Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JL Audio TR525-CXi

Evolution™ TR Series 5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # 91030

JL Audio TR525-CXi

JL Audio TR525-CXi

Evolution™ TR Series 5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # 91030

17 reviews
View this product
Discontinued item

They are JL Audio, but that's about it!

JMAC from Toccoa, GA on 11/13/2014

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With most JL Audio items you feel like you get what you pay for. In this case it seems more as if I purchased the name. I hear very little difference in this speaker vs other speakers half the price. Not saying they were bad, but if I had to do it over again I would buy a set for a lot less and I dont think I would be missing out on anything.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio TR525-CXi

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville Tx on 12/30/2013

2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price you can not get a better speaker and when I bought my vehicle I purchased the high end stereo and they don't have anything on these JLs. So clear best bang for your buck!

Pros: What's not to like

Cons: Haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crappy Speakers

sonmitch98 from riverview,fl on 9/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its been about 6 months and one of the speakers is already blown.

Pros: Sounded good

Cons: crappy bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Very nice...but a little iffy

AustinS from Goshen, IN on 2/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can get these speakers and the sound will be crisp, you will hear every note, and you will love every second of it...as long as you don't turn up the bass. If you do get this speaker (which is a great idea don't get me wrong) please do yourself a favor and get a sub woofer. Just a simple 8-inch will do. Even if you don't want a ton of bass, just because with these, you really cant pump your radio up very much at all with any baas going to the speakers. If you buy a non-stock stereo, then it probably has a option on it that enables you to take all the base out of your speakers, and pump it straight to your sub woofer. That's what I've done and I highly recommend it. They really are great speakers, but are the best if you're only putting treble and mid into them.

Pros: Great crisp sound Great treble and mid Can go very loud (when next to no bass is present) Doesn't take an extremely powerful stereo to power Heavenly sound quality

Cons: Can't handle very much bass Please get a sub woofer with these

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Not too bad

Tim from EASTERN SHORE, MD on 11/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers for the money, pretty loud

Pros: nice looking, decent sound

Cons: could be more efficient

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Pretty good quality speakers

Gio from Jacksonville, AR on 4/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these bad boys in my front and rear doors in my Cadillac. Installation was fairly easy except for the pain with the cheap terminal lugs. Installation also varies from vehicle to vehicle so I won't go any further in detail. They sound great for a 5.25" speaker and it's a definite upgrade from the paper coned factory speakers. Really crisp highs and good mids. The mid frequencies aren't great but they're not terrible either. The mids range somewhere above average. The terminal lugs that come with the speakers are very cheap quality and do not hold very well to the speaker wire, so I highly recommend soldering your speaker wires to your speaker to make a much better connection. It was a little extra work but it was worth it because I intend to keep these as long I own the vehicle. Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase and I would definitely recommend these speakers to someone looking to upgrade to upper mid range quality and priced speaker. The higher end JL audio speakers probably sound amazing but are completely out of my price range so this series fit the bill.

Pros: Excellent quality high frequencies. Cone materials in these speakers are a huge upgrade from factory paper cone speakers.

Cons: Terminal connections are cheap quality and didn't hold well at all upon crimping them to the speaker wires, even when I used the right tools for the job.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Jared from Missoula, MT on 10/14/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've got a pair of these in a 92 Civic running off a 12 year old Panasonic CD player and they sound great. Great treble and the lows are just as good. I listen to everything from old school hip hop to jazz to metal and I've yet to find a song that sounds bad. The only thing better would be to add more of these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great speakers on a budget

Isaac V. from Albuquerque, NM on 1/5/2011

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for my girlfriend's 2008 Corrolla to replace the blown speakers on her rear deck. The item description said it would fit, but the mounting hardware I was shipped was too small for the deck. The instructions weren't exactly spot on, but I was able to make it work. Once I finally figured out a way to get them mounted, the sound quality was very good. The bass isn't fantastic (it's a small speaker, so what'd you expect?) but the audio clarity is very nice. I would order these again, but I wouldn't use them on a rear deck like this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Longtime user, first time reviewer

Ricky M. from Wichita, KS on 10/5/2010

2006 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these JL speakers to replace the factory speakers and even though they are a smaller size than the factory speakers, the sound is greatly improved. I imagine they will sound even better when I purchase an aftermarket head unit but for now I am satisfied and recommend these speakers to anyone wanting a inexpensive upgrade to their audio system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

In the Charger

Kevin from Charlotte, NC on 6/14/2010

2007 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldnt hear the music in my Charger because of my subs so I decided to get some decent speakers. I purchased these JLs because of the name and they sure have lived up to it. These speakers sound great in my car and super clear. I can not only hear super crisp music, but get some bang with my subs. Would buy again for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio Coax Review

George from Stony Brook, NY on 3/29/2010

2003 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was running Polk db Coaxes in my rear doors. One of them blew, and made the system sound horrible. I replaced both rear speakers with JL Audio TR525-CXi. What a difference. As a matter of fact, my rear speakers are now making my front separates (also Polk db series - separates) sound inferior. Not only do I recommend these speakers for your rear fill, I believe if you are designing a complete system right now, look hard at the JL line of speakers. JL Amps are a given, but these were really not expected to go the lengths they have. I am very pleased overall. Easy to install, handle plenty of power (Alpine 60 x4RMS), and sound clean while doing so! George

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Geat speakers

John from Ft Myers FL on 1/17/2010

2001 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace failed factory speakers in the front door panels. The sound is what I would call extremely clean. I'm always amazed how good speakers allow listening at a higher volume and still be 'comfortable'. These were paired with Alpine 6x9's in the back and the music experience now is just wonderful in the car. Love them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding speakers

Bill from Brownsville, TX on 7/31/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to replace my speakers on my golf cart sterio unit which mounts overhead on the underside of the roof. I read the ratings on several different speakers on this site, most had poor ratings for low end frequencies. This set of speakers had great reviews. I'm happy to report that the sound quality improvement was incredible. The housing the speakers go in is not large, but the overall sound quality is fantastic, even installed in such a small housing. It was a great purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Surprise!!!

Rip from Eugene, OR on 4/2/2009

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound from these small speakers is pretty amazing. They have crisp highs-with bass that does not distort. Don't get me wrong...these will not replace subs, but they do sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound, small package

245Dad from Edmonds, WA on 2/1/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to fit as much speaker as I could in a small place and these JL's did the job perfectly. Front doors of a Volvo 245. Took some tweaking to get them installed just right but finally they look great, clear the window, and clear the dash. Sound excellent. Full range with good base. Clean looking grills (no bling). Would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio TR525-CXi

Matthew from Bloomington, Il on 8/9/2008

2000 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sounding pair of speakers. I installed them in the front doors to my truck. With Crutchfield providing almost everything I needed to get them in, I was amazed with the short amount of time it took me to install them. These "little ones" pack a punch and are pretty much an upgrade over the factory ones that were there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent

Geoff from Hershey, PA on 12/26/2007

1995 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i got these speakers (whiched i paired with the JL VR650-CXi) to replace my stock 6x9 speakers in my rear deck in my '95 Toyota Camry...these speakers sound amazing...excellent highs, mids, and lows...they are soo much clearer than the stock speakers...at first i was worried that the pretty big size difference would cut down on the clarity and volume but that was not the case at all...i would recommend these speakers to anyone who wants to really step up their stereo system with quality speakers...all my friends and family members are shocked at how good they sound and they find it hard to believe that theyre just hooked up to my clarion head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

79 of 89 found this helpful

TOP