Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Fits 2008-12 Ford Escape, Mazda Tribute, Mercury Mariner models — single-DIN or double-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # FD1436BLKB

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Fits 2008-12 Ford Escape, Mazda Tribute, Mercury Mariner models — single-DIN or double-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # FD1436BLKB

80 reviews
View this product

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 2/23/2021

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks fine. Installation instructions suck. The factory stereo I was replacing mounted to the dash plate I took out. It wasn't clear that the stereo I was installing didn't go back the same way with this kit. Also, I had to make a run to the hardware store to buy screws long enough to attach the thick plastic brackets to the stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Tyler from CHARLESTON, WV on 2/6/2021

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a lot of trouble with this unit. It doesn't have very clear instructions, and relies on your car's existing hardware to be transferred over. The mounting doesn't mount to the unit, it mounts to your car. This caused my radio to be completely out of place. After speaking to Crutchfield, they sent me a different one that worked well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 1/30/2021

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect and had got it delivered super fast... great job Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from New Franken, WI on 1/24/2021

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matches great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Maxwell from WHITE CITY, OR on 1/3/2021

2009 Mercury Mariner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, the paint matches perfectly and overall I'm pretty happy with this dash kit. My Mariner came with the four bolts that some people don't have in their escapes - these are the same bolts that bolt the original face plate together (for reference). The new face plate doesn't come with these bolts, I got lucky by having them in my car. The two downsides to this are the mounting brackets don't have much forward position - this is really bad when you have a compact double din like me. I ended up using some bolts to bring the radio forward a few millimeters. The other downside is the opening is rounded, which leaves a small gap between the screen of my radio and the faceplate. Not a deal breaker, but kinda weird.

Pros: Paint matches well Bracket mounts on frame

Cons: Bracket doesn't have enough forward positioning. Wish the mounting square wasn't rounded

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, but could be better

Ryan from Hanover, MN on 12/28/2020

2011 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to complete the install of a new head unit in our son's 2011 Mazda Tribute. His interior has the gloss piano black finish which isn't offered. We ordered the silver over the matte black option. However the silver looks good. The only issue we had is that the black plastic side radio supports do not work with the dash mounts. The radio would have been set too deep. The replacement silver front panel was missing four screw holes on the back of it to connect the radio directly to it. This is how the factory unit connects to the original panel. I circled the original screw holes in the photos which are missing on the replacement panel. We figured out a way to reuse the factory radio support brackets.

Pros: * Fits well and is required to take the place of the factory panel

Cons: * missing radio attachment points on the back of the panel * panel material isn't as thick as factory original * no gloss black color option

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 12/28/2020

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There was no way to mount the head unit. In the video, it shows the 2 side mounts clipping to the trim piece. Absolutely no way to connect these pieces. Horrible product.

Pros: Molds to original trim piece

Cons: No way to mount the head unit -At All!

Crutchfield response on 1/5/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Holes dont line up w car

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 12/6/2020

2008 Mercury Mariner Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Holes don't line up. I needed to drill new holes in the top of the unit to fit my car.

Pros: Looks OEM

Cons: Not "plug-n-play" holes don't line up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 12/2/2020

2008 Ford Escape Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit in my 08 ford escape hybrid

Pros: Fits like a glove

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Low quality in paint

Crutchfield customer from Eureka, IL on 11/8/2020

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fit well, and seemed well designed & built... The paint / covering has a large scuff mark right down the middle...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/16/2020
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. In this case we would've sent out a replacement free of charge.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tallassee, AL on 10/18/2020

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit my 2011 ford escape with no problems

Pros: Perfect fit with no additional parts or cutting on !!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It worked out in the end...

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Directions were incorrect and vauge. Kit did not include screws and square nuts. There are other Ford Escape dash kits available that Crutchfield could sell. It was ok in the end but wasted a lot of time figuring it out. Crutchfield was very helpful when I called for assistance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/10/2020

2008 Ford Escape Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We wish the Dash kit would have allowed for the receiver to be installed on top of it. Instead, the receiver was too big to fit through the opening and had to be installed behind it. Also, the instructions for installing the receiver with these dash kit brackets should have been more detailed. We spent a lot of time trying to install the receiver after wiring everything up because we couldn't figure out where the brackets should have been installed on the sides.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dash kit looks great and fit is perfect

Pros: Again all pros

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice fit and finish. Matches original dash!

Crutchfield customer from Newton, KS on 2/23/2020

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great! Needed to test fit the brackets on the stereo and pocket a few times to get the fit just right. All in all a great product!

Pros: Color matches original trim. Finished product looks great. More secure than I expected.

Cons: You will need to take the time and test fit a few times to get it just right.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

tom from YANKTON, SD on 12/25/2019

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put a double din unit into my sones vehicle and this part was not right. There were mounting tabs present on the original piece but not this. The mounting brackets included did not fit the dash. They were supposed to bolt to the dash using existing holes, but the holes were not used for mounting anything so there was no way to bolt them to the dash. There are also 2 posts on the original piece that hold clips to hold it in place but the aftermarket unit does not have them making the fitment even worse. I will be in contact with you on all of these issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/1/2020
Tom, we're sorry you're having problems with your kit installation. If you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 11/3/2019

2009 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fine, but Simple Adjustments Needed.

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, CT on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks great, but you must take extra time to figure out what SIDE HOLE SLOT on the left and right sides of your Head Unit, you need to use, so the unit does not stick out too FAR, or go into too FAR either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Villa Park, IL on 8/12/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quailty was ok, does a nice job of replacing the factory faceplate. Only issues were the 2 side mounting brackets that attach to the head unit, are to mounted into the dash with 4 screws/bolts which our Escape did not have....Had to call Crutchfield for help because this was not spelled out on how to remedy. Have to furnish own hardware. other issue was once head unit installed there is still a gap around the headunit even in its far forward position

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Las Cruces, NM on 5/2/2019

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The color doesnt match. There is no way to bolt down the deck unless you buy other hardware and figure it out yourself. This could've been designed much better with the deck mounts on the back just like factory deck. Terrible quality of the plastic mold. Unfortunately this is the only option for my vehicle.

Pros: A/c controls matched up fine

Cons: Need our own hardware, not a good color match,

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent Dash Kit for those willing to tweak

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 3/26/2019

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a decent kit with a few blemishes. The finish around the cut-out isn't great, only good. The flanges for head unit install will need to be tweaked to get a perfect alignment. I did it with a Dremel and afterwards, the fit in the dash is perfect. Maybe it was by virtue of having the single-din Sony XAV-AX100 which has a double-dine screen in a Ford Escape but I couldn't find any alignement that worked. So I cut the divider between a couple slots and it went in perfectly. So, to be clear, the kit has perfect alignment and placement of slots, you just might need to fiddle and tweak it a bit to get it exact.

Pros: Nice color match. In the end, alignment is perfect.

Cons: Might need to tweak the alignment slots but honestly, if you are a DIY'er car audio aficionado, this will not get in your way.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Steven from Merritt Island, FL on 3/13/2019

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit was satisfactory but didn't fulll match the silver and had minor defects in the plastic. My gloss black headunit didn't match well. Crutchfield sent out the matte black which matched better and was free of defects.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Doesn't match stock silver. Minor defects in the plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Jim from Jenks, OK on 3/13/2019

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've seen better dash kits. This one seems kind of poorly made. The dash panel appearance is fine, but there is very little in the way of structural support to hold the stereo in place. There's no point where the dash kit and stereo assembly is actually screwed or bolted to the vehicle. The brackets screw to the side of the stereo, and then are just sandwiched between the dash cover panel, and the dash itself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from White Deer, PA on 2/17/2019

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great items. Looks and fix like original part

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hurricane, UT on 1/8/2019

2009 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions for installation we're not clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/9/2019
Whenever you need help with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the kit installed correctly. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked but....

