Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Fits select 2009-11 Toyota Tacoma vehicles — double-DIN radios (Silver/Gray)

MFR # TA2053S9B

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Fits select 2009-11 Toyota Tacoma vehicles — double-DIN radios (Silver/Gray)

MFR # TA2053S9B

42 reviews
View this product

Perfect, buy it.

Crutchfield customer from Sandpoint, ID on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly, looks like it's from the factory, color match to trim around it is spot on. No complaints whatsoever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from North Salt Lake, UT on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The plastic brackets were not my favorite, but the dash kit matches seamlessly with my dash and fit the media receiver as well.

Pros: Fits dash seamlessly

Cons: Plastic brackets seem a little cheap and flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Smooth New Look to an Old Truck

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit fit perfectly in my 2010 Tacoma. I was worried about making my truck look less than factory perfect. That was not the outcome here. This dash kit has made my truck look so much better than "factory". No gaps, and perfect color match. In a word, Smooth.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: Not that I see

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo unit holders for the scosche product we're very flimsy and hard to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best option out there right now.

Jeff from Menomonie on 1/28/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unlike others, I had to use the included plastic brackets with my radio. The Alpine ILX-W650 is too short to use the original metal brackets. It ended up being rock solid once I figured out the process. I took a file and squared up the front edges of the brackets to remove the molding flash. Then I attached the plastic brackets to the inside of the face plate. There are corresponding notches that makes it pretty obvious how it goes. Then I put the small black trim ring into the face plate. It cleans everything up and locks the side brackets in place. Finally, slide the radio into the whole assembly and install the screws to attach it to the side brackets. If you radio has a removable face plate or one that moves, this probably won't work out right. Last thing is, remove the yellow clips from your factory radio and put them on here. It locks right in and looks perfect when it's done. My only complaint is how squared off and sharp the opening is. If they smoothed it out a bit, it would look totally factory. The color match was spot on and I much prefer the smooth plastic to the original texture. I like the look of the 12-15 style better, but don't think it would work out for my 2010.

Pros: Matches perfectly. Fits well. Easy to line up as an assembly before putting it in the truck.

Cons: No instructions. Sharp edges don't look quite natural.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Standard crutchfield delivery. Worked great and Easily

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 9/17/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked seamlessly to integrate into a 2011 Tacoma. Very easy to use.

Pros: makes the aftermarket fit into OEM. Looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Scottsboro, AL on 8/2/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect. I did not have to trim anything!!

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best one.

Alfred from Pflugerville, TX on 7/6/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and the color matches the vents. Easy to install but the directions, like all these kits, are not very informative.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Avery, ID on 4/19/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good kit. I chose this over the other brand based on reviews saying scosche was better. The texture doesn't match the old dash kit but that's okay, I am not a fan of the texture and I think it looks better without it. The color matches nicely. I followed other reviews and did not use the plastic mounts that came with, I used the original. It seems to scratch easily, I scratched the kit while trying to assemble all the pieces. Overall I am satisfied.

Pros: Smooth texture looks better than original bumpy texture IMO

Cons: Scratches easily

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great install kit for 2nd gen Tacomas

Crutchfield customer from Huffman, TX on 3/31/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my 2009 Tacoma. The color matches perfect with the silver trim on the dash. I was not sure about the plastic brackets at 1st, but they do work correctly and hold the radio securely.

Pros: Great fit, color matches

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Palestine, TX on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Silver finish matches Toyota interior nicely. I used my original brackets, seemed to fit better. Trim ring is really cheesey, worst part of the whole kit. Mine ratteled from day one, now lives in the trash.

Pros: Finish matches well

Cons: Cheesey trim ring is a waste.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 1/17/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was a 100% color match to my dash. The radio is either slightly small or the bezel slightly larger in terms of opening as a small gap appeared at the top and bottom of the radio even with the trim ring installed. It was easily filled from behind. Side bracketing felt a bit flimsy until radio was screwed in

Pros: Great color match to dash

Cons: Left a slight top and bottom gap that needed filling. Brackets for the radio mount seemed flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 12/2/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice makes the install look factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

David from Sevierville, TN on 8/8/2018

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, as advertised.

Pros: Color matches great

Cons: Plastic Brackets

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 5/31/2018

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color of the finish was very close on my 2010 Tacoma DB and matches okay without the texture like the OEM has. I went ahead and used the metal brackets from the factory radio instead of the plastic ones in the kit. Just felt it secured the Kenwood HU better. HOWEVER, the trim plate that came with the Kenwood DDX795 was too big for the opening in the Scosche so some modification was necessary. The Scosche does have a flimsy thinner trim plate but it didn't look good to me the way it fit way back in the opening. I decided to paint the dash kit black after doing some modification for fit purposes and matched up to the black areas by the vents the best I could. The edges don't match up perfectly to the surrounding dash areas but its negligible. Everything fit secure and I don't get any rattles from it so I'm happy so far with the choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Brian from Waipahu, HI on 4/9/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color or fit does not match a 2009 Tacoma at all. Would've chosen a different option if I had known.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't match or fit good.

Crutchfield response on 4/10/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Brian to discuss kit options. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, NH on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kind of disappointed with this piece. One tab was pre-broken (sealed bag and it wasn't in there) to save me the trouble of doing it I guess. Fitting instructions were abyssmal. Flexible plastic mounting plate holes didn't line up so I had to enlarge the holes. Not a big deal but hey it's supposed to be their business. Plastic squeaks over bumps at certain temps. I wouldn't buy Scosche again.

Pros: kinda looks like the original color

Cons: Fit and quality poor

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 4/20/2017

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gets the job done and looks reasonably stock in my 2010 Tacoma Access Cab. The mounting brackets are somewhat flimsy and assembling the HU to these brackets could have been easier. All in all, it works as advertised though.

Pros: Fits the dash perfectly

Cons: Mounting brackets made of cheap plastic

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 2/5/2017

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good match to OEM excluding textured finish, however don't feel that the finish difference is that noticeable. Trim ring extremely weak and broke on installation but was able to work around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Schertz, TX on 11/1/2016

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely satisfied, product just as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acceptable

Christopher from Milltown, NJ on 7/15/2016

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This did work just fine in my truck and makes the radio install look pretty close to stock. There is a semi noticeable gap on either side of the face plate but it doesn't bother me that much and I am usually really picky with things like that. I did not like the plastic mounting brackets for the radio as they seemed pretty flimsy. However I did not break them when installing the radio. I also wish the instructions for this were better because the instructions that came with the bracket/faceplate were pretty useless.

Pros: Looks close enough to stock. Good color match. Pretty easy install albeit terrible instructions.

Cons: Slight gap on either side of faceplate. Terrible instructions. Plastic brackets are flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Kit - perfect fit

Felix from Okeechobee, FL on 6/25/2016

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installation was very easy and kit fits perfectly the dash. Tried the Metra kit and this one, The Scoche kit is a lot better. Color match is spot on, non textured finish

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks nice, fits well

Kevin from Arizona on 9/13/2015

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good, matches the color very well in my 09 Tacoma. Only thing is the sides are not perfectly flush, they stick out just barely (1/16 of an inch) But looks good none the less

Pros: Matches color Fits dash Non textured, smooth looks better

Cons: Left and right sides just barely stick out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits good, looks good, easy to install

Michael from New Mexico on 8/31/2015

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fit my 2010 Tacoma perfectly. It is smooth where the OEM part was textured, if you didn't know that it would look original. Like others I was concerned about the plastic brackets (the factory stereo was held in with metal brackets) but it hasn't fallen out yet!

Pros: Fits perfectly - like OEM Looks good, color matches perfectly Good price

Cons: Plastic brackets to replace metal just seems wrong

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

so so kit

Mick S. from Tampa Bay on 11/10/2014

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its ok but not perfect

Pros: Perfect fit in dash

Cons: Not textured like the OEM unit and no instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kit

Mike from Nome Alaska on 6/11/2014

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect!

Pros: Snap right in!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks nice but some quality problems

alaskagoldman from Fairbanks, AK on 6/2/2014

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit made the installation look almost as good as factory installed system. It was definitely necessary to make sure the installation doesn't look like a hack job.

Pros: The Gray in dash module looks great!

Cons: The bracket to fit onto the CD-receiver (Kenwood DPX500BT) seemed very flimsy and I would not trust it if I was to drive on many dirt roads. The hardware included to connect the plastic brackets to the CD-receiver were a very poor fit and wouldn't even stay in. Alignment inside of the in dash receiver unit is difficult because of the problem with the fitment of the brackets to the receiver. Plenty of room for improvement in this part of the kit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Install equip

Drinknmolson from 80033 on 4/1/2014

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty darn close to a perfect match to the vent surrounds which is what i was hoping for. Crutchfield is awesome!!

Pros: Awesomeness!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash mount

Crutchfield customer from Vermont on 2/9/2014

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dash mount was good, but the non detail of how to was bad. Good thing I was able to find a blip on U-Tube that detailed the dismount issues.

Pros: Matched my dash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plastic week

Will bill from Omaha.ne. on 10/16/2013

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Weak plastic had to very careful not to break we will see how long the side brackets last

Pros:

Cons: Weak

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

fits perfectly

buz from houston, tx on 10/15/2013

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product fits great and is a color match. No issues whatsoever.

Pros: Works great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great looking kit

james from Atlanta, GA on 10/4/2013

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a little wobbly due to plastic brackets. Overview says this kit uses factory brackets. Wrong. comes with plastic mounting brackets that help correct viewing angle issues. Only problem is that the brackets are a little bit flimsy so you may want to do some creative reinforcing of their strength to keep them from creaking and wobbling at times under VERY bumpy conditions. Don't use factory metal brackets, even after modifying them to fix viewing angle, they still never fit quite right. This is the kit to buy for your tacoma.

Pros: looks great. helps correct viewing angle.

Cons: supplied brackets are a little bit flimsy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great kit

Scott N from Beverly MA on 7/6/2013

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matches my 2009 dash perfectly. Fits nice and tight and looks clean. And it came free with my head unit purchase!

Pros: Great color and fit It Was Free!!!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thank you Crutchfield!!!

Ryan from Roseville on 5/15/2013

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a perfect replacement kit and nothing is nicer than free.

Pros: Color matches perfectly

Cons: Sturdier plastic pieces to hold the unit in place stronger would be nice

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent kit

ToddB from Fort Worth, TX on 4/16/2012

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Directions were not very clear as to how the sides attach to the kit. Pretty flimsy until you actually screw the radio into the sides. Silver paint coat was extremely thin and showed 2 scratches from minimal contact with the radio while sliding it through. Once the radio angle was fine tuned and I tightened the side screws, it fit well into the dash.

Pros: Color match

Cons: Design, paint coat

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks Perfect

Okazu from Aiea, Hawaii on 4/6/2012

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit is Excellent

Pros: Pops right in

Cons: Needs extra clips- one fell in the dash and can't find it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 Tacoma

JeffP from Temecula, CA on 3/16/2012

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this for free with my headunit purchase so the price was great! This is a scosche kit and they do not make one for the 2012 Tacoma yet, however this one works for now. Toyota changed the dash slightly on the 2012 so this kit fits in with the same bolt locations and everything, but the contour lines are off and there are some gaps. Last I heard, Scosche is working on a 2012 kit and it should be out about May 2012. I will switch to a 2012 kit when it comes out, but this one works fine for now.

Pros: good color match

Cons: not available for the 2012 yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

in dash kit

traveller from Arkansas on 2/13/2012

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should of gotten the black, but gray looks good (gray interior) it's a keeper

Pros: easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

necessary kit!

swinerider from Richmond, VA on 1/24/2012

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit confusing, I had to remove all kinds of stuff from the unit to fit in, mounts are quite flimsy but work ok once in, face plate trim panel scratches extremely easy (its black under the this silver paint!) and doesnt hook securely on the bottom as it should. It works but certainly could be better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Okay but not without concerns

Bill R from Nashville, TN on 6/30/2011

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The piece matches up well with the rest of the ("silver color finish") dash. My biggest complaint is that the instruction guide was lame - it stated the support brackets "snap in" and they do not. When I called Crutchfield for help, they were sure of it either and went to go get one and try it. They too saw that it wasn't accurate so we had to just "guess" that you "kinda attach them to your double din unit while holding it in place & up against the faceplate. Sure, if you have 3 hands and not everyone is born that lucky. I mean really?! It did take just a bit of manipulating and "trial" to get it to work, but it finally did. Also there was a small pack of two little silver screws - what are these for? In comparison to the factory where the sides have a "curled" pieces, this is just cut off, nothing actually curls and goes back fitted in the dash, it's just a cut off edge on both sides. I must also admit I am a bit concerned about the "plastic" lasting or holding up and not having the silver type finish wear off or fade out - there is another mfg who makes theirs (probably the unit supports mainly) in metal which would probably be better. As much as I'm pleased with the finished look, which it does look good, they lose points for poor and misleading install info and fairly cheap durability and questionable expectations. With a little effort to not "shortcut," it could even be alot better piece of product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost perfect...

Rob from Louisiana on 2/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mounting kit, the silver matched my 2011 Tacoma perfectly. Small problem with the faceplate snapping in tightly on the left side. It leaves about an 1/8 inch gap as opposed to the right side which fits perfectly snug. Had the same issue with a Scosche kit on my 2007 Tacoma??? Fairly minor issue and I don't think anyone but me will ever notice. Other than that, it looks great and I'm happy with the way it turned out. Install was easy. I'd advise that you save screws, clips, etc. from your stock radio. You'll likely need to use them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scosche TA2053S9B Dash Kit

Bill A from North Las Vegas, NV on 2/5/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was fairly easy. The installation kit provided everything I needed and instructions were easy to understand. With the supplied connectors I didn't have to cut any vehicle wiring.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP