Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser HD 800 S

High resolution over-the-ear headphones

MFR # 506911

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Sennheiser HD 800 S

High resolution over-the-ear headphones

MFR # 506911

10 reviews
View this product

Worth the Price

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the these headphones for about month and I could not be happier with my purchase. No buyer's remorse, whatsoever. The HD800S headphones sound better and are more comfortable than any headphones I've owned, to include the Sony MDR-7506, Sennheiser HD598, Sennheiser HD600, Bose QC 35 ii, and Grado SR-325e. The difference in sound quality is not subtle, either. The first thing you'll notice is the increased sound stage and clarity. These headphones are expensive, but worth every penny if you can afford them.

Pros: Detail, sound stage, comfort, build quality.

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A tour de force of German engineering

Eric from New York, NY on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was searching for an "end-game" audiophile headphone, having enjoyed the Sennheiser HD650s (with adjustable bass) for many years. I ordered the HD 820 closed-back headphones from Sennheiser and thought they were impressive overall but sonically the closed-back design was a bottleneck at that (very) high price point. I ended up returning them and ordered the open-back HD 800S from Crutchfield. These cans are acoustically ideal- a deep, wide-open soundstage, weighty bass, textured midrange, and soaring treble. They are distortion-free and allow for a multidimensional, musically thrilling experience even at low volume. They are pretty comfortable and light considering they are gigantic in scale. I can't imagine a better pair of headphones, unless you want to drop 4K on Focal utopias or Audeze LCD-4s. No doubt they require a powerful amp and a high-end DAC to get the most out of these high-impedance phones, so be prepared to drop 2K+ on your components. However, the HD 800S is worth every penny if you value sound quality above all.

Pros: Sonic perfection Multidimensional soundstage Distortion-free Tonality is beautifully balanced Comfortable for long sessions

Cons: None, including the high price- totally worth it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

These cans CAN!

Crutchfield customer from Whittier, NC on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wow! these cans are the clearest, most comfortable and amazing in my collection. until now i've enjoyed the oppo pm-3's, but they do clamp my head tighter than i like, making long term listening sessions impossible. these 800's's are exactly what i've wanted all along, but couldn't afford them. a great investment in my audio lifestyle.

Pros: sound quality, comfort, design, and WOW factors a solid '10'!

Cons: pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing bass and quality

Benjamin from Guyton on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it the shiny quality is amazing for everything especially music If you want anything I would go for this again

Pros: It just really sounds amazing and is also very comfortable to wear

Cons: I don't have any except that their isn't a wireless version

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Literally perfect.

Doug from Southeast USA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every time I take them off my head after listening, that's what I always say to myself. These have no flaws. OK, they're expensive. But they define endgame. Perfect sound. Everything is balanced tonally. They're the most comfortable headphones I've yet to wear, and I've worn HUNDREDS after 35 years in broadcasting, and being an audiophile longer then that. And the soundstage? Go to a live concert. Get home and put these on. Eerily similar! Listen to a binaural recording on them and be prepared to freak out. I love buying gear. But at some point you get ready to settle down with your one true love. For me, it's these. I do not believe I'll ever need to buy another pair of headphones for the rest of my life. It hurts to spend this much money on headphones, but you'll never need to again after getting these. At least, I won't need to. My flirting days are over. Also, I'd never buy anything like this from anyone other than Crutchfield.

Pros: Nothing sounds better. Nothing.

Cons: A little pricey. Sheesh. Really expensive.

Crutchfield response on

32 of 34 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

William from Los Angeles, CA on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great detail. Very authentic. That is all we need to say.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 13 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Paul P from Madison, WI on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned many different types of Head Phones. Previously owned the Sennheiser HD598, HD600, HD700 and now the endgame, HD800S. Never owned or even listened to the original HD800 but read a lot about them. Here is my set up for reference: CD, SACD, DVD-A, Blu-Ray, ALAC 96/24 files > OPPO BDP105D > balanced interconnects > Sennheiser HDVA600 > a balanced cable > HD800S. I am totally satisfied with this setup - the HD800s with the balanced cable are perfect for my tastes (light jazz, classic rock, folk, some alternative rock). The cable added a bit extra weight to the low end and smoothness to the top end - they already sounded pretty great but this is an additional enhancement. Everything you read about the wide sound stage on these HPs is true - astounding. Everything you read about them being light on bass is not true - if there is heavy bass on the recording it will be faithfully reproduced. Just like everything else on a recording, you will hear it accurately, good and bad. Some of my albums were not well recorded (muddy, harsh, compressed, etc.) and the flaws are certainly shown up by with these HPs. On the other hand, well recorded albums sound fantastic and these HPs bring that wonderful music that was well recorded, mixed and mastered to the fore in glorious fidelity. I have to believe this is the end game for me.

Pros: Excellent fidelity, accuracy, construction, comfort, sound stage. End game HPs for a reasonable price.

Cons: Need a good amplifier to be driven to their heights (but it's worth it).

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

Crutchfield customer from Pearl City, HI on 2/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been running an extensive performance review of this product and have found very disappointing results. I have checked the performance against two of my audio systems and have distinct audible distortion ("chatter", "rushing wind", occasional "chirping",etc.) I have three other "good" headphones which do not show these symptoms under the same conditions, so I must assume the Sennheiser HD 800S to have a defect. I would like to have a return/exchange for this item as it does not meet my expectations. Apparently, this is a "lemon".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 88 found this helpful

Sennheiser HD 800 S

don from Texas on 5/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the ultimate headphone category, the HD800S is by far the best buy. In my opinion, the HD800S still comes out on top with it's big soundstage, excellent imaging, just right bass and crystal clear treble. I may never own a BMW or a Mercedes, but I can still enjoy German engineering at it's best with the HD800S.

Pros: Build quality and comfort in a state of the art headphone.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

40 of 44 found this helpful

Awesome set of cans!

Russell from Oak Point, TX on 5/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent improvement over its predecessor. Not nearly as bright - much more well rounded sound. Great soundstage, excellent vocal rendition. Very comfortable to wear. These represent an excellent value over some of the more absurdly priced offerings from others, etc...sound quality is as good if not better.

Pros: Comfortable Great Sound Excellent value compared to other "super cans" whose prices reach into the stratosphere

Cons: Still a significant investment for a pair of headphones

Crutchfield response on

32 of 36 found this helpful

TOP