Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

5.1.4-channel powered sound bar with Dolby Atmos® and DTS:X

MFR # 508683

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

5.1.4-channel powered sound bar with Dolby Atmos® and DTS:X

MFR # 508683

12 reviews
View this product

Highly recommend

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very solid piece of equipment that sounds great. Looking forward to more Atmos and 3D content to fully appreciate the capabilities of this soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful sound! Clear voices, effects, magic!

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are very pleased with our Ambeo soundbar. It lived up to everything it promised thus far. We were tired of the endless wires, plugs, etc of other sound systems. We have a 17.5 x 17.5 x 10 room with one side open to a large kitchen and another a stairwell. It provides plenty of power to fill the space. We eventually combined it with an SVS SB-3000 and what a perfect combination. Razor sharp sound. If you need a minimal storage mount for the microphone I posted one to 3d print free on prusaprinters.

Pros: Clear voices, sounds, effects Creates an immersive surround sound Minimal wires, cords, hassle of setup Perfectly adjustable for any sync offsets in the App

Cons: Size but that is kind of necessary for a true quality speaker Cost of course

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Go for it!!

Crutchfield customer from Minot , ND on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Replaced an older Yamaha unit and does everything so much better even without a subwoofer! The hdmi switching is seamless and the sound is amazing! Love movies and games on this thing! Definitely an investment but all the reviews both on Crutchfield and online were so good had to go this route - plus needed the 4 hdmi for TV Arc output and DirectTv, PS4, and XBox inputs. Great atmospheric effects - playing Jedi Fallen Order on this thing rattles the house. Great purchase and don't let the price tag scare you - if you have a smaller room I definitely recommend for overall sound and build quality.

Pros: Overall build quality / Sound quality / Good bass - with no sub / Simple remote/ Great HDMI switching

Cons: Price /Weight - this thing is a beast!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I struggled with a top-of-the-line Sony soundbar for several years before taking a chance on the Ambeo. The Sony had constant issues (flakey HDMI switching, sub drop outs, etc) but so far the Ambeo has been rock solid and the sound it considerably better. I'm very impressed by the low-ends it delivers, you truly don't need a sub unless you want to go the extra mile. Dialogue in particularly improved over my previous soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Is the most expensive soundbar made to date worth it?

Wayne from GILBERT, AZ on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

...That was the question at the top of my mind when I hit "purchase" on this thing. I'm afflicted with the inability to enjoy any audio played over the speakers of a phone or TV, so every room I like to spend time in has quite a bit more audio equipment in it than needed. I bought the Sennheiser for use in our master bedroom (which is about 15'x16'), largely because it is impossible to justify having a full-blown Atmos setup in a bedroom to your spouse. It replaced a fairly cheap soundbar setup whose wireless sub eventually stopped communicating, and always sounded kinda bad. I got this thing hooked up, added a JL d110 sub (also from Crutchfield), and... WOW! I'm very impressed. This is truly the best soundbar I've ever listened to, but in my opinion, it does need a great subwoofer to bring it to life . The unit, when used alone, has bass you can hear - but adding the sub gave it that sound pressure needed to turn any well-recorded audio into an experience. Seriously, it's that good. you have to get one. but plan on adding a sub. Other than that - the hardware has a few quirks that will probably be straightened out in future firmware updates. For example, when you turn the unit on, it will default to the "TV" input, rather than "last used". This is annoying when you have older cable equipment with antiquated HDMI interfaces, but not so much an issue with new set-top boxes. Tl;DR: If you're thinking about it, just buy it.

Pros: It sounds great! Very aesthetically pleasing. The HDMI switcher works better than most other units I've tried. Overhead effects actually sound good.

Cons: A few software quirks, mostly related to use with a subwoofer. Make sure you do your first room calibration without the sub connected. Also - audio seems to default to a "flat" mode everytime you turn the soundbar on. It is necessary to hit "Movie, Music", or other mode on the remote in order to kick in the full range of processing effects everytime you start the soundbar up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Awesome soundbar!

Crutchfield customer from Norco, CA on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply awesome, all the reviews are spot on, and this soundbar has replaced my old M&K 5.1 THX speakers without adding in a subwoofer. The precision and clarity of the sound is amazing.

Pros: Precise and clear sound, strong bass without a subwoofer, checks all the boxes technology wise, surround sound is amazing, adequate number of HDMI inputs

Cons: Priced higher than most but worth it

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best sound bar

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I auditioned many upscale sound bar brands and by far this was the best one. It has excellent bass without the need for a subwoofer, and voices are very clear and understandable. Both of these positive characteristics are lacking in most of the other sound bars we heard.

Pros: Overall sound quality. Excellent bass without the need for a separate subwoofer. Great voice clarity. Intuitive remote control.

Cons: Tall and somewhat deep but the size is necessary/acceptable to produce the bass and expansive sound.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

For us a perfect match

Crutchfield customer from Branson West, MO on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is absolutely amazing. We moved our residence and wanted a bar type surround system that was clean in design and did not require mounting of speakers on walls or stands. While expensive, this system literally hit all of our expectations.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best soundbar by far

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't go with full 5.1, 7.1 solution so the only way I could get "the sound" was by purchasing a soundbar. At first, I was a bit sceptical, but this really works. Of course the room plays a big role too. I even gave up having a fireplace, simply closed the gas vent as this bar is not going back. In addition to the bar I added two Rythmik F8 subwoofers connected over WiFi, and was able to calibrate it with the soundbar by using the provided mic and built in calibration system. Don't get me wrong, the bass of unit itself is really, really good, but with my two subs the foundation is just more solid. It's hards to say had I not owned the subs before I would have not buy them as I know know how it sounds with subs, but first few days I used it without and the bass was impressive for a soundbar. Music wise, it's rather good too. Not comparable to Harbeth's I have in another room, but decent for casual listening.

Pros: Surround sound is really there.

Cons: iPhone app is tricky, buggy, not sure how to call it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a game changer. My wife was not a fan of the purchase until she heard it. This is the finest Sounbar on the market. Yes, it is $2,500 bu you get what you pay for. It is worth saving for.

Pros: The sound for both movies and music for a sounbar is unsurpassed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, it's expensive so lets get that out of the way. And it's big - but the separate bracket is easy to mount and holds it solidly. If you're looking for a single box solution that has no real compromises, this is the way to go. The Ambeo delivers with authority - you can put the volume up and it never sounds like it's breathing hard - and if you're straining to hear dialogue through most soundbars - this one delivers crisp voice presentation. Deep bass without a subwoofer is a plus. The only slight nitpick I have with it is the Sennheiser app is a little clunky, but once set up, it really doesn't matter.

Pros: Sound, Voice Clarity

Cons: Sennheiser App

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

Beyond expectations

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unmatched sound, unmatched elegance and unmatched performance. Stars all the way up to the sky.

Pros:

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

16 of 19 found this helpful

TOP