Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

5.1.4-channel powered sound bar with Dolby Atmos® and DTS:X

MFR # 508683

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

5.1.4-channel powered sound bar with Dolby Atmos® and DTS:X

MFR # 508683

91 reviews
View this product

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir City, TN on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the Sonos play bar for years and was never really happy w the performance. Bought the ambeo a month or so ago and I absolutely love it. I'm a full time rvr and space is a commodity and this was a fantastic purchase. I've always owned kef separates and this is as close as you are going to get to have the same quality of sound. I've had zero issues w it and couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Felicia from CUMBERLAND, VA on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. Easy to stream music to. Plays at very good volume with very little to no distortion. Very clear and natural sounding. We watch a lot of concerts on blu ray and streaming, and it was very enjoyable. With ,my room's open concept design, however, we were not able to take full advantage of the features of the Ambeo with Atmos and surround sound while watching movies. So while not ideal for every room, when you have the right space for it, the sound is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just better TV speaker, no bass

Chris from Boston, MA on 9/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dialogues are clear but it's just Bigger TV speakers. Usable Bass is just above 129Hz. It sound smooth above this but big drumbeats sounds like small baby drum. After adding B&W 8" sub it imported a lot. Surround and Atmos effect is not so good. I may get better surround effect if I have walls on both sides without any openings. Atmos effect compromised because of wall mounted tv. Some sound of top drivers fired behind the tv as tv stays few inches away from wall. I finally end up putting Ambeo in kids room and bought Bose soundbar and subwoofer which phase Guide technology project surround sound better And give gives better room filling sound even for Atmos! And surely less expensive with subwoofer and sleek design and definitely "full" enjoyable sound!

Pros: Dialogues are very clear

Cons: Bass below 129Hz completely missing. Drums sounds like toy drum. Surround effect poor compare to Bose soundbar. Worth <1000$

Crutchfield response on

5 of 13 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound, worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Horrible waste of money!

Albert T from PHOENIX, AZ on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sucks. Hooked up via HDMI ARC to my TCL 6 series and has terrible sound. Bad dialog on all types of input live, Streaming atmos or any other. Box has gone before I read about the defective units if that is the problem with mine so I cannot return it. Wasted my my cash. So dissatisfied and disappointed. Going to BOSE.

Pros:

Cons: Sound is garbled!

Crutchfield response on 9/13/2021
Albert, we're sorry you're having issues with your sound bar. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 2-year warranty on this sound bar. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

9 of 12 found this helpful

Great Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound decoding is very good. Add a good powered subwoofer and the sound is excellent. Rarely mentioned in the reviews is the very good connection through the eArc interface. The soundbar automatically turns itself on and off with an Arc enabled TV / Monitor. Setup is very easy with its built-in calibration program. The only "issue" is its large size but there is no substitute for cubic inches. Other soundbars try to boost the sound and thereby add distortion. This Sennheiser AMBEO takes a purist approach. It's big. It's expensive but it is very good. I use the soundbar in my RV and people wonder how such a big home theater sound can come from from my small RV. Great job Sennheiser. Those Germans are so clever.

Pros: Good sound without a subwoofer. Great sound with a good subwoofer. Excellent eArc interface. Good substitute for a full stereo system in a small room or confined space.

Cons: It's Expensive. It's big. It's heavy. Would like an option for wireless rear satellite speakers for improved sound separation.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceedingly simple to set up, not as sensitive to the room as my 2 channel system had been due to its digital mic setup. tweeter and midrange are excellent but the base is a little light, though it has an input for a subwoofer. I have HD800 Sennheiser headphones and I have been exceedingly happy with them, and the Ambeo is another well-designed and executed product that provides that same quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Michael from NAPLES, FL on 8/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product considering no subwoofer. I live in an open landscape home, make sure you place atmos where you watch TV when calibrating the soundbar and nothing blocks the up firing speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a technical marvel this is. I am an engineer and really appreciate both technology and craftsmanship. My only complaint and it's only because I am 75 years old and was placing the soundbar in an elevated position, is it is HEAVY. Which is generally a really good thing. We use the app more than the remote, because you have the ability to fine tune your listening more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Ambio, crazy good sound.

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge, FL on 6/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a all around great sound bar, Ambeo is it. The sound is crisp and clean, brilliant. For those replacing mid to high end separate equipment, you will need to add a subwoofer. If you have to have sound coming in from behind you will need a very specifically shaped, very neutral room to take max advantage of Ambeo's sound bouncing abilities. As many other reviewers have mentioned, the software is very finicky. Do a software update as soon as you set it up. Getting hooked up to the internet is the first obstacle. After a week with the Ambeo I am still trying to get Google Chrome to function properly, sound works great, can't get the video to work, will have to talk to the techs at Crutchfield. Streaming music works great, sound is spectacular! If your TV doesn't have eArc, you might consider replacing it also. Many video software quirks seem centered on that. I am patiently waiting for Crutchfield to send my new Samsung NEO TV. One last tip: make sure you have good ventilation at the center back of the bar, it does run warm.

Pros: Stunningly clean, brilliant sound, very versatile on inputs.a great a/v receiver replacement, looks very nice below a 65" or bigger TV, can produce room filling sound with a 250 watt (500 peak) amp, can add a subwoofer

Cons: Finicky software, really needs a subwoofer, pricey, runs very warm, documentation a little light on tech/troubleshooting info

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome soundbar!

Crutchfield customer from fullerton, CA on 6/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this in February 2021 from Crutchfield. I have tried the 950t, the q80r, jbl 9.1, and the lgsn11rg - The ambeo sound completely blows them out of the water - warm, natural, organic tones from vocals, effects, and movie soundtracks. *I will admit the marketing for a complete 5.1.4 is a farce in my room . Nothing comes from behind or behind-above me, but sometimes pretty close.* Back to the good stuff - this is the most theatrical sounding soundbar out there as we speak. I mean i'm not even kidding; the T-REX roar in the first jurassic park is ungodly - so much power! Yes i would LOVE to have rear speakers but theres always one thing you have to sacrifice when buying any soundbar whether it's lack of audio codecs, rears, weak sub, no side-firing speakers, etc - this soundbars downfall is the rears BUT that's not to neglect the power and sheer ferocity it can produce. The soundstage is massive. The best thing about this soundbar is you can add ANY subwoofer you want. Ive been holding out because i live in an apartment and i want to use a big ol' sub not a small one with this bar. Even without a subwoofer it still performs very well. Sometimes youll notice bass missing, but thats to be expected without a sub. Totally would recommend! Just a fair warning - as with most soundbars really - room acoustics are important: side walls, 14ft flat ceilings or lower, and proximity between you and the bar itself (probably about 8-10ft away at most if possible).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Travis from Ogden, UT on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After the last update the sound is muffled and the voices are very faint and inaudible I've reset and recalibrated it and still no good and I'm waiting for a response from Sennheiser on my warranty. The company is not easy to contact like most quality companies I've dealt with in the past.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 27 found this helpful

Good, but not good enough! am returning item.

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds OK, but not quite like a real surround system. Does not support turntable, and headphones. insufficient source and switching capability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 15 found this helpful

Great Center Channel speaker

Christopher M from Orlando, FL on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's an outstanding center channel speaker. Not what I was hoping for, but I guess there is only so much you can do with directional drivers and DSP. In an effort to keep the peace in our home, I re-did the main TV setup. Removing the 7.1 setup and replacing with the Ambeo and a SVS subwoofer. I knew there would be some loss in surround sound effect, but I was hoping the technology had come far enough to mitigate the absence of drivers on the walls beside and behind. It hasn't. There still is no substitution for an actual speaker producing a sound in a physical location. There are good things about the Ambeo, however. The clarity is excellent. At virtually all listening volumes, dialog is easily understandable and completely anchored to the scene. Volume is also good. Considering it is a self powered unit, I thought it was going to have problems with high-intensity scenes (Matrix Lobby scene, Endgame finale, etc.) but it handles them quite well. When paired with the SVS sub, it sounds very good. But there is no mistaking that all the sound is coming from the front. In Ambeo's defense, I have the absolute worst room for reflections/DSP to work their magic, irregular angles, high, sloping ceiling, open on one end. But the wife is happy. Setup is very easy and the presentation is very clean and simple.

Pros: Good looking unit Easy setup High quality construction Excellent sound clarity Good sound volume

Cons: Surround sound is virtually non-existent (in my room) WiFi will not connect with my Netgear Orbi

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Okeechobee, Florida on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sennheiser Ambeio soundbar is far and away the best I've ever heard! You get what you pay for to get the best soundbar available. Thanks

Pros: The sound!

Cons: Abit heavy at 40 lbs and pricey.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, MO on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The most amazing soundbar, Just short of a full surround theater system. Though I believe this is no fault of its own, andis probably related to my particular theater. I have noticed no delay in voice, as others have mentioned. it is extreemly easy to set up. It works easily as well for music, as theater sound. Worth the $$$

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Bronx , NY on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

La razón por las dos estrellas: Mis expectativas fueron muy altas con el producto y así de altas fue la desilusión. No quiero decir que el producto es malo, pero no lleno mis expectativas. Voy a tratar Sonos Arc y veremos que pasa. The reason for two stars: My expectations were very high with this product and the disappoinment was just as high. I don't want to say that the product is bad, but it did not fulfill my expectations. I am going to try the Sonos Arc and see how it goes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/2/2021
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales and Support team.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Warner Robins, GA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar is the best-sounding single speaker I've ever heard. Sound is so realistic.Better than any of the soundbars out there. It has plenty of connections.Even EARC. Which is a plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

This Soundbar is a Waste of Money

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It never works. The center channel constantly cuts out. Worse, the entire sound from this entire bar cuts out. I have read online it has something to do with integration between this soundbar and Apple TV and/or other services, but who cares. It cuts out. Leaving you with your TV sound system. In other words, spending this much (or $20) on this is a bad investment. (This site made me give it 1 star....)

Pros: In the odd times it works, it sounds good.

