Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio M700/5

5-channel marine amplifier — 75 watts x 4 + 180 watts x 1 at 4 ohms

MFR # 98274

JL Audio M700/5

JL Audio M700/5

5-channel marine amplifier — 75 watts x 4 + 180 watts x 1 at 4 ohms

MFR # 98274

30 reviews
View this product

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Haslet, TX on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little amps cracks out the power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from New Boston, NH on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Lots of power in a small package.

Pros: Light weight and small unit that packs a punch.

Cons: It does get warm.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Schertz, TX on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought this amp and installed and seems to be worth the purchase. Still waiting to get on the lake with it but so far so good. Provides great sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL audio 700/5 marine amp

Crutchfield customer from Aubrey, TX on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp rocks. Used to power 4 Wetsounds Revo 6.5" on 4 separate channels. Sub channel is pushing one kicker L7 12". The sound quality is next to none

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pontoon sound system

Crutchfield customer from Fortson, GA on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always being a JL fan, I was excited to put it in my boat as well. I've installed hundreds of car audio products and this amp ranks right up there. Good on my battery while supplying ample power to the lows mids and highs. Very flexible amp. Very happy with my purchase. If you are looking at marine amps, this is the one if you are serious about it. Also, Crutchfield is lights out with customer service. Bravo, again!

Pros: Flexibility of wiring, well made, ample power, compact design, very efficient with power

Cons: None to date

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Marine amp

Crutchfield customer from Euharlee, GA on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really happy with this amp. Running 4 JL 6.5, two JL 7.7 and two JL 10" subs. Sounds amazing and has a very small foot print.

Pros: Runs cool, lots of power and small size.

Cons: Have not found anything yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Andy from Rockford, MI on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is amazing . Enough said ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Wrightwood, CA on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact for the power rating. JL has great web support and associated videos for installation. Was able to make all adjustments to maximize the amp for the correct speaker application with very little working knowledge prior to the installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Sioux City, IA on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing with plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A lot of music out of 1 little amp

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great size with a lot of power. My amp is running four JL 6s and one JL 10. It sounds amazing. Installation is easy since it doesn't take up much room.

Pros: Sounds great. Takes up little space

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great and amp, very versatile

Crutchfield customer from Hudsonville, MI on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this amp to power four JL 7.7 rounds and one 10 inch JL sub in my boat. Hooked this amp up and got all the speakers connected and wasn't super impressed with the versatility of it. Having the ability to connect all my components speakers and then my sub as well was great. This amp has a dedicated sub channel as well as channels for the component speakers. So much power in a compact amp. Then add the fact it's a JL which you know is a leader in audio. Would buy again without any hesitation.

Pros: Great Power in compact size / extremely versatile / can run your components speakers and a sub off it at the same time

Cons: Have yet to find one yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CA on 9/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp to replace another amplifier that came in a used boat I purchased. The amp I replaced was in the $200 range and was supposed to be putting out 2000 Watts. The boat is set up with four 6.5 Kenwood marine speakers and a 10 inch Kenwood marine woofer. This amp made a huge difference in the sound quality from these speakers. It is also much louder now and very crisp even at higher levels. I did purchase the control knob for the woofer and I think it is well worth the money for what it does. It allows you to turn up or turn down the bass depending on the song without having to mess with the bass level on the head unit. I would definitely buy this amp again.

Pros: Loud and clean sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL All the way!

David from Rockford, IL on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very small clean powerful amp. Looks awesome and puts out awesome power!

Pros: great power, high quality hook ups

Cons: Costs more, but you get what you pay for!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, TN on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jl audio 700/5

Lynn from Tn on 8/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't beat Jl audio !!

Pros: Awesome , small , easy to adjust ,great amplifier

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Philip from Nashville, TN on 5/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can not beat JL sounds great

Pros: So far so good half the size of the old one sounds great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing!

Nicholas from Carrollton VA on 4/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality amp. JL amps exceed my expectations as do all of their products. Puts out tremendous amount of power all while being efficient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Phillip from Albuquerque, NM on 12/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sounding, efficient. The best on the market.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: JL should make a holder for th Allen wrench.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Rampage from Villa Rica, GA on 8/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice amp that sounds awesome. Using with a JL bluetooth device with no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL marine, small size...big sound

Boat Fanatic Lincoln from Lincoln, NE on 6/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decided to go with the American made JL 700/5 amp for my 2012 Crownline 18ss. Powering a 12" JL W3v3 4ohm sub, and 4 JL 6 1/2" MX marine speakers. Outstanding sound at high or low volume, no problems with heat/overheat, even after running all day in the hot sun!!!

