Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # 508826

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # 508826

8 reviews
View this product

Accurate, detailed, non-fatiguing

Joachim from BOZEMAN, MT on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upfront and honest, I am a bit biased in favor of Sennheiser headphones. To put things in perspective, my first decent audiophile headphones were the HD 560 that I purchased around 1990. Those days I was a student on a budget in Germany. The HD 560 gave me the best listening experience for the money among the options that my local dealer had at that time. I don't consider myself being a headphone audiophile at all. I prefer listening to an audiophile stereo speaker system anytime! But once in a while I want to have the headphone listening experience. About 10 years ago I suffered some hearing loss and felt tempted to get more serious about headphones. I auditioned several high-end cans and headphone amps - up to the HD/V 800 combo. Again, Sennheiser was my winner. Considering that I am using headphones only occasionally I however hesitated dropping $$$$ for a DAC/amp and head phones. Most important to me are accuracy of instrumental timbre and detailed musical representation without being fatiguing. In that regard, and 30 years later, Sennheiser again provides me with a very satisfying listening experience at a reasonable $$$ price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bass of the Sennheiser 600 series

Crutchfield customer from Shaker Hts, OH on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared several in this price range. Open back is more "open" sounding. Can be driven by IBASSO DX 160 well. Sounds crisp. Bass not overwhelming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hi-res heaven

Crutchfield customer from Grain Valley, MO on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sennheiser 660s are my first set of Hi-Res headphones. I am running them through an Onkyo DP--X1A mp3 player which has twin dac's and both balanced(2.5 mm jack) and unbalanced(3.5 mm) outputs. With the help of Crutchfields tech service I also had to order an adaptor for the balanced output jack which did not come with the 660's and Crutchfield did not carry. This was a slight inconvenience, but not a problem. When I received the cans I listened to them briefly to hear them before I started the break-in period. Out of the box they were surprisingly light. The fit was perfect. The music I tried was alt-rock at 88/24 then some long-hair music of the Kansas City Symphony at 176/24. In both cases I was blown away by the sound. After the 6-day 24-7 break-in period, I again listened to the same music-WOW! In hind-sight I wished I had made the move to hi-res long ago. These cans are a fantastic addition to that endeavor. I strongly endorse these headphones for those looking to enter a whole new world of Hi-Res listening.

Pros: Fantastic sound, very detailed music reproduction, not tiresome for long listening times, light weight, very comfortable fit, storage box, Crutchfield Technical Service help and advice

Cons: Had to order from another source a 2.5 mm jack adaptor to use the cans with my mp3 player with the balanced output.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good but not as good as I anticipated

Robert from Olympia, WA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I'm somewhat disappointed because I was expecting a little more after reading reviews. They are certainly better than a much cheaper pair I bought several years ago. The headphones do sound good. They handle the bass and treble well, and the tone is mostly balanced with some muddy emphasis in mid-bass. They will handle more volume than is pleasant but quickly become too loud. The sound is blended together (compressed?) and loses detail compared to speakers. I certainly don't feel like I'm actually there. Perhaps a dedicated headphone amp would make a difference? I listened to the headphones on a PrimaLuna Dialogue HP and also on a Marantz PM8005. The Marantz has tone controls so I was able to adjust for better tone. Among the songs I listened to was ZZ Top "Fool for Your Stockings" on vinyl. This is a very good recording that makes you feel the band is there with you. With the headphones it just really seemed like a pair of headphones if that says anything to you - mason jaresque. 5 Stars as always for Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comfortable fit and outstanding sound quality. Pairs well with the headphone amp in my McIntosh integrated amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic Performers!

Dan from Ballwin, MO on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never owned, but based on some excellent reviews I thought that I might like these headphones. These headphones are standouts. I listened to all types of material, rock, jazz, classical, a capella. On all material these were the best headphones I have heard (yet). They are very transparent and image amazingly good. I would like to better understand the technology behind these headphones. I compared them to Grado RS1E cans and expected the Grados to beat them handily. And, while I would say the Grados were stunning these Senns were better. They had better bass and better highs. Recordings sounded live with these cans. Vocals were not chesty, just natural. On several recordings, I couldn't imagine them sounding better. Kick drums have excellent impact, high hats sounds clear and natural, voices excel, strings sound very light and natural. You can really listen into a recording. When you turn up some headphones, they do not sound good the tones gets coarse. These sound great loud. They sound great soft too. One time, I pulled them off because a voice startled me and I thought my wife was trying to talk to me. It turns out someone talked during the recording. Another time, I pulled them off because I heard a dog barking. There was no dog in the neighborhood - it was in the recording. I didn't expect to like the HD 660s headphones, but they are freaky good. I found all sorts of treasures in recordings. They are extremely lifelike. I couldn't find their limit.

Pros: Extremely transparent Lifelike Good, deep bass, excellent highs

Cons: Clamping force is high (but still comfortable) Let in ambient sounds in

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Improvement

Martin from Marshall, MI on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the Sennheiser HD650 for about a decade and have enjoyed it greatly. Even though this new headphone is not yet broken-in, I could still hear a noticeable improvement over the HD650. The 650 had a somewhat veiled sound and the high frequencies were somewhat muted. Both of those shortcomings seemed to have been corrected in this new model. I look forward to even better sound once I rack up more hours of listening.

Pros: Clean sound Excellent dynamics Highly detailed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Love the Sound!

James from Seattle, WA on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am amazed with the sound and comfort of this headphone. This is my first higher end headphone, but I have had a Grado SR80 and Sennheiser HD 280 pro. The clarity and presence is amazing. I listen through a Schiit stack of Modi/Magni to lossless files - but it took these headphones to really bring them to life. Listening through un-amped (iPad/iPod) sources does not shine as well, but still superb. The sweet spot seems to be in the midrange - vocals on some tracks are so much clearer in the mix. Some reviews mention the treble is brittle, but i'm not hearing it. But I'm also at the age where that might not be a problem :-). Very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Midrange clarity, great sound balance. Comfortable fit.

Cons: Best with amplification due to higher impedance.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

TOP