Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
681 722 472 3
Connect ID #
681 722 472 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio C3-600

Evolution™ C3 Series 6-1/2" convertible component speaker system

MFR # 99034

JL Audio C3-600

JL Audio C3-600

Evolution™ C3 Series 6-1/2" convertible component speaker system

MFR # 99034

37 reviews
View this product

impressive mids and highs

Daryl from Athens, GA on 6/14/2020

2008 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound quality. I have owned Polk comp., Rockford T series, Alpine, Kicker, MB Q's and Memphis. Out of all of them these speakers are far superior in sound. I am hoping to catch them on sale because they are pricey. Daughter just graduated high school with honors and want to upgrade the sound in her 08 Honda Civic to congratulate and reward her. Great sound, great product.

Pros: Quality and sound

Cons: price! Waiting on sale to upgrade daughters whip!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing sound!

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, OH on 1/19/2020

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought them for a second time 6 years later to install in a new vehicle. I wouldn't buy anything else or from anyone else! Best speakers ever! Sound amazing!

Pros: Easy to install especially with the instructions that come with your order, amazing sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Crutchfield customer from Philo, CA on 2/15/2019

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent packages all Yego excellent I'm enjoying it very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sounds

Vernon from Chicago, IL on 12/4/2018

2000 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are exactly as ordered. Sounds great.

Pros: Exactly as advertised

Cons: Time to install

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jl Audio C3-600

Gerald from Mays Landing, NJ on 10/19/2018

1998 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These JL Audio C3-600 are a great sounding speaker that gives me flexibility to use as either a coaxial speaker or as a component speaker. It is because of this mounting flexibility and awesome sound that I chose to purchase them. I have listened to them in the past and was very impressed with their performance. I needed a pair of 6 inch mid bass speakers to facilitate my installation and system and these more than got the job done. If you're in the need for a 6 inch mid bass this is a great choice if you're in the need for the 6 1/2 inch then the C3-650 is worthy speaker to consider.

Pros: Great Sound and installation options

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds fantastic

Richard from Knoxville TN on 6/20/2017

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound better than the MLB quart I had before just all around fantastic I love the convertible feature

Pros: Price Quality of build Clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent. Results Better Than Expected.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent experience with this in every way. The installation was straightforward. The Crutchfield and JL Audio sales/ help people were correct and thorough. The sound quality is excellent and without criticism. Easily the best I have heard (30+ years history) for accuracy, natural quality and freedom from distortion. Highest recommendation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 3/3/2017

2009 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great speakers sound awesome only the best with jl audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressive! Worth every penny

Nate from Burlington, VT on 1/25/2017

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely impressed with these component speakers. I'm amazed at the quality of the mids and lows that comes out of these woofers. The build quality is very good, as I expect from JL, and they feel solid in your hand. Pricey, but absolutely worth the money. My only complaint is that specifically in my Subaru I needed an additional bracket to mount the tweeters in the stock location (the original tweeter bracket is part of the OEM tweeter itself). Crutchfield doesn't offer one as far as I know, but I was able to find brackets elsewhere on the internet.

Pros: Lows and mids are impressive

Cons: Needed an additional bracket for tweeter install

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 9/26/2016

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp sound, much louder than I imagined being. Easy Installment. Def well worth the price! JL Audio never displeases me! Great fast shipping! Awesome work Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Jl Audio C3 600

Brandon from Oakley, CA on 7/12/2016

2008 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference from stock. Awesome speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great stuff

Alexander from Grand Rapids, MI on 5/25/2016

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers play everything, and well. I listen to a lot of different music from metal to rap to classical, and these speakers make everything sound amazing. Classical and solo piano pieces sound particularly crisp and clear.

Pros: The magnet on these things is impressive...when installing them, I loved feeling the weight of them.

Cons: They're a little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Unbelievable!!!!

SeanJ from Palm City, FL on 4/17/2016

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cannot express how pleased I am with the C3 600s. I plan on expanding the entire system in my 07 Tundra and this was an excellent start. The highs are crystal clear and mid bass is clean and smooth. I totally recommend these for anyone!!!!

Pros: Everything. This component system is unbelievable.

Cons: The install bracket had to be modified for my 07 Tundra. Nothing a little bench grinder can't handle. This pales in comparison to the performance of the components though.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Kevin from Merrillville, Indiana on 9/15/2015

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are clear as a bell, great highs and nice punchy mid bass! Buy these speakers and you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

2014 Dodge Ram Big Horn CC

woojyee from Nebraska on 3/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield says these would not fit the 14' Dodge Ram but after exhaustive research, comparing measurements with ones they said would fit (C3-525) and other brands, I determined they would fit and made the purchase. I used custom adapters because the mounting hole was centered and they dropped right in to place and sound fantastic. I custom mounted the front tweeters in the sails and used the rears in coaxial mode and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Sound fantastic, convertible mode allows for flexibility in mounting and these fit in 2014 Ram Big Horn Crew Cab.

Cons: Price of course and I don't like the hassle of a giant crossover box. Amp already has crossover built in for mid-woofer so an inline filter for tweeters would be better.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Crutchfield customer from Winston-Salem NC on 5/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 20 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Wraith1165 from Midland, TX on 5/8/2014

2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound very clear and have a nice sound they are not harsh at higher volume and work great with a good quality amplifier.

Pros: Nice grill easy to install

Cons: Not really any cons to speak of yet

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Nice!

Red S. from Summerville, SC on 5/8/2014

2003 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are really nice but I wish they could be a little more louder. Can't wait to see what they sound like when I add my amp.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 19 found this helpful

Great sound

Ed from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/6/2013

1989 Dodge D Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made some boxes and throwed 'em behind the seat of my '89 W150. Sound great, can't wait to get an amp, can feel 'em vibrating through the truck (when it's off and not rattlin, itself) just with the stereo driving 'em. Easy install, came with all hardware to wire and mount in boxes I made. If your disappointed with these you need a hearing aid.

Pros: Just sound great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Great speakers

Ststeven11 from Memphis, TN on 6/12/2013

1998 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Can't wait to see what they sound like once I add an amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

C3-600

Tiago from Stoneham, MA on 6/8/2013

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't go wrong with these, specially at $249 (price break)! Sound extremely clean. I had C2s (which I loved) installed in my older car and ended up getting these for the same price of the c2s. JL Audio quality is definitely up there with the European brands. The woofers hit so hard that sometimes I wonder if need the sub in the back. The tweeters are clean but not overpowering, just right. Can't wait to have them running active from my four channel amp.

Pros: Clean highs and mids.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Mitch S. from B.I. WA on 5/29/2013

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in my 2004 GMC Sierra. Great improvement over factory Bose.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Really good speakers

Drop Top from Charlotte, NC on 5/9/2013

2000 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great 6" speakers. I installed them my self into my Honda S2000. The directions Crutchfield provides made it really easy. I did both doors in about 2 hrs. I had some JL Audio speakers in the doors before but with the top down I couldn't get the level of volume I wanted. I have a Sony Head Unit and a Kicker 600 watt amp powering a JL Audio 10" sub in the trunk and the door speakers too. There is no doubt that these speakers are a step up from the old ones. They state not to put the crossovers in the doors, but my car is so small I had too. There is a little 'cubby hole' in the door and they fit perfectly in it. I used velcro to attach them to the doors I have Dynomat in the doors but I an able to get good bass out of these speakers and the highs are super clear and bright. These speakers will get so bright they'll hurt your ears if your not careful. So using the sub in the trunk for base allows me to turn the music up so loud that I can't really hear the wind at 70 mph with the top down. I highly recomend these speakers. I bought them for a great deal. These are the nicest door speakers I've ever owned though so I'm not really sure what this price range buys in terms of door speakers but these are really nice.

Pros: Great highs, Easy install, great value

Cons: I really don't know what they would be.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Nice Speakers

Jaqs from Chino, CA on 5/7/2013

2009 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers. For the money I paid, they were on sale, they are ok. Not great, not horrible. They can handle the power, but from hearing a few other systems since I installed these, I know what I will buy next time. I emailed JL's tech support and have to say their techs are kind of rude. Evidently, no one in the world knows how to install speakers unless they are authorized by JL. Anywho, I figured out the best settings for me, took some time. If you are going to have the tweeter in the a frame or dash, set the treble to the lowest setting, you will thank me for it later.

Pros: Decent mid-bass, clear tweeters, handles power. If you have an eq, I am sure you can get what you want out of them.