Cons: It often does not work.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 25 found this helpful

Very happy with the Ambeo

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Ambeo sounds great in a 12 X 12 room with our 60" tv and an AVS SB-2000 Pro subwoofer. The set up was easy and quick. The app works ok without any issues, but it is very basic. Crutchfield had it to my door within a week. So far I am very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Very disapointed

Malcolm from NEWPORT NEWS, VA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is good but I've had a multitude of technical problems since I got it that I never had with my previous surround sound. Audio cuts out for a few seconds every few minutes, the screen will turn to static every once in a while for no reason and I'll have to restart the sound bar, the remote works doesn't work half the time, sometimes I'll start a show and there's no vocal audio, and now sometimes when I'm on my PlayStation the volume, for no reason, will turn to full and bout blow my eardrums out. I've tried replacing the hdmi cable but didn't help. Didn't even come with the power cord. Don't know if I got a lemon but extremely disappointed with this product considering how much money I paid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/13/2021
Malcolm, we're sorry you're having issues with your soundbar. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

14 of 16 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this sound bar. Exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SOUND BAR!

Domingo from RIALTO, CA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I currently just sent inn my 3rd sound bar in for repairs to Sennheiser because I'm passed my warranty with Crutchfield. Crackling sound coming from left speaker and still unable to connect and calibrate sub to it, tried every trouble shoot possible with Senn. Tech, no results. 1st bar worked fine for a couple of months with no issues calibrating my sub to it. After a few months, the center speaker started to sound muffled. Bar was returned and second one was sent out. 2nd bar had issues with calibrating the same sub i had calibrated with the first bar. Returned it and received a 3rd bar. 3rd bar had same issues with sub not calibrating out the box so i just assumed maybe an update was needed. So i kept it and after a few more months, no luck with sub and crackling sound started coming from left side of speaker during low bass scenes. So now I'm awaiting news from Sennheiser in regards to current issues with bar. This whole experience has just been a pain in the butt! Its quiet disappointing to see a great reputable company as Sennheiser release faulty products like this soundbar. Crutchfield needs to really look into this and maybe even stop offering this product until Sennheiser can get their act together. Also, good luck getting through to Sennheiser customer service / tech for this bar. I've been dealing with them since the first bar and its a pain getting through. Keep in mind that first couple of times were PRE-COVID so theres no excuse for the long wait time

Pros: Great sound when it works correctly!

Cons: Reliability issues Expensive

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason I gave this four stars is Crutchfield had to replace the soundbar. The second one worked flawlessly. This is a amazing soundbar. It dose what it says it will do. Its not a perfect surround sound but it's very close.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sweet!

Ralph from WESTONS MILLS, NY on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The most difficult part of setup was just getting the bulky heavy box into the house and over to the listening room. I'm very happy with this unit and I've gotten over the sticker shock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Broussard, LA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfornance Wow, Repairs Wow

Guest from Littleton on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When it works amazing. The problem is trying to keep it working. I have had two defective soundbar. I sent mine in for repair under warranty. They have ok customer service but today I finally get my soundbar back and they didn't send me the power chord. So beware. If your willing to go through some repairs the performance is great. It is like a Ferrari... amazing but always in the shop!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

Quality Sound System

Crutchfield customer from Grand Blanc, MI on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hey, this soundbar is the best I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. I have always bought top end electronics. Most soundbar systems don't give you their frequency response, this one(Ambeo) is 30- 20k , and it has 500 watts of power! Drop the mic! Walk away!

Pros: Exceptional clarity

Cons: No

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great except Wifi Setup

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality wise, it is exactly what I expected from such a soundbar at this price. I would have given it a 5* if not because of the wifi setup. I setup the soundbar with a wired network temporarily (by pulling a network cable from my router ) and it worked beautifully the first time. Then I unplugged the network cable and tried to setup the wifi connection. It took me 8+hrs over 4 days to set it up. I almost gave up (mind you, I have 20+yrs of computer network experience). I had plenty of smart devices around my house, and this is by far the hardest device to setup for wifi. Honestly, if I have to do it all over again, I don't know I could do it. No idea why Google Home is required just to setup a network and it is extremely flaky. I do not expect this from a $2,500 soundbar. A $30 FireTV is much easier to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great room-filling sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Ambeo

Crutchfield customer from Springville, UT on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is far above the rest! The Ambeo may cost a little more, but if you think of the quality of sound, it is well worth the extra cost. Crutchfield rep discussed several other soundbars, but having settled on the Ambeo, my next purchase will be the SVS 2000 Pro sub to complete my system.

Pros: Just the best!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audiophile sound for a fraction of the price

JLT from Trinidad, CA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added two JL Audio subwoofers to go along with the Sennheiser AMBEO soundbar and the results have exceeded my expectations. Being a bit old school, it is hard to get your head around not needing an Audio / Video processor, but this soundbar sounds fantastic for both cinema and music. Very highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Patrick from NEW MARKET, MD on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great all-in-one soundbar. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Best Soundbar I've ever heard

Patrick from Alpharetta, GA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing Soundbar. I have a bery high vaulted ceiling so I don't have the optimal room shape for ATMOS but this speaker was a perfect all-in-one setup for me. I have a minimalist setup with no wires or boxes showing. I have an AppleTV 4K mounted behind my 65" LG 4K TV. I didn't want a bunch of gear (i.e. receiver, speakers, wires, etc) and the AMBEO Soundbar was a perfect solution. It doesn't fully replicate a complete 7.1 component system but it comes very close. I mostly watch movies and sports and this soundbar does not disappoint. I did add a subwoofer to get that extra boom with movies but it also did OK with bass on its own. I as worth the money for me to get superb quality sound with one soundbar. I dont' regret it all.

Pros: Easy to set up Great Surround Sound in a bar

Cons: Large and Heavy so you'll need room to place on a shelf or mount.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Think outside the box

Crutchfield customer from Winona, MN on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You could build a home theater with this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Ambeo Soundbar.

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound bar that even gets better when you add a good sub woofer to accompany it.

Pros: Great all in one sound bar.

Cons: Lil spendy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from SAN DIEGO, CA on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to setup. I haven't done the calibration yet, but it sounds good so far. The HDMI CEC works well with my LG NanoCell TV. This is a HEAVY soundbar. I put it on my mantel and it's holding up, but I have considered reinforcement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Top Tier sound bar

Jason from Cranberry Township, PA on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third sound bar I've owned, but the first time coming back to one since going all in on a surround system. I kept the surround system in our main living area, and decided to try this out in our game room as a chance to save on wiring running. I own several other Sennheiser products (HD800S, HD650), so I knew to expect top tier quality from them...even so I was floored by this. This bar is an absolute monster - completely blows away the Klipsch and Bose sound bars I owned prior. The setup was simple with the microphone calibration, as was the app via my iPhone. Honestly, I couldn't be happier with the sounds. It completely fills the room and is on par with my 4K hardwired surround system. With the Ambeo effect on, movies sound like you are in a theatre and playing video games gives you a full sense of 3D awareness. You will get a better overall experience by using an external sub, but the bass that comes out of this is impressive that you don't NEED to have one - however I'd still suggest it if you have it in your budget. Overall, I couldn't be happier - would highly suggest this to anyone that's looking for a sound bar, but doesn't want to give up on terms of sound quality.

Pros: Full detailed sound, a true surround sound experience in a bar format...many preach this, but this one actually delivers.

Cons: - Expensive - No Sub

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing. No complaints.

Pros: The best you can do before putting in a full surround system.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice soundbar

Richard from LODI, CA on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This purchase was an effort to declutter and simplify our "home theater" equipment and operation - it replaced a surround sound receiver and 5.1 speaker setup. I wanted a good soundbar that would accept the various inputs (Xfinity DVR, Blu-Ray Player and Apple TV box) and just send video to the TV and this does that just fine. It does occasionally have some "no sound" input issues when I switch devices, but it may be an issue with the Apple TV - still monitoring that. The sound is excellent, although I did keep the subwoofer which helps a bit. It is not quite as dramatic as a full 5.1 or "higher" surround system, but for most of what my wife and I watch, it is fine.

Pros: simple operation and what we wanted

Cons: pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced AV system. I can hear again, over the top sound. App makes settings easy.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 10/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and bass for a soundbar definitely recommend I did add a svs pb 1000 for some extra bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

To Ambeo or Not to Ambeo

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Someone who owns both the Sony HTTS5000 and the Sennheiser Ambeo: I do not have a lot of free time to write in detail, but I will offer up some highlights. First off, I have owned many variations of home theater systems from a $20,000+ Martin Logan Electostats 5.1 with Bob Carver Sunfire amplification and processing. On the video end I am running a JVC RS2000 with a 116" Screen Innovations Zero Edge Plus...I believe my point is that I am not the person coming from the $700 Samsung Soundbar who is going to be automatically blown away by the soundbar in question. My analysis of "decent" sounding means not just as far a soundbars go. Taking HT on the Internet is not typically rewarding as this interest often attracts arrogant and standoffish iceholes, who get some kind of satisfaction for making others feel stupid. The keyboard has become their sword, because in the world the vast majority of them do not have the skin to say a word. Now for the comparison: The Ambeo really does provide a workable level of advanced surround sound effects. The dialogue is what matters most to me, and the Ambeo has a large soundstage full of clarity and depth. Remember that I am viewing a "116 screen and the dialogue seems believable for a fairly large picture. The Sony HTTS5000 has somewhere in the area 88-93% of the clarity of the Ambeo and still a soundstage or presence almost every bit as good as the Ambeo.

Pros: Near massive soundstage complete with powerful dialogue. It does not sound out-of-place on my "116 projection system. It comes with a calibration microphone and built-in software to calculate/compensate for one's unique room conditions. Pre-set EQ settings like "movie", "music", et cetera that has been engineered correctly. Easy to learn to how to use.

Cons: The flagship Sony soundbar (HTTS5000 ) provides a soundstage that makes the Sennheiser seem overpriced by $700. Subwoofer is not included, but this allows you to choose your own to connect to the soundbar. Bass is not suitable as a stand-alone soundbar like many reviewers claim it is - here is a good point regarding the bass coming from the Ambeo: should a $1000 Samsung soundbar (or whatever its cost is) have better bass performance than the Ambeo? Well, it does.

Crutchfield response on

23 of 27 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Gold Beach, OR on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Um, WOW! Great sound! Dolby Atmos content gives the best 3D sound, so I try to utilize Atmos content when I can. When gun shots are off to the left or right, it actually sounds like shots are coming from the left or right side of the room, not the soundbar. The Sennheiser app is great, the only issue I found is when pairing my phone to the soundbar the order of pairing the phone and app to the soundbar matters if you want to bluetooth connect for music. However tech support at Crutchfield an Sennheiser is great and that small issue was taken care of. I have an odd shaped room, so there are times I can hear sound behind me though it is not consistent. However, that may be due to the way the movie has the sound set up, but I'm not sure. One more thing, this soundbar fills the room with sound without sounding "front heavy."

Pros: Sound. Sound. Sound.

Cons: Order of pairing your phone via bluetooth matters.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Cedar City, UT on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Best Sound bar Period! Great sound, Easy set-up It's worth the money!

Pros: Every thing so far = 5 Stars!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound in one box.

Patrick A. from DALLAS, TX on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want terrific music and home theater sound without speakers all over the room, and not even the need for a subwoofer, then it's an easy decision.

Pros: Great sound even without a subwoofer. Very good customization capability using the app. Easy to change sound modes with one button on the remote. eARC connectivity works flawlessly.

Cons: A bit pricey. Bluetooth connection can be finicky.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. A significant improvement over my previous 5.1 system. I think this is most likely due to the room correction system available in the Ambeo. Very happy with the product and Crutchfield's service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

First time is a flat second time's a charm

Crutchfield customer from La Mesa, CA on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to return the first sennheiser ambeo sound bar. It just wouldn't work out of the box. However, the second sound bar I received and plugged in worked right away very happy I've only had it for one night the sound is great and look forward to having it in my room for the next 10 years.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: None at this point

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

low volume

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, TX on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound bar ia heavy and sound really good with the high and mid lack of the low, must have a bass speaker, and the volume is very low have to turn to max and still not very loud compare to my 700 Bose, have to return and try another unit, hopefully is a bad one that i got

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Good as a sounder can get

Stephen from ERIE, CO on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Depends on what you're coming from and what you looking for. If you have 5.1, 7.2, this is not a replacement. If you want a soundbar without all the equipment, wire runs, speakers, this is good as it gets. Best for an apartment, bedroom, but not a home theatre. I have a separate room from 2 channel audio and in my family room, this works great. Music is not that good, at least via Bluetooth, a couple of Homepods sound better, but need to experiment a bit. One thing I hope turns off is the AMBEO logo on the bottom right, like a car light hitting you while you're watching a movie. As a soundbar, the best there is right now and filled my need and purpose well. Very well made, so is the mic for setting up.

Pros: Build quality, movie sound, microphone extremely well made for little use, rather than set up. As good as a soundbar can be.

Cons: Music, maybe some tweaks will help

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

You gotta hear this!

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hands down this soundbar does it all! A/V receiver, Dolby Atmos,3D sound, no brainer connectivity & the sound is incredible. Perfect for my space, sound fills the room. I'd buy it again!

Pros: Exceptional sound quality.

Cons: Pricey & heavy.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

2 thumbs up

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surpassed my expectations

Pros: Easy set up. Great sound

Cons: Larger than most sound bars

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very unhappy considering the cost of the unit. Quit working after abo

Crutchfield customer from Broussard, LA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit quit working after a little more than one month. When I plug it in and hit the power button the unit scrolls "Call for service." I have not investigated it further at this point but have connected two Polk Audio rear surround speakers to augment the television audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/29/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your soundbar. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 13 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound from a single soundbar!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Worth the $ if you've got it!

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We stretched into this sound bar. However, this sound bar is worth letting you know it is worth the $ if you've got it. We put it in a room that really isn't ready for any audio set up but it's the only big TV room we've got. It's a wide, narrow room (I.e. 20+ feet wide but the TV is only 10 feet away) with one end of the room open to the rest of the house. We just watched the latest Matrix Atmos release and the Sennheiser exceeded expectations. It filled the space, things came in from the sides, and most impressively came in from behind. That said, we also use it to play music and it fills the entire 3k sq ft ranch house (remember the open end of the room...). Tremendous sound for high quality music; I wish I had one in my home gym!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Product, When Everything Works Properly

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First AMBEO Soundbar had the muffled center channel speaker issue and my second AMBEO had handshake issues until I updated with the latest firmware. Now, there are lip sync issues while using eARC on my LG C9 TV (which defeats the benefit of eARC). My 4-star rating is in reference to the aforementioned issues, which shouldn't arise with a soundbar in this price range. Although, Crutchfield's Technical Support and Customer Support certainly deserve a 5-star rating, as they have been nothing but knowledgeable and supportive through each issue!

Pros: True Surround Sound Experience Richer, Fuller & Clearer Sound Immersive Phone App

Cons: Quality Control

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ambeo sounds great, and I love the auto configuration tool using the provided mic. It's still a step down from my old 7.1 system, which could accommodate the funky furniture arrangement I have, but if you have a space dedicated to viewing, and ideal placement, the AMBEO is a really winner.

Pros: Configuration mic is great

Cons: I don't know if I have a faulty unit, but I've noticed that sometimes, when watching my AppleTV through the AMBEO, it drops out the center channel, so I have no speech. It's a weird quirk that goes away if I restart the video or show I'm watching, or power off and on the AMBEO. It's not something that is worth losing the quality over, but it is annoying. This is a small thing, but I do wish it had an OSD. The little lcd window is too small to actually read when I set volume or dynamics.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sensational sound

Crutchfield customer from Rch Palos Vrd, CA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sensational sound.I listen to lots of music on YouTube,mostly classical, and this bar is perfect. I also connected my CD player to it and the sound is better than what I had with my old stereo and big speakers. Also, very easy to setup.

