Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Scosche BTFreq™

Bluetooth® FM transmitter with USB and AUX inputs

MFR # BTFM

Scosche BTFreq™

Scosche BTFreq™

Bluetooth® FM transmitter with USB and AUX inputs

MFR # BTFM

46 reviews
View this product

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised! very simple to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good to go!

Crutchfield customer from Bridgewater, NJ on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy peasy set up, did exactly what I expected it to do. Blue tooth to fm worked like a champ in my 20 year old motor home. Now I can use sirius xm from my phone to the built in radio without having to try to update the rv sound system. Found an empty fm station, worked fine on the 300 mile trip going and coming. The usb connector kept my phone charged the whole way. I am pleased.

Pros: Easy set up and solid bluetooth connection.

Cons: Would be better if the usb could be used to connect to cell or tablet, but bluetooth has worked well.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The device works great via the auxiliary jack connection. The radio frequency connection had a lot of static.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa, NY on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This inexpensive ,simple, plug in did the trick for me. I was sceptical, but with 100% refund ,decided to give it a try rather than a complete sterio install .It works flawlessly! Great recommendation from advisor Sam. Completely happy and streaming perfectly.

Pros: 90 second install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works very well

Crutchfield customer from Northridge, CA on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device did the trick. Works well and simply and consistently. Audio quality is as good as that of my native audio system in the car. Before getting this I was unable to listen to any streaming content while driving my 2007Mercedes Benz SL550. This solution works.

Pros: Great price. Great solution. Easy installation. High Quality.

Cons: A bit large for the confined center console space in the 2007 SL550. It would be nice if it was a bit more compact.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Orange, CT on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Sunderland, MD on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to use and works great with my 2005 gmc truck with factory boes system.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was exactly what I needed, and it works great! My 2008 Scion TC is running well but has over 130,000 miles, so rather than invest in an updated sound system or go to the expense of diagnostics and repair at the dealership, I did a search and ended up on this site. Paul was very helpful in answering my questions and knowing just what was needed for my situation. Problem solved!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not work out for me and was defective after an hours use.

Crutchfield customer from Massena, NY on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2007 Jeep Commander radio has no aux in. The only choice for Bluetooth connection is thru FM. Well, there are no blank stations as suggested in the instructions on the radio. There is static between all stations. This static comes through on my phone music. Frequency response of the audio is terrible (ie no bass and distorted high)s. In addition I can no longer select an alternate frequency. This device would still be useful for somebody with an aux in jack on their radio.

Pros: Excellent mount and display

Cons: Bluetooth through FM has awful fidelity. Unit defective after 1 hour

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Prt Washingtn, NY on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is working well. It synched up with an unused FM frequency well. My phone's Bluetooth synched up well with unit. I am able to use my gps, stored music, and telephone through my existing car stereo. I am very pleased with that. The only thing I am missing is being able to control phone from unit. Instead I have to answer phone or change songs by using my iPhone. All in all though I am very satisfied. And the salesmen that helped me on the phone was great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Erasmo from Pasadena t.x. on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work perrfect with remote. Cant beat the price.

Pros: With remote loud and clear. No static. And affordable. I recommend this product to everybody looking for an adapter.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and phone connectivity. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Parkville

Jay from Parkville on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My college graduate daughter drives a 1999 Lexus RX 300 with relatively low miles. She wanted me to buy her a newer car for graduation and one reason was that she did not have Bluetooth streaming capabilities. I personally detailed her car, had the bumper and the torn seat repaired, plugged in the Scosche BTFreq to the cigarette lighter (yes it still is a cigarette lighter) and BOOM. Newer car! She loves it. We all drive older Lexus vehicles before 2003. I'm ordering 3 more Scosche BTFreq's.

Pros: All

Cons: Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, NJ on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product for playing music through your older vehicle lacking bluetooth connectivity. But I can't get the phone volume high enough to take a call on my iPhone. USB charging port is a great bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best device I ever bought. Have a 2004 car with no auxiliary plug. Auto store wanted $300 to put in an auxiliary plug. Bought this device from Crutchfield for so much less. Couldn't be happier. The sound and clarity is awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluetooth connection at its finest

Crutchfield customer from Ironton, OH on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for what I need so I could have a bluetooth connection to my phone so apps play through car stereo, plus the USB port at the bottom was an added bonus.