Cons: Need like for like system for these to really perform; i.e. don't try to use them with inferior equipment. They sounded ok in my acura before I installed the amp (much better than the factory speakers) and sound a little better after the amp. Was hoping the softdome silk tweeter would have been "softer". Since I don't care to spend another $600 for a ms8 or the jl version to tweak my system, it is what it is. Been listening to them for about two months, perhaps more time with them will help.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 25 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Roy78 from Virginia on 5/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound better than expected at this price range. Great quality.

Pros: Affordable Great Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

great buy

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, Tx on 5/4/2013

2007 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been very pleased with the purchase. I noticed a very crisp clean sound and would recommend this for the entry level buyers.

Pros: Great all round product.

Cons: I have nothing bad to say.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Nice speakers... but leave your C-Max alone.

Dennis from Santa Barbara, CA on 5/1/2013

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2013 Ford C-Max, as components in factory locations up front and as coaxes in factory location in rear. Also installed a little Alpine amp to power them. Very clean, crisp sound, never harsh. JL's reputation for bright tweets doesn't apply here; I actually turned up the tweeter presence in the crossover. If keeping the factory deck in this car (or presumably any 2012-13 SE-level Ford Focus or Escape either, as they have the same radio): 1) don't bother replacing the rear speakers as I did, bc the factory fade setting makes them nearly inaudible anyway. 2) Don't buy these speakers unless also buying an amp to power them properly. 3) Don't expect any speakers to fix the awful cramped factory soundstage...that's due to the deck's time alignment, and will haunt you unless you run your iPod directly into your aftermarket amp. 4) Don't buy upgraded speakers unless you're willing to install a 31-band EQ to correct the factory EQ (massively overboosted mid-bass etc), which becomes apparent as soon as you get better speakers. I used an Audison Bit Ten, which I had to connect to a laptop to set the equalizer on, with guidance from the JL Audio iPhone app's RTA. All in all, an insanely expensive way to get a modest but pleasant sonic upgrade. You're literally better off financially just trading your car for one with the factory Sony system, especially if you're not doing your own labor.

Pros: The speakers sound great...

Cons: ...but upgrading the factory system in this car is a fool's errand.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 20 found this helpful

Clean Clean Clean!

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 4/26/2013

1995 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these speakers running on two channels of my JL 360/4 amp and all they sound amazing. The mids are clean and fill my sub stage nicely while the tweeters are clear, but not too bright/harsh/metalic at all. I now have a great setup that blew my old components out of the water. Definitely worth the money (i got them on sale) and time to install. I wouldn't try to run these off just your receiver power! I'm running them at their RMS rating and they are CLEAN!

Pros: Clean mid-range and crisp highs that aren't too harsh. Accurate sound that allows me to keep my EQ flat.

Cons: Installation is more complicated than a simple coaxial setup. I honestly feel that these speakers require amplified power, and if that's not in your budget, move on.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Really good sound

Kirk from Oroville, CA on 4/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound no problems and got them on sale, so the same price as c2's

Pros: everything

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

tomt39 from Grand Forks, ND on 4/20/2013

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these component speakers to replace a set of Alpine 6x9 SPR-69Cs. They were excellent but I really missed in-dash tweeters. I wanted to bring the highs to life to add more "presence" to the sound. I looked extensively online but everyone says their speakers are great. So it's always a guessing game to some degree. I ultimately chose the JL Audio C3-600s for three reasons. First, the silk dome construction seemed most likely to do well for sound reproduction (I wanted to hear drumsticks on the symbols, not just some high end noise). Second, the few meaningful reviews I found seemed to indicate good performance. Third, was the excellent price on sale at Crutchfield. I drive these with a 110watt RMS amp and they sound superb. Good low response (slightly better than my Alpines (40 hz vs 63 hz). I have active adjustable crossovers in my Alpine head unit, and a self-powered sub. Front door install in Jeep WJ by the way.

Pros: Excellent high and low end response. 4 position adjustable db output for tweeters. This proved important for fine tuning the high and low sound output based on mounting location. Though woofer and tweeter distance to listener is about the same, however, I'm reflecting the highs off the windshield and needed to increase volume slightly. 3 way adjustable mid-range presence (unnecessary if you have an equalizer, I left mine in the neutral position). Pricing.

Cons: Only complaint was the universal 6x9 to 6 1/2" brackets that came with the kit. Instructions tell you just to screw speakers to the bracket (these are slots not holes). This never would have held for high-output speakers. I was able to utilize the clips that came with the kit for mounting the speakers to the bracket, and then reused the original screw clips to fasten the brackets to the doors.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Guest from Lake Wales,m FL on 4/7/2013

2012 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speakers I have ever owned. I placed these speakers in the front and rear doors of my truck. They are really clear and loud. Tweeters are not harsh sounding at all. I have them powered by JL XD 700/5.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Buy!

greg c. from Lexington, KY. on 3/22/2013

1991 GMC Syclone

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm extremely happy with these speakers. I don't even have an amp to them, I've got 'em hooked up to a Sony MEX-BT39UW that delivers about 17 watts RMS per channel. My GMC Syclone has a small cabin and I fabbed custom stainless steel enclosures for them and lined the inside of them with a high quality sound deadener. Really like the adjustability built into the crossover.

Pros: Price, Quality

Cons: Okay, here is my only qualm, the hardware for installation lacks. If you're mounting into a metal surface as I did, the metal clips for mounting the woofer are made for mounting material that is 1/4 in. thick not something like 16 ga. metal.Same deal with the flush mount tweeter hardware. Made for material alot thicker than 16 ga. steel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio C3-600

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn on 3/16/2013

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product plays clean n loud I'm Glas I purchased these

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

WOW

Crutchfield customer from California on 3/10/2013

2006 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory speakers in an 2006 Honda Civic. I'm hearing instruments in music I have never heard with the factory speakers. I have been reluctant to replace the factory speakers, but when I realized that one of the door speakers had stopped working correctly, I went ahead and did it. I considered many brands, but when it came time to buy, the speakers I had originally decided upon were out of stock. These were originally out of my price range, but the sale put them back in my budget. I'm so glad I decided to go with the C3. The highs are much crisper, mids more pronounced, and lows - well - they produce more bass than the factory sub-woofer. They have only had a few days of use since I installed them, and should sound even better once they break in. One side note - the tweeters do not fit as replacements for the factory tweeters. I had to modify the factory tweeter mounts to install them. Not a huge deal, but also, not just a simple swap.

Pros: Sounds amazing. Relatively easy to install. Very high build quality. Many Mounting holes.

Cons: barely qualifies as a con - the little shiny bit on the tweeter grills. I'm going to have to paint them black. They reflect the sun like little mirrors.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

amazing

mac from La Marque, TX on 3/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These babies blew my mind. So happy riding my 05crew cab chevy Colorado. Crutchfield said they dont fit the front but they went in just fine with 1/4" spacer. And hit nothing.

Pros: Sound is incredible. Huge upgrade from the pioneers i had.

Cons: Cross over and tweeters were over my head. Had take to shop to get installed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

C3s sound amazing

Joe B. from Jacksonville, FL on 2/17/2013

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered these component speakers from Crutchfield. They were received quickly with standard free shipping option. 2 business days. So as usual Crutchfield gets a 5 star rating from me. I installed the speakers in a 2012 Nissan Altima coupe in the front door location. Installation was easy. They are connected to a JL 700/5 amplifier and paired With the JL C2 6X9s and a 10w3 sub. The C3s sound amazing. Ultra clear accross all mid and high frequencies. I couldn't be happier. I would recomend these speakers to anyone who is intererested in a great quality sound system. I have absolutely no complaints. Especially for the price. These are worth every penny.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None I've noticed so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Get Them Now

Mike261 from Norfolk, VA on 1/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just had these installed at Crutchfield a few days ago. They're not even broken in yet and all I can say is WOW!! I'm powering them with a Pioneer AVH-PI400DVD and a JL JX360/4 four channel amp. Who needs a Subwoofer? These speakers play clean at all volume levels. Their sound is crisp, clear, detailed and powerful no matter how loud you like it. Get them before they start selling them for what they're really worth again because even if you miss the sale, they're still worth it. I have a serious home theater system and the sound in my truck now rivals it. The installation by Crutchfield was top notch. Absolutely no regrets.

Pros: Crisp, clear, detailed and natural sound. The ability to play at all levels without distortion.

Cons: Possibly too bright for some people. The treble is natural-not harsh but you may have to adjust them to your taste.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

TOP