Pros: Small size for tight spaces common on boats (especially 18' length)

Cons: None...I'm so impressed I wish I had a bigger boat to add another setup!!! Maybe next boat!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Replacement AMP for my MasterCraft X7

Nick O from Staunton, VA on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JL Amp is compact and still very solid. The installation was pretty easy since it was replacing an amp. But the thing about the JL unit is they are simple to hook up, tune, and set up. The instructions were excellent and the amp worked the first time I turned it on. I bridged the 4 main channels for the tower speakers that was simple. The mono sub-woofer channel was simply plug and play. The suggestions on the filtering and settings were followed and the sound was excellent from the tower speakers and sub-woofer. Great investment and would recommend this amp for anyone wanting to have better sounds in their boat.

Pros: Compact and solid amp. The compact size makes it easier to mount in tight quarters in a ski boat and that is a big plus. The installation is simple with no special connectors needed. The sound is excellent.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio M700/5

Nautique boats from Fort Worth, TX on 5/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely pleased! Don't let the size of this amp scare you away. This 5 channel amp is perfect for powering 6 speakers with a sub for your boat. Just run channels 1-2 on the front 2 now speakers and channels 3-4 for your 4 inside speakers. A lot of people tried to shy my away from the "speaker and sub combo amps" but jl has done a great job with it. It sounds great in my boat and would recommend it to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rocks the Boat

teamislandcandi from Pompano Beach, Fl on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second JL amp in 6 months. They are second to none for sound quality and thats why they get 5 stars. However, they are not water proof and even dampness can kill the amp. Mine was inside the cabin and still got damp in high seas. Manufacturer will not guarantee the product if exposed to moisture.

Pros: Highest quality sound available.

Cons: Needs to be marine grade if they sell it as so. JL should stand behind the products being used for the purpose they advertise.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Premium Marine Amp! WOW!

Mark T from South Carolina on 5/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This marine amp was the perfect solution for our needs. We recently overhauled the stock audio system in our ski boat and this amp was key in tying it all together. We are very impressed with the size and quality of this amp along with the latest class D technology. We replaced all four 6.5" speakers and added a 10" JL sub along with a new Kenwood head unit. The sound is phenomenal. We initially were going to go with an amp that was not marine rated and was half the price but due to a back order situation we bit the bullet and chose this one. We are so glad we didn't skimp and are still blown away. Even our install guys were very impressed. Installation note: Make sure you select the recommended gauge power/ground wires for optimum performance.

Pros: Powerful performance in a small package Latest Class D technology Marine rated to protect your investment

Cons: A bit pricey, but well worth it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful and Compact

Chris E from Annapolis, MD on 5/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much function and clean power in a small form factor makes this amp the best choice for marine applications. This amplifier replaced two that I was using to power a sub, 4 in-boat speakers and 4 tower speakers. Tons of power and clean sound. Fit and finish is excellent as expected with JL components. Couldn't be happier with my decision.

Pros: Small, versatile, clean lines, great power with low distortion

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do it right the first time!

Jimmy jam from Gulf shores, alabama on 4/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my 6 channel MB Quart with this amp. Should have bought this amp 2 years ago. I am powering four 61/2 infinitys, with 2 ten inch polk audio's. I was scared this small amp wouldn't have enough power for the subs. Boy was I wrong. Highs are only up half gain, and my subs gain is 2/3's up, and my boat screams now. Thanks jl audio!

Pros: Small size, with lots of power!!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Amp

Bailey from jacksonville, F on 3/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a powerful amp running a pair of JL's and a Polk MM 10. Going to add anouther pair of the JL's later in the season. The installer that put my boat system told me all he uses is the JL amp 's because the are the best marine grade.

Pros: small, easy to mount

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Little Amp

jevanoff from Denver on 9/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, this amp has a very small footprint and I was amazed at the sound when I got it tuned in. I am running 4 polks, 2- 6.5" JL audio towers, and a 10" sub. With the gain control at 40% it ROCKS the boat. Couldn't be happier. Crutchfield you rock!!

Pros: Small footprint Marine rated 5 channel Nice power rating

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP