Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Over-the-ear wired headphones

MFR # 506845

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Over-the-ear wired headphones

MFR # 506845

80 reviews
View this product

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Key West, FL on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Verry comfy. Sounds realy nice! Wish the cord would be coilless but a simple eztension fixed that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Andy from Portland, OR on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and a stable fit. Like every other pair of Sennheiser earbud or headphones I've owned, these sound great. Rich, deep bass and clear mid- and high-range. The ear cups are sized perfectly for my ears and they will definitely stay in place well; the fit initially felt a little tight, but I got used to it pretty quickly. Unfortunately, the plug on this pair was shorting out on me, so I've send them back for an exchange for the same model.

Pros: Great sound. Comfortable fit. Stays in place.

Cons: Mini-headphone plug was shorting out; returned for replacement.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Warsaw

Ted from Warsaw on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Keep Looking Save yourself the trouble

Pros: These headphones sound terrific

Cons: The downside is they squeezed my head too tight and my hat size is 7 (Medium), I have tried to stretch them out almost to the breaking point and have heated the headband with a heat gun to no avail. The only other inconvenience is the coiled cord, it is a real deal breaker. The tension of the coil cord and added weight pulls the headphones off center on your head. I waited too long to return them. I cut the coiled cord off and soldered a 3.5mm extension cord in place and shrink wrapped it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound, not so good comfort

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones sound very good. I am no audiophile (but I play one on TV) but the headphones sound clear and crisp. My only complaint is that they are very tight on my head, and I have a smaller than average head. I can only wear them for about one record before I need a break.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Comfort

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with my purchase, I've tried in the past to buy these headphones, but never thought of using Crutchfield. Sure glad I did this time.

Pros: Excellent value - I'll recommend your company to my friends and family

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Crutchfield customer from Des Plaines, IL on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones sound great and filter out a lot of noise but only if you are perfectly still. The cord acts as a stethoscope and creates noise with the slightest movement of you body as it rubs against you clothing, chair, or desk. Don't expect to be operating a mouse when you have these on. Three stars only because they sound great but they need to include a roll of duct tape so you can tape the cord to the side of your face and chair. If you are a drummer you can play along by tapping the cord .

Pros: Good sound Gave them my generous three stars.

Cons: Horrible noise from cord. Best for loud music or if someone ties you to a chair.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

David from Raleigh, NC on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spoke with Marisa. Described to her what I was looking for in a pair of headphones. I wanted headphones that had clear highs, nice mids, and a smooth bass where you could hear the different frequencies of the bass, not muddied booming bass. I listen to a lot of different types of music. She recommended the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro's. She nailed it. Not only do they sound great, they are lightweight and very comfortable to wear for long listening periods. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best headphones ever

beaky from Seattle, WA on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones sound great and really reduce outside noise. Very durable too. I have been wearing mine on commutes and packing roughly in my backpack for 8 years and finally bought a new pair because I thought the old ones had been stolen. Turns out they weren't so now I'll probably have to wait another 8 years before I actually need to use the new ones. Only con is that they do press tightly to the head. I think this is why the noise reduction is so good but might be uncomfortable for some. Also can be a bit sweat-inducing on a hot day. I'm not too sensitive so for me it's well worth the tradeoff for the great sound and noise reduction.

Pros: great outside noise reduction good sound very durable

Cons: fit tight to head so could be uncomfortable for some - not to me can be hot

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, MA on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I highly recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Natural

Scott from Cary, IL on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Natural sound not colored or over bassed to compensate for poor quality MP3. Certainly not the same as listening with a pair of B&W 802's but very good for the price.

Pros: price performance

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Accurate Linear Sound

Steve from North Berwick, ME on 6/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised, the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro headphones deliver linear sound. They are comfortable to wear for long periods. Excellent performers for the money.

Pros: Linear sound - you will hear deep bass only when it is in the recording. Pleasantly detailed in the mid and high frequencies.

Cons: Although the coiled cable is great for stationary equipment, it doesn't work too well with light weight players.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

James from Spokane, WA on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ONLY reason they get a 4 instead of a 5 star rating, is I should have bought ones with a straight cord, not the curly one. It is a little short for my needs, so it pulls back. But other than that, the sound quality is awesome, and they are very comfortable.

Pros: Great sound quality, very comfortable. Could not do better for the money.

Cons: Cord too short, or too springy or something, but they pull back.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Alec from Bethesda, MD on 9/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are big and bulky, but put little pressure on my ears, so they are comfortable. My experience was a bit different than others. Perhaps my head is a little smaller than most, but I found that even set as tight as I could get them I could not get a truly "closed" sound the way I had with my tighter fitting Klipsch Status. When I played music at louder levels, my wife would tell me they weren't as quiet as my older headphones that the Klipsch. The sound is good, but not great.

Pros: Lightweight Swiveling to all angles Long sturdy cord

Cons: More "bleed" than I have experienced from other over the ear models Sounds is good but not great Outside sounds not as excluded as I've experienced from other models

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

pleasantly surprised

Rockhound57 from Glen, NH on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not a professional listener or audio tech. I needed something better than Walmart, or the local music shop, so having heard good things about Crutchfield, I did a search, and with Ann's help, chose this set. I've only used them a few times, but I'm impressed with the difference so far

Pros: seem to be well put together, sound is definitely better, the swiveling earpieces is a plus, and sound reduction is very good

Cons: They are unavoidably bulky (for the ambient sound reduction), and tight out of the box on my big head, but springing the back helped

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Crutchfield customer from Oakton, VA on 3/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones at a reasonable cost. I had an old set of these and the only reason I bought another pair was because something was spilled on my old set! I use these in my home studio and love them. Very comfortable, durable, crisp sounding phones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Luisa from Maryland on 12/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product .... My husband loved it. I tried them out myself and the noise reduction is amazing.... Sound it great too. They might not be wireless or have a shiny appeal like other headphones on the market but other than that this product is worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Jesse from Hollidaysburg, PA on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely pleased. My son who is a music major loves them as well so this 2nd pair I have purchased is a present for him

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Reasonable value

CMaurice from Iowa on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a replacement for the same model that have started to fall apart. We wanted over the ear design for noise reduction, and this model delivers that with good sound and comfort. They are good for traveling, especially by air, but the construction is not as robust as desired, so they won't last as long as I would like (started falling apart after about a year). A reasonable value for the price.

Pros: Good sound and noise reduction, and comfortable to wear.

Cons: Construction is not robust enough to be a durable travel accessory.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Reproduction

Adam from Kentucky on 11/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great set of headphones. I primarily use them for practicing bass guitar where I need to hear every nuance of the sound being produced. This is critical to get the correct tone. And since I'm using them for bass, you know they reproduce bass well. It's shocking to me just how great the lowest B on my 5 string sounds. After over a month of use, I can recommend this pair of headphones highly. The sound reproduction is so faithful, I actually discovered a "hiss" in my bass electronics that I never noticed before prompting me to upgrade to a better onboard bass preamp. I never knew my bass guitar sounded as good as it does. Now if I could only find an amp/speaker combination that reproduced my tone this faithfully. I know this is impossible since the HD280's are basically studio monitors. Five stars for these headphones. The longest time I wear them for is maybe two straight hours. I could see how longer extended use may become slightly uncomfortable but otherwise, this is a great set. It's probably a good idea to give your ears and brain a rest every couple hours anyway. I think the build quality is fine. They are not meant to be thrashed around and beaten up, but consider what they are designed to do: reproduce studio quality sound in a quiet, controlled environment. I don't think they are noise cancelling, but even at low volume, ambient sound disappears. Again, I can't recommend this set of headphones highly enough, especially at the price point.

Pros: Great sound quality across the entire range of response...all the way from the lowest lows to the highest highs. Very lightweight for large over-ear headphones. Good value for the money.

Cons: Maybe could be a little more solidly built. But if increasing build quality also increases the weight, it wouldn't be worth it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Perfect gift

RM from Vermont on 7/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Headphones were a gift for a friend who spends summer weekends mowing while listening to lectures. He's totally happy with the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro. And no, they're not the most cool.

Pros: good sound, noise reduction, excellent comfort.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

stuart7491 from South Carolina on 5/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first bass was muddled, after more usage approximately 30 hrs now. The sound has quality has greatly increased. I have a set of sennheiser earbuds that I love. The headphones are starting to get there, for the price and with the dac/amp even better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good headphones but there is better

Tim from Phoenix, AZ on 1/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned these headphones for a number of years now; have bought Sennheisers for decades now. They have served me well but I have just recently moved up. I bought these headphones for both home use and traveling. For some reason I just cannot get used to ear buds or pods so I enjoy the over-the-ear design. The closed back is perfect for isolating ambient sound on airplanes and because these are not "noise-cancelling" there is no artificial pumping or dullness of the sound. I just can't stomach paying $300 or more for "noise-cancelling" and getting worse sound. Ambient noise isolation is the way to go. Sennheiser made their name years and years ago with their open back design for airiness of the sound and it was fantastic. However, there is a lack of options for closed back designs that both are affordable and sound really good. The HD 280 Pro is one such headphone. The bass will take some time for break-in until it gets better...will sound flat and not punchy for some time but then will be great. The earcups rotate and fold for easier airline travel, but make no mistake these are more cumbersome to travel with than ear buds. You will be rewarded with great consistent sound and comfort. I was searching for a Sennheiser upgrade but there was none that was affordable and that have rotating ear cups for travel until I found the HD 380 Pro, which are better, lighter, and not much more $$ since they are in close-out. Lucky for you too if you can find them.

Pros: Great sound for the money, durable, Sennheiser quality, ambient noise isolation with the closed back design, great over-the-ear fit, relatively easy traveling with the rotating ear cup design

Cons: All black design not too stylish, a tad bit on the heavy side but this is typical with this kind of headphone design.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Disappointed

wwboy from Washington on 12/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't record music and I'm not a professional artist. I bought these for using at home and in the office while I work; on occasion for the library or coffeeshop. I've had a nice set of sennheiser earbuds for a few years now and I love the sound they create -- I wanted a set of over ear headphones and I figured these would provide great bang for the buck. These seemed like they'd be super but I was disappointed. It could've been my mistake for buying them for something other than their primary intended purpose.

Pros: -These seal very well around my ears and their noise reduction is notable. -Sound is full; not warm but not harsh; Flat as many have described but I find them quite capable of low end if I adjust the EQ. I wouldn't say they're pleasurable to listen to however -- especially not compared with (for example) the momentum model (which were too small for my head and ears). -Cost is relatively low (however they didn't come with any kind of case since I guess they're not designed to be portable.