John from Buffalo, NY on 12/23/2018

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dash kit matched my interior hence why I chose this kit. The thing I didn't like was how you installed it, at first I guess the spacing to the outside for the stereo to fit flush but was way off. I got a tape measure to get the spacing more accurate, the flanges you connect had to be almost 2 in back from the front of the reciever. Now installing the stereo was another challenge, with no hardware to fasten the brackets. Lucky I bought JBL speakers that came with screws and fasteners. I attached the fasteners to the back side of the 4 holes and screwed them down which worked perfect while I froze outside in NY in the middle of winter scrambling what I was going to do with no hardware at 10pm. Everything did work out well, but just not as flush as I wanted without me getting to OCD with it. All in all my receivers installed and is secured.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Matte Does Not Match Stock

Ian from Denver, CO on 11/25/2018

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The color matches poorly to the stock unit. The issue is likely with the stock interior having a sheen, although when ordering there wasn't an option; rather, only matte was an option. I hoped it would look better than it does as a match to OEM. I have no earthly idea why people complain about the installation lacking instructions. I am guessing they have not done this sort of thing very often, because otherwise it would be obvious how to install this unit and have everything align perfectly. Measure twice, cut once...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 9/30/2018

2009 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fitment of panels with almost exact color match. A little metallic in the paint would make it perfect. The supplied radio brackets are lacking more slots for proper fit. Install, check for fitment, remove, try another slot....5-6 times. Quite a pain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fountain, CO on 8/14/2018

2010 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really well made and easy to install...only problem I had was I did order the matte instead of the shiney

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Robert from Youngstown, OH on 7/22/2018

2009 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality. Matches interior color perfectly. Perfect fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluetooth upgrade

Derick from Athens, GA on 7/15/2018

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and easy to install. Color matched perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works, but there is a catch...

Scott A from Austin, TX on 7/10/2018

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So the final product is excellent -- bordering on perfect -- but it took a whole lot more work than I was expecting. The Crutchfield Master Sheet takes you up to the point that you have the dash apart, and the OEM head unit out -- but then oddly stops there. It relies on the Scosche installation sheet to actually put a unit back in there -- but the Scoshe instructions basically say "mount these plastic bracket ears to the aftermarket unit and slap that sucker in!" There was no indication as to how the unit mounts to the dash (it does not mount to the face plate like the OEM unit did). After some very helpful calls to Crutchfield customer service (those guys rock), realized there were four holes to mount the brackets to the dash. Unfortunately there were no fasteners to do so, so you have to supply your own (if you read the reviews on this kit, you'll see that a lot of people had to supply this hardware). While knowing this ahead of time would have been good, it wasn't too big of a deal (I used 3/4" M6 flange bolts with flange nuts and a lock washer). A bigger issue -- the aftermarket head unit has to be 'guesstimated' as to how far it sticks out of the dash -- too little 'stickout' and there will be a gap between the head unit and the face plate; too much and you won't get the face plate back on. So you have to mount the brackets, mount the head unit, then test fit the face plate -- then disassemble, adjust the Scosche brackets as needed, and repeat the proces

Pros: Not many other options to get an aftermarket radio into the dash. If you put in the effort the results are exceptional.

Cons: Instructions woefully incomplete. Must provide your own installation hardware on some models.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Alysmarie from Desoto, TX on 6/20/2018

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly into my dash. This kit works best if your aftermarket stereo is a true rectangle.

Pros: Fits perfectly with structure of car

Cons: Does not look finished if stereo has any type of curve to its body.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great, installation was a pain

Nash from Zachary, LA on 5/14/2018

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit was great. The color matched well and it looks good in the car. I am giving it a 3-Star Rating because the installation was a pain and it didn't include helpful instructions. I also had to supply my own bolts and the radio still didn't fit that well.

Pros: look, paint matching, finish

Cons: did not fit the radio very well

Crutchfield response on 5/15/2018
Nash, we're sorry you had problems during your installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the kit installed correctly. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Stantonsburg, NC on 5/4/2018

2009 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super satisfied nice fit and finish great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 4/18/2018

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well for a replacement unit. The construction is of lighter weight as compared to the factory dash kit in our 2012 Ford, Escape. I suspect the reason for that is that the factory radio is fastened directly to the dash kit, not the frame of the dash. The new kit requires the receiver to bolt to the steel dash frame, therefore the dash kit does not bear that load. The factory dash kit was a gloss black, this one is matte black... it is still a good look. The heating controls fastened correctly to this new dash piece.

Pros: good fit into dash

Cons: light weight construction, time will tell if it maintains it's integrity.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Silver Lake, MN on 4/17/2018

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took some fiddling to get the adjustment right but once installed, the kit is solid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made to order!

Patrick from Winston Salem, NC on 3/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect replacement for the factory dash. Color and fitment are great. This is a quality product.

Pros: It fits and the right color

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kennebunk, ME on 2/17/2018

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and fit perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Review

Joseph from Columbus, OH on 2/15/2018

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product exact color match and everything you need for a aftermarket radio

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Maitland, FL on 12/19/2017

2008 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works, but not much info on installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/20/2017
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the kit installed correcly! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

john from Omaha, NE on 12/17/2017

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit is a pretty close color match to the trim in my escape, not perfect but happy with the product. Fit was perfect.

Pros: Great fit in my dash Color is pretty close to my other trim in dash Good price on the bundle

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

FD1436 Dash Kit

Mark from Saint Louis, MO on 12/14/2017

2003 Buick Rendezvous

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the best

Pros: good deal for me

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Dash Kit to integrate double DIN Receiver into Ford Escape

Dan from Washington, DC on 11/4/2017

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit to integrate double DIN stereos into a second generation Escape. Took a little bit of adjusting to get the depth correct, but ended up turning out great!

Pros: Looks like factory and integrates easily. I've had to take it off and on a few times to add new features to my receiver, but it seems to hold up well.

Cons: Lots of plastic, including the mounting hardware. would have preferred a metal bracket

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 8/22/2017

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward install, color was good but the mounts dont fit perfect. Radio looks good from the naked eye tho.

Pros: Color match and seamless

Cons: Radio dosent fit perfect, single din.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, PA on 8/21/2017

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product but the color silver did not totally match the existing color of my dash. This is why I did not give this item a five.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Thomas from Brentwood, TN on 8/9/2017

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect color match for my vehicle. Hard to ask for more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Jeff from Cana, VA on 7/29/2017

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in a 2011 Ford Escape. Fit perfectly and makes the installation go easy and look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Ray from Los Angeles, CA on 7/1/2017

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the dashboard kit andit came within 2 days. Easy to install by following the instruction that cane with it. It also matches the color of my dashboard.

Pros: The dashboard kit was easy to install. It fit and matches the color of my dashboard.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean look

Carlos from Teaneck, NJ on 6/24/2017

2008 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for the dash. But not for the radio. I had to trim the radio area so it can fit flush. Otherwise the face would not come off. Luckily I have a dremel tool and was able to do it in a breeze.

Pros: Perfect fit to the dash and clean fit.

Cons: Needed to modify a little so the radio can fit right.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436B Ford/Merc/Mazda Kit 2008-12

Matthew from Melbourne, FL on 6/4/2017

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes installing a double din a breeze. I ordered this with a Pioneer AVH-X391BHS for a 2011 Escape XLT. Pros: Size of din and AC slots are acceptable. I would have like to have seen a little tighter fit though. Color is not exact but you really have to look at it to tell. Cons: Brackets supplied are garbage. I ended up having a friend 3D print a set for me. (he likes a challenge anyways.) -.5 star No mounting hardware supplied. I ended up going to local hardware store to get clips to mount to the frame. -1 star. Instructions supplied are not very informative. Basically the only useful information was to see which side the brackets go on. -.5 star

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have!

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/15/2017

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and color match for the vehicle. Easy converted a 1 din to a 2 din unit. Instructions said to mount radio to existing mounts, but mine were on the original dash cover. I had to use some nuts and bolts to fasten the radio to the frame. Also, the opening fit the radio perimeter perfectly, but was not large enough to allow me to use the trim piece that came with the radio.

Pros: Color and ease of resizing.

Cons: Radio mount

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install, perfect color match

Jeff from Troy, MI on 4/7/2017

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These products were exactly as presented. The color and pin out was spot on and looks like a factory install. I haven't installed an auto radio in 30 years since my 20s. This dash kit and the other hardware Crutchfield recommended made the job go quickly without issue. No complaints, I would use Crutchfield again for any electronic needs. Jeff

Pros: Easy install, custom, detailed instructions that covered my entire install from Crutchfield

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

JamL from West Mifflin pa on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a cool accessories piece to customize the head unit in the Ford excape

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 3/5/2017

2009 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for for my 2009 Ford Escape. Looks like it came from the factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy fit...

Tony from Waianae, HI on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color match perfect... easy fitment with Crutchfield car stereo... super easy to install... whole new dash!

Pros: Perfect color match and fit...

Cons: Make one in Carbon fiber...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost the right fit

rexy712 from Puyallup, WA on 6/23/2016

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kit itself fit perfectly into my 2008 Ford Escape. The color matches the original very well and the plastic is of a very similar make. The problem is that the single din unit I got didn't properly fir in it. The opening wasn't wide enough to fit it and wasn't tall enough when the pocket was installed with it. I ended up having to file out the opening to make it fit.

Pros: Looks good in the vehicle and works well when completed

Cons: Radio didn't fit. Needed filed down to work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good color match. You'll meet your own hardware

Andrew from Paso Robles, CA on 4/8/2016

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great color match and fit. Pick up four 1-inch number 10 nuts bolts, and washers. Other than that, great product.

Pros: Great match and look

Cons: hardware not included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2008 Ford Escape XLS

Marco from Shreveport, LA on 1/27/2016

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality and looks factory, but instructions are not totally clear.

Pros: Good fit and finish

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would not recommend

JeffC from Northeast US on 12/31/2015

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't fault Crutchfield, this is just a poorly-made item. Once you attach the side pieces to the head unit, it should be simple enough to attach the head unit to the trim piece. It isn't. Getting the side pieces attached was a chore, and there was no readily apparent way to fit everything together. If I'd followed the instructions, I would have ended up just kind of cobbling it together and sliding it into the dash. Sounds fine until you realize there's not much holding the stereo and trim in place. If you plan on having a professional install done, the installer can probably use this as raw material to modify into a better solution than it is out of the box. If you plan on installing it yourself, like I did, there are much better choices. I spent about an hour trying to make this work without having to add/subtract/modify anything, and finally resigned in disgust and returned it. It was frustrating enough that I don't want to bother leaving a detailed review. It's just garbage. If you want Matte Black, like I did, my suggestion is to buy the Gloss Black made by another manufacturer and Plasti-Dip it. ** Kudos to Crutchfield on how they handled my return. Customer service was excellent. Fast, responsive, understanding, and satisfied me as a customer.

Pros: None.

Cons: Many. This thing is poorly designed, poorly engineered, and cheaply manufactured.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2008 Ford Escape

SteveH from Tennessee on 12/30/2015

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed unit with Sony Mex-N6000BH. The instructions were not totally clear. Instructions referred to 4 bolts that you removed to take out factory head (the bolts were there, you just didn't have to remove in order to remove the factory unit) -1 for clarity and +1 for recognizing the bolts were there and usable! As I related in my Sony Mex review, the head unit wouldn't fit in the double din as it was too wide. Perhaps a suggestion that one might have to remove the din sleeve and front bezel could be made in instructions. In any case, call to Crutchfield resolved issue and fits well after removing the bezel and sleeve. The color silver color does not match my 08' escape's trim color. Its close, but the factory trim has a slight gold tint to it...

Pros: Fits well

Cons: Instructions suck. Silver color is silver, but not really a match for my Ford.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche Dash Kit Ford Escape

Kel from Oregon on 7/10/2015

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product looks great once its in, but definitely not the same quality as the piece it replaces. It will flex a bit, and squeak a bit. The Ford escape combined with this unit kinda leaves you hanging. I had to use zip ties to tie into the huge threadless factory/schosche holes on the mount to car interface. The finish product looks like what I wanted though and the color/finish matches up great.

Pros: Finish

Cons: Stability and mounting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No mounting hardware

xeno from Minnesota on 6/1/2015

2010 Mercury Mariner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The mounting kit is pretty great. The bezel matches the dash of the Escape XLS pretty well. Lost 1 star because it did not include necessary mounting hardware (nuts, bolts, etc) for the new hard unit which left me wondering Home Depot for quite a while.

Pros: Great interior match.

Cons: No mounting hardware.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good

Mike D from South Florida on 4/14/2015

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: Looks good, Fits nicely, Color matches close enough Cons: No screw mounts on the plate for stereo, brackets for stereo are flimsy plastic, Not enough screw provided, In certain light you can slightly tell the difference in color to the surrounding trim (not really an issue, just honestly not an exact match) Other Thoughts: Definitely did the job. I put in a Pioneer AVIC Z-140BH, and it fit nicely into the slot. There were no mounting screws on the plate like the factory plate had. I had to mount the stereo to the car frame. Crutchfield didn't provide any screws or bolts to do so, so i had to take a trip to the hardware store. The plastic plates on the side felt pretty weak, and would move when i tightened the screws. Took a bit longer than it should have to get them lined up correctly. Still with those small issues, It's still a good face plate. Did the job, and looks sleek: 4 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2008 Ford Escape install

Rob S. from Felton, PA on 3/23/2015

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quality and looks factory! Simple install.

Pros: Good fit and finish

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works, but I had to mod it

JCool from Connecticut on 2/28/2015

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The actual replacement front console fit perfectly into my 2011 Ford Escape, I have no complaints there. I picked silver, and it's VERY close to matching the other plastic, not perfect, but close enough for what it is. The directions were horrifying though, they really don't give you any useful information besides which side of the radio the brackets go on. I had to use trial and error to find the right placement, which even Crutchfield Support told me. Even when I found the perfect setting (about 2 inches from the front of the radio), I had to drill a small hole in each bracket to make all four screws line up properly. Further still, I had to add my own custom fasteners to keep the radio in-place, and I had to add a long wood screw in the back to ensure the radio weight was properly supported.

Pros: It matches almost perfectly, fits nice and snug, gives the illusion of a factory/pro install.

Cons: Directions are awful, had to mod it to fit properly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

CM from Ohio on 1/17/2015

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a perfect fit the color matches the rest of the car.

Pros: Fits perfect

Cons: Instruction where hard to understand

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

mjlayton from Indiana on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This matches the finish of the factory trim perfectly, easy to install, make new radio look like a factory job.

Pros: Easy to install, great finish

Cons: Instructions a little short on installing the radio brackets for the proper depth, ( this took longer than anything else on installation )

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Holes in side brackets don't line up

mac from Oregon on 12/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an adequate attachment but suffers from lack of stability (plastic construction) and difficulty lining up the slots with the pre-drilled holes in the radio. Ended up using one supplied screw and a personally-supplied self-tapping screw on each side. This process of trial and error took over two hours. Would have been a lot easier with a printed instruction sheet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Crutchfield can offer, but, not very good

Expressonate from Eau Claire WI on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Escape/Tribute/Mariner have a very odd dash setup for the HVAC and radio. This kit is a workaround so you can install an aftermarket headunit without having to cut very expensive factory trim. This kit requires TONS of trial and error to make fit well, the fit and finish is really poor. I had to use washers behind my headunit mounting tabs in the dash. If I had left it, the unit would stick out enough to have a gap between it and the trim plate. Very sloppy. Huge pain to get it to look decent.

Pros: Cheap. Doesn't rattle.

Cons: Fit and finish is sloppy. Texture does NOT match. Trial and error needed for assembly ears on head unit to dash connection. Huge gaps. Flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit

Roy from Winchester, Va on 2/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits Great !! Only draw back is that the limited Escape trim is glossy black but the wife is happy ! It's her vehicle !

Pros: Made very well and fit is right on ! I do a lot of trim work at my Ford dealer and I must admit I was a little concerned about how it would go.

Cons: No match for limited trim.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

kasino166 from Selinsgrove, pa on 1/14/2014

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed

Pros: Perfect color match

Cons: Haven't found one

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Captain Kirk from Salt Lake City, UT on 9/12/2013

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a perfect fit, no shaving or adjusting needed (thats what she said) and looks OEM original.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

DanR from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 8/21/2013

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered two of these so I could do some custom work on one while the other was installed in my Escape. One of them did not ship with any screws to secure the single-din head unit and single-din pocket to the included brackets. The other one arrived with a plastic tab snapped off that screws into the air conditioning unit. If I didn't order two I would definitely have tried to exchange mine for another. The install isn't the most straight-forward. The head unit/ pocket combo mounts to the center console behind the dash kit and then the dash kit gets mounted on top. If you don't properly line up where you screw the head unit and pocket to the plastic brackets, it won't line up with the dash kit. This takes some trial-and-error to get right. The color did not match my interior at all but I knew that before-hand. I have the gloss/ piano black interior and Scosche only makes the flat black or grey version. Since I was doing custom work anyways to the dash kit I would be re-painting it. BTW- Metra makes a piano black dash kit but it's not available on Crutchfield. It does look very nice though once the install is finished and the head unit is properly lined up.

Pros: very affordable

Cons: missing hardware; install takes some effort.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche FD1436 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 6/11/2013

2011 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros: Easy to install, works well with double and single din units

Cons: Not exactly the same texture as factory dash and doesn't have plastic clips, but works fine and is only noticeable close up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Match

Paula F. from Fairfax, VA on 4/24/2013

2012 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and match to my Ford Escape's dash. Snug fit. Looks good. *Be careful not to snap any of the plastic clips/posts. I was a little too rough and ended up gluing a part back on. Worked out fine.

Pros: Good fit, matches dash

Cons: Careful not to break off pieces

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked well for single DIN in Ford Escape

JamesA from Denver, CO on 12/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product worked well for installing a single DIN Kenwood into my wife's 2008 Ford Escape. However, the instructions were confusing and it took me a while to understand how the receiver and pocket connected directly to the car and not to the dash unit. The Escape has the necessary holes drilled and hardware already in the dash. The hardware and holes seem to have no OEM function. Once this was understood I had no problems. The unit is now installed and looks very professional IMO. The color matched the silvery-grey color of the dash very well. The texturing is slightly off, but only noticeable under close inspection.

Pros: Excellent color match to 2008 Ford Escape. Very good fit; looks professional.

Cons: The Scosche instructions were confusing and sparse. Could do with an upgrade from Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unbelievable oversight in design

Matt from Bellingham wa on 7/13/2012

2008 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the previous review there is only one option to replace the faceplate if you are upgrading the stereo in an Escape. It was my bad judgement not to read the reviews first. I've always had good luck with Scosche fitting well first time. I can not fathom why they didn't use the existing method of mounting (reciever mounted to faceplate). Shame on you Scosche for making such a low quality, but very important, oversight. They're lucky it's the only game in town otherwise I would have returned this product and gone to another brand. I don't have a problem custom fitting a stereo but why buy a factory adapter that doesn't adapt?

Pros: Only silver faceplate on Crutchfield. Oh and it was free with my new reciever

Cons: See above, or other posts. Should be a zero star product if that was an option

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Only Choice = Poor Design and Quality

Aaron from Calhoun, LA on 6/8/2012

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only positive aspect of this dash kit is that it is the only option for replacing the HU in the 2nd Gen. Escape. Other than that, the negatives just stack up. The silver color does not match the original silver in the vehicle and thats just the beginning. This kit completely changes the way the HU is mounted in the Escape. The OEM stereo mounts to the dash face, NOT directly into the dash. This presents a problem since the instructions, or lack thereof, say to mount the stereo to the dash kit. There are holes in the dash to mount the new stereo, but you will have to come up with your own hardware. Once you do manage to mount the stereo, it is very difficult to get the dash kit opening to line up with the stereo, especially if your new HU flips down to put in a DVD.

Pros: It works, but just very poorly

Cons: Color does not match OEM, terrible mounting method, lack of instructions and hardware

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Not designed properly for 2010 Ford Escape

JMan from Long Island, NY on 5/16/2011

2010 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This may be designed for earlier models, I do not know. It appears to be correct, and it does fit, the problem is the methods to attach the new radio are not correct. In a 2010 Ford the radio is actually screwed directly into the plastic that this piece replaces, however this piece does not account for that, the only way to make it work even remotely was for me to bolt the radio directly into the car by drilling my own holes and using nuts and bolts but then the odds of getting it to line up with the opening on this kit were very slim and it looks terrible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP