Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD599

Open-back wired over-ear headphones

MFR # 506831

Sennheiser HD599

Sennheiser HD599

Open-back wired over-ear headphones

MFR # 506831

9 reviews
View this product

Sennheiser HD599

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a few weeks to write this review until I had used them for a while. I really like these headphones. My main objectives were comfort and good sound. These are by far the most comfortable headphones I have ever worn, especially when listening for a few hours. The ear cups are very large surrounding the ears, and they are a velvet-like material vs. the usual fake leather material (which makes my ears sweat). The sound is terrific. The treble is crisp and the bass is solid but subtle (not "boomy"). My only small complaint, which isn't a big deal really, is that I wish the detachable cable wasn't proprietary (you must use a Sennheiser cable). I consider these headphones moderately priced headphones and a good value as well as comfortable and very good sounding headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Oh My!

Richard from Rancho Cucamonga, CA on 6/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm going to give the HD599's 5 stars. Because they're the best headphones ever? No. Because they're ultra comfortable and sound fantastic for phones in this price range. I put on Billy Joel's "New York State of Mind" and was very impressed. The piano sounds like it's in the room, the strings rich and full, the sax solo is sweet and soulful, the bass is rock solid and Joel's vocals sound so clear you can almost see the pores in it. Put on Oingo Boingo's "Weird Science" and your senses will be pummeled by relentless three dimensional insanity just the way Danny Elfman intended. They are fairly unforgiving in that a bad recording will sound like a bad recording and the HD599's aren't shy about letting you know. Once you get the EQ dialed in they way you like it these phones will put a grin on your face your wife just won't understand. The build is plastic, but they're solid, well built and don't feel cheap. Are they intended for the road? No. Which is why they don't come with a case. Get another pair of phones for the gym, or to take jogging, or for the subway. These cans belong at home right along side your music collection.

Pros: Sound wonderful. Beautifully comfortable for hours of music or gaming without fatigue.

Cons: Only complaint is; I wish they came with better cords, but you can get better cords online from third party vendors if you really want them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD599

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like these headphone. Great sound and comfortable.

Pros: Comfortable fit. use either a 3.5 mm to 3.35 mm wire or a 3.5 mm to 6.35 mm wire

Cons: Can't think of anything.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD599

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair of HD558 at the office..and needed something for the home. After looking at a lot of different options I thought..why I am trying to reinvent the wheel...those are a great pair and these HD599 keep the magic. With just a few tweaks to improve on an already great pair of comfortable..I repeat super comfortable headphones..I am loving my new HD599. Highly recommended.

Pros: Price, comfort

Cons: They are open back headphones, if that's a con for you..it's a pro for me cuz it allows them to breathe. Great for wearing all day.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Average sound IMO

Michael from Lake City, FL on 11/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered these to replace a set of 15 to 20 year old HD545s. To me, they were not as good. Seemed more flimsy, construction-wise. The sound was not bad, but not as good as my old 545. And they were comfortable. They did work well with my Pro-ject Headbox (also from Crutchfield). But I just couldn't pull the trigger. The folks at Crutchfield were really great about taking them back. No hassles, and emailed me the shipping label. I give Crutchfield 5 Stars for their support. I ordered a more expensive, different brand/model, instead.

Pros: Comfortable and light.

Cons: Only average sound quality. Not bad, but not first rate. That's a subjective thing, though. Maybe it's about par in this price range, I can't say.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Good headphones, but!

Kenneth from Hillsborough, NC on 7/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Sennheiser 599 headphones are very good. I ordered them late one day and received them the next! Great service! My only complaint is that one day after receiving them I saw them on another site for less! I have never been so disappointed with Crutchfield ??

Pros: Good sound, comfortable in use.

Cons: The $$ price!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Superb sound from a common model

Pedro from San Juan, PR on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am surprised with these headphones. I never thought that at this price a good headphone has such a good quality audio. These are my best bass sounding headphones, and they are very balanced from bass to high trebble. I also own the more expensive HD800 and these, being also Sennheiser, can be compared as a second in order. The HD800 are bright and don't yield such powerful bass tones. These are very warm but clear and very nice to hear for long periods. I also find them very comfortable. One could complain that they have plastic in almost every part of them, but considering their audio quality and sound reproduction, they are fine to keep them very carefully. It's true that they have fragile plastic parts, and that has to be considered for those who demand a tough product. Let me add here that Grados, Senn HD800 and almost every expensive brands have plastic parts on them, something that even me regrets. But, their sound are OK for me.

Pros: The audio quality is very professional.

Cons: Many plastic parts.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD599

Guest from Youngstown, OH on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No case??? Are you kidding me? For all that money too? Inexcusable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 22 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD599

Crutchfield customer from Denton TX on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As usual, the HD599 arrived on time, was easy to unwrap and performed up to high standards.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP