Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sennheiser RS 175

Wireless TV headphones with transmitter

MFR # 508676

Sennheiser RS 175

Sennheiser RS 175

Wireless TV headphones with transmitter

MFR # 508676

295 reviews
View this product

Sennheiser RS 175

Steve from Hartford City, IN on 1/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this for my mother in law to help her to hear and enjoy watching TV again. This is perfect because she can control her volume independently of the actual TV speakers using the digital audio output from the TV, and the rest of us can hear at our own level and we can all enjoy watching movies together. Very simple for me to set up and for her to use. Perfect!

Pros: Good sound quality, easy to set up and charge.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, but not seamless.

Patrick from Grapevine, TX on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The headphones sound good, but they do not work seamlessly with my LGOLED. Switching to headphones is a 6 step process, which is annoying; and the range is very limited. In addition, the sound cuts out occasionally for just a fraction of a second. Also kind of annoying. The bright spot is Crutchfield's customer service. I couldn't get them to work by using the instructions. Crutchfield's tech got them working with one call, but couldn't reduce the number of steps to turn them on.

Pros: Good sound

Cons: Not seamless with LGOLD.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Dan from Mineral, VA on 1/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it so easy to setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Shery from Huntington, TX on 1/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very comfortable. It feels as if you are in the movie theater. Everyone else gets to listen to the television at a normal volume and doesn't have to be uncomfortable due to my hearing problems. I forget that I am even wearing them.

Pros: Weight of headphones comfort volume

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lack of integrity

Cory from Philadelphia, PA on 12/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ordered a new one. but I guess Crutchfield was cleaning out their closet and sent me a REFURBISHED one. . paid full price for this ?!?!?

Pros: Delivered quickly

Cons: Not what I ordered

Crutchfield response on 1/9/2023
We're sorry about the inventory mix-up, Cory. One of our Customer Support pros, Jamie, has emailed this customer to offer a direct replacement of new headphones, and we're awaiting the reply.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

John from Omaha, NE on 12/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased. No more closed captioning!! I wanted something very simple. a product that I could plug into the headphone out on my TV. This was perfect! I have a friend who purchased the Sennheiser RS 175 with a more complex set up and needed a little extra support and he was most pleased with the Crutchfield techs. As a broadcaster for most of my adult life I am accustomed to wearing headphones (which may explain my need for these!). With prolonged wearing they do get a bit warm on the ears, more so than I am used to with my Sony professional headphones. I wear hearing aids and there is no issue with the ear cups covering the entire ear. If I am listening without my hearing aids I am able to easily adjust the volume on the right ear cup. I love the sound quality and the mobility they provide. I am able to walk around my entire residence, including the basement, and not lose the signal. I have a very tight space for placement so the slim transmitter box does not cause any viewing issues. The headphone constructions is very good. The true test will come when the grandkids come to visit. Very fast shipping.

Pros: Easy setup Great sound Durable headphones Transmitter range

Cons: A bit warm with extended wearing I may have missed it, but the instructions didn't say how to turn the headphones on. A very small button on the right ear cup that you hold for five seconds.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Forest City, IA on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These is the best headphones I've had for watching TV. Installation and setup were a breeze and the sound quality is the best. Out of the box it takes a while to charge the first time (overnight), but it worth the wait. Very comfortable. Highly recommend.

Pros: Comfort. Sound quality. Ease of setup.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

could have been a 5 star review

John from Ennis, MT on 12/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Sennheiser RS 175 headphones are fantastic. The only downsides are a finicky charging connection on the base of the unit and a very small on/off button on the headphones. I use the headphones for TV watching and they do not disappoint. Clear sound for voices and music.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Finicky charging connection on the base of the unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bay City

James from Bay City on 12/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought my RS 175 from Crutchfield last December, 2021. It does work great for TV watching when your other half is sleeping so this is very good for night owls. I also use the fiber optic input and play CDs through them while I'm working. Decent sound for a wireless but if you are looking for nice dynamics and can live without wireless, I would go for a good set of wired headphones. About 11 months after I received it, the left ear cushion is just hanging on by a thread. The Crutchfield staff could not help me so I wrote to Sennheiser. After at least one week I got a reply that offered no help. I replied and explained better and I'm sure this will also be another week wait. In the meantime I am using Scotch tape to hold on the side of the cup that came off. Crutchfield staff was very attentive to my issue but I cannot say the same about Sennheiser. Would not buy another set from Sennheiser.

Pros: Decent sound for wifi but won't knock your socks off

Cons: The Dolby feature sounds horrible. Bass boost works good but I think its too extreme.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

William from Glenpool, OK on 12/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound Quality is excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Johnny from La Quinta, CA on 12/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great headphones, comfortable, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Victor from San Antonio, TX on 11/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good, you have delivered on all of promises up to now. Thanks

Pros: Excellent

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Michael from Hobart, IN on 11/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Prompt delivery, easy setup and sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Sam from Park City, UT on 11/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear sound and very comfortable. I am hearing impaired and this product is a game changer for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

can be hard to connect via optical

Sidney from Suffolk, VA on 10/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound and convivence ae great. Do have problems getting the optical input from the TV. Even though the tv and the receiver are set to PCM output, it will not always work. Sometimes I can restart the phones and it works, but not always. I have Samsung tv and Yamaha receiver. Audio and distance are very good

Pros: excellent audio and easy to use.

Cons: as stated above

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's all good.

Lance from Lufkin, TX on 9/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I made this purchase after doing plenty of research at crutchfield for my dad. It has been a week or so now that he has been using this setup and he's loving them. He has no problem walking around the house and not losing the connection, and the sound quality is great. Crutchfield had all the information I needed to make this purchase with confidence.

Pros: Great sound quality, easy to use, not too heavy

Cons: Nah

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound is SUPURB!

Robert from N Ridgeville, OH on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Although a little heavier on the ears than expected, the sound is SUPURB! Setup was very easy and intuitive. Overall, an excellent purchase. Delivery was amazing, two days after submitting the order.

Pros: Excellent sound Easy setup

Cons: Heavier to wear than expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Charles from AUSTIN, TX on 9/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound great. I actually thought the bass and sound field features were useful. Unfortunately they loose signal and the sound goes out. Sometimes there are occasional drop outs and sometimes there are high frequency drop outs. That's not acceptable in my opinion for how much they cost. I'm returning them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Richard from Columbia, TN on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent purchase

Pros: Worked as expected

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for watching tv.

Michael from Vanceboro, NC on 7/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and so convenient for parent that is hard of hearing!

Pros: Comfortable and good sound.

Cons: Needed to purchase an optical splitter for two sets.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Maribel from Cortlandt Manor, NY on 7/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I brought this item for my husband as a birthday gift, and he loves it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Joel from New York, NY on 7/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works beautifully. Thanks tech support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Billy from Cullman, AL on 7/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first expensive pair of headphones so I don't really have anything to compare them to but so far they have been awesome. No static or interference. They have easy set up. I just plugged them into my TV optical and its ready to go. I needed something that would make speech understandable without waking up the family as I work second shift and am a bit hard of hearing. They have their own volume control and work great. They are a little hot but not uncomfortably. I guess that's the trade off for earbuds. I can't wear earbuds without pain after 40 or so minutes. These stay put and don't squeeze uncomfortably. The battery life is good. I can watch a couple hours for about 3 days between charges and leave them on the charger when they get low until the next day. So far very pleased.

Pros: Sound, battery life, comfort, easy set up,

Cons: A bit hot and pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome HDR headphones

John from Brookings, OR on 6/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My old Sennheiser headphones lasted 14 years!! These new ones are awesome and easy to use!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Irvine from Fort Lee, NJ on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very satisfied, but poor operating instructions. Lacks detail for settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

William from Bradenton, FL on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good value. Easy hook up. Use with a splitter so able to use head phones and sound bar at same time.

Pros: Great sound, easy to install.

Cons: A little on the high side, expensive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent wireless 'phones

George from Annville, PA on 6/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I need to use headphones to watch TV at night after the wife is asleep! I also used to have phones that plugged in. Not so good. Then I found these, and all is perfect! Can adjust bass/treble, volume, AND surround and bass.

Pros: VERY versatile! Excellent sound quality!

Cons: Power button hard to turn on. I use the tip of a knife.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice cans

Randle from Waller, TX on 5/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound from these headphones is very good. The built in filters for surround sound and extra bass work well. The headphones are finicky about being placed on the charging cradle. They have to be placed just so to connect. We have two pair feeding from one audio source. While both headphones can receive the same signal they require pairing each time they are removed from the cradle. Only takes a few seconds but is made slightly more difficult due to the fussing required to seat the headphones properly.

Pros: Sound is very good.

Cons: Over the ear cans can get warm if worn for long periods. Placing the headphones on the charging cradle is a bit finicky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Hai from Kingshill, VI on 4/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing. I could even pick out the tiniest sound from the movies. I was totally caught by supplies on how a mazing this head phone is. I will definitely will buy Seinnheiser headphones from now on.

Pros: Surprisingly how clear the sound is

Cons: The battery could last a little bit longer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Roger from Medford, NY on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound advice your customer service representative, great product for my needs, good vale!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Lynn from Lido Beach, NY on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up. Really pleased with the sound What more could you ask for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Buddy from Charlottesvle, VA on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As we have two different hearing levels in our household, this headset has made a big difference in our TV watching - and listening - pleasure!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Barbara from Brewster, MA on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very helpful when watching TV esp movies!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

James from Cheshire, CT on 2/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a hearing disability, and hearing dialogue from the tv, particularly in movies has made watching very problematic. With these headphones, I can clearly hear every syllable of dialogue . Love them!

Pros: Audio fine tuning a definite plus.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Paul from Hico, TX on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Wonderful sound. Ear pads are not very comfortable on a larger head.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Jim from Lebanon, TN on 2/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love my Sennheisers. Full, mellow sound. Better than another set I bought that cost twice as much as the RS 175. Wife goes to bed early and I plug in the 175s and get nearly the same sound depth as our Klipsch Dolby Atmost tower speakers. A real steal at this price. Highly recommended!

Pros: Truly great sound at a great price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Richard from Inverness, FL on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Sennheiser RS 175 was very easy to hook up to our A/V system. The range on this product through the house and sound clarity is very clear. We made a great choice, we love it!

Pros: Very clear sound. Bass tuning on the ear muff. Surround sound really gives a spatial feeling.

Cons: Hook up cords could have longer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very satisfied!

Robert from Lakeside, CA on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had been previously using my Mpow headphones cable connected to my Roku remote for TV viewing when my girlfriend was working from home. That setup worked fine. I decided to treat myself to the Sennheiser RS 175's...and what an upgrade! The quality of sound is truly impressive. I love the ease of volume controls and enjoy the bass boost, the surround not so much. Happy viewing and listening!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best way to listen to TV

Barbara from Lyman, SC on 2/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product all around! I use these headphones to listen to the TV at night so as to not disturb those sleeping. Clear sound, very comfortable headphones and I can move from room yto room without losing the sound. Customer service was outstanding and helped me set up this unit! Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Frank from Sarasota, FL on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fine product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Darlene from Vista, CA on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had purchased a less expensive set but has issues with the headset and if you move around you get static. I sent the set back and upgraded. The quality is Excellent and headset cups the ears for quality sound. The set is expensive but worth the money. Also, I purchased another headset so two of us can tune in together without disturbing the whole household. I am still using a single headset unit from 2012.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

WINNER, WINNER!

Fred from Overland Park, KS on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Yep, they seemed a bit priceY at first, but after the first night, I'm happy I spent the extra bucks. Wonderful sound, eliminates outside noise quite well, sound quality is superb, no two ways about it these phones are TOP QUALITY!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Susan from Wilmington, DE on 1/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These headphones have helped me tremendously with TV speech reception. I have severe hearing impairment in both ears and even though I have powerful hearing aides, I still had trouble with TV speech reception. These have solved that problem. Music reception, however, is not as good. It is the only negative thing I have to say about these headphones. I should note that I have a very good stereo system so I wasn't expecting these headphones to sound as good with music.

Pros: tv speech reception

Cons: music listening

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Accurate sound reproduction

mj from Eagle, WI on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1) Crisp, clear, and accurate across the spectrum. Bass capable BUT ONLY IF PROVIDED BY MEDIA. Don't expect these phones to add much bass if there is none or little in the content. 2) Very comfortable IF your ears fit entirely into the cups as mine do. Too much pressure if not. They still feel OK after 3 or 4 hours in my case. 3) They use AAA rechargeable or alkaline batteries. (Beware of phones having sealed in, non-replaceable or exotic batteries.) 4) I'm experiencing about 40+ ft. of range inside my home on multi floors (frame construction) which is less than advertised. 5) Don't expect true surround from these or other closed phones. The surround setting does increase the bass a bit though. 6) I highly recommend the 175s to anyone who can live with the criteria outlined above and can afford the cost. I would buy again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Joe from Santa Clarita, CA on 1/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Could not get them to work on our Samsung TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Lansing, MI on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Parts listed on box and in manual were not included in package.

Pros:

Cons: Parts listed on box and in manual were not included in package.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Helen from Anchorage, AK on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Really comfortable. Easy set up. Love these headphones!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Kathleen from Ridgeland, SC on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is wonderful! The range of these wireless headphones means i can enjoy music as I move around the house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Leon from Coeur D Alene, ID on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These headphones RS 175 are great. I have six sets being used on three systems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Keith from Poland, OH on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great,super light. Almost deaf mom can hear the tv again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product, Great Tech Support, Great company

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This are perfect TV headphones for those of us hard of hearing. The expert Crutchfield tech person held my hand and gave me step by step setup instructions. I highly recommend this TV headphone and Crutchfield. They delivered earlier than promised and gave explicit setup instructions. Truly a very customer oriented tech company.

Pros: This headphone has a very clear sound with great range.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Redfield, SD on 1/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Set up my Sennheiser RS175 headphones a few days ago. So far I like them. Our room arrangement and where I sit in it makes for lots of noise competition listening to the TV. I sit where I get the furnace noise and humidifier noise that requires me to turn up the volume more than my wife likes where she sits. So this helps keep the volume on the TV/Bose sound bar lower for her and I can make out all the dialog with the headphones on. Have my hooked into the digital port on the TV itself and the Bose sound bar (for my wife) it still controlled separately. Wish the cup pads were a little thicker as my large ears touch the headphone surface a little so if you wear them several hours they get a tiny bit uncomfortable, but not bad. All in all I think they will work out fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield understands their "WHY"

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield is amazing! Especially in what we are usually experiencing in our dealings with utility companies, as well as local businesses [Tucson/Green Valley] exhibiting an attitude of just not caring - in short, a complete absence of customer service. All we hear is a cry, "We can't find anyone that wants to work!" Crutchfield stands head and shoulders above - They obviously know and understand "WHY" and how it works. They understand their product and how it functions or not, and they are there with complete customer service when you, the client, need them. Rate them 10 on a scale of five!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from King Of Prussia, PA on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well in terms of all of its connections, in terms of the sound it is OK. Haven't compared it to other over-the-ear phones. Apple AirPods Pro produce a quite likeable sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Grandville, MI on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup. Great sound and range.

Pros: comfortable to wear. Controls are easy to access.

Cons: A little more money than I wanted to spend.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Ventnor City, NJ on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great sound. easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Simi Valley, CA on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent headphones and practically if you have trouble hearing the dialogue on your TV . Very happy with purchase .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Lake, TX on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My Sennheiser headphone is excellent. I tried several other brands was dissatisfied all of them. I just ordered another set. They're great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, SC on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this item to improved my tv experience. after listening to them I purchased a second set for my music enjoyment. they are awesome.

Pros: bass is incredible

Cons: no cons so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Fairhaven, MA on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setup is a Denon receiver with speakers, cable box, TV, DVD connected. I wanted a wireless headphone that could be connected to my receiver with plug in/out ease for music but also for quiet TV watching. The RS 175 meets that requirement using the 3.5mm cable with a 1/4" adapter. But as an added bonus I connected the optical cable to my cable box. With a flick of the switch, I can listen to the TV through the headphones (as loud as I need) while others can hear through the speakers. Headphone sound is great for music as well as clarifying voices when watching TV. They did have a firm fit at first but have relaxed enough in use. Easy setup but long initial first-time charge.

Pros: Can use both connections as described. Easy to setup. Great sound.

Cons: Long initial charging time. Tight fit at first.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Willow Park, TX on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield's customer service is exemplary. The products they offer are the very best available. Their pricing is competitive and fair. I am completely happy and satisfied with my purchase and will certainly use them again in the future!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Wireless Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Branchburg, NJ on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The headphones are really nice with high quality music reproduction. I primarily will use them when I am in my yard as the transmitter carries the signal a great distance and except when I move on the other side of tree the signal is uninterrupted and still carries well over 100'. I had read in a review that the headband is not tight enough to always keep the phone securely on your head for example if you bend down. I can say that I find the tension against the ears is quite adequate and I am very pleased with the purchase and look forward to years of enjoyment. If you are contemplating purchasing them, I suggest you watch "J.R's" video demonstrating the headphones. I found it beneficial as well as speaking with him.

Pros: Long transmission range High quality music reproduction Secured to head, but not too tight Quality construction

Cons: Picture set up instructions included 32 page detailed instructions must be downloaded and printed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, MA on 12/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wavered between 3 and 4 stars. These satisfied all my expectations for radio transmission wireless. They are convenient to use and transmit everywhere in my 900 sq ft apartment I could go. The sound quality is above average, not audiophile in my opinion, but, I don't think I'm supposed to expect that in wireless. However, I returned them. The closed back and fake leather cushions suffocated and overheated my ears and were inappropriate for long periods of use that I would expect out of them. The same technology with open back, more breathable padding, perhaps even an on-ear design would have worked better for me. I'm going for the Sennheiser Flex 5000 which allows me to choose any headphone which can plug into its clip-on receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Dover, NH on 12/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Comfortable, easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Tecumseh, MI on 12/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really liked this product, better than my Sony when it worked. It has better clarity and I enjoy it when my wife has to go to sleep early and can't have the TV on for noise since she gets up at 4:ooam for work. The voices on the TV actually sound better with the wireless headsets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Clearwatr Bch, MD on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up. Quality made. Easy to use volume buttons. Separate buttons for bass and surround. Good sound quality. 18 hours of use between charges.

Pros: Sound and construction quality

Cons: For the price point none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS175

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice to have a pair of TV headphones with a bass boost and virtual surround to customize the sound and deliver clean dialog. Comfortable and easy to manipulate controls while in use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Dropouts

Crutchfield customer from Waikoloa, HI on 12/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had the headphones for about a week and am considering returning them. As others have mentioned, I'm getting a lot of dropouts. These were replacing my older RS170's which I never had dropouts with.

Pros: Good sound Comfortable Nice charging dock

Cons: Constant dropouts

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Java, VA on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My husband loves the set. He says the improvement from his old set is great, could immediately tell the difference. He is pleased to know that tech support is readily available. We got the set in two days as promised. Good experience.

Pros: Overall, great set

Cons: The buttons on the side could be larger, as older people don't have good dexterity.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Ruskin, FL on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear, easily heard sound without having to turn the source up that will bother the other (open air) listeners in the area.

Pros: Great sound and great volume control. This solved my problem of having to play the TV at too high a volume.

Cons: Difficult to connect with a Denon AVR. A bit more difficult to connect when using a universal remote.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No more charging!

Edwin from Adelphi on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Contacts between headphones and charging unit won't connect any more. Bummer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/23/2021
Edwin, we're sorry you're having issues with your headphones. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Headphones clamp on too tight

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 11/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Head phones are uncomfortable - they clamp on too tight! I returned and bought the Sennheiser Flex 5000 so I can use my comfortable Bose head phones.

Pros: Acoustics good

Cons: Headphone too tight

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These headphones work perfectly with the TV. I can turn the TV volume totally off and hear just fine with the headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great product

Crutchfield customer from Ellensburg, WA on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great product at a very doable price. Brain technology requires a high sound quality and this unit does the trick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Sebring, FL on 10/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It is better than the RS170 I had before. ore convenient to turn on at the head set in stead of the base. Sound quality is superb! They fit so well it is almost like noise cancelling head sets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Howards Grove , WI on 10/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

GREAT SOUND FROM THIS REPLACEMENT UNIT. HOOKUP WAS FAST AND EASY AND ONCE THE BATTERIES CHARGED AWAY WE WENT TO CLARITY AND CONTROL. VOLUME EASILY CHANGED AND HAVE BEGUN TO EXPERIMENT WITH THE BASS LEVEL AND THE SURROUND SOUND. QUALITY CONSTRUCTION AND EASE OF USE ARE TOP NOTCH. I RECOMMEND FOR THOSE WHO NEED HELP HEARING TV & MUSIC. SOND QUALITY IS OUTSTANDING AND THUS ANYONE WITH A HEARING LOSS WILL ENJOY THE SENNHEISER 175.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Nice headphones

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really nice ear phones. Good bass and the surround sound works as well as a home theater system.

Pros: Good bass, nice surround sound

Cons: Needs more than optical and 3.5mm connections.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works as advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Jupiter, FL on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works great. As advertised. Sound is very good and was not too hard. My mother uses it for the TV as she is hard of hearing.

Pros: Works well. Set-up easy

Cons: Wish it had a travel case.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

worth it

Crutchfield customer from Allegan, MI on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was skeptical about "tv" headphones, but after buying and using these I would say they are awesome. Very nice to use when the wife is sleeping. Good sound quality, fits very comfortably, holds good charge.

Pros: comfortable, great sound, good range

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Like I needed another set of headphones!

Brian from Folsom, CA on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I already have several sets of headphones, but I have not been happy with the sound of the Bluetooth headphones I have, or how they interact with my TV; having to pair them each time I use them, difficulty in managing the volume, etc. Instead, wife and I have been using an older pair of lightweight Sennheisers that I have with a long cord whenever one of us wants to watch TV without disturbing the other. I got tired of having to plug and unplug the cord and didn't like the cord across the living room floor, so I thought I'd give these a shot. Glad I did. Set up took me a few minutes, as I'm not familiar with the optical digital cable....Why do they call it "optical" if it's audio, anyway? Once I figured out where that was on my TV and how to locate the audio menu on the TV to select the right settings, it worked as promised. The sound quality is amazing; crystal clear highs and solid bass. There's even a bass booster feature if you're into that, as well as 3 different settings for surround sound (or not). I also like the fact that there's a way to use the supplied analog cable to hook up to my old iPod Classic or phone; never could use wireless headphones with the iPod before, as it isn't Bluetooth capable. This unit is not Bluetooth, however; it's a radio frequency apparently but I'm not a technical guy who understands that. I just know that they sound great and are comfortable. Music sounds especially good with these. They arrived about 3 days after I ordered them.

Pros: Comfortable, easy set up, excellent sound reproduction, easy to cotrol volume, bass, surround sound from the headset.

Cons: Headphones are large and bulky so may be annoying for some people.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quality German made Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Yucca Valley, CA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These Sennheiser RS 175 Headphones are wonderful for audiophiles that enjoy listening to quality music and programing throughout their living environments. The headphones are wireless and they do not disturb others. Sound quality is excellent with bass boosts and surround buttons. These Sennheiser RS 175 Headphones are another quality product from Sennheiser.

Pros: Wonderful, high quality sound. Flexibility in movement. Comfortable wear. Well made quality product.

Cons: Headphone weight may be a concern for those that want a very light weight headphone or earphone type of product.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect addition to my jumbo TV

Crutchfield customer from Fern Bch, FL on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect product for those old like me that have a hard time hearing certain TV shows and movies. No reading lips anymore. Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great headphones for TV

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome sound quality, easy to set up. 5 stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 9/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is good and set up was simple. Touch controls on headset are touchy. but other than that for the price well worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Galesburg, IL on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

thy set up ease work well and very good felling when on .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Raymond, ME on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

comfortable to wear. great quality of sound,overall excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Ron B

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Comfortable and fantastic sound. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Jupiter, FL on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These were bought as a present for my mom, she was very pleased, and her house does not have the tv at 95 volume. I imagine her neighbors are happy to

Pros: Very good sound, nice balance of lows and highs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great phones

Crutchfield customer from W Middlesex, PA on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great eat sound and easy setup

Pros: Fit a large head

Cons: A bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and range. Can roam all about the house with no dropout.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

CD quality transmission. Good tight bass. Very good imaging and transparency.

Pros: Sound quality, charging stand/transmitter, range, lack of sibilance, no sound lag.

Cons: Price, somewhat flimsy feeling base.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Hilo, HI on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrific Sound & Light Weight!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser- quality product

Crutchfield customer from Murrells Inlet, SC on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is one of the best investments ever-my husband can now listen to TV and I do not have to hear a sound or can if I choose. We finally have peace in the household- and the headphones probably saved our 50 year marriage. In fact our friend is so impressed that I am ordering a set for her husband as well. Thank you Sennheiser and Crutchfield.

Pros: excellent performance and quality-they perform as advertised

Cons: none- they perform as advertised

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Ithaca, NY on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love these headphones for tv and computer stuff. I own 3 pairs. Be mindful that being too close to wifi router can cause occasional signal interruptions...otherwise excellent product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Willie from Englewood on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My son & daughter n law and their 2yr old son came to visit us for a week. My Husband always had a bad habit of turning the volume up to an unbearable level regardless of others in the room. My son was so Angry with his father after their visit. He told me he was sending his dad a birthday gift that everyone would enjoy. He was absolutely correct. It was the RS175 headphone system! He would put the headphones on with the volume (loud) I had preset for him. I would then turn the TV sound down to a level that I could tolerate. He finally caught on stop using the headphones. Rather than leaving his butt (other than the TV volume, he's a good Man). I started using it when we watched TV together. Our TV time together has been pure bliss. I'm looking to buy a replacement of the headphone,because the ear covering has become worn. No fault of the product! I believe we have had this system about 9 or 10 years. Married 50 years and if we make 60 I definitely need the RS175 headphone. An excellent product!!!!!

Pros: Excellent product!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Glad to have the tv volume at animal range. Can now hear every word

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The head phones were exactly what I wanted and the service I received was great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought as a gift for someone else, who is very pleased and gives these headphones top marks. So I will also!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Elsberry, MO on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great set of headphones that work all throughout the house!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Webster, SD on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been using my RS 175 for about 2 weeks. Very short delivery time. No problems getting it set up. So far, it has been everything I had hoped for. My hearing loss was making TV difficult for me and my wife. Now I can hear voice dialogue clearly that previously sounded muffled. And when we are watching TV together, I do not need the volume so high it is annoying for her. It seems to be of high quality, and I really appreciate the rechargeable batteries and ease of recharging.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Sewickley, PA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The headphones are terrific, just what my wife needed. We both have a hard time understand the dialog on TV without the volume extremely high which our neighbors don't appreciate. She is loving them. The new reduced price made it an even nicer purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After one week I am still having problems with "micro" interruptions in sound stream. A Crutchfield technical rep. suggested my problem may be (a) the tower is less than 20" from another electronic component, or (b) I should leaves the doors to the component cabinet open. I do not like either restriction.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/8/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your headphones. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Hear at last

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally got it working with your video and manual by myself having never done this type work before. Thank you !!!! age 78.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Drawdy from Vail, AZ on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, and easy set-up using the digital output from my TV. Wish the base was heavier because that would make removing the headsets a one-hand operation. That said, I'll be ordering a second pair today.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Vly, CA on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are our 4th pair of Sennheiser headphones, & 2nd pair of RS175s, which are replacing old RS165s. My wife is hard of hearing, so we have a set on both full-sized TVs. They are comfortable & allow her to walk from the den in back to the kitchen in the front & maintain good reception. We wouldn't be on our 4th pair of Sennheisers if she wasn't totally satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I Can Hear Dialogue!

Crutchfield customer from Libertyville, IL on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you suffer some hearing loss and have an issue making out dialogue on your TV or sound system, the Sennheiser RS 175 solves the problem without disturbing sleeping or working household members. Dialogue is very clear even at low volumes and music soundtracks are sonically pleasing for the price. Controls mounted on the outside of one earcup enable you to add bass or choose from three sonic surround options. The phones charge by cradling the transmitter box. As is typical these days, the included instructions are worthless. Pros: Sound quality for the price. Cons: 1) After an hour of listening, the phones are tiring on the ears and I have a small head! 2) They could have included a 3.5 mm to 1/4" headphone jack adapter and optical cable.

Pros: Excellent sound for the price.

Cons: Tightness sets in after an hour and I have a small head. Should have included a 3.5 mm to 1/4" conversion jack and optical cable. Concerned about other reviews experiencing deteriorating faux leather material covering ear pads

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from League City, TX on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love these headphones and so does the rest of the family. They can keep the tv turned down to normal levels while I can actually hear the audio without asking "what did they say". Nice addition to these headphones would be a way to mute the audio while wearing them so that you can hear voices of those around you without taking them off.

Pros:

Cons: Add a method to mute the audio while wearing the headphones so you can hear external conversations.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought the RS 175 HEADOHONE..and right off the bat a clip broke on the wall outlet plugin and waiting for my rep to call me about what to do..its been a week since I texted him..with no return call. Poor service once the product was purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/18/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nathan, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Zman2804

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and charge last long.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Operates well and is very nicely made but the printed instructions (such as they are ) leave much to be desired. They are written in 19 different languages but no mention of any specs or features. Fortunately, the Crutchfield web site lists all the important specifications and product highlights which I copied and stapled to the instruction sheet. Ironically, their Safety Guide is 79 pages long!! Go figure!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Just ok

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine but if I want to listen over the TV speakers I have to go through several steps with the remote to toggle back and forth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound features

Crutchfield customer from Chagrin Falls, OH on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great simple to use I had an older model and it was difficult to synchronize this one works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Best

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, MA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The perfect solution to my limited hearing especially when watching movies and weekly episodes of our of our favorite dramas. Not missing a word now and don't have to keep asking my wife...what did they say. The headset combined with the splitter made it possible to hear the TV through the headphones with others in the room can watch and hear the TV through the TV speakers. Thanks to Lori and Daisy for their help in setting me up.

Pros: Works like no others have.

Cons: Headphones are a little tight, but expect that will ease over time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome set of earphones. I can hear everything so clearly now. Love them. Best gift I ever received.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Wilson, WY on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy set up. Outstanding sound quality.Simple adjustment. Much better than old TR120s. No frequency tuning required.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, VA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

From a person who appreciates audiophile-grade headphones and home theater systems, these are remarkably good. There are multiple sound modes (3d, etc.), but only one is usable, the others add too much nonsense to the sound to make it an enjoyable experience. But the primary sound mode is excellent, and comes close to my surround system. Overall sound quality is very good (not amazing), but you're not going to get amazing. That's the trade off - I can crank up the sound of an explosion-filled movie at 2am without waking up my family, and still have a great viewing/listening experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Crossville, TN on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My husband loves them, long overdue and it is saving our marriage and my ears the tech dept was so helpful in helping me choose the right ones!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great headphones

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These have the best sound and make it so I do not disturb my wife with the programs/music programs I like. Had problems getting the sound to the headphones but the Crutchfield tech people found I needed to change a comcast setting. Now they work great and I enjoy them every day.

Pros: sound quality

Cons: not the best instructions from Sennheiser for hookup and making them work

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought a Sennheiser headset from Crutchfield years ago when I first bought hearing aids...between the two I was able to hear tv. My wife now has the same hearing problem that I had years ago. So I bought her the new Sennheiser headset and she loves it! She can now hear the tv! Happy wife happy life!!

Pros: Excellent surround sound and base. New unit can be turned on from your chair...unlike the old set. Fast delivery and Crutchfield made sure the package was followed up on while in transit. Arrived on schedule.

Cons: None from years ago or now!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksbrg, TX on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are better then older onec ch p

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the product And meets all my expectations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Crawfordsville, IN on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good balanced sound. The bass boost and surround modes do add to the sense of ambiance. Very easy to set up and use

Pros: Great overall sound

Cons: A bit on the bulky side, but that's expected with over the ear headphones.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent, once figured out

Bob from Fairfax, VA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently purchased Sennheiser RS-175 wireless headphones. I hooked up the digital cable to the digital output of my Sony television. It works great! You simply have to lower the TV volume to zero or mute it to prevent sound from the TV's speakers. However, after several hours of work I tried, unsuccessfully, to connect four separate components (DVD and BD players) with the headphones. I even went into each of the components' menus to select things like PCM downconversion, LPCM at 96K, etc. On only on one of them did the Sennheiser's power light blink, indicating, according to its troubleshooting chart, an "incompatible" digital format. However, nowhere in the Sennheiser instructions does it warn you that you CANNOT connect a component with the optical cable that already has an HDMI output to a receiver. Apparently no component will allow two separate digital outputs at the same time, even with the receiver off. In addition, using the digital out on the receiver itself does not work, apparently because its output goes to the TV via HDMI. Connecting a Blu-ray player to a receiver would seem to be a common setup. Most people would not want to disconnect the HDMI output from a component (in order to use its optical digital output), especially if they have a surround sound setup. The only workaround appears to be to use the component's composite or component audio out jacks, using the analog connector on the Sennheiser. By using the Sennheiser's selector swit

Pros: Great! Easy to set up

Cons: No digital connection with HDMI

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Over the moon

Crutchfield customer from Mars Hill, NC on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased the RS175 for my Wife who is hard of hearing and was missing out on TV dialogue, always asking "what did they say". Now she hears all the dialogue and music. She is over the moon happy with them and says that the ear pads are very comfortable. If there is a downside it would be us communicating while she is wearing the headphones, and that could be an upside too.

Pros: Can hear dialogue and music clearly Comfortable to wear Easy set up with Jills help @ crutchfield

Cons: Can't converse with anyone while wearing headphones

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Happy with the quality of product and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Alonzo C from Middle Tennessee on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good product. Have used two headsets for several years now. My father also has one. For my father, the headset was to tight and he was unable to adjust it to a satisfactory comfort level. He has "stretched" or pulled apart the headset frame until he could use it. Concerning my use, I have found the headset cushion outer material shreds very easily. I have had to order several sets of headset cushions due them shredding. I have learned to be very careful with eyeglasses, but over time she cushions shred regardless of how carefully I place eyeglasses. The head cushions on the top of the frame have the same problem. Overall all, these are very good products. I recommend them.

Pros: Very good sound Easily recharged Dependable

Cons: Tight and easily adjustable Ear cushions shred easily

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Goodview, VA on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

crisp sound, voices that I can understand. no outside noise. Good bass. I'm very well pleased. and the tech. was very helpful.

Pros: well made (see review)

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Venice, FL on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They were easy to setup. Easy to use and the sound is wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Mckeesport, PA on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic product. Gives a true 3dimensional ambience. Convenient charging and user friendly across the board.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175 Review

Crutchfield customer from East Troy, WI on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They shipped without batteries. A little disappointing, 4 days latter I received the batteries. They work great. Tech support was fantastic in helping me set them with my surround sound syste.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm 76 years old with ringing in my ears. My wife always says turn the tv down. Not anymore. These headsets are great. I can now hear on low volume and don't hear the ringing. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Enjoy TV again

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I didn't realize how much I was missing. Now I can hear it all!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Saint George, UT on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The perfect product for people with non Bluetooth in the ear hearing aids. This is a real game changer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not just for television

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had considered buying wireless headphones for a while so that I could listen to music while moving throughout my house. When my wife moved her office to our dining table, I knew the time had come to do some research and commit to buying a pair to connect to my stereo receiver. Bluetooth isn't an option for me so I started looking at RF transmission. The most important aspects for me were good sound quality and reliable reception. I've had RF speakers in the past that had reception problems, but these use a digital signal that eliminates poor tuning, although the signal will drop out when getting out of range. Sennheiser is well known for the quality of their headphones, and the RS-175 certainly live up to the reputation. The audio is very good when listening to my music on vinyl, CD and FM radio. In fact, I'll sometimes hear something in the music that sounds like it's coming from somewhere else in the room. The sound isn't as impressive as with my floor-standing speakers, but I never expected them to match that sound. There's enough bass that I never have to use the bass boost, and I don't feel I need the surround feature when listening to stereo. The over-the-ear design is comfortable enough to wear for a few hours at a time. Range is very good, with the signal reaching all but the farthest reaches of the house. Overall, I feel comfortable knowing that I made a good decision with these headphones.

Pros: Excellent audio quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Quarryville, PA on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So good ordered a second set! Great spatial imaging, clear voices, and very comfortable to boot.

Pros: Sound, comfort, looks, replaceable battery and easily replace ear cups.

Cons: Optical cable seems a little frail. But so far no problems

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Lake, IN on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Cosby P from El Paso, TX on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very good quality headphones. Amazed by the sound quality!

Crutchfield customer from Rcho Sta Marg, CA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice headphones! The sound quality and comfort are beyond my expectations from reading various reviews and comments before making the purchase. So happy that i did! Love it! Build quality is good.

Pros: Sound quality is fantastic with clear & detail sound. Very enjoyable. Comfortable to wear for long hours Netflix binge after kids asleep. :)

Cons: The design is rather dated since this is a older model. Doesn't bother much since i'm using at home. :)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound without background noise or hiss. 30ms Lag

Matthew from CENTER VALLEY, PA on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These Headphones have amazing sound without background noise or hiss. The wireless capability is far superior to other RF headphones in the 900MHz carrier range, with at least 100ft of clear range. The fidelity is excellent with a full, maybe slightly colored, 20 - 20K Hz range. Excellent dynamic range without noticeable compression. There is some volume "ducking" when an explosion occurs, so keep that in mind while your watching a Michael Bay movie. Surround was decent although not Dolby 7.1 theater. The Surround will definitely make Star Wars or Raiders of the lost Arc more lively. For TV viewing, this set of headphones is the best value for the dollar in the market. Superior assisted listening quality to Voice while watching the news. The Bass Boost Feature can make audio sound a little muddy, and may offend the audiophile. This set of headphones has a Latency (lag) of about 30ms. Almost a noticeable lip sync issue. The Latency is similar to Bluetooth headphones, and this is where these headphones fall short of 5 stars. If you can stay 30ft from your TV, Bluetooth headphones are a better option.

Pros: Amazing sound without background noise or hiss. Full 20 - 20KHz, Wide Dynamic Range Surround Simulated Well Bass Boost slightly muddy

Cons: Latency (lag) of about 30ms. Almost a noticeable lip sync issue.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Hempstead, TX on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The auto on/off is great. The factory pairing is the way to go. Bought for a person with a bad right hand, so buttons are located inconveniently. Had the add weight (siliconed the base to a small slab of black garnet) to the stand so that it could be put on the stand with one hand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Falls Church, VA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality product. Comfortable and the sound is terrific. Decided to upgrade from the base product and the difference is significant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Millville, PA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a high frequency hearing loss and even with hearing aids I struggle to hear vocal on my TV, I purchased a quality sound bar but still could not understand most women and childern when trying to watch TV. A friend suggested I try head phones so I turned to Crutchfield and shopped for TV headphones, I thought the price was a bit more than I wanted to pay to watch TV but thought why not give it a try, I can always return them. They arrived, I installed an optical splitter to allow both the headphones and sound bar to work at the same time. The evening before installing I tried watching two different programs and could not understand the voices on either, next day I wateched both again while using the headphones and I could not believe how well I could understand the vocals on both programs. Needless to say these headphones will not be returned, they are exceptional quality and I now can enjoy watching TV without asking,what did she say.

Pros: Hi quality, excellent sound and easy to use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Second Pair

Crutchfield customer from Anacortes, WA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are actually my second pair of the same headphones. I bought them because they were on sale just in case the first pair, which are over 5 yrs. old, ever quit. They sound is crisp , clean and on par with and maybe better than my Sennheiser PXC450noise canceling headphones. I've used them nearly every day for about 3 to 4 hours after my wife heads to bed since the TV In the living area shares the bedroom wall. They keep peace in the family. The only small problem has been the pads which wear out but can be replaced. The pads could use improvement with better quality material

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not what I expected.

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality of the build on these are not that great. They have some issues even with the right settings. Not sure if the glitching is from the TV or from the headset. Returning this headset now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love them! Exactly what I wanted. The sound is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Hatfield, PA on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this for my hard of hearing Mother in law. Easy to operate and she can hear the TV without the use of her hearing aids. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is crisp and since I'm hard of hearing I can understand all the words. Very comfortable over the ear headphones. Was very easy to setup.

Pros: Easy to setup, comfortable to wear

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product and purchasing experience

Crutchfield customer from La Grange, IL on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these headphones for my wife who has diminished hearing and was turning up the TV volume to 100%, and still could not understand the dialogue. She loves them, and I have confidence in Sennheiser products as I owned SH headphones "back in the day" and they were always a top of the line product. My Crutchfied adviser helped me select the headphones that would work with my wife's TV, which has an optical audio output only. I am very satisfied with the headphones and Crutchfield .

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't work with my configuration

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not sure what the issue was, but the unit kept dropping the sound, and this was in the same room. The instructions suggest that you put the transmitter at least 10 feet from other WiFi devices such as WiFi router. I use the SONOS Connect (WiFi as well), it and the router are in the media cabinet 4 ft from the AV receiver. But really, if I have to put the transmitter 10 ft away from the receiver it kind of defeats the purpose of being wireless. Instead of spending time trying to get all the device to mesh with my configuration, I decided to return the unit for a Sennheiser HD599 wired Headphone. Haven't had a dropped note since.

Pros: Comfortable. When the sound worked, it was fantastic. Freedom of movement - again, when it worked it was fantastic.

Cons: Didn't always work in my environment. The 10 Ft distancing from other WiFi transmitters.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great wireless headphones

Crutchfield customer from Easton, MD on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very comfortable wireless headphones with great sound and easy set-up. Sound volume adjustment and virtual surround sound modes is conveniently located on ear piece to customize listing choice. Over ear headphones are soft and comfortable to wear with no sound over spill .

Pros: Priced right, quality and sound choice features add to listening enjoyment

Cons: Headphones are heavy for extensive listening.....beyond a 2-3 hour movie or show

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product. No trouble on setting up and works beautifully.

Pros: Very good sound and ease of use.

Cons: May need longer optical cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sennheiser RS 175

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, IA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful sound! Very comfortable. Range is not the greatest!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cannot connect Sennheiser RS 175 Headset to TV properly

Jeanne from Tampa, FL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this for my husband for Christmas. when trying to connect with our 65 inch Samsung 2017 (we believe) curve TV, it only allows the headse