Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Fits select 2017-17 Dodge, Freightliner, and Mercedes-Benz Sprinter vehicles — single-DIN and double-DIN radios

MFR # CR1294B

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Fits select 2017-17 Dodge, Freightliner, and Mercedes-Benz Sprinter vehicles — single-DIN and double-DIN radios

MFR # CR1294B

23 reviews
View this product

Fits well!

MICHAEL from PIQUA, OH on 11/25/2019

2018 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Camper Van

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and finish, if you have a 2017-2019 Sprinter with the Rand McNally, you will have to purchase the stowage bin #906-689-00-47-9B27 from Mercedes to fill the void where the usb and cigarette adapter were.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice fit

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, IL on 9/11/2019

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit was spot on but I wish it made use of the mount behind the unit (towards the front of the vehicle) which would more evenly distribute the weight and eliminate the torque on the face bracket.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 11/16/2018

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit did not match the 2013 Sprinter exactly. After some cutting to remove various tabs, it's close but still bulges the surrounding dash panel slightly and is not a clean fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Omar from Humble, TX on 12/12/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. I have a 2016 Sprinter that came with a radio delete. Fits perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Hugely Disapointed.

Adam from West Jordan, UT on 11/17/2017

2014 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit 2014 Sprinter. After heavy modification, outside trim ring STILL will not fit over Scosche dash kit. Also, when screwing in side pieces, the plastic holes split down the sides when the screws were only half way in. So very disappointed in this product and in Crutchfield for not making customers aware of the issue. From what I have read, the Metra 99-6512 works for 2014 Sprinters.

Pros: Can think of any.

Cons: Doesn't fit. Plastic breaks when screws are half way in. Side plastic cracks before head unit is tightly secured.

Crutchfield response on 11/21/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Adam to help him further. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Matthew from Girdwood, AK on 11/2/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As other's have reviewed, this does not properly fit a 2015 or later Sprinter. However with a Dremel tool and some patience, you can modify to the point where it works. I had to remove the two inner upper tabs and grind substantially the two lower tabs. You will also need to grind the top center and again the back top edge of the Sprinter's trim as there is slight interference preventing the trim over from completely snapping back into place at the very top. Basically a lot of trial and error. The job with the Dremel is messy and produces a lot of statically charged pieces of ABS plastic so don't grind in your van. For me, that meant about 20 trips up and down the stairs as I would grind, test and then re-grind. The end result for me is that it looks great. I have to admit, I am a little disappointed with Crutchfield. I've purchased stereos from them since they first started and this was the clumsiest install yet. Granted, the Sprinter is likely not a large market so as Sprinter owners, we are probably lucky to have access to ANY dash kit, but still I would have expected more.

Pros: It eventually works.

Cons: Way to much modification required.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not for 2014 or newer Sprinters

Rick from Portland, OR on 9/20/2017

2014 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your sprinter is 2014 or newer, you will need to cutoff the tabs that are used to attach this to the vehicle. Otherwise, the vehicle's dash cover trim will not snap back into place. The Scosche dash kit protrudes more than the one for the stock radio. According to the Scosche website, this is for Sprinter model years up to 2013 only. Crutchfield should not be selling this for 2014 or newer Sprinters.

Pros: looks ok from the outside

Cons: be prepared to do a lot of cutting on this one to make it fit in 2014 or newer Sprinters.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 8/28/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a perfect fit for my 2016 Mercedes Sprinter. I had to trim the mounting tabs for it to fit, and I cannot get the cover trim to entirely snap back into place. I assume that this dash kit was designed for the stock stereo and not the upgraded one, or something changed in the mounting of the 2016 Sprinter compared to earlier models. Furthermore, the instructions as to exactly how to mount the side plates--which direction, which orientation, to which holes on the cover plate and the stereo certainly affects the overall installation and fit, and these additional details should be provided in the instructions with this dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kits for 2008+ models will fit - this one is overly complex.

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, WA on 8/2/2017

2015 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit is overkill. It requires you to remove a piece of plastic from inside the dash (Scosche call it the "Radio Delete" plastic). That is not necessary using several of the other kits. Scosche's CR1292B will fit 2008+ Sprinters and it slots in on top of the "Radio Delete" plastic with less requirement to rip your dash apart. Having said that, this kit works fine if you follow the instructions. We had to grind part of the central lip recess away to get our head unit to fit flush with the front of the panel, but that isn't necessarily Scosche's problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 7/24/2017

2012 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Exact fit. Took less than ten minutes. High quality product.

Pros: Exact fit. Easy to install. High quality product that matched the dash in my Mercedes Sprinter 3500.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Jason from Murrieta on 5/30/2017

2015 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice when you finish the heavy modifications required to make it fit

Pros: Looks stock once installed

Cons: Requires lots of modification to fit right in sprinter

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Tom from La Jolla, CA on 5/15/2017

2012 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits my MB 2012 Cargo Sprinter Van, seems flimsy, but gets more stable once everything is installed and tightened into the dash. I did not have to modify this face plate for the install. There is another, very sturdy caddy into which the factory unit installed which must be removed. It seems counter intuitive. Thought I'd have to break out the Dremel tool, but removing the factory housing, this one fits in perfectly. Not entirely sure why others felt the need for making mods on this.

Pros: Looks good. Fits opening.

Cons: Missing some screws.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Necessary but not perfect

Michael from Rhode Island on 5/14/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a direct fit for my 2016 mercedes sprinter 2500 2din.

Pros: Needed it, see cons.

Cons: After removing 4 tabs and cutting into the face I still need to cut more off to sit flush with factory molding. This is a 2016 mercedes sprinter 2500 cargo with 2din. Removal of the 2 inner upper and 2 lower outer tabs made it sit flush in cavity, additional sanding and cutting around the edges about 3 hours trying to get it flush. Still need to cut about 1cm x1cm from the top so the last 2 clips will sit flush like factory unit did.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Jon from Florida on 5/5/2017

2012 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well if you don't mind modifying It worked well after you modify but be careful its plastic and it will mark easily

Pros: Looks good

Cons: You have to make it look good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Clinton W from Cumming, GA on 4/18/2017

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit needed major modifications. Be prepared to use a Dremel to grind and cut to make it look good. It took me several hours to make it look right in my 2013 MB Sprinter 2500. But it does look nice when time is taken to ensure it all fits well. Three stars for final looks. I deducted two stars for having to do such heavy modifications. This was not a "cut off not needed tabs" modification, but nearly a complete rework.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor fit for 2016 MB Sprinter

Teal from Leavenworth, WA on 4/17/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible fit for 2016 MB Sprinter. I ended up carving material off of both the dash kit and the factory dash plate in order to make it work (sort of). This is not what I expected from Crutchfield.

Pros: The color matches.

Cons: Terrible fit that requires carving on both the dash kit and factory dash plate of 2016 MB Sprinter.

Crutchfield response on 4/19/2017
Teal, we're sorry you had problems doing your install. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the receiver installed and working! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major mods needed

Jon from Edwards, CO on 3/17/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needs major modifications to fit properly.

Pros: Looks good once you have made modifications to make it fit

Cons: Major trimming, grinding etc needed to make it fit 2016 Mercedes sprinter

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfict fit every time

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 3/10/2017

2009 Dodge Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great! Options for single or double din. Looks great. simple to install. The Crutchfield Team suggests all of the additional installation parts you may need including Metra XSVI-1784-NAV, Metra Electronics 40-VW10 Factory Antenna to Aftermarket Radio Adapter , and Metra Axxess ASWC-1 Universal Steering Wheel Control. Crutchfield offers these in a simple to use kit with our without SWC. We buy these for our company vehicles and they make installation extremely easy.

Pros: We had no issues with fit or function.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get out your snips.

John from Louisville, CO on 1/18/2017

2016 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got it to fit, but requires significant modification for a 2016 Sprinter. Looks nice, but a PITB to get the fit right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche CR1294B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 10/18/2016

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality, but does not fit 2013 Sprinter. Did a bunch of mods, but no go. I used another of lower quality, sadly. Crutchfield was great to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked with sprinter with some mods

Crutchfield customer from Vermont on 8/1/2016

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great in my sprinter but had to modify the faceplate to fit properly

Pros: Looks great

Cons: Needed to modify to make it fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Heater controls affected

Hollywoodkt from Branson Mo on 5/18/2016

2012 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is not made properly

Pros: Unit fit well easy install

Cons: Affected my heater controls because unit puts pressure on rotary knobs They are now hard to turn I removed adjusted and reinstalled to still be left with same problem

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash Kit That Didn't Fit

Poy L from St. George, Ut. on 5/7/2016

2012 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product had to be modified two different locations to fit into dash area

Pros: Radio Fit good into bracket

Cons: Bracket did not fit 2012 MB Sprinter Van

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP