baltimore, MD on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. Good soundstage. Excellent bass for 6x9s. Won't replace a subwoofer, but very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck

Collin from Raleigh, NC on 2/15/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These exceeded expectations for what I was looking for! Tweeters are clear and the woofers filled out the sound perfect for my truck. Highly recommended.

Pros: -clear highs -punchy mids

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Jacob from Richmond, KY on 1/20/2019

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these JL Audio C1-690 speakers per the recommendations of Crutchfield Support. These speakers are definitely better then the stock factory speakers. Powered these speakers with a JVC kw-v340bt unit. After reading the reviews and especially Philips review on his Tacoma. I called support twice prior to installation. The first call was asking if I needed anything extra for installation other then what they send. I did buy the straps for tweeters, they work. (2 cable adapters for 6x9 speakers and 2 speaker adapters). The second call was explaining how to wire up the speaker. Note: For a 2014 Tacoma Access Cab the signal comes in through the tweeters, then runs to the 6x9 speaker and back to the tweeters.(4 wires on one connector) So when you connect the 6x9 speaker with the supplied cable adapter and then connect the JL audio inline crossover to the tweeters.(Leaving the factory tweeter connection unplug, the 6x9 speaker will NOT work.) Supports said to cut the wires for the tweeter and connect them all to together so the circuit is complete. Then all speakers will work. I didn't what to do that, just in case I wanted put the factory speakers back in. What I did was to purchase tweeter cable adapters from another website, using these cable adapters for the tweeter signal, then run the output to the 6x9 speaker, and the signal passes on to the inline JL Audio crossover to the tweeter. (Leave out the factory adapter for the 6x9). All speakers work without cutting any wire

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great Speaker Choice for 2nd Gen Dodge Ram

Loren from Kansas City, MO on 1/4/2019

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are a great improvement over the stock Infinity system that came in my 2001 Dodge Ram. I mounted the tweeter in the door panel (see photo). I just left the old tweeter in its place on the A-Pillar. I (or my 3 year old) managed to lose the spring steel mounts and fasteners, so I used the plastic cups that were intended for surface mounting, and some replacement fasteners from the hardware store.

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: This goes for all aftermarket speakers I've ever seen, but those wimpy terminals are horrible, especially when the female terminal is a tight fit. How do they expect a guy to put the crossover in the cab if there isn't enough wire to do so? So, it's in a plastic bag in the door - hopefully it won't overheat!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

What an adventure

Philip from Loveland, OH on 11/17/2018

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased JL audio C1-690 component speakers. I received the instructions and read them thoroughly before receiving the speakers and anticipated a problem free installation of the speakers in my Toyota Tacoma. I opened the box and inventoried the contents. I removed the door panels without incident, removed the tweeter, next step "fabricate the mount",Woo, I don't have a machine shop in my garage. Somehow you had to bend and manipulate a back strap into a mount, very Mickey Nouse. Instead I called a local installation shop and they kindly fabricated the tweeter mounts. Next remove the woofer and "secure" the new speaker to the supplied mount. Do I use this spacer or not? What screws are used to attach the speaker to the mount? Another call to Crutchfield. The speaker secured and mounted in its place. Now to wire the speakers, hmmm no schematic. Oh, here is a crossover, no mention of the crossover in the instructions, another call to Crutchfield. Now ready to test, NO SOUND. Check the wiring, another call to Crutchfield. Oh, the new harness plug which is supplied doesn't really make the circuit. The call did bear fruit, I snipped four wires soldered them together and voila, SOUND. The moral of this story, Crutchfield instructions are very generic, lack adequate pictures and are generally inadequate. However, the Technical support was excellent. The speakers sound, as my wife and a professional musician says, they are full and crisp. Truly an upgrade from OEM.

Pros: Very good sound, very good technical support

Cons: Written instructions leave a lot to be desired.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

J from Williamsburg, VA on 10/22/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great. The small crossovers allowed for them to be install in the front kick panel and the wires were long enough to feed into the door through the existing wire loom passage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Spectacular improvement over OEM

Bill from Marietta, GA on 8/21/2018

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the terrible OEM front door speakers in a 2015 Forester and installed them before replacing the very mediocre OEM head unit and adding an amplifier. The improvement far exceeded my expectations. There is more bass and clarity than I ever would have expected. I was concerned about how to fabricate a mounting bracket for the in dash tweeter until I came up with using the metal from a dry wall corner bracket and metal shears. Except from having sharp edges, it is incredibly workable and I made a perfect set of brackets in ten minutes. When I added a Pioneer AVH-W4400NEX head unit and a JL 50 watt/4 channel amp with a Rockford Fosgate P300-12 Sub, the sound is amazing, super clean and crystal clear. The wiring kit was perfect, and the mounting bracket worked well.

Pros: Great sound. Perfect fit.

Cons: Needed ingenuity to fit/mount the tweeters.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Marc from Grand Rapids, MI on 8/10/2018

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy that I listened to the advisor and didn't overthink this choice. Completely happy with the sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Was hoping for better from JL

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, NJ on 8/2/2018

2010 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately I can not add any more power to amplify these speakers. So this is a review of how they perform off just the 17 watts rms from my pioneer head unit. First they are meant to be simple upgrades for your factory speakers. That they definitely are. However I will say I am underwhelmed by them. My eq is all over the place. I personally like edge tweeters. These don't have the definition I would expect. Cymbal decay is non existent. The wooofers I have crossed over around 80hz. They require crazy eq to bring out mid bass and low mids. Again to be fair I have not amped these speakers properly. I would expect them to sound quite a bit better with an amp. Perhaps timing would help too as the imaging isn't quite what I would like either. But I wouldn't purchase these again. If you just want a cheap easy to install set to replace factory not a bad choice. But I kinda expected more from JL. Of course Crutchfield was great as usual

Pros: Cheap easy install

Cons: Bottom of the line for a reason

Crutchfield response on

2 of 12 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Syed from Ithaca, NY on 5/26/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on a Toyota Camry LE 2012 (no JBL). I'm very happy with the sound, it's a significant upgrade from the factory speakers in the front doors and tweeter in the dash. The only reason for taking one star off is that the end points where the wiring is supposed to connect are very flimsily attached to the speaker. So while I was plugging in a wire, the plastic broke off. It's ok for now, I have it taped and the connection is ok but it shouldn't be this flimsy. For anyone installing in a Camry like mine, keep in mind the dash tweeter is difficult to replace because the factory tweeter is big compared to these. The only way I could think of was to make a hole in the dash grill, had to use a cutter and used some heat to melt the plastic. The factory wiring is kind of weird in that they don't label anything and there's no easy way to know which one is positive or negative (no red and black wires). Crutchfield support was able to identify the correct polarity for me. The door speakers were not an issue, just watch some videos online to see how to take the door apart. The speaker comes with an adapter ring, in my case it was not needed. I only needed the adapter sent by Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great replacement speaker

Matthew from Petersburg, VA on 4/19/2018

2006 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put these in my Toyota sienna 06, cut the red wire off the tweeter (helped by Eli) and then ran everything from the woofer and cut a hole in the side panel. Running a Clarion nx604, will upgrade to an amp in a few months.

Pros: Sound reproduce, worth every penny

Cons: Low bass response, but it is not a subwoofer so expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Seaside, CA on 4/8/2018

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit easily into 2016 4-Runner with the supplied adapters. They sound good. I liberally applied Dynamat to the door as well. They don't quite have the punch I had hoped for, but they do sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Robert from Bogart, GA on 4/6/2018

2016 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really improved the sound in my 2016 Nissan frontier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 3/29/2018

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear but needs more than 22w to utilize their true potential.

Pros: Quality construction, good fit

Cons: 22w just won't drive the woofers to their potential.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Upgrade

Craig from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These fit well into my Tacoma and sound amazing. I highly recommend these.

Pros: Amazing sound for the price point.

Cons: Requires a little talent to mount the tweeters. Just take your time and you will be happy

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 11/18/2017

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are meant to be an upgrade over factory, and they are that and more. Crisp, clean sound. Getting these speakers has really put life into the factory audio system. Easy to install also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice Detail and improvement over Factory speaker system.

Mitch from Dunedin, FL on 11/17/2017

2017 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice fit. I replaced some factory speakers in my Nissan Frontier with these components. Much better detail. Volume level is down and I have an amplifier that will go in this weekend that should make these sound even better.

Pros: Fit, Detail, imaging

Cons: down in efficiency from factory, needs amplification

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Richard from Yreka, CA on 11/13/2017

2002 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My music in my truck hasn't sounded this good in years installed with upgraded Sony head unit

Pros:

Cons: had to run all new speaker wire because I replaced the stock Infinity sound system in my Dodge Ram

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio C1-690

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 8/28/2017

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love em with the 40 watt amp,has a real sonic sound and feel great peice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound!

Chris from Glen Gardner, NJ on 8/26/2017

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your looking for a great set of speakers, these are for you. They have great range, and they made my 2001 Dodge Ram have better sound then bmw's I've had in the past. Highly reccomend with an aftermarket head unit! Only thing is bass isn't great but that's expected without a subwoofer

Pros: Great sound Great fidelity Great range Crystal clear

Cons: Bass is inadequate and would sound better with a sub. For the price it's great

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Incredible sound!

David from Boca Raton, FL on 7/16/2017

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the JL Audio C1-690 to replace the factory component 6x9s in a 2011 Toyota Tacoma Double cab (non JBL). I mounted the woofer and tweeter in the factory locations. The woofer is an exact fit with the supplied speaker mount kit. You will need to fabricate or purchase mounts for the tweeters. The C1's have greater detail and clarity than the the factory speakers (tighter bass drum kick, natural sound to vocals/breath, and I can now here the decay of toms). The C1's maintain that clarity throughout the range of volume.

Pros: Great sound Great value

Cons: No tweeter mount available

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP