Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
175 386 051 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
175 386 051 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio CL-RLC

Remote level control and line driver

MFR # 98117

JL Audio CL-RLC

JL Audio CL-RLC

Remote level control and line driver

MFR # 98117

8 reviews
View this product

Works as discribed

JB from Palm Springs on 11/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using it as a 2nd zone for the outside of my RV. It works perfectly and would highly recommended it as a 2nd zone for an RV or boat.

Pros: Works perfectly.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

When it works its great

Brendan from SF Bay, CA on 10/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It pains me to write this as I'm a huge fan of JL, especially their slash amps. When it works its great and does its job. But the build quality is so poor that the connections go bad to the remote and then it doesn't work. It makes a horrendous bang when the connection gets disconnected. A bump in the road would cause the connection to drop for a second which would cause a bang then the audio would come back after several seconds. Sometimes it would just shutoff and refuse to turn back on until I pulled the fuse and reinstalled it. Other times it would just pick a fixed volume and stay there no matter what the knob was set to. I eventually just took the device out all together and now I use a digital method to control my volume. In the less than a year that i had it installed I've had to mess with it maybe 20 times.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Nuisance, Poor Build quality,

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio CL-RLC - Very Good

Mark P from Herndon, VA on 2/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the JL Audio CL-RLC on my boat. I spent all of last winter upgrading the stereo with a Kenwood head unit, Rockford Fosgate amp and JL Audio speakers. I used an inexpensive, passive volume control between the head unit and the power amp. When I turned on anything 12 Volt with a motor (refrigerator, etc), I got a terrible buzzing in the speakers. Aaaargh! Not what I was expecting! I tried grounding the chassis of the HU to the Amp, and routing the power wires away from any low-level signal. Nothing worked until I removed the cheap volume control from the system. With the JL Audio control, the buzzing is almost completely gone. I still get a very small amount of hiss, about the same as from the speakers attached directly to the HU.

Pros: Easy to install. Does not introduce noise into the audio signal! I had no use for the long extension cord from the control knob to the main unit, but a $2 1-foot long phone extension from Lowe's worked perfectly.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what I wanted

Matt from Hampton, VA on 1/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for something to remotely control my subs without messing with the deck every two minutes as my amp does not have a remote output. There are many line level controls for much cheaper, and without the remote, ground, and 12v wiring required, but I did not find one that was RCA in and RCA out. I wanted to use the sub LPF preamp from the deck so this was in order. I already had the wires running to the amp, so adding this unit in was very quick and then running the control knob back to the front seat was no big deal.

Pros: Works exactly for what I need.

Cons: Bulky, must wire into 12V, remote, and ground wires, expensive. There is a delay from the time you adjust the remote knob to the time you hear a volume change.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio CL-RLC

paul from ruskin fl on 10/21/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great i have it hooked up to an amp on my boat and now use my mp3 player for music and podcasts

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product, worked exactly as advertised

keelerdr from West Chester, PA on 10/29/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because I wanted some control over my sub while using the factory headunit. I have a 10W3v3 in a sealed box with a JL A1400 amp. The CL-RLC works great, I can control the sub volume from max to mute. I tried to have a local shop install this...BAD IDEA. The boys near me failed. Nothing against them, just don't make the same mistake I did. Get it installed at an authorized JL dealer. Mine had no problem making it work. I also do not have any delay when I change the sub volume. If you want a sub and don't have a sub pre-out on your headunit, then get this. It is great. Another great product from JL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

Good Product, Bad Installer

Ryan from Chicago Burbs (Illinois) on 8/19/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My installer had a heck of a time making this work, but then again, this installer who I thought was going to make my brand new 2008 BMW M3 his pet project, obviously had no idea what was going on. I gave the product a 4, because I am not 100% sure the issues I have with it are the product or the bad install. My only issue with it is it has a bit of a delay, so you turn the knob, nothing happens, so you turn it more and all of a sudden its way louder than you wanted. I am used to it now, but I have to slowly make adjustments and allow the volume control to do its job in small increments. Like I said, this may be due to a bad install. Either way though, it does work. Hopefully once I get this installed right at a new install shop, the delay problem will cease to exist, at which point this product would get a 5 star review. Hope this helps the rest of you out! Make sure you pick a good installer to install this for you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio CL-RLC

SW from Arizona on 2/17/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since the Alpine PDX-1.600 that powers my subwoofer does not come with a remote bass control (my old Rockford amp had one that came with it), the CL-RLC was the perfect solution. It does take a little time to complete the install (have to make a connection to ignition-switched power, constant 12v power, ground, and then install the remote knob somewhere near the radio), but it was well worth it. Instead of having to go push a few buttons on my Pioneer deck to adjust the bass level of the sub, I simply turn the dial on the CL-RLC to get the right amount. Since the music I like to listen to (80's and Top 40) varies wildly in the amount of bass the songs have, I use the knob on the CL-RLC more than the volume knob on the Pioneer deck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

51 of 54 found this helpful

TOP