Pros: Small and discreet with flexibly arm

Cons: Loses connection to power source on rough roads.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Guest from Louisa, VA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great!! My wife was helped so much by her customer service representative

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product at a good price. A little bit of ststic, but works a designed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good

Crutchfield customer from Fort Gibson, OK on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good just wish there was something easier...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Works like OEM car built-in units, with one minor shortfall

Ed from Orlando, FL on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure what I was thinking when I didn't immediately look to Crutchfield for advice regarding car audio. As usual, they had the absolutely BEST answer. I'd never even heard of Scosche before. What a TERRIFIC product. Got for our son for Christmas as his old beater (Chevy Colorado) truck doesn't; even have an AUX port. He absolutely loves it and says that is works flawlessly. Heard it myself and, for sure, it works way better than the other 3-4 of these B/T FM transmitters that we've tried. Only one bummer, wish that you could have a list of a few B/T devices saved so you could easily switch between them like most of the OEM systems in today's cars. Thanks Crutchfield for the solid advice.

Pros: Easy plug-n-play. No hissing, pinging or fading. Connects quickly, every time.

Cons: Wish that you could save 3-4 devices for easy switching back and forth.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Ringgold, GA on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't say much more than it's perfect! Thanks Bo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Keith M from Shirley, NY on 10/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an older car that doesn't have any type of input so I ordered this since it's wireless. This thing works great for streaming songs off my iPhone and also for making and receiving calls. It's super easy to set up and works great! The sound quality is really good as if it was the car stereo itself.

Pros: Works great, easy set up and cheap price.

Cons: Have none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Joel from Austin, TX on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up.?Once I found a good broadcasting station, the sound is as good as anything playing from my CD player. Very tiny if anything at all in background noise from acceleration. I love the hands free phone feature. Also the suns port is brilliant as you would have lost the ability to charge your phone otherwise.Worth the extra few dollars for this quality product. I've only Gad it for a week so not sure about durability but it is a solid piece. Nothing flimsy about it.

Pros: Easy to set up, awesome sound (on a Nakamichi system with 8 speakers), USB port, hands-free phone feature, flexible screen neck, aesthetic looks.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Far Superior to inexpensive FM Transmitters

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Despite the recommendations of my 18 year old son to "Just get one for $10 on Amazon" I decided to get this FM Transmitter from Crutchfield as a stop gap until I decide which radio to purchase. He laughed when I told him how much I paid, three times what he paid for his, until he heard the sound quality. No hiss, great bass, and far superior super mid-range and treble quality than the one I borrowed from him. And for us "old guys" the functionality, display and controls are great. Super service and quick shipping to complete the deal. I'll definitively be getting the new radio from Crutchfield when it's time.

Pros: Superior Sound Quality Little to no distortion or hiss

Cons: Keeping my sons from "borrowing" it

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love It

Jonathan from Benton, LA on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works perfect! instead of spending Hundreds replacing stereo, I just bought this for my son and we're good to geaux!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Impressed with the sound and performs better than any other unit I have used. Static is minimal and only on occasion is it disruptive. No complaints very happy with this product.

Pros: Easy to use Easy to set up

Cons: Slight sound degredation

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Bentonia, MS on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the only thing that has worked on my 2013 Infiniti G37X. I love you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluetooth/FM transmitter

patrick from Canastota,NY on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product arrived on time and worked exactly as promised. I also like that you can use it with any car radio{with FM radio} as I have older vehicles.

Pros: Works as described.

Cons: Doesn't like the cold temps.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Guest from Hartwell ga on 10/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this product for 1 month and now the screen will not work even though it has power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Dave from Albuquerque on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy. Does everything I expected. Sound very good. Operation very simple.

Pros: Easy to operate

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Bluetooth adapter for older cars/trucks!

Rolf from Hanover, NH on 9/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleasantly surprised by this unit. I was expecting the typical cassette type quality but that was not the case. The directions were easy to follow and the process was painless. I then tried out the bluetooth audio playback. The sound was great with even the bass coming through, no static, no distortion etc. You do need to raise the volume on your player in order to get more volume out of the factory radio. You can even skip forward and skip back using the buttons on the face of the control head. I have not tried the remote as where this is located in my truck (4runner) the 12 volt power source is right next to the shifter.

Pros: Great quality for the price, Decent sound quality, even the bass comes through Easy to use, Adds bluetooth to cars that are older

Cons: The flex neck doesn't allow for great adjustment, Lost connection once, but worked once I plugged it back into the 12v.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound on my nose

James from Santa Fe NM on 8/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product

Pros: Perfect! Just plug it in and it's amazing.

Cons: Patience is best. Make sure that you have the correct frequency on the fm dial.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Guest from Santa Fe NM on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im having a problem with the static and volume. So far, not good. Porche Boxster S, 2002, bose stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/23/2017
We're sorry you had issues with your transmitter. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our tech support team. They can either help get it working the way it should, or possibly return it for an exchange or refund.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Mankato, MN on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Attempted to use this product to connect a smart phone and/or iPod to a factory GM stereo. Even though it fulfilled the expected function, the sound quality was very poor with a lot of feedback/humming. Does it work? yes. Does it work well, not so much. I will be looking for other solutions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/21/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the transmitter working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

9 of 9 found this helpful

Scosche BTFM

Cindy from Saratoga NY on 6/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't get it to link with any FM channel, ended up plugging into the auxiliary port on my boat. Works fine when your stopped but when underway there is a constant terrible feedback sound.