Cons: -All plastic design; just feels and looks cheap. I can see why people have had issues with breakage over time. The material on the ear cups looks and feels cheap -- not pleasant against the skin. They squeak loudly against my glasses every time i twitch a muscle. -In the first hour I wore them, the headband padding piece came apart twice. The way it attaches seems really cheap and mickey mouse...almost like a ziplock. -The strong clamp on the ears is uncomfortable after a relatively short tim

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Got a lemon

Bob from Gaithersburg MD on 10/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned these. I obviously rec'd a lemon instead of headphones. I actually checked to see if some sort of packaging material might be covering the speakers. The sound quality was that muted. I explained to Crutchfield the problem, and got good response in that they check out all returns. Still don't know why I should pay for the return.

Pros: The reviews are very good.

Cons: Sound quality was muted and baffled so much that fidelity was nonexistent! Didn't work. Something's broke.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

I really like these!!

Reynasmama from rohnert park on 8/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a gift and, after researching all brands, I dont think I could have made a better choice myself.

Pros: With the clarity, quality of sound, and comfort combo, these were perfect for my needs. Especially within the price range.

Cons: The only con is the heavy cord makes it less mobile.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Choice for the Musician

Reid L from Bridgewater, VA on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a musician and purchased these headphones mainly to monitor music as I practice. Very comfortable and nice sound quality. I like that they do not totally isolate the sound as I have the music coming through a sound system as well. Allows enough of the sound of the acoustic drums to mix with the music through the phones. These headphones replaced my previous Sennheiser phones that I had for 10 years. Makes playing comfortable and totally enjoyable for long periods. Just a terrific product.

Pros: Very good sound quality, quality construction, MAXIMUM comfort, as pointed out by others - excellent for monitoring music if you are a musicians, great value!

Cons: Sound spectrum could be a bit wider but for the money - very good!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Choice of the pros, best-kept headphone secret on the market

Matt from Lakewood, OH on 2/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In one sentence: These are the best headphones you can buy at anything close to this price. Let me qualify this review before I start... I'm a professional sound tech/engineer that does everything from setting up large scale concert sound systems and mixing bands on said systems to high profile corporate meetings. I regularly set up and mix on the large sound systems you hear at concerts and other large scale events, often in support of touring acts that are coming through Cleveland. As a result, I meet a lot of touring sound engineers and other folks. These headphones are probably one of the top three most popular that I've seen amongst them because of their accurate reproduction, reasonable cost, excellent noise rejection, and exceptional durability. I love them for the same reasons. If I'm mixing a band and I want to solo something in my headphones, these attenuate the main PA enough for me to hear what I want, even if it's a big boy PA running at 105 dB. When powered by a proper headphone amp (for me, the phone amps in the Midas, Digico, and Yamaha consoles really lights these cans up properly), they're very accurate and powerful. Your iphone will not drive them properly, just like any other real headphones. I suggest an external amp for critical listening. They are also very durable; I toss them in my toolbox all the time and they have never broken. You can beat them if you want to spend $500 and sit in a quiet room, but in the real world, they can't be beaten.

Pros: The pros use them, why shouldn't you? The guy mixing the band you're seeing live on a $500,000 PA thinks they sound good. He/she also uses and abuses them every day, and they ask for more. Relatively light considering the amount of isolation you get.

Cons: Hmm... the screw on 1/8" - 1/4" adapter is hard to replace if you lose it. Pro tip: Don't lose it. Perhaps a bit too bassy for some, I don't mind it, and you appreciate it in a loud environment.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Worth Every Penny (and then some)

Guest from St. Louis, MO on 1/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are really designed more with audio engineers and musicians in mind. I bought these for home studio use and they do the job that I bought them for.. and do it well. Providing a good deal of detail, especially for the money, they have a fairly flat, even response throughout the humanly audible range of frequencies (like good monitor headphones/speakers are supposed to). I'm not saying that they can't be used for pure listening enjoyment. I just thought it was important to note that they are essentially studio type headphones used for mixing and monitoring purposes. So don't expect some extra thump to your bass due to some hyped-up build specs. They will do quite fine in that area, however, bringing honest justice to any sounds sent through them. I've owned a pair of these for several months now. At first, they did seem to feel a little tightly clamped when putting them on. It wasn't overbearing to my average-size head though and was a non-issue after only a few days. The sound is more detailed than my ATH-M30 monitor headphones, as to be expected, and in ways draws near to my Beyerdynamic open-back which cost about twice as much. The Sennheiser HD 280 Pro headphones aren't quite as airy or crisp as the Beyerdynamic dt-990s which really make some sounds sizzle like fresh crisp bacon on a snowy Christmas morning. They do come close though. With a bit warmer feel, the band or orchestra could very well be right there with you.... and your HD-280 pros.

Pros: sound quality, more than decent durability, fairly revealing (mixing/mastering on budget) high quality monitors for music professionals and honest sound for everyone, good value

Cons: a hard carrying case would have been cool; a straight cable to compliment the curly one would be nice as well

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

My Second Pair

mdray from Hollywood, Al on 1/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second pair of HD 280 Pro phones (first pair was damaged beyond repair in flooded basement). The phones are great for the average listener, good mid range and tight bass. While maybe not as bright and articulate as some, the price more than makes up for it.

Pros: Well built, comfortable and compact when folded.

Cons: Lacking a bit in the upper ranges.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love them

Mom of teens from Dublin, Ohio on 12/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, these headphones are a great value. For the price, they provide really good sound quality. We have heard headphones that sound a little better, but they cost a whole lot more. We have three teens (17, 15 and 13) and all of them agree that these are excellent headphones, especially for the price. The kids also agree they are very good at blocking out noise.

Pros: Comfortable fit; very good sound quality, especially for the price; good at blocking out noise

Cons: The cord is a little long; the fit is a little big for our 13-year-old daughter, but older boys like the fit; they may be too good at blocking out noise, as the kids can't hear me call or talk to them when they are wearing them. LOL

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro-The best for me

Louis L Bullard from Greenville SC on 10/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am 51 and that puts me in a different genre than some. I have had Grados, good, Bose, Sony and audio techs. People please understand things have changed, even my ears but the Sennheiser 280 kick some serious butt. The around the ear feature and design keep out unwanted noise. The bass is tight and dead on, the mid range is outstanding and the highs a tad bright but you will survive. I listen to jazz,ZZ-TOP,Sade, and yes hard rock to. I use a thousand dollar receiver with them, that says a lot. I would never skateboard or go running with them Crutchfield has to many lighter choices, earbuds etc. I always call one of the kind phone staff,who know. I will never bad mouth a company, they have employees and are meeting a bottom line to. Read Read Read and find what you want.I have ordered from Crutchfield for five years and I know I am not near don't approach the high end shopper. I am at least as happy as one.L Bullard

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Pretty good

Zivkam from Plano, tx on 9/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones work great with both my home stereo (included adapter) and iPhone. A little heavy on mid range and minimal bass but you can still hear the bass from a DJ Magic Mike song. Nothing earth shattering but audible. Very good noise canceling but can still hear the kids yelling while a movie is going.

Pros: Included stereo adapter

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

senn. hd 280 pro

cl from maui on 9/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great headset for under150 $. Fabulous sound quality, hard to find a better set than this for this price!!

Pros: Nice sound

Cons: Bulky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Headphones

gman from Baltimore, MD on 8/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice headphones. I didn't want to spend a fortune on them and I wanted a closed design. I use them at home when my wife is also in the office and she wants me to turn down my speakers. I did consider some others, but they were all at least twice as expensive. I am very happy with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, Ca on 7/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for my husband's birthday. We both own Bose noise canceling headphones, but they are some big to wear around the house. We love these Sennheiser, and will be traveling with these now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

good headphones

Bob from Houston, Texas on 7/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are comfortable and sound pretty good. There doesn't seem to be a lot of bottom end coming from them, but you get over that pretty quickly. Headphones are generally pricey, so for the price of these phones, I think they're a good buy. Overall, good product.

Pros: Good noise reduction. Good sound. Comfortable.

Cons: I wish they had a little more of a richer sound.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

HD280 PRO

JD from Santa Ana Ca. on 1/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got them Just before Christmas and the sound is great. I some music that go down to 10db and they reproduction of sound is fantastic and my girl friend loves them too :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Headphones at a Great price

PT from Marysville, Ohio on 12/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's just a very good pair of headphones for a very good price. You can spend more and fool yourself into thinking an "Audiophile" pair were better...but most humans don't have that sensitive of hearing. I listen to allot of old vinyl LP's with these...and they transport me back into that world, nice imaging and good noise cancellation. When listening to digital music these really expose how harsh some of the mixes today really are. You won't regret buying these.....at least a normal person wouldn't.

Pros: Price, Sound Quality and overall construction

Cons: I really couldn't find any....especially at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not What I Expected

Zo from Star Ranch, Idaho on 12/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Previously, I had Sony MDR-V600. Aside from always feeling too big (and thus, not "tight"), they lasted well over a decade of daily use and the sound quality wasand still is superior, especially in comparison to my recently purchased Sennheiser HD280 Pro phones. In fact, I still have the Sony phones and will keep patching them up with electrical tape and ignore the foam shedding near the ears. I will miss the the Sony pair, already do. It will take some getting used to the reduction in sound quality with the Sennheiser, if that is in fact that's even possible. Oh well. (Hear: Fleetwood Mac)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing Sound Quality. A Great Value

Juice2288 from San Diego, CA on 3/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these about six years ago and till this day, they continue to give me a fantastic listening experience. I own and have owned more expensive headphones from fine brands like AKG, Grado and Sennheiser. But for this price range, nothing else come close. They are not the sharpest looking headphones. They are a bit heavy. But the fit is comfortable and I can wear them for hours comfortably; I did all day at work. You get a true and rich sound unlike those of some of the new headphones that have artificially enhanced sounds. These headphones will provide and excellent clarity throughout all types of music. I listen to everything from classical to punk and have enjoyed each type through these headphones. I can't recommend them enough.

Pros: Sound quality. Portability; folds-in. Comfort; well padded. Long cable.

Cons: Weight; a bit heavy, Style; a bit ugly.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Good Utilitarian Headphones

Duff B from Hudson Valley, NY on 3/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I play the bass and I practice using headphones so I don't drive the family nuts. I got these to replace a pair of Bose Noise cancelling headphones that had started to fall apart. They are fine now, but it took some adjusting. When I first used them, I found it really hard to play solo (as opposed to against a track on an MP3 player). The sound seemed to blast my ears and I would get head aches. I played around with volume - by turning my input and output volume low, I was able to find a comfortable volume that still had a nice tone balance. I also noticed that the cups have a fair amount of pressure to them and that seemed to be causing the headache sensation, which I would get if I just wore them without playing any music (and boy does that cut out sound). Knowing that the headaches weren't some sign of hearing loss was reassuring, and as I use them more, the feeling is much less bothersome - and the sound quality is as good a the Bose - which were 3x the cost.

Pros: Inexpensive, high quality headphones, broad, flat frequency response esp low freq. Cut out ambient sound effectively

Cons: Ear cups are fairly tight. May take some getting used to.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome product

Earlene C from Cumberland, MD on 2/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this for my son for Christmas and he absolutely loves them.

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Personal Use Sennheiser 280 HD Pros

Chris from Columbus, OH on 1/29/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very impressed with the "bang for buck" factor here. I did not listen to them once until I had broken them in with 100 hours of white noise. They have a very very natural response and really let you hear all frequencies at an equal level. There is no muddiness that I can tell. For me the highs are a tiny bit too sharp but, again, crystal clear. Though I broke them in for 100 hours, they have continued to improve their response for all frequencies. They also have a very strong grip on your head which was something I was looking for. I guess this could potentially give people a headache. Also, thank you crutchfield for a speedy delivery and rgeat service. No hasseling whatsoever. 5 stars to you

Pros: Great range and response to it Long chord 1/4" adapter Loud Natural sound

Cons: The higher frequencies are a little sharp the bass seems a tiny tiny underpowered in a few cases They may squeeze a little too tight

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD280 Pro Headphones

Don from Albany, NY on 1/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones look and work great. The cord is extra long and also detachable.

Pros: Sennheiser quailty and detachable cord

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great for all purpose

ScottF from Seattle WA on 1/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used these headphones both in my in-home studio for recording purposes (excellent, clear response), and on a plane, where the ambient noise reduction was blissful, even without music plugged in!.

Pros: Excellent quality, sturdy, comfortable.

Cons: A little big for portable use, but this wasn't my primary purpose.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Don't buy this model ... higher quality a must.

Maggi from Stillwater, MN on 1/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased for my kids (16 & 13) for listening to iTunes, iPod etc. They are okay. I purchased two pairs. The headphones are heavy to wear, do not block out surrounding sound and their sound output is okay. Would I suggest them, no I would not. You get what you pay for! If you want to use often, spend the money and get a better quality headphone.

Pros: none

Cons: Too heavy, poor sound quality.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 22 found this helpful

Good value, good sound reproduction

RE from Washington, DC on 1/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No headphones or any other audio product will satisfy everyone. However, these headphones satisfy me. I use them to listen to Internet radio (classical and jazz) from Denmark while working in a bullpen environment. My requirements when shopping for headphones were (1) to avoid a boomy, muddy bass sound, so popular with rock music fans and hence with certain other manufacturers, (2) to be able to hear relatively clear mid-frequency sounds, (3) to be able to wear the headphones for an extended period, (4) to avoid audio seepage, and (5) not to have to mortgage my house. The Sennheiser HD 280 Pro headphones fit the bill. Sure, the sound is not as transparent as that produced by my $2,000 electrostatic room speakers, but it's darn good. Yes, the plastic ear cups don't feel like leather and they heat up a bit after several hours, but they are comfortable enough and there is no audio seepage. My order with Crutchfield was shipped the same day and arrived the day after that, and my purchase didn't break the bank. What's not to like?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Don't Waste Your Time or Money!

FrankD from Dunn, NC on 12/6/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought Sennheisers were supposed to be high end headphones. These are the worst sounding headphones I have ever heard. They shear the highs, overemphasize the mids and are bass shy. I'm running a Cambridge Audio Sonata CD30 with a Pro-Ject headphone amp so my equipment isn't the problem....Sennheiser what a disappointment!

Pros: -Nothing

Cons: -Sheared off Highs -Overempahsized mids -Bass shy -Uncomfortable

Crutchfield response on

3 of 19 found this helpful

Great sound

MikeD from Kennett Square, PA on 12/1/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality for the price. Well made headphones. Fold down for storage. Still quite large for use on flights.

Pros: Great sound quality compared with other cheaper headphones I have used. Good quality. Fold down for storage.

Cons: Still quite large for travelling

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Cans!

whitedk57 from Franklin, NC on 11/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you really want bass response without getting a separate headphone amp, then these are probably not for you. But with the proper amp, these babies are awesome! I play bass, so I need a practice set of headphones that could articulate the bass clearly. Of course, I needed to get the amp to go with it, but now I have practice cans that won't disappoint.

Pros: These headphones are constructed with heavy duty plastic that feels very solid. I especially like the ability to fold these for more compact storage. The cans can also be pivoted, which provides a more precise fit. The sound quality is exceptional for the price point at which I purchased these ($79). I don't profess to be an audiophile, but these cans provide music detail that rivals more expensive ones.

Cons: The bass response on these cans is somewhat lacking. But that doesn't mean that they aren't capable of producing head-pounding bass. What I did was buy a decent headphone amplifier from JDS Labs (cMoyBB v2.03). The headphone amplifier has a bass boost that brings out all of the richness of these headphones.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Set of Headphones

Troy from Herndon, VA on 11/7/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sennheiser HD 280 Pros I find to be excellent. They are everything the manufacturer claims they would be. I was looking at first for noise cancelling headphones and ran across these. With the over the ear fit in my opinion they do just as well. The sound is awesome with all low, mid, and high frequencies. I am a drummer and they are perfect for practicing. I can hear what I am playing w/o drowning out the music I am playing along to. I think they are an excellent choice for just listening to audio, noise reduction, and practicing music as I do. The other part that I like about them is almost all the parts are replaceable in the event something goes wrong. Nice job Sennheiser and Crutchfield.

Pros: I think the product was very well priced for what these headphones do as well as their comfort and noise reduction.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great 'Phones

Bob from Thousand Oaks, Calif. on 10/11/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought my first pair of earphones in 1972. That first Sony pair was very comfortable with fair sound quality. This Sennheiser HD 280 Pro is the best pair I've ever owned. Comfortable, outstanding sound, and the cord is LONG. Great stuff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

They are good but..

Sunny from NY on 8/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are much better & cheaper than the Bose AE2 model. But when it comes to listening to good music comfort is also very important. I have had these 280's for about 2 weeks now & the sound lives up to my expectation as a audiophile teamed up with a headphone amp, but its just not comfortable. These feel like a clamp around my head & puts a lot of pressure to the point i cant wear it over 10-15 minutes or I start to get a headache due to the pressure. I have tried to stretch it out and put it over a stack of books as advised by Sennheiser but so far it has not made it any looser. On the other hand the 380's would be a good option even though they are almost double the price you get good value for your price & Sennheiser is a much better option than Bose in my opinion if you believe in paying for ''quality not ''research''. As always Crutchfield's customer service & tech team's are extremely knowledgeable and helpful but I wish they offered better prices or price matched that way I would shop with them more often as everyone else I shop where the prices are better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good Fit, Great Sound !!!

DanLS from Denver, Colorado on 2/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ear phones found in my area are not what I was looking for they didn't fit my head. the clarity and sound and comfort did not measure up to the quality and price that I found in clutchfield head phones. I'm very satisfied in chosing the right ones from your conmpany.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

worth the money

jerryt from milwaukee, wi on 2/1/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a hearing loss; therefore, I depend on phones when watching tv. the phones met my expectations for the price, but they lack the comfort and the noise reduction of the Bose phones that I also use for tv viewing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280

Mr. Bill from South Texas, NJ USA on 11/11/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've have my Sennheiser HD 280 headphones for a couple weeks and couldn't be happier with them. I purchased them based on the recommendation of the very knowledgeable I spoke with before ordering. I visit a few forums online that are frequented by people much more experienced than I and comments from these folks about the HD 280s are positive. They use many phrases to describe how headphones sound that are over my head. I just know they sound very nice.. I use my headphones to listen to Apple lossless files on my unamped IPod and WMA lossless files on my business computer... Shush, don't tell the boss.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck

Jim from Near Pittsburgh, PA on 9/23/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second set of HD 280 Pro's. My original cans are still in use, I just wanted a pair for home as well as playing out. Of course I had to replace a few ear caps and headband (which is a great feature) after many years of use but they still sound great (they will sound even better when broken in). l've used many but few compare to these. Probably one of the best features is noise isolation and great frequency response and of course comfort. I'm sure there are better headphones on the market but honestly, I doubt if "anyone" could tell the difference in sound if put to a test. Crutchfield is a solid company to deal with. I've bought televisions and other large ticket items without a hitch. Support is top notch. . . and no I don't work for the company. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good Drummer Headphones

Tom H. from Atlanta on 8/30/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We use these headphones for our drummer. The frequency response range is good, with enough bass for the drummer to hear the Kick drum & bass player. More importantly, the over-ear design clamps on the head just tight enough to block out ambient drum sounds enough that the drummer can hear other instruments and vocals in the earphones without turning the volume up too high to drown out the drums. I also like the sturdiness of the build - seems to take more abuse than some of the other headphone designs. Price seems resonable for what you get.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Headphones

Mark from Lawrence, KS on 3/24/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones sound amazing. Full, rich highs and middles. The bass is not overpowering, but it is still there just fine. I've tried other headphones that had too much bass, and it distracts from the music for me. Let them burn in for a couple of days, and they sound even better. The only minor quibble I have is that my ears get sweaty in the earcups, but that is pretty minor--and native to these kinds of headphones in the first place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Debbie from Jackson, TN on 1/18/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for my grown son for Christmas. He says they are great, and he is very hard to please. He likes everything about them. He also likes the fact that you can buy replacement parts. Crutchfield shipped the same day I ordered and also guarantee customer satisfaction with their products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

James from Hartford, CT on 1/15/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use these headphones for late night movie/tv watching and video gaming without disturbing the household. They sound great and fit comfortably. Only minor drawback is the coiled cord makes it tough to get the full 10' extension.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Alaskan05 from Anchorage, AK on 12/18/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones rock. The bass isn't boomy, but it isn't lacking either. The sound is very realistic and clear. These are some of the best cans that I've heard (so far). For the money, they are the best you can get. Would definitely recommend, and how can you go wrong with Crutchfield's free shipping? In Alaska, this is practically unheard of. 5 Stars all around!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Incredible audio experience!

Erich from Sterling Heights, MI on 11/30/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield rocks and so do these headphones. They arrived in three days and produce superb sound, with sharp, clear highs and deep, thunderous lows. I can easily crank up the volume to the point where it feels like my ears are going to start bleeding without worrying about whether it's too much for the headphones to handle. They're quite comfortable and do an excellent job of insulating you from the surrounding environment. And I guess these must be the most sophisticated headphones I've ever bought, because I don't recall ever getting a printed manual before. In short, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

worth 99 bucks

Tony from Sunny FL on 5/26/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I put these phones up against a pair of Bose on ear triports. Here's what I determined about the HD280:They are a nice set of musically accurate headphones. Bass: Flat which is ok however the mid-low bass exhibited a muddy or blah response when listening to Bond Casino royal during the tanker truck scene. this would be the same muddied or blah response you would get trying to recreate bass over a audio system without the help of a sub woofer. "kind of like thud thud thud vs pound pound pound" Also Bass needed a +8-+12db re-eq to sound presentable sorry i live in 2008 not 1975 and a sound system without bass is useless. Mid: a very tad bit middy and some mids are a bit harsh (genesis, trick of the tail, entangled; dsd sacd remastered version) I noticed some ear piercing mids from this track Highs: perfect For 99 bucks you will find these hard to beat. The audio quality is going to beat anything else in this price range however at 200 standard price this all changes. The downfalls are >lack of decent bass without re-eq >big old school design difficult to travel with or transport >they get uncomfy very quickly in conclusion I found these to be a great deal at 99 bucks however, in the end, i opted to spend the additional 80 clams for the Bose on ear triports as i found the Bose overall superior in every way and enough to justify the 80 clams extra for them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 22 found this helpful

plastic disintegrates quickly

Robert from New York, NY on 1/21/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these in September 2005, and while I have no complaints about the sound (sound isolation is great), the plastic disintegrated quickly (within a year). They fold compactly, and I would carry them in my backpack often, so I may have contributed to the damage by being a little careless. Still, I had higher hopes for their durability. I patched them up with black gaffer's tape. They still sound fabulous, but I use them primarily at home. If you're looking for headphones that will travel well and be durable, these may not be the best choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

A bit of a damper on the hype on these headphones

Ron from Nashua, NH on 10/17/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I just bought these headphones (have had them for 2 weeks) after reading all of these reviews. To others like me: let me help you set realistic expectations or you will be disappointed like me. The manufacturer's intent for these headphones (as stated in the documentation that accompanies them) is to reproduce music *accurately* for the purpose of studio monitoring. And they are superb at doing just that: they are even across their tonal range and frequency response so those who are interested can hear each sound distinctly. To me, they are not *that* good for listening to music for pleasure because of this. I don't like booming, distorting, or exaggerated bass or clinky treble, but I expected more than these provide. Metaphorically, the sound produced by these headphones is like putting all your paint colors on a canvas in separate circles so you can carefully compare each color scientifically. I wanted an artistic painting, so to speak. Again, these are superb quality headphones, but I wanted fuller sound. Even with various equalizer settings on my 5G ipod, they are still ho-hum. And all the hype about "burn-in" is a controversial urban legend, backed by some theory on the settling of the sound production materials, but those who think they are hearing a meaningful or even noticeable sound difference I think are hearing what they want to hear. I burned them in them for a couple days (playing continuous music at mid-volume)...no discernible difference even to one musically trained. On a good note, the world disappears when I have these on. They are magnificent at sealing around the ear and attenuating distracting ambient sound in the office except when I am wearing my glasses when the sound leaks in. Although I think would be the case with any circumaural headphones with eye glasses. Anyway, synthesize my review with the many others here and make your own decision, borrow a pair or try in a store for yourself. But they were a bit of a let down for me after reading all the hype from all these other reviewers. Sorry to say...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

43 of 49 found this helpful

Best Headphones for the Money by Far

John from Dallas, TX on 6/26/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I looked and tested every headphone up to around $400/pr, and these Sennheisers blew every other one away. I don't mean they are somewhat better, I mean these absolutely were no comparison to the others. The Bose were not even close to these, not even in the same arena. Bose is known for their spatial sound and good bass, but the Sensheisers have bass that is real, not boomy, but as you hear live, the real thing. Across the audio frequency range these headphones are simply outstanding. You cannot go wrong with these, no matter the music. I listened to Van Halen, then Dave Brubeck, then Diana Krall, then some Zeppelin, and finished with the Chicagoo/Solti recording of Beethoven's 9th Symphony, and I heard instruments with these phones I have never heard before. Well done Sennheiser. Oh, and did I mention that they are really comfortable, and also eliminate any outside noises.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

25 of 26 found this helpful

Incredible Sound for Your Ears to Enjoy!

Jim from Topsham, Maine on 5/14/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thank you to all previous reviewers of these Sennheiser HD 280Pro head phones. Your comments about the quality & sound of these phones sold me and know I must tell you to save a $100. or more on the world of Bose and buy these phones. I now watch all my sports, movies and TV shows with them taking me into a world of sound I have never experienced. You won't miss a beat, background effect or anything intented for the ear to hear with great balance of bass & tremble. End your search here, take the wife out to dinner with the savings and write your own review. The Cruthfield staff was superb in handling my questions and supported the ratings with great insight. Now back to the ball game!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Excellent for Sound Isolation

Accumbens from Nashville on 3/14/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The main reason I got these was to keep sound out (fairly loud office - I like quiet) and to get great sound at the same time. These headphones are great for it - I briefly considered the Bose active noise canceling phones, but when I saw how much these dampened - I jumped on them. I haven't done a direct comparison, but a friend that owns the Bose says they seem similar and the HD280s are much cheaper. Like others said, let them burn in. Also, while they don't need much power (my video ipod sounds great with them), they do need some equalization. They sound very flat without compensation for both bass and treble. This is fine on the ipod (I use the "rock" setting with these as opposed to the "flat" setting when using other headphones or plugged into the stereo). Also I readjusted itunes to compensate. The only time this eq issue matters for me is when listening to pandora online - where I can't change bass/treble settings. It's not horrible, but you don't get the great sound these are capable of.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Bryan from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/6/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like these cans. Definitely remember to let them burn in, however. I left mine playing for a few days just on shuffle at half volume, and they sound a million times better. Everything is clear. The bass is nice and clear, and not too much. If you are looking for some big phones to replicate the subs you have in your '95 honda civic, go get something else. These phones are for people who appreciate how music is supposed to sound. The only thing I don't like is that they look kinda funny on your head-- they stick way out. But I am willing to sacrifice the looks for the quality of sound these have for their price. They also squeeze your head pretty good, but that makes it so you can not hear anything at all practically. Overall, I think these phones are a great buy. Highly recommended, especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great Sound by uncomfortable

Marvin from Virginia on 2/27/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound in these headphones was great. I was looking for something closed for my commute on the bus. Unfortunately, while sounding great these are not the most comfortable headphones to wear for any extended period of time. I ultimately returned them on account of the comfort but would have kept otherwise. Crutchfield was great about the return, they get 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Robert from Santa Barbara, CA on 12/1/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Headphone worked perfectly with my new Apple nano-iPod!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound. Noise dampening sets it apart from others.

Michael from Oklahoma on 7/26/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sound is great, the frequency response is pretty rediculous. One thing that is very different about these headphones is that they seal against the head very very well and the earcups have a great deal of dampening properties, like 32dB outside noise. But what no one mentions is that the headphones are just as good at dampening the outside world from YOUR music. This was the main reason I chose these headphones because I am a programmer working in a cubical next to many other people in a very quiet office environment and these headphones allow me to listen to music really loud and no one else is bothered by it. It's great because everyone knows loud techno music produces better code.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Flexible, Great Audio but Cumbersome

Stephen from Austin, Texas on 6/19/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After researching and comparing some 15 headsets, I chose the Sennheiser HD280 Pro for my listening pleasure. About 70% of the time, I listen to a high quality portable Panasonic CD player and 30% of the time to a Nakamichi CD deck. I like the sound quality and the audio isolation from ambient noise. I also like the fact that the impedance and power rating of this headset should make it work efficiently with an iPod. On the downside, the bulkiness makes this unit a stay-at-home primarily for providing isolation and great sound quality when I want to seriously relax with my music. The force applied by the headset band is a little more than I was expecting, but I have become used to it. Still, for travel and walking outdoors, I will stay with my old earbuds, street phones or purchase a new, lightweight head set. The heavy, coiled cord and oversize headband and ear surrounds make this a bit too inconvenient for, say, sitting in a coffee shop or riding on a bus. The unit does what I expected of it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Good Headphones for the Price

Eliezer from Vega Baja, Puerto Rico on 5/25/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After too much headphone research, I decided to bet on the HD 280. At first I wondered if I had chosen correctly because they didn't sound as great as they were supposed to. That changed in about two weeks. It's true what they say about this model. You have to do some serious Burn-In. I made a custom CD with the kinds of music I listen to more often and sat back. I let the CD play for hours at a higher-than-usual volume and, about 50 hours later, they started sounding much better. I gave it a 4 out of 5 because I mainly use them with an Ipod. I tried them with a more powerful source, and I'd say it's really more like a 4.5 out of 5. They are a good choice for $100 budget if your main concern is noise reduction (like myself). If you don't care about noise reduction, you should take a look at the Sennheiser HD 485. They supposedly sound better than the HD 280, and you can find them here for $20 less.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

Chris from Missouri on 4/26/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones are a steal at $100. It's like having maybe $200 speakers on your head, and a subwoofer! Great sound, great comfort. A+

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Great set of Headphones

Patrick from Nashville, TN on 11/19/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have found these headphones to be true to reviews and their price on Crutchfield. These cans are large and sturdy, yet amazingly light and very nimble with their rotating earcups and easy fold-in design. Very good sound, just be sure to perform a "sonic break-in" for about 48 hours, playing them continuously with the music you prefer. And yes they may look a bit silly in public (the "Princess Lea" effect)but hey, since these headphones can be powered even by portable players, when walking outside you need headphones like these on windy days--they won't blow off your head, and they muffle the outside sound especially the wind. Many may still consider these too "retro" in look and feel, prefering earbuds, in-the-ear, and the many variants of headphones out there. Still, these are Sennheiser, where design and sound are a cut above, and the HD 280 pro has all replaceable parts, which is not true of all Sennheiser headphones. Crutchfield followed up the quick delivery of my headphones with a call, and seem to be a leader in quality customer service. Their prices are not the lowest out there, but there is much to say about good solid customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

43 of 43 found this helpful

Exceptional sound, realiable headphones

Justin from Lenexa, KS on 10/12/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent pair of headphones. Hope this is helpful. Justin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 55 found this helpful

Great sound

Mike from Phoenix, AZ on 8/26/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listened to alot of headphones before I chose these. For $100, they sound as good as anything anywhere near their price range. They also have replaceable parts which is a big plus if you travel with them. The around the ear design cuts way down on ambient noise. I have found that I don't have to turn the volume up so high.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

139 of 152 found this helpful

TOP