Pros: Sensational sound, specially for classical music, goodbye heavy speakers on the floor, easy to setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Sound but hard to setup

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me preface this by saying that before I retired a few years ago, I had reviewed audio/video products for several magazines. That said, this has one of the most poorly designed user interfaces I have ever encountered. (1) It does not have a video display of the menu nor any other functions. This is unacceptable. Any such product at this price should have a video menu. (2) I had problems with Bluetooth connection of my iPhone Sennheiser app, which is the only way to do many control functions. I had several emails with both Sennheiser and Crutchfield before I finally got everything functioning. It is not clear what finally caused everything to work. In the end the sound is very good, even without a subwoofer. But if you are even considering a return, be aware that it is packaged in 4 levels of boxes like Russian dolls and not easy to repackage.

Pros: Excellent Sound

Cons: Hard to setup

Crutchfield response on

13 of 22 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MI on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a perfectly good Yamaha YSP-1000, and boy am I glad I did. I knew I needed more modern connectivity (bluetooth, wifi, HDMI switching), and I've heard so much about Dolby Atmos that I was ready for that upgrade too; and I'd hoped this would improve music listening. I was not disappointed. Dynamic range and sound quality are amazing. Exceeded my expectations. I'm using it with a newer KEF subwoofer and 65" LG OLED display and I couldn't ask for more. My room is not an ideal shape and I haven't watched much true Atmos content (adding a 4K DVD player to get the full impact of that), but the Ambeo processing on music, satellite, and streaming content is very nice. Very natural compared to the Yamaha soundfield processing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

HUGE Sound

Crutchfield customer from Magna, UT on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This soundbar is HUGE, both physically and in sound production. I have a very small house and wanted a single-box sound solution. This sound bar, with a powered sub added on, is truly all you need in a small room to have surround sound and excellent signal response. Please do note the dimensions and weight...it is a monster.

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Middle Village, NY on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the Ambeo soundbar to replace a 5.3 speaker setup.I moved to a much smaller apartment and needed a system that sounded good but without the rumble my speakers put out. I am amazed with the Sennheiser,I get the Dolby Atmos,DTS X effects that sometimes surprise me.The sound seems to come from all over the room,even from behind.The only thing I miss is the bass that only a subwoofer can provide.Dont get me wrong the bass from the soundbar is more than enough for this room,but if you're able and have a bigger space than I have,I would invest in a subwoofer. Also I have the soundbar wired to my router and I've had no problems with updates or the Sennheiser app.

Pros: Great sound,once you set the eq on the app.

Cons: If you can,add a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Gambrills, MD on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. The sound is amazing. No complaints at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Happy guy

Crutchfield customer from Pt Pleas Bch, NJ on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Sound Bar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Absolutely the best sound reproduction available in a soundbar today!

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best sound reproduction available in a soundbar today. Yes the price is high, however if you don't have room for a discrete setup and don't want to compromise on sound quality. This is the setup for you! You'll definitely want to pair with a good sub. I'm using an old Klipsch reference we had laying around.

Pros: Great sound reproduction! Auto calibration is very good. Very little tinkering needed to get it just right. Did I mention great sound???!!!! :)

Cons: Price! Voices can be a bit low. But out of the myriad of sound bars I've tried, it's definitely on the better end. This could be improved via software update. A little big (but any smaller and you would compromise on sound I'm sure). AMBEO light on the front even at lowest level is too bright, turned it off completely.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Hauppauge, NY on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded great but died within a week. Hopefully, the replacement will be more robust.

Pros: Wonderful sound.

Cons: Questionable reliability due to infant mortality.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 15 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything is is great with this sound bar. Your must have the eARC to connect with this sound bar to work with, otherwise you can't take the adventage of this sound bar. I have a Sony A8F OLED and connect with the sound bar to the ARC to the TV. It can not connect every time if I change the input. I have to unpulg the cable and plug it again. It have 3 to 5 second delay . So I return the Sony to the local store and pick up LG C9 because it have a eARC. Doing everything again the LG and it working great with the connection and the sound bar. I have no problems at all. Until today I don't test the dolby atmos but I will update later if I have test it.

Pros: Working great with dolby digital or plus. With ABMEO on you will have a great 3D sound field. That's fantastic the sound from this sound bar that you can't feel this sound bar can doing so great

Cons: With the TV without the eARC that I don't recommed to you because you can't get it what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

OVERPRICED

Crutchfield customer from Union, KY on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a big disapoitment for the price. It does put out some decent sound but not for the price. Now I'm stuck with it becasue the boxes it came in got tossed. Also has connection problems, it takes around 30 seconds for it to start working.

Pros: none

Cons: expensive, big

Crutchfield response on

6 of 25 found this helpful

Superior sound

Crutchfield customer from Lecanto, FL on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top of the line Soundbar. I purchased this for my family room in Fl. This unit is replacing a 10 year old Polk sound bar. The unit is heavy for sure, but sits well on my mantle. Excellent choice for rooms where hardwired speakers are out of the question. Compared to my Marantz 7.2 system that I have set up in my other home, it is close. If you want superior results, this unit is it. Setup is easy. I paired this with an LG OLED 55E9 TV. Oh, and the Dolby Atmos, crazy good.

Pros: Easy setup Superior Sound Dolby Atmos External LFE for Subwoofer

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Just Okay... Not Worth It

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased an open box item and was disappointed instantly... The item had a blown speaker. Once turned on you could tell instantly, it sounded terrible. But after I hooked up the sub, it got better. It was able to send the distorting bass to the sub and not sound so bad. Once that happened, it was more enjoyable to listen to. It deffinately put out a lot of sound, and it threw sound where it was supposed to as well. The ambeo function sounded very nice as well. Nothing extraordinary though... Some of the problems include: would cut in and out during playback, when switching video functions it would stop producing sound for whatever reason, a subwoofer is deffinately needed (it is able to hit some deep tones though... just not good enough though), and music playback sucks. And it would be nice if it could be controlled with a video function, not an app. I am coming from a Sony htz9f and love having control on the TV vs app. And for this price there should be more control options. As the most expensive soundbar option out there, I was a little disappointed for numerous reasons. I have been just as happy with less expensive units. I thought the Sony st-5000 is just as good for half the price...

Pros: -it does have good Sound and it throws it nicely

Cons: -takes a hot minute to turn on -still need a sub -switching video functions issues -sound would cut out -big, but expected with all the big speakers -just not worth the price... Plain and simple

Crutchfield response on 1/8/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

7 of 14 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound - particularly notice the background noises clearly and sometimes it seems they truly are coming from behind me. It is large and heavy, but setting up is no problem. Very glad we splurged on this!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds nice but for the price I was hoping for more. Perhaps after a longer period of using it will be better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Isl Bch, NC on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great.

Pros: Sounds fantastic. Easy to install.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 8 found this helpful

Worth every penny!

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brilliant single bar Atmos solution. It isn't cheap, but it sounds amazing. Reasonably future proof at this point. Definitely needs a wall mounted TV as it is taller than other sound bars. It's also much heavier and looks best if it's wall mounted.

Pros: Almost magic! Brilliant sound and spatial sound positioning in a single bar.

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds like a big system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Worth Considering

Crutchfield customer from Camas, WA on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device, well built (heavy), does produce some heat out the back of the unit. I've enjoyed the sound thus far, although this went from good to great once connected a subwoofer (add a sub!). I bought this unit to replace a custom 5.1 system with a pre-amp/video controller/amp to simplify the AV in the room. All in all, this sound bar (+ subwoofer) does a nice job producing quality sound, managing the video signals and looks great!

Pros: Quality sound (high/mid) HDMI auto switching (including video) Cable Management Design Nice aesthetic (happy wife!)

Cons: Price Size (its quite large)

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Best sounder ever

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and features. It is very large so you will need to have your TV wall mounted to clear the height of the unit. Don't really need a subwoofer, but I am use to having one so I will buy one for it soon.

Pros: Best dialogue from anything I have heard

Cons: Price, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

been using it a few weeks now and the sound is fantastic, definitely BY FAR the best sounding soundbar I've ever heard. The atmos effects are pretty darn good, better actually than I thought they would be. obviously not as great as having discreet speakers but again much better than I would have thought. only issue I has it is loses connection between the TV over eARC at times, maybe once every 4 hours of use (not consecutive just on average). that is annoying as I have to power it off and back on again to get it working. kind of breaks up a movie or show :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Highly recommend

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very solid piece of equipment that sounds great. Looking forward to more Atmos and 3D content to fully appreciate the capabilities of this soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Connectivity problems

Guest from New York, NY on 11/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connectivity issues are severe. It has problems processing signals transitted through long HDMI cables. ARC is very unreliable and I have to unplug and replug the cable in order to avoid sound dropping out. FiOS only works without serious audio delay (I.e. Bad lipsync) if I switch it to output in PCM (stereo). Exchanged numerous emails and had long calls with service. This is not ready for prime time. My LG OLED is only a 2017 model, so it's not like I'm using ancient stuff here. All in all, not worth the money in my opinion and I wish I had returned it rather than waiting for a firmware update that tech support promised, but still hasn't arrived in over two months. And as another reviewer noted, the app sucks. Android is probably worse than iPhone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Wonderful sound! Clear voices, effects, magic!

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are very pleased with our Ambeo soundbar. It lived up to everything it promised thus far. We were tired of the endless wires, plugs, etc of other sound systems. We have a 17.5 x 17.5 x 10 room with one side open to a large kitchen and another a stairwell. It provides plenty of power to fill the space. We eventually combined it with an SVS SB-3000 and what a perfect combination. Razor sharp sound. If you need a minimal storage mount for the microphone I posted one to 3d print free on prusaprinters.

Pros: Clear voices, sounds, effects Creates an immersive surround sound Minimal wires, cords, hassle of setup Perfectly adjustable for any sync offsets in the App

Cons: Size but that is kind of necessary for a true quality speaker Cost of course

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Go for it!!

Crutchfield customer from Minot , ND on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Replaced an older Yamaha unit and does everything so much better even without a subwoofer! The hdmi switching is seamless and the sound is amazing! Love movies and games on this thing! Definitely an investment but all the reviews both on Crutchfield and online were so good had to go this route - plus needed the 4 hdmi for TV Arc output and DirectTv, PS4, and XBox inputs. Great atmospheric effects - playing Jedi Fallen Order on this thing rattles the house. Great purchase and don't let the price tag scare you - if you have a smaller room I definitely recommend for overall sound and build quality.

Pros: Overall build quality / Sound quality / Good bass - with no sub / Simple remote/ Great HDMI switching

Cons: Price /Weight - this thing is a beast!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I struggled with a top-of-the-line Sony soundbar for several years before taking a chance on the Ambeo. The Sony had constant issues (flakey HDMI switching, sub drop outs, etc) but so far the Ambeo has been rock solid and the sound it considerably better. I'm very impressed by the low-ends it delivers, you truly don't need a sub unless you want to go the extra mile. Dialogue in particularly improved over my previous soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Is the most expensive soundbar made to date worth it?

Wayne from GILBERT, AZ on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

...That was the question at the top of my mind when I hit "purchase" on this thing. I'm afflicted with the inability to enjoy any audio played over the speakers of a phone or TV, so every room I like to spend time in has quite a bit more audio equipment in it than needed. I bought the Sennheiser for use in our master bedroom (which is about 15'x16'), largely because it is impossible to justify having a full-blown Atmos setup in a bedroom to your spouse. It replaced a fairly cheap soundbar setup whose wireless sub eventually stopped communicating, and always sounded kinda bad. I got this thing hooked up, added a JL d110 sub (also from Crutchfield), and... WOW! I'm very impressed. This is truly the best soundbar I've ever listened to, but in my opinion, it does need a great subwoofer to bring it to life . The unit, when used alone, has bass you can hear - but adding the sub gave it that sound pressure needed to turn any well-recorded audio into an experience. Seriously, it's that good. you have to get one. but plan on adding a sub. Other than that - the hardware has a few quirks that will probably be straightened out in future firmware updates. For example, when you turn the unit on, it will default to the "TV" input, rather than "last used". This is annoying when you have older cable equipment with antiquated HDMI interfaces, but not so much an issue with new set-top boxes. Tl;DR: If you're thinking about it, just buy it.

Pros: It sounds great! Very aesthetically pleasing. The HDMI switcher works better than most other units I've tried. Overhead effects actually sound good.

Cons: A few software quirks, mostly related to use with a subwoofer. Make sure you do your first room calibration without the sub connected. Also - audio seems to default to a "flat" mode everytime you turn the soundbar on. It is necessary to hit "Movie, Music", or other mode on the remote in order to kick in the full range of processing effects everytime you start the soundbar up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

22 of 22 found this helpful

Awesome soundbar!

Crutchfield customer from Norco, CA on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply awesome, all the reviews are spot on, and this soundbar has replaced my old M&K 5.1 THX speakers without adding in a subwoofer. The precision and clarity of the sound is amazing.

Pros: Precise and clear sound, strong bass without a subwoofer, checks all the boxes technology wise, surround sound is amazing, adequate number of HDMI inputs

Cons: Priced higher than most but worth it

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Best sound bar

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I auditioned many upscale sound bar brands and by far this was the best one. It has excellent bass without the need for a subwoofer, and voices are very clear and understandable. Both of these positive characteristics are lacking in most of the other sound bars we heard.

Pros: Overall sound quality. Excellent bass without the need for a separate subwoofer. Great voice clarity. Intuitive remote control.

Cons: Tall and somewhat deep but the size is necessary/acceptable to produce the bass and expansive sound.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

For us a perfect match

Crutchfield customer from Branson West, MO on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is absolutely amazing. We moved our residence and wanted a bar type surround system that was clean in design and did not require mounting of speakers on walls or stands. While expensive, this system literally hit all of our expectations.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Best soundbar by far

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't go with full 5.1, 7.1 solution so the only way I could get "the sound" was by purchasing a soundbar. At first, I was a bit sceptical, but this really works. Of course the room plays a big role too. I even gave up having a fireplace, simply closed the gas vent as this bar is not going back. In addition to the bar I added two Rythmik F8 subwoofers connected over WiFi, and was able to calibrate it with the soundbar by using the provided mic and built in calibration system. Don't get me wrong, the bass of unit itself is really, really good, but with my two subs the foundation is just more solid. It's hards to say had I not owned the subs before I would have not buy them as I know know how it sounds with subs, but first few days I used it without and the bass was impressive for a soundbar. Music wise, it's rather good too. Not comparable to Harbeth's I have in another room, but decent for casual listening.

Pros: Surround sound is really there.

Cons: iPhone app is tricky, buggy, not sure how to call it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 14 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a game changer. My wife was not a fan of the purchase until she heard it. This is the finest Sounbar on the market. Yes, it is $2,500 bu you get what you pay for. It is worth saving for.

Pros: The sound for both movies and music for a sounbar is unsurpassed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Sennheiser AMBEO Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, it's expensive so lets get that out of the way. And it's big - but the separate bracket is easy to mount and holds it solidly. If you're looking for a single box solution that has no real compromises, this is the way to go. The Ambeo delivers with authority - you can put the volume up and it never sounds like it's breathing hard - and if you're straining to hear dialogue through most soundbars - this one delivers crisp voice presentation. Deep bass without a subwoofer is a plus. The only slight nitpick I have with it is the Sennheiser app is a little clunky, but once set up, it really doesn't matter.

Pros: Sound, Voice Clarity

Cons: Sennheiser App

Crutchfield response on

26 of 28 found this helpful

Beyond expectations

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unmatched sound, unmatched elegance and unmatched performance. Stars all the way up to the sky.

Pros:

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

18 of 22 found this helpful

TOP