Pros: Cheap alternative to buying a new Blue tooth receiver.

Cons: Couldn't sync with FM channel Constant feedback when boat is underway.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for Podcasts

Chris from Sayreville, NJ on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up. I travel from NJ to the Philly area, so the reception on my FM tuner changes depending on my location, and it means more static in some parts of my trip. Because of this unpredictable static, I won't really be using the device for music. However, it is great for listening to podcasts and making calls. It definitely beats listening to my iPhone speaker while on the road!

Pros: Easy set up. Works well with my car stereo

Cons: Radio station signal strength sometimes creates static, affecting listening quality of music

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from St Charles, MO on 5/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works excellent. Sound thru speakers is great. Bluetooth for cell works very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from St Albans, NY on 5/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I honestly was skeptical when I ordered it. The day I received it and plugged it in was a different story. I had 2 other transmitters that cost $10 less but this surpasses them both. I haven't even switched statjons. Static is minute and connectivity is superior.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best value for the money.

selvyn from Hawthorne, CA on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use works great with my iPod and you can't beat the price. It's worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq - Good Value

Cynthia from Old Tappan, NJ on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried several different FM transmitters and this one is hands down the best. The USB port is an added bonus. Minimal static and very user friendly and reasonably priced.

Pros: User Friendly, Bonus USB Port, great sound and minimal static.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

So far, so good!

Cheryl from Corte Madera, CA on 4/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't been using this product for that long, but so far so good! The clarity of the sound is great when listening to music with little to no static, and it's very easy to find an ideal station through which to stream--MUCH better than basic FM transmitters I've used before this, and I love how quickly my phone links into the Bluetooth. Sound is also good on calls, but you will want to make sure your phone is relatively close to your head or that you speak loudly/clearly because I believe it's still the phone's mic you're using on your end--I've had people on the other end of the line tell me they can't hear me that well, unless I make sure to keep the phone at least at head level (I suggest making sure your phone is at least attached to a mount). Last thing -- while convenient that the product has a USB port for charging, I have noticed that I can hear a strange high-pitched almost whirring/whining sound when I accelerate/decelerate if I have my phone charging through the device (the sound is not present if I don't have anything plugged into the product's USB port). Don't know if it's just because of my car (I have a 2005 Acura MDX), but it's not a huge deal since I have another port through which I can charge my phone. Bottom line, this is a solid product that does just what it says it will, and it's affordable too.

Pros: - affordable product - good quality sound - fast Bluetooth paring - VERY user-friendly

Cons: - phone needs to be in proper position so that callers can hear you when you are speaking - strange whirring/whining sound when USB charger is plugged into device (again, this might just be a "my car" thing)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 2/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the cost which isn't much. Even tells you what channel to use and no static, I love it!

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works great!!!

Crutchfield customer from Black Diamond , WA on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent! We went to an audio store to get a quote to add auxiliary to our 2004 Acura. The quote was $260! We decided to give this a try and it works great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A Great Piece of Equipment

Geoffrey from West Newton, MA on 11/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to say that I was leery of trying an FM related piece of equipment. I've tried those before in the past and ended up thinking I wasted my money. This equipment could not be more different. It's excellent in every respect. It sets up quickly and easily. When in use, the Bluetooth locks onto my phone within seconds. The sound I'm getting through my auto sound system (a Bose upgrade in a 2003 Porsche C4S) is astoundingly good. And here I was prepared to spend a few hundred dollars to SOMEHOW connect my phone to the sound system. My only question--which I have not yet figured out, is this: on a phone call, where is the microphone that is picking up my voice when the call is going through the Scosche BTFreq? Is it the microphone on the phone? Or does the Scoche have a microphone? People on calls don't seem to be hearing me very well. I"m still investigating.

Pros: Great connection. Great sound.

Cons: Microphone for calls going through the equipment not self-evident.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Scosche BTFreq

Jenny from Kansas on 10/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and has very good sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pleasantly surprised

Phil from Chattanooga, TN on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply plug in, set to a FM station matching car radio and pair with bluetooth device. Works perfect. After initial pairing with my iPhone it connects automatically when I get in the vehicle. I was surprised at the sound quality. Playing music via iPhone it sounds every bit as good as playing a CD in my vehicle. No hiss or static. Very pleased.

Pros: Ease of use. Quality of sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP