Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # 508826

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Open-back over-ear headphones

MFR # 508826

22 reviews
View this product

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Albion, CA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice set nice price nice folks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HD 660s are a keeper

Tony from Guam, USA on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am just really breaking in to the high end headphone world. I have an old pair of Sennheiser HD599 open backs. I will say they sound great. However, I wanted to go to the next level. So, I got a pair of Audio Technica MSR7b closed backs. They were a bit too forward in the mids and made my ears heat up. I sent them back. Got the HD 660s..I really like them and are next level for sure.....wide sound stage.good bass.relaxed mids and smooth highs...I can listen for hours no fatigue!! I guess I am just partial to the Sennheiser signature sound. I will keep these.

Pros: Look feel and sound of this product feels high-end. Lets you know you leveled up.

Cons: Cost a lot if you are used to $200.oo headphones. But, if you have the cash they are worth it!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Headphones and a fair Price $$

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica Plain, MA on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After considering many headphones and sorting out the variables and prices I landed very happily on the Sennheiser HD660S. I was specifically looking for open back, over the ears, not wireless and lighter weight. I also bought and auditioned the Aduze LCD 1 which are also very good headphones but in an A/B comparison these won out. They have a fuller range and bigger wider sound stage and interestingly when I switched from the Sennheisers to the Audize I had to pump up the volume for the Audize but with no increase in quality of sound. And on balance the Sennheisers are more comfortable with better padding. I'm an almost entirely classical music listener and my audition including big orchestral and choral works, violin and piano concertos, chamber music, opera and listening to music from the baroque right up through the 20th century these won!! Also: I listen through my NAD integrated amplifier and just as a test I tried these on my IPhone and I was very impressive with that as well and that without a headphone amplifier!! I'm curious how much better the headphones that break $1000 could possibly be against these very fine headphones... but for now here is where I will stay!

Pros: Great Sound and comfortable with good padding and not too heavy

Cons: All good. No cons!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If they're on sale, Buy 'em

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones were an upgrade from my Sennheiser HD599's. Not a huge improvement, but noticeably better nevertheless. I got them to complete my recent move to HD listening: Amazon Music HD tunes- played through Bluesound Node 2i- played through Schiit Magni Heresy amp- out to Sennheiser HD 660s. So far I'm a happy Listener!

Pros: Quality build Vocals, midrange and soundstage superb, depending on source remastering

Cons: Pricey- don't pay retail Snug fit to your head (will loosen I imagine) Bass not as booming as some might like

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Top-notch headphones

Crutchfield customer from Westmont, IL on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are excellent headphones and a great value. The headphones are very comfortable, even after wearing for a long time. Because of the lower impedance, I can take full advantage of the high-res digital recordings I have purchased and downloaded to my high-end digital players (FiiO and Hidizs). Most important to me, the sound quality is warm and immediate. I can hear details, such as musicians shifting in their chairs, that I did missed before. If you want to listen to recordings and experience a realistic, full-range sound palette, these headphones are for you. As a bonus, you get both a 3.5mm adapter, along with a separate 4.4 mm balanced stereo plug.

Pros: Very comfortable, even after wearing for hours. Lower impedance allows good sound from hi-res personal digital players.

Cons: If you are looking for heavy bass output, these might not be for you.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for music, overkill for gaming

Crutchfield customer from Johnston, RI on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great phones! They sou nd and feel great. I've kept them on for hours at a time. I use mine for gaming which I believe to be over kill. An obvious thing with these are they are not noise cancelation. I like this feature personally because I can speak to people around me and still hear with headphones when on my ears. I would say, if you are gaming like myself these may cost more then you'll get out of them. As for music, I hear instruments I did t before. Great product!

Pros: Comfortable for long periods of time, incredible sound quality, high quality made,

Cons: Open ears (no noise cancelation), over priced if using for gaming, may need a DAC/ headphone amplifier to achieve max performance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from River Pines, CA on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am still in the break-in period. Simply put, these headphones are great. I am hearing instruments with a clarity that previously was not there. I am loving rediscovering songs that I thought I knew. Great sound for the price point.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, GA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little tight, but, sound really good. Hopefully they'll stretch out a little. Definitely worth 499.99. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser rules

FIelding from Nashville, TN on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm on a sennheiser binge - since I moved into a condo and can't blast my Macintosh powered Magnapan's at 95db I've fallen into the wonderful world of headphones!!! - now it's the quest of finding the cans that are the most realistic with the least amount of distortion right on top of the ears for the least $$$. I've tried hifiman, Sony, audeze, monolith, a few others under $500. sennheiser sound signature is my favorite. It must be that legendary German engineering that spawns brands line BMW and Mercedes. Sennheiser is right up there for attention to detail and build quality for long lasting performance. I sold most of my Maggie's and amps to bankroll my headphones so I've had a bit of fun running through the sennheiser line. I've had the 100's, the 350bt, hd 280 pro, hd25, momentum earbuds, momentum overear, and the 660s. The 100's, for the price are ridiculously good with phone and even better with amp. (I could actually live with these with their solid bass and clear vocals and light as a feather) The momentum's are excellent. But the 660's are perfect. Separation of and realism of instruments and soundstage are phenomenal. With the phone they are exceptional. With a good amp/dac they are other worldly. Crutchfield has em on sale right now!!! Omg I just missed that sale! Don't wait. (I use a Cambridge Soundworks Dac magic plus from Crutchfield streaming from Mac book pro using the internal 12 band equalizer when not on the phone)

Pros: Realism Separation of instruments soundstage Clarity Lack of distortion

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to the Sennheiser HD 660 S headphones per recommendation from knowledgeable Crutchfield staff member. They haven't disappointed. Comfortable, stable and offer a total sonic immersion experience. Worth the upgrade price for anyone serious about audiophile sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SO happy with these HD 660 S headphones. Total winner!

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE these headphones! So happy I made the decision to buy this model. I spent a lot of time researching this price range and once I decided on Sennheiser, then the struggle was, which model. The primary struggle was many reviews I read, reviewers felt the previous HD 650 model was still superior in sound to this newer HD 660 S updated model. I should say I am using it primarily with an ifi Black Label DAC / amplifier. The older HD 650 model requires more power to drive them vs the newer HD 660 S so I could save on my battery capacity a bit with the HD 660 S, but it wasn't a deal breaker. After calling and comparing specs with Sennheiser , as well as sharing the feedback and reviews I'd read, I was convinced the HD 660 S was the one to buy. As I said .....I LOVE the sound! I'm hearing parts and depth of my music in familiar songs I've never heard before! The secondary concern you may read about is some reviewers felt the headband was tight out of the box on the HD 660 S vs the older model HD 650. I will tell you I didn't find this to be true at all. Mine felt totally comfortable from the first time I put them on. In summary, The HD 660 S is an outstanding headphone that I think you'd be hard pressed to beat with anything up to the $ 1000.00 price range. They're that good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent for classical music

Crutchfield customer from Providence, RI on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent headphones. The sound quality for classical music is crisp and sharp with a fine balance between high, e.g. violin and low, e.g. bassoon... especially when coupled with a Dragonfly USB attachment as recommended by Crutchfield staff. Even popular music has a surprising zing to it.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality

Cons: Weight, but this was only after 2 hours+ and even then was only slightly bothersome.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my HD 660s

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound of these headphones, imagine is perfect, instrument separation is awesome and I like the soundstage. I love the fact it comes with Balanced cables and normal cables, this is a great feature.

Pros: Súper confortable, sound is amazing, excellent quality build with no screws

Cons: Lacks bass given is open back but just a little adjustment is needed on your amo is needed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional buy. Money well spent

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was impress with the separation and quality of their sound right out of the box. But after running them through a quality DAC. WOW! These cans came alive.

Pros: Exceptional sound right of the box.

Cons: None that I have encountered. Maybe the only minor thing. To have a volume control on the cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Accurate, detailed, non-fatiguing

Joachim from BOZEMAN, MT on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upfront and honest, I am a bit biased in favor of Sennheiser headphones. To put things in perspective, my first decent audiophile headphones were the HD 560 that I purchased around 1990. Those days I was a student on a budget in Germany. The HD 560 gave me the best listening experience for the money among the options that my local dealer had at that time. I don't consider myself being a headphone audiophile at all. I prefer listening to an audiophile stereo speaker system anytime! But once in a while I want to have the headphone listening experience. About 10 years ago I suffered some hearing loss and felt tempted to get more serious about headphones. I auditioned several high-end cans and headphone amps - up to the HD/V 800 combo. Again, Sennheiser was my winner. Considering that I am using headphones only occasionally I however hesitated dropping $$$$ for a DAC/amp and head phones. Most important to me are accuracy of instrumental timbre and detailed musical representation without being fatiguing. In that regard, and 30 years later, Sennheiser again provides me with a very satisfying listening experience at a reasonable $$$ price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Bass of the Sennheiser 600 series

Crutchfield customer from Shaker Hts, OH on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared several in this price range. Open back is more "open" sounding. Can be driven by IBASSO DX 160 well. Sounds crisp. Bass not overwhelming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hi-res heaven

Crutchfield customer from Grain Valley, MO on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sennheiser 660s are my first set of Hi-Res headphones. I am running them through an Onkyo DP--X1A mp3 player which has twin dac's and both balanced(2.5 mm jack) and unbalanced(3.5 mm) outputs. With the help of Crutchfields tech service I also had to order an adaptor for the balanced output jack which did not come with the 660's and Crutchfield did not carry. This was a slight inconvenience, but not a problem. When I received the cans I listened to them briefly to hear them before I started the break-in period. Out of the box they were surprisingly light. The fit was perfect. The music I tried was alt-rock at 88/24 then some long-hair music of the Kansas City Symphony at 176/24. In both cases I was blown away by the sound. After the 6-day 24-7 break-in period, I again listened to the same music-WOW! In hind-sight I wished I had made the move to hi-res long ago. These cans are a fantastic addition to that endeavor. I strongly endorse these headphones for those looking to enter a whole new world of Hi-Res listening.

Pros: Fantastic sound, very detailed music reproduction, not tiresome for long listening times, light weight, very comfortable fit, storage box, Crutchfield Technical Service help and advice

Cons: Had to order from another source a 2.5 mm jack adaptor to use the cans with my mp3 player with the balanced output.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good but not as good as I anticipated

Robert from Olympia, WA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I'm somewhat disappointed because I was expecting a little more after reading reviews. They are certainly better than a much cheaper pair I bought several years ago. The headphones do sound good. They handle the bass and treble well, and the tone is mostly balanced with some muddy emphasis in mid-bass. They will handle more volume than is pleasant but quickly become too loud. The sound is blended together (compressed?) and loses detail compared to speakers. I certainly don't feel like I'm actually there. Perhaps a dedicated headphone amp would make a difference? I listened to the headphones on a PrimaLuna Dialogue HP and also on a Marantz PM8005. The Marantz has tone controls so I was able to adjust for better tone. Among the songs I listened to was ZZ Top "Fool for Your Stockings" on vinyl. This is a very good recording that makes you feel the band is there with you. With the headphones it just really seemed like a pair of headphones if that says anything to you - mason jaresque. 5 Stars as always for Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 14 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 660 S

Crutchfield customer from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comfortable fit and outstanding sound quality. Pairs well with the headphone amp in my McIntosh integrated amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic Performers!

Dan from Ballwin, MO on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never owned, but based on some excellent reviews I thought that I might like these headphones. These headphones are standouts. I listened to all types of material, rock, jazz, classical, a capella. On all material these were the best headphones I have heard (yet). They are very transparent and image amazingly good. I would like to better understand the technology behind these headphones. I compared them to Grado RS1E cans and expected the Grados to beat them handily. And, while I would say the Grados were stunning these Senns were better. They had better bass and better highs. Recordings sounded live with these cans. Vocals were not chesty, just natural. On several recordings, I couldn't imagine them sounding better. Kick drums have excellent impact, high hats sounds clear and natural, voices excel, strings sound very light and natural. You can really listen into a recording. When you turn up some headphones, they do not sound good the tones gets coarse. These sound great loud. They sound great soft too. One time, I pulled them off because a voice startled me and I thought my wife was trying to talk to me. It turns out someone talked during the recording. Another time, I pulled them off because I heard a dog barking. There was no dog in the neighborhood - it was in the recording. I didn't expect to like the HD 660s headphones, but they are freaky good. I found all sorts of treasures in recordings. They are extremely lifelike. I couldn't find their limit.

Pros: Extremely transparent Lifelike Good, deep bass, excellent highs

Cons: Clamping force is high (but still comfortable) Let in ambient sounds in

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Improvement

Martin from Marshall, MI on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the Sennheiser HD650 for about a decade and have enjoyed it greatly. Even though this new headphone is not yet broken-in, I could still hear a noticeable improvement over the HD650. The 650 had a somewhat veiled sound and the high frequencies were somewhat muted. Both of those shortcomings seemed to have been corrected in this new model. I look forward to even better sound once I rack up more hours of listening.

Pros: Clean sound Excellent dynamics Highly detailed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Love the Sound!

James from Seattle, WA on 3/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am amazed with the sound and comfort of this headphone. This is my first higher end headphone, but I have had a Grado SR80 and Sennheiser HD 280 pro. The clarity and presence is amazing. I listen through a Schiit stack of Modi/Magni to lossless files - but it took these headphones to really bring them to life. Listening through un-amped (iPad/iPod) sources does not shine as well, but still superb. The sweet spot seems to be in the midrange - vocals on some tracks are so much clearer in the mix. Some reviews mention the treble is brittle, but i'm not hearing it. But I'm also at the age where that might not be a problem :-). Very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Midrange clarity, great sound balance. Comfortable fit.

Cons: Best with amplification due to higher impedance.

Crutchfield response on

27 of 27 found this helpful

TOP