Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
175 386 051 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
175 386 051 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Powered subwoofer (Black Ash)

MFR # 96280

JL Audio E-Sub e112

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Powered subwoofer (Black Ash)

MFR # 96280

18 reviews
View this product

Good bass

Crutchfield customer from Jessup, MD on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield has good customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

totally unreliable

P-off from Manhattan Beach, CA on 2/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'd give is Minus 50 stars if I could - unit failed within 2 years - total piece of junk- you have been warned.

Pros: failed within 2 years

Cons: failed within 2 years

Crutchfield response on 2/4/2019
After receiving this feedback, we looked up the order and found that this sub is still under warranty. While the order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, this customer can contact JL Audio at 954-624-0113 for further information about the 3-year warranty on this sub.

13 of 14 found this helpful

Amazing range and clarity

David from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 6/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Today i cut up the JL e112 box and added to recycle. Have had the sub for about a month. I've spent about a year reviewing subs - constantly drawn to SVS ... was ready to pull the plug on the SB-4000 but decided to go with the JL. Was really concerned about the setup (as you read all these stories about phase, polarity, etc. There is a very in depth technical article on the JL site that was i was led to after reading critical audio reviews with regard MUSIC integration. For placement it's right up front (alongside the BDI Ola cabinet with the DCM Time Window (25 year old speaker) just outside of it (in a 5.1) setup. I have it about 8 inches off the floor. The room is large 25' wide, 10' ceiling, main area 30' deep (but goes back another 50'. It is not boomy or muddy ... it is clear as rain, precise. Play the lowest note on any instrument and you will be amazed. As far as "thump" ... it is usually set back (volume) to prevent too much. In sum ... it is amazing ... you don't need 2. The user manual says to use CAR POLISH in case it needs cleaning - it is beautiful and elegant and not overly loud. I really wanted to get the f112 to take advantage of the automated settings. I have never changed a single knob except the volume. I took JL's advice and set mains to 14 feet back and sub to 7 (actual seating is about 12' back) on the A/V receiver.

Pros: Gorgeous looking, not to heavy to pick up and move, incredible musicality, you FEEL the sub working even at low volume, when nothing to work with dead silent.

Cons: $$$

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Very Poor quality

Steve from Austin, TX on 5/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a JL Audio e112 one and half years ago. The unit is dead; powers up but there is no sound. If I could, I would have given it 0 stars.

Pros:

Cons: Died in 1.5 years

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Steven from Aliso Viejo, CA on 5/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Auditioned the SVS SB-4000, and the JL e112, and kept the JL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Travis from Oklahoma on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already had one E112 and added the second. This sub is powerful and very clean. I mostly listen to 2 channel music but this sub works very nicely with HT. I would recommend this sub worth the price.

Pros: Buy one and have really nice bass. Buy two and shake the house.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Guest from Ft Wayne, IN on 11/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just okay, certainly not worth the price tag, buy another brand for less money and it will hit just as hard, shipped back to Crutchfield and order another brand and it was 1/2 the price and actually hits harder with all the exact same settings. Build quality is really good, packing is good. Finish is nice, but cost vs what it is, is not worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 17 found this helpful

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I did not know if this JL Audio E112 sub was properly hooked up correctly, as I was not getting enough bass out of it. After throwing in a DVD movie I was able to really hear the difference. My surround sound emitting from the TV alone was not enough to provide the bass as needed. After a little of tweaking from my receiver and sub, I really enjoy the volume of bass it provides, it fills in the room just perfectly. Consider installing a good surge protection system to fully protect your investment. The sub is quite expensive but definitely worth it!

Pros: Very heavy unit, very solid Great robust bass sound The right touch to a surround sound system

Cons: Expensive but worth it!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Crutchfield customer from Spring Creek, NV on 9/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome bass until the amp went out.

Larry from Chicago, IL on 8/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first got this subwoofer, it knocked just like you would expect from a JL Audio product. After a few weeks of having this product, the amp went out on it. Figuring that this was just a defect, I sent it back and received another one from Crutchfield. Within a few weeks, this one did the same thing. I ended up trading it in for a different subwoofer all together. I have other JL audio products, all which have 5 stars, but I was not to impressed with this one. I will still buy JL Audio products in the future.

