Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio C5-525

Evolution™ C5 Series 5-1/4" component speaker system

MFR # 99100

JL Audio C5-525

JL Audio C5-525

Evolution™ C5 Series 5-1/4" component speaker system

MFR # 99100

10 reviews
View this product

High Quality Sound

Don from OCEANSIDE, NY on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have done many crazy car stereo installations in my day, and I always used 6 3/4 separate speakers. But my 2011 BMW 328i x-Drive wagon would not handle them. In fact these 5 1/2 inch speakers required some pretty extensive su. I wasn't expecting them to sound as good as my previous 6 3/4 installs, but they really did. I couldn't be happier. I should mention that my goal is sound quality for high resolution recordings of jazz, classical and rock. I did run new custom wires as the stock BMW ones are like sewing thread. I installed them front and rear. In the photos, the door panels with the tweeter in the door panel are the rear, and for the front, I put the tweeter in the A-Pillar.

Pros: Amazing Sound, Great Power Handling

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio C5-525

Jeff from Colorado Spgs, CO on 3/29/2018

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, but Crutchfield said to use these for my Jeep Wrangler. Way to small. Returned them when I went to Drive in Audio and they told me I needed a 6" system. Went with the Focal's instead. So I mark it down to a 4. Make sure you have the right size for your system. Crutchfield won't tell you a definite yes or no.

Pros: Great speaker for size

Cons: To small

Crutchfield response on

8 of 15 found this helpful

JL Audio C5-525

Guest from Wichita, KS on 2/25/2018

2014 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best components I have seen for this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

clear

Ross from Buffalo, WY on 7/30/2016

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really good clear speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Good product, poor customer service on JL AUDIOs part

Dfemil from Winston Salem, NC on 4/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It pains me to give the speakers three stars, because the fact that I'm getting it three stars is not the speakers fault. I accidentally put a screwdriver through one of the woofers on installation. This was obviously my fault. I called JL audio to see if there was anyway that they could help me with a replacement or if the speaker could be repaired. I was basically told that it wasn't their problem and that I needed to speak to a retailer. The customer service representative was very condescending. That being said , I put duct tape on the speaker just to see how it would sound and even damaged they sound awesome. I thought dealing with a high-end company would give high end customer service, and in my opinion I did not get that. Too bad

Pros: Excellent Sound, all parts but wire needed for installation included, even wire terminals.

Cons: Crossover a little big, but I would take that over cheaper materials. Bad customer service on JL audio's part

Crutchfield response on

35 of 126 found this helpful

JL audio

Carolyn from Greenwood, In on 10/4/2014

2005 Lotus Elise

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the speakers. I still have the original head unit that came with my car. I was shocked at how much better the sound in my Lotus is. I replaced the front and rear with JL C5-525 and JL C2-400x. I can hear every part of the music, even when turned low.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

Sound Great!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Pennsylvania on 6/8/2014

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great...Took a while to get them set up the way I wanted. Very clean sound and In my opinion worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Excellent components!!!!

Theprovider*mrruiz from Highland Park, California on 4/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i purchased these JL AUDIO C5 components because they fit my 2002 Buick park avenue ultra's front doors perfectly with out having to do any modifications to the doors. the 5.25 mid range has very nice bass with out distortion, i am not using a JL AUDIO amp yet but they do sound great! totally worth the money. the tweeter sounds very clear and works great with all music. i did noticed that these speakers sound a lot better with acoustic type music you can hear the guitar strumming clearly as if you were in front of the artist, this is no joke and no exaggeration! these are the first top knotch component speakers i purchased and i dont regret it. i also bought some JL AUDIO C5 653 components for the rear of the car. on my rear doors you can only fit 3.5 inch speakers but with some light modifiaction you can squeeze a 4 inch mid range and on the rear deck you can only fit 6x9's but i modefied the rear deck to fit the 6.5 inch woofers. this C5 component speaker line is awesome! keep in mind that the C5 653 component system some with 2 tweeters, two 4 inch mid range speakers and two 6.5 inch woofers and a crossover of course. i hope that my review helps you decide to buy these speakers. you will not regret it an believe me you really do get what you paid for with this set of components. because of this upgrade i did and made a great choice in purchasing JL AUDIO products they made me a customer for life. next in line to purchase is JL AUDIO HD1200/1 amp and the JL AUDIO HD600/4.

Pros: OEM look, great quality feel, excellent sound quality, 3 option sound levels for the crossovers low, ref, and high for the midrange section and low, ref and high for the tweeter section.

Cons: a bit pricey if your not used to buying high quality speakers.

Crutchfield response on

23 of 24 found this helpful

Excellent components!!!!

Theprovider*mrruiz from Highland Park, California on 4/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i purchased these JL AUDIO C5 components because they fit my 2002 Buick park avenue ultra's front doors perfectly with out having to do any modifications to the doors. the 5.25 mid range has very nice bass with out distortion, i am not using a JL AUDIO amp yet but they do sound great! totally worth the money. the tweeter sounds very clear and works great with all music. i did noticed that these speakers sound a lot better with acoustic type music you can hear the guitar strumming clearly as if you were in front of the artist, this is no joke and no exaggeration! these are the first top knotch component speakers i purchased and i dont regret it. i also bought some JL AUDIO C5 653 components for the rear of the car. on my rear doors you can only fit 3.5 inch speakers but with some light modifiaction you can squeeze a 4 inch mid range and on the rear deck you can only fit 6x9's but i modefied the rear deck to fit the 6.5 inch woofers. this C5 component speaker line is awesome! keep in mind that the C5 653 component system some with 2 tweeters, two 4 inch mid range speakers and two 6.5 inch woofers and a crossover of course. i hope that my review helps you decide to buy these speakers. you will not regret it an believe me you really do get what you paid for with this set of components. because of this upgrade i did and made a great choice in purchasing JL AUDIO products they made me a customer for life. next in line to purchase is JL AUDIO HD1200/1 amp and the JL AUDIO HD600/4.

Pros: OEM look, great quality feel, excellent sound quality, 3 option sound levels for the crossovers low, ref, and high for the midrange section and low, ref and high for the tweeter section.

Cons: a bit pricey if your not used to buying high quality speakers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

5.25" woofer fits 911 (993) HiFi option's enclosure . . .

Ghee Buttersnaps from Vail, Colorado on 3/26/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great low-mid driver. The 5.25" woofer/mid fits the MY'95 thru '98 911(993) HiFi options door mounted Nokia enclosure perfectly, and the Nokia ext. amp drives the JL 4ohm woofer noticably louder than stock. The fabric tweeter substitutes the 993s OE tweeter pod with a little work; Think art's & crafts class. The JL C5-525 kit represents a big value upgrade to the aging 911 (993) coupe's stereo system. The 993 HiFi option's bass-reflex enclosure is tuned for solid low end performance..... and the JL Audio / Kurt Muller 5.25" polyprop cone driver does the trick. Very impressive. For a suitable mid-range driver look at a version of the uber high performance Dynaudio 3" MD142 ... (VW OEM version works great)

Pros: Huge audio improvement with stealth OEM looks ... in a MY98 911 (993) coupe

Cons: There are none.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 22 found this helpful

TOP