Pros: When it was new, it had awesome bass.

Cons: For a product of this nature, failure of it's electronic components is a downer.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio E-Sub e112

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood mo on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly phenomenal. JL audio has never disappointed me over the years. I'm VERY impressed with this sub. So much so that I can't even fathom the need for two of them. I have a pretty big room and one of these subs is plenty!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Exactly the subwoofer for my room.

Mark from Encinitas, CA on 10/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought all new equipment from Crutchfield. I installed a 7.1 in-ceiling Klipsch speaker system. (7502-S) The Master Series M17 / M27 NAD Controller and Amp. I bought the sub last after I had broken in the Klipsch speakers. It wasn't until after the sub was ordered (3 weeks later) I found the best EQ for the room. Until I broke in the sub, and spent several days of fine tuning I subsequently arrived at what I think is very good balance between the satellite speakers and the sub. Not my favorite arrangement for music, but video and movies are incredible!! The sub has so much power and depth that even in a 30'x30 room it takes finesse to keep the bass in check. Having said all of that the e112 will supply more bass than most people will EVER need. The depth and accuracy is like nothing I have owned before. It really pays to spend the extra bucks up front and get something that is capable, well built, and durable. This is my first foray into an all digital component system. The noise floors are truly undetectable. Every sound from the NAD processor/amp seems to come out of thin air. I am very, very pleased with my purchases overall. Crutchfield support is great should you have issue or question. I would highly recommend Crutchfield as well as my purchases to anyone.

Pros: Small size for so much power!!

Cons: None- The NAD User's manual is really terrible. Considering how capable the equipment is, I was surprised by the lack of clarity when setting up the NAD units.A call to NAD at least cleared up my question quickly and customer relations are very friendly.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 18 found this helpful

jl e112

Bill M from Strasburg, VA on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having used JL products in my cars for years I am glad that I brought it into my home. The cabinet is very well built , the amplifier controls are easily useable which I find important for tuning different music sources . The driver is a typical Jl horse . What shines the most for me about this sub is the amplifier . I have run it at considerable levels for hours and it has no heat issues . Sound quality is superb ,it really compliments the rest of my system consisting of Klipsch Rf82 and Rs 63 at 130 watts per channel . This is a very musical and powerful subwoofer.

Pros: Amplifier and ease of controls, sound quality . Good thing I don't have neighbors.

Cons: Lacks slam of ported enclosure but makes up with tonal quality.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great subwoofer

ChrisB from Texas on 11/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a superb subwoofer. It provides deep, powerful bass regardless of whether the input is an action movie, a symphony, an opera, rock and roll, or rap music. It will happily growl and roar or slap you in the face with the tightest bass response you've ever heard. I highly recommend this sub.

Pros: Great bass. Tight and responsive or boomy, as appropriate to the audio source.

Cons: Rather expensive.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

JL E112

Gino from California on 2/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My PSB subsonic 6I died after minimal use. So after doing a lot of research I decided to pay the extra and go with the JL E112. I primarily use subs for home theater effects. I have full range mains and never used a sub while listening to music. This sub sounds so nice and clean I now use it for music. It adds depth to the music. I was shocked at the output for home theater effects. The output is better then any sealed and as good as any ported sub I've heard. This thing vibrated the room even with the volume at 50%.

Pros: Sound quality and output. Easy set up. Access to controls.

Cons: Auto on off sensitivity is bad. I have to crank up the volume from my yamaha 3040 to get it to sense a signal and turn on. It's so compact and heavy that the feet sink deep into the carpet and the bottom is touching the carpet. I have it on a piece of 3/4" plywood for now until I can locate a stand for it. It needs longer feet. I called JL and they do not have any other mounting feet for it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

About As Good As It Gets

SeanP from Orlando, Florida on 12/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When you just can't settle for anything less than perfection in a subwoofer, one that won't distort at even the lowest of notes at the highest of volumes, but don't want to spent the extra $1500 to jump up to the Fathom Series, you absolutely cannot go wrong with the E-112 from JL Audio. JL has always been known to produce exceptional quality in the mobile audio subwoofer driver market, and it seems they have stayed consistent in their approach to the home market as well. This is really a well built, solid subwoofer. Minus the the face, which is made of solid steel to help support the massive driver, the majority of the enclosure is made of MDF. The complete lack of a port makes for a little extra tweeking of placement to find that sweet spot. I find that moving it even a few inches, or sitting in just a slightly different position can have a very dramatic affect on the way the E-112 sounds. The folks at JL do an excellent job of explaining placement, along with every other aspect of the sub in their well laid out manual. The manual alone is top notch. I have mine paired with a set of Polk Audio Rti-a9's, which are powerd by an Emotiva XPA-3 200 watt per channel amp, running through a Yamaha Aventage RX-A840. The Polks can get really, really loud, and I originally had a Klipsch R12SW that they would completely drown out. To finish, the E-112 has hit the lowest of lows consistently at the highest of volumes (+15 and >) without the slightest bit of distortion.

Pros: Never seems to struggle, even at the highest of volumes. You can push this thing to places most men dare go. It always seems to want more.

Cons: Might need to repair your foundation after a couple years of use.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

The Quest

Rob from Abilene on 8/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been searching for a sub now for about 6 months or so. Being from a small town, best buy and walmart are the only options without driving 3 hours or so. Yessss to the internet. I did a lot of reading but that goes only so far so it was time to start ordering from a few online stores I usually use. In my home was the only way to see what would work so first sub up was a Definitive Technology supercube 4000. Small and great sounding but as expected, was easy to distort with a bit of volume. Next up an svs pb-2000. A great new ported sub that had good sound but I needed a bit more power. I ordered a svs PC-12 plus, a downfiring cylinder that was awesome and perfect but came damaged. This is the only thing I hate about ordering anything. So my reorder could not happen because they were out. I could not wait so I ordered a svs pb 12 plus, a 168lb sub that sounded great but not like the PC-12plus as previous. So back it went while I contemplated building my own sub. I know as a kid we used JL subs I our cars because they could really get low. I knew JL made home subs but a Fathom was a bit out of my price range. I was wondering why Crutchfield didn't carry JL home subs and it was hard to find the E-sub that was coming available. Then one day, it happened. Crutchfield has them listed but not available yet so I put an E112 in ash on order. Waited, waited, then they all came available except the one in ash. I could not wait so I got the gloss.

Pros: I have not been able to cause this sub any pain with music or movies. For not being a ported sub, it sure does reach out and grab those low notes. That big amp sure makes the difference. It looks great in gloss, it has nice precise sound to it. I'm not an audiophile but I sure do like the way it sounds. It can shake the house and rock it too. It is a great complement to my system.

Cons: If anything, I would say price. Sometimes you got to say what the heck and just do it.

Crutchfield response on

32 of 34 found this helpful

I finally got serious about subs

Tom from Rochester NY USA on 7/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With previous systems, primarily concerned with music over HT, I had always considered subs as role players, just filling in the lower frequencies where my main speakers couldn't go. I've had way too many subs in the $400-$1000 range, Velodyne/Polk/DefTech/PSB, typically doing small incremental upgrades along the way, but never could justify spending big for the small frequency range subs provide. With my latest main system upgrades (NAD T787, M50/52/51, PSB Synchrony speakers, Oppo BR) it became clear that even though I liked the PSB 300s, I had outgrown them if I wanted to get the most out of the other components. I checked out several other subs in the $1500-$2000 range over the past year+, but nothing got close to the JL Fathoms I heard at my dealer -- unfortunately, the price for the F-series had jumped considerably, was out of my league, since I need 2 subs for my wide living room with vaulted ceilings and large openings. Then came along the E-Series, at just the right time. No, they do not bring the ridiculously deep and tight bass of the Fathoms, but it is very close, I'd say ~85% of the performance for ~60% of the price. From a bang-for-the-buck perspective, the E-Subs provide a good taste of high-end with a price that is not off the charts. The E112 goes very low, for the bass heads, and is very quick and accurate, for audiophiles. Can handle higher cut-off without any loss of clarity. Finally a high-end sub at mid-level prices!

Pros: Quick and accurate, goes very deep, built like a tank, can easily handle anything you throw at them, blends in well at various cut-offs - rating is based on comparison of all auditioned subs up to $2000

Cons: a few design niggles with controls, but nothing that affects performance

Crutchfield response on

36 of 36 found this helpful

TOP